Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Pride and Scorpius
  
166 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2 Chapter 34: The Library of Malfoy Manor

16th July 2017:
Love the library image, immediately thought of Pemberley! And the Draco reaffirmed that thought...and then I was like hey, um, duh! the premise of the story! :P :D

Happy chapter! A little misunderstanding and revelation by Potter, but all was well and they had a splendid time together and with the Malfoy parents! Loved the games..wondered if the first one was like Jumanji, and then enjoyed the tale of the one played by all four. Awesome update! Wait...what else was in that letter? Fun that BOTH boys are returning his cousin's letter. And enjoyed the comparison to Rose.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Avanell 2 The first few days at Malfoy Manor

29th May 2017:
Wow! Excellent update! Enjoyed reading of the boys having fun, Albus' smiles with understanding toward Mrs Malfoy (love her!), and then what Albus heard!

Author's Response: Thank you for your response, as always.

It is good to show the normally uptight young Scorpius having fun. We usually only see him through Rose's eyes and the way he behaves around her is somewhat different than his behaviour when she is not directly observing him. Somewhat, but not totally because he is a fairly reserved person no matter what. I wanted to show here, with the last two chapters and the next two to come, the positive influence that Albus has had upon the life of Scorpius. Not just him, as we discover by the end of the chapter, but also, by extension, the relationship between father and son and the father himself as well.

I love Astoria, have I mentioned that before? So we have her smiles of understanding between her and Albus in the first half of the chapter and then what she says to her husband at the end of the chapter. It was a heavy thing for Albus to overhear, but it does provide some context for Albus as to his understanding of the nature of Scorpius' father and the nature of their relationship too. Having overheard it, we know that Albus will put the knowledge to good use.

Thank you for the review, as of this response the number of reads on this story have been 15151, and this chapter has had 35; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2 Albus and Scorpius go to Malfoy Manor

5th May 2017:
Wow! Albus didn't know! I wonder if he'll figure out Rose DOES know and maybe that's why she's the way she is around Scorpius. Excellent arrival to the manor, and all else! And maybe Albus will learn or figure out more about what was happening with Scorpius getting beat up and stuff. Great update!

Author's Response: Hi again.

No, Albus doesn't know what Scorpius has had to face over the course of the year; Scorpius has kept it to himself and the bullies have been careful not to be detected. There are lots of things to come in this first holiday of theirs and I believe that other events may take Albus' mind off of what exactly was going on with his best mate and his cousin.

As for the other stuff, yeah Albus didn't know about that either. He is not one to think much of the awfulness of the past, he wants to know the good of people. His father has been much the same and hasn't really told his kids much of what happened to him in the horror days of Voldemort's return. As for Rose, her mum was like Harry and didn't want to dredge up the past where it might lead to old hatreds being perpetuated. As for her dad, he has said some things to her, but dressed them up as stories and fairy tales in the main. But she is an avid reader, so she has read books on the subject and knows a lot of what happened through her own discovery. Remember though, she was fairer than that when she first met Scorpius. She was prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt - knowing that he wasn't his father. But it was Scorpius own actions - more exactly, it was his bearing and manners - that have caused her dislike for him. Though there is also one extra and more important factor with Rose - she doesn't know what the strange feelings she experiences around him sometimes really are and as such, reacts like an immature little girl (which she is) and reacts to him with anger and intolerance (which he surely doesn't deserve).

Thank you, as of this response, the story has had 14658 reads, and this chapter has had 50; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rainbowtui The Last Adventure of the Year

27th March 2017:
Poor Rose, lost innocence hurts. I'm curious how you shall resolve her tension of telling on the bullies versus upholding her promise to Scorpius.

This does not relate to this chapter but to Rose's Christmas, specifically the part with her assumption re her mother's expansion spell.This is called a working theory, and it is a convolution of them, strengthened and reinforced over time, through experience and interactions with others which our knowledge rests upon. Until Rose happens upon an opportunity or has an experience where she more or less explicitly learns that others don't see the light, will she assume/ know that that is part of an expansion spell.

Author's Response: Wow, I wasn't expecting another review so soon, thank you very much indeed.

Lost innocence does hurt, yes it does and Rose has found out that Hogwarts is not the ideal for everyone that she has experienced.

Though lost innocence may hurt, I must say that the sort of physical abuse that Scorpius has been subjected to may have been a little bit worse.

As to the tension that Rose is experiencing, well we shall see the resolution to that in the opening of the next chapter. If you don't want it spoiled then look away to the next paragraph, not that there is that much to spoil. You see because of an immature miscommunication between the two (twelve year olds, remember), it doesn't really get resolved between them. As to the bullies getting punished ... I'm afraid not either. this was much to the consternation of my beta, let me tell you. She was ranting all through my google docs, mad at them and wanting the wrath of heaven to fall upon them. But in my experience, bullies often leave the stage completely unpunished and also often completely unrepentant too; not even really thinking that they have done wrong at all. It is not the complete end of it, however, things like this leave marks upon a person and we may come back to this instance sometime in the future.

OK, the slight, really very slight, spoiler is over.

Well, here you go. I have only just finished typing up a chapter - number forty three or four if I remember correctly - and in the comments section I shall have to put, 'and kudos to Rainbowtui, a reviewer, who was the first to point out that Rose's ability to see the light around extension charms is something that required a resolution.'

One of the things that I have done throughout this story is to drop in little bits and pieces, here and there that will have ramifications in the future. When I get onto this subject, I often come back to the point that there is an almost throwaway line in the very first chapter that will only have it's resolution in one of the epilogues; serious. You are very correct in your point: will she know that the light is part of an expansion charm or not, or what it's providence actually really indicates? There will be an opportunity/experience where she learns that not everybody can see the light. But I'm sorry, you are going to have to wait for a bit - about ten chapters or so. ;)

Thanks for the review, as of this reply the work has had 13815 reads in total, and this chapter has had 30: thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Avanell 2 Home for Christmas: Dawnsfirstbloom part two

26th March 2017:
Forgot to mention at the latest chapter (end of the year) that I really enjoyed the students having fun for a week but still learning, especially those who helped out with Neville :) And the Slytherin boy being polite with Rose.

I'm also an Educational Psychologist, so this really was a joy to read.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2 The Last Adventure of the Year

26th March 2017:
Loved the intro talking about the goblin approval of Dawnfirstbloom's friendship (deep friendship) with Rose. And adored this line about Rose: she walked through a sea of other desperate students like an icebreaker through the frozen Arctic wastes.
Loved it!
Oh, and wow, what a scene Rose wandered into. Poor Scorpius, and he admitted (or you did for him, lol) that he liked and respected Rose. Woo-hoo! a step closer to what WILL happen in the years to come :) Awesome, brava! Cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there, my faithful reviewer, I'm so glad you liked this chapter. I didn't know exactly how it was going to work, it was a bit piecemeal but I like to think that I linked everything reasonably well into a sort of harmonious whole.

