Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for In Reality...
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AbraxanUnicorn { you make my heart flip }

17th July 2017:
Awesome chapter! Your writing gets better and better with each update :) Things are staring to hot up between Al and Hansika, which is really exciting! I can't wait to see where you take this story next, and I hope we soon get to find out what's REALLY going on with the Potters?

Keep the updates coming!

Brax X

Author's Response: thank you! I've been writing on and off between updates, so I'd hope so!

you'll find out soon enough what's going on with the Potters!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by putitonpaper { god has left the room }

5th July 2017:
Hmm, was Hansika's question about being magical to Al meant to be a joke? Lol, she seemed to be taking that really well if not haha.

I really like this so far. I like the muggle elements of this - the high school classes, the technology, the fanfiction but there definitely seems to be something magical brewing. I'm excited to find out why exactly the Potter kids are in a muggle high school. Also, Lila and Jamie are just very funny. I also like how you've woven in works of literature (both fanfiction and regular fiction). I'll definitely look out for new chapters!

Very good read so far! Thanks! :)

Author's Response: yeah, that was a joke! she's usually does mean it as a joke, since she believes in magic but not really? like she believes in magic that are tricks of the eyes, since she knows that there is a science behind it. idk how to explain it!

the muggle elements are by far the most fun part of this story--i actually know about how it works. using the magical world can actually be limiting sometimes, since there are large gaps in what we know, and we have to make it up. I certainly know psychology better than i do transfiguration!

weaving works of fanfic and literature is actually really cool for me, since i can lowkey fangirl about them through Hansika!!



 Report Review

Review #3, by putitonpaper { fresh pickled toads }

5th July 2017:
Oh - Jamie and Lila are so clearly my favorite characters now!

"But it sounds like really hot tea, and I want you to spill!" - But I must say my favorite line was this from Anjali.

And you've set this up very nicely - I'm trying to figure out exactly how/why the Potters [I think they are still the Potters] are there in the muggle world and when/if your OC will fully figure out what's going on.

Author's Response: OMG SAME SAME they are by far both of my fav characters yet !!

that was my favorite line too!!

i'm glad you think i've got it all set up nicely and stuff-- this fanfiction started as a result of me asking a question and then I started writing it, no planning for it! i'm better at that with my other fics lol

i think it's safe for me to say that, yes, they are the potters! it's very obvious (it's why chose their names as i did) to everyone reading (i hope so at least) except for Hansika, poor her!


 Report Review

Review #4, by putitonpaper { off their rockers }

5th July 2017:
I love how you shout out to an actual fanfic! That put a smile on my face :). Lila and Jamie are very strange haha - but again this is super creative by you! I've never read James and Lily with these personalities before. I'm really interested in knowing why they are attending a muggle school. This story is definitely getting more and more intriguing to me!

Author's Response: i love shouting out to my fav fanfics since this scope of the idea allows me to! so yeah, you might see more of that as Hansika plows through the hpff fanfiction archive !!

lila and jamie's personalities are this way because i want to set them apart from their usual characterizations--not to mention its a lot of fun writing them like this!


 Report Review

Review #5, by putitonpaper { meet }

5th July 2017:
This is very interesting and unlike anything I've ever read before. I'm certainly curious as to what's going on here. I actually smiled at her rambling about a seven year old speaking with an english accent but not being from Britain. Ahh, and I think I see you foreshadowing some interesting things in that last paragraph :). Good first chapter!

Author's Response: thank you thank you thank you omg

i mean really, thank you so much! i'm pleased you think this is an original idea, and i'm glad that you like my take on it!

yes, that might be foreshadowing ??? (believe it or not i wasn't intending for it to be foreshadowing lol it just happened)


 Report Review

Review #6, by onestop_hpfan18 { meet }

9th June 2017:
I'm definitely intrigued by where you're going with this. It's well written and Hansika's narration is engaging. Definitely adding this one to my reading list.

Author's Response: Thank you! It means a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AbraxanUnicorn { god has left the room }

6th June 2017:
Hello :)

I'm sorry it took me so long to realise you had a new chapter up! I'm loving your chapter titles, by the way.

Heh! Hansika is one dramatic chick! From "lethal chemicals" in a school laboratory, to her excitement over grapes, to anticipating her mother's overreaction regarding wet hair - she's certainly got a vivid imagination.

