Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: MrsJaydeMalfoy
  
685 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Howler: The Pun Also Rises

26th June 2016:
Hi there Lizzie!! *Squishes* I miss you! I hope you're doing well!

I am incredibly late with this, but I am here to leave you some reviews for your turn on the hot seat! I meant to stop by much sooner, but things got a little crazy and I just lost all track of time. I'm sorry for the slowness, but I hope these reviews can at least somewhat make up for how late I am! And, thank you SO much for donating to keep HPFF around! ♥

First off, I just want to say what a wonderful job you did here with the dialogue! Honestly I would have thought that having only / mostly dialogue could make things a little confusing, but it wasn't at all - you did a wonderful job of keeping things separated and letting us know exactly who was speaking! Well done!

Also, although it was mostly dialogue, you still did an excellent job of letting your characters' personalities shine through, through their words and actions. That's just another testament to how talented an author you are!

Thirdly, this is just HILARIOUS. I was smiling so much by the end, and I really needed a pick-me-up today, so THANK YOU! I love that Teddy's in denial about his feelings for Victoire, and then Harry sort of forces him to reveal them. Plus, the way Harry was cracking those absolutely horrible jokes was so funny, I could totally see him doing that after he became a godfather / father - and you really did a great job of inserting Harry's howler in between bits of Vic and Teddy's conversation!

I loved your description, too - especially when Teddy's face AND hair turned red. So funny!

All in all this was just a wonderful, funny read! I really enjoyed it! Well done!!

 Report Review

Review #27, by MrsJaydeMalfoyBeyond Repair: A Highly Unusual Day

26th June 2016:
What's this about a new chapter? And Aww man! Kristin beat me to the first review! :( *Raises eyebrow at Kristin*

Okay, enough rambling: once again, I LOVED this, as I knew I would. As soon as Petunia mentioned Lily being 11, I just KNEW it was going to be THIS chapter, where they find out about Hogwarts, and I was really excited to read it. And, once again, you have blown me away with your description, and the little details you include about Lily and Petunia's relationship and their feelings.


I loved your description of Lily's excitement and her automatically knowing why Minerva was there, and then the way Minerva smiled about it. I could easily see those things happening because you described them so well, and because you've made this so realistic.

The seeds of this argument have been growing for quite a while, just because Petunia is the older sister who's easily annoyed by Lily's actions, and then here we got to see just how things would have escalated once they found out (for sure) about Lily being a witch and heading off to Hogwarts. Here, you've got the beginnings of the whole 'weirdo'-type namecalling from Petunia, but you've explained it in a way that shows Petunia didn't mean it that way and in doing so you've made her much more relatable and likeable as well. It'll be interesting to see how the argument / divide between the girls progresses from here - and I'm sure it'll be heartbreaking as well. :(

Petunia thinking about Lily being off in a castle was a nice touch, too - it helped remind me of her thoughts and hopes from earlier chapters, and it's already helping me to see how jealousy's going to be a factor here, as well.

Anyway, this is another WONDERFULLY written, VERY descriptive and emotional chapter that I enjoyed very, VERY much! I'm so happy I finally got to read more of this and I can't wait for you to update!

Well done, lovely!

 Report Review

Review #28, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Marauders

19th May 2016:
Wh- what have you done to me with this chapter?! *Sobs* I just.. I was NOT prepared for the feels I just felt here... like, what?! *Sobs more*

I know that so many other things happened in this chapter, such as the boys picking their group and individual nicknames, which was brilliant, by the way, as was their prank.

But, there are two scenes that are just stuck in my mind and are making me sob like an infant right now: The group hug when the boys say they love Remus and he just can't deal, and of course the scene at the end with them playing and Remus realizing he doesn't have to be alone. Like... GAH! I just can't right now! *sobs even more*

I just felt such a surge of love for James, Sirius and even Peter when Remus (the wolf) turned around and saw them there... the Marauders on their first night together as all animals! Eeek! I'm a sobbing, flailing, fangirling mess right now Chiara! Look what your story has done to me!! This is just.. beyond perfect... it's just probably my favorite chapter I've ever read of anything! GAH! ♥ I've told you before that you do such a wonderful job with conveying emotions, and you certainly didn't disappoint here!

I know, I know, I'm rambling on and on and just repeating the same things over and over, but you really just tugged on all my heartstrings with this! I just.. GAH!

I'm going to go now, to try to get it together and stop crying.. but seriously.. this is SO amazing, YOU ARE SO TALENTED and I NEED MORE PLEASE!!! ♥

Author's Response: I don't even know how to thank you anymore! This review in particular made me feel so warm!!! I'm so sorry I made you cry... but so proud as well... *hug* *hug* *hug*

This is quite a heavy chapter... aww, glad you enjoyed the prank! Did the "rhymes" work? Rhymes are so hard, especially in a different language when you aren't 100% sure of the pronounce... :P but apparently it worked! :D

Aww... I know... poor Remus is so used to think that he is undeserving of being happy and loved that he just can't deal... but that's the reason the Marauders are so wonderful, right? :)

Aww... I'm so glad you felt all those emotions and I'm so flattered by all your praises! Thank you! So so so much! And sorry for all the feels! *hug* *wub*

More will come soon, promise! Thank you! A hundred, a thousand, a million times thank you! That's all I can say in response to this incredibly flattering review!

With all my love, and some more!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #29, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLiar: Gryffindors

19th May 2016:
Another wonderfully well-written chapter, dear! I think it's wonderful that Remus and Peter are back together and being friends, but I also still feel really sad that Peter's being so critical of Remus and not understanding, and Remus feels that he simply can't tell Peter what's going on. It's really heart-breaking. :(

I think we are already beginning to see here some of the traits that will eventually make Peter useful to the dark lord - I have to admit that the way he 'observes' everything seemed a little creepy! But, that's just how he is, you know? So that part was very in-character and believable.

Also, I really liked the conversation between Peter and the Sorting Hat. Obviously, the sorting hat knew what it was talking about, and especially the bit about self-preservation.

Honestly, this is the first fic I've read where Peter actually seeks out the friendship of James and Sirius, and I really like it, I think it's brilliant. Peter definitely wanted to be the center of attention, so it makes sense that he would seek out the most popular kids in school to accomplish that. I'm just wondering now how things are going to work out when Remus comes back!

Fabulous chapter in a fabulous story, and I'm off to the next now!

