Reading Reviews for Curiosity Is Not a Sin
  
534 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore The Hogwarts Express

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

I got to read the end of this story, and earlier than I thought I would do! (I mean, I'm sure I'll still have lots more chapters to review out of order but you get the point.)

"Scorpius-Malfoy-her-boyfriend" - I really liked this, it's been like the one thing that Rose has really struggled with throughout this story and now it's the end and it feels like she has actually accepted it, and more than that she's prepared to meet his family, which is a pretty big step. I'm so proud of these two adorable characters ♥

I feel sorry for their friends, though - it must be so hard for them (particularly Albus) to be constantly hearing about their relationship. Because while the relationship bubble is pleasant for the people in it, it does get a bit wearing for the people around them who have to constantly hear about it.

I loved the meeting between Rose and Scorpius's families, though! It wasn't what I was expecting, and Ron was on far better behaviour than I anticipated, but it was so much fun to read! I really loved the way that Draco came across in particular, and how he teased Scorpius about his opinions on Rose changing so quickly. It was actually a lot less awkward than I thought it might be too, which was really nice.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 Family Secrets

30th April 2017:
Hello again Branwen!

Please pretty please let this be the flag chapter so Sian and Abbi can go and get some well deserved rest!

I like the sound of Roxanne being so forthright when she thought they deserved it. James still finds time to be snarky to Rose despite worrying about what Marion and Roxanne were talking about!

I love how you built up that argument between James and Marion. I mean, it's just so perfect... and of course I've seen couples do this in public and it's so damn uncomfortable for the person sitting near them.

GRRR. Those nasty slurs make my blood boil. Good for Claire though. You needn't like a Weasley but there's no reason to condone such ugly words, and definitely Claire has her priorities right. You go girl!

AHA! He finds out about the cloak. The damn cloak I've written so much about on mu marauder fics.


And exchanging family secrets doesn't seem much of 'not going out' to me. Looks like Rose's curiosity has been irked again. It's nice to know that Draco wants to be rid of the dark mark, I love that you haven't made Scorpius all dark and damaged because of his dad. I love this version of him.

Much love and so many cheers
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather The Hogwarts Express

30th April 2017:
CTF Round 5 Attack review!

Hi, I’ve been itching to read the next after I read chapter 39! Riding the Hogwarts Express with Scorpius-Malfoy-her-boyfriend
must be cool for girl readers. Your Scorpius is really kind to Rose. I felt your kindness from his characteristics.

I spotted this: he ran a hand through his hair in a way that vaguely reminded her of her cousin James. Knowing that he’d be horrified by the comparison, though, she kept her mouth shut.
I wondered if Rose doesn’t like James so much. Because he had teased her so much before?

All those conversation made me think of their long history in the previous chapters. Though I’ve never read all chapters, I could imagine how they had fights each other till they got together.

“The sunlight streaming through the window was making his red hair glow almost as brightly as Rose” Oh, wait, is Albus’s hair red? I’ve imagined his is jet-black as his father’s.
Hmm, it must be embarrassing for Scorpius to confess what they actually did in Slytherin dorm, even to his best mate. I feel for Albus as well, it’s not good for him to see their intimacy in front of him.

Reading chatting about Christmas shopping and Quidditch, I feel happy for them, thinking over their parents hadn’t spent their Hogwarts days like this, peaceful moments.

“a tall, thin man with very pale blond hair.” Yay, finally you mentioned Draco Malfoy! I had much expectation till I spotted this: “You went from being ‘the most obnoxious person in the world’ to ‘the most brilliant girlfriend ever’ virtually overnight.” Hmmm, interesting comments. Well, I think you did a good job. No consternation was shown on his face. He seemed to be really an adult, Draco.

Wow another tensed moment, Ron and Draco! Of course, Hermione is a good observer and understandable. She accepted all about Scorpius for Rose. On the other hand, Ron didn’t show his friendship towards Malfoy so easily and let them call Scorp as Rose’s just “friend”. I like it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore A Letter From Home

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Branwen!!

Ooh, the parents finding out! I know that it had to happen at some point, but I'm sure that Rose would have liked to keep that some point well in the future, and would have made up lots of excuses for not telling her parents anything at all. But of course that couldn't happen with so many of her cousins at school and so many ways for the information to get out haha.

