OH HELLO THERE!

Oooh, the chapter title got me very excited.

YEAH, LILY, WHAT'S GOING ON BETWEEN YOU AND XANDER, HMM? I got your back, Ed. Just this once.

Ooh, okay, I've been meaning to tell you this but I kept forgetting so here's my chance. I've been reading Wuthering Heights for one of my classes (and I'm sooo obsessed with it, like what) but I always think of Lily and Xander as Cathy and Heathcliff. Mostly how both pairs were brought up as siblings, but now that I think about it, there's also the love/hate thing going on. I can't help it, and it makes me love both stories even more ♥

Anyway.

LILY! I just want to hug that girl! I love seeing this moment of weakness, and all her feelings brought to the surface. And look at how she thinks of Xander!!! Ugh I love those two so much!

Omg having Hugo and Hannah stuck under the mistletoe is SO CUTE I can't even! FINALLY they're admitting their feelings for each other I'M SO HAPPY! Now, if only two other characters could do the same, hmm... Also, Edward's comments were so funny.

Aww what a sweet, fluffy chapter, I enjoyed it so much!!! ♥

Author's Response: I actually haven't read Wuthering Heights (although I've always meant to) but I actually had a good friend of mine who also loves Wuthering Heights tell me the same thing and so now I feel like I really must read it. It's a huge compliment to be compared to such a great classic though so thank you for thinking of it :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter! You know I'm all about that fluff and most of the time, I just can't help myself lol

Thank you for the review, my love!
Hello! I'm back again with your requested review!

I've barely started the chapter and I have to pull this out: She understood that Slytherin had a reputation to upkeep, one that had to be cold and unforgiving, but in all honesty, that was already fulfilled by the students that had resided in this house. That is SO funny, and totally true, too! :P Having to lodge in a dungeon is bound to make anyone cranky, tbh.

I like the little changes from canon you're making, like the Room of Requirement being portrait-password protected now. I can't believe the kids turned it into a club! Marissa's reactions to magic are so great, too. They're funny, and it's cool to see someone older having to adapt, instead of the usual eleven year olds.

Ugh, I don't like people to ditch others at parties. I would not survive in this version of Hogwarts. If I actually managed to get to a party in the first place :P

Hufflepuff Al! As a Hufflepuff myself, I am very happy and satisfied with this representation, as well as seeing the common room in this chapter. I love your descriptions of it. AND Percy Jackson even makes an appearance! Wizards totally need to get in on modern literature.

I really enjoyed this chapter, it's nice to see that Marissa has found a friend in Albus, even if she's still tentative with everyone else. Can't wait to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: ooh, that line's a gem! i never understood why the the richest group of the school would allow themselves to live in dungeons, where it would cold, wet, and dirty?? it never made sense tbh.

I think that's the funnest part of this story, to see how Hogwarts might have changed, as well as describe Hogwarts through Marissa's eyes.

god, i wouldn't survive this party-crazed Hogwarts either. marissa's keeping a cool head through it all, at least.

i love hufflepuff al as well! slytherin al is already well represented, so why not make al hufflepuff (and it gave me a chance to throw my hufflepuff common room headcanons at you)? I'm so glad you liked the hufflepuff representation, it's there for people like you.

and yes, wizards need to get in on modern literature, it is so so cool!! and they could get a laugh at how muggles believe wizards are like.

thank you for reading and reviewing!! xx
2011-12-02 11:42:40
Hello! :)

I'm loving your characterisation of James. I find him very entertaining to read, and pretty perfect too. I can see him so clearly in that exam room, bored as hell, lounging in his seat :P and of course, always thinking of Lily and ways he can provoke her!

Also, I especially love reading this particular scene from a different perspective. It was kind of satisfying to see James get in trouble for what he did. Not that it probably had much effect, but you know...

Also, how did James ever graduate, hahaha.

Aw, James is beginning to see the extent the effects of his actions have. It was really the only way he was capable of change, I think.

YES. YES. They can get along if they actually try! Aw, this is so nice! It's also so satisfying to see them learning things about the other that change their opinions. I live for these fics, I tell ya...

