Reading Reviews From Member: PaulaTheProkaryote
  
337 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PaulaTheProkaryoteThe Harder They Fall: Immortal

4th June 2017:
Hello again!

I finished dinner and had to come right back to be certain sweet Finn baby would not sell out Brindley. As if thatís even a question.

I'm just basking in the whole selflessness of the bit about him needing to do something special for her really is. And yeah, he is doing the right thing. Even if it's putting someone else in harm's way. Such as his own tail.

This precious little outing is the best non-date date I've ever read too. I'm so in love with the two of them it's not even funny. I'M NOT CRYING YOU ARE. Itís so tempting for me to just stop here and pretend they live happily ever after dancing on top of a mountain by themselves. No death, no Tom, no Gellert.

SHE'S SURE.

Also can we just talk about what a rune nerd he is. AND SOULMATE BIRTHMARKS.

Thank you for the always because thatís the way always should be.

HERO! YOU SURPRISED ME WITH MY FAVORITE! Is it my birthday?

Part of me thinks he didnít really trust Tom to begin with, but Iím glad Hero could come back and reinforce the notion in his mind. And that she didnít tell him pointedly that he had been behind her death. I donít think Finn would have thought before acting.

ďBecause I think it will go with my outfit.Ē Heís my favorite character of all time.

HOW WILL HE DO IT I NEED TO KNOW OMG.

Author's Response: PAULA! Thank you! :')

"Rune nerd" oh my goodness that's cute. Everytime I get a new review from you it's the best day of the week, and you gave me TWO! Thank you, my love ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by PaulaTheProkaryoteThe Harder They Fall: No Rest for the Wicked

4th June 2017:
Hello lovely!

I just got home from vacation so I thought Iíd make my way over to your story (where I belong).

I missed Finn. My precious angel baby. Congratulations for the frogs btw! I knew you'd make it! You're literally the best.

Me screeching loudly that he really should just tell Brindley about the danger she's in has been magnified but 100 fold in this chapter. But then again I understand why he wouldnít. Brindley, for all of her Hufflepuffness, has the courage of a Gryffindor and would probably end up taking Grindelwald down herself.

ďUsually he enjoyed his own company - and really, who wouldnítĒ This is why I love him so much.

SWEET BABY GAY. Hello precious angel sweet Ben. Oh and him worrying about Finn giving him that same judgment and then Finn firmly not giving him any of that judgment AND THEN FOLLOWING IT WITH THE DEFENSE OF YOU CAN LOVE WHOEVER YOU LOVE. Yes. Yes it is that Hufflepuff girl.

Alright. It's decided. Even though I love charming, manipulative, evil Tom we've got to kill him. Iím ready for a coup. Besides the half-cocked one at the ministry.

NOT RADBOURNE. Not with all that I now know! No! He and Ben are going to live the happily ever after they deserve.

I was just thinking there's no way that Dumbledore would ever eat those chocolates and then there he is suddenly "allergic." I swear you've nailed every canon character I've ever seen. Ever. Also clever little Finn with his mental note. It would do him well to remember it.

Also can I pause just a moment to sigh pleasantly at the revelation that Finn is clearly stressed a bit. He was behind on theory, homework, every class, and there was that whole failed casual assassination attempt like half a second ago and then what does my precious boy do? He reaches in just to feel the note that she wrote him.

aand now Iím crying with this precious line: ďIíd rather spend a few days with you,Ē he said quietly, ďthan years with anyone else.Ē

I canít wait to read the next chapter which I see is already up and waiting to tempt me! I love your stories so, so much.

Author's Response: You belong here always ♥

Thank you so much! But I actually have you to thank because you're the one who nominated this story in the first place, so THANK YOU ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by PaulaTheProkaryoteThe Harder They Fall: The Beginning of the End

9th May 2017:
IGNORE HOW LATE I AM! I forgot to check my review thread. I have officially added it to my notification list though so never again!

Of course sweet baby Finn had doubts. And the whole underage kids overthrowing a major government thing had to make him doubt himself at least a little.