Dawn's happy and I'm happy you're happy with it too. I liked that line too, first you had the analogy with a hiker and the trees, now the ice floe and the icebreaker - seems that Rose doesn't pay an awful lot of attention to those around her. Hmm, I wonder if we shall see any ramifications of that in the future ...

I wanted it to be a powerful scene, but also one that didn't glorify the bullies. They do have some points of sympathy, that's one of the problems with bullies. I didn't want them to be just cardboard cut outs, completely a 'wandering monster' style encounter where they don't have any character at all. You can understand the feelings of the one who shouts at Rose, it is unfair, but the thing is, you don't make things right by perpetuating injustice.

Poor Scorpius indeed, and that's the thing, this is the treatment that he was expecting at Hogwarts - from everyone. Right from that first day on the train, he expected that Albus, the son of the man that Scorpius' own father tormented - was going to strike him for no better reason than his last name. Thank god for Albus, and more, for his wonderfully forgiving father. So when the bullies first struck (pun intended), some time earlier in the year, for him it was almost rightful punishment overdue. It is one of the main reasons he never told anyone about it. As well as the other threat; whom do you think the bullies threatened to hurt if he told?

And yes, there is a tiny hint of things to come, contained in a single line that he might actually like the girl. Sigh. Though there will be far more ups and downs in the years to come (for a while, many more downs).

Thanks for the review, as of this reply the work has had 13813 reads in total, and this chapter has had 30: thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2 The Exam Which is not an Exam

4th March 2017:
As a hiker/adventuress, love this line: Paying less attention to the people around her than would a hiker to the trees of a forest they were traversing. Lovely! Brilliant! Same for the stuffed toy at the end! :D
Very intriguing chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again.

I'm so glad that I put something into the story that you can actually, personally relate to. Enjoying the pastime of bushwalking myself, upon occasions, as you know a hiker will actually pay some attention to the trees around themselves. Unfortunately, not so for Rose. This inattention to other people will have consequences for the girl in the chapters to come ... actually around chapter 47 or so. I hope that I can keep your attention, at least, till then.

Having had Rose make a stuffed manticore for Dawnsfirstbloom, I wondered if it was actually possible to do so. I looked it up online, but as I suspected, there were no patterns for any. I didn't even like any of the plain lion ones to adapt them. If I made my character make one, then there was no way that I wasn't going to have an attempt at it myself. I was so happy with the outcome, I cannot tell you.

I'm glad you found the whole chapter intriguing. So we discover that Albus is a Smith like his father, which I do not think is too much of a stretch. I hope all the Smith explanation at the end was OK and wasn't to boring/useless.

Thanks for the review. As of this response the work as a whole has had 13450 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2 The Quidditch Adventure

5th February 2017:
Wow! Rose really shined again! Awesome, even though no Scorpius ;) Loved it! I never like reading the game descriptions, but this story has me reading more of them. Still skim a bit, but I was more into it than normal and so happy I did! Love that she has a move with her name! Awesome chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there, glad to hear you liked the chapter.

It's a thing, these quidditch chapters. For a game that could conceivably go on for hours, it is not the writers greatest friend to have to convey all that goes on. In fact, I can almost promise you that I will never do a complete play-by-play account of any of the quidditch games in this story, ever: it could get really boring, really fast.

So what I do is to pick out the highlights. Every play I write about either advances the character of those involved or advances the plot/story in some way. Quidditch will be played by the actors in this drama in the future, so I cannot rule out writing about it again, but there will be much less of it. I have achieved most of what I wanted to with the quidditch when I first started this story. So I am happy.

No Scorpius, he cannot be in everything and everywhere. Do not worry though, we see a lot more of him - believe-you-me - in the chapters to come. In fact, when the holidays start, we will have a series of chapters devoted to Albus and Scorpius, seeing what befalls them when they go back to Malfoy Manor together.

Thanks, as always for reading. As of this response, this story has had 12877 reads, and this chapter has had 27; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2 Nana

1st January 2017:
Very sweet, tender, and revealing chapter of the house elves slavery...changes, and the passing of a matriarch! Awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks so much my faithful reviewer.

I'm glad the tenderness came through amidst all the awful stuff about the elves' slavery. I really like Blinky and I want to see more of her as the story progresses. As for Nana, she was the same as Trevor, a minor character who got a bit more time in the story than I had originally intended. She was old when we first met her and when I was thinking about what I was going to develop of the culture of the House-elves, her imminent death seemed like a real possibility. I realised that it might be the perfect opportunity to bring up some of the things I'd thought about.

It also brought Stephen back, and you know any chance I have to do that I grasp with both hands. It showed his cheekiness, even in the face of death, which is so like him. But it also gave me a rare opportunity to show his vulnerable side too.

I'm so glad you liked it, I was very proud of this chapter and the last. As of this response the work in total has had 12264 reads, and this chapter has had 12; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ronald8472 The Return of Trevor

28th December 2016:
This chapter was awesome. I'm looking forward to reading more. I'm sure that the conversation between Rose and Scorpius about the blame for the prank will be interesting.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for stopping by, reading and reviewing.

I am really happy and proud of this chapter. So happy with what developed from what was originally intended as a tertiary character at best.

I actually hadn't thought about Rose having a conversation about it with Scorpius. And the chapters to come are all basically written with no space to insert one. Don't worry, there will be more to come between the two of them before the year is out though.

Thanks as always for a review. As of this response the work in total has had 12212 reads, and this chapter has had 65; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2 The Return of Trevor

3rd December 2016:
Nice intro to the chapter :D and the artwork!

Awesome chapter, one of my favorites. First clever Rose watching the pranksters (and LOVED how the head mistress turned it around on them) and then the talk with Trevor. Brilliant! Loved how he used Dobby...oh for Dobby's sake...or something like that :) Also loved that someone saw how special Rose is :)

Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you, once again, my faithful reviewer. I struggled hard for the exact way to do the chapter image, I didn't know what bit of the scene with Trevor that I should paint. Because, believe it or not, the prank was not originally in this chapter, it was not anywhere. I knew what happened in the prank, and I knew it had to come after the scene with Albus and his mates with James, but ...

You see, I had forgotten to actually write it. It was not until I had re-read all these chapters, reasonably recently, the ones that lead up to the end of the year, and found that it wasn't there. I had already posted the previous chapter, the place the scene should logically have been; so it couldn't have gone there. This chapter was a bit too late, so I had to come up with some reason to have it delayed and ... well, the resulting reason , I think, is not only logical, but is actually better. Sweet, beautiful happy accidents.

