Reading Reviews From Member: adluvshp
  
2,020 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshpNine Nights of Dancing: Navratri

30th April 2017:
Being an Indian, I really liked how you took up the whole concept of Navratri and wrote it from the perspective of Parvati who was coming back to the festival after seven years. I was curious to see how you would tackle the topic when i read the summary and I think you did a fairly good work, so kudos!

I liked how out of place Parvati was feeling and how much she was missing her sister. At such a place and occasion, it was understandable. The opening descriptions of the ballroom were great where they were all dancing, Dance can in fact be tricky to write about so you did well.

Parvati's slow easing from the first circle to the final one was done well and I liked how as she progressed dancing, she liked it more and more, and reconnected with her old self more. It was also believable but sad that the dandiya sticks reminded her of the wands, and then the entire room transformed into the battle for her - the after effects of the war were shown well.

It was sweet how no one but a little girl helped her, from pairing up wth her to taking care of her to weaving the flowers in her hair. And it gave parvati the courage to keep going. Really nice!

-CTF REVIEW BY ANGIE

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshpA New Way of Life: The Ecstasy of Running

30th April 2017:
This was a very interesting piece as Draco Malfoy and running are two interesting combinations! I like how you wrote about your passion of running and incorporated it with Draco's character, that he uses it to forget about his dark past.

The line "running from his past to the finish line" was thus very significant. And then how he is happy being average - now that was something fascinating, and also entirely believable as it made sense after everything he has been through. The adrenaline rush he experienced was described pretty well and I could almost feel it myself through the narrative.

The moment when he tripped and his first reaction was hexing and then anger was again believable. It showed that deep down he is still the same person, but at the same time, he is making an effort to be better and that matters the most. I loved how he picked himself up and finished the race and was happy despite not having come first or even in the top three.

The way you finally revealed that it is Draco Malfoy who was the narrator all along was nice and clever and gave a good feel to the overall one-shot. Liked it a lot!

-CTF REVIEW BY ANGIE

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshpLetters from Amanda: Letters From Amanda

29th April 2017:
Too much pain and sadness, excuse me while I cry a little. This was beautiful though tragic. The letters were effective to communicate the events and feelings in a disconnected fashion.

I felt bad for Amanda and her family. It felt cruel the the way the kids had to pay for their father's mistakes. Amanda's frustration and pain was apparent in her letters, especially when she writes about the irony that their dad was supposed to protect them but it was because of him that such misery came upon the family. She never mentions her mother though, I wonder what happened to her.

Luke and Amanda are obviously close and it is sad but believable how she keeps writing to him but does not want him to get in touch, how she left her family to protect them, and how in the end Luke begs for her to come back and that they could help each other. The brother-sister bond was beautiful.

The last bit made me sad that she ultimately could not cope with her reality or her lifestyle even though her pack tried to make her feel at home. The pack seemed very nice too with the way they asked Luke to write to her and then later sent her body and wanting to attend the funeral.

Heavy on the angst but I would haved like more description, rest good stuff!

-ctf review by angie

 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshpThe Swift Death: How it progressed

29th April 2017:
This broke my heart. Poor dying Ginny. Her children are expecting another normal day, perhaps a telling off because of what they have done (broken a silly frame), and instead they get to hear this terrible tragic news.

I liked the small details we have here which tell us more about all their characters like Albus muttering how Lily will get away and James trying sweet-talk his parents by talking about how it is something good that the kids were doing.

The idea of MagiScreens by the way, like Muggle Tv, is pretty cool. And they were trying to get padfoot to ride a broomstick? I am guessing that's their dog, poor thing, that made me chuckle haha.

But then the hard part comes and she has to tell her kids what is wrong with her. The calm explanatory and honest manner in which Harry and Ginny tell their kids everything is touching, and also realistic, as I can envision those two dealing with a situation like this in such a manner.

I would have liked to see more emotion on Harry's part though, more description of what was happening and what was in their heads too.

The explanation of how the kids had grown up knowing all about death added to the tragedy of it all somehow as well, so I liked that. The ending bit tugged at my heartstrings and I wanted to hug them too.

-CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #5, by adluvshpGoodbye: Pillowcase

29th April 2017:
Aw, little Dobby and his mother! What an adorable and sweet one-shot, Just the plot concept could make me tear up because DOBBY!

What was lovely and unique here was how you wrote about Dobby the house-elf's childhood. While I would have found it a little bit more authentic and believable if both the elves had talked in more of a manner like how we see in the books - you know not in perfect english - am willing to overlook that because of all the feels!

Dobby's mother sounds amazing and the idea of them working in another family but then not having place for little Dobby so Dobby being sent to the Malfoys was interesting and kinda realistic too.

Dobby's mother giving him a hand-made pillowcase was absolutely lovely and touched my heart. The inscription of him being a brave, loyal elf, and a great friend, was so very sweet and then how Dobby vows to live up to it was perfect - because he does live up to it in the books.

The goodbye scene overall was very emotional and I felt bad for the poor elf, at the awful family he has to go and serve and the future that lies ahead of him. You wrote his sadness at leaving his mother and his eagerness to work even in the garden very well, and the excitement he showed at opening the gift was really sweet. Good work!

-CTF Review by angie

 Report Review

Review #6, by adluvshpLove Letters to the Dead: Remus John Lupin

29th April 2017:
This was so heartbreaking and sad. Poor Teddy. Any thought of his parents deaths and him finding out saddens me and what happens here, the emotions he is experiencing - from pain to frustration to confusion to anger to misery - it is all very understandable and believable.

A child who has just found out that not only is he adopted, as the by the looks of it and the surname "Potter" it seems Harry and Ginny adopted little Teddy, is bound to react in a manner that you have written here. I like how despite knowing the truth he signs off as Teddy Potter and that shows it has to have been pretty long, after a certain age, that he has been told.

I personally don't think that Harry and Ginny would have adopted him officially to change his name, rather kept him as their godson, but then that is subjective. In your world, this is what has happened. The idea of Harry telling Teddy to write everything down to get out his emotions and feel better was sweet, and showed how much he loved Teddy even though he was not his biological son. Little details such as Tonks and Remus' photograph in the house, or Teddy's appearance details were also good.

I liked it overall though there were a few typos here and there like "their" instead of "there" so maybe you could give this a once over?

-CTF review by Angie.

 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshpTom Marvolo Riddle: I am Lord Voldemort: First memories

29th April 2017:
Wow, this was haunting and well-written. You really slipped well into young Voldemort's mind here. I loved how it started with the monotony and sadness of the orphanage, and how Tom thought he would be treated differently if he was on his best behaviour or because of his better looks but nothing worked. His frustration was well-written. The whole idea of death being the enemy having been brought into his head this early made sense, and then how due to the ways in the orphanage he learnt of power and its use or misuse, very fascinating. The little details that we know from canon like how he took people's prized possessions was weaved in your narrative in a lovely manner, it had its own touch and reasoning and that was great. You also took some of his best spoken lines and gave them your own spin which really added to his character such as "power and those who seize it." and "name should one day be feared if not respected." Such thoughts in the mind of a five year old are very scary and worrying too, and that tone or emotion comes out beautifully as well. And of course the ending note of "then it happened" was full of foreboding, so great work there on getting the right mood. Loved it!

-CTF review by Angie

Author's Response: Thanks a lot :) I am encouraged to continue this rather daunting and unpleasant project.

 Report Review

Review #8, by adluvshpStay: Stay

29th April 2017:
Aw, this was very sweet. I was almost afraid it was going to end badly and I was like NO ROSE SCORPIUS BETTER STAY TOGETHER and yay the ending made me happy. They are such an adorable couple! I love Rose even with her insecurities and how she was mad at him yet couldn't even remember why and was so afraid of losing him and she loved him so much it was cute. Scorpius was also way too adorable and it was like he knew her so well, that is why he was unfazed and grinning when she came up to him and the way he was probing her to find out whether she remembered why they fought. It was cute how he was wearing that Quidditch helmet over his nightsuit though, did that have a relevance, or was it to prevent himself from any damage Rose's temper would cause? haha. The whole romance scene with their tickling and laughing and Rose's realisation and the kissing was super sweet. I was totally rooting for them. I also loved the descriptions like how her hair was touching the helmet and then she pulled it off and threw it to the side. The use of the song lyrics was also done in a fun manner - and the feel of the song totally was there in the fun cute feel of the one-shot too. I was still very curious to know the reason for their fight though, was it something serious or something silly? It is not a criticism but more like my own curiosity to know so I wish he had reminded her what it was haha. Besides that, Great work!