I'm curious as to how and why Jamie and Lila are in the same chemistry class as Hansika, when Jamie is at least 1yr older, and Lila must be about 2yrs younger? Oof, they are so clumsy - or are they deliberately targeting Hansika for some reason? I'm kind of amazed the teacher got her to clear up broken glass; that would have been seen as a health and safety risk to a pupil if it had happened at our school!!

The Wuthering Heights debate made me laugh! Especially because there was no real reason for it to begin with (what does it have to do with Romeo and Juliet?) :D

Al must have been quite alarmed at the word "magic" but I thought he dealt with it well. At least one of the Potter kids isn't completely barmy. I really feel for Harry and Ginny having such crazy children :/

I hope Hansika's Mum goes easy on her for her wet hair. It's only water. How upset must she get if Hansika gets rained on, for instance?

A fun chapter! I look forward to the next one :)

Brax X

Author's Response: Thank you! I always try to make sure the title has to do with something I find humorous in the chapter!

Dramatic? That's true. I didn't even notice! I didn't really mean to write her like that!

I know why they're in the same chemistry class, but that's not going to be revealed yet. Later on, maybe. Ah, that's a tiny little plot hole. Of course, I'd assume that Hansika used the proper disposing materials. I don't think they meant to get Hansika in trouble, it just happens around those two. They really are clumsy, but they still manage to get their pranks to work out perfectly.

Right, that debate! It was inspired by real life events, and originally the debate had started because we were trying to see which one is the worst love story of all time. And it devolved into who had the worst characters. The nuances of real, witty, conversations are had to catch in writing, which is why sneakily left out a good chunk of the conversation.

Al is the sane one of all three. The other two just generally do what they want.

Really, Hansika has a bad habit of thinking the worst of her mother. It's all part of a bigger problem she has and Indian culture comes into play, and all of that.

The next chapter might be a little hard for me. School has just ended, and I get most of my ideas from all my interactions and happenings at school.


 Report Review

Review #8, by BBHP { fresh pickled toads }

20th April 2017:
Sassy Al. This story is so intriguing and fun. Like, Harry Potter is really REAL and I can't wait to see how this messes with everyone.

Author's Response: Sassy Al indeed! I'm so glad you find the story still intriguing thus far, it makes me happy. Haha, yeah, that's what I was wondering when I thought of this story!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AbraxanUnicorn { fresh pickled toads }

20th April 2017:
Hurrah, a new chapter! Thought I'd drop in with a review :)

Wow, Anjali and Hansika have quite the potty-mouths on them! I wonder what their parents must think of all their swearing?!

Lunchtime tables and the fact that people gravitate to the same place each time, until they think of it as "their" space - how true that part is. I'm glad that Hansika's friends didn't do anything more than glare.

I'm still getting my head around the plot, but I now have a theory as to what's going on. Hansika thinks that her Harry Potter books are entirely fictional, and she doesn't realise they are written about a family (the Potters) who actually exist? Although that doesn't explain why all 3 Potter kids are getting a muggle education. Hmm. May need to go back to the drawing board on that...

Hehe! I loved Al's playful reference to "a green pickled toad" regarding his eye colour. Made me smile. And Jamie/Lila's "yikes" expressions. I bet the Harry Potter references made him squirm, if I'm on the right track?

It's too early in for me to comment much on characterisation. Hansika seems quite confident in some ways, but also quite insecure in others. I found it sad that she seems to think that a boy wouldn't want to kiss her. Anjali seems to have a good friendship with Hansika, despite her being quite a forward, effervescent sort of person in contrast to Hansika's slightly more reserved approach to life.

Couple of bits of CC, which I hope you don't mind? There's a bit of a switch around with tenses from present to past and back to present again, especially in the first few sentences. Also, a "James" has sneaked in halfway through, I'm presuming in place of what should be "Jamie"?

Anyway. I thought this was a good chapter; easy to read and follow, and it flows well. Looking forward to the next one :)

Brax X

Author's Response: Your reviews always make me smile!

They do have a tendency cuss a lot, but isn't that what nearly every teenager does these days? It wouldn't be that uncommon to hear a bad word like that mixed in every other sentence.

