Reading Reviews for Survival of the Fittest
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dirigible_Plums Three is the loneliest number

27th January 2017:
You may not realise it but I am screaming.

Also laughing because Riya's internally plotting how to make Al cry while making out like she's somewhat interested in him 😂 God, I love this girl. What a star.

You know, I love how Al was a Slytherin and he dismisses his father as having a hero's complex - but he's literally going to storm the Ministry with someone he's only known for a few days to save someone he's never met before. Like. I wonder where he gets it from.

Ah, James. He's the true sweet summer child. Where Al doesn't trust Riya (or claims he doesn't), James isn't like that at all. He's so nice. Even if he does smack his own butt like in the other chapter...

Okay, one thing I love is how you manage to keep the lighthearted up alongside the darker aspects of this fic. Like the scene at the start of last chapter where Theo comforts Riya during the thunderstorm? Dark. Hearing that they've been declared missing presumed to be dead alongside his sister? Dark. Al taking after his father and not realising Riya was 'flirting' with him? Light. My baby Harry being dense like always? V. light. I burst out laughing.

"They're at the bottom."

Honestly.

Loving this fic, by the way!

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dirigible_Plums It's too early for a love triangle

27th January 2017:
Jesus, Paula.

I was going to start this review absolutely gushing about the scene between Riya and Al. I mean, they were flirting. FLIRTING. To think that two people so moody could find some normalcy in each other - to think that Riya would let her guard down and actually fall asleep in his bed. I mean, sleep's an intimate thing, you know? I'm so proud of my sweet... well, "summer child" seems a bit too naive for her, so let's stick with something else? Survivor? Cold-hearted witch (out of necessity)?

I love the fact that Al's a Healer. It really brings out a contrast between him and Riya. I mean, Riya and Theo are different in the sense that she's become quite cynical while her best friend still has some sort of grasp on hope and innocence. Al, meanwhile, seems grittier than that but being a Healer surely doesn't mix well with war, even if you are a combat Healer.

Speaking of the Al/Riya/Theo mess... Oh. My. Gosh. Al was right: that was awkward. When Theo called her that, I was in shock. Theo! Waking up to find your best friend in someone else's bed does not warrant that at all! Even if you do have a crush on her. But I was glad that they sort of made up about it, him accepting that it just wasn't going to happen and that they had bigger fish to fry.

Speaking of which (again), that goblin scene was freaky! I don't know how they managed to stay still for so long but I would never have lasted in their positions. Gosh, I never considered how much of a threat goblins could be if they decided to change the world order.

Lovely chapter as always,

Plums xo
♡♡♡

 Report Review

Review #3, by whatsthetimemrwolf Three is the loneliest number

26th January 2017:
I REALLY hope their plan works!

 Report Review

Review #4, by AbraxanUnicorn A woman with a plan

16th January 2017:
Poor lonely giant squid, carrying out his mating ritual, and no lady squid to give him her number :(

Yikes, Riya - are you sure you want to go to the Ministry? What if Nora's not there?!?

Looking forward to the next update. Much love for this story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by whatsthetimemrwolf A woman with a plan

15th January 2017:
I was wondering what they were going to do about Nora!!. I really hope she's okay, and that Riya's plan works, but that might just be wishful thinking.

 Report Review

Review #6, by AbraxanUnicorn James keeps his spirits up

15th January 2017:
Seriously, James? 'Dat @ss'?! 'We could have been magical'?! Hehehe. I'm amazed Riya left him in one piece after coming out with that.

I love the little cliché digs in this chapter :) And I did not know that apple sauce can be used as an egg substitute in cookies. I learn something new every day. See? Not a filler chapter at all, but a useful learning exercise for a reader :)

Loving this fic X

 Report Review

Review #7, by AbraxanUnicorn It's too early for a love triangle

9th January 2017:
How has my radar missed this story until now?! I love a good yarn with an Indian protagonist. Somehow, there is a real dearth in fiction of central characters who aren't white Caucasian.