-CTF review by Angie

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by, Angie =)

I think these two are pretty adorable, i'm glad you liked them!

The Quidditch helmet is in reference to the song that inspired this story, "Stay Stay Stay" by Taylor Swift, where the boy comes out wearing a football helmet. And, indeed, it is to protect himself from Rose's wrath, though mostly in jest.

I can't tell you why they were fighting because I don't know lol =P

Thank you for such a sweet review!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshpWalking the Line: two [come as you are]

29th April 2017:
Ooh, this seems like a really interesting fic. I finished reading the first chapter (but had to jump to review this one) and it was very interesting - I loved how your writing style felt believable for an eleven year old's mindset. The simple ways they got sorted, made friends, and then discovered classes like Alex's talent for potions was nice. I also liked your inclusion of "rahul" because I love when indian characters pop up in stories xD

I liked how the previous chapter was first year and settling in and now we have moved to fourth year here when things actually started to change. The subtle things starting from Alex liking long hair - and being called a girl for that - was a great way to get things into motion. It was interesting how Alex felt disconnected when his dorm-mates talked about girls, again we as readers are making discoveries alongside the character so that is great. Then him wondering if he was gay since he liked Nigel was also written in a very simple and believable fashion. And then finally that bit about him wanting to change his name to Alexandra and asking Celeste and her wondering if he might be a girl.

The whole subject of gender binary is one that needs to be more talked about so am glad you tackled it in fan fiction! You have done it in a very sweet manner and one that makes sense, so it's great. I loved the relief Alex felt at finally being able to recognise himself as genderqueer and the deal with the toilets. Great work!

-CTF review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshpThe three little brothers: The three litle pigs

29th April 2017:
Haha, this was a fun little one-shot. I never imagined a collaboration or crossover I should say between three brothers and death and three little pigs and the big bad wolf, so this was a very innovative idea. You treated it entirely like a children's tale which can be very tricky in terms of writing, keeping that innocent and straightforward narrative, yet at the same time, making it engaging enough for the reader.

What was absolutely fantastic was how you stuck to the "three little pigs" format in this story. The "huff and the puff" became "waved and cursed". Instead of death giving them those items, the brothers found the items, and instead of using them for magic, they used the items to build houses. The parallels drawn were superb and I chuckled (in a dark humour sort of way). Death screaming like the wolf to be let in was also interesting as usually you would expect death to be quiet and sneaky and stealthy, so the personification like that of a wolf is clear. The ending segment was also clever with the invisible bricks and the invisible house being passed on to the son, and mimicking the original story's end of death and the brother meeting or parting as old friends. All in all, loved how creative this was and great writing!

CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshpFlames of Calamity: Brave.

29th April 2017:
Oh dear, this was sad and heart-wrenching but very hopeful at the same time too - a bittersweet fic indeed. I loved how Susan bones is the main character and she reacts like how a normal average person would react in war - she is frozen, terrified, confused, and doesn't know what to do or how to fight. The reaction and her emotions are totally natural. Plus, her best friend Maxine dies, my god, that is awful. Again, her grief and not wanting to carry on totally made sense. The bit about her crying in a corner and hoping no one hit her with a curse and feeling so small that no one even noticed her, so beautifully and tragically written and my heart simply went out to her in that moment. The presence of Zacharias Smith as the one who encourages her was surely a surprising one but it was also very sweet. I liked seeing this side of him where he is helping her and motivating her to keep fighting. The fiendfyre dragon and the way it instilled motivation in her that each one had a dragon inside - that analogy was brilliant and I loved how she did not give up and was able to keep fighting. The last line was simply beautiful and even though this was a short one-shot, it was lovely how you could see the transition in Susan's character and her frame of mind change.

CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshpTask One Challenge: Romanian Longhorn: Task One Challenge: Romanian Longhorn

29th April 2017:
This was a pretty interesting fic! I like how you have written about two of Charlie's interns - most of such dragon related stories usually involve Charlie himself, so it was fascinating to see him in the position of a boss from the point of view of two younger dragon trainers wanting to be more and achieve more in front of his eyes. The use of the crossword to fulfil some of the prompt was very clever and it also added to both of their characterisations by showing how bored they were with their lifestyle there and how much the dragon assigned to them was no such threat. Their emotions on the matter and overall behaviour made sense. I loved when things picked up in pace and action when we heard that Charlie got burned and both of the girls fired up and went to help him. The way you showed Noah noticing that wound on the dragon then trying out the healing salve, that entire bit was written very well and I was holding my breath along with her to see what would happen - and I breathed a sigh of relief when the dragon seemed to be alright. The ending bit was sweet and made me smile at how they both progressed in their work levels and finally did what they had come to train for. Overall, this was light, action packed, dramatic, and very nicely written - loved it!
-CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshpSilky Blue: Silky Blue

28th April 2017:
Oh dear this broke my heart - Dean and Seamus it has to be. While I am not really into them as a ship and I don't read much of LGBT fics, this was absolutely beautiful. Your portrayal of Dean's pain and heartbreak was lovely and heart-wrenching and oh so believable. I absolutely loved the significance of the colour blue - how initially he had that suit, and then later on Dean finds the receipt of the hotel and remembers the blue sheets - from the beginning to the end, it was a full circle, a connecting link, and the way things flowed was brilliant. That is why the title of this one-shot is also perfect. It made my heart ache for poor Dean though - all along Seamus had known and he had been trying to drop hints but Dean had ignored it all, and now Seamus was dead (why was he dead)! He also apparently got his wife (or wife-to-be if they were never did get married) pregnant so that makes me think if Seamus was bi-sexual? Regardless, the fact that they had kissed and yet done nothing about it, especially due to dean's fear of rejection or ruining the friendship - it is tragic but it is also believable and makes sense. I absolutely adored the writing style of this, it had a very haunting sad feel to it, and the little bits in brackets really added colour to the narrative. Well done!
-CTF review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshpIn Absentia: In Absentia

26th April 2017:
Ooh this was an interesting read. At first I thought it's Harry who is dead and Ginny who is alive but by the end it is clear that it is the other way around so nice twist there! Your reflective writing style is brilliant here - there is an almost monotonous tone to it which totally fits in with the character ginny is here as well as how she is not that into Valentine's Day. The bit about how she liked the idea of it as a little girl with candies and hearts but then it got ruined because of the whole singing dwarf thing made sense but also broke my heart a little and I only wanted to hug her. Some things here were relatable too, like sitting alone and devouring chocolate alone on the day and thinking about a future as a cat lady - merlin knows we have all thought of that when single on valentine's day, haha. Ginny's personality touches were there throughout this narrative, from not being a very romantic person, to thinking dryly about forgetting her anniversary one time, to feeling fond of how Harry told her every day that he loved her (very sweet of him - I can totally imagine harry to be a romantic like that). The last bit of regret tugged at my heartstrings though - the things unsaid and how much she wanted to tell her husband again that she loved him, while he is old and a grandfather. All in all, very bittersweet and well-written!

 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshpDeipnophobia: Deipnophobia

25th April 2017:
Haha this was an interesting fic! Glideroy Lockhart being totally vain and self-obsessed, with his smile and his appearances, and because of that being terrified of making dinner conversation lest he spoil his smile! What a unique take for a story. You captured his nervousness and horror at the dinner table and the horrible events that unfolded in an awesome manner. It made me chuckle so much. How he refused to have a sixth nomination made sense after that. Little details like coloring and grooming each teeth, giving himself pep talks that he was amazing in front of the mirror, loving the attention of the media, and yet eating privately in his own house for fear of his smile getting spoiled - they all really added colour to his personality and brought out the characterisation the way we see him in the books. The writing style of this was also very good as it in itself was not funny which would take away from the content but the story narrative made one laugh. All i can think of is that this serves him right because of the kind of person he is. But leaving that aside, I think this was brilliant and you really got into lockhart's head. The letter was also written very well - like a professional from a magazine, so good catch on the tone of it. good work!