Author's Response: Hi again, Jayde! Long time no see! :P

Ah, I know... Remus is too scared of Peter's possible reaction, and Peter, well... he's Peter. He is the sort of person who would take things personally and feel mistreated and betrayed. But they do care for each other!

And yes, Peter is also the sort of person who observed things and stuff information for future use, without really sharing with anyone. I'm glad you found it in character, even if I agree it's a little creepy...

Glad you enjoyed the talk with the Hat. It knows better. But Peter doesn't want to listen. Not right now.

Peter does crave celebrity, and being considered by the popular guys would surely made him feel accomplished. Besides, he feels a bit trapped by his friendship with Remus. He wants to expand his horizons, if that makes sense?

Thank you so much for another awesome review! I'm so thrilled you are enjoying this so much!!! :D

Infinite love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #30, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe first kiss is grand...: The first kiss is grand...

19th May 2016:
I'm still not finished!

GAH. Everything I have ever read of yours has just been SO phenomenal - you are SO talented, and not to mention so versatile! You convey every single emotion that you write so well, I really envy your work!

I loved seeing James' thought process here, the way he's surprised to see her smiling at him, then afraid to do something to mess it up, and so nervous, it's just so sweet! And it's also a little heartbreaking knowing that just her smiling at him seems such a big difference to him - he really was trying pretty hard, you know?

And then, Lily saying she might feel the same way, and the kiss, was just PERFECT!

But then you had to go and add more to it and make it even more perfect and squee-worthy! The emotions that you conveyed coming from Lily's side of the situation are just so REAL! I loved seeing how happy it made her, and then seeing her rush downstairs to kiss him again was just like icing on the cake!

You are SO talented, sweetie! This is another fabulous piece of yours and I look forward to reading more from you! (Speaking of which, I'm off to 'Liar' now to do your reviews for the Hufflepuff exchange! :D )

Author's Response: Aww, Jayde... *blushing*
I really don't deserve all those praises... you are too kind to me!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this little story, and James and Lily's characters! I'm a heavy Jily shipper, if you hadn't guessed! :P

Awkward James is the cutest! He was trying really really hard! And seeing her smilimg was definitely a big deal, since she made no mistery of finding him unsufferable...

But she actually liked him a lot! ;) So glad you liked the kiss! I had so much fun picturing that scene in my mind! :D

I'm also so glad that you felt Lily's emotions authentic! Love makes every girl beautiful, doesn't it? :)

Aww... you are too sweet, honestly! Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews for the Hot Seat! I need to head to your story soon as well... Hopefully I will during next week! I can't wait, I adore your writing!!!

Mountains of love, my dear!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #31, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOnce upon a time: The good werewolf and the evil vampire

18th May 2016:
I'm not finished with you yet! :D I know I'm a little late with these next reviews, but still, Happy Hot Seat!

Chiara. CHIARA. C.H.I.A.R.A!! THIS IS THE CUTEST, SWEETEST, FLUFFIEST LITTLE ONE-SHOT IN THE HISTORY OF FLUFFY LITTLE ONE-SHOTS! I just adore it! It's going in my favorites right NOW! I know you said in the author's note that you felt self-conscious about posting it, but I'm SO HAPPY that you posted it anyway because it is amazing and you have NOTHING to feel self-conscious about!! I just.. GAH! I wish I'd read this before the Keckers! It SO would have been nominated!!

I love love LOVE this tender moment between Sirius and Regulus. We know in the end that Regulus wound up looking up to Sirius anyway, so it's nice to see this bonding moment between them. And, even though this is a fluff piece, you can definitely see the conflicting ideas floating around in Regulus' head that would one day lead him to do what he did.

And, even though it's a part of the magical world, and therefore, fantasy, this story is also SO REAL, because nightmares happen. Little boys or girls go to their older siblings for comfort or protection, that's so true-to-life and real and it really helped me connect with both Sirius and Regulus here!

I also love that the first story that came to Sirius' minds was about his friends and Remus' lycanthropy, and how he used that story to prove his point to his brother about werewolves not being evil, and about people shouldn't be judged based on old prejudices.

And it was So hilarious when Reg kept correcting Sirius about the stake for the vampire! Typical little brother actions! And speaking of hilarious, so was the story about the 'vampire'! Sirius has a way with inventing stories, doesn't he? :P

My favorite two parts of this were the tickle fight, and then the very end - SO SWEET AND CUTE!! Those two definitely have their differences, but at the end of the day they're still brothers, and that's what's important.

I could go on forever and ever about how much I ADORE THIS, but I think you get the point. So now I'll just stop rambling and click on 'favorite' and then go find some more of your amazing work to read! ♥

Author's Response: Jayde!!!
Aww... you're flattering me with all your these super sweet reviews... *blushing*
You are awesome!

Thank you so much! I wrote this ages ago and, while I found it sweet, I wasn't sure if it was interesting or good at all... so I'm incredibly thrilled by the response it got. Your entusiasm is so lovely! Just, thank you!!!

I've always loved to think that the two brothers used to have a sweet relationship at a young age. We know things will change, of course. But we also know that Regulus will choose the light in the end. And I do believe he always esteemed his brother, even when they disagreed.

Ahahah! Well, yes, this could've easily been a real life moment. Aside from the fact that werewolves and vampires exist. :P I love writing siblings' relationships, and Sirius and Regulus especially are so much fun together. :D

I can't write anything without throwing in Remus somehow... :P (ok, that's only half true, but I love Remus!) I guess using real life experiences is the easiest way to invent a story. And of course, Sirius tried to teach him something about prejudice.

Ahahah! The vampire story was hilarious! Yes, Sirius does have a way with inventing stories! ;) And obviously Reg would want to show off his knowledge! :D

Aww... so glad you liked the end! That's exactly what I wanted to show, that their brothery love was stronger than any different character or view they might have.

Ah! How can I even thank you enough for your sweetness??? I'll be back to reply to your other reviews soon! Thank you so much again!

Snowball hug,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #32, by MrsJaydeMalfoyIn between: The Sorting

17th May 2016:
HELLO, LOVELY CHIARA!

(First off, just let me say that I know I still owe you a PM response, I haven't forgotten, I'm going to do my best to get that done tomorrow, but first I wanted to leave you these reviews! And now let's get down to business :P).

HAPPY HOT SEAT AGAIN. I just wanted to stop by and make sure I leave a few reviews for you as my own personal way of saying 'Thank you' for all of your generous contributions to the site - people like you are the reason we're still here and it's SO appreciated - THANK YOU! And now, on to your review!

