2015-12-13 17:05:15
Hey! Here for Capture The Flag :)

Ah James! Such a charmer, aren't you? I totally understand why Esme's so angry. You think everything's fine and then he suddenly wants a divorce out of the blue? Without talking to her first? Who does that? Although I KINDA see where James is coming from. It doesn't seem like they're in contact much, and no one really wants to be married to a girl they hardly ever get to see, I suppose. (I'm still on Esme's side though)

I really liked the idea of her being in a rock band. It's an original one I haven't seen before and of course, you also weaved in some romance to spice things up. Also, can I just say that I absolutely love the name Screaming Banshees? I would expect nothing less from the Wizarding world ;)

Aw, she dedicated a song to James! Okay, calling him an a-hole wasn't flattering, but still. I hope things turn out okay for them :)

I've enjoyed reading this so far. Great job! :D

Author's Response: I would so be angry too! I am on Esme's side as well :D

Haha

Thank you so very much!
The Author's Note is an underestimation. The number of stories is impressive for its sheer volume, but the number of longer stories is even more impressive. There are so many.

The summary for this chapter. The summary of the whole story didn't sound as funny, but the chapter summary made me intrigued. It is nice to see that even in the magical world that the tabloids can be over the top with their rumours. Yes, in this case they were right but it seems like they have been saying it for years so they would be right eventually if Esme & James did divorce.

All of her questions are very good. Really, doing that to your wife (soon-to-be ex-wife or not) is a jerk move. At least wait the couple days and tell her to her face if that's what you want to do. I suppose divorce over owl is the magical, marriage version of breakup over text.

Obviously I'm not sure if this will lead to an actual divorce or reconciliation being only one chapter in, but I do think that it's interesting that you have chosen to write this from a non-Potter/non-Weasley point of view. People are obviously pre-disposed to liking the characters that we already know and their children, so by making Harry and Ginny's son the "bad guy" in the relationship, at least so far, puts an interesting twist on this all. The fact that she is clearly pretty bad *** with her band and all also makes me think that she will not let him push her around or pull the "My father was the Chosen One" sort of attitude we see on occasion in fics.

I'm interested to see how the humour plays more into this in the future. It does not seem like a very funny topic, at least not right now, but it seems like you have a good grasp on humour from your (many!) other stories so I'm sure it will not disapoint.

- R

Author's Response: I have so many on the go, it's overwhelming at times.

It was originally meant to be a comedy, but it's gone in a different direction now, so I've had to change the genre.

Thank you so much :D
2016-09-22 17:02:12
Ahhh so many questions now!! Can't wait for more and i'm so glad you're writing again.

Author's Response: Thank you :D More is coming soon!
2016-09-22 17:02:12
AHHH I loved this chapter so much! I love James and Esme! But James needs to get his sh*t together lol I personally, do not think James is lying...I think Todrick is lying about the messages! I sure hope I'm right! I love them together and I hope everything works out alright with Esme's plan! I hope James is man enough to get all his issues in order too! So as usual, thank you so much for writing this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And yes, he really does!
Yep, Todrick is, he's not a great person at all.
An update is coming soon, I prommise
2016-09-22 17:02:12
I'm actually reading all your stories after crossing Illusion of a perfect mariage which was quite a good story. I really liked it, but his one looks even better with more serious themes and more complicate relationship.
I hope you are going to continue this story because it would be a shame to not have all of the story which looks really promising .
I was a bit confused by James, is he also mythomane? It's a bit weird because I didn't really understand why it happens like it did. Doesn't she want to clarify everything before taking action because she looks extrely sure he's lying maybe I missed some information.
Anyway I'm looking forward to the next chapters and thank you for your stories.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I am going to continue this, I promise! James just has a lot of problems and he's not dealing with them the way that he should :(
2016-09-22 17:02:12
Ah, this is such a difficult situation you don't wish on anyone.

James isn't being fair to put his whole happiness and evolve all of his actions around one single person. This never works out in the end, because it's just too much pressure on both sides. Life is a balance between many things and he has to figure this out.

But I honestly don't understand Esme either. It's not like she trusts Todrick. She knows he's after their success more than their well-being, she has said so herself more than once. Doesn't it strike her that James wasn't able to contact her at all? She might have trust issues, but what he says fits perfectly to what she has already figured out about Todrick.

And to top this of - I get that her career is important. If this is her priority, good. But she shouldn't be surprised if she comes home and things have started to change to something she doesn't want. This is what happens when you don't give a damn for a while - things develop and you don't get a say in it anymore. She is committed to a person, as well, not only a career. She seems to have forgotten about this though. Not taking for a few days might not be a big issue, but a full-on silence for weeks? Come on. That ASKS for trouble.