I liked Ron and Hermione's reactions to the news, as well - they both seemed really in character, particularly when we get to see more of Ron's reaction later in the chapter.

Poor Albus, he just keeps getting caught in the middle of everything, doesn't he?? And it wasn't even him who was the one to tell Hermione and Ron the news that Rose was dating Scorpius. It actually seems way more like something Roxanne would do so it's very in character for her, and then it gets round the family so quickly. There's just no escaping it with these Weasleys.

I know we haven't technically met her yet in this story (or at least I haven't in these chapters) but I loved Johanna Greengrass! Her reaction to being pulled in for information on Scorpius because he's dating the boss's daughter was hilarious - that's so something Ron would do!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by princesslily_36 A Letter From Home

30th April 2017:
Hello Branwen!

Ok so my typing may not make much sense right now but I am so damn in love with this story.

Roxaanne. Of course it was Roxanne! I kinda expected it to be James though you know! And of course she wasn't getting sympathy from her cousins, they just love to tease her don't they?

Johanna Greengrass is kinda awesome you know. She's perfectly the snarky sassy Slytherin that you kinda hate but kinda love too! Or that's how she comes across to me.

And that part was so funny, with Rose thinking her dad doesn't care but him actually calling in Johanna to interrogate her! Precious!

Of COURse Hermione is the epitome of supportive and inclusive, despite the fact that she spent her childhood hating his dad (and with good reason) you can always count on her sense of justice to come to her rescue.

That moment where Rose comforts him about her cousins is kinda so sweet. And Come ON! I can't imagine Roseis SO oblivious to what Scorpius was about to say. I mean, we ALL KNOW WHAT HE WANTED TO SAY!

Argh! I think I have too many amazing feels for this story!

(PS: Let this be the flag chapter!)

Cheers and much love
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore Pushing the Line

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Poor Rose. I mean, she's trying, she's really trying, but she's not the sort of person who's going to get over a thing like this easily. The words don't sound that hard but it's such a facing for her to bite the bullet and say them - "Scorpius Malfoy, my boyfriend". She'll get there eventually, I know she will *waves pom-poms*

At least Scorpius is able to understand it and put up with it. She's lucky with him - and she's FINALLY starting to realise it.

Interesting point at the start about the fact that her prejudices against his family are deeper-rooted while Scorpius just dislikes some of her family members. It seems like the Malfoys have done a better job bringing him up without prejudice that Ron and Hermione have for Rose.

I feel kind of sorry for Albus - I'm not sure that it's ever going to feel normal for him - at least, not for a while. But they are feeling their way into a new relationship and he's trying really hard to be good about it - and I actually think he's doing a good job of staying calm with all of their PDA that's suddenly happening in this chapter haha.

And Rose is finally realising how lucky she is to have Scorpius, and that makes me really happy!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pixileanin Patrolling with Scorpius

30th April 2017:
Whew! I'm glad the tension between Rose and Albus has let up. It was exhausting to read about it, since it affected both of them so much. I can imagine how it affected Scorpius as well. Talk, people! Keep talking!

Yes, like Rose and Scorpius are talking right now. I'm glad she's spending the time to tell him some things that will boost his morale. This kind of conversation makes me think that Rose and Scorpius might work out after all. Or maybe I'm just getting my hopes up. haha!

Anyway, it IS odd to see them having a normal conversation. I supposed it had to happen sooner or later, what with them trying to be decent to each other for once. Nice turn around. I'm still hoping it lasts and doesn't revert back into what it was before. I can actually HEAR them growing. :)

So, Scorpius wants to be a Healer, and Rose is undecided for now. They have a little time, but not much I suppose. Gotta get those classes in that they need, or they'd not be qualified for what they want. Scorpius seems to have a good head on his shoulders, aside from having this thing about Rose, that is.

The whole thing about running into Noah got me all nervous that there was more awakward coming up, but it turned out that Rose owned up to the fact that she and Scorpius are together. Mostly. Aww, the goodnight kisses are always fun to read.

Pix

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore A Compromising Position

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again my wonderful Branwen!

