Reading Reviews for Meet Me When It Rains
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by crimson quill Meet Me When It Rains

20th April 2017:
Capture the Flag,

So I've never really read anything before by you apart from last round ;) I'm so impressed by this one-shot. I'm not sure my words can even express how amazing this is really.

everything about this is just beautiful. I think the imagery that you've crafted with this piece is really stunning. So straight away you've set the tone and within about one sentence have created Lily. I like that you've portrayed Lily like this - she's fun, carefree and slightly kooky. I like you're imaging of her in this way as it's not often done in this way but it really works. I think what I also really enjoy about it how much thought seems to have gone into it like how you've picked out the words so they flow so nicely. It might just be that you're really talented so all these words come to naturally to you though! either way it's something a bit special.

I really feel for Remus' character in this, Lily is such a live wire. I like how you linked in the music with her fights with james/meeting with remus. It's so sad when he comes out to in the rain and she's already there with James. That's well heartbreaking as it's their 'thing'. This isn't long but it feels like it because you've manage to pack a whole story into this one-shot that is well rounded both in plot and character development. good job xo

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Meet Me When It Rains

20th April 2017:
CTF Review

Hi Sarah! I've heard that there's a flag hidden round here somewhere, and I hardly needed more excuses to come and read your wonderful writing!

I have to admit that I'm not the biggest fan of explicitly non-canon pairings - or cheating, which I suppose this is - but somehow here I enjoyed reading the story so much that I didn't really notice those things, apart from the summary which tells me this is Remus/Lily. I don't think I've read many stories with these two paired together before, either. Remus/Sirius and Lily/Sirius both seem to be more popular pairings for people to write about, but I really liked the way that you wrote the two of them together here and made me believe in them together.

The circularity (is that a word?) of this story was wonderful. I love one-shots that focus on that one element and open and end with that, which is exactly what you did here with the umbrella. It's seemingly such an insignificant item, but I think you managed to show through Remus that it's more often than not the little things that help us remember the people we love. The umbrella became so much more than an umbrella to him because of the fact that it was all he had left of her, and the memories that it held of the two of them.

The description in this story was beautiful. Honestly, even though this is only a short story there were a couple of lines that I had to go back and read because the word choice in them was so fascinating and unusual. One of my favourites was the description of Lily dancing the ballet around Remus like the wind ♥

This was written so convincingly that I'm maybe kind of shipping them a little bit now too? I love the way you manage to capture and convey Remus's grief at his friends' deaths, and the fact that he still wishes there had been a different future in which him and Lily had ended up together. The moment at the end, when Sirius tries to comfort him, but Remus can't share half of what it means to see Lily's coffin in the ground, was so heart-breaking to read.

I really enjoyed this one-shot - I think I'll have to be careful that you don't fully convert me to more of these non-canon pairings! :P

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by krazyboutharryginny Meet Me When It Rains

17th April 2017:
Jailbreak

Full disclosure, this is a ship that I don't ship (and, to be honest, a ship I'd barely thought about before). It conflicts with two ships I love, one of which is my otp. I only bring this up so I can make it extra clear how impressed with this story I was! You took this ship and made me feel things about it ;~;

Ugh this was just so beautifully written. The moment that stands out to me the most is when Remus was talking about how he and Lily "could see each other's wings". The description of Lily's "wings" as being made of pearls and quartz, and "dripping over them like silver raindrops" honestly took my breath away for a second.

I'm so conflicted because the way Remus describes Lily here makes it clear that he feels very strongly about her, that he sees something special in her. But then at the same time she's cheating on his best friend with him, and that's kinda a horrible thing to do to anyone but especially your best friend. But then again maybe that just goes to show how strong his feelings are! Ugh.

Sidenote, I don't think I've ever read anything wherein Lily plays violin before, so kudos for that unique choice.

Even though this was really conflicting I really liked it. Awesome job!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #4, by melian Meet Me When It Rains

17th April 2017:
Wow. Iím going to be honest here Ė Iím such a canon girl that Iím not normally a fan of people shipping Lily with anyone other than James. I donít go for stories that pair her with Snape, or with Sirius, or with Remus, or with Peter, or anyone else from that generation. I still have trouble with even the idea. But this Ė youíve made me re-assess.

I mean, Iím familiar with the idea of Remus being in love with Lily. Thatís been floated around since Prisoner of Azkaban came out. The way he talks about her could certainly have been love, even romantic love. Iím cool with that. But the idea of it being reciprocated Ö well letís just say itís not how my interpretation of Lily goes. This, though, this is believable. I love the little details youíve put in, like the violin, or the fact James left his trunk open so the others could steal his Invisibility Cloak if they needed to, right down to Remus acknowledging he would never have sanctioned this. And of course not.