Oh, no. Never mind. Man, that did not end the way I thought it would! Now I'm wondering how you're going to patch them up, and have James change his ways.

I really enjoyed this! I think it's a fantastic opening chapter. The characters seem perfect, and even though it follows canon, it still leaves me wanting more, which is awesome. I can't tell that you edited it as much as you say you did. It all runs smoothly to me :) Hope this helped! ♥

Author's Response: Ah! You like my James! Oh you have no idea what that means to me! Truly!

James is canon and we've seen him behave and speak in canon so it takes away a lot of liberties a writer has with his character and yet we still have to make him appear fresh and exciting! That's why i put him back where we remember him so vividly to see if my headcanon version of him blended in well enough with the canon stuff we already know.

I'm so so glad you liked him.

Haha I sense you are slightly disappointed in the turn of events but I assure you it will pick up again in the upcoming chapters! And on that note I hope you don't mind if I rerequest?? :)

Thank you so very much for the lovely words!
xx
Heya Quilly!

Thank you sooo much for letting me know this chapter was up! Things are a little busy for me at the moment so I really appreciate you stopping by and giving me the opportunity to sit down with a cup of tea and my favourite story ♥

So I try to review as I read but I got so caught up once Lily stormed into the room and I pretty much had my mouth open the whole time. Amazing amazing to read Lily directing her fire (that I love so much) at Xander, but instead of usual circumstances, she's trying to protect him and hot damn I love it so much.

Too bad their little moment didn't last, but what else is new haha!

Having Lily be a historical event rather an a historical person is absolute perfection.

I swear, everyone needs a friend like Hugo. He's so honest and down-to-earth and absolutely nothing gets by him when it comes to his friends.

Ohh that ending is beautiful, with the Icarus references and Lily pretty much being the sun. I thought I'd be happy to have Xander pretty much in full acceptance of his feelings, but the fact that he's not going to do much about it yet still leaves me sad wahhh.

So in response to your last response (heh), I've mostly been working on an original novel but I've been wanting to dive back into Finn's world lately! Its just, you know, finding ideas...

Anyway, absolutely adored this chapter, and I hope you let me know when the next one is up! I can't wait to read more about those Clarifiers and how it will affect the school. Hope everything is well with you ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review, B. It took me forever to write that first scene, and I couldn't quite decide what PoV to do it from, so I'm happy you liked it.

Don't be sad! Xander's a pain hehe but he's coming around...

I am so beyond ready for more Finn-related stories! I am totally down for a Marauder generation story or maybe more on Brindley's mom? I'd take anything haha
2018-01-24 04:48:20
Well, I didn't have to wonder long about how this mysterious man fit into the story. So here we have Liz's best friend!

And likes Albus! Oh, my gosh, that entire scene was sooo funny! I really like Vic, I can totally relate to him on the tidiness thing (and the liking Albus Potter thing, too, I guess) and I just cracked up when Liz barged in on them. Just his tiny mannerisms paint such a clear picture in my mind, like him becoming anxious when Liz didn't replace the cup on the saucer. I love it.

I'm definitely looking forward to more of Vic in later chapters, and how he'll play out with both Albus and Elizabeth. He's so sure of himself and I really like reading it. So, yes, fantastic chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Liz has no sense of situations, honestly, thank god Vic is cool and collected as a cucumber! I'm so glad, Vic feels much more like an OC then Liz does to me - Idk, maybe I pictured her so much she almost feels canon in my head, but Vic fills the role of new character just as nicely as she does, or so I hope!
Can't wait for you to read the rest, and thank you again!!! xxx many hufflehugss
2018-01-15 07:32:00
Yo!

There's so many things I like about this chapter and all I've done is look at the chapter image, so I think we're doing pretty well so far.

The story starts off so incredible, mostly because it feels so natural. I love being plonked into the middle of something the characters are going through, and you've set up for so much conflict to come already.

I have so much sympathy for Liz. The fact that she's already met the family, just while dating a different member, must be so awkward. At least the break-up wasn't her fault, by the sounds of things.