Oh my goodness, Roxanne and James at the beginning of this chapter! I mean, I shouldn't be surprised because it's Roxanne and James but still, it's so annoying of them and I'm kind of surprised that Rose managed to get through that conversation without hexing them or something (though it probably wouldn't have worked would it, if they all have shield jewellery?). But it was kind of funny to see their reactions to finding Scorpius and Rose kissing in a corridor and Roxanne's complete and utter incomprehension and revulsion with finding out about it.

Aha! Rose does actually like Scorpius more than she realises, and it's not just that he's a good kisser, either. I'm glad that she stuck up for him here when her cousins found her, and his surprise that she said he wasn't that annoying - which isn't really the greatest compliment, but a big step from Rose - was pretty cute.

Albus ♥ I feel so sorry for him because he's stuck in such an awkward position. I can understand him being hurt because they didn't tell him but he's actually handled all of that really well and he's more concerned about Rose hurting Scorpius, which is really sweet.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by crimson quill Pushing the Line

30th April 2017:
Capture the Flag,

So I really liked this chapter mainly because it was cute and fluffy. I love a bit of fluff. they are so adorable together when they're finally getting to grips with being with each other which is simply lovely. the little bit about 'this is my boyfriend, Scorpius' awh! I just love it! Rose has obviously been rather confused about her feelings but Scorpius is being awesome as always. you love him Rosie! it's obvious!

I think my favourite line is by scorpius when he says “You can only call me by one name at a time. Now that you’ve moved on to Scorpius, the Malfoy bit had to go.”. I just find this really amusing, probably because it's 5.14 in the morning rn. I'm a bit crazy but yeah, I did like that! again your talent for dialogue is amazing.

I love how Rose is coming around to Scorpius' family which is awesome! I love that he has a good relationship with his dad. I like it when it's written they have a good relationship. I guess I believed in deformed draco.

I love Albus' awkward reaction in general to their relationship. he'll get use to it he's quite a few chapters to get use to it in :P ly xxx

 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore Talking by the Lake

30th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

I think it's part of Rose's personality, and I like that she's flawed because it makes for a more rounded character, but she can really be a bit obtuse sometimes. I mean, of course it's a difficult situation for Albus to be in because he probably doesn't really want to hear or think about his cousin and his best friend together, particularly when his cousin is like his sister.

But I'm glad that Albus is managing to look out for his best friend as well as Rose, because it shows what a fair and nice person he is, and I don't think a lot of people would manage that.

FINALLY. Rose recognised that they actually needed to have this conversation and didn't do something highly distracting like starting to kiss Scorpius again. That's a big step for her because it's hard for her to admit that and face these conversations because of who she is, so I'm kind of proud of her.

Scorpius is so cute! It must be really hard for him to admit how much he likes her, and how long he's been attracted to her, especially because Rose knows all of this embarrassing side of things and she isn't on the same footing. But he asked her to be his girlfriend, and it was so cute! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Pixileanin Talking by the Lake

30th April 2017:
Albus really cares for his friend, and it's almost like Rose has hit a nerve with him about Scorpius. It's like Albus has a phobia about Rose leading the boy on.

Which would make sense, because Rose may not always be forthcoming with her emotions, so people might never tell if she's serious or just curious. Hmm..

I'm glad that Rose didn't say yes to Alex. That would have been super convenient for her, but also it would have been doubly painful for Scorpius, and Rose wouldn't have been true to herself. I think that underneath it all, Rose has an issue with being emotionally honest with herself.

And it looks like Scorpius wants to make this thing official. With Albus being mad at her, Rose probably has to over think this... but hey, she manages to do a good job of it. I can see her point, but her internal dialogue seems to point to the fact that, even though things might look like they're moving fast, she's already made up her mind. Still, it might be a while before she takes herself seriously. Gosh, she is quite maddening. Good luck, Malfoy. This one is going to give you all kinds of trouble!

It was cool to see them both embarrassing each other, but it was doubly nice to see Rose owning up to her thoughts about Scorpius. She looks like she'll eventually come around. It's a process, I guess. I'm really hoping that Rose will be this honest with Albus soon. It's like she's losing her friend over this. I don't want to see them lose Albus. :(


Pix

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore A Package From Fred

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

You know what, I think I agree with Albus here - it probably would be good for Rose to get a taste of her own medicine. I mean, she can't just expect Scorpius to let her hex and jinx him and all sorts of embarrassing things, and not retaliate, can she? It made me laugh to see that she was so jumpy with it and really nervous about what he might do to get her back.

