Reading Reviews for Uncharted
  
88 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lovelynsweetsam1 eleven.

23rd January 2017:
I absolutely adore this story! It's totally cute and realistic and I love Ama and Josh. Keep up the awesome work :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dalzonii eleven.

23rd January 2017:
Thank you for this wonderful update. Seriously, bless you for having a beautiful creative mind and continuing to deliver amazing content. You're an absolute gem and I can't wait to see the rest of this fic play out and ofc James reacting to Cassie's extensive knowledge of Qudditch.

Side Note
* Congrats on the Dobby Nom's, you deserve them (I may have voted for you shhh).
Cheers & have a bloody good one!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Grace3 eleven.

23rd January 2017:
I am completely obessed with this story!. I love everything about it. Can't wait for the next chapter, Ama and Josh are awesome. Can't wait for Casie's and James conversation. I was so suprised that Fed went with Casie's plan. Please upload another chapter soon (I'm checking daily on this story to see if there is a new chapter but for now I'm to going back to reread the previous chapters ) PLEASE UPLOAD SOON LOVE YA!

 Report Review

Review #4, by luna1306 eleven.

21st January 2017:
Omg yes Cassie is such a fanatic
She clearly knows what she's doing and James should be happy to have her on the team!

I love your story and I have know Idea where you got the idea that it's not original cuz it totally is!
When I check for update it's this story I'm most excited for!

Also I'm definitely going to vote for this story at the dobbys, probably in best post hogwarts!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriusly21 one.

21st January 2017:
So after your Ch. 11 update and after I reviewed that Chapter, I went and read the anonymous review about you "copying" and that review was much deeper than I expected. I think you responded with grace and politeness despite the fact that at times it felt like they were simply trying to tear you down.

All of the example that reviewer left were vague and not proof of any copying. Lots of stories have OC's that are Quidditch fanatics. Lots of stories have trios and lots of stories have a tough main character. The anonymous review listed a couple different stories and it would have been a problem if there was one story that had all of these same elements, but it sees pretty spread out.

I encourage you not to take that stupid review to heart and don't let fear of "copying" (which you are not doing) stop you from writing a particular scene. It's fanfiction. To a certain extent there will be lots of overlapping scenes and character types because we're writing about characters from existing novels.

I particularly hated "do use your talents to write something more original." You have been nominated for multiple Dobbys and everyone loves this story. I think if this anonymous reviewer was right, other people would have noticed. Note how I keep saying anonymous, because if they don't have the kiwis to stick with their actual penname you shouldn't get hung up on what they're saying.

And I'm totally ranting at this point because that review made me so mad and you responded so well. I got a "attack" review from an anonymous person as well and my response was not as graceful as yours ;)

Keep writing and being awesome!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Siriusly21 eleven.

21st January 2017:
Ahh, that was great! I hope Freddie goes to James and is like, "the only reason we wont that match was because of Cass." Excellent chapter! I love how detailed you are when describing the match and the different tactics.

Also, I don't think your story is cliche or a copy of another. As someone who has written a story about a death-eater spawn and a Potter, our stories are so different even though they have the same general idea of Romeo and Juliet. Congrats again on your Dobbys! I have to figure out how to vote! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #7, by crimson quill eleven.

21st January 2017:
I've been enjoying this story but I haven't reviewed until now. I wanted to review to give my opinions about what you wrote in the authors note. I also disagree with the review.

I think head-canon is very ingrained in us now that we expected characters to be a certain way even though Jo may not haven't written that much about them.James is nearly always written in a similar way 'quidditch obsessed,proud and somewhat big-headed' because that's what we expect him to be like as if Jo had told us herself. I would (and do) write James like this.

OC girl character especially in James/OC do have similarities mainly because a lot of people write James similarly as those are the type of girls he would be realistically/believably attracted to.

you're a really good writer and I would hate for you to feel 'nervous' about one review. I look forward to reading more from you and this story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by JT4HP eleven.

21st January 2017:
I just love quidditch scenes. They are so great. And yours was really good! I wonder if James is going to be mad or be like "please help us", but I hope if he says "please help us" that she's like "no you suck and you didn't put me on the team" because I've decided that I really like arguing James and Cass.

