Reading Reviews for The Harder They Fall
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by magnifique11 The Beginning of the End

31st March 2017:
Ahh! I was so excited to log on and see this updated today!

And what a jam-packed chapter! I feel like everything happened all at once, but in a good way? If that makes sense? At any rate, I feel like I've got a pretty good handle on what might be about to happen next which has me both excited and apprehensive. I'm so glad that Brindley told Finn about what's actually going on with her illness but wow it's so ? sad that she has to be in such a mindset so young - very brave, but sad as well. I think that the way you wrote Finn's reaction and resulting actions was absolutely perfect and in-character; he is just very, very consistent as a character which is NOT an easy thing to do when writing as I'm sure you know, so I really commend you for that consistency as you grow and shape him.

I'm really curious to see whether or not he'll feel guilt over subjecting an innocent person in order to save Brindley - like, how will this change his character? Will it change him? And more importantly a) will it work, and b) whether or not it does, what is it going to do to his relationship with Brindley? Will his guilt make him resent her? Will she resent him if she finds out? The possibilities are endless! But I'm very excited to see the direction in which you take it.

This was very long and rambly, but I hope it made sense. tldr; I really liked the chapter :)

Julie

Author's Response: This magnificent person has a name! Hello Julie!

Ramble all you want, my dear! :D It's amazing to hear all the lovely things you say, and that you have so many questions you want answered. All in good time ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review!

♥ Bianca


 Report Review

Review #2, by dreamgazer220 The Beginning of the End

31st March 2017:
Eeep, a new chapter of HTF! YAY!

I love Finn. Like, a lot. I like his character development and how he stays true to himself, but you can easily see how he's changed from his Hero days until now, when he wants to protect Brindley at all costs. And using someone else to do it - that does seem very Slytherin and very Finn-like. I do feel bad for the girl, but as long as Brindley is safe from Grindelwald, it's okay. :P

I love your writing and how it's grown. Like always, this chapter flew by for me. I liked how the pace at the coup was higher and more at-stake than the pace with Brindley, and then it picked up again with Finn and the boys. It felt natural and I gobbled this chapter right up. ♥

AND MY POOR FINNDLEY :( When she said she was dying, my heart broke for Finn. Especially this part: Brindley’s mouth lifted in half a smile. “It’s okay, Finn. I’ve come to terms with it.”

The words slipped out of his mouth, hoarse and raw, before he could stop them. “I haven’t.”
I just love how he's grown to care about her over time and doesn't really have a filter around her anymore. ♥

I also loved this line: “It’s fine,” she said, smiling. “Pain is relative, you know? There’s no use in comparing problems.”

Brindley's always seemed wise beyond her years, but not in a condescending way. I guess her condition would help with wisdom.

BUT YOU CAN'T KILL HER TOO, OKAY? MY POOR BABY WON'T BE ABLE TO HANDLE IT.

Lovely chapter as always, B!

♥J

Author's Response: Yas it finally happened! I UPDATED YA'LL!

I don't even know how to reply to this because it's so wonderful, and I'm so so so glad you liked it.

I mean, I'd love to put your mind at ease about Brindley, but the story isn't over yet ;)

Love you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by quill2parchment The Beginning of the End

30th March 2017:
It continues to impress me how well you write Tom. "In their success, Tom had said, he wanted to be recognized." Of course, he does.

Finn's dad knows about Brindley! I'm not surprised he's keeping tabs on Finn, tbh. But ugh.

The way you're going about Finn getting the dark mark is absolutely brilliant by the way. I love that he doesn't entirely know what's going on. It reminds us that despite Brindley, he's still getting sucked in deeper and deeper...

And Brindley! We finally found out what's going with her illness... I'm still really hoping that Finn finds a way of helping her. Although doing so by throwing another student under the bus, sort of speak, isn't right either! But he's under so much pressure so he might give in.

Brilliant chapter. Like always! Can't wait for the next one!

 Report Review

Review #4, by quill2parchment A Snake in the Den

29th March 2017:
I'm finally all caught up with this story and floored with your writing skills!

First of all, let me start by telling you I miss Hero. That first chapter was so hard to read. :( I really felt for Finn, and it made me really bitter towards Tom.

Speaking of Finn... I love, love Finn. I liked him in Hero, and I love him even more here. He's so wonderful, and he gives me all the feels. He makes me laugh and want to cry at the same time but he's so adorable and funny but has such a tragic story.

And Brindley. She's so sweet with the perfect amount of sassy. She's exactly what Finn needs so I'm praying her illness isn't anything terminal. I really want her to be okay. I really want them to be grow up, get married, have babies, and live happily ever after away from Tom Riddle and all his evilness...