The package from Fred was so great! I love the fact that he's sending them all of these things in response to Rose's need - and the fact that all of the Weasleys seems to instantly know when there's a package that's come from Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes and all just turn up on cue, ready to get their share of the goodies.

Even Lucy, the prefect. I'm shocked :P

I loved the inventiveness here, too, with all the different products that they've got at WWW. I really like the new Skiving Snackboxes - I've had to come up with a few myself for one story and it was so hard to think of names for them, so I love your choices.

Haha Lily has a wicked sense of humour, I think that girl is going to need watching as she gets older. Just wait till she's getting her hands on some of the other products!

Is it bad that I'm laughing at the fact that Rose thinks she's now safe and I know she isn't? :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore Scorpius's Birthday

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Nearly at the end of this story! (I mean, I'm sure I'm going to be reviewing a lot more of it, but in the chronological order haha.)

I think Rose really needs to get over this prejudice that she has against Slytherins. I don't think that it holds up anywhere near as convincingly now that everyone knows that she's dating Scorpius Malfoy. It makes me laugh, though - she's someone who holds so steadfastly to her beliefs and it takes a lot to admit that she's wrong and to change her mind, but at least she managed to overcome her prejudices for just one morning and go and sit with the Slytherins for Scorpius's birthday.

I'm so glad that she's finally admitting to herself that she does actually really like Scorpius! And his face when he saw that Albus had managed to persuade her to join the Snakes for breakfast was just so adorable and I'm glad that she thought it was worth it for that.

The relationship is taking bigger leaps at the moment, but I don't think that they seem out of place or anything. Both of them have finally started admitting to themselves and each other (though I think Scorpius needs to be credited for getting there first) how they really feel and this just seems to flow naturally from that.

I'm looking forward to the final chapter (whenever I get round to reading it)!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by princesslily_36 A Compromising Position

29th April 2017:
Hello Branwen!

Oh my god James!!! He cracked me up! I could totally imagine him drawling the words out trying to make Rose feel more uncomfortable than she already was. And playing up to the whole And Roxanne, she's pretty awesome too - protective and well, the whole scene was brilliance.

Albus clearly has no clue about what's going on with Rose as much as he does with Scorpius and I think he's such a dear for wanting to protect his best friend. He's pretty insightful and cautious in thinking that probably Scorpius is biased in his narration, which is think is bloody brilliant characterization. And his disappointment at Rose's evesdropping feels SO Ginny-like!

See, I knew you’d come around,” he murmured in her ear. “I’m really very charming, once I stop being an * because you’re too pretty to ignore. - Ths. THIS IS WHY I LOVE SCORPIUS MALFOY AS YOU WRITE HIM.

You write so absolutely brilliantly fantastically so well! You're making me all squishy inside with the feels! Your fanfic deserves all the love it's getting today from us lions and so much more!!! You write teen romance so well!

I am SO GLAD this was picked as the flag story!!!

Cheers and much love
Ysh

 Report Review

Review #15, by crimson quill A Package From Fred

29th April 2017:
Capture The Flag,

US/ME, AGAIN. WOAH.

so I liked this chapter, it seems Rose has got herself into a bit of a prank war with Scorp? that doesn't seem too surprising from the first chapter! Another appearance from the cheeky duo James and Roxy, their relationship is really strong and I like them as a double act that you've got going on!

oh, goodies from freddie! It's odd as always think of freddie being bff with James but you've got him being a bit older which is nice to do something that's a different. I love that he has send them some goodies and new products. that's amazing. the necklaces seem interesting. I wonder if this is going to come into play with the rest of the story...in the future? Poor Lily being told she's too young. there is nothing worse than that! boo.

we're seeing a few more family members here too, I really enjoy Lucy's threats of detentions but she's pretty cool really. I noticed Louis got a mention. yay (I don't think he did anything but Louis is my fave next gen) so I get excited whenever him pops up to make an appearance in any fic. haha! xox

 Report Review

Review #16, by StarFeather Scorpius's Birthday

29th April 2017:
Hi, Branwen! Me again at CTF ROUND 5 attack review!