THERE. IS. MORE. TO. THIS. STORY. Holy cow! I haven't even started reading yet but I looked at the summary and thought YES!, so I just had to share that with you before I begin reading. :P

*Scrolls up and reads*

Oh, I just love this, Chiara! First off, I'm pretty sure I've told you this before, but your description is just amazing. Reading your description of the castle was just breath-taking and honestly, it made me feel like I was seeing it for the first time right along with the four friends.

I love how close they've all grown in the short time they've known each other. That's very realistic, it's just how young children are and honestly it just seems like these four were just MEANT to meet up and be lifelong friends, despite their differences.

I loved seeing their sorting, and I especially loved Emmeline's sorting into Hufflepuff, how she kind of agrees with the stereotype of Hufflepuff being boring at first, but I'm sure her mind's going to change very quickly!

I also think you did a wonderful job with emotions here. You portrayed the kids' nervousness so well, and that is very realistic! Also, when you said she could FEEL the disappointment coming off of Severus about Lily's sorting, I could feel it too and that was SUCH a powerful moment. And honestly, when Severus was taking so long on the sorting I think in my mind he was begging the hat to put him in Gryffindor with Lily.. poor thing. :(

Anyway, I loved reading this and it was great to see more about how this all got started and continued, even though the ending is so sad.

Well done, dear! ♥ *squishes*

Author's Response: Jayde!!!
Aww, thank you so, so, so much for stopping by!!!
I love this site so much! And I'm only glad that I was able to give my little contribution. It's nothing compared to the dedication and effort you and the rest of the Staff put in everything! Thanks to you!

And no worries about the PM. I answered only a couple of days ago. Take all the time you need. *hug*

Ahahah! I'd been thinking about an extention to Seven Years Later for a long time. And then you came and said you wanted to hear more about the quartet and I guess that's what convinced me in the end! :) (I'm not sure when I'll be back here, though... I'm pretty focused on Liar at the moment...)

Aww, thank you! That's actually funny because I struggle a lot with description (I feel much more comfortable in writing dialogue) but I guess my writing has improved since I started. :D Anyway, I'm so glad you felt that way about the description of the castle. :)

Yes, I guess at the age is much easier to simply bond! I love that you think they were meant to be friends! It's such a cute thought!

Emmeline will come to adore her fellow Badgers! How could she not? We know we are awesome!!! :P

Poor Severus... I'm not exactly sure what happened between the Hat and him... I think they were both quite conflicted... but Severus is foundamentally a Slytherin, I'm convinced of that. It is sad that they were separated, though... :(

Thank you so much again for this lovely review! I'll try to get back to this story in not too long, promise!

Tons of hugs and love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #33, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Lake: Quest

6th May 2016:
I found myself with a few, unexpected free minutes and thought I'd try to squeeze in one more review on one of your lesser-reviewed stories!

And AGAIN, Kevin, WOW! *Clicks favorite button*

I don't even know how to begin to review this. I'm just a puddle of awe and amazement sitting in a chair staring at the computer screen with wide eyes. Once again, you've tackled something SO original, so unheard of, and made it into one of the best stories I've ever read.

I've never before read something about the Giant Squid, or how he came to be the Giant Squid, so again, kudos on originality, and I LOVE THIS. This is my headcanon for how the Giant Squid came to be in the Black Lake and rescue Hogwarts students now. Even if JKR releases some kind of statement about it later, NOPE. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED.

I just... GAH! Kevin stop being so awesome! (Okay actually no, please don't!) :P

Something I've noticed about your writing across all three pieces I've read today is the flow and readability. On short pieces like this one, but also longer pieces like Schrodinger's Cat, your words just pulled me in and kept me glued to the screen, eagerly awaiting more. It's like I started reading and it was over all too soon. That's proof of how exciting and addictive your writing is - it flows so perfectly!

I wish I had more, intelligent words to write here about this, but honestly I'm just flabberghasted and speechless, I can't even form proper sentences right now. Just... this is just AMAZING, Kevin. I really hope you realize how talented you are!

Author's Response: Howdy once more!

The true credit for birthing this has to go to Jill (1917farmgirl). When I was puzzling over what to write her for the Gift-It (because I CANNOT write her faves, Fred and George) she (jokingly I think TBH) said to write her a Giant Squid origin story. Me being me, I took it super seriously and here we are :P

This was a unique story for me in terms of timeframe too, but it was really fun to get into the ancient period where people can't just go wherever because they don't KNOW wherever, where people don't think they've just all of life figured out, and where there can be a more forthright element of spirituality (IMO anyway).

While I felt strongly about who Galan was, that last element was so important because I wanted to meld that spirituality with magic, indeed as a possible source for it, while also leaving open the idea that maybe he's just doing magic thinking it's spiritual. But the bottom line is he actually doesn't KNOW he's doing magic really until he starts transforming at the end and even then isn't quite certain. He's a leader of men, a rescuer, a warrior. And so he does what has to be done.

Thanks so much for your kind words! Once again, I hope you're well and I really appreciate your kindness in R&R-ing these!


 Report Review

Review #34, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOutside: Prison

6th May 2016:
Hello again! I wanted to AT LEAST leave you one more review for now, and I'm hoping when my schedule clears up a bit I'll be able to come back and leave you quite a few more. Because seriously, no amount of reviewing could ever possibly thank you enough for your contributions to keeping this place going! *hug*

And after reading this and Schrodinger's Cat I definitely know that I need to read more of your work! OH my gosh, Kevin, this is brilliant!

I've seen SO many different takes on Lucius - some that portray him as just flat out evil until the very end, some that portray him having a change of heart and honestly really just loving his son, but this is something just entirely different altogether! You've portrayed Lucius for what he really IS for most of the series, and you've done it quite perfectly. The way he purposely manipulated Draco into becoming a Death Eater.. just.. Gah! You hit the nail on the head with his characterization!

You also did a great job, once again, of painting a picture for me with your words - I could picture everything in my mind so perfectly, and the emotions that you portrayed here really made me imagine Lucius walking around with just this flat out EVIL look on his face - you really are a master of emotion and description!

I think the thing that stood out to me most, before the ending, that is, is how Lucius despises Narcissa's coddling Draco and treating him like a child. We don't really see that attitude from him much in the series, but I think he'd DEFINITELY be like that, especially in the presence of others.

