Reading Reviews for Witchful Thinking
  
59 Reviews Found

Review #1, by WizardsOnlyFools Little Girl Lost

13th June 2017:
A necessarily frustrating chapter haha. It wouldn't be much use to the story if everything went off without a hitch. Of course, poor Iris' trip was doomed from the start, but I love her continued determination to do what she believes is the right thing. At least she wasn't able to take her coat off when she began to get hypothermia...

Delilah is a right piece of work. First she sees her ex's 7-year-old daughter wandering the streets of London alone and leaves her there. Of course she'd gone to tell Al but you don't just leave the little girl when you don't know if she's going to stay where she is, UNLESS she put some sort of tracking charm on Iris (which would make sense if Delilah is the "wall" that Iris ran into near the end). Regardless, she probably should have at least tried to convince Iris to let her take her to Al or something. You don't just leave a kid you know on the streets in the dead of winter! Unless you're a conniving trout, perhaps.
Which was pretty much proven by my second point. After leaving Iris to find Al, instead of just telling him immediately, she decides to wind him up with seduction nonsense to the point where he won't listen to another word she says, even though it was actually important. What an idiot.

Okay, my rant is over.

Well written, as per usual. I'm curious to see if you do indeed throw a werewolf into the mix. Iris being bitten would be an interesting, albeit sad, twist! Hope your summer has started off well and I'll be looking forward to your next update!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hasane Little Girl Lost

7th June 2017:
Oh, poor Iris! Everybody had their fair share of angst in this chapter.

And, Al, wow. He had every right not to believe Delilah, but I almost wanted to know what kind of turn this story would have taken if Al just said yes.

Delilah, on the other hand, was manipulative. Taking a possibly serious situation for Al (one where his one daughter is in danger and could possibly die) and making it benefit her... That's just not right. And people like her are ones you often see most in the real world.

This chapter was well worth the wait! Now I await the next one because I just have to know what the full moon means. Of course, it does mean werewolves will transform, but I'm honestly kind of wondering what threat that would hold in a largely muggle London? I don't think werewolves would venture out into a muggle London unless they want to out themselves. There are much bigger threats in a busy city at night, where bad people roam. Hm.

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm really glad you felt this chapter was worth the wait :) I wrote three completely different drafts before settling on this one! I toyed with the idea of Al acceding to Delilah, but, in the end, decided not to go with that storyline.

The next chapter is almost complete so hopefully you won't have to wait too long to find out what happens next :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #3, by PendleWizard Little Girl Lost

6th June 2017:
Awww!Poor wee Iris! I hope they find her soon and I hope this brings Al and Sunny together! What made her choose KX? It's a bit insalubrious around there. How far has she wandered - if she went into Bloomsbury or down the Gray's Inn Road it wouldn't be too bad (Sorry - used to work round there many moons ago!) Do we know where Al lives?

Would someone in Eastcote talk about going into London? They're part of London, aren't they? Would they say 'into town' maybe? (Sorry - I'm not a Londoner. You probably know the nuances better than me. Maybe Eastcote sees itself as separate?).

I'm really enjoying this (and love all your work). Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi PendleWizard,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and I really appreciate the questions! :)

Iris chose KX off the top of her head when put on the spot, because she'd heard of it before. However, I didn't specify whether she exited the train there or not! Just that she got out with lots of other people and there were shops.

You don't know where Al lives, but I do ;P As for whether someone in Eastcote would say they were "going into town" or "going into London" - that's a very interesting question!! I think it's far away or close enough to be either, but locals may be able to put me right on that score. My Auntie lived near Rayner's Lane and talked about "going into London", but she may have been an anomaly!

Next chapter isn't too far away :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #4, by Speakeasy Little Girl Lost

5th June 2017:
Delilah isn't really the smartest one is she. I really am looking forward to the next chapter. As always another terrific chapter.

Author's Response: Hi, and thanks so much for your lovely comment! Next chapter shouldn't be too far behind this one :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hasane Broken Ice

23rd May 2017:
Everything definitely hit the fan, yes.

