Reading Reviews for Holly Fest
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Violet Potter 434 Camp Wotter (Part One)

9th June 2017:
AMAZING!

though you'd better not make me wait so long again for an update!

love from me xx

Author's Response: Thank you :)
And I won't. The next chapter is already part way done, as I had to split the original third chapter into two parts.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Eggs Camp Wotter (Part One)

8th June 2017:
I think the premise of the story is very nice and interesting! I don't read many next-gen that doesn't have James as one of the main characters, but this was a nice change. Can't say I'm impressed with the maturity of the characters, they all feel like they're in their teens rather than adults, but we're only 3 chapters in.
It does however feels like it's becoming a glorification of substance abuse and addiction, so unless that's where you're going, you should watch out. And if that's where you're taking this story, I'm bowing out-- I've no interest in reading about how cool it is to be addicted to and use dangerous substances, because that is far from the truth.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review. :)

The characters in this story range from around 18-21 years old, so they are honestly, still fairly young, and act up to par with a group of excited witches and wizards who are involved in the "party" scene, so to speak. I'm also writing from personal experience here, as I myself am in this age range, as are many of my peers and friends. They are of "college age," and even if many of them are out of Hogwarts and most likely trying to pursue long term careers, they are still young and reckless and often times stupid.
And if you are sensitive towards the subject of substance use, I would honestly bow out of this story now. I can tell you that a large part of this story revolves around the use of substances, and it's going to be expressed through a specific type of alternative culture that views drug use through an alternative angle.
I wouldn't go so far as to say that I am glorifying it, as this constant use by the characters throughout the festival will have its own set of unfavorable consequences that will develop further on in the story. I am also not censoring the substance use/abuse because I am writing a festival fic set in the HP world that accurately depicts the music festival scene in real life. Drug use is a very prevalent part of this culture. And to not for everyone.
It seems like this story may not be for you.


 Report Review

Review #3, by crimson quill Camp Wotter (Part One)

8th June 2017:
So I'm here to give this fic so much deserved love! I really like the concept of this piece, it's so interesting and different which is so refreshing. the whole concept of holly fest is awesome!

I really adore how this fic is so uncensored you know? All your drugs references are clear, it really adds to the vibes that you're going for in this story. It was so good, it's not sugar-coated. It makes for a really fun story!

your characterisation is so strong, I really love your descriptions of Lorcan, looking like a bug. He seems really fun but I like this 'voice of reason' role that he has going on as Alisa obviously trust him. I think his character is really promising. I really enjoy the contrast between him and Lysander too. It works nicely.

I thought the dialogue between James and Elena was brilliantly played like I really felt that their relationship is really fun. The banter between them really creates their chemistry as a couple. I think your dialogue and interaction between your characters is a real strength in your writing.

I really like Alisa's attitude, she's really carefree but she's really such aware of her flaws too which is interesting. I though it was great how you've played Dom, using her veela charms to creates this enchantress vibes! she's going to be a trouble maker for ALisa! I do like how Alisa's sexuality is quite free like she's not really defining herself and it's really brought up naturally.

I'm so excited about getting Albus into this story, I love Al as a character so I can't wait to see how you write him. I know all the chemistry is going to be electric! great job with this! xo

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you enjoyed it and it means a lot that you left such a long, nice review! :)
I'm also pleased to know that you like the fact that I don't sugarcoat my drug references. The substance use is going to be a big part of the story because I am writing a fic that is set in an alternative culture where drug use is a very prevalent, and I know some people will not like this story because of that. I'm glad that you can appreciate the fact that I'm not going to just frost over it.

James and Elena are some of my favorite so far. They're a fun fiery little couple that will both have a lot to offer to the story. And I'm sure that you'll definitely love Albus. I can't wait to introduce him.

Thanks so much again and stay tuned :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by blackzero Lysander Scamander's part-Veela Girlfriend

8th June 2017:
One of Lorcan and Lysander's best characterization

Author's Response: Hehehe, they're definitely fun indeed. ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by blackzero We're camping with the Wotters?

8th June 2017:
Nice intro for the story.character formation has made character likeable...update soon

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll update as soon as I am able!

 Report Review

Review #6, by blackzero Camp Wotter (Part One)

8th June 2017:
Superb.the length was impressive.. and that Dom thing is hilarious. Btw i hope you find the motivation to finish The Potter Boys and the Enchantment of Redheads

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)
And I've recently read through Potter Boys and I forgot how much fun I had writing it, and how much I still love the characters. I started that one when I was still in high school so my writing style has changed quite a bit. But I can see myself still finishing it at some point. It'll just take some time.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Kate Camp Wotter (Part One)

8th June 2017:
Cant wait til we meet Al. James is awesome
. I hope Al too ;)
Is All the Wotters in this story?


But why is Ailsa lesbian she would hit very well with Lorcan i can see it in my mind or even with James. But its your story guess you know better...

Author's Response: Thank you so much :). Albus will definitely be an interesting one for sure.

Ailsa doesn't necessarily identify with any orientation per se; she just likes people. Boys or girls, as you will see ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Kate We're camping with the Wotters?

8th June 2017:
Ooh cool story :) :)

Author's Response: Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Potter 434 Lysander Scamander's part-Veela Girlfriend

20th November 2016:
again a great chapter

cant wait for more

from me xx

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'll be working on the next chapter here shortly!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Violet Potter 434 We're camping with the Wotters?

6th November 2016:
loved it
cant wait for the actual festival

what house is Ailsa in?

from me xx

Author's Response: Thank you! The actual festival shall be most entertaining indeed.

Ailsa was in Ravenclaw. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AbraxanUnicorn We're camping with the Wotters?

5th November 2016:
Interesting premise for a story! I look forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I really look forward to writing this one.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login