writers block

Writers block for the common cold?
I don't know but I have it bad. I f I have an idea I can't seem to write it out, it's blocked. So if you could please help me with my stories that would be awesoms?.

JMilz

Head of Ravenclaw House
I don't know but I have it bad. I f I have an idea I can't seem to write it out, it's blocked. So if you could please help me with my stories that would be awesoms?.
Start with an outline. Chapter-by-chapter. Then write it poorly. It will be a dreadful first draft, but then you'll go through and read it over and fix it once, then twice, and three, four, maybe five times. Each time you'll find a way to expand on it, and voila!

I've been writing for 20 years and I thought writer's block was a thing for about 15 of them. I learned better when I learned to just write my ideas poorly andfix them up later. It works.

PH71

I find its best to just have a few days off if you're lacking inspiration. Try and dedicate a certain day or time where you consistently write, then it becomes a routine.

For me I go to work about an hour and a half later on Wednesdays than any other day, so I dedicate the spare hour+ in the morning to writing. A lot of the time I stem good stuff in this time and then in the days that follow I have a lot of inspiration to come back to and keep writing.

RDeHwyl

Looking to rebuild my HP Research Library -- looking for Canon maps of Hogwarts, Hogsmeade, Diagon Alley, information pertaining to location of Diagon Alley in London, and other magical enclaves. My Storage terabyte hiccupped and I can't seem to find what I had...

PH71

Have gone about 3 weeks without writing anything which seems mad considering I've been super active throughout Covid. Maybe I'll just take it as a break and feel fresh in a few weeks when I come back to it.

Ginny Lovegood