Yeah, I'm a little frustrated with the main character ;). Maybe I'll get unfrustrated the next time? :P

Author's Response: James really needs to learn that only he can make himself get better, but he knows that she'll be there for him. He needs to learn to not be so selfish.

Both of them need to work on things

Thank you so much!
2016-09-22 17:02:12
I like this story a lot, it is intresting ad one of the story's that I am begging to be updated. One question is Esme having an affair with Lance?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am working on updates as I write, so hopefully not too long until a new chapter is out.

And to answer your question, no, they're not having an affair. He's just doing everything he can to make her feel better.
2016-09-22 17:02:12
There were intense emotions in this chapter. Hugo and Todrick are scheming to kick James out of Esne's life.Esme is unsure whether to believe it or not Waiting to see how Esme will fibd the truth.Thanks for the update

Author's Response: I'm glad that the emotion got across, I was worried about how it would turn out. Mmmm your questions shall be answered soon! :D Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!
2016-09-22 17:02:12
Love it love it love it I think it's going great so far!!!

Author's Response: And I love you!! Thank you so much! :D
2015-12-28 19:05:27
Hello!

It's Plums here with the second of your reward reviews. I'm starting on chapter deux because I've already reviewed the first one :)

Poor Esme. The mess of emotions she's feeling right now must be absolutely horrible! I mean, she's clearly still in love with him, even if she hasn't seen him properly in ages, but he was such a piece of...dung with that move he pulled! If I was her, I would actually erupt.

Not cool, James -.-

It's really interesting to see how Esme's bandlife is like. The different aspects to it are exhausting - running around different countries, barely sleeping, having to do shoots with that lack of sleep and painful interviews - but you can tell she loves her job, even if the media attempts to drag her down. Speaking of the media, I love how you mention little things like their interpretation of Logan's facial hair and how it's so far off the mark of what's really happening. It's both entertaining and realistic.

Another thing I like is that you have Hugo as the best friend. Yes to the ignored Weasley! There are not nearly enough fics about him which gives him so much potential - you can do anything and it'd just about fly. I like how he's a sweetheart here, but a very lethal-looking one when he wants to be.

Brilliant chapter and I can't wait to read the upcoming exchange between the married couple!

Plums xo

Author's Response: Hello!

She really does love her job, even if it is exhausting, she wouldn't change any of it.

Hugo needs to be in every story! He's so amazing!

Thank you so much! :D
2016-06-24 19:48:25
I really liked this chapter, especially your descriptions of James as an alcoholic. We got a brief glimpse of it in the last chapter but this one really pulled through. This story is so unique. I love how they're a band and being pulled into the public eye for everything. I go to at least concert a month so this especially grips me because I love the music and the messages behind it. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wanted to have James showing the bad parts of fame, and how easy it is to give in to bad things.
2016-06-24 19:48:25
James needs to man up. Esme needs to tell him to get it together. They are adults and she loves him still. Please up date soon.

Author's Response: He really does need to man up, you're right! The newest chapter is up now, and I hope that you enjoy it. :D
2016-06-24 19:48:25
Awe, I loved this chapter but it's so sad! I feel bad for James and Esme so much. There are so many problems with both of them in their relationship that I hope they get back together but not until James gets better! I love this story so much! Please continue soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing

They really need to work on everything and James definitely needs to get better soon :(
2016-03-27 12:38:55
Please update. Oh my god I need more!!! This story has got me
on my toes. We need more James/Esme interactions!

Author's Response: The newest chapter is up now, I hope that you like it! More James/Esme is coming! :D
2016-02-11 21:51:32
Its only the fourth chapter and yet I am so in love with your story! Continue writing and finish this masterpiece. I know sometimes as a writer its frustrating not getting the amount of reviews you want, but there are many silent readers who really do enjoy your story. Keep writing and let this story grow. I await the more that is to come. You are amazing.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so happy that you love it so much! I'm sorry that I haven't been able to update as much, it's to do with work screwing me over (I'm out of there now and starting a new job tomorrow that I hope gives me enough time) I'm not too bothered about the amount of reviews I get, and will keep updating no matter what, so have no fear silent readers! :D Just seeing my little read count going up is enough for me. :D Thank you so so much, Levy! I hope that you enjoy the newest chapter. :D
2016-03-27 12:38:55
Hey! Really loving this story, I love how different it is from the other James fanfictions there are which can sometimes follow the same formula. Keep it up, I can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad that you think it's so different and that you're enjoying it, that brings me a lot of joy. :D More is coming soon and I hope that you love it!
2016-03-27 12:38:55
The first chapters have definitely left me wanting more. It seems we're in for a ride ^^.

