Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Rumor Has It
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Flower n Prongs F I V E

28th December 2016:
What a great first headline. That took even less time than I was anticipating and was just as good as I was expecting. The fact that James was less than pleased about needing a bodyguard much smaller than him made it all the better.

Ah, I love joking/witty banter in romance. Even if it does involve one person telling the other than no amount of money would get them to keep their mouth shut and stop saying stupid things. And when the other agrees… ah, love it. Time at the beach is definitely what these two need for a kick in the pants. I mean, privacy and swimsuits and flirting at the beach? Fluffy perfection.

I really appreciate what you are doing with the Department of Mysteries in this story. We got to see it with our own eyes, but there is still so much that we don’t know about what the DoM does. And that is even more so 20, 30 years after its destruction. It is something that most people aren’t willing to tackle and, even if they do, they don’t seem to have the nuances down like you do. (I mean, I have a character whose parents are Unspeakables and who wants to be one herself, but I don’t think either of us are quite sure what that entails.) Getting science in with the magic is really unique and is a nice serious-but-not-dark contrast to the romantic fluffiness of James & Poppi’s relationship.

Oh, Ginny. Maybe somebody wants grandbabies and would be a PITA mother-in-law? (lol) The almost-a-kiss was a great way to finish off the flirty beach scene.

Happy holidays again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Flower n Prongs F O U R

28th December 2016:
Of course Rita Skeeter is involved in the paparazzi nonsense.

Espresso Patronum is a great name for a coffee shop. I would totally go into a store with that name.

The flirty thing they have going on while getting ready was fun to read. I mean, clearly they are going to get together at some point. And clearly people assume that they have already been hooking up. But the fact that in reality this is all very PG and that before their “date” of sorts to the thing he has to remind her not to hex anybody puts a nice spin on it all. I appreciate the fact that she is not afraid to speak her mind or call things ridiculous when they are, even if doing so doesn’t do anything to help matters.

“I’m James’s body guard.” LOVE. Can’t wait to see how long that one will take to start circulating.

Bianca seems so nice. It’s clear that she’s used to witnessing this sort of thing with the vultures and is willing to help even though she (I presume?) doesn’t deal with them first-hand.

Leaving a party for alone time? I’m sure this is all just for your safety and for practical purposes Poppi. No way this could be because of any ulterior motives. /sarcasm

 Report Review

Review #3, by Flower n Prongs T H R E E

28th December 2016:
It's been a bit, but I'm back with more reviews for this.

First of all, I don't know who the woman in the CI is but she has such a resemblance to movie-Ginny that it was a great pick.

The awkwardness of James around this fiery, no-nonsense woman, even looking to his brother or mother to lend him a hand, is a great throwback to his father and grandfather. He isn't a fan of the paparazzi or the rumours that come from being both a Quidditch player and Harry Potter's son, but he is able to deal with them all okay. Given his lifetime of this, it makes sense. You would think he would understand that it isn't normal and that others would not react the same though. Seeing the woman he's rumoured to be involved with dangling one of them was brilliant.

Poppi is again great. It seems like her stunt got a mix of "Oh God, how do I get her to stop?" and "Nice, I wish I could do that" reactions. Ginny's calm and determination after seems very in character, since even as a teen she was able to make the most of rumours starting. (I appreciated the reference to Ron's Pygmy Puff tattoo!) I definitely have a feeling that she will approve of a Poppi/James relationship.

Legitimate lol to "the grease scares me." Her cooking skills - or lack thereof - and preference for takeout are definitely relatable. (No? Just me?)

Looking forward to continuing this!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Flower n Prongs T W O

11th December 2016:
Once again, Ginny is showing us that she is Molly's daughter. Half a dozen things out for coffee just in case the new guest wants something unusual sounds just like something she would have been instructed to do.

The banter between Poppi and James was great. Waldorf? To be fair, it is probably less ridiculous than Sirius to most muggles. Her inner dialogue and reactions to things also made me laugh out loud a few times. The dragon dung scooper and the necklace of teeth in particular struck me as funny. Even though there is some serious stuff going on in here, like invasion of privacy by paparazzi and a glimpse into society's need to know everything they can about celebrities, you have kept it light and funny.