Speaking of happy accidents, as I've said before, Trevor arose solely out of a need to have the boss of the House-elves be rude to Rose when they first met. All the rest has grown out of meeting that need, and the writing gods have gifted me with this character, whom has been a delight to write.

I was so happy with this chapter in the end - even with, yet another place, to insert the wonderfully subversive McGonagall. That line where Trevor uses Dobby, where wizards would invoke the name of Merlin, was a particular favourite as well.

Rose has many things wrong with her, as a character, she will be maturing and growing as the story progresses. There have been several reviewers who have pointed out how unlikeable she is in a lot of ways. It needs stuff like this to show some of her good points.

Thanks so much for reading, I hope to get the next chapter out soon, for what is basically part two of this adventure. As of this review, the story has had 12020 reads, and this chapter has had 54; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rainbowtui The Return of Trevor

2nd December 2016:
Yay, they're back!Thank you for updating, as frustrating as it is to read chapter by chapter, month by month, I can't not read it, it's too good.

Author's Response: Why thank you too. I am to get one chapter out every month, by the end of the month. I am currently typing up chapter 39 and writing chapter forty-something-low. Though, funnily enough, I do have the first five chapters of their second year adventures already written and typed up and I am excitedly getting to the point where I am about to tie what I wrote ages ago into my current chapters: so excited. So, do not concern yourself, there is a lot more to come.

I hope that you liked the chapter, as I was particularly proud of it.

The next, I hope will be a chapter of HP&FY to come out for Christmas, then a chapter of P&S for the end of the year.

As of this review, the chapter has had 42 reads and the story as a whole has had 11869 reads, thank you all


 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2 Rose's Charms

30th September 2016:
Loved how you explained Rose's thoughts...and her little tutorial in the Common Room! Awesome update...will this continue in second year, or will you start another story for that? Did not look at whether this was complete or not...but certainly looking forward to more and...oh yeah...more adventures to come. Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hello again, glad you are here for another review.

Do check again with the chapter, as I have not painted an image for it - I was considering painting the summoned apple, cushion and book? What do you think. I will have to get to it sometime soon and post it up.

As I said in the Author's note, a lot of the last two chapters have been about dealing with the fame of being the children of such famous parents. I wasn't really going to have much about the kids having to deal with any of that fame stuff when I first started out writing this, but after reading other stories and thinking about it, it would definitely be a factor that they would encounter. To not include it would not be realistic (as realistic as a story about magic teenagers can ever get that is). All of the Weasley/Potter kids who I am going to concentrate upon will deal with their fame in different ways. We can see how James deals with it: he embraces it (with the keeping of the scrapbook of their various media appearances) but also dreads it (with his aside in this chapter). Rose, who is not so questioning of herself, has had it become a niggle in her psyche. Albus, on the other hand I will not be going into so overtly, but I think that a boy who is big hearted enough to be sorted into every house, will wear the fame with a mixture of humility and pride. He's already more famous in the school for his own achievements: his presence in each house; the quidditch league named after him; and his superlative skills as a Seeker.

Remember this whole story is littered with my head cannon about how magic must work in the Harry Potter universe, and this chapter just continues that exploration. Charms has been the subject that Rose has the most difficulty with, so she must have gone through a lot of this herself - working out how they worked so that she could do them herself. As for her impromptu lesson, Rose is not one to be precious about her own abilities - she will help out someone in need. Especially if it is telling someone something that she knows and they don't. Rose definitely has her faults, but selfishness in that respect is not one of them.

First year will end with chapter 31. After that there will be at least ten chapters that outline what the kids get up to in the holidays - there will be, I think some interesting things to explore when Albus joins Scorpius over the Summer, and when Rose and Dawn go to the home tunnels of the Deeper Delvers. So second year will start around chapter 42 or so. I had wondered if I should split the story up and have a: Part I, Part II, etc. In some ways it would be good to have a series of completed stories, but, in the end I decided against it. There will be some significant time slips in the years to come (notably fourth and fifth) which meant that I couldn't do it from year to year.

At the moment, I am writing what will eventually be chapter 39 or 40 (possibly 41, as it is getting quite large for a chapter and I may split it in half), and there are other chapters that I have already written that take place in 2nd, 3rd and 6th years. So there is plenty left to come.

Thanks again for the review, as of this chapter the story has had 10701 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Avanell 2 Back to School From the Holidays

4th September 2016:
Fabulous update. Loved Rose at the game, then her discussion with James.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so happy that you liked the update. It is such a piecemeal chapter - with a holiday quidditch game, a school one, with Albus talking to James about one thing then Rose talking to him about another. And weaving through it all is Rose trying to work out just what is this feeling of discontent that she's been experiencing. I wondered if it was too mishmash, but it has some nice characterisation, some OK quidditch stuff, and several necessary moments of plot development.

Rose has her faults, and one of them is a self-centeredness. I hoped that the quidditch game would show that it is not from a selfish point of view, she's not like that. She can be a team player and act in the team's best interest when she has to. So her self-centeredness is not so nasty, it is more a concentrated focus upon herself, sometimes to the detriment of others. This will come up later in the story, you mark my words.

I like James and in a lot of the stories focused around Rose, I've found that he and Rose share a particular relationship. I've taken it more along the path though. I think that James knows that Rose doesn't really care about gossip and stuff, that she is a private person. She is also intelligent, and will 'get' anything that he tells her. It makes for a perfect combo, where he can tell her the truth about himself, have it understood for what it is, and not be in danger of her passing it on. They are not best friends, not like her and Albus, but I can see them being confidants of each other.

Also, the subject of their discussion will have ramifications for Rose when she sorts through her own emotions, trying to unravel them.

Once again, thanks for the review, I always appreciate them. As of this response, this story has had 10118 views, and this chapter has had 36; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ronald8472 Back to School From the Holidays

1st September 2016:
Thanks to your reply to my comment on AO3 I found more of the story here :-D but am now once again waiting impatiently for more.

Is "Professor Cho" Cho Chang of Ravenclaw?

I really liked this chapter It might be labeled as filler but I don't think the story would be the same without it. The whole beach scene was awesome from Professor McGonagall on a beach chair to the teachable moment about sand and mixtures. She had to know they didn't get help because if they did they would have used pure silica sand for easy cleanup. Making Fred tie his own noose was brilliant. Not surprising since his namesake and uncle didn't get away with much if anything but none the less still brilliant. I'd like to see Professor McGonagall next year as a part time teacher after she gets bored traveling during the summer break.

Headmaster Longbottom has a good ring to it?

It's obvious that Al and Dawn have figured out why Rose is so difficult around Scorpius but how long until she dose? Or will she have to be beaten over the head with it?

Please post more soon

Author's Response: Well, this is a surprise, hello there. I didn't mean for you to come over here, but I suppose that if I knew of a place that had more of the story that I liked, I'd do the same too.