A round of applause to the frog? Most definitely.

Wow.. Just wow. I felt bad for Al in the moment Priya started calling him a liar and a sorcerer, names he doesn't deserve. But the way he dealt with it wasn't healthy. He shouldn't be isolating himself, he should be speaking and communicating with Sunita and Iris; it's the only way that this situation will smooth over. I kind of understand why he would do it, but still. I hope he gets his head screwed back on soon.

I also felt bad for Iris. She must have been so confused and hurt, and by any means she was willing to do to get to speak to her dad. She's only a child and she doesn't know, and that's the thing: she doesn't know how dangerous the cities are day or night be damned, she doesn't know where Al is even if he lives in London, she doesn't know that the people of her city will do her more harm than good. I worry for her, seriously, and I hope Sunita finds out quickly, and sends out, like, the whole police force for her or something. Well, considering Al's protective family, they might as well be the police force.

Another wonderful chapter, and I look forward to the next one (take your time tho)!

Author's Response: Hey Hasane!

I'm really glad you liked this chapter :) Poor Al - he really overreacted, but he'll hopefully come to his senses soon. He might have to ...!

London is no place for a child on their own, but I don't think Iris really considered that when she stepped out of the door and wandered off. :/

Next chapter is in progress :) Thank you so much for your great review!

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #6, by WizardsOnlyFools Broken Ice

19th May 2017:
You had me for a second there thinking that everything was going to work out haha. Very cool turn of events though. Did not see that reaction coming. It'd be very interesting to see your take on such a unique cultures' attitude towards the magical community. Clearly things are not as pleasant in India when it comes to that topic as compared to current day Britain (hopefully not as bad as Britain 30 years previous haha). I'm wondering if magic people were/are more widely known in India or if Priya just had a bad run-in with some? In which case her reaction would seem plausible. But then again, she seemed sort of ashamed. Past magical lover? Haha, I love speculating.

I will say that I think Al maybe overreacted to the situation. It'd be perfectly normal for him to feel a little bit angry, guilty, and scared, and to even leave the house for a while to let the situation cool off. But to cut off contact completely for an indefinite amount of time? That seems more than unfair to Sunita and especially Iris. Also, he's going to feel like an idiot when he finds out what Iris did BECAUSE of his lack of contact. :P Though, Patti and Thatha should TOTALLY stagger their nap times haha.

Thanks for the chapter being great, as usual!

P.S. I wonder if J.K. Rowling ever said if there is a difference between a sorcerer and wizard/witch, or a warlock...or magician, or mage. There's so many haha. She's seemed to use a few of them interchangeably in the books. Just thinking out loud. :P

Author's Response: Hey Wizard :)

I'm glad this chapter provided some unexpected moments, and your theories over what might have prompted Priya's response are all pretty interesting ;) You'll get answers, but I can't specify when (I'm so sorry!) India is so vast and has a number of quite isolated, rural regions where education and knowledge are lacking. If two muggle villagers from such an area produce a witch/wizard, it's not taken kindly. In the cities and towns, it would be much like Britain, I think.

Al COMPLETELY overreacted! Originally, I was going to play down his response to the frog/Priya, but he'd had a day of minor issues with Iris, and his emotions had simply snowballed, so he flew off the handle and had a self-pitying tantrum. It's only been two days since the incident and he's still very unhappy about the whole exchange, but hopefully he'll stop being such a baby soon and man up. He might have to, anyway!

Old people can't always control when they fall asleep, hence Thatha snoozing in the living room! I suspect Patti will be making resolutions to stay awake during the afternoons from now on ;)

I haven't looked into whether there's a difference between wizards/warlocks/sorcerers, but it's an interesting question!

Thank you so much for this lovely review and for all the brilliant questions/speculations! Apologies for the essay in return ;)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #7, by Giu9_RedandGold Broken Ice

18th May 2017:
I really want to hug Iris right now. She is so cute and so sweet, I have no other words!!!