The concept is very original; I can't think of any other goblin rebellion stories that I've encountered. I'm guessing that this is set in the Scottish highlands? Makes me curious as to how they are going to get to Greenland without magic; wouldn't Norway via The Orkneys and Shetland Isles be more feasible?

I like Riya's fire in this chapter, and the interactions between her and Al. How Al reads her body language when the goblins arrive, and recognises her need to be occupied by giving her a piece of wood to whittle.

Really enjoyed the story so far. Looking forward to the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by whatsthetimemrwolf It's too early for a love triangle

9th January 2017:
Not going to lie, I was totally cheering on Riya when Theo called her a sl*g. I would've ripped him a new one too! I really liked the moments with her and Albus in this chapter, too. They have a great dynamic together. They're both pretty intense in their own ways, but I think Albus is helping Riya to be less serious in moments where she doesn't have to be.

 Report Review

Review #9, by putitonpaper Is this the end of the world?

25th December 2016:
Wow. What a concept! I'm obviously a fan of your writing because I'm reviewing again within 30 minutes! This was suspenseful, heartbreaking, and just all around lovely. I really hope Riya makes it to the end of your story.

You really gave me chills on this one!! I never really thought about how evil or nice the Goblins would be. I wonder - do you explore their relationship with other magical creatures like house elves? Would love to know if there's a hierarchy or if they are really going after everyone.

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan Shadows Aren't Permanent

25th October 2016:
Team Werewolf Review for HPFT

Hi! It's about time I got back to this story. I've missed it.

Ooh, I love the description of being followed as "My shadow felt heavy" - that's such a creative description and also feels very appropriate. That's totally what being followed feels like.

I loved learning a little more about Riya here, about her parents, about her desire to become a scientist (A+ decision), and just... seeing her let down her guard for a moment. After a long time of just trying to survive in the woods while being hunted, it makes sense that she's almost a little uneasy being so safe. She's still expecting something to jump out at her or for the Potters to try to attack her at any minute. And that's a good survival instinct, but seeing her actually open up a little is great. And I love that Theo feels safe there - he's been through so much and he deserves to be able to sleep like a log for once.

Also I must say that the anecdotes of Riya and Albus at Hogwarts together were hilarious. I love that James appears to have forgiven Riya about the knife, as well. They're actually having fun chatting together. Things are looking up, and it's nice.

Please tell me you're going to continue writing this story? I love it and I want more!

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan Tell me that isn't Harry Potter

30th August 2016:
Your reviewing spree on my stories has made me decide to attack your page with love and reviews.

Bahahaha, her description of what she imagines Harry will look like! Golden eagles perching on him XD Omg, I saw this amazing nature video once where golden eagles were literally picking up mountain goats and carrying them over valleys, it was so epic and impressive. /tangent

I feel like I could fill up a whole review just quoting the great things that Riya thinks/says. Such as this: I thrive in madness! I’m the queen of chaos!
Or this: Okay, but Voldemort was pure evil. I'm pure awesome - hahaha

The Potters really are doing this in style! The fancy tents that are more plush than how I live in RL haha.

he was suspiciously nerdy for a Hufflepuff. -- I have never related to Theo as much as I do in this moment. Now I think he is my spirit animal.

Also, thank goodness for Theo. I think he's the only reason the Potters are civil toward Riya at all, as he's trying to be friendly and offer to help. At least Riya helps with the dishes, which is definitely something.

I was curious about who he knew that was now dead, but it would be rude to ask. -- I'm curious as well, but I also don't want to know because then I'm gonna be sad. :(

Bahaha and Riya wins again with that last line. I really love her as a character. Same with Theo. I love them as individuals and how they balance each other out. The Potters seem very cranky and annoyed thus far, but I really can't blame them. :P I'm excited to see how things develop now that they're forcing the Potters to provide hospitality to them.

Eee, this story is so good. ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dirigible_Plums Shadows Aren't Permanent

24th August 2016:
Okay so I can't say much because I have guests over and I want to do this before I forget to.