And the rain thing. The tattered umbrella (she liked being just the right degree of wet, hahaha), the trysts at the edge of the Forbidden Forest. It was beautifully done. Right down to the recognition that when she decided to share that sensation with James rather than with Remus, it meant the end of their illicit affair. Poignant. Devastating. Yet inevitable.

The only thing that galled me when you called them Head Boy and Girl, when canon says that James was Head Boy. I can get it as AU, where Remus was made HB, but it drew my attention as it was really the only thing that really did divert from the canon we know. This could have happened Ė except for that bit.

Otherwise, a really intriguing and well-written story. Well done!

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleMissAutumn Meet Me When It Rains

3rd February 2016:
FOREVER MY FAVORITE ONE SHOT! It's beautiful. Stunningly so.

Author's Response: Oh gosh!! That is just so nice. I haven't read this in forever because reading my old writing makes me cringe, but I'm so glad it still holds up. I think I was a wee teenager when I wrote this, haha! Thank you for checking out my older stories ♥ It's such a treat seeing reviews for these.

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm Meet Me When It Rains

24th September 2013:
Sorry for the tiny review, I'm meant to be writing an essay of some sort but I just have to say how much I loved this!

I'm not even sure how I ended up here, but I'm so glad that I did, as this was such a beautiful piece of work with amazing imagery and just made me want to ship Remus/Lily so bad.

Your description was just mind-blowing and the constant emphasis of how they met under the rain and how much it meant to them was really great. Then the way you tied it in at the end with how the rain was supposed to be Remus and Lily's and not her's and James' really made me break my heart.

Remus' characterisation was just mind-blowing too! I really love how you still kept him canon with his reserved nature and how he wanted the best for his friends, but I liked that selfish side of him yearning for Lily emerging and how he still didn't regret after she died. It made him more real and relatable and even more tragic (if that's possible!)

A fabulous piece of work, and I'm sorry this review is short/rushed/garbled! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello! No, no, this is such a kind and lovely review, thank you so much! I do have a soft spot for this story, even though it's ages old, and from when I had the tendency to over-do the descriptions. Remus/Lily (or Remus/Narcissa or really Remus/anyone with unrequited feelings is always fun.)

Remus is just... ugh. Amazing. I need to take the time and sit down and read his entire biography that recently came out. He's such a three-dimensional character, and I love JKR for using his condition as a werewolf to parallel our perception of HIV. I'm really glad that you liked his character in this little one-shot, as it's so hard to do him justice!

Thank you again so much! And I hope your essay went well :3


 Report Review

Review #7, by navyfail Meet Me When It Rains

16th July 2013:
This is a sweet one-shot. I love the symbolism of the rain. And how you portrayed the umbrella and the characters were heartbreaking yet realistic in a way.

I am a huge James/Lily shipper so this is new for me since this is Remus/Lily. I liked this story though. Your descriptions and those short sentences you added in between the paragraphs were fantastic. I also liked how you fast forwarded to when James and Lily died. The ending again mentions that umbrella. The umbrella that didn't get them too wet but still got them wet. I think because of that this story felt concluded and summed up.

Favorite lines:
"She loved him.
But she needed me."

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Hiya! I wrote this forever ago, and it's always so nice to get a new review for something this old.

Remus/Lily is one of my favorites... I think he was quiet and respectful enough to be harboring feelings for her, as they both struck me as honest, intellectual people. But of course he would never do anything about it (except in this story.)

Thank you so very much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by RavenclawGirl11 Meet Me When It Rains

6th May 2013:
OMM (oh my merlin) you are an AMAZING writer the way you told that story wow, just wow. I was looking at your work on the forums (btw my birthday is January 11th too, weird) and I can across this and it blew my breath away. if I was you (which im not because I cant write amazing things like that) i'd write a sequel, about his guilt when he see's Harry, his grief and his love for lily. maybe a bit about Tonks?
Once again you are an AMAZING writer, so discriptive and deep thinking
~ Macy x

Author's Response: Hi! It's always nice getting reviews on old stories. Most likely, I won't be writing a sequel to this, just because (and I'll be shunned forever for this) I really am not that interested in Lily. The whole reason this story appealed to me was because it painted her in a different light; she's not this saintly woman. Most likely (at least in my mind) she never told James what went on between she and Remus.

Anyway! Bit off track, there. I do love writing as Remus, and he's a main character in my kind-of-WIP, Lungs. So there's some more Remus for you there xD

Thanks so much! This review was so sweet. ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by FuzzyWuzzy Meet Me When It Rains

20th July 2011:
It's beautiful. Truly.

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #10, by writeyourheartout Meet Me When It Rains

9th July 2010:
A beautifully written story. Thank you for sharing it with us.

xTanya

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #11, by bandnerd218 Meet Me When It Rains

20th May 2010:
That was really good! Sad, but amazing.
I love the way you wrote it. It's really great :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'd like to go back and re-write it since it's been so long. Maybe one day :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ann Ravenwood Meet Me When It Rains

16th January 2010:
Interesting imagery. Very nice.