Author's Response: Oh yes we are! I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of the story :D
2016-02-11 21:51:32
Hi Tammi :)

I thought I'd start reviewing here as the earlier chapters already have so many reviews, but about what happened there:
I loved the confrontations! Every Esme/James scene is written with such vivid dialogue – I could feel Esmes conflicted feelings but also James' standpoint…

And it was so exciting finding out more about Hugo's feelings as well. She says "platonic" but I could swear I read "romance" :D

The relationships in the band were also really interesting and one scene I especially enjoyed was "you can't use that excues ever time", I find the idea very interesting that a squib would be playing in a wizarding band.

Another thing I loved – maybe even more – was your allusion to
fans shipping Esme and Hugo (fandom! :) and I'm starting to ship them too, I think. But really I hope James and Esme keep fighting for a while before that happens.

I'm not a huge fan of the flashback, but I never like when the situation changes suddenly in a story so that's a personal preference thing. And I think you chose the scene well, it shows so much we didn't know. Again: Hugo! :)

I love Esme's backstory and I find it refreshing that you show the good side of Slytherin characteristics. I can see how a Slytherin heart couldn't abandon a child even even it was not his (or stay loyal to one person even after they have passed). Generally, dads who cook for their daughters when they've had a rough day are something preciuos literature doesn't have enough of :)

So far I love your story! The characters are very believable and the emotional rollercoaster is described so relateable – for me it is a real pleasure to read.

I'm addicted to that tearing feeling you get in your chest when you suffer with some characters, especially when you see they really just can't get over themselves to be happy. Being able to create this feeling in readers is one of my personal goals as a writer and you do it! In every scene! So well! :D

Thank you for sharing this with the world and asking for swaps so I could find it!

Love, Jo

Author's Response: This is the most wonderful review! :D I love hearing the things that you loved in this story.

Esme and Hugo are a fan favourite, and she doesn't feel anything but friendship for him, I am unsure about Hugo though...

Thank you so much!!
2016-03-27 12:38:55
Hello!

I've dropped by to read more of this. As always, I love this story. This was a great chapter. Todrick is a bit mean isn't he? It sucks that the band is stuck with him for another year. He doesn't really seem to care about them as people at all. They're just money makers to him.

I'm so glad that the woman is Dominique! James isn't cheating! But that's low isn't it? For the tabloids to print that picture when they probably know full well who it is! And to change Dominique's hair colour to make it more believable! How sleazy! You show the downside of James and Esme's seemingly glamorous lives really well. People use them and their image for money - Todrick, the tabloids.

I'm very curious to know what James is up to. Did he once have a drinking problem? I recall they met at a party. It must have been a serious drinking problem as Esme's having a panic attack and seems convinced that he'll die!

I cannot wait for the next chapter!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Why thank you! Todrick is so mean! He needs a good shaking to be nicer! He only cares about the money.

It is very low, but poor Esme and the others have to face this a lot. It is so sleazy.

He did, he was an alcoholic and was quite bad in the past, which I will visit in a future chapter.

Thank you so much!
2016-01-07 20:20:17
Tammi!

HUFFLEPUFF PILE UP! *squish*

I can't believe I forgot about this story *hides* I was right on the good bit too! The confrontation, dun dun duuun.

Ooh James! I don't know whether to rip the towel off him or whip him with it! I'm very confused right now. But the anger in their argument was so intense. Both Esme and James seem like very hot-headed people and I (guiltily) like to see them clash. I bet their *ahem* time in the bedroom is amazing (and I don't mean more arguing ;) )

But aw here's Hugo! My fave! I still think the fact Hugo Weasley is in a band is still what I love most about this story... WAIT and he has tattoos?! Argh awesome!!

AND BLACK NAIL POLISH.

Hugo just gets better and better.

OMG THIS: “You know I’ve got a second bedroom now.”
“I thought that was for your ego?" BRILLIANT! But oh no, do I have a sassy Puff rival? :(

Ha ha does Lance have a scrapbook? That's hilarious.

Uh oh, James better watch out! ESME'S DAD IS ON FATHER DUTY! I bet no one breaks his daughter's heart and gets away with it!

Thank you for another entertaining read you gorgeous lady ♥

Author's Response: :O It was probably because I didn't update too much haha I take the blame!