THOUGHTS:

- I am already liking the lil tension between Al and Riya.
- Speaking of Al, WHAT IS THIS PARTICULARLY NASTY RUMOUR
- Also I like how you're portraying him. I can't quite put my finger on the word to describe him, but just know that you're doing a good job.
- Speaking of characterisation, Riya??? EXCELLENT. I love how you've clearly taken the opportunity to research into her background thoroughly and flesh it out. The touch about religion and her grandparents was a really nice one.
- Also her dad sounds like a sweetheart.
- I feel SO SORRY for Theo. His sister! She was only eleven! 😢
- I like the blooming friendship between James and Riya a lot. Quite sweet considering she had a machete to his throat.

Overall this was a great chapter and I can't wait for more!

Plums xo

Author's Response: I live for your reviews!

I imagine this particularly nasty rumor will be popping up at some point and may involve alcohol, minor nudity, and perhaps the forbidden forest!

Al is even undefinable for me. My character note for him is literally "???" so it's solid.

Riya's background is so important to me because I think there's a major lack of representation of South Asian characters and the ones that do exist (the only one I've read) has a meek female character. It's completely unacceptable to me so I want her to defy that.

Her dad


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dirigible_Plums Tell me that isn't Harry Potter

24th August 2016:
Oh my god, Paula, I loved this chapter! The start of it had me cracking up from Harry's... impressive introduction to Riya's " I thrive in madness! I’m the queen of chaos!" It's such a contrast from the grim situation and I loved it to bits.

Ooh there's a bit of an age difference between Al and Riya. I like ;)

I've mentioned it before and I'll mention it again: I love the bestfriendship of Riya and Theo. He's such a sweetheart and Riya's lowkey in the background ready to murder anyone who dares touch a hair on his head. HOW PURE. Seriously they're just so good to each other and for each other. She's there to save him from anyone who might take advantage of him and he keeps her from becoming *too* ruthless. Love it.

Also I am v. interested in Al.

(He was a Slytherin!)

Very curious and mysterious character. Just the way I like it. :P

Plums xo

Author's Response: Well, Harry can't really be all that cool at this point in life! He wasn't even cool during his glory days.

They really complement each other. She keeps him safe, but I think especially later on, she keeps him grounded. He's just a little too trusting.

I'm also very interested in Al ;) I think Riya might be too!

Thank you so much (again) for such lovely reviews! They are so awesome!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Dirigible_Plums We're being followed

24th August 2016:
OKAY, CHAPTER TWO.

Alright, so I had a feeling all along that the eyes they could feel belonged to one of the Potter boys. I kept thinking it was James and then I remembered that it said "Albus/OC", but I was right 😏 Poor James. He really isn't cut out for this.

Speaking of that part, Riya is ruthless with a capital R! I can see why she's a Slytherin now - it's nothing bad, but you can tell that she is determined to survive and will do what it takes. Girl has guts, too.

The 'old' Riya?? Hmm... I am intrigued...

Oh my God, Al's been introduced! He's not impressed (understandably) but he's here. Whoo!

Plums xo

Author's Response: James totally isn't cut out for this! He's just too soft and gentle for this world but in a different way than Theo is.

I prefer Riya to be more in protector mode because it dispels this idea of women hiding behind men for protection in times of danger. It's literally the opposite (poor Theo). I don't think there's any doubt she's Slytherin to the core!

YAY! Al exists! :D

Thank you for the reviews (have I mentioned that yet?)!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dirigible_Plums Is this the end of the world?

24th August 2016:
Hello me love!

Alright so your idea sounded so interesting, I just had to come and check out this fic. Goblins aren't really creatures I paid attention to while reading the series (excepting that little traitor, Griphook), relegating them to all things Gringrotts-related. I'd forgotten that there have been so many wars between them and wizards in the past so it's really not that out of the blue that there would be something happening now.

That being said, I didn't expect them to be so sinister. The fact that magic is completely off-limits if you wanted to stay alive and that they're completely okay with destroying Muggles to hunt down wizards - freaking hell. I don't blame Riya for being terrified! I like how the atmosphere is reminiscent of the last year under Voldemort's reign: no one can trust each other, everyone is slumming it and the general fear that is ruling everyone's day-to-day lives.