And then, that ending. Just... just WOW. You show Lucius coming to regret his decision, and realizing that even if Voldemort takes over, it won't be how he's imagined it... but the ONLY reason he regrets it is because he won't have power like he thought he would - it's not for the sake of the wizarding world or even the sake of his family - he ONLY regrets it because he won't have power. The power has just consumed him SO completely that it can reach him when nothing else can. I think that's VERY in-character for Lucius, very realistic, and I can honestly imagine something like this moment being EXACTLY what caused the change in him that we see at the end of DH.

I just don't even know what else to say... you've once again just blown my mind with your amazing work. BRILLIANTLY done!

Author's Response: Howdy again!

I wanted so long ago to thank you for this, but I'll do it now! While it's far from my favorite work, it was never judged and so I never really know much about how it plays with people.

The comments about Lucius being believably portrayed feel really good as a result. I honestly don't spend much time writing people I'd consider just...BAD. But if I thought there was one (1) character who'd be the Frank Underwood, cutthroat power-monger in the series it HAD to be Lucius for me. You're absolutely right about him being willing to sacrifice anything for power and indeed, he's more distraught at the loss of that potential and the loss of his dreams of pureblooded perfection with himself near the forefront than he is about the way he's torn his family apart and scarred his son.

Thanks again for the R&R!


 Report Review

Review #35, by MrsJaydeMalfoySchrodinger's Cat: Anhedonia

5th May 2016:
Hi Kevin!! :D

I know I'm a little bit late with these hot seat reviews, but I just wanted to make sure I stopped by and at least left you a few reviews as my personal way of saying 'Thank you' for your contributions to the site. I can't tell you how much they are appreciated, nor how much your generosity has touched myself and every single one of the other staff members, as well.

I know it may have been more appropriate to start with your newest work, but honestly, I've been wanting to read this for a LONG time, since I saw it featured in the Dobbys, so when the opportunity arose, I couldn't NOT read this! And believe me, all the amazing things I've heard about this were proven right!

I'm just in awe right now... nearly speechless. This is one of the most original pieces I've ever read, in many ways. First off, you show an ending for Harry and Ginny that's NOT perfect and fairy-tale-ish, and although I really like them as a couple, this is a nice change; things don't always work out, and you've portrayed that wonderfully here.

Then there's the fact that you included Schrodinger's Cat itself, and Harry in an ordered therapy session to determine if he's still fit for duty because everyone thinks he's lost it. Harry's the 'hero' (or at least some form of strong 'savior' figure) in pretty much every story EVER. So to read here that he's struggling, to read that everyone's doubting him and thinks he's sick, is just... WHOA.

Your description here was awesome, I could clearly picture everything as it was happening, and though they were somewhat bittersweet, I really loved the flashbacks into Harry and Ginny's life together. And, speaking of the flashbacks, they flowed flawlessly with the current-day healer's office goings-on, so well done with that!

Reading that last dialogue between Harry and Ginny was heartbreaking, and you did a wonderful job of conveying Harry's almost inability to care or do anything to change it here - but then at the end, you can really feel his sadness that he thinks he can't come back from this - GREAT job with the emotions!

Honestly, this has left me with SO many questions, like WHY things just fell apart for Harry in that moment. I'd love to see a sequel or even prequel to this, that delves a little further into exactly what happened and why! (I'll beg if I have to!)

This was a FANTASTIC story, Kevin, and just so original and breath-taking. I'm SO glad I got a chance to read it, and it's going in my favorites right now. Well done!

Author's Response: Howdy Jayde! Let me start by apologizing for becoming the person I swore I'd never become. How far I have fallen from the dude who always answered reviews within a few days :(

Anyway, I want to also say thank you for this incredible review. The story honestly took an enormous amount out of me to write, which is weird maybe for FF I guess, but it did. I honestly don't know how long it was before I wrote anything new, but it was a good long while. A big part of that struggle was ending Harry/Ginny - which is, of course, my OTP. A bigger part was very personal, though not at all directly in the same way. Some of that, over time, makes it a challenge to respond coherently, which I know I'm not doing at the moment, but that's the explanation for that :P

One of the things I definitely wanted to do aside from sinking the ship was to turn some of the couple's and particularly Harry's strengths into weaknesses in the piece. Though that's getting into causes - which are notoriously hard to attribute in the end of relationships - but it's something I thought about.

It's really gratifying to hear that you thought the descriptions were strong too because it's honestly the thing I think I'm worst at. I've been getting dialogue-y these days and a bit too spartan otherwise so it's nice to get good feedback on description and remember (hopefully) how to get back to painting a better picture amid everything else.

Thanks so much for the incredible words, Jayde. I hope you're doing great.


 Report Review

Review #36, by MrsJaydeMalfoyActions Speak Louder than Words: Buildup: Scorpius POV

20th April 2016:
WELL IT IS ABOUT TIME I GOT HERE TO READ AND REVIEW THIS!!! I'm sorry it has taken me SO long, but I haven't forgotten! As soon as I saw that you'd updated I was SO excited, I wrote 'review ASLTW' on a notepad on my desktop, and it's been sitting there ever since! I hope my review can make up for the crazy amount of time it's taken me to get to it!!

First off, in a way I'm kind of relieved that it's been 3 months since the attack, because that means that Stannous hasn't been able to get to them for 3 months. But, at the same time, knowing how desperate he is, that's also 3 months for him to plan something completely horrid.. so it really makes me nervous. And then also, knowing that it's been 3 months means that Rose is getting REALLY far along now, so, if Stannous is going to try something else, he's probably going to do it soon... *looks from side to side with paranoia*

The replay of the events was just AMAZING and it really helped me to feel like a part of the investigation - I LOVE that! I feel like I'm caught up to speed with the characters as far as intel goes! But, being able to see in on that meeting has just given me SO MANY QUESTIONS, like if the death eaters realized that they'd got the wrong person... and HOW did they know Sels was in Diagon Alley? I mean COME ON! The fact that they immediately went after everyone else in the vicinity makes me think they DO realize they got the wrong target, and were hoping Rose was somewhere nearby hiding.. but still. I'm just so curious about what their goal was.. did they want to hurt the baby, kidnap Rose? Both? UGH so many questions! But I'm honestly kind of scared to know the answers!! :P

And then of course, poor Scorpius!! It broke my heart to see him so conflicted, fighting so hard to stay strong and focused, but he just can't keep it together. I can't blame him, and I know he's got to be really conflicted about all the emotions going through his head. Obviously he's very sad for losing Sels, but in a way I'm sure he's relieved that it wasn't Rose and the baby... but at the same time I'm pretty sure he feels guilty for thinking that way, as Sels was his friend... the poor guy! I'm so happy that Harry realized WHY he needed a break, and that he convinced him to go talk to Rose. I can't wait to see their conversation, because I'm sure that they can both make each other feel better, or at least I hope so.

