Reading Reviews for The Properties of Mistletoe
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ImaRavenclaw Chapter One

14th February 2017:
Ooooh fake dating trope, Paula this bribery simply wonít do! Haha, just kidding. My love of fake dating tropes is my little secret (uh, I guess itís not super secret anymore).

More bribery? I laughed so hard when I read he had been angry when he wrote that he would, in fact, be home for Christmas and moreover, his mother should set a place for his plus one. He adamantly ignored the crumpled up parchment in the mesh bin where his mother not-so-subtly implied that perhaps he and his cousin, Rose, had some sort of weird sharing relationship with her boyfriend Scorpius and that she would understand if he never gave her grandkids. ISB. Implied Scorbus Bribery.

And of course classic Ginny ďdonít worry about not giving us any grandchildren.Ē

Since you know I review as I read Iím now commenting on my first view of Ellie. She seems interesting. I wonder what Albus is thinking about by how he says (well not HIM, but ominous narrator) her interruptions are more than welcomed.

Oh my God thatís so like Albus, briefly considering whether or not faking his death over the holidays would be too extreme and dramatic. I love it!

Honestly Paula if you were a witch thereís no way you wouldnít be a potioneer.

I was not expecting him to proposition that. Co-authors on his Elixir article? Really?

Thereís the catch.

She has the right to be mad, but this is totally sexual tension and I want a sequel Paula!

I really loved it, and if you win itís not just because youíre a good friend of mine.

Yours sincerely,
Lily

 Report Review

Review #2, by victoria_anne Chapter Two

23rd January 2017:
Oh dear Thor above, who can resist fake dating at Christmas?

HELLO MY LOVELY LOVER LOVE. I LOVE YOU.

I was in the mood for something deliciously fluffy, but you have some darker looking stories on your page now, and I couldn't choose, what's a girl to do? D:

But Christmas fluff it is! (Even if I'm a month late) (But you know what they say) (Better late than clever) (Or something)

*cough* what underground dragon trade *cough*

My heart just swells at these two little nerds together. They complete each other. I love how she's so clever and he's a bit derp.

NOW KISS.

Moody and broody. Now those are two words to describe Albus Potter.

SQUEE. GIMMEMORE. These two have such great chemistry and they don't even know it. Plus I want to see more of the Potter family over Christmas!



 Report Review

Review #3, by putitonpaper Chapter Two

28th December 2016:
Time out! This is amazing. It's like everything I wanted Cursed Child to be. Light-hearted, fun, with a look into the life of the Potter family.

The family banter. Superb -- Harry calling his future daughter in law "what's her face", Ginny and Harry's reaction upon seeing their son, Ginny's "And we've heard nothing about you" -- yas, yasss to all of this.

I know I said this in the last review but your Al really does give me LIFE. -- stopping on the side of the road for the wild ghost orchid, the fact that he forgot the presents!, the fact that he doesn't recognize sarcasm - like yasss this is Al- my heart swells, my heart swells!!

Nerdy!Al for the win. Seriously. Loving this. Can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #4, by RubyEyes123 Chapter Two

28th December 2016:
I love this story so far and I hope u update. I have never read a story quite like this, the fake dating is a classic, but you wrote it in a way that made it lighthearted and I love that!
Update Soon!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Giu9_RedandGold Chapter Two

26th December 2016:
Hi!

I'm glad that you updated. When you posted the first chapter I wasn't sure about it, but after reading the second I decided I like it! Yes! This is exactly the kind of story I need right now. It's lighthearted and simple and the characters so far are entertaining and it has awkward-Albus which, in my opinion, is always positive!

So yeah, I like it!!! Keep updating!
Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LunaStellaCat Chapter One

25th December 2016:
This is cute. I am going through and reading submissions for the challenge. I never thought about post secondary education programs for wizards. Would he not be "Professor" instead of "Doctor" here? I don't know about European schools. I might be missing something there. Your magical terms like "Boggart" and things need to be capitalized and follow the style of the books. Quite a few people miss that.

It's an interesting piece. I like that Albus is struggling with the idea of facing his parents as he heads home for the holidays. I was of a similar mood this year. This made me laugh. .

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving such a sweet review!

As she is his peer, I prefer for her to address him as 'Doctor' instead of 'Professor' seeing as they both hold doctorates (more of this will be discussed in the third chapter when I get around to posting it). We do this in my department (I'm a molecular bio grad student) and it feels much more natural and true to academia.

I'm not a fan of the book capitalization rules so I don't use them. I wouldn't capitalize 'dog' or 'cat' so I'm not changing basic grammar rules just because another author did! ;D I think we have an entire thread debating it on HPFT.

Seriously, thanks for leaving such a wonderful review with helpful suggestions!


 Report Review

Review #7, by putitonpaper Chapter One

25th December 2016:
I love your Albus! He reminds me a little bit of BBC's Sherlock but not as ridiculous and socially awkward. And I do love that he's a professor. I'm reading this and I'm like "of course Albus Potter is a professor with poor social skills who doesn't let anyone coauthor with him." And then I'm like "of course Ginny tricked him into agreeing to bring a date." This feels like canon to me ha!

And personally I'm a fan of all the tropes! Especially fake dating! This is superb. I'm excited to see what you do with this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :D

I prefer to write my Potter boys as less suave than I tend to read them! I think they'd be every bit as bumbling as Harry! Plus I have a thing for charming, socially awkward boys! Comparison to Sherlock is easily the nicest comment I've ever received!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ernie_the_Dino Chapter One

18th December 2016:
Hi, just read your first chapter. It was very good, if a little short. I really like the ideas and Albus's train of thought, but there was the odd point or two where you seemed to switch perspectives rather fast and not too clearly.

Otherwise, brilliant, can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Hi! :D

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. The entire story is meant to be full of short chapters! If you've read anything else I've written you'd know I tend to get a long winded so I'm trying to counter that!

I'll go back and edit the chapters to make the transitions smoother!

Thanks for the helpful feedback!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login