Reading Reviews for Witchful Thinking
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by luna1306 Standing Room Only

5th April 2017:
You know I'm really starting to feel a bit sorry for Percy. People never want to hear what he has to say. What if he actually does have something interesting to say? He can't be all boring and dull. So sad.
This Christmas chapter did live up to my expectations but I think it's just hard too really feel that Christmas vibe in April.
Arthur always makes me laugh he is always really similar in fanfic to the real story and I really like that.
From now on I might be a bit later with reviewing because I have to read a lot of books for school right now so I won't be able to read as much here as I'd like to.

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Heh! I'm sure the things that Percy says are interesting to himself ;) And yes, he has much more depth of character than he's been given in this chapter. Maybe I'll give him a little role later on, who knows?

As always, your review made me chuckle. I hope school goes well and don't neglect your studies for this fanfiction! The stories you read will still be here when your RL reading has been done :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #2, by WizardsOnlyFools Standing Room Only

3rd April 2017:
Okay, quickly before I forget, Sunny's mother (blanking on her name!) said Merry Christmas to Al in the last chapter. Is it said that way for those who practice that in India, similar to the U.S., instead of the British "Happy Christmas"? Just curious. :)

Alright, on to this chapter! Definitely some fluff, but I think every story needs that from time to time to lighten things up and remove all tensions from the characters. And it served to introduce Iris to the extended family!

I can imagine it's tough trying to live up to people's expectations of how characters act/react/feel, but don't worry, you did a great job! Everyone felt pretty natural and I loved George's doting on his granddaughter. I did expect Al to break his broken engagement news more publicly, but I'm sure he doesn't want Iris there to have deal with it when he does. Also, I'm glad Al wasn't too proud to ask his Father for help. It can only be a benefit down the road.

As always, looking forward to the next installment! Thanks for a great chapter!

P.S. Your updates are far quicker than a lot of peoples, so thanks for that too! :)

Author's Response: Hello Wizard, thank you so much for another kind and thought-provoking review!

Many people here (in the UK) use the terms "Merry" and "Happy" interchangeably, so I decided to vary it a bit between the characters :D

I'm so pleased that the Weasleys didn't seem completely OOC, phew! Al held back because he's not really one for public announcements; he'd rather let the news filter out :)

I've just started writing the next chapter, but I have a few distractions this week, so not sure when it will be finished. Hopefully soon

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #3, by Hasane Standing Room Only

2nd April 2017:
hey, thanks for the shout out! it's totally nice to know that my fangirly reviews help you out somewhat in regards to motivation.

that aside... this chapter was so cute!! i love the interactions of the whole entire family (even if all the fluff is not all i am used to reading), it made me feel like it was christmas in april! i absolutely loved the bit where iris was scared that her teacher was there, it was such an iris thing to do!

this was fillery, but maybe it just sets the stage for more drama. i didn't mind reading it though, i always am excited when the story has updated!!

Author's Response: Hey Hasane, thank you for another lovely review!

I must admit, it was a little difficult to get into a festive spirit in March for the purposes of this story, but I hope the sentiment came across okay. I'm not a natural when it comes to writing fluff!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #4, by Speakeasy Standing Room Only

2nd April 2017:
Another great chapter. I really likes this story.

Author's Response: Hi Speakeasy, thank you so much for your kind comments! I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed this chapter :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #5, by ronmyfav Festive Resolutions

31st March 2017:
Lovely chapter :) especially loved the part where Al comes to pick up Iris and the beautiful gift to Sunita. Finally Della has left, but I guess she is gonna keep creating problems :/
I am very excited for the New Year party now :D

Author's Response: Hi ronmyfav

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for continuing to review! It makes me really happy to hear that you enjoyed this chapter :) The next chapter is awaiting validation and should be ready to read soon!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #6, by Fugacity Festive Resolutions

29th March 2017:
Interesting, well developed story. Iris sounds cute and you have done a good job at describing her and her reactions and thoughts in an age appropriate manner - meaning she actually sounds the age she is supposed to be. I've seen far too many stories where little kids sound mature beyond their actual ages because the authors cannot seem to get the dialog and such down correctly for a young child. Even JKR had a bit of difficulty with that from time to time but made up for it with an enthralling story.