I'm sorry, you will have to be patient, not like the other place where I am getting the chapters out quickly because they are only being copied from here. But I am being fairly rigorous about my updating, I am bringing out one chapter a month, by the end of the month and have done so for over a year now - except for the time last Halloween when I brought out more to get my Halloween chapter out in time for a challenge.

Professor Chang is indeed the Cho Chang that we know of from the books. When she becomes the teacher of Rose, we might learn more about her and what's brought her to being a teacher at Hogwarts.

I'm glad you liked it, even though the chapter was filler. The thing about filler is that it fills in the cracks - keeping something a cohesive whole and you are quite correct, it wouldn't be the same without it.

I wanted to highlight one prank at least and develop James' and Fred's characters in relation to it. Pranks are always fun and I wanted one that harked back to those that Fred (the first) and George did. Their 'portable swamp' was a memorable one and I wanted something that could parallel it. Hunting around for land-form types, the desert came to me and seemed to be a good one. Especially as it would be just the thing for a cold January in an old stone castle.

As for McGonagall, I wanted to continue the attitude that I'd established from her first appearances - intelligent, savvy, and having fun with her last year. As well, she is an old teacher, and in my experience they can never stop teaching.

As for Fred, I've seen him written any number of ways, but I kind of like this loveable, gullible version of him. You can see that he will prank out of a desire for fun - there is no nastiness in his make up - and that if he is to be pranked in turn, he will accept it in the highest of spirits as being part of the game.


We shall see what happens with McGonagall, but having written her, I love to do so and you can believe that she will have some presence in the story to come.

Headmaster Longbottom, perhaps and perhaps not, again you will have to wait and see.

How long till Rose works out what is obvious to everyone else? Well how long did it take Lizzy in Pride and Prejudice? Quite a long while. In P&P half way through the book they have the proposal scene in which she tells him, in no uncertain terms, that there is no way in which he could have asked for her hand in marriage in which she would have been tempted to accept it. Half way! It is not until about two thirds of the way through the book where she begins to turn around her opinion of him enough (when she sees him at Pemberly) that she begins to even like him. I'm afraid that this story will be following a similar track and their romance will not be forthcoming any time soon. Actually quite the opposite. In P&P, Lizzy starts off politely, begins to form a dislike, then a hatred, before it all turns around. At the moment Rose has a disinterest at best, perhaps a mild dislike - prepare to see it turn to the worse before it gets better.

See you at the end of the month for the next chapter.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2 ... New Years at the Potters

30th July 2016:
Loved the new characters introduced here. Poor Rose, not feeling the party and still rude to Scorpius. Can't wait for that to change ;)

Author's Response: Hello again, I'm so glad you did like them, but if you liked them enough ... well, they are characters that I originally introduced in my other story - Harry Potter and the Final Year. In that story, Lightsthefire is just a young goblin of eleven years who receives her letter because of Harry's basic goodness of heart. I do recommend that if you are enjoying this story, then the other is a companion piece, and it goes hand in hand with this one. The world we see here, where the goblins who can, do attend their schooling at Hogwarts, was started in the other one.

And Rose, not everything goes her way, it can't. She is not a very sociable person, though she doesn't really know it. She is OK with her family, but beyond them, she doesn't really care so much. The ennui that she begins to feel here, just what it is and what caused it, will reverberate through the chapters to come.

The relationship between the two will change, I have written some chapters in which it does, but unfortunately it will not be for a while yet - there are things to come in the coming years that just might knock any potential friendship that they have on the head.

Oh well...

Thanks for the review, as always. As of this response the story has had 9611 reads, and this chapter has had 49, thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2 Christmas at the Burrow ...

3rd July 2016:
Awesome painting!

Aww...sweet gesture, Ron! Ref for Hugo! And always love our Brilliant Hermione doing her stuff...love the history of her interest and practice doing the expansion charms!

Interesting narrative on learning...I'm an educational psychologist.

Great party at the Burrow...enjoyed reading about the presents :)

Author's Response: Hi again, thanks for the kudos on the painting. I did basic photoshop duties on the last few chapter images and I wanted to not just lift a photo for the Burrow.

For me, a lot of the reading of the elder Ron, is just off. When he made those warnings to his daughter about Scorpius, I got the real impression that they were tongue in cheek. All through the books, Ron was known far more for his joking than his anger wasn't he, so why would he be so full of prejudice and anger in later life? No, that's not the way I see him at all. He has some still, some lingering dislike for Draco and that sort of pureblood, but I think that he would be far more tolerant than we have seen in lots of fan fics.

So this is in keeping with my idea of him. He is not so stupid, nor ignorant as you might think. He still might be a bit quick to anger (but remember, in the books Harry was far more quick to anger than Ron), but he does try. Hence, when Hugo says he doesn't like playing, it is a big surprise to Ron. As well, the reason for him keeping the truth from his father is because he didn't know how he would take it. But once push comes to shove, Ron shows his true mettle.

And Hermione. I think she's brilliant too, and I always pictured her doing something in magical research. But when JKR herself says that she goes into the MLE, who am I to argue. But, that wouldn't stop her from being interested in learning and thinking, this was me showing this somewhat. It also had it's precedent in her use of expansion charms during the course of the books.

With Rose's exposure to them and her consequent abilities regarding expanded rooms, etc - there just may be something important to do with them at a later stage ...

Oh wow, how interesting. I found that all throughout my teens, the 'obvious' assumptions that I had made as a younger person were sometimes proven to be far off the mark. And in this way, Rose will have a point when she will suddenly realise that not everyone can see what she can. (You know that I am several chapters ahead in my writing of this story, I am actually nearly up to writing the actual chapters that Rose's abilities are revealed - so excited, have been planning these for more than a year!)

With so many relatives, and so close (and not just physically), you would have to have some way of limiting the presents that must be bought. It also gives some lovely bit of story to Mr. Weasley, whom I always sort of liked.

Thanks for reading and enjoying. As of this response the story has had 9423 reads, and this chapter has had 84. Thank you all.



 Report Review

Review #18, by Avanell 2 Over to Rose's

5th June 2016:
Very nice update...loved the conversation the girls had with Hermione :) Yes, she was the perfect one to talk with!!! LOL at the comment she said about men being the same with certain things.

Author's Response: Hi there, my faithful reviewer, I have been less than faithful in my responses to you and I should get to them.

If there was anyone, I thought, who might have encountered similar things, it was Hermione. Her intelligence, would always be of help in the situation, naturally, but her experience in becoming the head of the MLE, would have been far more apropos in this particular situation. In the latest update, the last one you reviewed as of me writing this response, you will have seen some of Hermione's work behind the scenes.

As to her comment ... what can I say, being a middle-aged man myself, I can attest to the veracity of her statement - some of the male managers I've had to deal with have seemed to be cut from the same mould, no matter their birthplace or racial identity.