 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshpIt's All In Your Head: Chapter One

25th April 2017:
A Lorcan fic, yay! I love how this opens with such beautiful descriptions - makes me want to go to that place where he is at too. And then we slowly learn information about who he is and what is he doing which is a great writing style. He is so happy to be seventeen, to be off-age and that's pretty cool. And woohoo he is head boy! Now that is awesome, and I can see even more why he is so excited and happy. Of course he wants to make it the best year yet, after all who does not want to have their final year as the most memorable?

Hmm there seems to be awkwardness between father and son - is it a strained relationship or Just the way Rolf is? And haha I like how Lorcan doesnt want to do any "hanky panky" with the head girl, cute moment there. And wow what a twist in the end - Lysandra is head girl! BROTHER-SISTER HEAD BOY HEAD GIRL?! now that is unqiue and super fun and interesting to read. I totally cannot wait to see how things turn out. It is interesting that we do not exactly see Lorcan's reaction to the news but somehow the silence seems to say that he does not like it very much, though it could be that his reaction is reserved for the next chapter. Overall, i think this is great!! loved it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshpTaking the Train: Taking the Train

25th April 2017:
Aw, this was so very touching - a reunion between Snape and Harry. Really, this was pretty much needed and I am glad the two got the closure because they both deserved it, after the terrible death Snape went through. I loved your description of this place, it is a lot like Rowling's, and that is commendable. I loved the characterisation of Harry and little things like "Of course, not a one of them had turned out as he would have expected or even hoped. But he couldnít bring himself to love them any less." made me smile and spoke a lot about him as a person and as a father. Your descriptions were also amazing, especially how you describe Death wrapping its cold arms around Harry - that almost gave me chills, the visual was so strong. And then of course, the Snape scene was the best bit - how he described the whole concept of "waiting" for someone in the "after life" after death was very fascinating. His apology also went out to my heart. The bringing up of the fact that he once called him a coward was heartwrenching and again Harry's reaction and way of talking was on point. Snape admitting that Harry is a great man made me smile too. The whole "green eyes met the black" one last time and the "eleven clock" reference, omg my heart stopped and i felt like i was transported to good old harry potter canon again. Very, very beautiful and i think you did full Justice to the scene. great work!

 Report Review

Review #18, by adluvshpKindred Spirits: II

25th April 2017:
Oh, poor, poor Ginny. I love stories reflecting on her and Tom's relationship and it is great you have tackled the topic in such a manner. It is dark and creepy and disturbing but at the same time it is believable. Of course such an incident would have its after effects. Ginny getting nightmares totally makes sense, and then as she reflects on her life - how she started Hogwarts, wanting to have her own adventures, but finding herself overshadowed by the Weasleys, not feeling noteworthy, having low self-esteem due to not fitting in with her friends, it is all realistic and sad. As an eleven year old girl, it is normal to have such insecurities and hers are only enhanced here. And then she finds Tom in such a time - well the diary - of course it is going to get a hold on her. The way he has manipulated her is easily seen - being the kind listener and friend she needed, and that it made her happy is a little frightening to be honest. Worst, the ending bit, where she is clinging on to the memory and wondering if it really is dark, or if something can make her happy then it should not be. Now that is a dangerous path to set on. I wonder how things will shape up further for her. This was a beautiful chapter though with some amazing writing. Loved it, everything from characterisation to flow!

 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshpThe Rules of Motherhood: Dreamer, Writer, Mother

25th April 2017:
Ooh, a very interesting fic - Molly wants to become a writer, wow! I never envisioned her that way but she totally could, I suppose. I love the opening of this chapter really, talking about common dreams and unusual dreams like any other girl. It is interesting that she never wanted to get married - that is a new spin to her character right there and so hard to visualise, so it'll be super interesting to see how she becomes the most awesome mother ever! Her wanting to "wield the magic of words" is also a lovely idea and your descriptions or metaphor of that is fantastic.

