Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Way Lady Luck Dances
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luna1306 Let It Snow

19th April 2017:
One thing I don't understand is why no one can know she likes to dance? Or can they but it just happens that they never find out she dances? I really like that you have the dancing as such a big theme, but sometimes I would like to have a bit more magic in the story. I really miss that. Other than that I really enjoy this story!

△⃒⃘ Luna

Author's Response: It's not quite that no one can know, it's more that she's insecure about it. And she knows she's breaking a bunch of rules by breaking curfew so often. As for the magic, well, that's not going to feature too prominently in this story. One of the main ideas I started with was like "what if there's a muggle born who WANTS to be a muggle?" Adele simply isn't invested in the magical world at this point. I do have another story where I explore magic and magical theory and magical politics a lot more, but this one's a little low on actual magical content. I hope that doesn't put you off the story too much! Thank you so much for your review!!
xoxo TheBlondeOne


 Report Review

Review #2, by AbraxanUnicorn Don't Think

20th March 2017:
Wow, Adele certainly leads a 'non-conventional' life outside of Hogwarts (certainly non-conventional in terms of fanfiction but reality too). Marco swerving the car when she was getting changed did make me laugh; I think most boys would have crashed!

It was interesting to read more about Marco and Julienne, especially as Adele has mentioned them at school. I've probably missed some information somewhere, but are they both the same age as Adele?

Interesting re the Weasley invite; I look forward to more Adele - Louis interaction during the holiday scenes.

The bills must have come as a shock to Adele - and what a weight for her to carry on her shoulders? Earning money during the school holidays to keep yourself in drinks/clothes/parties is one thing, but staving off debt collectors? Yikes. And I have a sneaking suspicion someone from school is going to see her dancing for money...

Great stuff! Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Brax X

Author's Response: Writing Adele's life outside Hogwarts was kind of a great breath for me because it's so different to her life in school. Marco and Julienne are the same age as her, I hadn't realized I didn't say that! There's a LOT coming just in the next couple chapters and I don't want to give anything away but I'm so glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hasane Dancing Juliette

19th March 2017:
Yo I never expected that Adele would be paired with Louis! I suppose that she would since it's Louis that she finds something in common with, and could relate to easily. I think I like them together, but I haven't learned enough about them to really start to ship them. I'll just read on.

Author's Response: Honestly I didn't expect to pair them together either. I originally planned this to be a James/OC type of story, but then this just sort of happened and, well, here we are! I'm not too great at writing romances so hopefully this doesn't disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hasane To Dance in Red

19th March 2017:
It took me a while to notice before, but is her problem with not eating supposed to be there, or was it unintentional? Because it seems to me that she is stopping herself from eating to keep a dancer's figure, and that's not really healthy for her. Her criticism of her body was very harsh on herself, and she doesn't like her body. I wonder if this will be a plot point in the story?

Author's Response: It is a part of the story! It's nearly impossible to write about dancers without talking about food because so many ballerinas do exactly what Adele is doing. She's actually on the healthier side of things from what I can tell, because I didn't want to take it TOO far. But there is a big problem with how she views herself in every way, and that includes her body. There's a sort of self-acceptance theme throughout the story.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hasane The Corps

19th March 2017:
I haven't mentioned this before, but I absolutely love how you write when describing how Adele dances. Of course, I don't know over half the terms you use, but I do make a point of looking it up.

This was a small part of the story, but I really liked the way you highlighted Adele's lack of knowledge about the world she's lived in. I don't think she's purposefully ignorant, but that doesn't dismiss the fact that she is. She's also apathetic to news that clearly distresses the Weasley-Potters. It may seem strange to you that I would point this out and appreciate it, but the reason I liked it was because it was a part of Adele that I could relate to easily. It's easier to be reading a novel when you find that there's something you can find similar to the main character, not that it wasn't easy to read this before.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you can relate to Adele. It's always been hard for me to believe that everyone at Hogwarts would know exactly what's going on out in the world because people at normal schools usually can't tell you what's happening out there. I feel like this does make her seem a little more real, and it makes me very happy that you agree.