I’ve never read this intense Rose’s mind movement before. I’ve read a few Scorose, but this is so fun from the start.
I spotted this, “You’ll survive,” he said dryly. “I promise.”
You captured Albus’s characteristics very well, I imagined even his father’s facial expression (Mine is Daniel in the film ;))
It’s very intriguing, Albus must have been up to something for Rose and Scorp around Weasley clan.

Oh, are they allowed to sit at the other house table, great! Claire seems to be a good person. I spotted this : it lacked the bite her remarks about Rose usually had; even she was grinning at her friend’s reaction to his girlfriend

I’m filled with a kind of deep emotion thinking Rose’s father is Ron and Scorp’s is Draco, when I read their intimacy in the hallway. Could they imagine that would happen between their future children?

Oh, it’s interesting that Scorp knew the existence of the Invisibility Cloak. Albus and Scorp must be really a close friends. And James and Albus were so understandable around their cousin, Rose.
I smiled at their teasing and caring their cousin.

All the scenes how Rose sneaked into the Slytherin CR is so thrilling. Oh, I missed the planks of HP world. Nice descriptions including “dungbombs” via Scorp’s words.

Hmm, sleeping on the bed seeing fish swimming by must be fun (I like an aquarium a lot and I’m eager to try sleeping in your Slytherin dorm) and at the same time must be gloomy as Rose felt. And wow… a big progress between Rose and Scorp. I guess many authors tried
writing Scorose, you did a great job on leading readers to the romantic scene.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Pixileanin Secrets

29th April 2017:
Oh Rose, you'd better be careful what you're playing with here. Let me help you. It's called FIRE. haha. She's trying to be nonchalant about things, I can feel it. But it's not working. I can feel that too. James can see it, and Albus is trying to see it, but I think he's got some kind of blinders on when it comes to his best friends. I'm sure if this keeps up, Albus is going to know things, and then Rose will have to explain herself.

But until then, she thinks she's got this under control, which we all know she doesn't.

I like how you wrote Rose's difficulty with the Patronus charm. It's nice to see her struggle with something and need help from her family/friends. It makes her real, instead of being good at everything. And her relationship with James seems to be different from her relationship with Albus. I have my thoughts on why, but she told James, and she's not telling Albus, and it might be that best friends thing again, getting in the way. Rose, that's not the way you do it, silly!

Well golly gee, they've been CAUGHT! But by whom, I wonder? If it's the worst possible scenario, I'm guessing it's gong to lead to a detention or three... or maybe a family spat? All the options. I'll be guessing until I read the next chapter.

Pix

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Surviving to the Weekend

29th April 2017:
And the plot thickens. I know I'm jumping around because of CTF but I have read most of this story years before. I love how easy your writing is. I know I've told you that before and I'm certain a lot of effort goes into your work but it just reads so easily. I'm never bored by it. It's just familiar.

What I really liked about this chapter was James. So first off clearly Rose isn't up to discussing her personal feelings about Scorpius just yet. She still has to figure them out on her own and if Albus doesn't know the innermost secrets of Scorpius then why would she tell him? I say innermost secrets to sound dramatic when it's just a deep seeded crush that in reality he does understand. It's just a relationship is actually between two people. It's no one else's business what they're doing or not doing, what they talk about and don't talk about. You know?

I just thought you brought some humor into the chapter with James. He seems protective enough of Rose to worry why she was out late with him in the first place but he's also not so protective that he understands she needs time to figure out what she wants and needs. I mean he shows he cares and understands in such a subtle way. Plus he breaks down Scorpius to the level that she needs. He's just a regular boy. He's also just a regular boy with raging hormones.

I laughed when James said he wanted to have his hands all over her. Totally. Scorpius seems like the type to say things like 'making love.' I just cringed but doesn't he seem like the guy that says that? Haha! Poor Rose!

I think her cousin was talking about her in the corner of the common room too. I think everyone is suspicious of her and what's going on with Scorpius and she doesn't even realize it because at this point she doesn't quite understand it either. What a conundrum!

 Report Review

Review #19, by princesslily_36 Secrets

29th April 2017:
Hello again,

Are you tired of me gushing all over your review page yet? Well, there's more to come!