And, just so you know, I saw that anon review the other day but I didn't get it AT ALL. Like, honestly, I've read most of the James/OC fics out there (because I have a strange obsession with them) and I did not think that yours seemed like FA or any of the other ones. Maybe a little cliche-y, but how can you not be?! At least a little bit, you know?

I love Cassie and I think the family history is fairly original. I'd really love to hear more about her mom and dad and that whole thing. To be honest, I think your story is great and wonderful and a new take on a James/OC.

Sooo...basically, don't let the anon get ya down. You're great! (sorrry for the rambling review)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lea eleven.

20th January 2017:
Great chapter, yet again! I only wish it were longer haha. Now, on the plagiarism comment someone made, I must say I disagree. True, you do use a lot of cliché tropes that have been used (sometimes succesfully) by others. The gay best friend, the BA girl, the quidditch fanatic, are all elements that can be regularly found in other stories. But I do feel you are able to use them in an original way. Your writing is amazing and so is your wit. Your story reads so fluently and is very addictive. I don't feel you're guilty of anything others aren't either, which is just using popular clichés.

The only critique I could have on your story is to make sure to keep Cassie relatable. Although I do love a strong female lead, I sometimes feel Cassie is a bit too much. She is great at quidditch, plays guitar, saves lives and more. I've just seen fics who try to make their character everything at once and to me the story then loses credibility. So far, I still feel Cassie is relatable but it could maybe be something to keep in mind? But anyway, i just love your story and you totally deserve these dobby nominations!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AbraxanUnicorn eleven.

20th January 2017:
Hello :)

Firstly, congratulations on your Dobby(?) nominations!! Very well-deserved and I am so pleased for you :)

Secondly, I don't read your work and think 'hey, the author has lifted that from somewhere else,' it all reads as original to me. That said, there are thousands upon thousands of stories on this site, and I suppose there is always the unintentional chance that someone has written a similar story before; and as more stories are added, it'll probably get even harder to come up with a plot that doesn't vaguely resemble someone else's. But I haven't come across another story that I think yours replicates, IYSWIM?

Ok, now that's out of the way - back to this chapter! As always, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Had to laugh at poor Cassie sneezing throughout and wearing everyone's clothes. Loved the quidditch scene and the dialogue :) And Oh!! Is James going to get his head out of his bottom and realise Cassie is behind the team tactic? I was kind of hoping Gryffindor would lose the game due to Carl's incompetence, despite Scorp getting bludgered to within an inch of his life, and JP would be made to look like a fool but hey-ho ;)

Great stuff :) Looking forward to the next chapter X

 Report Review

Review #11, by worldturnedupsidedown ten.

17th January 2017:
What the...!!!

This chapter = whirlwind. There's so much to take in to the point where I feel like I missed some details. I feel like there are a few characters acting a little weird in this. James so still likes Cass which makes me continue to wonder what's the whole story regarding tryouts. That girl talking to James is Pia, right? I feel like she's probably going to sprung up later! Still trying to grasp what's important throughout the chapter. As always, this is so well written.

Finally!! Congratulations on your Dobby nominations! I hope you win some!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review! The nominations are sooo unexpected! I am not worthy lol. And there may be a character or two or more acting strangely :P. Thank you for you all the undeserved compliments!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by JT4HP ten.

17th January 2017:
I LOVE THIS STORY.

Cassie is such a great character. So well written and developed. I just love her attitude and sass and doing things without thinking.

I can't wait to seem what happens with quidditch! I really hope she gets on the team and/or yells at james some more. Both are great options.

Anyway, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review!! Haha I love those options! We shall see what happens ;).

The next chapter has been uploaded and should be out soon. Thanks again!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly21 seven.

16th January 2017:
Congrats on you Dobby nominations!!! You deserve all of them!

Author's Response: Hi!

So unexpected! And I don't feel worthy lol so thank you for your kind words. Congratulations to you too! Just read the one shot, it's amazing, very much deserving of recognition!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by anonymous ten.