Author's Response: Thanks, I appreciate the kind words.

 Report Review

Review #13, by OneDamselsKiss Meet Me When It Rains

8th November 2009:
Absolutely lovely one shot! I enjoyed it very much!

Author's Response: Thank you, I greatly appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by The Dark Temple of Light Meet Me When It Rains

11th March 2009:
I'm not sure what to really say to this. It was just... so eloquent writing. Effortless sounding, sincere, sad. I love how you paint pictures with his words, and you let the reader think for themselves to find out what is happening. It was almost like poetry... I loved it.

The Dark Temple of Light

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read this story. It is greatly appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #15, by 112358 Meet Me When It Rains

11th June 2008:
This is amazing! It's realistic (in the Harry Potter universe) and very well written. I really enjoy sad ending and this is one of the best.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I hope it wasn't too sad. :]

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ink Laden Quill Meet Me When It Rains

28th May 2008:
This is a lovely story. When I saw how short it was I was a bit hesitant, but this definitely proved me wrong. You told an extremely emotionally-charged story with few words. Congratulations. You really seem to have a knack for that.
The whole idea of Lupin reminescing over this while at the funeral...it adds texture to the story. As did the entire bit with Lily taking James into the rain. Ah! That tore my heart out. Nearly.
I've never been a supporter of this pairing, but this was beautifully written and I can safely say that I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: thank you so much! isn't remus/lily just great? it would never happen, but we can dream, right?

i'll admit i have not even THOUGHT about writing fanfiction for so long, since the seventh book came out at least. but i'm sure that seeing the HBP movie will spark some motivation :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aidyl Meet Me When It Rains

21st March 2008:
Very nice indeed. This has been on my favorites list for a while, but I don't think I've ever left a review.

I think you have some lovely language and powerful imagery. I loved the "dripping red hair" line. It was spectacular. Also, nice version of the the James-Lily-Remus love triangle, it's fun--I think--to imagine the reationship between Lily and the Marauders, because they were teenagers after all.

Nice job!

Author's Response: thank you very much! sometimes i think i rely too heavily on imagery, but i'm glad that you liked it. thanks again for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Burry Meet Me When It Rains

15th February 2008:
I just clicked onto this website to see what it was like, and I didn't think I would leave it with tears in my eyes! The descriptions are beautiful.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! That really means a lot to me. I'm very glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Meet Me When It Rains

24th September 2007:
Wow, that was beautiful! I truly loved it, you are incredibly talented =)
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

Author's Response: shankyou. :]

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ely_Baby Meet Me When It Rains

19th September 2007:
Beautifully written. I really enjoyed this story even if it was a first person narration and I'm not into that at all. Anyway, you did a great job describing the way they used to meet, I loved the rain and the umbrella. I think I jumped pieces at the end, though; it was getting too sad for me to bear. Keep up the great job!

Author's Response: thanks! i'm glad you liked it, and sorry you had to skip around.. haha. i tend to angst it up every now and again in my stories... :] thanks for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #21, by myriad Meet Me When It Rains

11th September 2007:
This is a powerful, beautifully written story. I absolutely adore it. Excellent job. I'm trying to think of critique, but I really nothing come to mind. It's perfect.

I love your writing style, so eloquent. This is going on my favourites for sure.

Again, excellent job.

Author's Response: thanks myriad! i really appreciate it. :]

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lullabywitch Meet Me When It Rains

1st September 2007:
oh thats so sad but I love it! Going in my faves most definetely!

Author's Response: thank you so much! :]

 Report Review

Review #23, by rhb_hjp4evr Meet Me When It Rains

31st August 2007:
oooh! aaaww! that was so sad! i loved it though! so much emotion in so little words! i think htat remus and lily or Sirius and lily should have made the front couple, not james and lily. but i do love james. but remus and lily does seem to fit better.

Author's Response: i know what you mean. james and lily are like, THE perfect couple. so you kind of want to ruin it via fanfiction.
...
or maybe that's just me...
thanks for the kind words! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Novadestin Meet Me When It Rains

7th August 2007:
I was conflicted reading this because I am very canon and my brain was saying "this isn't right" blah blah, but another part of my brain really liked it. It was written very well and the way it was written let the emotions come through so much more then if they were written in third person or something.

I like how it starts and ends with basically the same idea about "not getting to wet" it shows a continuation even thought the story has ended. I hate stories that just stop and leave you with nothing.

So, even, though I don't like the idea behind the story I still think it was a very good story :)

Author's Response: haha, thanks. i'm getting a lot of that, from lily/james shippers. :] i'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #25, by InnocentBeginning Meet Me When It Rains

4th August 2007:
That is so sweet.
I was on the verge of crying.
Hit me emotionally thanks mate.



Author's Response: :] thank YOU.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>