I love how in character Tom always is. After reading your story (up until I ran out of chapters) I went and read at least a dozen other Tom fics (and boy some kind get risque), but I think at the end of the day your Tom is the best Tom. He just feels right and true and wonderfully evil.

I'm enchanted by the arrival of Albus Dumbledore. Not going to lie. What I want to know is if Dumbledore actually saw him or not. I mean I feel like he'd save the memory and go back and check and I feel like he'd make at least a few sweeping glances just to be able to do so.

OH HOT DOG. I'm getting some major Draco parallels. A dark family, not a whole lot of say in his life, trying to do too much for him to handle, a big mouth, a bit of a bully historically, AND tasked with killing Dumbledore. B, you're a genius, I'm telling you. These kinds of details totally helps me connect with him even more (even when he's a starkly different character than Draco).

"And I know about your filthy habit" why is this the best line I've ever read? Also, being compared to Hero here reminds me a lot of back in the first chapter (I think) of Hero where her parents seemed set on comparing her to him and my how the tables have turned.

So I know that our boy Finn isn't exactly known for his communication skills, but I can't help but wonder if a lot of head ache would be resolved if he just told Brindley a bit about what was going on. Especially the Potter stuff and the price on her head.

Ah, I love the santa joke right before the terrible revelation. The banter is so easy and simple and I'm just so happy for him.

(side note: will you be killing off every strong, brilliant female I love in life?)

ďI havenít.Ē *SOBS INTO THE VOID*

YEAAAH. "Trying to study." He has it bad. I love him.

Oh man the moral dilemma we are facing here at the end is just too much in all of the best ways. Also poor, poor Hills. She won't know what hit her. Goodness, will this girl end up being killed to protect Brindley? I hope not. I feel like Brindley would be peeved if she ever found out.

As always, I loved it. This is probably my favorite story of all time. And no, in the history of all of my reviews, I've never told anyone else that. This is the one.

Author's Response: You literally have me a sobbing mess! You're the absolute best, P. Thank you so much. I love you beyond words ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrapped: trapped

28th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF

SO I completely loved that challenge Kaitlin posted forever ago because I think it's so easy to forget about the mental/emotional toll that war has on those stuck in it, regardless of which side they fight. And I always took issue with the end ďall was wellĒ bit because after living in hiding through a war torn country where you never know when you'll die (during each of the wizarding wars) can't leave everyone perfectly healthy.

Also I think Sirius is a great choice for a character in this prompt. Also I think you did a really solid job representing PTSD so thanks for taking the time to do proper research!

His fear is tangible and the feeling of being trapped is just so strong as so well depicted. It also translates really well into the actions of his character in the books. Especially when he's reckless to see Harry off or run off to fight at the ministry.

When he talks about the bit about others spilling their blood while he's being useless I think that translates really well into what we see with soldiers coming home. I know a friend of mine came home and he talked about how he felt like he was at least doing something there. But he also really struggled to transition to civilian life after the war. I don't think Sirius ever transitioned from that war mindset and that's why cooping him up in Grimmauld place just made it all worse. He couldn't escape just like azkaban.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #5, by PaulaTheProkaryoteSupernova: Fire Alarm

28th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF!

I couldn't pass this one up either because celestial references PLUS starting in a biology classroom. I feel like you wrote it just for me and my particular interests. I know, I know. Iím very self-absorbed. To be fair you did decide to abandon it.

OH MY GOODNESS AND ONE OF MY BEST FRIENDS IN THE WORLD IS NANCY AND SHE'S A NURSE.

So I'm trying to decide if this is just a muggle story or an AU because it's clear that she's part of a muggle school system, but itís also clearly set in the harry potter universe.

I know, I know. She's dying and leukemia is a terrible, ravaging disease. I understand that she doesn't want any form of treatment. I'm with her. I'd rather just enjoy the time I have doing what I want for as long as I can...but surely smoking must have some sort of deep connection to her impending death because it's mentioned several times. It reminds me a bit of the fault in our stars (which is just the cutest no matter what).