I know! It's so true, and the commentary on that was highly reminiscent of what happened with me when I joined a new table to sit with a friend. It's unnerving how uncomfortable people are when a certain norm is broken.

Your theory is pretty on point, but I won't say anything about the muggle education. I don't want to give everything away.

The playful references and how Jamie and Lila reacted to that are both supposed to be a contrast to their characters, to how they both feel about their situation with their family. Jamie and Lila are both uncomfortable, but Al's comfortable enough to make jokes about it albeit having only a subtle connection to his parents.

I suppose they are quite like that. I don't really notice because I write them how I am with my closest friend. Don't feel to sorry about her thinking a boy wouldn't want to kiss her. Of course, she does feel that way, but it's not a particularly strong emotion, or a point of interest for her. She just feels neutral about it, and she jokes about it too. It's also how I feel about this too, since that comment came right out of one of the the things I have told my friends.

I will never, ever mind helpful criticisms. Tenses have always been hard for me, but I'll still see what I can fix. The Jamie-James slip up was a mistake, whoops! That's okay, it's supposed to be obvious who Jamie, Al, and Lila are, just not to Hansika. Poor her.

I'm glad it flowed easy, especially because when I wrote it, it came easy.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by BBHP { off their rockers }

13th April 2017:
I loved reading this and cannot wait for the next chapter! I love the setting of this story - not the typical fanfiction. The characters are hilarious and awkward and it makes it so fun to read. So creative. You should probably just drop everything and spend all of your time writing more chapters ;)

Author's Response: This is so sweet of you??? Really???

Thank you for all the compliments, it shows me that someone appreciates what I have to offer, and that's a really motivating feeling, you know?

I wish I could spend my time writing it, but alas, life impedes.

I'm on a schedule for this story, so I can safely tell you that there might be a chapter next week.


 Report Review

Review #11, by AbraxanUnicorn { off their rockers }

5th April 2017:
Hello :)

Ooh, second chapter! I was quite excited when I saw this in the recently added section, yay! Oh - etc etc is an amazing fic; I love it too :)

I'm really glad we get to see and learn a little more about Al in this chapter. I loved the interactions between him and his siblings, although Lila and Jamie sound slightly bonkers (but in a good, funny way). I'm intrigued as to what's going on and I can't quite work the plot out at the moment, but that's okay; I'm enjoying the journey to who knows where!

Thanks for the update. Great chapter - and I look forward to the next one :)

Brax X

Author's Response: "Lila and Jamie sound slightly bonkers (but in a good, funny way)" I'M CACKLING

I mean seriously, that was totally how I meant for them to be. They are bonkers, and it is meant to annoy people, yes. Much like the Hitachiin twins, actually like I mentioned. They're famous (in the wizarding world) but they scare away their fans by annoying them bless

The plot isn't supposed to be worked out in the story right now, but you'll start seeing hints as soon as third chapter. It's obvious but also is kind of like? It looks like something, obviously, but it also looks like nothing of importance. And to be honest, the plot is a ball of tangled up headphones. I'm not sure how to straighten it out and I give up a second after trying.


 Report Review

Review #12, by AbraxanUnicorn { meet }

18th March 2017:
Hello!

This is an intriguing start to a story and quite unlike anything I've read before :) Your writing has pulled me in and now I really want to know what's going on? I'm guessing somehow Al and his family have ended up in an alternate reality where they actually exist?

I like your teenage Al; it's similar to how I picture him in my head. Just out of curiosity, in which country is this story set? Apologies if I missed something obvious!

I can't wait to see where you take this story, I think it has huge promise! BTW, I'm a INFP too ;)

Brax X

Author's Response: Wowie, that was fast.

I totally understand your confusion! I think you mean a reality where they don't exist. And no, it's nothing like that actually. I haven't yet seen a story where the Harry Potter books are available to the muggle world yet (whereas these books in the Wizarding world would be classified as non-fiction), so I guess that's what I'm writing. There's not much I could tell without giving away what the story is about. Oh well, what can you do?

This does take place in Britain actually, but I know why you'd feel that way. I've only ever been to an American school, and the Internet is kind of unhelpful if you haven't experienced going to a educational establishment in Britain!

Thank you for your kind words, my writing style is always ever shifting, and it's nice to know you like it.

P.S. I am an ISFP, one letter off!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login