What I love the most about your writing is how easy it is to get attached to the characters. They're so well crafted that they feel real to the reader. That's very hard to do so I applaud you on that front.

Please update soon. I'll be constantly checking. Although I know it'll be worth the wait when we finally get a new chapter.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleMissAutumn A Snake in the Den

27th March 2017:
I KNEW IT! I KNEW IT WAS BRINDLEY! I ship her and Finn so much! She tames him from his rambunctious ways and really does care for him. Their group date to the movies was adorable! I'm glad that Finn is starting to see (even though he probably doesn't fully realize yet) what Hero loved about her muggle and muggleborn friends. All the prejudice is ridiculous and just hate. They're missing out on sharing so much together. I'm so anxious for him to find out that Riddle killed his sister!! I wonder if he'll let it slip, in a sly comment made about their family being "blood traitors" when he discovers the nature of Finn and Brindley's relationship. Or if Amy will come around asking for Hero. Speaking of Amy, is she still alive? I hope she stays far away from the Blishwick home in fear that the people there would kill her on the spot. What will Finn do when he discovers what Tom did? Will he die too? Ahhh, so many questions. What's Emory up to these days? I think a conversation between her and Finn would be nice, albeit a tad awkward. Still. She was Hero's best friend, she would understand how he feels even if she was angry with her in the end.

Please, please, please update soon!

Author's Response: Aw, hello! I'm so glad you ship Finn and Brindley, and that you're enjoying the story!

I'm going to be honest with you; even though I thought hard about including Emory, Theo and Darcy (Amy) in the early stages of planning, I'm afraid they won't be making an appearance :( Though I agree it would be interesting to see the new-Finn talking to them.

And as for Finn finding out the truth about Tom and Hero... well, you'll just have to read and find out, won't you? ;)

The next chapter will be up very soon! Thank you so so much for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by magnifique11 A Snake in the Den

27th March 2017:
So I basically binge-read all of this + Hero's story last night, but then by the time I finished it was too late to write a proper review, so here I am returned to write the kind of review this story deserves!

I will preface this by saying I usually avoid stories around Tom Riddle because he is a very complicated character to get right, (it feels like people always want to make him so much better than he is? Like no? he's an evil, genocidal monster? anyway) but I love your version of him in a "wow this guy is super messed up and that's portrayed incredibly accurately" kind of way, if that makes sense.

And don't get me wrong, I loved Hero's character and definitely teared up when Riddle betrayed her, but I think that Finn is my favorite of the two because he's such a conflicted character and you're really pushing him through a lot of moral gray areas and choices and I can just see so much growth in his character from the previous story till now - I love it because that makes me love him and root for him and really hope that things work out, (even though they probably won't - yikes D: but that's how stories go sometimes lol).

I've also been a huge Brindley fan since she appeared but that may have more to do with the fact that I'm a Hufflepuff than anything else lol. At any rate, I'm really intrigued by her mysterious illness and I'm like ?! Ahhh!

So those are my feelings. Overall a really, really well-written story and I'm definitely looking forward to more whenever you get around to it. Thank you for sharing it with everyone :)

Author's Response: HELLO! Your review has completely made my day! I appreciate your binge-reading so much. I'm so glad you like the characters, I love Finn the most too (just don't tell the others)

Thank you so so much again for taking the time to review, it means a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by crimson quill A Snake in the Den

19th March 2017:
Hello B (it's cool to call you that right?!)

I lovelovelove this. I'm totally in love with the whole story. just wonderful stuff. How did it take me so long to read this?!

muchloveee xx

Author's Response: Of course you can call me that!

Aw I'm so glad you made it, and it hardly took you long :P Thank you for reading so much and taking the time to review! You've been so amazing lately, and I really appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Your Secret Valentine A Snake in the Den

12th February 2017:
Hello, Bianca.
I'm your Secret Valentine, here with a little present for you.

This was such a good chapter, so satisfactory and full of events.

Brindley is the illegitimate Potter, I'm surprised Finn didn't realize it until her reconstruction. This definitely puts him in a difficult position but I'm very proud of him for deciding to protect her from Grindelwald. It must be so scary for him, though. And he can't even confide in anyone.

Finn clearly has strong feelings for Brindley, even if he's still struggling to admit them. His concern for her health is so endearing.

I loved your description of our CR, everything circular and sunny and warm. I could breath the Hufflepuff atmosphere, so wonderful.

They kissed! Sure, there was alcohol involved and everything, still... It's so adorable that Finn feels so different about kissing her than all the other girls he's been with. And the scene with Lucretia... I almost felt bad for her. Or maybe I didn't. Anyway, the kiss between Finn and Brindley was utter perfection.

I'm wondering where things will go from here. I expect some Riddle conflict very soon but I'll just patiently wait for your update and find out.