13th January 2017:
The good: your writing is fantastic. i suspect that you have a job where you write often or you are highly educated or you read many works of literature. even your dialogue is good. it flows better than most fictions on here. i cannot state enough that you write very well. this is something you should be proud about.

The bad: i want to express this in the nicest way and without discouraging you from writing more b/c you really are a good writer. but, I read this last week then came back to it and something did not sit right with me. so, i read it again and try to piece together what was the strong reaction (almost visceral) i was having. please do not react unkindly to this but i just have this nagging feeling that you have stolen from the plots of others on this site. i don't think this was an intentional act but I just see pieces of this story in other works of fiction. here are some examples:

the nerdy OC that is coming out of her shell seems to be just like the OC in How Not to Be a Woodley

the characteristics and actions of the 3-piece main cast appears to be a repackaged form of the characters in Survival Instinct and Florescent Adolescent (esp. re your decision to have a quidditch fanatic)

this tough as nails bravada that your OC has while trying to survive reminds me a little too much of Get In Line and Dormitory 2.6A and to a lesser extent All That Jazz

does what im saying make any sense? i'm aware that a lot of authors on here use tropes but i just wonder if you've taken it too far by using partial scenes, themes, and characters of other Next Generation stories and mashing them together to create your plot. have you read Clash? i know the relationship between your OC and James is different but i feel like it is building up in a way that reminds me of scenes from there. there's also another story on here where a Slytherin pure blood ends up getting disowned which stems from saving Lily Potter. (i cannot recall the name.)

i know this is rather long but I guess what I'm ultimately trying to do is encouraging you to look back at your story and potentially reflect on whether the scenes, descriptions, and characters are those of your own. i hope you don't react negatively to this. i suspect you have read these stories and maybe you could reread some of them to see if you feel you have unintentionally taken from others on here.

again, you truly are such a great writer. do think about using your talents to write something that's more original.

not sure if you hate me but do know i'm only attempting to express an opinion.

much love xoxo

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliments on my writing -- I'm not entirely sure how to respond to the rest of this except to say that it is never my intent to steal from the creative works of others. I do read most of the stories you've mentioned so I will do my best to review and reread them and try to correct any incorrect behavior.

I do thank you for voicing your concerns. It does appear that you've given this a lot of thought so I will attempt to give your concerns the respect they deserve.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Siriusly21 five.

12th January 2017:
So, I went back and found a chapter that I haven't reviewed because I need an update and I love this story and you should know that. Anyways, I appreciated you reviewing my story and I can't wait for an update. I have to go check out more of your stories if you have more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much Siriusly21!! As I mentioned, I do enjoy your writing and your storytelling so I appreciate YOU writing and sharing them. I did just post an update so it's up for review! It should be up soon barring any reasons for rejection.

Thanks again for all of the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriusly21 ten.

7th January 2017:
I really hate Mimi. And the other witch who didn't even say thank you for saving her life. But I love Cass and her sister. I also love how blatantly obvious it is that Freddie thinks Cass should've been put on the Quiddtich team. He comes to her for advice and then pretends they were snogging to put James off. LOL! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you're a Freddie fan :D. He is a delight to write. And, yes, V is terrible! Thanks so much for the reviews! They do make me smile :D!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Siriusly21 nine.

7th January 2017:
I was so happy to see that this story had like four new chapters since I last checked! I loved this chapter. I like Cass's budding friendship with Grayson and how Freddie turns to her for help. I was also reading your responses to reviews and I totally don't understand how someone can say that just because blood status is the social issue in the wizarding word, that means that sexism can't be an issue. Also, James kinda gave reasons for why she didn't make the team. They were total BS reasons, but still.

Anyways, I also saw that you've read some of my stories. If you like RoSco, I personally recommend my short story the Hogwarts Express. It is my favourite story that I've written so far.

And now I shall continue reading!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm quite the fan of Grayson right now so it warms my heart when people mention him :)

I will definitely check out your RoSco story! (and finish your Al/OC story). I haven't been on here because of work/sickness but I can't wait to start up reading again.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by luna1306 ten.