The fact that the Potter/Weasley crew all says it will blow over, even Bill's son, is a bit sad. They must all be way too used to this, but at least it is (strictly speaking) fictional. I do have to say I hope it doesn't blow over TOO quickly, since I want to keep this James/Poppi thing going for a while longer.

The Department of Mysteries at the end... those words! The complexity of the job she is training for and the fact that she was dubbed good enough to work with the Time Room are a sharp contrast to what we've seen of her so far. She's a bartender who is being accused of being a homewrecker with low standards and morals, so this adds some nice complexity to her character.

(This one was not for BvB, I just had to read the next chapter after reading chapter one last night.)

- R =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Flower n Prongs O N E

10th December 2016:
Hello. I'm here for the BvB review battle.

Cheesy fluff with overplayed tropes? Yes please!

I enjoyed the interaction at the beginning with Poppi and James. I appreciate a female lead who can hold her own, so her stepping in to domestic disputes (regularly, apparently) and not letting James be hit in the back was a good start. Her snark to him about him potentially being a serial killer or wanting to follow her home was a bonus. James, on the other hand, is somebody I want to learn more about. We get the basics of him but you leave enough questions to keep the reader intrigued: who exactly is Eva? Why did he take her to his parents' place?

Seeing Ginny turning into Molly made me laugh. Of course she was willing to take in a stranger, do their laundry, and invite them to spend time with the family. She fits right in with her parents. The fact that Poppi recognized how odd it is but that it didn't seem like the first time it had happened in the Potter-Weasley clan makes me wonder just how many times they've opened their doors. It is a nice change from the paranoia of their youth.

The last line was cute. It also brings the promise of more hijinx and awkwardness next chapter, which is good with me.

I have not read a lot of Next Gen and very little with James II, so no matter how cliche this is all pretty new to me. =)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CharmAurorG S E V E N

15th August 2016:
Oh, I loved this! Reviews indeed save lives. :) I was laughing so hard at meatballs and spaghetti analogy since I used the same! I love that there are science people writing fanfic. :D
On the other note - great chapter. Can't wait to see what happens next. Hopefully Rose (I hated her a little) haven't scared her away... Keep up good work, it's always nice to read your story. :)

~M~

Author's Response: They so save lives. I don't know how I could survive grad school without them!

It was such a labored analogy but I had to make it readable for non-science readers!

I think Poppi is a little more resilient than that. Rose's words might hurt a little but Poppi can handle them!

We will see plenty more of Rose, but she might not be as awful as she was in this chapter!

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! These seriously motivate me to write in a timely manner!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Potterhead1994 S E V E N

15th August 2016:
I absolutely love this chapter. No problem on the science of it. Anyways, I love that you added a bit of drama within the family. I think that's a realistic thing. Not everyone is going to love Poppi at first. I'm sad it's Rose though that has the problem. Oh well... can't wait for the UPDATE!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm always nervous about how much is too much when it comes to the science! The drama with Rose was always coming, just not this chapter! Because I changed so much this chapter I have to change a lot for the next chapter (and all those remaining) but hopefully it will be up very shortly! Thank you so much for reviewing! It seriously means the world to me!

 Report Review

Review #8, by water_lilies S E V E N

15th August 2016:
Thank you for the update!

I really like seeing Poppi at work, but I must say I felt like Sylvester the cat when reading the spaghetti part lol. I loved the line: "She handed him a stack of papers to read by reputable authors, including reviews (which save lives)," that part about the reviews really had me laughing because it's too true! I just finished grad school and the reviews of articles and books were what saved my life more times than I can say.

The conversations between Harry and Ginny are very funny, I really like how you portray them. Also, I really enjoyed the interactions with the family, but oh the drama! That was very interesting! I had never pictured Rose as the crazy one, but it worked, and now I can't wait to see how it gets fixed.

Poppi's backstory was very touching, I can see why she is going to miss Ginny so much.

Now, just a couple of things I noticed:
"...no longer listening to her husband who will still musing loudly about whether Scorpius Malfoy..." instead of will, I think it should be was.
"She could see the regret of asking in his eyes so I smiled reassuringly." Instead of I, it should be she.