Also bless her poor family. I can't imagine the agony of waiting for your baby to die. I'd probably try to spend as much time doing stuff and being together though. I home that as a supernova she doesn't take her family down in the blaze along with her. But I think she will be heard like a fire alarm. She just has to make the choice to do it and stick with it.



-paula

 Report Review

Review #6, by PaulaTheProkaryoteThis Is Not A Love Story: Part 1

28th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF!

SO I knew I'd love this because I'm obsessed with Albus Potter/OC and most importantly, I love the shy nerdy girls that aren't in ravenclaw. Like the more shy, the better. And here's Annabelle in her Gobstones Club being a total dork AND an athletic seeker. Win-win. Dream come true!

I know so many people like that. UM excuse me, I'm trying to be shy. It's sweet of him to check in on Lily too. He's an angel baby. And her trying (and kinda failing) with the conversation is adorable.

NO! NOT HARRY! My poor babe. Although that's what happens when you have a job like that. Also her brandishing her wand is 10/10 cute.

So they both have the dad being auror thing in common. I wonder if Harry knew her dad. Itís nice that they can both bond over their low key existential crises over their parents mortality and I canít imagine how difficult it would be for Albus facing the fact that given Harryís past I think a lot of people would believe that Harry was literally immortal. I mean he died and came back at the end of Deathly Hallows and he was hit by the killing curse as a kid. I think it would take a lot to finish off the old man.

That is a sad story. And who doesn't need ice cream.

Slow thumb circles will be enough for me to count it as true love, regardless of what you decide to title this story.

CUTE CUTE CUTE

-paula

 Report Review

Review #7, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Don't Let it Pass

17th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Oh boy. Here we go.

Honestly Albus should have suspected trouble as soon as he saw James sitting rigid instead of smirking! And Also Harry being like a real Dad and laying down the law with the whole I'm-disappointed-in-you line was just so classic and beautiful.

Sooo. I don't think arguing their case is helping at all. They're definitely just digging a deeper and deeper hole for themselves to climb back out of.

I mean in reality what they did probably wasn't that bad. Minus the kidnap. And maybe Lily punching him.

Silly government always snooping around for no reason harassing innocent sweet parents. Literally the worst timing for the boys to decide to harass Archie. Like it really could have waited a few days until the Cora matter was settled. I know he couldn't have known, but still.

I don't blame Brandon for being short with the waiter. I hate assumptions. At least they got some free drinks off of it though. He clearly didn't mean much harm.

I really liked this line: ďI donít think youíll ever settle, Rose. Youíll meet your match.Ē Thatís what I want for my babies when I have them.

Poor both Scorpius and Rose. I really think all things considered both of them are just better off as friends. All of these emotions and hormones have to be a lot for them to deal with but shoutout to their maturity for not going ahead and being impulsive for the sake of their friendship.

Lysander is perf. I love him above all else. I want a spin off of him.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #8, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: In the Waiting Line

17th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Did I mention that I sorta love how everyone is in this massive love tangle knot. Like everyone is semi-dating everyone in this story and I think that makes it messy in the best way. Even though itís not like that this time with Rose and Scorpius. Also massive kudos to him for taking her in. I would not let any of my exes even come up my driveway so heís a champ.

Also poor Rose. Being used just to make his parents happy is actually pretty cruel, but she's still pretty great about that knowledge. Like she immediately empathizes with him about the loneliness and the rejection.

I wonder how Corbin will take it. That's he's now got an ex girlfriend in the place and that they casually cuddled all night.

Molly is as Molly as she can be with her barrage of questions and poking and prodding about his eating habits. I love her characterization and think it's spot on.

All of the muggles are just copying everything that Arthur tinkers with in his spare time.

Death has a way of sorting out your priorities I think. I hope thatís not foreshadowing though donít give my poor little baby a near-death-experience. Commitmentphobe or not, he doesnít deserve that kind of agony!

Iím keen on the complex nature of Harry and Brandon. Like the way they communicate is just interesting to me and I canít wait for more of their interactions.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #9, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Only Myself to Blame

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I'm glad I emotionally invested in Brandon and Albus because they seem to be super cute in this chapter. Also I'm in love with Rose dropping off a massive pile of baby books and even though that's not what you said that's my head canon. Like teetering with all of this information true Hermione style. That's it.

