Reading Reviews for Following the Footsteps
  
109 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Siriusly89 Wormtail

14th July 2013:
I'm always apprehensive about people writing Peter's POV, because they either make him out to be a sadistic monster, or try and justify his actions. I trust you though!

I like Peters thinking, he still likes his friends, but it sort of has an. . .edge? Yes, and edge to it which sort of foreshadows the future.

Ugh, Lucius Malfoy. Of course it would have to be him, wouldn't it? Evil canevil. Peter was strong though, but you can see that he has a sort of, bitterness inside him, and he is right, the temptation will be too much next time the poor thing. I like the way you wrote him though! I was right to trust you! You wrote him neutrally, didn't take sides, which is one of the reasons I chose to review your pieces!

Thank you for these and the one-shot! :D huuugs!

Author's Response: I agree that writing from Peter's POV is a huge challenge, mostly because the series places him in such an antagonistic position. We recognize him as the traitor before anything else, and that means a lot of bias comes through in stories. What I tried to do with this story was avoid as much bias as possible, preventing Peter from appearing either pathetic or evil. I see Peter as being slightly ambitious, but also incredibly anxious, the tension between these two opposing traits constantly threatening to tear him apart.

I'm really glad to hear that you liked how I characterized him in this story. I means a lot to hear that! Thank you again for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusly89 Moony

14th July 2013:
Awh! Angsty Remus. . . .

I hate that he feels so alone. But his insight into Peter really was spot on, wasn't it? James and Sirius really don't seem to notice it, but Remus does! Remus see's that he isn't quite so willing, or accepting!

Ah! Now I see it! Peter is so afraid that James, Sirius and Remus are going to drop him, that he gives himself bruises! Thats where he got the pain threshold to bite off his own finger! It all falls into place!

Remus describing the loneliness really got to me (the poor thing!) but then you sort of cheered me up with the little piece on Sirius and Remus' relationship! James was always a bit too happy-go-lucky to really understand what either of them were going through, wasn't he? You captured that so well here!

Only one more chapter :( sob!

Author's Response: I always imagined that Remus would have the most discerning eye of the Marauders, whether it be because of his wolfishness (which might allow him to see more, even in human more) or because his condition makes him less trusting of others. Yet in the end, just before Lily and James's deaths, he still suspects Sirius instead of Peter. It's interesting.

Anyway, thank you again for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriusly89 Prongs

14th July 2013:
Chapter Two!

Oh James, the line about him not being in love with his broomstick but a -waitforit- GIRL made me laugh out loud! (bad idea seeing as its twenty past midnight and the rest of the house is asleep :P)

Ah James, you're hopeless. Lily really does hate him, doesn't she? Any normal lad would have given up by now (but we know the persistence pays off in the end!)

I am very serious, you portray them so well! Their advice, mannerisms, everything! I'm so glad I got to read these (and I still have two more chapters to go, whoop whoop!)

Aaaah! Lily said yes! I had a feeling she would, but lets face it, who doesn't love a happy ending?

See you in the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, it's so much fun to write James's perspective - after this story, I did it a couple more times because his voice just comes out so easily. He's laid back and careless, yet with an interesting hidden depth - on the whole, though, there's a lot less drama associated with his story, if any at all. It makes him entirely different to write, and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed how it turned out in this story. :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing again! I look forward to seeing what you think about the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriusly89 Padfoot

14th July 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here (still!)

Words cannot say how much I love the Marauders, so needless to say I'm looking forward to reading your spin on them!

Sirius describing his feeling of freedom when he was disowned. Its a bit sad isn't it, that he feels that way. Then his casual way of saying he was disowned-so Sirius- and then Remus' reaction, you really have all their personalities down to a T!

Bellatrix, evil old (well young in this but still!) biddy! I loved James' plans for Snape though, personally I loved the plan to give him shampoo for Christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for stopping by to read and review! I wasn't expecting any new reviews for this story - it's buried so far down my author page - but it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed this one-shot. This was my first real shot at writing them, and it was a great experience to work through the various cliches and canon facts to try and get at the character behind them.