Great chapter, I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: YOU ARE A SAINT! Thank you so much for letting me know what you noticed! My other story, Survival of the Fittest, is in first person and it's so difficult for me to switch perspectives when writing the two!

The spaghetti got WAAAY out of control.

Reviews totally save lives! Without my Nature Reviews especially I'd be so lost.

Harry and Ginny are one of my favorite pairings so I try to write them a bit like my brother and his wife (who are absolutely insane). Loving and very warm, but also weird as can be.

I think that as the story progresses Rose will seem a bit less crazy. I think she's more mad at James than she is Poppi. She's just taking it out on her.

I went back and forth with Poppi's backstory because I wasn't sure if it was just too heavy. I'm glad that you liked it!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful (and helpful) review. It means so much to me!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Em. . . the legs S I X

13th August 2016:
They flirting.

I'm wondering about your last lines in your author's notes: "Save" and "Save Save." Did you type them in as if to will your choice of text document application thing to save?

They flirting a lot.

I honestly do not know what to say to this because, you already know I think it's brilliant and hilarious and unique and clever, but then if I wanted to type out the review I was thinking of typing out, it would just be me copying and pasting most of this chapter because there are so many sentences here that are absolute treasures.

But, you know, they flirting.

Author's Response: Em! :D

You really made my day with all of your reviews!

The Save Save Save is from a glitch popped up for a little bit on the site when you tried to edit a chapter. The first save popped up and then I deleted it and then when I looked at the chapter I now had two saves and I deleted it and had another save so I gave up because I didn't want anymore saves. I think it was fixed though, I just haven't gone back to try again.

The chapter was full of some serious flirting. Wouldn't it be a shame if something were to...happen to them...MWAHAHA.

That's all I'll say. Thank you so much for the magical, wonderful, lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Em. . . who is barely refraining from histograming F I V E

13th August 2016:
I keep feeling that your chapters are all so short, but then when I check how long they are--but then the mean of these is 3015.167. with a standard deviation of 764.397; and that's relatively long. I guess they just past so quickly because it's so hard not to get consumed by this story--so easily digestible, so quirky, so fun and fluffy, so brilliant.

James and Poppi make the cutest non-couple couple, dude.

With regards to the note you left in the first chapter--yes, I see all these tropes, but you've put such a fresh voice and these fresh characters to them that they don't feel like something I've already read before.

Anyway, it's interesting to see their relationship develop and watch as a more serious aspect be introduced into it--their character dynamic is fantastic!

NB: histogramming is a word because this is English and in English, nobody really cares.

Author's Response: EM! :D

My chapters seem to get longer and longer! I'm so excited to know a person like you who takes the time to calculate my mean and standard deviation. You're the person.

James and Poppi are so cute especially as a non-couple!

I love the tropes but I didn't want them to take away from the story so I'm so glad you feel that way!

English is English and you're right, no one really cares! (Plus I totally welcome a histogram).

Thank you for the awesome review! It's basically my whole life now!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Em. . . who loves schnitzel F O U R

12th August 2016:
So. . . this reminds me of a thing: If People's magazine treated people like actual people. there wouldn't be a People's magazine. You've basically showed that even more so in this chapter which provides a convincing argument against following people around and taking pictures of them and basically interfering with their ability to carry on and live a completely normal life. You know, if that wasn't an obviously horrendous thing to do already.

Poppi and James banter 5eva.

"Every single time you open your mouth they lose their credibility." THIS makes me wish someone whom the media revers as superior than other humans and should be having their every move detailed in the press because of that would do this in real life because of this very reason.

Author's Response: EXACTLY! They really get out of control though. As a consumer I've tried to ignore the tabloids and buzzfeed gossip that invade lives like that. It's just not okay at all and I hate the argument that in the long run celebrities would benefit.

I love that idea. Just someone should mess with them. It would be brilliant! I like to think of Albert Einstein ruining the picture by sticking his tongue out.