It was a surprise that Priya already knew about Iris' magic, but mostly I was shocked by her attitude towards it and Albus. I hope to read more about her and maybe see her change her mind. I mean, exorcism? Really? My guess is that she is a squib and very happy to be one.

Please update soon! I can't wait to see Sunny's reaction to Iris escaping and whether she will be asking for Al's help!!!

Author's Response: Hi Giu!

Poor Iris in this chapter. She's confused and upset, and thinks she's to blame. Which she is in a way; she let the frog out, after all! However, the childish/dramatic responses of the adults in the room was NOT her fault. As is the way of children (or certainly me, at that age), she tries to make amends in the most ridiculous of ways :/

Originally, I wasn't going to give Priya much of a role in this story at all, but she really grew on me as a character, and I couldn't help but wonder what her attitude to magic might be? You'll find out more about her as time goes on :)

As for Sunita, who loves Iris more than life itself, and knows what a big, dangerous place London is ... I guess you'll have to wait and find out :/

Thanks so much for your great review and for all the interesting questions/speculations!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #8, by Speakeasy Broken Ice

18th May 2017:
Yikes. Things got really ugly there with Priya, hopefully things will work out. Poor Iris. Maybe Della turns up in the next chapter?

Author's Response: Hey Speakeasy!

Yeah, it ended up as pretty unpleasant for everyone when the frog decided to explore the living room. Poor Iris indeed :(

And, who knows what Delilah's going to get up to? *Not saying a word*

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hasane Out Of The Bag

17th May 2017:
Oh my god, so sorry for the late review! AP exams are absolute crap.

Anyways, this chapter, as per usual, was so cute! I loved how you dealt with Al and Iris, and how you didn't make him a perfect parent. Obviously, there will be some flaws in beginning parents, especially ones who were thrown into it so suddenly.

You've got the mind of seven year old down pat, so much so even I was getting a little annoyed at her attitude. I have no patience with kids, as you can see.

And the end.. Well, that cliff hanger certainly made me glad that I didn't read it earlier (I would've hated waiting so long for the next chapter) but sad that I didn't (the chapter was so interesting!).

Another great chapter, and I patiently (ironic, I know) your next installment.

Author's Response: Hey Hasane, no worries! I can't criticise - my updating has been VERY suspect of late! I hope your exams are going well :)

Thanks so much for your lovely comments on this chapter!

Al and Iris are no longer complete strangers to each other, and consequently they've both let their guards down a little and have stopped pussyfooting around.

I'll admit; I never thought I'd get into writing a child's character, but Iris is so much fun that she almost writes herself.

Next chapter is already up; I hope you enjoy it :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #10, by WizardsOnlyFools Out Of The Bag

12th May 2017:
Yay, another chapter! For some reason the site wouldn't show that any of the stories I follow had updated until today when it just threw like 5 of them at me, and I'm glad that this was one of them! The daughter/father dynamic is great, with both sides at odds only to later realize they're being silly. Very realistic. Having Al learn from his parents what every new parent learns, that being that NO ONE knows how to be parent and you just have to play it by ear, was well done. I'm surprised he'd done so well before now, to be honest haha!

I actually thought that the "Out of the Bag" title would refer to everyone finding out that Al broke it off with Della, so it was amusing to see the chapter culminate in a runaway chocolate frog. Here's hoping Patti doesn't freak out TOO much haha!

I wouldn't worry about having a couple fluff chapters in a row. Your writing is more than good enough to be enjoyable to read regardless of whether the main plot advances or not. Besides, these kinds of chapters are great for character development, which only serves to better the story in the end. :)

Hope real life hasn't been too stressful and I'll be looking out for the next update (if the site lets me :P)!

Author's Response: Hey Wizard!

Aww, you always leave the loveliest reviews! This one has cheered me up no end :)

Yeah, I thought it was about time that the father/daughter relationship was thrown a curve ball, now that the proverbial "honeymoon" period is over. Al has more joy to look forward to in that department ;)

The frog wasn't planned, but that's what I so love about ad-libbing with this story and not having many/any pre-written chapters; just like life, anything can happen ... and it did!