OH! WE! We get a larger place! Ah! It's a big step and it's so cute! Even if Albus wants to be all weird and noncommittal. Men. Ugh.

Yeah, Brandon really did lay it on thick with the whole our thing but Albus's reaction may not have been the most tactful. Bless his soul. That is a good question though. Like now that Cora is in the picture he needs some kind of stability and surely Albus would know that before hand. Although clearly he didn't.

I feel like if you're going to call someone a lady-of-the-evening you should be sure of her profession first. Like asking someone about their pregnancy. Just don't do it. Pedro was precious though. I hope she goes back and sees him again!

OKAY. I'M just saying that if some fella took me to an observatory to go see the prime meridian I'd be in love. Like he's the cutest. Also brunch sounds extra cute. I'd be shy about it too though.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #10, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

Did you just add that whole food scene to make me hungry? I just had dinner and now I could really go for some good soup and salad.

I'm a little hurt for Corbin in general because I think if I was dating someone (casual or not) and they were using that time to sort through their feelings for someone else (plus the kiss last chapter), I don't know. I'd just feel a little used even if that isn't at all Scorpius's intent.

They are very domestic though and it's adorable. Setting the table and cooking cute little dinners. I think I missed out on all of this during dating.

I like this clever little enhancements of books. But also I think that would make reading in public a total nightmare.

And obviously Corbin is the jealous type. Ex or not, I'm not in love with Corbin trying to dictate who he sees and how often though. Shady shade. Even if Scorpius did kiss Albus like a handful of days ago.

Also he's a bit possessive which I'm not crazy about. But Scorpius is obviously into it so it's hardly my preference that matters!

I think Brandon and Albus are very sweet and I'm more emotionally invested in their relationship than Scorbus for sure. I think Brandon is particularly precious.

Hermione definitely is still treating Rose like a child which obviously isn't going to be working out. Also Ron is 10/10 in the characterization with the whole leaving things in the office line. Amazing. And Ron definitely seems to relate much more to Rose.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #11, by PaulaTheProkaryoteTrue Romance: Such Great Heights

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I really wanted to come to this story when I was ready to sit and binge it all instead of hope around, but that just means I have to come back!

First of all I love this idea of Albus doing marketing for Weasley Wizarding Wheezes. I know James a lot of times is typecasted as the Potter boy most likely to join the company and Albus ends up in some serious academic pursuit, but I like this better. Oh, there's the famous Brandon I've heard so much about!

I like this playful, mischievous characterization of Rose as well. Teasing Albus for not paying much attention and all of that. She's adorable. But then she also has these brilliantly sage moments (like when sheís telling Albus he has to...pick a broom).

I wonder if Rose has ever really sat down and told her mom what it is she wants to do. I feel like Hermione would probably aggressively over support her in any job that was remotely sensible. I really think it will be nice when we get more insight into their relationship.

I like the mess of the relationships in the story. Nothing seems too ironed out and everyone is kinda dating everyone. The brandon-Scorpius-Albus love triangle is going to be a fun one too.

I'm really interested in Brandon's career and I can't wait for a bit more information on that. It sounds like it'll be really intriguing!
-paula

 Report Review

Review #12, by PaulaTheProkaryoteBeautiful: Alone

16th April 2017:
Hello lovely! Iím here for CTF so the Claws can dominate!

I haven't read The Worst, but after reading it I think this is a viable stand alone story so it was a good first pick given my lack of background knowledge.

I always love a good second person pov story if they are done well (and so many arenít). I think you did a really good job maintaining the perspective in an easy to read fashion.

Immediately I get a real sense of anxiety in the story when you set the scene with burning eyes and a clock ticking. The line that brings up all of her physiological responses is just really good for putting me in the spot and feeling what she's feeling.

I really identify with this idea of being young, but seeing so much/going through so much that she feels ancient and exhausted. I think some days my depression makes me feel the same way.