Ahhh of course all that kissing, Rose can't put it out of her head can she? And did I tell you how much I love this mature, insightful James??? It kinda reminds me of the James Potter I that I have in mind. Except for the mature part, of course! Love the conversations he and Rose have, and his teasing comments!

And Albus obviously figured out something was amiss what with Scorpius being like a zombie and Rose being all weird... but he wouldn't have guessed this, would he?

She allowed herself to feel a quick moment of triumph - OF course she did!

Scorpius looked even more exhausted and short-tempered than she did - and OF COURSE, HE did!

And that was hot! HOT! Rose and Scorpius aren't able to keep away from each other, and he still is his damn cocky self with her. Yes, I definitely particularly enjoyed the last scene!

Who was it, who was it, who was it, WHO WAS IT?

I can't wait to find out!! (well, I know, but this is how I felt when i first read it!)

Love and Cheers
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore House Loyalties

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hello again!

Another thing I really love about this story (you are going to get sick of me saying this, I'm really sorry. This is just SO GOOD. I'm glad the Claws picked this as the flag story purely because I get to read it all again haha) is that you don't just focus entirely on the romance and the friendships and things, but the bigger picture. It's a really well-rounded story because of all the different threads going on and joining together in this.

It showed really well how we, like Rose, can get so wrapped up in the romance and the main plot and forget the bigger picture, and the reason that the Slytherins are all staring at her is because of the Quidditch match.

Ah, sport. Nothing brings out silly reasoning and harboured resentments quite like it, does it? And the conversations here really show it, because the Slytherins are being kind of ridiculous in hating the Gryffindor Quidditch team so much this year when they don't even have a chance at the cup, but at the same time it's understandable. As a sports fan, I know that there are some rivalries and matches you just don't forget and that you hold onto long afterwards.

It's possibly not the best idea for Rose and Scorpius to discuss it, though :P

I'm glad that Albus was there to make sure they didn't get stupid and properly argue over it. And it was really interesting to see that he's a hatstall between Gryffindor and Hufflepuff but chose Gryffindor - I'm always interested where people would sort him.

James and Marion are such a cute couple!

Also oh my goodness what on earth was Scorpius going to tell Rose??? I need to find this out but I don't know which chapter it's going to be in arghhh!!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Pixileanin Eavesdropping in the Corridor

29th April 2017:
Hi! It's Chapter 3!

Ah, so Rose has been warned by her grandmother not to eavesdrop. But she does it anyway. Ah, she's not as indifferently interested in Scorpius' hair, now is she? lol. But I bet she's trying to convince herself that it's just the hair.

Albus really thinks that Rose is a good person. I think he's trying to drive that point home to Scorpius here, though I'm wondering why he's defending Rose to Scorpius if Scorpius doesn't WANT to like Rose. I guess Albus is just concerned with his friends getting along on some level, which I can understand. Albus is a good egg. He just wants to live in a happy world, I bet.

I think that having this conversation in its own chapter puts emphasis on it, you know? Like, the reader has to sit for a second and think about how things are developing before moving on. If that was your intention, it worked in your favor, definitely. The only thing I feel that I was missing was some sort of reaction from Rose. I can infer that she wants to push aside what she just heard because it was a bit heavy-sided and she learned some things that she hadn't known before, not flattering things, at any rate. It would have been nice to get a glimpse of the immediate impact of the conversation on her before the close of the scene. At any rate, she'll have a boatload of stuff to think about after class, and we'll get to see that soon. Maybe I'm just impatient for it. :P

Pix

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Curious Cousins

29th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Branwen!

Aw, this was such a brilliant chapter! I loved the opening when Rose wasn't really sure whether or not she should introduce Scorpius to all her cousins - and understandably, because they really are a facing with the number of them and their interrogation techniques. And then little Hugo with his thirteen years of wisdom thinks that he needs to be put in a room with Scorpius so he can make sure he has the right intentions - it was cute, but it really made me laugh.

You did such a great job of writing all of the different Weasley cousins in a scene together - I find it so intimidating, and I've only managed to do it a couple of times, but you've clearly got some really strong head canons for each of them and the portrayals of them here reflect that.