Riya is an interesting main character already. I love the fact that her best friend is a Hufflepuff while she's a Slytherin! Their friendship is already pretty cute.

(Also, I would sooo be Theo in this situation. Like I'd need a Riya or else I'd die.)

Definitely reading on!

Plums xo

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Goblins are pretty easy to overlook since we barely saw them outside of Gringotts!

The entire story came together because I was browsing the lexicon and read a line talking about how goblins were notoriously blood thirsty and incredibly cruel. My imagination got away from me a bit.

The first thing I thought of in DH is that Harry could just hide among the muggles with a headband (cue AVPM thoughts) and work on the horcruxes. With that in mind, I knew I had to get rid of that option.

I always believed that Slytherpuff friendships had to be the most solid ones.

TBH I'd need a Riya too.

Thank you so much for the reviews! They mean the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #16, by pointless_proclamations Tell me that isn't Harry Potter

23rd August 2016:
'The kind of man that golden eagles would perch on to signify worthiness.' These kinds of lines is what makes your style of writing so distinctive, so recognisable. 100% Brilliant. I love how Theo claps Harry on the shoulder before remembering himself. This whole scene here is a riveting mix of humour and adventure and tensity and you control it all so well.

“I'm literally famous for killing.” HARRY. What in the world? XD Sassy pants.

'We'd have had more time to train her on how to control her magic.' makes me wonder exactly how old Nora was when she was taken? How long ago? How long has this been going on? So many questions which just motivate me more and more to continue reading on which I will because this is beyond wonderful.

Albus and Riya sure do like looking at each other. . . I wonder what that's about.

Author's Response: Hi Em!

I'm so glad that you liked that line. I've been told in other reviews that my Harry is less than favorable.

Theo is too soft for this world. He doesn't realize that in times like these we have boundaries. I think it also reminded Harry (and Ginny) that these are just kids. Stupid kids trying to make it.

That line killed me because it's trivializing something that Harry dreaded/anticipated for years. But it was totally necessary and Sassy Harry gives me life!

Oh, the tales of Nora Pinkerton. She's one of my favorite characters to set up a background for.

I wonder the same thing. *cue eyebrow wiggles*

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me such wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #17, by pointless_proclamations We're being followed

23rd August 2016:
RIYA!! 'clammy palm before I grabbed it, but that was just being nitpicky' she's everything. Usually, it is said that these details are not noticed during times of crises, but I mean CLAMMY PALMS. The old Riya? This gives me the impression that they weren't always friends or she used to be a bit meaner and then they were friends or something like that. Anyway, complex background story that forces me to read on to find out what in Merlin's overused Y-fronts it is, exactly.

WHY are you making such likeable characters go through such horrible things? Having to bury a young girl with admirable moral convictions? Missing sister who is maybe dead, but maybe not, but maybe yes? And the ones chasing them are 'full of unrestricted magic?' Firstly, noted. Secondly, blerghh.

'“People are always looking for someone to hate.” I agreed. We had both been very opposed to the anti-goblin and “lesser being” rhetoric we had to listen to from less open minded students back at Hogwarts.' 100% the right mentality. Their ability to see the overall picture from both sides is what makes them commendable characters. I have so much respect for this. The following list Theodore makes is spot on. What a way for you to tackle the complex phenomenon of the global-scale epidemic known as 'bigotry' in its most violent forms.

'If the entire world would just take a few measures to not be a**holes the world would be such a better place.' RIGHT. OH MY GOODNESS THIS IS SO QUOTABLE.

AND AM I WITNESSING THE BEGINNINGS OF A RIYA/ALBUS. A. . . Ribus? Alya? Rius? Riylbus?

REGARDLESS. IS THAT WHAT THIS IS?

Author's Response: Hi Em!

Riya was quite different back in the day and that's all I'll say so far! ;D

Characters like to suffer. They practically write themselves! It's not my fault!

I think the ability to recognize that both sides are both at fault and innocent will make a difference in how the story will play out. The silver rule is one that everyone should learn! It would seriously make life so much easier.