I'm glad you liked it.
As of this review, this story has had 9421 reads and this chapter has had 74, thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #19, by alicia and anne Rose Gets Settled In.

23rd May 2016:
Your paintings are so amazing! I am in awe of them, they're so beautiful!

I love that Ron is telling Rose stories about his time at Hogwarts, I was worried that he wouldn't want her to know about the horrors that he faced, but it's good to know that she knows. It's sweet that she asks to hear specific ones :D I bet Ron loves telling her.

Uh-oh! I have a feeling that Rose is going to be rethinking those thoughts she has of Scorpius one day. :P Just wait Rose! You may one day full victim to the Malfoy charm!

Aw Dawnsfirstbloom! I want to hug her! She's so happy and she deserves to be! I'm so glad that she has Rose there to help her through it all and to support her. She's going to need it I think.

I love that James has a scrapbook of cuttings from the paper :D I would totally do the same though haha

That spell sounds amazing! I want it for myself!

Another brilliant chapter! I've missed reading this story and I really need to start catching up on it. :D

Author's Response: Hi there, I am a bi late in responding to this review, but as the time lengthened, you will see why I put it off.

Thanks for the praise of the paintings, I do try to make them relevant. I had such a clear idea as to what the Rose Reader would look like and knew that a picture would make the paltry description - 'a stylised rose' - come alive. And I was very happy with the result.

I was always telling bed time stories to my daughter. I'd make up my own, but base them upon things that I knew or movies or stuff. I remember one that went on for weeks and featured my daughter walking through OZ just after Dorothy had been there, discovering things that she had missed. For instance, the tin woodsman may have been gone from his cottage in the forest, but the smoke from the chimney came, not from a fire (what would someone made of tin need a fire for?), but from a Dragon trapped inside. That sort of stuff. If you have read my short story - A Story For Bedtime - then you will know how Ron weaves his fairy tales from out of the truth of the adventures he and Harry and Hermione faced.

Rose very well may rethink her thoughts of Scorpius one day, but that's not really the problem. She doesn't really know what this feeling is that she has around him, and because it's unknown and strange, she stamps on it and reacts to it with anger. Once she actually works out what it is, then it is Malfoy who better watch out.

I like Dawnsfirstbloom. She is there largely as a foil and a companion to Rose, but she does have a life of her own. I am currently writing a lot about her at the moment - when she returns to her home tunnels after the end of the school year. She will need Rose's help, but so too will Rose need her. It is a friendship meant to last.

It just seemed to me to be so like my idea of James to do so. Out of the Potter kids, he has been the one in the spotlight the longest - not just because he's the oldest, but also because he was the first. Can you imagine the Witch Weekly - it'd be like a royal baby to them, 'First Potter Baby'. They would have a field day. We shall see in the future if James has any problems with the fame and attention, but he is the most media savvy of the Potter kids - and that has story consequences all it's own.

Don't you want a Rose Reader, I know I do. It is one of those things that you don't know you want till you know it exists.

Well I hope you do come back, as the story marches on, and I am keeping to my schedule of one chapter a month by the end of the month. As of this response, the work as a whole has had 10,021 views (can you see why I waited, but it clicked over extra over night), and this chapter has had 759; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverMoonFairy Well met on the Hogwarts Express

14th May 2016:
Hey, BvB Review Battle again! I'm very excited to read another of your stories and this one is simply adorable!

Albus is the cutest little kid I've ever seen, it's almost sickening. I want to squish him in a motherly fashion. (By that I mean hug.) I love that Harry kept a lot of his old hatreds out when raising him so that he is going into school much in the same way Harry did- without any prejudices against anyone or anything.

Rose is exactly what I would expect being brought up by Ron. He was always pretty vocal about not liking certain people and it makes a lot of sense that he would verbally berate the Malfoy's even long after the war is over. I think the children reflect the very different parenting styles very well and very believably.

I feel bad for Scorpius, poor thing. The last thing I expected was for him to beg Albus not to hit him! What has Draco been teaching the poor boy!

I am a HUGE Pride and Prejudice fan so not only was I excited to read this for the Battle but for that purpose as well. I will continue to read and try to catch up with 21 chapters, dear Lord! This is such a great start, the Hogwarts Express always being a good meeting place for young children! I must also confess that this is my first Next-Gen fic, but I figured I should read some as I have to do one for a challenge.

Before I go, I do have to clarify that First Years are, in fact, allowed to be on the Quidditch team. As canon support, in HBP, a whole group of First Years showed up to try out for the Gryffindor team when Harry was captain. First Years are NOT, however, allowed to have their own brooms. Having to use a rickety old school broom along with general lack of experience leads to most First and usually Second Years simply not being good enough to join the teams. I know this isn't helpful, being as far into the story as you are, but I thought I would point it out for future endeavors.

Aside from that, I found no errors and I really want to do read your other story now to figure out why there are goblins on the train...

Have a wonderful day!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ravenclaw_princess  The Sorting Hatís Greatest Regret

5th May 2016:
Hi Andrew. I'm here for a BvB review

This is a quite a good chapter and there is so much to say. I guess I'll begin at the top.

I like the atmosphere on the platform. You can feel the buzz that's in the air and the excitement of nearly being at Hogwarts. I like how Rose thinks of Dawnsfirstborn and her possible reaction to Hagrid. Obviously, she doesn't have to worry about it and I can't wait to see how they know each other.

I was surprised though that Rose ended up on her own in the boats. I would have thought that Albus would try and find her, or Dawnsfirstborn would have gotten Hagrid to call her over. Maybe they were too preoccupied with Scoprius and Hagrid.

I found the part with the 'pervy boy' to be a bit odd. I'm sure there is reason behind this and that this boy will have some greater story arc which this is setting up, but in this chapter, it didn't seem to go any where. Neville didn't do anything, nor did Rose have any thoughts about the incident that would make us think that this event is the start of something more. I also thought that the action seemed a bit mature for an 11 year old. I guess I'd expect some giggling, or background egging on. Maybe I'm just being naive to think that an 11 year old wouldn't be deliberately doing that sort of stuff.

I found the switch to the memory of Harry a bit jarring. The section is so short that i think it would be better to segue it all together rather than have such a distinct break in the flow.

Well done on you're sorting hat song. I bow down to everyone who attempts them. It was really good.

And so to the sorting. Wasn't that full of surprises. Scorpius was not happy about going to Slytherin. The sorting hat must see something in him to make that decision as I haven't seen much Slytherin in him yet. By the way he reacted to the decision, I'm sure Scorpius must have been having a big argument with the Sorting Hat but it was not changing it's decision.