Your imagery writing is just absolutely fantastic. The scent of the pine, the water in the distance, that sound of the trees whistling as the wind murmurs through the trees. I feel like I'm back home in the mountains. I love it.

I hate the way she views herself but it makes sense. It really intrigues me as to how she became a werewolf. I'm making that assumption, but in reality you don't outright say that is what afflicts her. The talk about untainted and unmarked and fragmented being really could be so very many things. But assuming it is a werewolf, I wonder if it was from someone like Teddy? Or maybe some leftover hidden side effect after Bill was attacked by Fenrir. I have so many questions!

-paula

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I am pleased you liked this and that it worked as a stand-alone. As for how she became a werewolf, the worst has answers to that!

 Report Review

Review #13, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Confronting

12th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Oddly enough this chapter also sent me down another weird tangent (are you getting used to those yet?) So, you say that the letter from Remus came back early in the morning which means he probably was up at some ungodly hour. And we know that owls are pretty quick at traveling and love tapping at window. So like I think there would be a great market for owl doors specifically so they don't wake you up and can just slip inside.

I mean technically it is wandless magic. She's not using her wand. So maybe some kind of weird instinctual wandless nonverbals?

I like that the love, Remus bit caught her emotions. I think she's going to need some people on her side to survive all of this.

I don't think it's unreasonable for Sirius to want space. I really don't. I understand her desperation to get in contact with him, but I think if it were the other way around it would be a no brainer to ignore him.

She really should have owled first. Poor James. Poor Sirius. It's just so awkward. And ugh at Sirius acting so cold. And James. I mean she is blood after all.

No I do agree with James. If she really didn't want to be involved in it I do think she could find some way to get away. Dumbledore could hide her. She could break free. I think that's just an excuse and once she pushes by that excuse she'll grow and change dramatically. Flourish even.

Iím glad though that she was strong enough to face that conflict head on and that her and James wonít be on such rocky terms. She really canít be alone in all of this.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #14, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Monster

12th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Yeah, so perhaps after this little torture session with Fenrir she'll at least be more mindful of her attitude when she's around those that could be deemed enemies. But then again I think that attitude is exactly what makes her and Sirius compatible. Neither of them seem to know when to shut up. Or as my momma says "fix your face."

That is bizarre that somehow she could just suddenly hurt him. And that she's done it before. I feel like Dumbledore would have an explanation for it. Some kind of ancient magic, I'm sure. I love Fenrir's response that's just like "uh okay, let's move on." Like he does not want to anger her again. I donít love that heíll probably immediately report back what she managed to do. Although there is the saving grace that maybe his pride wonít allow for it after all.

Also I know there's the whole moral dilemma of being a monster or not, but to frighten someone as terrifying and vicious as Fenrir Greyback says a lot about her. Like I wouldn't argue that she is the monster, but I am glad that at least it's directed toward Voldemort's followers and not Sirius when he's being snotty.

I think Remus would be a good resource to have for her newly found condition (and really the whole werewolf thing too) and I'm thinking that homework line won't fool him. He's just too clever.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #15, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Fenrir Returns

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Ugh. Fenrir is such a shady shade. I feel like her reaction toward her mother demonstrates her general immaturity all things considered. The useless scum bit doesn't help. I don't think anyone would really be that excited for the Dark Lord to be coming back for them.

And I do feel like her mom is putting in some kind of effort. More than she can be bothered with. But like I said her youth is really on display when she talks to her mother. Like the fake gagging and the mimicry.

I'm not sold on the idea of Voldemort having a follower not by choice. I just feel like if he wasn't pretty sure of loyalty he wouldn't bother. But I don't know. Iím mostly basing that off of his general paranoia.

Does the Dark Lord ring the doorbell? See I feel like that's just so mundane I never pictured it.

Again with the idea of shutting the door and slamming it in Fenrir's face. She just seems really juvenile in this chapter. I think it's a good character flaw though and every character needs a handful of those.

And like her egging him on with the cruciatus curse threats. Super young seeming. I feel like sheíll lose a lot of that innocent rebellion in the next chapter.