You are totally right - James is a cinnamon roll and I will protect that angel with my life. He's so sweet! I loooved the moment when he knew he loved her! It was so cute how it hit him like that and he knew there was no question!

I'm excited to see how you handle the POV of each character, so I'll have to read on! :D

Author's Response: Yasss hello!!!
I'm so glad you liked the beginning! I worried that maybe jumping straight into the plot wouldn't work, but if you like it it's all good :)) poor Liz has a bit of a conundrum and she's torturing herself with the thought, something James doesn't seem to fully understand. but! he does try his best, the poor cinnamon roll!
Thank you so so much for dropping by and I hope you enjoy the rest too xxx
I don't even like the guy and he gets a whole chapter named after him, ugh.

Poor Edward having to deal with such a bad father :(
Although I loved the dialogue between him and Xander. I can smell the testosterone from here. I really loved the tension in their words and that Xander remains nonchalant. It's perfect and I really enjoyed it. Especially since it's filled with so much information. Things are clearer now, but also a lot more intense.

Wow wow wow, I knew I loved Xander but I didn't realise how much until this chapter. He is so real to me, I keep forgetting this is fanfiction and he's not a character from a published book on my shelf. I LOVE his little self-realisation moment, with the girls, and how it affected him so deeply that he's had this overwhelming sense of feeling lost. I hope this means we find out more about his past soon. But for now, it was extremely well done and I really enjoyed this chapter! I hope life slows down for you soon, both for your sanity and so I have another chapter to read soon :P ♥

Author's Response: Haha this chapter was definitely filled with testosterone.

And Xander needed to have some self-realization. He's always been a little too sure of himself and judgmental of others, so I think it was about time he realized he wasn't so perfect eithr.

I hope life slows down as well. It's been so crazy. I'll do my best on that new chapter :)

And please let me know if you ever publish anything new! You're honestly one of my favorites, and I cannot wait to get hooked on another wonderful fic from you.
Hello Quilly!!! Long time no talk! I've just finished transferring reviews over to ff.net so now it's time I catch up here!

Ooh things are really taking a dark turn in the wizarding world. As if I couldn't be sucked into this story any more than I already am, I'm fascinated by the Clarifiers and can't wait to see how this conflict plays out. The idea of Ballard saying Harry, Ron, and Hermione have been idolised for so long when things have changed is sad but interesting. I don't believe it of course but it definitely adds some realism to the story that there are always people out there ready to disagree and stir trouble for others.

“What is it with you and dragons anyways?” - Do you know how many times I get this a day?

CHRISTMAS IS COMING. THE MOST MAGICAL TIME OF THE YEAR!!! I swear if I don't get some beautiful mistletoe action between Lily and Xander in the next few chapters, Quilly, I'm coming after you.

"I make sure that the rest of my body is fit enough to support it." - HAHAHAHAHA I love him so much. But wait, there's more! - "Well then I commend you on such excellent manners.”

Lucy is hilarious, and so is her relationship with Xander! Let's see her more!

He says he'd give her the moon, and she'd just toss it to the side and demand for the sun instead. - Holy moley I love this so much?! Also I tried really hard not to write a review where I just quoted the whole chapter back to you but I'm failing :P

Oooh Ballard is here! And here I was just saying what a nasty piece of work he was and he's HERE! I've gotta read on - see you soon! ♥

Author's Response: B!

It's so good to see you!

I'm so glad you've enjoyed Lucy. She's one of those characters that have been fully developed in my head for so long. She was going to play a bigger role in the beginning but she kept
getting cut off the final published chapter, and I was happy she was finally able to make it - even if it was just for a bit.

I love knowing which lines are your favorite so no problems there! Hehe.

Thank you so much for review, my love!
I'm back!

(By the time you read this it probably doesn't look like I took a break but I did so there you go and here I am, ready to read again :D)

Marissa is such a potty mouth hahaha.

Another reason I love her character: She's in this brand new world but jumps straight into as many classes as she can.

Ah. New year, same prejudice.