6th January 2017:
First of all, I love these song names

Second of all, what the f*uck!? That b*tch didn't even say thank you she just saved her freaking life and she was al like EEWW get away from me! Well OK NEXT TIME SHE WILL LET YOU DROWN, YOU UNGRATEFUL LITTLE PIECE OF SH*T!!

I'm sorry I got a bit carried away...
But I love your story and I hope you update again soon!

Author's Response: hahah, I'm so happy somebody mentioned the song titles! (They were kinda my favorite thing about the chapter lol).

And agreed, V is the worst!!

And never apologize for your enthusiasm! I love it and I love that it's directed toward my story haha! And I promise to update soon! Things are a bit hectic at work (trying to catch up after being sick) but I hope to write and update over the weekend :).


 Report Review

Review #19, by PotterPoppins101 ten.

6th January 2017:
This story is fantastic!!! I really love how I'm not really sure what's going to happen which is refreshing and I love the Nott sisters. It's kind of weird how modern everything is with phones and what not but it's also original and unique which makes me like this story a lot. Keep updating!!!

Abby Rose 🌹

Author's Response: Thanks so much PotterPoppins101! (Cool name!) I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying the story! And I'm glad that I can surprise you with the plot :). I will absolutely keep updating! I hope you continuing reading. Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by RubyEyes123 ten.

6th January 2017:
This chapter was a little fast-paced for my liking. Though I kind of liked it, usually, I don't like chapters with so much action, but for some reason, this chapter just clicked and I liked it a lot. All in all, it was a great chapter and the story MUST be updated.

- RubyEyes123

Author's Response: Thanks so much RubyEyes123! I had problems thinking about where to end this chapter (and the sickness didn't help lol!). It did cross my mind that there was a bit too much action but I'm glad you enjoyed it anyway! Thank you very much for reading! I truly appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lea ten.

6th January 2017:
I don't know how you do it! You update so fast and each update is so well written. One of the hardest things for me to write are dialogues and yours just flow so well. I wouldn't worry about not liking the chapter later, it's a pretty good one :) And Cassie is seriously badas(s)!

Author's Response: Lea! Your kind, thoughtful reviews are really what keep me going. For a time I thought I made Cassie a little too much of a BA but then I remembered that no one bat an eyelash with how much of BA Harry Potter was :) so I decided I'd leave her this way lol. I'm so glad you're enjoying the dialogue. Thank you again and again for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Amanda two.

5th January 2017:
Hello,

It is me again. This reads to me like a romantic comedy. Your words are flying off the page for me and I feel like I can imagine exactly how you pictured this happens.

Very well done,

Amanda

Author's Response: HI again Amanda! :)

Thank you so much for your words on here! (And your words through e-mail). It really truly means a lot that you took the time to read this. I'm so happy you're enjoying it and I love how you described my story!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Amanda one.

5th January 2017:
Hi,

It's me. I'm honored that you shared this link with me today. As soon as I got home, I started reading. I'm truly amazed but not all that surprised that you've created such a wonderful story. I can definitely see how this provides a break from a tasking workday. I think your characters are very well done, even in the first chapter I feel like I know them and I want them to succeed.

Thank you,

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Thanks for taking the time to review!! It really means a lot to me. Thanks for the support! Working can, in fact be extremely taxing lol. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by worldturnedupsidedown nine.

1st January 2017:
Is there going to be a James v. Grayson battle??? JASSIE FOREVER lol. I haven't felt this strongly about a shipping since I was obsessed with Felicity, the tv show.

Author's Response: You just gave me vivid, amazing memories of watching Felicity (secretly because I was WAY to young (according to my parents) to be watching that show when it came out). I was such a season 1 fan! And I remember being shocked when she cut off all her hair! I also remember hating the ending -- but now I have to admit I really can't recall if she ended up with Ben or Noel! Ohhh my gosh- I just remembered that the whole premise of the show was her following Ben to college even though she didn't know him!

Ok, now I'm just ranting lol so I will say thank you very much for reading and commenting and sending me down memory lane!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Davida nine.

30th December 2016:
Is he drawing her?

OMG

#teamcrayson

Author's Response: Haha possibly :). Thanks so much for leaving a review and showing Grayson some love haha!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>