Anyway, this was another really intriguing and also slightly nerve-wracking chapter, and I can't wait to see what happens next. Update soon please!! *Squish* ♥

 Report Review

Review #37, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChoices.: Holiday Thoughts

19th April 2016:
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR STOPPING BY MY PROFILE AND LETTING ME KNOW THIS WAS UP!!! And also, I'm the first to review it as well! YAY!! :D

You have just completely torn up my emotions with this. (And I mean that in the best possible way!) First off, you had me SQUEALING like a little kid at Christmas when I read that they got engaged and then married! I was SO happy, although I have to admit I'm kind of sad that nobody else can know for right now. But, at least they have Theo and Ginny!! I really hope things calm down some day so that they can have their big white wedding like Draco was talking about, and it's SO SWEET that he wants to give her all those things!

And then, I just felt so heartbroken for Draco, knowing what his father did to his mother, and it's awful that he did so basically just to get back at Draco. It's just terrible and I can't imagine the type of pain he's going through right now, and combining that with the fact that he's meant to be on his honeymoon and having fun is just so sad. :(

I'm kind of afraid for those two, going back to the rest of the world. In a way, I'd kind of like to see them run away together, with their hidden romance, something like a Romeo and Juliet of the wizard world. But, at the same time, they shouldn't HAVE to, you know?!

And them talking about having children, and being parents... EEEK!! ♥

Anyway, this is another wonderful chapter and I can't express how much I just LOVE this!! I'm going to need the next chapter soon, please!! Oh, and my favorite line of this whole chapter? "to propose and marry my little bookworm"... AWW!!! ♥

Well done, dear!! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #38, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: The Truth

19th April 2016:
REVIEW NUMBER 500!! YAY!!! And it also just so happens to be the first review on this chapter, so DOUBLE YAY!!

I really love the bonding between Draco and Roxi here, even though it doesn't really seem like bonding. (They're madly in love, they just haven't admitted it yet!) XD

It seems like Roxi is able to see right through Draco, and I think it's good for him to have someone like that in his life. She's a bit like Saleena - she won't back down until she gets to the bottom of what's bothering him, she won't let him just wander off to be by himself, and that's what he really needs, whether he thinks so or not.

I definitely felt like those two cleared the air a bit, and you could really feel the mood shift between them towards the end of the chapter... IT'S LOVE! :P (Okay, I know I'm jumping the gun, but anyways) :D

It's great that he was at least able to thank her for what she did!

And that last little paragraph filled me with hope, but also with dread... first off, to see Draco excited to be spending more time with Roxi was, of course, squee-worthy! But, 'everyone was safe FOR THE MOMENT' just makes me shudder... dun dun DUNN!

Another wonderfully written chapter and I can't wait to see where you take this from here! I'ma need you to get on the next chapter now plz. :D

*Squish* SURPRISE! And congratulations on reaching 500 reviews!!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #39, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Captive

19th April 2016:
499! So close to 500!!

Okay, so I really just wanted to yell at Roxi when she did this. I mean, come ON! Like Tonks said, has she learned nothing! It really does go to show how young she is, and how inexperienced as well. I mean, she's willing to risk being captured just to look at him. *Shakes head*

And, well, Percy's cat's out of the bag now, isn't it. *Sighs* At this point he's just not showing any remorse at all, and I just finished reviewing chapter two of his story, so I can't help but wonder how he got from that point of uncertainty to this point of just pure HATRED. :(

Seeing Lucius in his condition, hearing his words about only wanting to save Draco, is just really heartbreaking. He's really hard to relate to in the books, but you've definitely made it easier to see things from his point of view here, and that's saying something!

Well done, dear! *squish*

 Report Review

Review #40, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: False Accusations

19th April 2016:
Review No. 498!! :D

I really like the first half of this chapter because it really shows how close Saleena and Draco have gotten in the time she's been taking care of him. Not only does he know about her being a gypsy, but he also knows the situation with her family and her people, and he's genuinely concerned for if she's ready for that or not. It's very sweet!

I was glad to see Draco beginning to make a recovery here, and Minerva definitely regained some of my favor when she invited him to join the Order and come to a meeting - it's really great of her to think the best of him and want to include him!

I just LOVE seeing Draco and Roxi's individual reactions to seeing each other for the first time - first Draco can't stop thinking how weird she is, and then it's completely the opposite from Roxi's point of view! :P

And WOW, slow down Neville! I mean, I kind of get the frustration a little, because Draco always WAS pretty awful to him, but still, cut the guy some slack!

I really like how Draco talked some sense into all of them - he has a point! And I think it's very realistic and incredible how his experiences of the past few days and weeks have humbled him considerably - I mean let's face it, he could stand to be taken down a notch or two.. (And I say that in the nicest, most adoring way possible! :P)

Another fabulous chapter, lovely, and now on to the next!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Trustworthy

19th April 2016:
1 down, 4 to go! :D

Hahaha, I don't know why, but going back and reading Tonks' reaction to finding out that a new metamorphmagus was coming is hilarious to me. Maybe it's because I know Roxi and I know she's not trying to replace anyone, I don't know, but either way, even though I should have been upset right along with Tonks because she was crying, I was just laughing and thinking to myself "Girl, you have nothing to worry about!" :P I can't wait to see Roxi re-enter the picture and see Tonks' reaction again! :P

And I kind of get why Minerva is being so suspicious of Saleena, but at the same time it gets on my nerves a little bit, because we both know that Saleena's not up to anything. I mean, like I said, I understand being cautious and I normally really like Minerva, just a part of me wants her to back off a little bit.

And that last line was REALLY powerful - she's never been afraid of anything, and for the first time, she's afraid. It makes me afraid right along with her!