It's sad that the only way Sirius could achieve the kind of freedom he wanted was by running away from home. How much does he try and hide behind his rebellious exterior, though - he sounds casual, but you can just imagine how confused and empty he must be feeling. There's exhilaration at the freedom, but also a sense of loss that I don't think he was ever able to cope with.


 Report Review

Review #5, by stretchthetruth Wormtail

11th January 2011:
Wow, it's so poetic! I can barely resist rushing to read all your other stories but I'm going to abstain so as not to clog up your reviews! Expect some more tomorrow though :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you again! It's wonderful to hear such compliments! I'm so glad to have found your reviews (this being an old story, I didn't notice them at first, my apologies). ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by stretchthetruth Moony

11th January 2011:
It's so great when you find a really good author, especially when they've written so much!
The end actually gave me chills when his mind changed!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! :O I have written a lot, that's true, but it's fantastic to hear that you think I'm really good! It's made my day. ^_^

Oooh, that ending was fun to write! It's been a while, so I'd forgotten about it until you mentioned it. It was quite something to actually make Remus transform over the course of the story.


 Report Review

Review #7, by stretchthetruth Prongs

11th January 2011:
I love how you've given Prongs such a different voice to Padfoot, it's like a school when you're supposed to write in the voice of a character but no on ever can! Hats off to you :)

Author's Response: It was fun to experiment with voices in this story collection, and I'm glad that they do sound like different people - I sometimes have issues making my male characters all sound alike. ;)

It's wonderful that you've enjoyed this, thank you very much! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by stretchthetruth Padfoot

11th January 2011:
I feel like my vocabulary is seriously lacking, I have a dictionary open in another tab :) That only reiterates how good an author you are though!

Author's Response: lol, really? I must have been showing off when I wrote this, as I didn't realize the kind of language I was using! Unless I meant for Sirius to sound this way... can't remember.

Thank you very much for the compliment! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #9, by miss marauder Wormtail

6th September 2009:
wow! this a really, really awesome story!! although i dont like peter, it's good to know that he wasnt always the bad guy.
anyway, i really like your story and i would like to know if you have written any other stories as i would very much like to read them.
oh and by-the-way great banner!! it's one of the few banners that are actually good!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Yes, I wanted to show Peter before his betrayal - he had to be the Marauder's friend for a reason, especially to be so trusted by them. :)

I do have a lot of other stories if you're interested - you can take a look at my author page and see if there's anything else you might like. :) And the banner! I'm really glad that you liked it - it's something different I'd tried out. :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderqueen Wormtail

26th August 2009:
Really really liked this story. It was great.
I liked the way you made all the characters.
marauderqueen
10

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's really wonderful that you enjoyed it. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by sreduaram Wormtail

26th July 2009:
Peter has character depth!!! yay! you have no idea how much it excites me that first off he's actually included in this, and secondly that he has depth, instead of being some stupid little idiot. amazing chapter! i really do just love how you've portrayed each of the marauders individually and as a whole :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes! I wrote this in order to show that Peter could be portrayed as a good, even strong character deserving of being a Marauder. It's fantastic that you liked this as, even after all this time, Peter still isn't given many positive roles in fanfiction.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by sreduaram Moony

26th July 2009:
wow. that is just insanely, wow. its just so remus! and the end where he transform, the short words just seems to spell out his loss of coherency as a person. loooved this chapter! its so very remus lupin.

Author's Response: This one was really exciting to write, especially with the ending being so horrifying as he loses control of his mind. It's wonderful that you enjoyed it! Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by sreduaram Prongs

26th July 2009:
that is an incredibly cute way for James to ask her out :)
it just seemed to encapture James the way you wrote it, more carefree in comparison to sirius. and i love the slight humour through the writing

Author's Response: James is a great character to write, though I don't know why, since I don't exactly like him. His love for Lily makes him so funny to write and I'm really glad you like how he turned out here. :D

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by sreduaram Padfoot

26th July 2009:
i'm liking the beginning of this :) i think you've potrayed each of the characters really well, especially the hostility between sirius and rest of his family. them freaking out remus is a nice lighter bit aswell