Albus was a big surprise. I like what you did here and the way you brought Snape into it. So far from the story, I see Albus as a Hufflepuff, but he does come across as a rather well rounded person who does have attributes from all houses. I liked the sorting hat justifications too, it was a nice little bit of dialogue between the hat and Albus. I was expecting more confusion in the hall though and the need for order to be returned, rather than silence. It would be pretty much unheard of for someone to be sorted into all houses and I thought there would be more excited chatter as people discussed what had just happened and what it meant.

Rose was great. I love how the hat just knew where she was meant to be. I also like how her and Dawnsfirstborn are in the same house. She is not too happy with Albus right now though.

Well that brings me to the end of another well written chapter. You sure know how to keep things interesting.

Jacqui

Author's Response: Hi there, I have been waiting for exactly the right time to post this response, as you shall see when you get to the bottom.

I really wanted to get that across, the excited buzz from the new students. In the first bit of this story, there are plenty more reasons to dislike Rose than to sympathise with her character. I had to give my readers some reasons to look favourably upon her, and her newly acquired friendship to the little goblin girl is the main one.

Don't worry, you will find out soon, exactly what the past relationship between Dawnsfirstbloom and Hagrid is.

Not only were they too pre-occupied with their own concerns, I meant to imply that with everything being so chaotic, they just got separated. It's just the latest in a line of things that hasn't gone the way that Rose expected things to go.

I have personally seen 11 year olds do this sort of thing. There are some boys who have some immature, yet strongly developed, urges in that area. Bullying is going to be one of the sub-themes in this story and here is the start of one aspect of it. Yes it didn't go anywhere, because for once the bully picked upon someone that they shouldn't. Certain types of boys often think that they are naturally better than girls at that age. So he thought that he could just pinch her and nothing would come of it except the sating of his own desires. He learn't his error soon enough and Rose forgot it and dismissed it as solved, but how that will fester in the boy's mind ... well, we shall find out later. As for the lack of a proper response from the teacher, that again is drawn from my own personal experiences. Quite often the sort of bullying behaviour that the boy showed, and yes, the rough-housing of Rose herself, is ignored and brushed over by teachers and those in authority. Bullies are so often rewarded for their behaviour, even if it's only by indifference to their actions.

Yes, that switch to Harry and the past was a bit jarring, I am considering re-writing it sometime.

I had to have a go, just had to, at a Sorting Hat song. Especially for this Sorting - that of my main protagonists. In the main I was happy with how it turned out.

Yes, Scorpius wasn't happy, but we don't know exactly why he was sorted into that house, nor do we know what the Hat said to him. More on that might be revealed at a later stage. You have not seen that much 'Slytherin' in him yet, but partly that is because - what exactly is a Slytherin. I am not taking the tack that JKR did, where most of the Slytherins that we actually meet are either nasty or bigoted or mean and sometimes all of the three. There will be heroes aplenty from all the houses and villains to match. But one thing that I am taking from the original Sorting Hat's song, from the first book, is one of the aspects of Slytherin-ness. It said then that it is the house for someone who wants to prove themselves, and that's certainly what Scorpius is desperate to do.

Albus. I have seen him written as being from any and all of the houses in many different stories that I've read - so I thought, why not put him in all. It is the sort of thing the Hat was always preaching in the books, and I thought that it would have wanted to sort more people in multiple houses if it could, but it probably had strict instructions to the contrary. This I thought was a loophole that the founders could not have predicted - that someone would be equal in all the traits they esteemed.

It's also interesting to do.

There was excited chatter, but there was silence as he came out from under the hat - they were all waiting for what he or a teacher would do.

We shall also see, down the track, what exactly happened to Rose as well. You can bet that she will be harbouring a desire to put the hat upon her head and see exactly what's what.

I'm glad you liked it, and much happier that you found it interesting. As of this response the story has had 7 reads, and this chapter has had 644; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Veritaserum27 Between the Tryouts

4th May 2016:
Hi there Andrew!

I know it's been so terribly long since I've left you a review - and I apologize for my tardiness. I'm leaving this as part of the BvB, by the way!

And even though I haven't stopped by in a while, I absolutely adore coming back to your story. The characters, plot and details are so well fleshed out that it's a pleasure to dive back in!

And while the writing is the main reason I love your story - your chapter images are just icing on the cake. I just scrolled back up to the top to refresh my memory and let out a loud chuckle. I remember that when I first saw it upon clicking on the chapter, I was confused, thinking to myself, "That looks like poo in a pocket of paper, but really what could it be?!"

Another thing I love about your story is the sheer expanse of characters. Most authors either stick to a small cast and do what they can with that, or end up splaying their story all over the place with far too many characters because they can't land on a plot line. I really like your balance - and each new incident and person that we meet is used to enhance something about Rose (or Scorpius) and to drive the story along. You did a fabulous job with this - and I love how you brought the story back to Rose's POV for the ending. It was a nice way to ground the story line.

Fairclough, Fairclough, Fairclough... What a clueless prat. I'm sure he's very book smart, but also prejudiced and bold. I actually appreciate the fact that he wasn't a Slytherin - good job not falling into the cliche on that one. Flitwick was written very well, and I could just see his face change as he stammered in shock at how daft Fairclough could be. It also seemed very appropriate that Stephen was called out for his role in the incident. It wouldn't have been fair for him to get away with his prank without at least a talking-to.

Oh! So who is this fourth year Gryffindor who is in Rose's spot? I wonder if it's someone who has a grudge against the Weasley's in general - or just a kid who doesn't like being told what to do by a first year ickle girl? I guess I'll have to read on to find out! I also want to know what Rose has up her sleeve to 'take care of the situation.'

Great chapter - I did notice a few typos here and there, but nothing major!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Never apologise for the break between reviews if this is the standard of review that you leave. The BvB's are always a good excuse to get back and review a story that one likes anyway.

Your comments are always blush inducingly good.

I do try to make the chapter images germane to the situation. I did wonder if I should attempt to illustrate the envelope of poo. Firstly I didn't know if I could pull it off, and secondly, if I did I would have a picture of poo at the top of the chapter. But it forms the main thrust of the chapter, so what could I do? I'm glad you ... liked it?

I am going for a long story here, as such I need to populate the castle with a few people: the broader the scope, the more cast I need. But it is true, most of the people you see will either advance the plot or highlight the character of Rose or Scorpius in some way. Oh there is another reason for the inclusion of named characters, that they are fun to write - like Hagrid.

This story is, in a lot of respects, all about Rose's POV.

Fairclough, yes. What an interesting thing the writing process is. I had no idea that Fairclough even existed when I sat down to write this story, he evolved out of Stephen, who himself evolved out of the necessities of the story. After creating Stephen - for the sole reason that I needed some elf to be a bit dismissive of Rose - I brought him back because he was a delight to write. And the more he grew in my mind the more story lines were able to be wrapped around him. I became aware that how I had him behaving is like a second generation free elf. Once I knew that, Fairclough grew out of a need to develop this aspect of the character of Stephen. 'Work to Rule' has always been one of the chief tools of the disenfranchised and the enslaved.