-paula

 Report Review

Review #16, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Summer Dreams - Nicoles Goodbye

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

The whole complex with her older sister moving out is interesting. I remember when my brother moved out I was ecstatic because I could take his bedroom which was a suite. It was awesome. I was also much younger than Aleesha though so I can understand the bittersweetness.

Their relationship seems to be pretty good even if she's a bit upset that her sister was leaving. The begging is a bit beneath dignity, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Plus I agree with Nicole that it's time for her to find her own way in the world. And if she's in love, she's in love. There's nothing more to it! I don't, however, like the way that she writes of the stereotyping and hatred of werewolves. I don't think any illness, contracted or genetic, is a good reason to call for someone's blood and I think after all the hatred she receives she shouldn't justify it either or then she's part of the system that's doing the oppression. Ah, but sheís young.

Sirius going overboard with hating...well, I think he does a lot of all or nothing. But that is a major betrayal. I do think it's notable that she distinguishes between loving someone (ie Regulus) and being in love with someone (ie Sirius) because a lot of times I think people miss that important little memo.

Iím sorry sheís crying at the end, but I really think sheíll be okay. This is one of those growing up moments.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #17, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: Worrying

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I think you do a really good job in the introduction conveying her sheer pain and weakness. That whole wanting to never more again is kinda how I seem to feel every single morning. Ah, but she tugs herself up all the same.

I think it's interesting that when she comes to she's so very disoriented. It makes sense, but at the same time I wonder how much she could possibly remember from her night with Fenrir. I don't imagine she'd want to remember much so even if she can remember stuff from transformation periods, I think hopefully her brain would keep her safe from that kind of stuff and repress it.

I wonder what had to have happened to make that kind of gash. Hopefully it was a shallow gash she didn't lose too much blood.

What a thing to have to explain when you didnít know yourself.

She's in this much pain and in danger and still she's worrying about Sirius. Yeesh.

I think it would actually be better if she did remember the night for the simple fact that she'll constantly worry about the what ifs. What if she did end up biting someone. I hope they properly cleaned and healed the wound before she slept in his bed. Otherwise it might stain and that would be a terrible way to get caught.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #18, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDare...: With Fenrir

11th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I really enjoy Fenrir Greyback as a character. I think in general he's pretty overlooked. I actually think I've only read one other story with him even in it and he was really vicious to the point of sadistic gore. Not my ideal, but still. Your characterization of him still has that cruelty and that vicious anger, but he's not just pure monster as far as I can tell. (Also my dog is named Fenrir Greyback because his back is literally grey).

I think sheís very valiant in her sheer, open defiance against someone like him though. Very Gryffindoresque.

I can't even imagine what it would be like to be forced to create more werewolves. And there's next to no time to do anything to prevent it. I wonder though if you somehow stunned yourself would you remain stunned throughout your transformation? Or if someone else stunned you or maybe even can werewolves be petrified during their transformation?

The characterization of Sirius is pretty on point with him from the books. Whining and stubborn and petty. I love him though. Sirius is very melodramatic. Although I understand the pain of betrayal and how deep it runs, I do agree with James that he seems to be a bit stupid about it all.

Hopefully Sirius is starting to see reason. It seems like he is in that last little paragraph.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #19, by PaulaTheProkaryoteHappiness: The Eye of the Beholder

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

James can't sleep? We're two birds of a feather. It's 4 am here. And I'm exhausted too. Yes, James. We're the same. This is a very sweet little moment of him just admiring her when she can't even recognize it. And the way he sees her and thinks about how gorgeous and vibrant she is. Isnít that every girlís dream?

The fact that he thinks it might be a dream is just too sweet.

The idea of her always smiling, even when asleep, is very much in stark contrast with the scowling girl I often think of back in her Hogwarts days. Or perhaps I often read it. I like her better smiling.

Iím not surprised that the darkness of the current world filled with all of that prejudice and hatred would leave her crying some nights. Especially considering her own run ins with that kind of prejudice.