Your comment about my writing is just about the sweetest thing ever; I want to print out this review so I can hang it up somewhere to read whenever I have a day of self-doubt. Really - thank you so much!

Next chapter is now mostly written, so look out for it soon :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #11, by Speakeasy Out Of The Bag

8th May 2017:
Good for Al to get a lesson in parenting. As always another great chapter.

Author's Response: Just wait until Iris hits her teenage years! Al won't know what hit him. *CACKLE* I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #12, by Giu9_RedandGold Out Of The Bag

7th May 2017:
Finally you're back!!!

Yes, it was a filler chapter, but it was nice to see Al struggling with parenting. It makes it more real. I can only imagine how hard it must be for him becoming a dad in one day and how scared he is of doing it wrong. And his childish behavior seems very realistic. I mean, I'm the same age he is and still nowhere near becoming a mother. If I see a child crying in the street I glare at them to make them feel uncomfortable. On the other hand, Sunny is an alien to me in this perspective.

So, apparently this chapter has brought out of me some thoughts about what a terrible mother I would be...thanks, I guess...

Anyway, I can't wait to find out Priya's reaction to the chocolate frog. Hopefully it will be as hilarious as I expect and with no tragic repercussions on Sunny's memory.

Cheers! X

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so sorry this chapter took so long to finish, considering there's not an awful lot going on :/ Sunny's parenting skills would easily top mine (I scare children for fun), but I thought it would be interesting to put Al under a bit of pressure. I bet he can't wait for Iris to start asking "those" awkward, growing up questions (cue evil laugh).

As for the frog, I haven't decided what's going to happen yet. It jumped into this chapter unexpectedly..

Cheers for your review! It's good to see you back :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #13, by blackzero Out Of The Bag

7th May 2017:
Well so long and a cliff hanger. Update soon.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry *hides* - RL and other projects got in the way! The next chapter won't take so long. Thank you for reviewing!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #14, by luna1306 Standing Room Only

5th April 2017:
You know I'm really starting to feel a bit sorry for Percy. People never want to hear what he has to say. What if he actually does have something interesting to say? He can't be all boring and dull. So sad.
This Christmas chapter did live up to my expectations but I think it's just hard too really feel that Christmas vibe in April.
Arthur always makes me laugh he is always really similar in fanfic to the real story and I really like that.
From now on I might be a bit later with reviewing because I have to read a lot of books for school right now so I won't be able to read as much here as I'd like to.

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Heh! I'm sure the things that Percy says are interesting to himself ;) And yes, he has much more depth of character than he's been given in this chapter. Maybe I'll give him a little role later on, who knows?

As always, your review made me chuckle. I hope school goes well and don't neglect your studies for this fanfiction! The stories you read will still be here when your RL reading has been done :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #15, by WizardsOnlyFools Standing Room Only

3rd April 2017:
Okay, quickly before I forget, Sunny's mother (blanking on her name!) said Merry Christmas to Al in the last chapter. Is it said that way for those who practice that in India, similar to the U.S., instead of the British "Happy Christmas"? Just curious. :)

Alright, on to this chapter! Definitely some fluff, but I think every story needs that from time to time to lighten things up and remove all tensions from the characters. And it served to introduce Iris to the extended family!

I can imagine it's tough trying to live up to people's expectations of how characters act/react/feel, but don't worry, you did a great job! Everyone felt pretty natural and I loved George's doting on his granddaughter. I did expect Al to break his broken engagement news more publicly, but I'm sure he doesn't want Iris there to have deal with it when he does. Also, I'm glad Al wasn't too proud to ask his Father for help. It can only be a benefit down the road.

As always, looking forward to the next installment! Thanks for a great chapter!

P.S. Your updates are far quicker than a lot of peoples, so thanks for that too! :)

Author's Response: Hello Wizard, thank you so much for another kind and thought-provoking review!