Thank you for reading and reviewing my little baby story!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Em. . . who is wondering if Poppi was making schnitzel and i T H R E E

12th August 2016:
Poppi is so unique and so far removed from a run-of-the-mill, offputting Mary Sue--it's like the shock factor of her as a character just adds to the hilarity already here. Her distinctiveness is unaparalled and her dialogue is silly enough to make her a veritable mastermind. She is indisputably, the absolute love of my life at this moment. . . and I know she's too good for me, but. . . let me just admire her from afar in this unrequited adoration.

“Y’know, for an Unspeakable, she really doesn’t shut up, does she?” James proving he's coming up to par with Poppi and her quips.

THEY'RE ADORABLE AND THIS CHEESY FLUFF IS LIKE MY GREAT GRANDMOTHER'S (I CALL HER OMA BIG) KAASTANGELS.

'which sparked Poppi to go into an in-depth tangent about whether or not new broom models were actually improved or if they were just a recycling of previous models in different wood stains.' She's seeming to be quite big on conspiracy regardless of whether or not she's the one who starts them, I'm seeing. I've never read a story where an Unspeakable is personified in this manner--it's so fitting.

Author's Response: She's a little cheesy and slightly Mary Sue but I really want her to not be overly so. That might be part of her off the wall comments! She'd probably feel the same about you!

I can never ever rival Oma Big's kaastangels but LET ME CHEESE UP YOUR LIFE! ♥

She does get in to conspiracies and I didn't realize that at all so that might be me projecting on her (I say as I'm watching a documentary on spies).

Thank you for reading and reviewing, you majestic being!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Em. . . who is very much in love with this thing T W O

12th August 2016:
James Waldorf Potter is 110% better. I like that she just made up his middle name and I like Waldorf Salad.

'Ginny had three different milks on the table with varying degrees of fat content.' She sounds like the fridge in the cafe I work at.

“Exactly the sort of thing someone like that would say!” I like how this is Poppi's counter-argument to everything. XD If I have gained visible abdominal definition. . . thank you.

Yeti roleplay in the bedroom and yodeling men—I wonder what they entail. Poppi's mind is brilliant and so is yours. How does one even begin to think up of things like this?

This is my new favourite story—thank you for my new favourite story.

Author's Response: I love Waldorf salad too. What an excellent middle name for him!

My own mother does this with my own coffee even though I've taken it the same way for like ten years. My husband loves it though because she's also taken to fixing his coffee for him using different mixes each time. He's a brat though.

It's a viable argument, really!

I--I don't even know. *hides husband's yeti costume*

Thank you so much for such a marvelous and thoughtful review you lovely person!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Em. . . is too lazy to log in. O N E

12th August 2016:
PAULA..

You genius..

"James Potter," "The one quidditch guy?" It says so much. I'm completely in love with Poppi. “Oh. You should probably lead with that.” She's the best. Every single line, Paula. It seems so well thought through and every moment just adds more and more comedy to the story and just when I think it can't get any better. . . a pancake falls on her head. . .

Brilliant.

I love how things just seem to naturally and hysterically snowball into movie night with the parents.

Author's Response: I feel like this would be my conversation with pretty much any athlete ever. Even for sports I actually watch.

I'm so glad that it seems well thought out because...spoiler...I'm mostly winging it. Each plotted chapter has like two lines of general plot.

It's an interesting start to a first non-date. It kinda symbolizes their entire relationship of putting the cart before the horse.

Oh hey, I just met you? Let's go meet my parents.

Thank you so much for this beautiful review you beautiful person!


 Report Review

Review #15, by FreshPickledToad16 S I X

31st July 2016:
Come back! Come back! I love everything about this. James and Poppi are such wonderful characters. I love that she's smart and funny and questions what she wants from him. I love that despite his fame and talent, he's kind and a bit shy at times. So sweet. I can't wait to meet Lily and read about his Quidditch game. You also write Ginny really well. I need more :)

Author's Response: Pausing half a moment into this review because I LOVE your username.

I hope you've noticed that we have new chapters up since I'm finally home!

I'm so glad you like Ginny and I can't wait to find out what you think about Lily! She's a bit like her mother in that she's a little intense at first!