I HAVEN'T EVEN THOUGHT OF A COUPLE NAME! Those are my favorite! I love Ribus! That might be what it is ;)

Seriously, thank you so much for taking the time to read this and leave a review! You're marvelous!


 Report Review

Review #18, by pointless_proclamations Is this the end of the world?

23rd August 2016:
PAULA!

Instant connection to the story at this: 'but at 17, who really even knows what love is?' When I was 17, honestly, I couldn't understand my peers and their raving about their boy/girlfriends. It was absolutely fascinating to observe. . . from a distance. That sounds creepy, but I'm not super social, what else is there to do? Talk to them? Me? Nope.

So even in these dark, dark times—I mean holy balls, it's dark—your character's mental narrative manages to find humour: 'I keep telling him to go by Theo because Theo is the kind of name that elicits mental images of handsome, dangerous men with chiseled jaw lines, but he insists on Theodore' AND here 'Sarcasm could strip down to its knickers and smack Theo in the face and he’d still have no idea.' Again, I connect with her even more. Humour can come naturally in the oddest of times, but I suppose that's one way to deal with all the darkness for Riya. Was The Goblin Registry Act a thing made for or by the goblins? Was it what led to the retaliation or what led to Riya and Theodore having to start running away. It seems I've caught myself in a story about political quagmire's and I'm loving every word of it thus far.

Look at you, advocating for proper nutrition, too! 'vitamin C would help us keep a robust immune system.' Brilliant.

PAULA. 'Mum, naturally, loved him for it.' SOUNDS 100% LIKE MY OWN MOTHER AND MY GRANDMOTHER AND. . . ♥

Humour aside. Holy cow. What is even going on right now? Wizards and witches are being randomly taken away. Is it randomly? When the use magic? One of those people were Theodore's sister? Are they on the run from goblins? On one hand, it really is a right shame that goblins have been oppressed all this time, but then turning the tables. This leads to mixed feelings and provides an added element of complexity to the political situation the magical world has found itself in.

'My machete was packed away' . . . SHE NEEDS A MACHETE. Well, *. Wow. OK. This is a very, very dangerous time to be these two right now.

So the general perception held by wizards and witches of goblins is that goblins are monsters and the general perception held by goblins of humans (magical and otherwise) is that they're monsters. A+. Well, this is one way to start an interspecies conflict. Is this meant to mirror Germany post WWI? SO MUCH POLITICAL IMBALANCE caused by the societal perception of inequality. To degrade a member of any intelligent species as 'lesser' is an [expletive] bad idea to put it mildly.

'Theo pretended to sleep and I kept watch. Then I pretended to sleep and he kept watch. The world was going to hell and we couldn't even be well rested for it.' What. WHY? WHAT IS ALL THIS MADNESS THAT I HAVE FOUND MYSELF IN?

NO, let me answer that question for me, it's the genius that is you.

Author's Response: Em!

At 17 I was in a relationship with an awful boy who I genuinely thought I might marry. Thankfully he cheated on me and I got out of that situation (and have helped his other exes move on). Teenagers are terrifying creatures anyway. Throw them in a specimen jar and forget 'em!

I definitely think for Riya humor is a coping mechanism. She uses it throughout the story at really inappropriate times and it just provides her some instant relief (despite the awkwardness that ensues). The GRA was by wizards for the goblins. POLITICS FOR DAYS!

I actually drank pine needle tea while camping and it's a thing that I knew I had to torture my characters with. It's so my mother! I swear she loves my husband solely for the fact that he asks for her to make specific foods when we go home and insists on staying in instead of eating out.

I think those that are oppressed often feel the need to turn the tables and I think it's seen as justice rather than a problem. How you view a coup must rely on your own world views I suppose.

I think somewhere in a posted chapter I explain that she took the machete from other campers pretending to be muggles. I think (but can't remember) that it's implied it was a machete to cut through heavy brush. I think Riya likes the reaction she gets when she has it too. A little bit of that Slytherin penchant for power.

It is 100% supposed to mirror Germany during WWI.

I hope you enjoy the rest of the story, you magnificent being! Thank you for the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan We're being followed

21st August 2016:
Gift tag! I couldn't resist coming back!