Many people here (in the UK) use the terms "Merry" and "Happy" interchangeably, so I decided to vary it a bit between the characters :D

I'm so pleased that the Weasleys didn't seem completely OOC, phew! Al held back because he's not really one for public announcements; he'd rather let the news filter out :)

I've just started writing the next chapter, but I have a few distractions this week, so not sure when it will be finished. Hopefully soon

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #16, by Hasane Standing Room Only

2nd April 2017:
hey, thanks for the shout out! it's totally nice to know that my fangirly reviews help you out somewhat in regards to motivation.

that aside... this chapter was so cute!! i love the interactions of the whole entire family (even if all the fluff is not all i am used to reading), it made me feel like it was christmas in april! i absolutely loved the bit where iris was scared that her teacher was there, it was such an iris thing to do!

this was fillery, but maybe it just sets the stage for more drama. i didn't mind reading it though, i always am excited when the story has updated!!

Author's Response: Hey Hasane, thank you for another lovely review!

I must admit, it was a little difficult to get into a festive spirit in March for the purposes of this story, but I hope the sentiment came across okay. I'm not a natural when it comes to writing fluff!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #17, by Speakeasy Standing Room Only

2nd April 2017:
Another great chapter. I really likes this story.

Author's Response: Hi Speakeasy, thank you so much for your kind comments! I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed this chapter :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #18, by ronmyfav Festive Resolutions

31st March 2017:
Lovely chapter :) especially loved the part where Al comes to pick up Iris and the beautiful gift to Sunita. Finally Della has left, but I guess she is gonna keep creating problems :/
I am very excited for the New Year party now :D

Author's Response: Hi ronmyfav

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for continuing to review! It makes me really happy to hear that you enjoyed this chapter :) The next chapter is awaiting validation and should be ready to read soon!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #19, by Fugacity Festive Resolutions

29th March 2017:
Interesting, well developed story. Iris sounds cute and you have done a good job at describing her and her reactions and thoughts in an age appropriate manner - meaning she actually sounds the age she is supposed to be. I've seen far too many stories where little kids sound mature beyond their actual ages because the authors cannot seem to get the dialog and such down correctly for a young child. Even JKR had a bit of difficulty with that from time to time but made up for it with an enthralling story.

I got to the end of chapter 14 and thought "Well that's not a complete story". I was much relieved when I noticed that it was marked as WIP, not Complete.
Keep up the good work - and tyr to keep it classy even if it is marked as "M" for it's rating

Author's Response: Hello Fugacity. Yay, a new reader! Welcome, and many thanks for your kind comments :)

Children can be quite difficult to write, so I'm really glad that Iris comes across as realistic for her age. Now that I'm more acquainted with her character, she's becoming easier and more fun to develop, but I do have to constantly remind myself that she's only seven-and-a-half - i.e. would she say/do/think that?

Haha! Yeah, there's a way to go with this story yet. Be warned - it could drag on for a while. I hope it continues to hold your interest, though. It's rated M for some scenes and swearing, but I'll try and keep the bad language to a minimum.

Thank you so much for finding the time to read my story and leave this review - I really appreciate it :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #20, by Hasane Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Delilah's swift mood changes are troubling. Her threats are troubling! EVERYTHING ABOUT HER IS TROUBLING WOW

I'm concerned for her despite the fact she literally threatened to kill Al. Because in any case that's not normal.

On the other hand, is it just me or did Sunny and Al get cuter?? They're really developing as far as their relationship goes, and Iris doesn't make much of an appearance but she still brighten's up the chapter with her *sunny* personality.

Okay, that pun was pretty bad. :^)

Author's Response: Lol! Actually, I love puns, so you can keep them coming :D

Delilah is one of those people who is really nice when things are going her way, but turns into a monster if they're not! If Delilah took an MBI test, she would probably be ENTJ-T :)

Ah, Sunita and Al! I love writing scenes for those two :*)

Thank you so much for your fantastic review :) I hope to read more of your story soon!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #21, by luna1306 Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Hey Brax!