Of course then things changed and I liked how you wrote that - she found Arthur and realised she did not need to run away from marriage because she could still be herself alongside someone who loved her. Yet, the pregnancy, of course it hits her hard. It is a huge change and definitely one that I could see her thinking would cause her to give up her dreams. It being too early to have children, less than a year after marriage, and her reaction of the tears and the worry and the empty room, it all fit in together to make sense, and my heart went out to her. The ending broke my heart - she threw the book in the trash can, ghosh. It was like her entirely letting go of her dreams. When she found the book, I thought she would find it within herself to live up to that little Molly's dream and start writing, but alas. Sad note at the end for sure but am curious to read on how she learns to embrace her motherhood and maybe achieve her dreams too!

 Report Review

Review #20, by adluvshpWhen I Go Out With You: One By One

25th April 2017:
Again jumping in the middle coz CTF.

Ooh, Hannah and Susan! They both look adorable together and I could visualise the entire scene in my head - the dance floor, the music, the two girls dancing together and having fun. I love how the characterisations come out through the most subtle of things, like the way Hannah is dependent on Susan in a way, and how Susan seems to be the one who is more "out there". Hannah beginning to feel comfortable in her own skin and feeling so much in love was all very sweet too and brought a smile to my face. Hannah's emotions come through really beautifully in the narrative such as when you say: The world feels so alive, and every face around me seems to glow with beautiful possibility.

It gives me the impression that she is enjoying herself like this after quite a while and slowly learning to simply "be". That expression is lovely. It is interesting how much she loves Susan that does not even feel bothered by the fact that her lover is flirting with someone else. It shows me her security and also how smitten she is - she finds that cute too, and that is very sweet. It speaks of a very healthy relationship! I would love to go back and read the previous chapters to see how it developed and got to the current stage.

And Neville enters! I wonder what role he has to play in the story and how would the events unfold next. The way you introduced his presence in the story was totally dramatic and awesome. Of course he is cute, haha.

Great one!

 Report Review

Review #21, by adluvshpMy Identity: My Husband

25th April 2017:
Sorry for jumping in right in the middle of the story but CTF!

Aw, so Andromeda got married and she does not feel elated or like new bride at all, which is totally understandable under the circumstances they got married in. My heart broke as she reflected over having let go of the dream wedding - of being beautiful and joyous, so very sad. Obviously I do not understand what happened on that first night in his place but it has to have some bad memories that they are not moving into his apartment, hmm. It makes sense that she would find it difficult to live with someone else after having been alone for so long - you really brought that out very well, using great phrasing. "Solitude" almost has a poetic feel to it and then about the married life becoming a routine, ghosh, I wanted to simply give her a hug. And oh dear, then we have the evil sister Bella visiting. I was almost afraid of what would happen when she showed up! The bitterness in Andromeda's words when she said her husband is not dear and not hers confused me a little but I suppose I will understand better if I read on. Bella's attitude towards her sister was not surprising and her words were vindictive and hurtful so good work on the characterisation there.

Ah so they do not know each other all that well before getting married, now things are starting to make sense. It made sense the way the whole Mudblood thing hit Andromeda though ugh. Her reaction was terrible, she does not like him either, ghosh.

OKAY SO ANDROMEDA IS PREGNANT AND THEY GOT MARRIED AND NOW THIS ALL MAKES SENSE THANK HEAVENS.

Sorry about that but I am finally relieved to make sense of things that are happening in the chapter. I am super intrigued to read this from the very beginning too now. Leaving that aside for now, I loved it. The fight between Ted and Andromeda was believable and I felt for both of them. The whole deal about the mudblood and the son and all, realistically written. Andromeda's character is multi-dimensional and great so far. Great story it seems!

 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshp19226: 19226

25th April 2017:
OMG THIS WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! SUCH A WONDERFUL PIECE OF WRITING GAH. excuse me while i take a moment to breathe.

