Reading Reviews for A Place Not Far From Here
  
68 Reviews Found

Review #1, by prongslittleflower The Dinner Party

19th January 2018:
I love this story. For real, I can't get over how each thing unfolds and every chapter reveals something new that hooks me in even more. Of course, I had to go back and reread the earlier chapters after you mentioned it in your Author's Note, and let me say that you set it up brilliantly, and I definitely can't wait to see what happens next and then after that as well! Happy birthday to Amelia! And update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MarieBlack The Dinner Party

8th January 2018:
MAY HAVE RUSHED BACK TO THE FIRST CHAPTER QUICKLY TO CONFIRM MY SUSPICIONS. The funeral is her FREAKING Father's funeral.

I just. This mystery. Bravo.

A couple of personal faves:

- Finally the "I love you" (SQUEE for my little romantic heart)

- The blow up with Aunt Susan and Uncle Michael, inevitable with all the warring going around in Amelia, her anger is finding an outlet

- The following man, so very intriguing a plot point for the future

- Her birthday dinner, WOW, so much unveiled there, I appreciate the comment about the obscurus and how it would come into play in this "NeoWald" future and then her FATHER, ruthless and the worst. Amelia's mental strength is on display here though, she is fierce and brave.

Once again on the edge of my seat for what is next!!

Happy writing, xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Eyo The Dinner Party

28th December 2017:
Oh my god. Yeah that looks like a good start for my review.

Chapter after chapter your story is becoming always better. And I donít mean that is was bad at start, itís simply that you know how to create a real good story. Most of the time in fanfic writers are beginner and donít have the help of an editor plus they use canon stuff so the development of characters is lacking. Well not much for you!

The way you write your story is actualy extremly good, first the style. I spoke about it in my earlier review but writing without using flashback but mixing past and present seems extremely hard. You still achieve it, and with quality. You are really building something in the two times at a time.

First you gave us the stage, we got deep and realistic characters. Also a plot but from very far even if the action was present I wasnít totally captive of it, though it was enough to keep me interested. Then chapter after chapter in both timelines you get explications mixed intothe two timelines.

And I freaking love your plot, the more we learn the more I respect you in how you write it. Itís extremly contemporain, but also so much in our past. I love the way you donít make any side looks uterly stupid and in that sense you write something mature at the opposite of Rowling where it was more about Harry and him having nemesis and morals highlight through the story (what we call in French ďRoman díapprentissageĒ Learning novel). Because for sure if the Cause didnít have any appealing idea it couldnít grow that much of an importance and peoples would not fall into believing this ideology. Also the fact that in the present timeline you donít make Amelia argue even within herself was a real plus. It would have been weird for you to try to justify yourself through your char so yeah really nicely done. I canít wait though to see if in the past we see more of James and her though, being young itís also often easier to get into an utopia ideology. Even as stupid as it could seems to peoples with the recul (controlling peoples to protect them... though even us in our time we still didnít learn totally).

And having her doubt of Jamesí integrity and therefore us doing the same, bravo!

Speaking about James and Amelia, their relationship is truly a masterpiece in a fanfiction. Now I can understand why Amelia is so obsess with James, at first I wasnít sure to get it. You had them appear like a real relationship blooming, with their fights, their mistakes, their attraction and their common though. But with this chapter you give us a definitive proof of their love and even if you gave a lot of sign before it really makes me able now to share Amelia goal.

I write this review right after my reading and without much organisation so I hope itís not too confuse. I really love your story and I will wait for the next with eagerness.

Happy Christmas and happy New Year incoming, see you in 2018!

Happy holidays

 Report Review

Review #4, by BBHP The Dinner Party

27th December 2017:
I can't believe I missed TWO updates! I loved this chapter. I'll have to go back and reread the first few chapters to look for clues. Everything is so awesome. The insanity of Amelia's mother AND father showing up at her party, Amelia and James's feelings for each other (*dies*), and Albus showing up at a meeting to try to find James... Everything's so intense and I'm so anxious to learn more. Excellent job on this.

 Report Review

Review #5, by HarryGinnyLove88 The Dinner Party

27th December 2017:
Aww they are in love...
But what James up to in after Hogwarts part??
Write soon.