There's my lily line. You have one in every story and they make me love her so much. How annoying he is. Although I imagine it would be annoying to find your significant other peering down at you while you sleep.

I think as long as they have each other theyíll be okay.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #20, by PaulaTheProkaryoteIn Pursuit of Fairness: Fair

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Iím really getting my Jily fix tonight! Endless Jily for Paula! This is an interesting take on Jily just because itís clear that thereís some deception happening from the summary and it just sounds like itís layers upon layer of shady.

Oh, I like that you're talking about this part of those happy youthful years in which hate speech and prejudice runs rampant. I think it's easy to say "oh that person's an idiot, don't listen to them" and move on in fic, but I think in real life words matter so much. Hate speech especially. I think in real life POCs have to face this much more than I realize. Like in my neck of the woods there's the old adage about an old horse too stubborn to change directions. But sometimes those old horses need to not be hateful. Yíknow?

ďDumbledore. McGonagall. Me. Sirius. Remus. Peter. Lily, youíre not in this alone.Ē I feel like this is her recruitment into the order of the phoenix!

I'm with james on self care. This is why he's my soulmate. You gotta put yourself first once and a while.

James is truly hilarious. The not even telling the joke line was really cute.

Okay the deception wasn't nearly as bad as I expected it to be. He's my precious angel baby. She was a bit dramatic there for a moment. It's hardly James's fault.

YET. Thereís an importantly little word cropping up.

SO CUTE.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #21, by PaulaTheProkaryoteStaring: Staring

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I always love second perspective stories because I hardly ever see them and when I do theyíre always done really well.

I feel very confident that the fact that his stare is so unnerving is that her newfound feelings are amplifying everything he does. Oh to be young and in love.

Lol bless his soul for at least having the decency to blush a bit. Despite his words. and also she's adorable with the whole mushed up words as she has to say that it's a bit too much for her and that he's thinking...unholy things as you put it.

Well at least he tries not to. That's the best anyone can hope for. Although it is funny when later on she tries to rationalize it. Like maybe itís not the worst thing that could happen. Although his explanation for why he doesnít is also next level cuteness.

Sweet baby James is literally the most romantic creature on earth. What with his description of her. It'd turn anyone as red as her hair.

Although to be fair intense looks always creep me out. I donít think Iím made for this kind of love. Iíd probably poke his eye to prevent that kind of meaningful look.

I like the end where itís definitely a play on the traditional James/Lily cat and mouse game thatís always the cutest.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #22, by PaulaTheProkaryoteDeath's Manual : Prolouge

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I'm back here at another abandoned story, but this one drew me in because it's also very different from the rest of your AP. Like for starters it's not jily. But Plums got me hooked on Voldemort so I decided I'd pop by this one to see what his characterization is like in your writing style.

This definitely reads as a bit crack! in the sort of joking manner the main character talks about taking a vacation (where would he even go? Someone like him? Or maybe her. Did we get an established gender), but at the same time this sort of not a sadist for sadismís sake characterization is very in line with some of my favorite characters like the Grey Man in Raven Boys and even Tom Riddle in some gorgeous fics. Maybe Tom and him arenít too different. Itís a sort of means to an end. Heís trying to remain in power and cruelty and fear is a good way to do that and this unknown character is trying to...right wrongs? Maybe heís a hired killer. I canít decide yet.

He's very logic driven. And he's also very serial killer-esque in the idea that what he's doing really is humane in his mind. It's not that he enjoys it. It's just that it's what is best for humanity.

There was this guy I went to high school with that ended up being arrested for some gross stuff I'll skim over, but the day before he was arrested at his house he posted on fb some long post about how he saw a guy walking down an old dirt road and he was in his car and he could have ran him over and no one would have ever known because it's so far out but he didn't because he was a good person and I kept thinking that it was insane that he thought not murdering someone was an act of kindness. Like someone should be thankful you didn't do it. Bizarre. And that's a lot like the character I'm reading here.