I got to the end of chapter 14 and thought "Well that's not a complete story". I was much relieved when I noticed that it was marked as WIP, not Complete.
Keep up the good work - and tyr to keep it classy even if it is marked as "M" for it's rating

Author's Response: Hello Fugacity. Yay, a new reader! Welcome, and many thanks for your kind comments :)

Children can be quite difficult to write, so I'm really glad that Iris comes across as realistic for her age. Now that I'm more acquainted with her character, she's becoming easier and more fun to develop, but I do have to constantly remind myself that she's only seven-and-a-half - i.e. would she say/do/think that?

Haha! Yeah, there's a way to go with this story yet. Be warned - it could drag on for a while. I hope it continues to hold your interest, though. It's rated M for some scenes and swearing, but I'll try and keep the bad language to a minimum.

Thank you so much for finding the time to read my story and leave this review - I really appreciate it :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hasane Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Delilah's swift mood changes are troubling. Her threats are troubling! EVERYTHING ABOUT HER IS TROUBLING WOW

I'm concerned for her despite the fact she literally threatened to kill Al. Because in any case that's not normal.

On the other hand, is it just me or did Sunny and Al get cuter?? They're really developing as far as their relationship goes, and Iris doesn't make much of an appearance but she still brighten's up the chapter with her *sunny* personality.

Okay, that pun was pretty bad. :^)

Author's Response: Lol! Actually, I love puns, so you can keep them coming :D

Delilah is one of those people who is really nice when things are going her way, but turns into a monster if they're not! If Delilah took an MBI test, she would probably be ENTJ-T :)

Ah, Sunita and Al! I love writing scenes for those two :*)

Thank you so much for your fantastic review :) I hope to read more of your story soon!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #8, by luna1306 Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Hey Brax!

I absolutely adored this chapter, Christmas is just sooo wonderful!
Even though it's march i always appreciate a bit of Christmas reading.
Sunny is just such a good person, she knows she shouldn't kiss Al when he's still engaged and I think it really shows who she is as a person when she stops the kiss.
And GOD Della what Is she up too!! She might be real dangerous.
I am excited for next chapter to see a wonderful Christmas with the potter/Weasley (hopefully)

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Luna :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! I love me a bit of Christmas too, although it does feel a bit strange to be writing festive scenes in March!

Ah, Sunita - she would have hated for Al to get into trouble over a kiss! She is intrinsically a good person with morals :)

As for Delilah ... who knows? ;)

I really hope you enjoy the next chapter! Thank you for continuing to be brilliant and so supportive of this story. I don't think it would have got this far without you :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #9, by blackzero Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Finally Al breaks up with Dellla...Can't wait for next since the story has now got a lot nore interesting.Thanks for the update

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoy the next chapter :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #10, by WizardsOnlyFools Festive Resolutions

21st March 2017:
Another great chapter! I'm glad Al didn't wait to resolve the break from Della, even if it did cause him bodily harm to do so. Also that he and Sunny did nothing more than a simple kiss (credit to Sunny of course). Otherwise he might have felt too much guilt to break it off with Della, besides it being just not a great thing to do while currently in a relationship haha.
I can totally see how being blindsided by Al like that without a real reason would turn her into "hell hath no fury like a scorned woman" mode, but then again that list of attributes only compounds the fact that she's a terrible match for him.

Very excited for the New Year's party, though something tells me Delilah has something unfortunate in store for Albus sometime soon.

Also, it should be interesting (in a morbid sense, I guess) to see how Vijay's inevitable death affects the story and how all the different character cope. But glad he's still hanging in there for the time being!

Thanks for another great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank YOU for another fabulous review! Seriously, feedback like this is the fuel on which this story runs :)

Al doesn't really like conflict, but Delilah forced his hand with her constraints, and then escalated the situation to the point where he had to take defensive action. But hey, he's a Healer and can mend himself!

In Al's mind, things were already over with Delilah when he kissed Sunita, so even if Sunny had let him go further, it's doubtful he would have felt much guilt ;)

Heh. I hope the New Year chapter lives up to your expectations :) I'm still writing the Christmas one...