Ooh I'm practically applauding in my seat that she managed to levitate the feather and earn points for Slytherin!

Aw Charity Burbage is alive in your story ♥

The names you've picked are so so cool.

Ooh a party sounds interesting. I can imagine all sorts of things going down in the Room of Requirement. Can't wait to find out how it goes!

Author's Response: marissa is all of us, then lol

marissa does jump in pretty quick doesn't she? magic is very new and interesting for her, she wants to jump right in. we'll see how that goes for her.

and then, the prejudice thing, i think there will always be a small undercurrent of it in some people.

wait, charity burbage is dead? holy crap i totally forgot and accidentally added her into the story, wow. i need to change that.

i like the names too! they're my favorite too :^)

in a party a lot of things can happen, so we'll see how marissa deals, yeah?
Hi!

I like how we learn a little more about Marissa's character in every chapter, it means you don't info dump!

And I'm sorry, Marissa, but I laughed so hard when she fell to the ground! Imagine running into a solid wall with success only to end up with a sore nose anyway, ha ha!

Ooh, OOH! She's in Slytherin! I should have seen that coming but I kind of forgot about the sorting ceremony haha. Slytherin is totally perfect for her though! And she's there with my precious baby Scorpius, yaaay!

There is no way I'd have Marissa's self-restraint during a dinner in the Great Hall :P I'd be eating until I passed out under the table.

I liked the description of the common room. You made it sound very eerie and I wonder if Marissa will eventually grow to love it and feel comfortable there. She needs house pride!

Aw I'm so happy for her and glad she's excited! Can't wait to see how her classes go!

Author's Response: really? i was actually worried that i was info dumping too much, that's a relief!

and thank you so much for thinking Marissa belongs in Slytherin, even I was doubting it for a second as i wrote her as a /complete/ ravenclaw in the first two chapters, but i totally didn't mean to.

haha, neither would i! food is my one and only love.

i hope marissa warms up too, slytherin is such a cool house, and i think the dynamic is perfect for her.

thank you for reviewing!
Hello, hello! Glad to be back! And thank you so much for the reviews you left me - they were such a surprise! ♥

I like Marissa's friends, they're quirky and I think the three of them have a nice dynamic together. My mouth literally dropped open when I read that Chie knows! Marissa was right, it's always the quiet ones :P Ooh she's a Chang! And a Squib! I love it. At least it made breaking the news easier!

I love the talking mirror! It's totally plausible and it breaks up the familiarity of Diagon Alley, since we already know pretty much all there is to it. It was a really cool detail to add in!

And so nice to see the joke shop! I sometimes forget it's in Diagon Alley, and got really excited when I read it. And yay, George! ♥
It totally doesn't surprise me that Marissa would meet Albus in a Quidditch shop, ha ha!

I'm left feeling even more intrigued than before! It's always so cool to watch OC's (especially Muggles) be introduced to the characters we know so well! I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: hey, that's no problem! you were doing this for me, so i figured i could do something nice back. :)

I like Marissa's friends too! They were a little bit unexpected (for me) but they were completely a welcome!

i'm glad you liked the talking mirror detail!

I think that Marissa meeting George and Al was my favorite part to write too!

thank you so much for reading!
I'm a sucker for shiny things, so can I just start off by saying how much I love the chapter image?

I absolutely love the premise of this story. I think it's so unique and original, and I'm really excited about. I assume it was Dean Thomas who was the donor. It makes sense, since he's Muggleborn and grew up in the Muggle way of life. I think it's totally realistic for Marissa to start showing signs of magic. The fact she has enough to make her a witch worthy of an education at Hogwarts is really exciting!

Hehe, I love that the Golden Trio co-wrote a book on defensive magic. That takes me back to the Dumbledore's Army days... ♥

The only cc I have is that the tense and POV change throughout the chapter when they should be kept consistent. It varies from past to present tense, and third to omniscient POV, and also a bit of head-hopping. Try to change these so they're the same all the way through.

I really like Marissa as a character so far, and I'm excited to find out what happens to her at Hogwarts!

Author's Response: It's nice to meet you too, so hello!