Iím interested in how this character is going to deal with the nuisance of killing off voldemort if heís in horcrux form. Like in DH we know for sure that at some point Voldemort starts to realize whatís happening. Right? So like do you gather up all the horcruxes first? Or maybe thereís some kind of magic even more powerful.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #23, by PaulaTheProkaryoteFairytalesque: Prolouge: Once Upon a Time

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I'm interested in this story mainly because it seems very different from your other jilys (abandoned or not). The fairytale style is very intriguing because thereís often this trope in jily fics that Lily is like the stuck up Gryffindor princess and Iím interested in where youíre going with it. Even if itís only for a few thousand words.

I like this idea that in the prologue we get a very early indication of what Lily's childhood was like. Ideal. It's a bit in conflict with what we get from the typical Lily. There's no mention of her bratty sister calling her a freak or any of that jealousy involving her special powers. But I think it's okay without that stuff because in reality a lot of kids (especially so young as to believe in fairytales and to still be read them every night) would probably gloss over those dark patches. And perhaps Petunia didn't have any real issues with her sister until we get closer to Hogwarts age.

The stealing cars thing threw me for a bit of a loop. Iím assuming itís all metaphorical but...but..maybe her boyfriend is literally stealing cars for a living?

Iím assuming the darkness that has stolen her youthful innocence away is probably the impending war that is looming like a dark shadow over the entire wizarding community, but especially for someone like her who is muggleborn. She can never revert back to the muggle lifestyle of comfort and innocence because she is in too deep.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #24, by PaulaTheProkaryoteFirst Kiss: First Kiss

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

Youíre my go-to Jily writer because you just do them so well. Even in your older works. Theyíre adorable and even though you pick up the general ideas behind cliches sometimes (like first kiss, thoughtful proposals, etc) you always do them in a way that just seems right and fresh and wonderful.

I always love when we have the head students complex thrown into a story too. I swear the entire castle shipped them and that's why he made head boy. Sure, it might have accelerated him growing up, but it also definitely forced Lily to give him a proper chance and get to know him better.

I'd so have attitude if some portrait decided to scold me. Rude.

I love that he didn't immediately taunt or harass her for being late. It could easily have been something along the lines of being irresponsible or trying to extort some affection from her or anything that I think a lesser writer might have gone with. But James is just kind and moves on. Heís got a good characterization here and I find him much more tolerable than some common Jamesís I read. Jameses? I donít know.

She's definitely frazzled and I love it. Him joking with her about quidditch was also cute. I love this lax adorable only slightly mischievous James.

OH JAMES. He needs his first kiss. ;)

17 years old and still never smooched anyone. He's bold to admit it. Although it was a different time. And it is sweet!

ďI always thought you were incredibly lame.Ē Lines like this is why I live for your version of lily. Sheís so perfect and always has the best one liners.

Ugh. This was just so sickeningly cute and innocent and precious and 135 points to Hufflepuff for this cuteness.

-paula

 Report Review

Review #25, by PaulaTheProkaryoteKiss and Tell: Prologue: Fourth Year

9th April 2017:
HELLO LOVELY! Iím here for CTF at HPFT. Obviously the Claws have to win. ;) You know how these things go.

I like the way you've set the story up. We get present day break up and all of the angst that goes along with it and then we are taken back to where it all started. In fourth year. I wonder what exactly it was that caused James to end it with her when we know he's probably head over heels with her. Is she forcing her to keep them a secret? I'd say yes by the way he scoffs at the phrase 'no secrets' which just makes it even more curiouser. But that's just my speculation. Iím like 90% sure I read this back when I binged every Jily I could ever find ever. Itís still cute after all this time. (Always).

There's nothing that angers me more than when I am hormonal and my husband will point out that I'm reacting like this so I must be hormonal and then I have to screech that it wouldn't matter one way or another because I'm right and wow did you just look into my life?

Honestly I'm not even surprised that Lily had such a problem with him because to be fair as a teen he was super annoying. Like the remarks about her growing up. eugh. I'd bat-bogey him. But I do think it's cute all the same. Anger. Snogging. You gotta channel it somehow.

ďNot even their petsĒ Thatís how you know itís serious. I tell my pups everything.
-paula

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>