Squeeing aside (have to even though don't want to), this was so so so good. Your writing was mesmerising and beautiful and haunting and creepy and chilling and lovely all at the same time. The phrases you use, and the repetition, especially how the first segment repeats itself in the last segment, wow just plain wow. What floored me was how we don't immediately realise what is going on - at first I thought ginny is at Hogwarts with the diary but then I realise this is an AU where she has been diagnosed (Muggle hospital?) and Tom is her hallucination! You bring it out slowly and beautifully and smoothly. The way she is ensnared by his writing is tragic and heartbreaking and at the same time makes so much sense with the way we saw how the diary-tom was in the books. The description of the ink being seductive was pure poetry. I love such amazing metaphors. How she talks about no one ever understanding her connection with Tom is also so on point - it was a strange, strange thing that they shared in canon and you have built upon that wonderfully here. I always wondered how she got out of it without any post-traumatic effects so your take on her situation here is sad but also believable. The use of the imagery is vivid and beautiful and pulled me right in too and not to mention the writing style that comes across almost like poetry, it is enchanting. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

-CTF review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #23, by adluvshpLetters From the Sky: I.

25th April 2017:
A Severus-Lily tale, my heart broke, excuse me while I cry. You really wrote this beautifully though. I absolutely loved your descriptions and the way you used emotions to divide the segments. From reminisce to love to regret to mournful, each emotion was apt and explained beautifully through the scene and its narrative. The gradual evolution of Lily and Severus' friendship came through splendidly, as did the changes in Severus' behaviour towards her and in general. I loved the first bit where the first time exposure to magic is being talked about and how he saw Lily smile, it was very sweet. And then as they grew distant in Hogwarts was sad and written well. The whole lake scene - your additional prelude to what we saw in canon where they have a fight over her having forgotten the meeting and Severus being so rude to her and then being upset over her not having cried enough was done very well. It showed that his love was selfish and crazy too, no matter how much loved her. He grew to hate her at the same time, or at least he wanted to, and that is awful. The mournful bit is the most tragic of course, and despite everything, his love was unconditional and that was a very nice note to end this on. It was bittersweet and I really liked reading it.
-CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #24, by adluvshpRegulus Arcturus Black: Now I Was Gone

25th April 2017:
Oh dear, poor poor Regulus. This totally shattered my heart. As it is, his life was tragic and on top of that you have given him a lost love, poor thing. The idea of him being a death eater alongside a love interest is so sad - and it is worse that in the end she did not care for him and was ready to watch him die alongside her dark lord even though she claimed to love him. I suppose her obsession with the dark magic and voldemort overpowered her love for him, but I wonder if she really loved him or was merely using him. Your phrasing of "candy coated misery" to describe her was perfect and i could visualise her as this beautiful blonde who was basically uncaring and manipulative. The progression of their relationship was shown brilliantly here, using those "blinks" to divide the segments and touch upon one important moment of their relationship where something changed, be it the first time they were together or their friendship or when regulus started disliking what he was being forced to do under voldemort but this girl liking it all and encouraging him to not quit. Kreacher being the last straw tied in very smoothly with canon too and worked well for the narrative at the same time. I also liked your descriptions as they gave the right amount of information and enough to connect with the character and feel for him. The last line was truly heartwrenching, after seven years of love, this is over in this manner, ghosh. Beautiful writing!
-CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review

Review #25, by adluvshpHormones: Letís Start at the Beginning

25th April 2017:
This seems like a very fun story and I am so excited that it is about Fred Weasley! While this kind of story is usually not my cup of tea as I steer clear of Next-gen in Hogwarts kind of fics, except for a rare one every now and then, I have to say the first chapter of this was very likeable. You started off on an interesting note with Ryan Davies screaming at Fred from outside the bathroom - I was intrigued as to why she was so angry. And it was a clever way to give us some information about her too, by using that list through Fred's head. She seems like a fiery character and I love that she is a Claw. I am very curious to see how her relationship with Fred progresses. James and Ollie sound like the most perfect couple ever, usually fics portray him as some sort of a player or ladies man, but here you have him in a serious committed relationship and that is pretty cool. Oh and Annie - she seems the sweetest! I adore how you describe her as the quiet one, the one who listens to Fred, and it's lovely that they are besties. The ending segment with Rose and Albus was nicely done too and I think so far you have done a great job of providing the premise and introducing the essential characters. The narrative has the right touch of humor too, and while this is not the type of thing I would normally read, I enjoyed reading this here!

-CTF Review by Angie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>