Great job, lovely! ♥

 Report Review

Review #42, by MrsJaydeMalfoyLove, Not War: Under Arrest

19th April 2016:
How about we get you up to 500 reviews on this today, how does that sound? I think yes! :D

It's been a while so I had to skim back over this to remind myself what happened :P But, something I definitely remember is being SO MAD AT PERCY ugh!! Just sitting there with a smug look on his face about potentially getting his mother in a lot of trouble. *narrows eyes* You really did a great job of making me hate him here!! (I mean that in the best way possible!! :P)

Also, I remember being frustrated with Scrimgeour's stubbornness, he just refuses to see what's right in front of him, and that's what HAS caused (and will cause) SO many problems! He's a lot like Fudge in that way, and you did an excellent job of showing that here!

I loved seeing Draco talking some sense into him, and I also loved seeing Saleena stand up to him! She's very passionate and determined - she's an excellent strong, female character in this and very admirable!

Well done with this chapter, and I'm off to catch up on the others I'd missed!! :D

 Report Review

Review #43, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Ultimate Betrayal: The Ultimate Decision

19th April 2016:
YAY, first review!! ♥

You already know a lot about what I think about this chapter, but I'm going to leave a review anyway because YES.

First off, I can't remember if I said this in the review of the first chapter or not, but I'm really happy that you chose to take Percy's story and make a spin-off about it - it definitely provides some insight into WHY he is the way he is in LNW. And I think you've shown a really logical progression in him so far - you're definitely making it easy to see how he wound up that way in your story!

I LOVE the playing around you did with Percy and Wormtail - Peter knows who he is, but Percy can't seem to place him - it's hilarious. I can't help but wonder what will happen if and when Percy does find out and/or realize!

Percy's characterization is, again, spot-on! You have this amazing way of getting in to your character's heads, and we can see that even more clearly here - his thirst for recognition, his uncertainty, his shame of being on the wrong side, and, although he doesn't like to admit it, his hesitance for betraying his family.

And speaking of characterization... Voldemort. I mean, he's just perfect. Again, you really get into his head and show us that, while he's evil, he's also very manipulative, and that's how he's managed to get so many followers, get so much information - he definitely takes on many more characteristics in your stories that make him a much more round character, and it's amazing. And you've just got the perfect combination of manipulation and evil here!!

I'm really interested to see what happens next, and how/if Percy manages to get this information! Let me know when you've got it ready to go! :D

Great job!! ♥ *squish*

 Report Review

Review #44, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe Ultimate Betrayal: The Ultimate Encounter

31st March 2016:
I got beaten to the first review! :( Oh well, I'll get it next time! :D

This is SO GOOD!!! Your description is absolutely incredible, I could picture everything here as it was happening SO clearly in my mind!

And I think you did a FANTASTIC job of getting into Percy's head. We really only see him once he's turned in LNW, so this is definitely a wonderful opportunity to explore WHY that happened, and I think you did a great job with it! I LOVE that you included his love of order and rules, and recognition - that is SO TRUE of Percy and so very in-character! You've shown us the natural progression of how Percy from the books could have turned into Percy from LNW!

I also think you did a great job of portraying just how convincing Voldemort can be - he's basically using logic to convince people who have different beliefs that his way is the best - and he's doing an excellent job at it. If even Percy can be persuaded to join his side, that's really saying something!

I know you weren't planning on this being any longer, but I'm super-thrilled that this is going to be a short story! I can't wait to see what happens next!!

Really, really well done, lovely! ♥

 Report Review

Review #45, by MrsJaydeMalfoyFaith, Trust, and Crystal Balls: Step One

18th March 2016:
MADI! *Squishes*

I'm here with your (slightly delayed) reward review for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! Congratulations, and thank you so much for helping us celebrate HPFF's 15th Birthday! (And I know I owe you a PM response, but I wanted to get this taken care of first - I'll go respond to your PM right after this, I promise!)

I've told you I've been meaning to read this anyway, so now's the perfect opportunity! I'll be reviewing as I go, so if I seem to change topic or anything suddenly, that's why! :D

So first off, I'm really excited to read this because I've heard you talking about it so much, but also because there are like NO stories out there about Sybill, at least not that I've seen - this is SO original and I'm really excited to see where you take this!

And eeek, right from the beginning you've got me sympathizing with her and feeling bad for her. Why would everyone just turn her down for no good reason? I mean, I know that looking for a job can be like that sometimes, but it still seems really unfair, you know? And :O They turned her down just because she's a seer?!? That's the stupidest thing I've ever heard! I mean, I understand that it's not a very well-respected ability in the wizard world (which in itself is really messed up), but just because she sees things once in a while doesn't make her any less qualified for the job! *grumbles at interview people*

Awww, that's so sad! I think it's awful that Sybill's family thinks that she won't succeed as a Seer, when that's what she wants to do more than anything! But, I really LOVE her determination to prove them wrong, and I love the fact that she's packing her bags in preparation for her big departure, trusting that it's going to happen. You've made her very likeable here!!

YAY! I'm so excited that she's found something!! I can't wait to see what's waiting for her there! And Just WOW - your description of Nottingham and the way the muggles and wizards just mingle together flawlessly is incredible! That sounds SO amazing and you really captured Sybill's sense of wonder at it, and all her excitement about discovering the new place! And you've really just presented her as fearless - moving to a new city, learning all about it on her own, working to get on her feet, buying the shop.. you've really got ME feeling like I'VE just walked around and discovered a new city, and that's incredible!

And the people she bought the store from were SO nice to leave the souvenirs for her! And again, I'm noticing your excellent description - you made it very easy for me to picture Sybill's painting and redecoration of the outside of the store! And I laughed out loud when she forgot she could use magic. :P I can imagine that would happen to witches and wizards sometimes. I loved the image of seeing the items shrinking and flying around the shop into their boxes!

Awww! Poor Sybill! It really broke my heart to see her so lonely! But, at the same time, that part really gave us the opportunity to see how close she and Em are growing, and I think (and hope) that Em's going to turn out to be a GREAT friend for her! I like her already! And who knows? Maybe the "help wanted" sign WILL bring a nice young man Sybill's way! :P

I loved the description of Sybill's flat, also! I'm so excited for her to finish up with the renovations and open the shop, as well as hopefully find some time to work on her seer abilities, and possibly find a little romance!

This is SUCH an excellent first chapter, dear, you've already got me hooked on another story of yours! You are such an incredibly talented author! I'll be stopping by to give Chapter 2 some love very soon! This is going in my favorites right now!