As to Fairclough himself, he should have paid attention to his name a bit more shouldn't he, but alas some people cannot break away from their upbringing. As to him not being in Slytherin, I really wanted to break the whole 'Slytherin is Evil' thing that sort of came across in the books. JKR needed villains, sure, but to make them all come from Slytherin was, I think, a bit lazy; or at least inconsiderate. We will find that there are plenty enough dirtbags and bullies and reprobates to have some from each house. Oh, there will be villains to come from Slytherin, but there will also be some from the other houses too - including Griffindor.

Thanks for saying that I wrote Flitwick well, like McGonagall and Hagrid I found him a delight to write, but unlike them I didn't know if I pulled it off as well. I wanted to show with him, that he is an experienced teacher, and even though, in the books, this aspect of his character is not played up so much, I don't expect that he would suffer fools gladly. He is smart and I think that people so obviously not using their intelligence, as Fairclough was, would rub him up the wrong way.

But also Stephen was not entirely blameless in the incident. He was provoked, but ... If I say so myself, I do like how I wrapped it all up, it all just fell into place as I was writing it. It also allowed me to bring back Trevor, who will also reappear later on too. The interactions between him and Flitwick serve to demonstrate how the reactions between people who respect each other should proceed. As a contrast to those between Stephen and Fairclough.

As to the mystery fourth year ... well you shall have to wait as all will be revealed in the chapter to come. And the same goes for the 'solution' that Rose has to the problem.

Argh, typos, ever my bane; I shall endeavour to find and eliminate them.

Thanks so much for this lovely review, as of this response the story has had 7644 reads, and this chapter has had 185; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pixileanin Problems and Solutions

12th April 2016:
Hi again!

Alright, I feel generally better that Albus was able to find a solution out of last chapter's problem with the Quidditch teams. I'm not so sure about the House thing yet. After all, a team is a team, which is different from a House, but if that's what you are using as a parallel, then so be it. However, this is setting a dangerous precedence for anyone who this "many sortings" might happen to in the future. Where will the line be drawn, mmm? Me wonders.

I found Stephen to be a delightful addition to this chapter. I truly enjoyed his interaction with the rude boy who decided to assert his will on the poor elves without thought. Unfortunately, his behavior, which was likely learned from his family, will only change if he relearns what it is to treat the elves with dignity. I was a bit sad that another elf was caught up in his demands and that other wizards and witches didn't stand up to him and correct his actions, but I'm sure that will come in time. After all, the house elf journeyman concept is still new to some. Adjustments take patience.

So Albus gets to play on all the teams, and Rose notices something about Scorpius. I love the subtle shift in her thinking, when she actually notices that Scorpius is only overly-formal with her, and not Albus. I bet it set her to wondering about "things" at that point. And the not-so-gentle ribbing she got from Dawnsfirstbloom was well-placed, even if it came with a bunch of pinching. Girls. What they do to each other... sigh.

Rose is still very unsure of herself, as is age-appropriate. She doesn't want Scorpius to find out things about her - learning to speak goblin, and the elf hats thing... I bet it's because she cares too much about what he'd think, and she doesn't even know it yet.

Nothing brings on the bonding like a common enemy. In Quidditch, I mean. Your Albus is far to nice to get between Scorpius and Rose. But I'm sure you knew what I meant without me having to explain myself... and there I go to rambling.

Anyway. Another fun chapter that solves one issue and brings up the next.

Pix

Author's Response: Hi there, I should respond to this, so I will now.

Yes it is good that he found a solution, and we will see what happens to it as the events of the year unfold. Perhaps it will allay your concerns somewhat when you see how it works out. One thing I do have to note, is that you are quite correct in that it is establishing a precedent for anyone who is sorted into multiple houses, but I don't know how 'dangerous' it will be. I hope that I have established that it is very unlikely that it will happen - one this century and one in the last, and obviously not many more before hand. But also, due to the implied nature of the person who could be sorted into any house, and given the Hat's reasons for doing so, I think that the person will be a force for positive change, rather than anything else.

Ah, Stephen what a glorious find of the writing process. He is such a fun character to write, that we shall certainly see more of him in the chapters to come.

I am so gratified when people pick up on some of the subtleties that I scatter throughout the story. Yes the nature of House-elves will be explored throughout the story and, yes, none of the other students leapt to Honey's defense this time, but maybe that will change in the years to come.

I have to throw a few interactions between the pair of them out there, I have to show that there is some spark between them. At the moment, as eleven year olds, it is not a spark of love or attraction as such but they notice things about each other and will constantly be on each other's radar. We see this mainly from the point of view of Rose, so we are not privy to what Scorpius is thinking. Well, we don't know directly as such, but by his actions, I think we get an intimation.

And girls, hey.

That estimation of Rose's character is pretty spot on. Whatever actions of Scorpius have drawn from Rose, it's certainly drawn her ire on more than one occasion, it has definitely engendered some respect for him on her part; albeit, a respect that Rose doesn't truly realise she has for him.

Nothing like a common enemy, but saying Albus is any kind of enemy to the two is to grossly abuse the meaning of the word. They are both too fond of him in their own ways to ever have anything more than a friendly rivalry with him, and he's not like that either. So I'm sure the pair of them will put their differences with Albus aside, to concentrate upon their differences with each other.

Thanks for the lovely review, No I just have to wait and see what you want me to review back. As of this response the story has had 7311 reads, and this chapter has had 251; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Pixileanin Quidditch Tryouts

12th April 2016:
Hey hey, it's Quidditch!

Funny, I don't picture you having had any trouble coming up with a chapter title for this one. It was ALL ABOUT QUIDDITCH, oh my goodness! But actually, it was also ALL ABOUT ROSE, so you know, good stuff here.

You captured your Rose so well, working methodically through all of this tedium of each and every step throughout the Quidditch tryouts. If it were any other character, or any other story really, with no other point than to chronicle the play-by-play of the tryouts, I'd have been bored out of my skull with all the minutiae.

HOWEVER, since this is your Rose, the whole point of the story is to show her dealing with all of the newness, the way she reacts to things in her small, compartmentalized way, the fact that she still has specific expectations of things and that it's still so early in the year... all of those things need to get shown and broken down, and that's what you did here.

We had to be in her head, we had to see her deliberating every move, and we had to move through her world and experience the expansion of her little world with her. You did that very well, my friend.

I loved that Olivia was so sharp with her and gave her what-for when she sassed back, and I double loved that you didn't tell us how Olivia had been taught to do her criticisms in private until after we saw how she handled Rose. I think that gave a lot of strength to the way that Olivia handled that rude little snot at the end of the chapter. The development of that idea came to a delightful head, and I'm sure I was not the only reader rooting for a good call-out and subsequent dismissal.