As for the dancing terms, I'm usually looking them up as I'm writing the scenes! I definitely didn't expect anyone else to put in the effort to look them up, so it makes me smile that you do. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Hasane The Pas de Deux

19th March 2017:
This chapter was just as good as the last??

We finally get to meeting the Weasley-Potters, and they are pushy, like, wow. When Roxy and Lily barged into Adele's room, I was kind of annoyed and even a little angry? I don't think it was in their place to do that, but I get why they would do that. Still not cool though. But what this scene did was make me interested for future interactions with the Weasley-Potters.

Author's Response: Thank you! Roxy and Lily are such fun characters to write. They're actually based on a couple of the little kids I work with. And it's always fun to evoke emotions from my readers. I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hasane Prologue

19th March 2017:
This is an amazing first chapter. I read the first sentence, and I was immediately hooked. It highlights what you are trying to achieve with the first chapter. This is actually the first fic I've read where the main character doesn't want to go to Hogwarts (i'm assuming it's Hogwarts), and that was a point of interest as well.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm a little surprised that this is the first story you've read where the main character doesn't want to go to Hogwarts. I didn't think I was being that original. But you're very sweet, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ash Don't Think

19th March 2017:
I am enjoying you story so much! I love the way you portray your characters, and Adele has so much depth. Seeing how different she is at home with friends has helped. We had started seeing her relax and be herself around Roxanne and Lily, and it was nice to see her with old, familiar friends.

It was the dancing thing drew me in. It has been years since I danced but reading all the dance terms has brought back a lot of memories.

Keep writing!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying the story! The dance scenes have been pretty nostalgic for me too. Thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AbraxanUnicorn Dance Away

14th March 2017:
Hello!

Just thought I'd drop by and check out your story :) I have to say, I'm so sad it doesn't have more reviews as it definitely deserves to. It's such an original and fresh take on Next-Gen life at Hogwarts.

I really adore the addition of French phrases and sentences, which really add to the dance element of this fic. I know very little about ballet, but the way you describe Adele's sessions, makes me feel like I'm learning lots as well as enjoying this story!

I love the fact that Adele is friends with two younger Wotters, who have taken her under their wing. I really, really like that Freddie isn't portrayed as some misogynistic dimwit!

I have favourited this story and I shall look out for updates. It's well-written and very readable. Have loved it so far :)

Brax X

Author's Response: This is probably the longest, nicest review I've ever gotten. Thank you so much! This means a lot, especially because I loved your story "The Witching Hour." I haven't read the sequel yet but I'm looking forward to it. I'm so glad you liked this, and I'll try to update again soon!
xoxo TheBlondeOne


 Report Review

Review #10, by Flying mandarin The Corps

24th April 2015:
HEy there! I really like this story, your writing is great and very nice to read and adele is a very interesting character. I would, however, like to point out that the french sentences could be a bit better. Do you mind?

Oui? Et combien de temps avez-vous été masquer ce fait?’
"été" should be deleted as your auxiliary verb is "avez"


‘Tu es français?’
francais should be francaise as she is a girl.

‘Oui, toute ma vie. Toi aussi, non?’
since you are referring to the nationality in the senthence before it feels weird to tell someone you have been french your whole life. Maybe you could say: "Oui, je parle francais depuis toute ma vie"
‘Oui, oui, et j’aime trouver une femme de compatriote,’
I don't know if this is just me or not but femme de compatriote feels a bit weird, I'd say "j'aime trouver une compatriote"

Okay I hope you don't mind the french lesson! I really like this story and will be sure to check it out soon again for next chapters!
- Louise

Author's Response: I definitely don't mind the French lesson! I haven't taken any French lessons in a couple of years, so I'm glad you said something. Thanks for reading -- and if you see any thing else you want to correct, feel free. I'll go fix those sentences now. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Flying mandarin Prologue

24th April 2015:
Wow, your writing is very powerfull!

Author's Response: Aww thanks! you are so sweet!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Guest The Pas de Deux

21st April 2015:
I think you have a great story started here and you should definitely continue it. I don't know anything about dance but it would like Adéle is really good. And I really like how Roxy and Lily are protective enough of their family to go and interrogate Adéle. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much for the review! Roxy and Lily are definitely my favorite characters so I'm glad you like them too. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login