 Report Review

Review #6, by MarieBlack Hogsmeade

10th December 2017:
Again, just so deep into this mystery. I have a feeling I'm going to greatly enjoy how all of this builds together at the end. It's like knowing the story is a puzzle, receiving those pieces at different times and putting them together as you can. I have a feeling in a chapter or two I'll need to go back and read it all so I can really revel in all that is later revealed.

I love that we're seeing/feeling more of Amelia's intentions about the NeoWalds and people around her. You can see the shift that Neville's talk had with her, even if she's not entirely undoubtful about herself.

I love Lily, she is energetic, bouncy and very endearing. I'm excited to see her grow and how she interacts with other characters as well. Albus, I do have a soft spot for him. He loves his family even with his difference. I like the "Slytherin corner" bit for James birthday, it creates this bond with Amelia.

Her protectiveness too! It is so sisterly, even from seeing Lily's enjoyment and ensuring Albus stays safe, she truly cares for James' family. SO WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED?!

Once again I am on edge but loving it!

I hope updating goes well! Happy writing, xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by prongslittleflower Hogsmeade

20th November 2017:
I so enjoyed this! Sorry it's taken me awhile to read it. Life got hectic. But really, this chapter is more in depth in Amelia's thoughts and with the meeting, and the Hogsmeade trips, I liked hearing her take on things. I'm proud of Albus for trying to find out what's going on with James, but I like how Amelia had to reason with him, telling him to stay out of trouble and that she was going to try to take care of it. It shows a lot about her character, and the strength that she has as well! It's definitely been my favorite chapter so far, and I look forward to reading more. Also, I know she's part of the anti-muggle sentiment, but I'm interested in Sinead's character as well. She's very mysterious. Can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MarieBlack A Place Not Far From Here

2nd November 2017:
Again you enrapture us readers in the "BUT WHAT DID HAPPEN?" You leave us on this beautiful constant cliff hanger of -- how does Amelia become who we see in this NeoWald and the Cause war? How does a curious Slytherin mischiefing and falling in love with James Potter become a confused young adult, struggling to make sense.

I love the depth you give to Amelia, she doesn't have it all figured out. She is not this blind hero who always does right, but makes impulse decisions and even horrible decisions in the name of what feels right to her gut. MAN. She's good. I also love the - grittiness - of Neville in this chapter. It's like seeing the Neville hero in book 7 of HP. You can see that stride of determination and the wiseness of growing up far too quickly in a war. Their scene together is remarkable.

As ever, I'm intrigued of how we are where we are with Amelia, how she and James come to be. Sitting on an edge of "What happened to them?" Interested to see how this continues to unfold! Thank you for sharing your writing and talent, happy writing for the future! xx

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review, MarieBlack!

I am glad that you're catching some of the longer themes and plot points of the story. I really enjoy writing Amelia. She definitely does not have it all figured out, and she is trying her best to survive.

I love Neville. I think that Amelia looks up to him so much, and he has a way of jolting her out of herself. I imagine him to be such a great teacher and mentor to all of his students.

What happened to James and Amelia? Why is Amelia the way she is in the present? Those are the questions! And we'll get there. :) Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Helena A Place Not Far From Here

26th October 2017:
This has got to be one of my favourite James/OC fan fictions Iíve read to date.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, Helena! I'm curious to know why this is one of your favorite James/OC fics, but I am happy to hear it! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by JT4HP A Place Not Far From Here

19th October 2017:
Just stumbled back onto HPFF and searching through stories and found this one!!! And, I'm so so so glad I did because it's such a great one!

I really like this story and the way it flips back and forth between Hogwarts and present day. Can't wait to find out what ended up happening towards the end of Hogwarts!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and for reading this lengthy story!

Towards the end of Hogwarts... Amelia would tell you that she doesn't want to talk about it and that you're better off NOT knowing what happened. As the writer, I am saying that we are approaching the events towards the end of her Hogwarts experience--and in the present, we're nearing her goal of finding and confronting James, though she may not like what she finds. ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by prongslittleflower A Place Not Far From Here

18th October 2017:
Iím really really enjoying this so far but I NEED to know what happened and what funeral theyíre talking about! My curiosity is so peaked! I honestly am so excited to see what happens next, and I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

The funeral that keeps being mentioned is Amelia's father's. It was briefly explained in the earliest chapters, and Amelia does NOT want to talk about what happened. So far, the readers know that this is when James disappeared during a skirmish between the Ministry and the NeoWalds. We'll get to this point in the past eventually. A few crucial things need to happen first.