The chapter image is a long fave of mine too!

My main problem with this story was if whether it would be realistic if Marissa started showing signs of magic, if at all, only because of a blood transfer. But. That's the whole premise of the story, so I went on with it.

That little tidbit is my favorite out of the one, I've always thought that the trio might do one.

Thank you! I've started working on editing these, so it's updated a little haphazardly, though there are no new chapters, haha,,,

I'm glad you like Marissa, she's my favorite OC that I've ever created. :)
2017-10-11 00:48:05
This is such a great opening chapter. I love how you open with Draco waiting for his injured leg to be healed. The story already has me asking questions. And I really love that it was Harry's fault, and pretty humorous! It's awesome that he ad Harry are working together for a change.

A blossoming romance already! I like how Draco is so typically Draco when it comes to liking Hermione, and I'm curious to see how the beginning of this relationship goes.

Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!
I love the idea of Draco and Harry being Auror partners and I mean it is fanfiction (;

I appreciate your thoughts. I hope you keep enjoying! xoxo
2017-08-30 19:55:31
Okay, after that tumultuous last chapter, I'm glad this one is starting on a happy note. I can feel myself relaxing now :P I'm glad Mei and Robin talked it out, and that Robin was able to speak to Is about Lyra, too.

Uh oh, the aconite again. And then you go and end the chapter with THAT! I don't know how to feel - so many emotions, ahh! Okay, okay - I better start with saying I'm so impressed with how you write Mei's grief, I find it's done realistically and well. I can't wait to see if Lily actually does end up spending time with Tristan on patrol. And hooray for the kiss! I wasn't expecting it but I'm totally shipping it!

And now I get to poke you for updates :P ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I need to stop vanishing for months at a time. And I feel especially guilty for doing it when you'd just left all these lovely reviews. But I've just updated Fallen so I think LLTQ will get an update soon!
2017-06-28 16:46:44
Yay, a Lucy chapter ♥ I love how hard she tries to keep everyone under control. "A good egg" is the perfect way to describe her.

Ooh, Robin. Is it really a healthy relationship if one is scared of the other? I mean, I totally understand where he's coming from though. Isidore would be terrifying if she found out.

The plot thickens with the aconite information. I wonder what Lily knows about it, if anything. Oh, God, I hope it wasn't in one of the potions, ahh! I'm on the edge of my seat here! And omg Lorcan is so cute. I know I say it all the time but I love him, and I love how different he is from Lysander.

Author's Response: Oo initially I didn't want Robin and Isidore to have a good relationship, but the more I write them the happier he gets so now I'm not sure anymore!

More on aconite soon...
2017-06-12 09:09:36
I stopped reading this morning because I had to go to work, but now I've finished work and it's straight back to this story :P ♥

I can't believe Lysander has both Slytherin boxers and a jacket XD Is he House proud or what.

Ouch. Paige can certainly hold her own at least. What a horrible situation. I'm so anxious reading this because I'm one of those people who is so terrible at confrontation and will avoid it at all costs. Both girls are extremely hurt right now. And oh my Merlin we have a contender for the throne! I'm so impressed by how you keep upping the tension!

It's hard to see Lily's world crumbling around her :( Oh and I think Tristan may have cottoned on that Lily was using him. That poor boy, he deserves so much good. *glares at E* He better have a happy ending. I want to wrap him up in a blanket and protect him at all costs.

This is amazing, E. It gets better with every chapter ♥

Author's Response: And again - thank you! You're a star x
2017-05-14 16:18:12
Not gonna lie, I squealed like a fangirl a little bit when Abdi admitted his feelings for Hugo :D

Wow, I love that confession Mei makes to herself, about stepping out of her comfort zone now that Lyra's not around. I don't ever want to say that Lyra's death was a good thing, but it's interesting how much she affected Mei when she was alive.

*eep!* They kissing! Ahh! These chapters are short but so packed with everything, I love it! Makes it far too easy to click next chapter :P I'll be back to finish off the rest soon! No way can I stay away now!