But what you did to poor Albus for Rose's benefit, I felt strongly that he had been maligned by the entire experience. Of course the other houses were going to argue over him, but it was interesting that NO ONE brought up the fact that Albus CHOSE to show up at the Gryffindor tryouts. Being on the Gold and Red team was a choice that he'd already made, and I'm sad that no one on the field took that into account. Perhaps that will come out later, since I haven't read ahead, but it seems logical to me. And since Olivia had been so staunch with the other issues at the tryouts, I'm surprised that she didn't pull that obvious fact to claim him as her own, unless there are some other factors involved that we aren't privy to because of Rose's limited point of view, newbie that she is.

I look forward to how the Albus/Quidditch issue plays out in the future, and reserve my ultimate judgment for the reveal. See? That's me giving the author the benefit of the doubt there. :P

Thanks for another lovely read!

Pix

Author's Response: OK, I should be typing up a chapter for P&S, but I should also answer this lovely review too - guess which one won out?

I received some very good advice from a friend who became a professional writer. He began working in television and one of the things that he was told, was that you could never have someone just talking to another person in a TV drama. If the exchange went on for more than two back and forths or so, then you had to have them doing something else whilst they talked.

I took this to heart, because I understood what lay at it's heart. When you have something in your story that might drag on a bit, then you have to leaven it with something that advances something else about the story: the plot, or the visuals, or (as in this case) the characterisation of the players. And in this chapter, we see what quidditch brings out in the character of a few of our players, but especially of one Rose Weasley.

I was also very mindful that the minutiae of the selection procedure had to be leavened with other things - one of which was the welcome reappearance of Stephen.

Thank you for saying that you thought that I had achieved what I set out to do - the illumination of Rose's character when she has to interact with others in a situation that is not in her control.

Yes I was quite pleased with the character of Olivia, and her development throughout the chapter. She was one of the happy accidents of writing: I knew I wanted a child of the original Wood to be the house captain, and that the person had to come down hard on Rose at one point and put her in her place. I don't know what occurred to me first, her name or her sex, but as soon as I knew the character was Olivia, daughter of Oliver Wood, then she just wrote herself.

As to the boy whom I cannot name, due to the restrictions upon swearing in these comments, he got what was coming to him. We very well may see him again, but it won't be for the tryouts for next year's team, that's for certain.

As to the cruelties that I inflicted upon poor Albus, I know that you have left a review of the next chapter, so I know that you know how it turns out. But your criticism is valid, even though it is one point of view that I hadn't actually thought of when I wrote the story. See, I knew, going in, what was going to happen, but in thinking about your opinion I know the answer to it. Albus may have turned up for the Gryffindor team, but he truly accepts that he is in every house and he is too fair to play favourites.

There is a positive outcome and we shall see it develop in the next chapter. Thanks for this review, as of this response the story has had 7253 reads, and this chapter has had 257; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Pixileanin Other Lessons

12th April 2016:
Hi Andrew! It's been a while since I've been to this lovely story of yours. High time that I returned!

"Making Stuff". That's BRILLIANT! And taught by a goblin to boot. I bet that's your way of balancing out the "goblins get wands" thing, which would make sense. If the races are already sharing information, it would naturally build up relations in a positive way at the school. We already have precedence of other types of instructors in canon too, as the centaur who took over for Trelawny (I really hate spelling her name, I'm always afraid of juxtaposing the letters for some reason). And the class sounds so very INTERESTING as well. It's about time that witches and wizards learned practical skills.

Another thing I loved about this chapter was Rose and Charms. I'm glad you gave her a sizable weakness. I'm also very satisfied with the way in which she works her way around it. It's almost as if by finally understanding the mentality of Charms, Rose has taken one tiny step towards understanding that life isn't about muscling your way through things. That you have to sit back, relax, and allow things to happen on their own sometimes. Scorpius has got it down, and it's funny, but I can see his treatment of Rose being parallel to that. It's like he KNOWS things about her, and he's just biding his time, waiting for her to catch up. Interesting. And compelling.

Dropforged is a cool character in his own right. He knows his class is awesome, he's done it enough times to know that the kids will eventually think it's awesome, so with all that confidence, he addresses them in a genuinely likable manner. I love his curriculum. I want to be in that class!

I was thinking about Scorpius in this chapter too. So far, we've seen him all cool and collected around Rose, and that's great, building up her misgivings and mixed feelings about him and all. But the scene where he's in his pink robe and takes everything in stride just has me itching for that future moment where he completely loses his marbles over Rose... I know that might not even be in the story you're writing, and if it is, it's quite far, far in the future, but I would love to stick around, just to see that. hehe. Maybe I am an evil writer after all. :P

Another lovely chapter, Andrew!


Pix

Author's Response: Glad you are back, and while you look at the comments I have left you on your story, let me take the chance and respond to this one.

Yes, it is one of the ways, one of the main ways in which it balances out the 'goblins get wands thing'. More details about the origin of this will be found in my other story in an upcoming chapter. I hadn't actually thought about the precedent set by Firenze, but it works out so well that ... well, yes that was my intention all along for you to draw that parallel. ;)

Rose must have some weaknesses otherwise she would be too perfect. So to balance out her near impossible standards at all other things academic, I had to make her weak somewhere. She does all the rest so effortlessly, that she must struggle in at least one. But it also fits in with my conceit about the nature of the mindset needed for various spells. Rose is so 'Gryffindor' that this underhanded, sneaky, 'Slytherin' way of looking at the world is truly alien to her. So she will have some troubles, but with some hard work, she will triumph in the end.

It also does draw some parallels between the pair. Scorpius does have to have his strengths too, and one place he does, in an area that Rose is particularly weak in, is in understanding people. Scorpius has been a quiet and an observant kid; he's learnt a lot about people by simply listening and observing.

I so want to be in that class too: no exams, no homework, and you get to make stuff! Sign me up. I like Dropforged too. I cobbled him together from the best bits of a range of awesome woodworking and tech teachers that I have had over the years. I don't have many plans to use him much throughout the rest of the story, but I shall insert him in whenever I get the chance.

Scorpius was embarrassed about the pink robes, don't get him wrong, but why succumb to it? I like to think that it is one way that he shows his Slytheriness. In generalisations: a Gryffindor would have sought immediate revenge; A Ravenclaw would have found a way to remove the spell; and a Hufflepuff would have forgiven Rose. But a Slytherin turns a setback into an advantage, by remaining cool he throws it back into Rose's face and makes her far more upset than he is. He will loose it against Rose, but I'm afraid, before any losing it in desire, don't you think that Rose's nature will be far more likely to cause him to lose it in anger first?

Thanks for the wonderful review, as of this response the story as a whole has had 7162 reads, and this chapter has had 267; thank you all.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>