Thank you so much for such a marvelous review! It really motivates me to keep writing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by RoseVaughan F I V E

13th June 2016:
Definitely day two on the beach please :)

Author's Response: Day two of the beach it is! You might even consider it a date! ♥

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! It means the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #17, by RoseVaughan F O U R

13th June 2016:
Your story has put a smile on my face after a seriously long day. Love the Harry&Ginny interaction, hoping for more.
"No dementors allowed" brilliant!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that my story made you smile! I loved Harry and Ginny in the books so they are one of my OTPs. You'll be seeing more of them two chapters from now and I hope you like their interactions! :) Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by blackzero F I V E

12th June 2016:
I would seriously like both.Superb chapter.The build up the J/P relationship is fantastic Update soon.

Author's Response: I haven't decided which way I'm writing the quidditch chapter is pretty much written and I'm about a third of the way through day two of the beach so I'm thinking that I'll split them into two chapters! That'll mean fast updates! Thank you so much for all of your support so far!

 Report Review

Review #19, by GinnyPotter29 F I V E

12th June 2016:
Day 2 of the beach please!! I'm so excited to see their relationship progress I love james/oc and the oc being poppi makes it so so so much better!! You're such a great writer and i can't wait to see what happens next so please update soon!

Author's Response: I haven't decided which way I'm writing it yet but the quidditch chapter is pretty much written and I'm about a third of the way through day two of the beach so I'm thinking that I'll split them into two chapters! Hopefully that will translate into fast updates! Thank you so much for all of your support though! It really means so very much to me!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Violet Potter 434 F O U R

3rd June 2016:
this is great
please update soon

from me xx

Author's Response: You'll be pleased to know the next chapter is up! I think the following two will be up very quickly. Thank you so much for the feedback! It really motivates me to write!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Kristina1990 F O U R

3rd June 2016:
Whatever book you lot catch me with will be discussed at these ambushes!

I appreciate that she is trying to take all this in a stride. But the idea isn't bad at all. A little bit of education has never hurt anyone before ;).

Why is the poor girl being dragged along to weird dinner events? I feel for her, especially when there are dubious men hiding among the attendees. How is no one realising this?

“No dementors allowed!” She slammed the door shut in Eva’s face.

Haha, that is one good comment. But I'm not sure whether she did herself a favor by slamming thw door in Eva's face. Who knows what she is going to do now?

Juhu! More Department of Mysteries time!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful, insightful review! I'm so glad you like it so far!

You'd think James would be a little more cautious with the guest list all things considering!

She's funny but she really doesn't think things through!

The next chapter is up and I hope you enjoy it! Thank you so much for all of your support so far! It really motivates me to write!


 Report Review

Review #22, by green lady T H R E E

17th May 2016:
I love Poppi. You've created a great character!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you love Poppi! She's a handful! You'll be pleased to know the new chapter is up! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review! It means so much to me!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lee Jackson O N E

16th May 2016:
Ooh, I love this! I'm completely smitten with Poppi. You've created some really interesting characters, and I love the similarities between Ginny and Mrs. Weasley that have seemingly appeared over the years. My only criticism is that I have no idea what's going on in this sentence: "The familiar crushing of every cell in her body by the nasty feeling to be sick everywhere put her in a foul mood when her feet planted woozily on the ground". Maybe you could look over that at some point.

Overall, I'm really impressed with your story. I loved reading it. Good work!

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! I really thought Ginny would be very much like her mother as an adult.

"Followed by" should be in there, so I just edited that. Thanks so much for pointing that out!

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by blackzero T H R E E

15th May 2016:
Superb...A bit short chapter but the quality makes up for it fine.Updare soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your very kind words! Remarkably this chapter is longer than the last one! It really doesn't seem so though! The next chapter should be up soon! Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Kristina1990 T H R E E

15th May 2016:
Heya!

I think she should have let the guy drop to where he belongs. I'm sure they could have fixed him up alright in St. Mungo's afterwards... But a little bit of pain would have been a good lesson for being a creepy stalker...!

But nice to see everyone is being (over)bearing ;).

Kristina

Author's Response: I had half a mind just to let her drop him! But you know, I don't care much for writing legal scenes. It's hard to depict all the court gibberish! Thank you so much for reading and for leaving such a wonderful review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>