Author's Response: Aw thank you for enjoying Abdi - I love writing him x
2017-03-05 12:42:01
Ooh Lysander is someone I just want to slap. I hate seeing Lily so manipulated. I think I was beginning to fall for her strong facade myself, and I'm angry that she can be walked all over.

Okay, never mind, I read on and now I'm proud of her for walking away :P Yay!

It's a great parallel between how Lysander and the stars make her feel. She feels small against both, but with the stars its something she likes. It has an opposite effect against Lysander. Not sure if that was intentional or not but it's something I noticed :)

Ah, Lily. She deals with her feelings in the most unhealthy ways possible. And I'm not sure whether to feel sorry for poor Tristan or to pat him on the back :P

And Lorcan ♥ Oh that poor sweet cinammon roll

Author's Response: B! I love your reviews. I've done the whole disappearing thing again for months but I logged back in to see this and thank you thank you for reading and enjoying! x
2017-01-19 09:00:05
Hey E ♥

Gosh I'm so sorry I stayed away for so long!

Ah, Room of Requirement parties. I love the detail you included about leaving it alone at first out of respect.

Tristan sleeping with a Quaffle, omg hahaha. Bless.

Asexual Hugo! I love it. The diversity and inclusions of this story is one of the very top reasons that make it so amazing and enjoyable. I love how much vulnerability we saw in this chapter, between Paige and Hugo. Just about everyone in this story wears a mask, and it's amazing to find out what's revealed under them. I think this is what makes the characters so relatable, and it's a great reminder that you really don't know what's going on in someone else's life.

Amazing, as usual, and Abdi is so cute! ♥

Author's Response: B! I just logged in to six reviews from you and THANK YOU. They brought such a smile to my face and I always love hearing your thoughts.

I'm glad you liked Hugo. I loved writing this scene :)

xx
Hello! ♥

Look, I don't care if you're tired of me praising those opening paragraphs, ...but here it comes again. I love this especially: had been pleased to find the woodfire in the head’s common room every bit as awake as him...

Omg I'm dying over the relationship between Hugo and Hannah. They are so adorable, and I love the little system they have to learn more about each other.

Hannah, however, was completely transparent, and that was, in Hugo’s opinion, an approach to life that required a great deal more of courage. WHY HAVE YOU MADE US WAIT SO LONG FOR THE BEAUTY THAT IS HUGO/HANNAH?! More please!

OH MY GOD and that child they're looking for is Xander, isn't it? It has to be.

I'm sorry if this review is just me quoting the entire chapter back to you, but: It was as if her heart was big enough to hold on to the problems of all seven continents while Hugo could only barely handle his own. LOVE IT ♥

I love the Snow White reference :D

I absolutely loved this Hugo-centric chapter. We seriously need more of them.

♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Lol I could never get tired of it! I'm so happy you enjoy them!

Haha Hugo/Hannah is always going on in my head, and I've so little chance to place them in the story. Lily/Xander sort of take over but I promise I'll try my best to add them more often.

Thank you so much for your review, B. You always make my day :)
HEYA LILY! ♥

I almost feel sorry of Scorpius hahaha!

(Also I used to belt that song out on SingStar)

"I don’t think Hufflepuffs are sarcastic, two faced grumps who hate their lives." Clearly you've never seen me on a Monday...

Lyra's disgust toward any sort of romance makes me laugh so much, it's so entertaining :D And I didn't realize how much action went on on the Hogwarts Express!

Ooh and I love that music is a subject at Hogwarts. I would definitely take that.

I love the flashbacks too, showing these previous snippets of Lyra's life, and I especially love the one of Draco telling them what house he was in.

Oh no, and sex education, haha! This year is going to be great. I think the program is a great idea, and not hectic. I love reading things like that!

Awesome chapter, Lily! ♥

Author's Response: It's next year and I feel so horrible for not having responded to you. Ah I hate myself just a little.

But thank you so much Bianca, I really appreciate your thoughts on this chapter, and I really hope to hear about the next one.

Thanks so so much!

-Lily
HEYA QUILLY!

No way was I staying away for so long again, haha!