Haha, I love the fact that Teddy's first question when Scorpius agrees to join them is who his Quidditch team is. That just seems like such a Weasley/Potter thing to say :P

Dominique being a football fan is so great, and I really like her character. I'm glad you got your love of football in somewhere - though, funnily enough, most of the people I know round where I live who support Arsenal actually have only been fans since they started winning a lot back in the early 2000s :P

I'm glad that Scorpius survived the interrogation by her family, and I'm looking forward to seeing his birthday present!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by crimson quill House Loyalties

29th April 2017:
Capture the Flag,

So there were some interesting themes in this chapter to do with houses and stuff (like we were discussing the other day!). I'm really pleased that Albus' other house choice was hufflepuff. I've not really seen a hufflepuff albus so it was a nice twist that it wasn't a straight between just slytherin/gryffindor. I can see hufflepuff traits in your albus from what I've seen of him!

I do love how worked up these kids get about quidditch which was the central conflict in this chapter really but I love how passionate Rose comes across in this chapter when sticking up for her house and team. she's still very feisty as a character. it's a very serious business is quidditch! don't cross the gryffindors. #gryffiepride HAHA. I enjoyed that they both took offence to Scorp's reaction.

I like how you've just referenced quite casually that dom is gay in this chapter too, low key but it's a nice touch. I haven't seen dom appear much (not sure if she does?) but I haven't read a gay Dom before.

I did like a cliff hanger! I wonder what that's all about, that's a little hook for the next chapter! XD

good job with this chapter, you've build up the character's relationship with realistic dialogue/banter. it's my favourite thing about this story. the chemistry between the characters.

 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Curious Cousins

29th April 2017:
What a whammy of a chapter. There's so much to discuss. First, I find it surprising that Scorpius never met the entire Weasley-Potter clan. Then again they are all different ages, in different houses and Rose wasn't particularly nice to him before they started dating. Why would he converse with them and know them on a personal level?

I found it extremely convincing that she didn't want to mention him and was nervous and sort of hesitated. I don't think she likes the attention fully on her. I feel like she did in the very beginning but a relationship is a complex thing. If you're in the right once it will challenge you and the way you think and act because you're also thinking and acting while keeping another person in mind.

It was sweet how Scorpius was willing to meet them all and be slightly interrogated. I'm glad he stood his ground because as much as he likes her he shouldn't feel uncomfortable and no one should be rude to him. They could dislike him but behind his back at least. It is the initial meeting and I can admit I don't like most people right off the bat. It takes some getting used to a new person in your life.

My favorite part of this was Dom though. She's absolutely right, who cares if Rose expected her to say that stuff to her? She needs to hear it regardless. You shouldn't change your tune or your entire life because of your significant other. Especially when you're so young and have so many opportunities in your future. Rose is a strong young woman who has certain goals that might not align with Scorpius's and vice versa. That's totally okay. What's not okay is falling so deep into the relationship your dreams don't matter anymore. So yeah I really appreciated Dominique in this.

Other than that I'm surprised this would have been the end. I get there's a sequel but I would have been so peeved! I want more. I'm selfish! What can I say? It just didn't scream the end to me, you know? The end of the chapter felt more like there needed to be a continuation or at least something resolved. I don't know what exactly but it would have needed a bit more oomph to be the end. Especially since a lot of the focus was on wishing Vic and Teddy congratulations.

 Report Review

Review #25, by princesslily_36 Eavesdropping in the Corridor

29th April 2017:
Hey Branwen,

Bloody interesting development you have here! So this is probably what's going to define the Rose and Scorpius dynamics for the rest of this fic (I know cos i've read it all :-P )

Obviously Rose was all pissed at Albus for not sticking up for her initially, but I guess Albus has a good head over his shoulders. He doesn't want to get too much in the middle of what he really knows isn't Scorpius' true feelings. He got right to the point didn't he?

And Rose - this is why they tell you don't listen behind doors because you may not like what you here! Scorpius' conflict comes to light here and it's just all awesome that he's beginning to accept that to himself. Andto Albus. Wonder how Albus is going to keep that from Rose now. Will he tell her? Or will he think it's none of his business? Knowing Albus it's probably the latter.

Rose's head must be running at a million thoughts per minute right now. I bet she's a bit flattered (well who wouldn't be?) and this is probably going to start off some very inappropriate thoughts in her head too! *laughs devilishly*

*rubs hands together in anticipation*

Thank you for that awesomeness!

Much Love and cheers
~Ysh

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>