Well done, and again, congratulations on winning a round of Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: Hi Jayde!! :)

So for this chapter, since it set in such a different time than usual (it's around the 1960s) plus with a very rare character, I really wanted to set the scene properly. It's definitely one of the places where I really took the time to try and be deliberate with how the locations get visualized in the readers' heads because I want this to come off a certain way.

When this was thrown my way I absolutely had to hop on it just because of Sybill being such a minor character and literally never finding stories about her! I really took this story as an opportunity to explore the possibility of muggle-wizarding communities outside of London and the way they could literally be interacting daily without realizing it! This was super fun to research for as well because I've never written a fan fiction that has to be as original as this one is! I've had to do some style & fashion research, along with how mannerisms and societal standards were back in the day, all while putting a modern twist on the whole shebang!

The character of Emily is based on the kind of relationship I have with a couple of my close friends and so I'm glad the realness of their budding friendship is able to shine through the fictional world! Emily is really great for Sybill because if you're all alone in a brand new big city, it can get overwhelming very quickly, and I wanted Sybill to be happy first, before I explained how she got to Hogwarts and much less satisfied with life.

I'm very happy with how this first chapter turned out, and I hope you go and read the second one! Much love as always to you! :)
~MadiMalfoy x


 Report Review

Review #46, by MrsJaydeMalfoyKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

17th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so I was NOT prepared for the way you just grabbed me by the feels right here at the beginning! Honestly, when I read the story summary I was thinking this was going to be about their (alive) lives in Godric's Hollow after first moving in - like a metaphorical heaven... but the fact that you're literally referring to heaven here, and it feels like hell to Lily because she doesn't have Harry with her, is just SO powerful! GAH! And it's so original, too! I have NEVER read a story like this that talks about Lily and James' time in heaven after dying!

Also, the fact that they can look down on Harry from the pool, and the fact that Lily chooses not to because it would hurt more... the idea is amazing, and then your characterization of Lily here is as well!

Awww!!! The part with Sirius was so sad!! Poor James!! You did such a great job with the emotion there, showing his grief, and, even though Lily was hurting and afraid to look for herself, the fact that she was still willing to go hold James and be there for him at that rough time is incredible.

*Gasps* They're arguing, in heaven?! GAH! You are just completely blowing my mind with this piece! First off, I'm not going to lie, I kind of felt like James was grieving more over Sirius than Harry, too. But, reading his explanation at the end really made a lot of sense, and I'm glad they got that all out and cleared the air between them, so that hopefully they can try to move on.

But, and I'm not sure I'm going to be able to explain this as well as I want to, but here goes: Many of us already know how hard it is to lose someone we love when they die. But here, in such few words, you've captured perfectly the idea that the dead can grieve for the living - for them not being at their side, for things not going well for them.. and it's just... revolutionary and original and amazing and... Gah!! I could just go on and on about this!

Obviously, there's the sense of 'everything's wrong' here, and you feel really heartbroken for these two. But, at the same time, we know that everything worked out for the best in the end, plus they're in heaven so they're not suffering (physically) anymore, so, although there definitely is a tone of sadness to this, it's kind of hard not to feel a little hope, also.

This has got me thinking about what Lily and James would think if they were looking down throughout the various moments in Harry's life.. it makes me want to read about that.. soo... sequel maybe? Please? :D

Anyway, this is a wonderfully written piece, dear - it flows really well and I didn't see any spelling or grammar issues- it's SO amazing and original, it's going in my favorites right now! I'm so glad I read this! Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: Hi Jayde!

Oh, it never occurred to me that the summary could read as though it was about their time in Godric's Hollow! (I actually have read one story about that - Withering by Unwritten Curse, it's really good!)

Honestly, this piece was inspired by the idea of James witnessing Sirius' arrest and knowing that he was actually innocent. So I wouldn't be surprised if I was maybe a bit heavy-handed with that and/or didn't focus on his feelings about Harry enough. However, I personally think my explanation of James' feelings makes sense, and it seems like you do too :P

I don't know about "revolutionary", but I'm excited to know that you thought this was an original idea :)

A bunch of people have asked for a sequel to this, but I'm not currently planning one - sorry! D:

I'm glad you enjoyed reading this, and thank you very much for the lovely review - and for running such a fun game!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #47, by MrsJaydeMalfoyso let us create: if your dreams are far too real

17th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

Okay, so first off, I think the article was a GREAT!! way to start this! You've already given us SO much background information about the relationship between Albus and Scorpius and Powell, as well as all their success, their Hogwarts houses... there's SO much backstory packed into that article, and it's also extremely well-written! It's the perfect introduction!

And Aww! Poor Scorpius! :( I think you told us a lot about his characterization in this bit about him, and you've definitely made it easy to sympathize with him. But, I've got to admit that now I'm SUPER curious as to if Al will ever find out about his feelings... must.. read.. more! :P

And again, there's another article with a LOT of great backstory incorporated in it! I love how they came up with the band name, and your descriptions of the band members reactions and their clothes really helped me to picture the interview in my mind! I really do think that incorporating so much information in these interviews is just amazing, a perfect way to provide more information, especially considering their profession! :P

Oh wow. I loved reading about Scorpius' thoughts about being placed into Hufflepuff, and Seeing how Scorpius came to fall for Al just makes me feel even worse for him, the poor thing! I really, really hope something will work out between those two!

Awww! Now I'm even MORE sad for Scorpius! :( I can't imagine how hard it's got to be for him watching Al go out all the time, and you did an excellent job of conveying his frustration and pain. And it really says a lot that, even though he told himself he wouldn't go write a song about it, he did anyway.

I think Scorpius would do well to take Felicity's advice - but I also know that's a lot easier said than done! Still though, a part of me wonders if he DID start seeing someone, would that perhaps make AL jealous enough to realize there are some feelings there? Okay so maybe I'm just wishful thinking. :P

Wait, WHAT?! Alex is a GUY?!? OMG! I think I've probably got as many questions going through my mind as Scorpius does right now - does that mean he has a chance? Will it work out? Has Al secretly been harboring feelings for him all this time! I need answers!! *Scrolls*

*Gasps* He found the song!! Oooh!! ... YAYYY! OMG!!! ♥ *flails* Oh, I'm so happy things worked out for the two of them!! That ending is just beyond perfect!! Annnd now I'm going to need a sequel where they live happily ever after, please! :D :P

This is an amazing, wonderfully-written piece, dear! I love it!! Really, really Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #48, by MrsJaydeMalfoyChoices.: Choices are the hardest things to make.

