Reading Reviews for To Glory
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeather Tom Riddle

14th April 2017:
Jailbreak for Sian at CTF Round 2 !

Iíve read some you wrote before,and itís also super, Bianca!
The story began with the rainy weather, which suits him so well. Your writing style was focused on Tomís inner thought, his mind movement, his lack of affection from the others or from his own soul.
Poor boy. He tried to be proud of himself under such a desperate miserable situation, lack of blood relative affection.
If only his relative loved Tom, he couldnít be such a horrible wizard.

You captured Tomís way of thinking so well, Bianaca! Most of the time, you wrote his mumbles in his mind longer, sometimes short, which
is very effective. I spotted these descriptions about Tom, :

ďMorfin carried a great honour and privilege in his veins, yet he was dirty and barbaric.

Unworthy.Ē

ďThe little skull in his hand had once possessed an energy of its own; should something that was once alive be so fragile?

How disappointing.Ē

Itís so scary to imagine Tom played the little skull in his hand. ďEvery living thing looked like this underneath its life. Even humansĒ
It showed that he devalued the precious lives. It makes us shudder.

ďBut not him. He shuddered at the thought, his hand closing over the bone. No one would ever see him like this, because he would never die.Ē
Itís great to see Tom was afraid of his mortality. It reminds us of his desire for immorality. And we understand your story will be continued
to his obsession with Horcruxes.

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Tom Riddle

14th April 2017:
CTF Review

Hi Bianca! I'm so glad that this game gives me the chance to read more of your writing. I know that you write a lot of Tom Riddle, so I shouldn't be so surprised when I read another of your stories and see how well you capture his character and how powerfully you write him. But every time I read your stories I'm impressed by them, and this was no exception.

Even though this was only a short chapter, I thought you captured Tom Riddle so well in it, and he seems like the best possible character to use for a prompt like hubris, too. This was so powerful and yet at the same time so sinister - so in character, I suppose.

I don't think I've ever read a story about Tom Riddle at this point in his life, when he's just visited and dealt with (for want of a better word) his family. I loved the way you wrote his musings on them and the utter disgust that he had when he thought of the Muggle side of his family, especially. You really captured the way that he considers himself so superior to those around him, and it's his duty, in his eyes, to cut away the parts that aren't up to the right standard. It ties in so well with his whole ideology.

I also loved the way that you wrote about the little collection of animal skulls on his shelf, and the fact that he was considering mortality when he looked at them. Those constant reminders of death and his power lead so well to the idea of him making Horcruxes to try and defeat death and become superior to anyone who has lived before.

I really loved this - it was so powerfully written and the imagery and description were beautiful.

Sian :)

Author's Response: Ahh thank you so much for this amazing review, Sian!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Your Secret Valentine Gilderoy Lockhart

28th February 2017:
Hello, my dears!
Here with one last little present for you! (But I'll be back anyway once Secret Valentine is over)

I loved this! Gilderoy's stories are always so... interesting? Funny? Surreal? Allora of that together, probably.

I loved the little episode of his childhood. Such a smart child, indeed... I also loved how everyone was just plainly ignoring him, and how he kept making excuses about it... he is just so full of himself and so convinced of being extraordinary. You really captured his personality perfectly.

One last thing I really loved was the eagle'se riddle. It's awesome that you managed to think such a clever one, and so poignant for Gilderoy's character, too.

To cut it short, this was another great work by you. Wonderful job, my love!
See you soon!
Your Secret Valentine

 Report Review

Review #4, by Your Secret Valentine Tom Riddle

20th February 2017:
Hello, Bianca.
Here I am again, your Secret Valentine, with another little present for you.
Surely you've been told again and again, but the way you manage to write Tom Riddle has no equal. And in this piece you really outdid yourself.
Tom's thoughts, his coldness, his disdain for his family, his belief of being above everyone and everything... so perfect.
Also your writing is so powerful, every word seems to be so carefully chosen. I'm so very impressed.
Have to go, now. But I'll be back again for more.
See you soon, my love.
Your Secret Valentine.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ron 4 Hermione Gilderoy Lockhart

9th January 2017:
Hey there, so I thought Iíd finish off this story and leave a little holiday cheer! :D

Aha, oh dear, well I suppose itís nice to know that Gilderoyís, is arrogance the right word?, came from somewhere and he wasnít just born like that. I like how you show his writing skills coming through at a young age, even if they were discouraged.

I like the contrast youíve created, between Gilderoy thinking heís amazing and adored and the reality with no one paying him any extra attention and life going on as normal. Wow, his reaction to things like the students moving away and the gobstones team is actually rather sad. Despite what he thinks it must be quite lonely.

I love the way youíve wrote Gilderoy here, especially his reaction and thoughts on the various situation. Looking forward to seeing how you portray Percy Weasley!

Shaza :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron 4 Hermione Tom Riddle

14th December 2016:
Hey there, here for the review swap, Iím sorry itís so late!

But wow, this is such an intense piece but it works so well because of the tone of the story. I also love the lack of dialogue, itís so interesting to see inside Tomís mind and I think youíve managed to write it beautifully.

To see the moment after heís killed his family is so chilling, and how he thinks so methodically about it, no emotion at all. The whole chapter is just so well written and the little details like the collection of bones and what they stand for just add to the creepiness.

Itís such an intriguing chapter and Iím excited to see how youíve written the other two characters in comparison to him.

- Shaza :)

Author's Response: Thanks Shaza! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by PaulaTheProkaryote Tom Riddle

3rd September 2016:
Hello again! :D

I really love this idea of the unifying word hubris and the fact that you chose Tom (and Gilderoy) because really could there be better characters? So brilliant.

I already knew I'd love your Tom anyway. Also what a spooky part of his life to pick. Yikes. The idea that he deserved that feeling that spiral out of control was just sort of nauseating.

I'm in love with this line: "as if they were water down the scales of a snake; trickling quietly away from him" the imagery there is completely sensational.

Also poor Tom sr. Like first he was 100% assaulted by some woman, coerced and tricked into a family he never wanted, and then, AND THEN his child murdered him and his entire family. He seriously can't catch a break.

The hubris was definitely present and well expressed in this story. In my mind it really makes him more like a silly teenager than someone to demand respect. Like the way that kids tend to think they are invincible? That's what it reminds me of.

Anyway, I absolutely loved the way you wrote this and I think you did an excellent job capturing the overall meaning of the word!

 Report Review

Review #8, by IchigoPan Tom Riddle

29th August 2016:
Thank you for your submission, victoria_anne!

Your prompt was "hubris."

The story revolves around Tom Riddle on his way in becoming the darkest wizard of all time. Through his boasting and fact-checking accomplishments, you were able to harness the true meaning of your prompt even without using it. The dark and stormy atmosphere only added to this.

This was very well written and it leaves your readers wanting more. Excellent work. I look forward to seeing your future challenge submissions, should you choose to participate again :D

- ichigo

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And thank you for hosting such a great challenge, I had fun! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login