I hope you enjoy the unfolding of the story! I feel we're at the point now where many of the questions from earlier chapters (like what happened at the funeral) are starting to get answered (but not always in full--that's for later!).


 Report Review

Review #12, by HarryGinnyLove88 A Place Not Far From Here

17th October 2017:
You should write more often...how many chapters til end..cant wait to know how its end ☺

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

How many chapters left? Good question. Let's see... I think there might be 30-ish chapters total. We'll see how I can fit Amelia's narration in with the necessary plot points for the completion of the story. ;) Still plenty left to go, though!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Livchin2000 Banshee's Breath

15th September 2017:
This is really good. Please update

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm writing the next update now. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by HarryGinnyLove88 Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Finally you wrote, yay!!!

When we hear from James. Both Hogwarts and after?

Author's Response: I did! Thanks for your review!

We will hear more from James. However, it will be told from Amelia's point of view, so we'll have to wait for the two of them to collide and for the smoke to settle. ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Giu9_RedandGold Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I'm so happy to see an update on this story! I know life can get complicated and is definitey more important than a fanfiction, but as a loyal reader I have been patiently waiting ☺

I loved the new chapter! Both past and present have become so intriguing, I don't even know which one I like more!

Author's Response: Thank you for your patience and your review! :D

Past and present are approaching some very intense moments. Enjoy the ride!


 Report Review

Review #16, by prongslittleflower Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Loved the chapter update! Can't wait to read more from you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am ironing out some plot bunnies that I've been so excited to use, and we've only now just begun to get there in the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by BBHP Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
I have too many thoughts and emotions and questions to even make sense of it all. This chapter really took the story to a new level of intensity. I am so eager to read more.

Also, I do hope the chaos calms down for you!

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, BBHP!

Chaos is calming, but it's still there. This story is a great stress relief.

I hope you enjoy reading the intensity of this story as I do writing it!


 Report Review

Review #18, by prongslittleflower The Witch's Trial

4th September 2017:
I didn't realize this story wasn't finished and I kept pressing and searching for a next chapter button...which means I'm so utterly hooked on this! I really am enjoying the story and I can't wait to find out more about what's happening in the present and in the past. I like how you're switching back and forth, as it gives insight to the story without oversimplifying or revealing too much. I can't wait for you to update so we can read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review!

I love writing back and forth in time. It adds to the mystery and reveals motives in both past and present. :)

Enjoy the rest of the story as it unfolds!


 Report Review

Review #19, by abbynormalluvsluna The Pendant

5th August 2017:
I want to know what happened at that dang funeral!

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews!

You will definitely find out what happened at the funeral. ;)


 Report Review

Review #20, by abbynormalluvsluna The Jaguar

5th August 2017:
I love the way Amelia narrates! It leaves a lot to mystery but never so much I'm totally confused.

I also definitely entertained the idea that Amelia's mother was Rita Skeeter for a bit when her name was mentioned because of how much ruthlessness they seem to share. I think Rita Skeeter is a bit too old at this point, though.

Author's Response: Amelia begins to find more of her voice as the story goes on, but at the same time, she also leaves some things out. Maybe she doesn't realize that she's doing this, or maybe she doesn't want to rely some information (for whatever reasons). As the story progresses, more clarity will be shed!

As for Rita Skeeter, it's a coincidence in the wizarding world that she and Amelia's mum share the same name. However, I thought that witches sharing names only solidifies the wizarding culture in the HP universe. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by abbynormalluvsluna The Final Hallow

5th August 2017:
Oh my gosh, this had me hooked right away!

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad to hear it! ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Eyo The Witch's Trial

31st July 2017:
I forgot to put a review after having caught back the story shame on me!

You have a great writing style that should really be the first thing about your story. Seems very pro and the alternance of past and present as difficult as it you master it pretty well. I love how you create continuously new enigma in either the past or the present which I guess will be answer reciprocally in the other time. For example in this chapter will we understand what the hell this group is during their research in the past?