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

So, the first thing that really caught my attention was your characterization of Draco. You've really gotten into his thoughts here, and use that to show us what kind of person he is, and I think it's brilliant. I love how you've put us in his mind right as he's about to make a difficult decision, and I also love how you're giving us a bit of background through his eyes, as though he were explaining the situation to us.

I think this would obviously be a VERY difficult decision for Draco to make in this situation, but I have to admit that a part of me also thought "Do you even have to ask yourself that question?" Obviously he loves Hermione very much, and he doesn't approve of or agree with the Death Eaters' beliefs, so I'm personally a little confused as to why he would even consider it - but at the same time we know how much of an influence Lucius had on Draco's life, so it's also pretty understandable. You did an EXCELLENT job of showing the internal struggle he's got going on here!

Oh my goodness! Reading about Lucius' threat makes me definitely understand more why Draco would consider this! He was very close to his mother and it'd be SO hard to never see or hear from her again!

But then Awww! Reading how much he loves Hermione is just so fluffy! It sounds like those two are perfect for each other! And *gasps* He's going to go ask her!! *Squees* Oh my goodness, I need a sequel to this that shows the big moment, please!!! ♥

I really hope that, somehow, Draco's able to keep his family safe and still have Hermione. There HAS to be a way!

This is a very well-written one-shot, dear! There are only a few words here, but they are SO powerful and full of emotion! It's incredible!

Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

Author's Response: OMG THANK YOU THANK YOU SO MUCH!

In re to the sequel, I may be writing it in April manually while Im on a camp without my laptop and the rest of my already started work.
Im not going to give away any of my plans for it though. You'll have to wait and see. :P

I have no way of describing how much this review is making me smile, laugh, grin and shout in glee.

Thank you so so much!

Caity
x


 Report Review

Review #49, by MrsJaydeMalfoyThe First Christmas After The War: Chapter 1

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

So, the first thing I notice here is your description - it's amazing!! In the first few paragraphs your words allowed me to clearly picture the scene in my head - I loved your description of the snow and the holiday season, as well as peoples' reactions to both.

I was definitely not prepared for the feels at reading the line "the first Christmas without Fred". :( I love Christmas and snow, so I usually associate those things with positive, happy feelings, and then coming into the reality of what this Christmas means for the family was just heartbreaking. And then, seeing Ginny look to Harry for answers about what grief feels like was just... gah! The poor Weasleys!

But Awww! I love the fact that little Teddy was able to brighten things up for everyone, even if only a little! I think having a baby around tends to do that most of the time, so that was very realistic and I'm sure it was a very welcome temporary relief for the whole family!

And again, your description! I could easily picture Hermione sitting in Ron's lap, the exchange between Molly and Ron and Harry... you made it SO easy to see the change in mood here, and that's amazing! You're very gifted with writing descriptions and emotions!

And your last paragraph is SO powerful, really, and I completely agree with it. Bad things happen, we lose people, but the important thing is to remember to keep fighting and know what you're fighting for. That's just so deep and thought-provoking!

I was sure when I read about it being the first Christmas without Fred that I was going to cry by the end of this. I was pleasantly surprised - it's given me a sense of peace and hope for the Weasleys. It's amazing!

This was a very VERY well-written piece, the description is amazing, and it flowed wonderfully. And this is going in my favorites right now.

Well done, and congratulations again on Winning Pass the Parcel!

 Report Review

Review #50, by MrsJaydeMalfoyOne Last Victory: Doubt

14th March 2016:
Hi there dear! I'm here with your prize for winning a round of Pass the Parcel! First off, let me just say 'Congratulations' - and thank you SO much for helping us celebrate HPFF's birthday! And now, on to your review! :P I'm reviewing as I read, so if this seems to change topics kind of suddenly, that's why.

I was immediately intrigued by the story summary and chapter summary, and I was SO curious to find out who I'd be reading about - and then when I saw it was Minerva I was pleasantly surprised! I haven't started reading yet but I'm definitely excited to see where this is going!

Okay, I'm not going to lie. I thought this was going to be about the battle of Hogwarts, and I was just SO ready to see Minerva's iron will against all the death eaters. And then I knew it was a little different when she mentioned seeing the gates differently - and then I read 'her cane' and I was just like AWW Minerva! :(

Waiting for her to die?! That's awful!! And I mean I love Neville and Hannah, but hearing their conversation from Minerva's point of view just makes me feel so angry with them! But, deep down I know that they're only saying what they think is best for her. So let me keep reading before I make any judgements. :P

okay, now I'm at the conversation with Albus and I just don't think I'm emotionally prepared for this. Albus, who's already gone, talking to Minerva about dying, when she seems to almost be gone, it's breaking my heart :(

Awww! She just wants to keep everyone safe! That is SO like Minerva and you've characterized her really well here!

And leave it to Albus to tell Minerva like it is, even though she doesn't want to hear it. :P He's definitely right though, and it broke my heart to hear how she thought she had failed during the battle - it wasn't her fault, but leave it to her to take on so much guilt and responsibility.

*Gasps* Her husband?! :O And now he's there? Aw!! A part of me feels like "Noo don't let her go" and another part of me feels like "She needs to rest, to be at peace" . :( But the fact that it took him saying "They're safe" for her to agree really says a lot.

This is a very well-written and emotional piece, lovely, it really pulled at my heartstrings! It flowed very well and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, either. Well done! I definitely enjoyed it! And congratulations again on winning pass the parcel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

McGonagall is always a favorite to write. She's always so strict yet cares deeply about what she does. She cares deeply about her students and I think that is an admirable trait.

So when I saw the challenge, I immediately looked up old Renaissance masters. I came upon a few of Queen Elizabeth I. That's when the plunny hit. I immediately could picture Minerva in a similar situation: Both grew old in positions of power and tried to keep on going even if the people that they trusted worked against them to get someone else in their seats when they die.

So I wrote that. It made Minerva seem overtly cynical and cranky. I suppose that's what I was going for, but I wanted her to feel something. Something more of what Minerva would feel and not when Elizabeth would feel as much: regret.

And that's how it came into being. I was curious on what the mystery prize was for the pass the parcel. Now that I've found out, thank you for hosting a delightful game and may HPFF see the next 15 years!

Happy Writing!
Professor McGonagall


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>