Many thanks once again for reading and reviewing!

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #11, by ronmyfav A Problem Shared

18th March 2017:
Finally!! Finally Al told about his feelings to both of them :) :D Great chapter :) I am very happy that the next one is already ready :)

Author's Response: Hello :) Thank you so much for this review!

Yeah, Al really needed someone to help him sort through his emotions in this chapter, and Sunita was the perfect person for that :) I'm very glad that you enjoyed reading it!

The next chapter is ready to go; I'll upload it soon.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #12, by WizardsOnlyFools A Problem Shared

18th March 2017:
Wow! I'm loving this fan fiction!! Your writing style is so easy to read and the character interactions are so natural, I read your prequel and up to this chapter in Witchful Thinking in the last 5 hours. So good! I think I'm enjoying this story more than the last only because of the wider range of characters and probably because Iris is so damn adorable.
You're very talented at bringing characters to life without drowning the reader in details, which is awesome and greatly appreciated. Even the very small scene with Roxie a few chapters back makes me interested in knowing more about her.

I'm glad Al didn't let his awkwardness about his feelings toward Sunny get in the way seeking her out for comfort, especially when it resulted in the confession of said feelings and the kiss! Woo!

Keep up the amazing work and I'm very much looking forward the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hello :)

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! I get so excited when "new" readers come along and I'm so touched that you've said such lovely things about this story :) And the fact that you've spent five hours reading it all? *faints*

It's funny you should mention Roxie, because my next novel-length story revolves around her (it's set in the same AU as this one, so there'll be quite a bit of character overlap). I'm already really excited that someone might want to read it and I haven't even started writing it yet!

Thank you so much for this review - you've made me very happy indeed :) I really hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #13, by luna1306 A Problem Shared

18th March 2017:
they went back! they went back to that place.

you know i only just realized i totally forgot that they are still so young! like 25? crazy...
im glad Al told sunny about his problems with delilah. AND THEY KISSED. after so long they finally realize they both still have feeling for each other, and that its mutual. (did i spell that correctly? i'm not english.)

oh and my deathly hallows sign! i have it on my phone and so if i type dh it makes △⃒⃘, and now i just want to use it all the time.

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Hello! I wondered where you were; I was hoping you'd review this chapter and let me know your thoughts :)

Yes, they are both still so young. Well, Sunita has just turned 26 and Al is still 25, but neither person is old. And yay! They kissed! I wanted them to hold off for longer but they couldn't wait ;)

You spelt mutual correctly, btw :)

Thank you so much for reviewing. You've made my day!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #14, by blackzero A Problem Shared

17th March 2017:
Excellent... Update soon.I started some time ago read it it all in a single go.Suoerb

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you! I'm really glad you've enjoyed this story so far :) I'll upload the next chapter soon.

Cheers for reading and reviewing :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #15, by Speakeasy A Problem Shared

16th March 2017:
Not the kind of fireworks i was expecting but hey im not complaining. Maybe some more of Harry if Albus is concerned about Sunnys and Iris safety. Thanks for the fast upload.

Author's Response: Hello :)

You're very welcome re the fast upload! In fact, the next chapter is ready to be validated, but I might hold off publishing it until I've written the one after it...

Thank you so much for reviewing! I hope you enjoyed this chapter, even if it wasn't quite what you were expecting :) And yes, perhaps Harry's assistance might be required soon :)

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #16, by Hasane A Problem Shared

15th March 2017:
FEELINGS. FEELINGS EVERYWHERE.

GAHHH!

So, anyways, aside from that little freakout.

I'm so glad they kissed. It really was about time.

Al's in quite the situation isn't he? At least he siphoned up the courage to say something to Delilah. Speaking of, I literally do not understand how Delilah can be so delusional about all of this. I do kind of understand why she is doing this, after all she is the one being thrown away. Of course it hurts, but there has to be a bit of empathy there? Even sympathy? She had to have noticed that Al hasn't been as "loving" as before, considering how threatened she feel by Sunny. I just don't think she's as shallow, vapid, or stupid as she makes herself out to be.

Author's Response: Heh! I absolutely love your response!