I absolutely adored this chapter, Christmas is just sooo wonderful!
Even though it's march i always appreciate a bit of Christmas reading.
Sunny is just such a good person, she knows she shouldn't kiss Al when he's still engaged and I think it really shows who she is as a person when she stops the kiss.
And GOD Della what Is she up too!! She might be real dangerous.
I am excited for next chapter to see a wonderful Christmas with the potter/Weasley (hopefully)

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Luna :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! I love me a bit of Christmas too, although it does feel a bit strange to be writing festive scenes in March!

Ah, Sunita - she would have hated for Al to get into trouble over a kiss! She is intrinsically a good person with morals :)

As for Delilah ... who knows? ;)

I really hope you enjoy the next chapter! Thank you for continuing to be brilliant and so supportive of this story. I don't think it would have got this far without you :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #22, by blackzero Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Finally Al breaks up with Dellla...Can't wait for next since the story has now got a lot nore interesting.Thanks for the update

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoy the next chapter :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #23, by WizardsOnlyFools Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Another great chapter! I'm glad Al didn't wait to resolve the break from Della, even if it did cause him bodily harm to do so. Also that he and Sunny did nothing more than a simple kiss (credit to Sunny of course). Otherwise he might have felt too much guilt to break it off with Della, besides it being just not a great thing to do while currently in a relationship haha.
I can totally see how being blindsided by Al like that without a real reason would turn her into "hell hath no fury like a scorned woman" mode, but then again that list of attributes only compounds the fact that she's a terrible match for him.

Very excited for the New Year's party, though something tells me Delilah has something unfortunate in store for Albus sometime soon.

Also, it should be interesting (in a morbid sense, I guess) to see how Vijay's inevitable death affects the story and how all the different character cope. But glad he's still hanging in there for the time being!

Thanks for another great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank YOU for another fabulous review! Seriously, feedback like this is the fuel on which this story runs :)

Al doesn't really like conflict, but Delilah forced his hand with her constraints, and then escalated the situation to the point where he had to take defensive action. But hey, he's a Healer and can mend himself!

In Al's mind, things were already over with Delilah when he kissed Sunita, so even if Sunny had let him go further, it's doubtful he would have felt much guilt ;)

Heh. I hope the New Year chapter lives up to your expectations :) I'm still writing the Christmas one...

Many thanks once again for reading and reviewing!

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #24, by ronmyfav A Problem Shared

18th March 2017:
Finally!! Finally Al told about his feelings to both of them :) :D Great chapter :) I am very happy that the next one is already ready :)

Author's Response: Hello :) Thank you so much for this review!

Yeah, Al really needed someone to help him sort through his emotions in this chapter, and Sunita was the perfect person for that :) I'm very glad that you enjoyed reading it!

The next chapter is ready to go; I'll upload it soon.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #25, by WizardsOnlyFools A Problem Shared

18th March 2017:
Wow! I'm loving this fan fiction!! Your writing style is so easy to read and the character interactions are so natural, I read your prequel and up to this chapter in Witchful Thinking in the last 5 hours. So good! I think I'm enjoying this story more than the last only because of the wider range of characters and probably because Iris is so damn adorable.
You're very talented at bringing characters to life without drowning the reader in details, which is awesome and greatly appreciated. Even the very small scene with Roxie a few chapters back makes me interested in knowing more about her.

I'm glad Al didn't let his awkwardness about his feelings toward Sunny get in the way seeking her out for comfort, especially when it resulted in the confession of said feelings and the kiss! Woo!

Keep up the amazing work and I'm very much looking forward the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello :)

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! I get so excited when "new" readers come along and I'm so touched that you've said such lovely things about this story :) And the fact that you've spent five hours reading it all? *faints*

It's funny you should mention Roxie, because my next novel-length story revolves around her (it's set in the same AU as this one, so there'll be quite a bit of character overlap). I'm already really excited that someone might want to read it and I haven't even started writing it yet!

Thank you so much for this review - you've made me very happy indeed :) I really hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Brax X


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>