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Wow, this is an old story, but I'm glad that you're liking it so far! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by girly1393 Wormtail

26th April 2009:
You are right, Peter wasn't always a traitor. It's nice to see him refusing the things we know he later accepts. It's so moving. Beautiful. Kind. Daring, Amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^ It always bothered me how bad a rap Peter gets in fanfiction, so I wrote this in reaction. I'm really glad that you liked how it turned out. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by girly1393 Moony

26th April 2009:
Intense. Wow. Way hardcore. Deep, strong. I loved the ending, how you showed how his mind changed. How his mind worked on full moons. It was marvelous.

Maybe that's why he's so brilliant; because he loses himself once a month entirely.

Author's Response: A bit of a jump from the previous chapter, yes. :P It was interesting writing this part because of how Remus loses himself at the end - my inspiration came from the transformation scene in PoA (probably the movie more than the book... *looks innocent*).

Thank you again for taking the time to review! I really appreciate hearing form you. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by girly1393 Prongs

26th April 2009:
That was cool. James was worried and it was sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'm glad you like this! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by girly1393 Padfoot

26th April 2009:
Gentler and kinder than I had anticipated of Sirius. Bravo.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Gentler and kinder, eh? I can't remember this story much, but I'll have to look back at it to see. ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by nire Prongs

26th April 2009:
“Well, Potter, are you going to tell me or just stand there looking at me?”

“You’re nice to look at, though,” I burst out, hearing Padfoot’s snicker from down the table.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! It's like a mixture of hilarity and cuteness. I love James. He is really such a nice guy. I was so excited to read this chapter.
I love how you portray Lily in James' eyes. It's so endearing.

Author's Response: James is SO much fun to write in the first person. I don't know why, since he's not my favourite character or anything, but imagining him as that boy for Lily, always hopeful and always rejected, makes me enjoy writing him. He's just so silly and endearing. ^_^ I'm really glad that you liked him in this.

Thank you again for the wonderful reviews! I haven't looked back at these old stories for a while, so it's nice to revisit them. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverShadow04 Prongs

2nd April 2008:
That was so sweet I was cheering for James too :)

Author's Response: Thanks! James is a sweet guy to write, haha. ;)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ollie Vander Wormtail

26th February 2008:
Hm.very very good. Very thought provoking. ANouther great chapter, I just thought Peter was a little too thoughtful. The rest of it was amazing though. Great, great job with this story.

Author's Response: I was probably trying too hard to redeem him from canon. *sigh* Oh well, but I'll remember that for next time I write Peter (as I do have another Peter story started). Thank you very much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ollie Vander Moony

26th February 2008:
*Shivers* Too good. You explained Moony the way I would. Thoughtful, much more than James or Sirius. Good job and once again, I'll ttyl in the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you muchly! =D This was a chilling chapter to write, especially at the end. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ollie Vander Prongs

26th February 2008:
Anouther great chapter keeping to the characters and I'll write more later.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ollie Vander Padfoot

26th February 2008:
I usually don't comment on every chapter, but wow. This was great. Let me just say that your representation of all the mauraders (especially Sirius) and Snape, was one of the best I have ever read. Congrats! I am going to read more right now.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Since this was my first story, it's great to know that the portrayals of the characters are still accurate. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by beating_faster Wormtail

3rd February 2008:
You did Rowling's Pettigrew complete justice. Wow. It's so believable, his road going this way. I'm also relieved we finally learned why Peter had all those bruises and things on him. You explained it so near to the end, I thought you weren't going to ever, and then that would have been a cruel cliffhanger. The writing's flawless in this one, and just completely...right. Thanks for writing it. =D

Author's Response: I most certainly don't like being too cruel with my cliffhangers - the reader had to learn the root of Peter's issues before the end. Though putting it right at the end was a tad cruel on my part. :P

Wow, thank you for those wonderful compliments - this and the Remus part are my favourites of this collection, and it's great that you liked this one about Peter. He's such an underrated and despised character. Thank you again for taking the time to review. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>