Al has definitely got himself into a bit of a situation. There might be more to Delilah than meets the eye, or there might not ;) Without writing from Delilah's POV (which I'm not planning on at the moment; I think 3 POVs are probably enough), it will be hard to reveal absolutely everything about her.

I have so many pages written on everyone's characters! Let me know if you would like to read any particular character synopses at the end of this story :)

Thank you so so much for your reviews! They always give me food for thought.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #17, by rusty Tricky

15th March 2017:
Hi, just stumbled across your story and I'm really enjoying it - thank you! So nice to find a fresh story line. Loving the characters too.
This is the first time I've got hooked on a story that's still being written. So frustrating! 😉 Thank you for updating so quickly.

Author's Response: Hey!

It's so great to be able to welcome a new reader to this story :) Unfortunately, you're right that it's still in the process of being written i.e. I haven't even got a plan for three chapters ahead yet, let alone drafted anything! However, the next chapter is in the validation queue and the one after that is nearly done, so... ;)

Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope you continue to enjoy it!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #18, by ronmyfav Tricky

14th March 2017:
Hello!
I read Wiching hour few days back and loved it. Never expected that it will have sequel. I was so excited when I came to know there was a sequel to that.
The story so far is amazing. I really want to appreciate and thank you for this work. I am eagerly waiting for the next one. Al better break up with Della soon.
I am so in love with Iris. She is so sweet. Also I would like to add it is so cute of her calling her grandparents Patti and Thatha :) Being a Tamil person myself, it feels very nice to read that :)
Keep up the good work! Waiting for Al and Sunita to get together :D

Author's Response: Hello!

It's always great to hear from a new reader :) and I love that you appreciate the South Indian references in this story! I wanted to write something that Indian readers could identify with; as a population, I consider we're under-represented in fanfiction.

As for whether Al will break up with Delilah soon - I'm not saying!! ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story. I'm really glad that you are enjoying it so far, and I hope you continue to. Next chapter should be up soon :)

Brax X





 Report Review

Review #19, by Speakeasy Tricky

14th March 2017:
Della is a interesting character. I sense that there might be fireworks in the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hello, and many thanks for reading and reviewing!

I'm not giving anything away about the next chapter ;) but it's in the validation queue so hopefully you'll find out soon!

Thank you so much for continuing to support this story; these reviews keep this thing going!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #20, by Giu9_RedandGold Tricky

14th March 2017:
Okay, if Al doesn't break up with her after that last sentence, I'm going to be very disappointed in him! I mean, it was fine that he was reluctant to call off the engagement, he didn't want to hurt her, he wanted to keep the promise he had made to her. But, like James said last chapter, that's not a good enough reason. I just really like Al (he is great with Iris, that scene was perfect), and I don't want to stop liking him, but I might if he doesn't leave her soon.

Anyway, I love how Iris notices little things happening between Sunny and Al. It's adorable :)

Author's Response: Hello again, and thank you for stopping by with another great review!

Oh goodness, what can I say when it comes to Al, that won't give the game away? I'm sure you don't really want me to reveal any spoilers, so I'm just gonna stay nice and quiet for now... ;)

I'm really glad you like the Iris scenes :)

Many thanks for taking the time to read and review.

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #21, by luna1306 Tricky

14th March 2017:
Ooooehhh you've got a new banner!
I really like it!

Della is really showing her bad side now though!
Too bad their break up isn't in this chapter!
But I hope it's coming soon, I'm really exited!

△⃒⃘ Luna

Author's Response: Hello!! The wonderful Jayde @ TDA created the fab new banner for this story :) Glad you like it!

You know what they say: breaking up is hard to do ;)

I love your Hallows sig by the way, it's awesome!

Thanks so much for being a superstar and continuing to support this story, you lovely person!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #22, by Potterhead1994 Tricky

14th March 2017:
Okay, so it seems like little Will is a complete and total turd. I have a feeling he and Iris are going to be getting up to no good at Hogwarts, whether or not she wants to. I think Albus handled it extremely well. Though, I feel like he should've at least asked why she felt the need to pick it up. but then again, how is he to know?