If the entire world would just take a few measures to not be [non 12+] the world would be such a better place. -- PREACH. but like actually this is SO TRUE, and so simple!

Wow, the little snippets of back story here about the characters - that's heartbreaking about Theo's sister. And even more than events, you're so good at showing rather than telling what his and Riya's relationship is like, how she can read him so easily, and they can predict each other's actions.

I love the background on the goblins. So much. What I appreciate most is that you make the 'villains' understandable - yes, they're taking over and have created the mess that all of Britain's wizards currently find themselves in, but they were being used as a scapegoat by the wizarding community and blamed for wizards' problems and they're fighting back. I love that the 'enemy' is complicated here, and that even though I worry for the protagonists of the story, I can sympathise with the goblins as well.

But what do they do with the taken people? Hostages? Or killed? eek

What are Harry and his family doing there? And given Riya's paranoia about him being there, I can't help but wonder whose side the Potters are on... otherwise wouldn't she be happier to see other people? things are about to get very interesting. things were already interesting, but this is a whole new level of interesting.

Great chapter once again!

Author's Response: Hi! :D

It's so easy! Why can't people just try!

I'm so glad you say that because I usually struggle with telling instead of showing so I had to keep going back and editing it in to make it sound more natural.

Understandable villains are my favorite villains because a little part of me is kinda cheering on the goblins as they go be completely savage.

That is the question of the hour! It will be exposed though!

The Potters are all kinds of complicated during this war. And the Weasleys. Hermione has always been on the side of intelligent creatures, y'know!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan Is this the end of the world?

21st August 2016:
Hi Paula! This is for Gift Tag ♥

Theo is the kind of name that elicits mental images of handsome, dangerous men with chiseled jaw lines, -- one paragraph into the story and I already love your narrator.

Also woah. I really love the way you're establishing the setting. It's not heavy handed, just a phrase here or there that hints of the unpleasant, sort of dystopian atmosphere, but like, it's not described as anything extraordinary because the characters are used to this setting, so it's normal for them. I really like the way you did that.

side note, but the biologist in me is freaking out - did they just leave that fire there when they ran?! they're going to start a forest fire!

...is she planning to run to Greenland? or does she miraculously have a seaworthy vessel waiting for her at some port?...

Haha, Theo's survival instincts. Something tells me he wouldn't last a day without Riya. I love his historical anecdotes about the countryside they're passing through, but... seriously they're being pursued through the forest and he decides to talk about King Arthur XD

I only laughed a little before helping him because I’m an excellent friend. -- another reason I love Riya. Sleeping in a tree though - better hope for some thick strong branches otherwise that's bound to be so uncomfortable. And terrifying. Like a bunk bed that's narrower than your body and 50 feet off the ground. O__O

How long have they been travelling like this? What's the back story on the goblins? Man I have SO many questions and I just want to read this whole story right now, I really love this first chapter. You did an amazing job setting the scene and all the accompanying tone of the story, all the fear and exhaustion and how it's a struggle to survive, and against that backdrop you have already created two vibrant characters and I love them already! I love their friendship and how they work together and I think they're especially going to need each other for encouragement. I can't imagine them doing what they're doing alone. Are they going to run into other refugees? Where are their families? And last but not least how are they going to get to Greenland (and why)? This is such an effective first chapter at introducing the story and conflict and making me want to read more ASAP.

My only cc would be that I think you can divide your first paragraph into two, separating after the question who really even knows what love is?, because those are both kind of abstract thoughts and then after that with the tea kettle it settles into events, and there's kind of a shift there.

Anyway, that's a small thing, and overall I really love what you've written of this so far. I'm so glad I posted after you in gift tag, this story is fantastic!

Author's Response: Hi! :D

I'm so glad you mentioned the fire because I genuinely thought the exact same thing but my husband and I argued it over and if you have to run you'll probably risk a fire! And Riya eventually wants to be a biologist! She should know better! Only you can stop forest fires!

Riya came from a family with finances so she's packed with some muggle and magical money that she fully intends to have converted!