I would want to do both! They are both very hot headed, but it makes for a great argument :D Oh you know it is! haha

Hugo is the epitome of rock star!

Thank you so very much!
2016-03-27 12:38:55
Hi Tammi! Sorry for taking so long!

I love that you started this off with lyrics from the band :D Their manager sounds like a jerk. Shouldn't he let the band make their own setlist? Or some of their own decisions at least? It sucks that they're stuck in the contract with him too. He kind of represents the terrible side of business that's just concerned with making money and not with people. Thank goodness the rest of the band is all about hugs and feelings, they are good people for Esme to have at her side during all of this. Aw! I love them!

And muahaha I love how they got around Todrick's insistence that they play Raven Angel. He won't be happy... but what is he gonna do about it? XD

Also I like the name of their supporting band. I'm basically envisioning them as the wizarding version of Destiny's Child, just because of the name hahaha

It was Dominique!! I am so glad it wasn't another lady James was flirting with, he was just hanging out with his cousin. So far it looks like it was all a misunderstanding. But... but... what about the divorce papers? How is he going to explain those away? THEY NEED TO TALK. FOR REAL. I think they've only had about 10 minutes to speak to one another in the whole story so far.

I hope James is okay! Poor Esme - things just are not going her way right now. She's also working off basically no information and a lot of rumours and that's got to be hard. What was the bright flash, I hope that wasn't a paparazzi taking a picture of her fainting or something.

Ah! I can't believe you left it there though :P

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Todrick has complete control over them, and uses that to his full advantage because he knows that they can't do anything about it.

They're very clever at trying to get their way though.

Haha thank you! It's where I got the inspiration for the name haha

It was! They really do need to talk though, they have a severe lack of communication going on.

Thank you so very much!
2015-12-28 19:05:27
Tammi, Tammi, Tammi.

As if I needed another fictional boy to dream about, you give me three. Hugo, Logan, Lance *sigh* it doesn't help that I'm in love with name Logan grr!

Ha ha haaa Esme eating a crisp from her bra, preach that! We've all been there sister!

...Oh, we haven't? Yeah me neither...

Aw I bet Grandad Weasley was stoked at receiving a garden gnome!

YES ESME GO HUFFLEPUFF WOOO!

Oh you write feelings so good. I love how Esme is so torn between hating and loving James, her emotions feel so real. I can't wait to see them together properly! *prepares eyes for some amazing dialogue* *and a handful of swear words* *probably*

Love B

Author's Response: Oh those three! So swoonworthy!

Hahaha I have so been there! Men are missing out on having a snack catcher.

Oh he loved it! Who wouldn't love a gnome? haha

Thank you so so much! :D
2015-12-13 17:05:15
Hiya there Tammi!

You know what one of the best parts of this story is?

Hugo Weasley. In a band.

Oh yeah baby.

This is such an awesome start, though, in all seriousness. I is intrigued. I is about to click next chapter. I is liking your writing.

Whassup with James though? There must be a story behind that because, like, that's just mean. Yes?

Hey-oh, that last bit! Esme you badass!

Love B

Author's Response: Hello!!!

Hugo in a band is my dream!

I is loving your review!! :D

Oh that James! He needs a smack around the back of the head!
2016-02-11 21:51:32
This is such a creative idea. I love this. I really want them to work it out but then there wouldn't be much of a story, eh?

Author's Response: Thank you so much :D Haha you're right :P
2016-01-07 20:20:17
Dearest Tammi,

I CAN'T BELIEVE THAT JAMES DID IT FOR ATTENTION!!! WHAT THE HECK WAS HE THINKING?!!!

Seriously, I could shout and use much stronger language, but I'll try to keep it PG for the review. What an absolute jerk! What type of person sends a divorce notice, by owl, two days before their spouse is supposed to be home. That's just awful.

And just when I thought James couldn't stoop any lower he goes and insults Hugo about his friendship with Esme. Way to be jealous of your own cousin. Have I mentioned that James is a total jerk?

Oh and that part where he's implying that Esme should be home and around to care for him more, but at the same time he can't make time to go visit her. Ugh. I want to punch him in the face.

And then the ending and the pictures of him draped around some random chick. WHAT AN ABSOLUTE CREEP!!! After two months apart, he suddenly thinks its okay for him to cheat on his wife?! I seriously cannot believe him.

I have to hurry on to read the next chapter now because I'm just so furious with him.

From,
Your Secret Cupid

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful and lovely review! You're amazing!

JOIN HARRY POTTER FANFICTION


Get access to every new feature the moment it comes out.

Register Today!