I seriously just want to collect all your opening paragraphs and keep them bundled together for me to read over because I just love them so much. They're always so well written and I'm drawn in straight away (more than I already am, anyway!)

Aw, I love the reason Hannah and Lily grew so close ♥

Lily felt the fluttering in her ribcage start again as his eyes momentarily met hers. CAN YOU HEAR ME FANGIRLING?! *flails*

...annoyingly handsome in his Slytherin robes... And here we have a description of my perfect man.

I also really love when you mention the media. It makes it all so realistic and some of the things that the journalists come up with are ridiculous, but it really does happen, and I find I'm really empathetic towards Lily.

I HAVE SO MANY EMOTIONS RIGHT NOW I CAN ONLY EXPRESS IN CAPSLOCK!!! Usually, I review as I read but from Edward and Lily's conversation, I could tear my eyes away. I was glued to my screen. And then Xander and Lily yelling at each other actually felt so good because they have so much pent up emotion AND THEY KISSED AND I GOT BUTTERFLIES but ughhh we're back to normal again.

*takes deep breath*

Man, that was intense. I love this story so freaking much.

Also, to answer your last review response, yasss I'm a Hufflepuff! And OH MY GOD you have no idea how perfect that idea is - a dragon party with Finn and Xander. I just *dies* That's the dream :D

(I had withdrawals too, so it's funny you should mention because I have just posted a little something! I hope you like it! I also have something in Brindley's POV so I can link you to that if you want, but right now I feel terrible talking about myself on a review for your story!)

♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: B! It's good to see you back soon soon, love!

I'm so happy you are enjoying the opening paragraphs. They're usually the part I struggle writing the most, but I can't do that thing most people do where they write from the middle and then go back to set up the scene. I always have to have an opening I'm comfortable with or else I can't get into the flow of things.

Ridiculous journalist are very much a part of our world, and I thought the wizarding one wouldn't be quite so different. After all, there are Rita Skeeters everywhere.

Xander and Lily are both a little too good at holding grudges and placing blame but neither humble enough to accept their own faults. I rarely ever agree with the way they go about things, but that's what makes them both so much fun to write hehe

(I just saw the new Finn one-shot on the recently added page, and it was seriously the best news I could have gotten all morning. I'm super excited, and I can't wait to read it! And yes, yes, yes to anything Brindley. Please do link! And don't feel terrible. You know I'm a huge fan of yours.)

XO Quilly
Phew, you are updating like crazy, my friend! But it's so nice to come back to this story and see I have plenty left to read :)

(Also, did you remove it from the other archive? No biggie, just wanted to make sure I wasn't going crazy! :P)

Cantankerous really is an excellent word.

Ooh a new purist group. I don't think I like where this is going. Scary stuff.

My little cinnamon bun Xander is so worried that Lily is sick! Argh, he melts my heart! But he just isn't dealing with his feelings in a very healthy way *shakes head*

Yay Maya's a Hufflepuff! House pride!

It's the little descriptions, Quilly, that make this story so freaking enjoyable. I just love that the librarian is busy reading a romance novel.

"Lily says it’s because you’re so ugly, you’d melt whatever camera tried photographing you" OMG THAT IS HILARIOUS! XD

Maya is seriously the cutest. AND I LOVE DRAGONS TOO! I need to be besties with this tiny girl.

Aw and Scorpius and Rose got engaged!!! ♥

Oh gosh this chapter was so adorable. I LOVE that we saw such a softer side of Xander. I always knew it was there, but to see it come out with a young girl who also doesn't have a mother is really wonderful to read. I loved it.

I hope you're well, my dear, wherever you are in the world! ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: I did delete it! It was an accident, and I still can't believe myself :( I'm debating posting it again there... I'll probably get around to it sooner or later, tbh.

Xander never deals with things in a healthy way hehe

Are you a Huffie?? That would make so much sense! You're definitely all kindness! And yeah, the moment I thought up Maya, she was always going to be a Huffie.