I wonder though if you will be able to alternate until the end which would be really cool but I guess even harder. Your mc has this little original thing which makes her a good one. It's nice how she is a "model" student on the cover but also many other traits no wonder she is attract to James. James though to be honest I feel in the past is a bit boring. He is extremely popular but doesn't appear arrogant or full of himself, he is just nice that is a bit boring to be honest and I was a bit disappointed about the discussion over Hogwart House I felt like his argumentation was pretty dumb, Slytherin and Griffondor follow the same cursus so from this one point it's dumb to think the House makes you "bad" or "good". Ostracism is definitely a better way to make someone turn "bad" and since when cunning and ambition are quality of Dark Wizzard, nice to know that I would have been an a**hole in this James universe haha. But as read in an earlier review maybe James was just acting like that for the sake of the argument and some sexual tension was here I mean at this age I wouldn't say I wasn't like that. Although the present James I hope is more complex and interesting.

By the way to answer you on the house system I always feel since I began to read Harry Potter that the house system was shit. House for sure but for the rest of the year you should be mixed randomly during class, have meals without house table and should just keep house table for the entrance and last meal of the year but anyway.

I love what you make of blood runes and I hope they gonna play a big role in this story not simply as way to sign your murder but also as combat magic or other kind of protection curse!

Also as you tell us James is kind of a prodigy in duelling? How strong is Harry Potter in your story? If James is that good at 16 can we guess that Harry is the best dueller/greatest wizard of Britain? Or maybe do you want to reveal this kind of info right now? I love the post era story where the old characters and not only the childrens are active and for now I love what you make of Harry Potter, very frightening, impressive but carrying he is really my favourite char in your story! I can't wait to see what you do of Ron Ginny or Hermione because after all Hermione knows her shit about the Hollows.

I love how dark is this fic, it's not stupidly dark I could even see it's a nice era but the dark is crawling and you create a very strong ambiance I'm not sure if it's reinforced by the alternance in time though but it's really good.

I can't wait to read more and particularly about the goal of the NeoGrindelwald ( why switch to this shitty name though :p or is it two diffťrents group? ) and I sincerely hope you gonna make them as good as the rest of your story ( their story, their attacks, their relative power, Etc... )

Thank you for this story, cheers! See you next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you for this awesome review, Eyo! I appreciate your insight.

I have really enjoyed the time jumping in this story. You'll find a bit more about The Devil's Mark (and the NeoWalds [who didn't name themselves this, but more on that in later chapters] and Blood Runes) as the story continues.

I'm glad you like Amelia. She has many strong traits, and those will become more apparent in later chapters. She is on the path of self discovery for sure! As for James, you are reading him from Amelia's point of view. While he is popular, James is arrogant, but it's not very obvious to Amelia--maybe she just doesn't see it, or maybe she doesn't care that he is. James takes things for granted, I think. He naturally expects to be popular, feels comfortable with that attention (and can ignore the more negative aspects), and full heartedly accepts the division between Gryffindor and Slytherin. He does, deep down I think, believe in Gryffindor's superiority, but his feelings for Amelia (as well as having Albus in Slytherin) challenges his pre-assumptions at the same time as bringing them out of him. To answer your question about James' duelling, he is NOT a prodigy. James is a naturally talented wizard, especially in kinesthetic magic (Quidditch and spellwork). In my mind's eye, he does struggle in Potions and in theoretical magic, and his arrogance gives him the confidence to try new magic, which only increases his talent. You will see more of present James, and maybe you'll learn more about his motives. ;)

Harry Potter is an intimidating figure in this story. I love writing scenes between him and Amelia. You'll find out more why Amelia is so nervous to be around him later! Ron, Hermione, and Ginny will make more appearances, as the plot is now accelerating into some exciting new ventures!

Thanks again for reviewing and enjoy the rest of the story. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Eyo The Pendant

28th July 2017:
Well now I'm excited. I'm afraid I will not be able to sleep before I catch up on this story!!

Author's Response: Hope you enjoy what's coming next. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Eyo The Final Hallow

28th July 2017:
I'm totally lost but without being sure why I'm going to continue this story. Interesting first chapter let's see what you have next! Thank you for the reading

Author's Response: Thanks for giving this story a try, Eyo! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Violet Potter 434 The Witch's Trial

27th June 2017:
omg
more is needed

I want to see what harry wants to talk to them about

and that last bit
!!!


anyways its amazing

and you must write quickly


love from me xx

Author's Response: Many thanks, Violet_Potter434! :)


Your reviews always put a smile on my face. Working on the next chapter now!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>