Sweet baby Theo would be very lost without Riya. He's just a bit soft for this kind of world!

I'm so glad that this chapter conjured up all of these questions for you! That makes me so happy!

Thank you so much for such a wonderful, thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Potterhead1994 Tell me that isn't Harry Potter

17th August 2016:
I love the idea for the story. Definitely original. However; I really really don't like how you've portrayed Harry. It'd be fine if he was just chubby with bushy brows, but his attitude is awful. Oh well. I do like what you're doing so far. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Give him another chapter for character development and I don't think you'll hate his attitude quite as much! ;D He's meant to be off-putting immediately but I really think he'll grow on you (and he definitely improves toward Riya and Theo).

Thank you so much for this lovely review! There's nothing I love more than feedback! I hope this story keeps you on your toes!


 Report Review

Review #22, by pinkpanther16 We're being followed

15th August 2016:
I love how detailed this is! It sounds like its going to be a really good story. Super excited for more :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it so far! I hope it doesn't disappoint! ;)

Thank you so much for such a thoughtful review! It means the world to me!


 Report Review

Review #23, by SunshineDaisies Is this the end of the world?

13th August 2016:
Hey there pretty lady!

The internet has informed me that IT'S YOUR BIRTHDAY! So I thought I'd drop by and leave you a little something.

I've been so excited watching you work on this over the past month or so (despite being a completely awful nano parent... oopsie), and I absolutely love the final product! You have a really, really excellent start here. You've given us a solid view of Riya (and oh my goodness I lover her SO MUCH ALREADY.) and enough of a glimpse into the world she lives in to really get a feel for it.

You've done a fantastic job of drawing in the reader. I want to know so much more! I think with first person narration especially, it's easy to fall into the trap of telling rather than showing. It'd certainly be easy to have Riya just tell the reader what happened, "THE GOBLINS HAVE TAKEN OVER THE WORLD AND EVERYTHING IS AWFUL." would not have been nearly as alluring as a first line. Instead, you've shown me pieces, and allowed me to sort of figure out what's going on on my own. I want to know so much more-- What is the current governmental situation? How did the Goblins take control? What's happened to Hogwarts? And I really want to know what's going to happen to Riya and Theo. And what happened to Riya's family?

Also, excellent job mentioning why they didn't just slip into the muggle-world. That was my first thought as I was reading, so I'm glad you brought it up and pointed out the flaws. (I was not expecting Goblins to be Voldemort level Evil but NOPE JUST AS BAD.)

Excellent work deary, I'm excited to see more!

AND I HOPE YOU HAVE THE HAPPIEST OF BIRTHDAYS

Author's Response: HELLO LOVELY! :D

You were a lovely NanoParent! Riya is my spirit animal.

I went back and forth on first person because sometimes I forget the emotional bits that normal humans feel (being a robot and all, it's to be expected).

When I did my research on goblins in the HPverse I kept coming across this stereotype that they were vicious and blood thirsty. I definitely didn't see any of that in the stories themselves, but I decided to really play it up. So now every wizard that decides to hide in the muggle world is risking the lives of all of their neighbors. That's a hard decision to make.

I'm so thankful you took the time to leave me such a wonderful birthday review! It seriously means the world to me! :D Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #24, by mymischiefmanaged Is this the end of the world?

12th August 2016:
Oo I'm really excited about this story. I love revolution/rebellion stories and I've never seen one about goblins. It's such an original, creative idea and I'm really intrigued to see where you take it.

ALSO I know we haven't seen much of them so far but I really like Theo and Riya. I'm glad they've managed to maintain a normal friendship in such horrid circumstances, and I like how easy they find it to spend time together. I have an ominous feeling that they're going to get separated but I guess I'll wait and see...

Wonderful first chapter - I'm looking forward to your next update! Emma xx

Author's Response: I'm so glad you feel that way! I haven't seen one about goblins either so I'm pretty excited to write it!

Theo and Riya have a bit of a weird best friendship, but they still seem to get each other pretty well considering the circumstances!

Thank you so much for the marvelous review! It seriously motivates me so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login