Oh and I adore Dragons as well! If I lived in the HP universe, I would be Hagrid, making all sorts of bad decisions with dragon eggs. We should have a dragon theme party. (and we can bring Finn and Xander and have gorgeous Slytherin boys there while we're at it ;P)

Thank you so much for your review! You're actually almost all caught up so that's exciting! I feel like I take forever to update, so I'm always to hear that it's the opposite, and I can't thank you enough for always taking the time to leave such wonderful reviews.

(By the way, I honestly have THTF withdrawals. I miss those guys so much. Let me know if you ever post something new!)

HELLO!

Firstly, that chapter image is GORGEOUS. I'm such a sucker for chapter graphics.

Anyway.

I'm so impressed and intrigued by this straight away. You write really well, this perfect combination of thoughts, descriptions, and dialogue. First person is my least favourite POV to read unless it's done well, and it's done well, so I know I'm going to enjoy this. Plus, you open the story with the characters in this completely unique situation. And what really happened between Jenelle and James?

OMG the ASBO Five XD

I really like Janelle, and I love the dynamic between everyone in their friendship group. Right now I think she's really relatable, coming out of a relationship where the other person has immediately moved on and wondering why she isn't good enough.

And I love this line: Besides, magic always seemed more real at night; under a cloak of darkness, unknowable, powerful. It made me feel important.

Ooh intrigue, intrigue. I'm dying to know what's going on in James' head!

Thank you for requesting, I'm absolutely loving this so far, you've done such an amazing job here! I hope you're having a wonderful day wherever you are in the world!

Author's Response: HII!!! Firstly, thank you so much for taking a look at my story!

And omg, I KNOW RIGHT? Milominderbinder at TDA is literally one of the most talented artists. I'm obsessed with her work, honestly!

Ahhh!! Yay! I'm so glad. Oh wow--I'm so happy you were able to enjoy this?! First POV is notoriously tricky to manoeuvre especially with a lot of other characters in the mix, so thank you so much! "I know I'm going to enjoy this" BIG FAT GRIN.

And yeah, I thought it might be a fun idea to take a story that's obviously set during school but strip them completely away from it. I think it's going to be really fun writing the Hogwarts dynamic if the story goes there.

Oh my god, that's the best thing I've heard. I think for me my main worry was relatability because the story hinges on readers being able to understand Jenny's actions, maybe not implicitly or even as something THEY would do in the situation, but in general as staying true to Jenny's personality.

EEK. That's one of my favourite lines as well. I just had to make my girl love magic as much as I do.

Hahaha, so much intrigue!!! And it all comes to a head, I think, in the next two chapters ;).

I'm so glad I requested! This has been such a delight to read! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this! I hope you're having a wonderful day too! Thank you xxx
QUILLY MY LOVE I STAYED AWAY FOR SO LONG AND I'M SORRY!

*eep* I'd almost forgotten about Xander's extracurricular activities! Interesting, interesting...

Okay oh my gosh I absolutely adore the whole conversation between Xander and Hugo, but I especially love this: "If Lily had fallen into the lake, you'd probably go jump right in after her. Merlin knows you're invested enough."
And I LOVE that Hugo gave him an excuse to find Lily! :D

The way you write about the comparison of Lily to a china doll and then a dragon is just SO BEAUTIFUL! Also so true.

Dude, I just... I just really love Xander. When this story is done, and you're finished with him, may I take him home, please? He's all I want for Christmas :P

Hehe trust Slughorn to want to collect Harry and Hermione's kids!

"My mum says that I have my father's lack of tact," suggested Hugo helpfully, "so there is that." HAHAHA oh bless him!

Quilly, this chapter was just so utterly brilliant. Definitely my new favourite. Xander was amazing, I love his naughty attitude (snake jokes, anyone?) and calling out Lily on her being uncomfortable and almost scared around him. ♥

Author's Response: B! It's always good to see you, love!

Thank you for being so amazing and kind! You can definitely have Xander for Christmas. I'll make sure to wrap him up and send him to you hehe

I'm so happy you enjoyed the chapter! Your feedback is always appreciated!

JOIN HARRY POTTER FANFICTION


Get access to every new feature the moment it comes out.

Register Today!