And I hate Della with a passion. I hope Albus like grows a pair (hopefully not to inappropriate to say) and gets rid of her. Like stand up to her! Ugh. Okay, anyway, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Your review really made me giggle, calling Will a turd!

It's a good job Al didn't ask - Iris wouldn't have given the real reason why she picked the wand up anyway! She wouldn't have dobbed Will in, even if he did (unintentionally) make her feel a bit rubbish about herself.

Al growing a pair? You'll have to wait and find out :) (Chapter thirteen is with the validating team so hopefully not too long before you find a bit more out).

Thank you so much for your brill review and for continuing to support this story!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ohpl Tricky

14th March 2017:
Love this story. Really looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review! Chapter thirteen is in the validation queue; hopefully, you won't have to wait too long to find out a bit more :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hasane Tricky

13th March 2017:
I! Want! To! Strangle! Delilah! Like wow what a b*. Sometimes I can't believe how much she acts like she's the only one entitled to Al. It seriously grates on my nerves. I think Al just needs to learn how to get his thoughts sorted out and then a bit of courage so he can actually get out what he is really thinking. I'm excited to see the aftermath after Al comes out tells her. Delilah's "easy to light a fuse on" personality pretty much guarantees lots of metaphorical blood. I'm also excited for the next chapter to Al's reaction to the very last line. It was a cliffhanger for sure.

I think you pulled off the mind of a seven (eight?) year old perfectly, and I think this really shined when Iris wanted to see what a wand could do. Children have a tendency to blow up the smallest mistakes into a huge deal, mostly because they don't really know the scope of what they've done, and I think you understood that perfectly.

Sometimes I also wonder how Al ended up with Delilah? Was she a better person when Al had met her, and then from then on she just kind of deteriorated? Or was he genuinely in love when he met her, and love made him blind to her very obvious flaws? Is this something we'll get to know later on? I really hope so.

Author's Response: Hello and thank you for your lovely review :) Delilah is quite a piece of work, but oh so fun to write! Hopefully, you won't have to wait too long to find out a bit more, as the next chapter has just been submitted for validation.

I'm really glad the scenes from a child's POV are believable; I find kids quite tricky to write. Iris is 7.5 and Will is 8 btw :)

As for how Al ended up with Delilah? Hmmm. A combination of factors, some of which have been touched on and others you'll find out sooner or later ;)

Thank you so much for your fab review! I hope you keep reading and enjoying this story :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #25, by Giu9_RedandGold Straight Talking

4th March 2017:
Hello! I just wanted to say I found your story about 3 chapters ago and I'm so sorry I never left a review. I usually do when I love the stories as much as I loved yours, I just never had the time so far.
Anyway, I loved reading The Witching Hour and I'm loving this too.
I loved Al and Sunny and their story since the very beginning. It's like that connection they developed when they first met, never left them and even years later, after being apart for so long, it's still there. And I think it also shows in the fact that, somehow, they both became doctros/healers. I also adore Iris. I think writing children must be quite hard. She is so sweet and absolutely credible. I find sometimes children are just...too much? I don't know of it makes sense, anyway, good job with her.
And I thank the Old Gods and the New for James Potter in this chapter. Whcih brings me to my biggest dilemma. How did someone like Albus end up with someone like Della? I just can't picture it.

Congrats on your Dobby! Although I have to admit I didn't vote for you because, like I said, I only discovered your stories very recently. But you do deserve it. And you have a new fan here! ;)

Author's Response: Hello and welcome!

It's always a pleasure to "meet" a new reader :) Gosh, wow; what can I say? I'm really touched by your kind words about this story. I hope it continues to live up to your expectations :)

I admit; I find children quite difficult to write! I'm so pleased that you find Iris credible :)

Yeah, I enjoyed putting James into this chapter (you have Luna1306 to thank for that)! He'll feature sporadically throughout, but this isn't really his story so there may be gaps between his appearances.

As for how/why Della and Al got together - well, I can't say all will be revealed eventually, but you'll find out a bit more as time goes on :)

Haha, I didn't vote for me either, so I wouldn't worry about that ;)

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I hope you continue to enjoy Al/Sunny/Iris's journey :)

Brax X


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>