See you soon,
your Secret Valentine

 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan A Snake in the Den

31st January 2017:
REVIEW TAG HI I LOVE YOU

“But in these last ones Harry tells her to be careful of this man, who they just call ‘G’.” -- G...rindelwald? He's the only person I can think of who people should be wary of whose name also starts with a G. But is he too early? After all this letter is from like 16 years ago. I guess I'll just read on and find out :P

Brindley was Henry Potter’s illegitimate child. -- I CALLED IT! :D Though I must say you did an admirable job of making me second guess myself into thinking it was potentially Sebastian.

Also, poor Finn. Talk about something to really make you reevaluate your whole life. He's been trying to figure this out for a while, and then the information just falls into his lap and it's something he doesn't like, because over the past few months he's gotten to know Brindley and started to like her. But it says a lot about how much he's changed, that his first thought is that he can save Brindley, unlike how he couldn't save his sister or his father.

Tom doesn't miss anything. He saw Finn's indecision for like 2 seconds and has probably figured it all out.

Finn is literally giving himself a fake injury so he can go see Brindley in the hospital wing. Is he still trying to say he doesn't care about her? Is that the story he's going with? Because...

Also, all the secret conversations they have with one another while they're pretending not to notice one another. I bet they're actually super obvious.

Brindley saying she'd never been to the area with the barrels (aka the entrance to her own common room) and then making Finn say a fake password to a barrel... ahahaha this is magical and hilarious and Finn talked to a barrel.

THEY ARE MAKING A BLANKET FORT OMG also wizard blanket forts sound way more sophisticated than Muggle ones. Like you don't have to have all the stuff in the middle that holds the blankets up because magic.

Did he just accidentally and very non subtly call her an angel? Yep, he did. I'm enjoying this but also waiting for the part where Saffron is bound to walk in and be like "Yo I told you to come right back out of this room so what are you doing."

But thank you for keeping Saffron out of the room because that blanket fort scene/the kiss was amazing and I loved it. And Finn has so many feelings to sort through. I wonder what the repercussions of that night will be though - how it will change Finn and Brindley's relationship, and what Lucretia will do now that she knows Finn likes Brindley.

Ah, this was such a great chapter! ♥ Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by dreamgazer220 A Snake in the Den

25th January 2017:
HELLO I'M SORRY IT TOOK ME SO LONG TO REVIEW THIS CHAPTER! ♥♥♥

Okay so like, I've told you that Finndley is my OTP of the fanfic world right now, right? Because they totally are. I love their dynamic and how Finn is slowly becoming more and more aware of her existence, and he doesn't know why and he finds it annoying, which is adorable and so very Finn.

Okay so I loved the opening scene, and OH GOD FINN IS GOING TO BE MORALLY COMPROMISED NOW AND I AM SO. HERE. FOR. IT. I love love love his character growth and you do it so well and naturally, like he doesn't immediately love her and want to spend time with her.

And I loved the duel scene, I loved that he made sure to get close to her and I loved their talking under their breath, and Tom totally knows because he's smart. And Grindelwald is totally the evil wizard after Mara, I KNOW IT.

AND THEN CAN WE TALK ABOUT DRUNK FINN AND DRUNK BRINDLEY AND THE BLANKET FORT AND THE KISS AND I'M SORRY FOR THE CAPSLOCK BUT IT WAS SO WONDERFUL. It was simple and it felt natural and so very right for them. I can't wait to see if Brindley remembers what happened and how they're going to act around each other after this.

I also loved Finn taking care of her and Brindley giving him a hard time about the Hufflepuff common room, and I just loved everything, okay?!?!

And you. I know you're going through a rough patch but I hope things get better soon because you're amazing and this chapter was amazing.

Love you!

♥ J

 Report Review

Review #11, by PaulaTheProkaryote A Snake in the Den

25th January 2017:
BB!

A NEW CHAPTER A NEW CHAPTER A NEW CHAPTER!

Is this the blanket fort chapter? It's gotta be!

Look at baby Finn Finn being all encouraging right off the bat! Oh my god, he's the cutest. And he's growing ~aware~ of her.

I feel 99% sure that she's the one he's looking for so what will happen if that's true and he figures it out? Like is he going to have to pick between her or his ...family values? I don't know how else to describe his awful Tom-Riddle-filled life with the parents and Gellert. Yuck.

Did I mention I like that Madam Flint is Madam Flint? Like Marcus got a lot of heat even though he wasn't really much worse than Wood, so to have her be a relative is a nice little bit.

G is totally Gellert Grindelwald. The jerk. It would explain why he's still prodding around at the poor family.

"Brindley was Henry Potter’s illegitimate child." OH GOd, He figured it out! Oh no.

"He couldn’t protect Hero from the spider, or his father from the Elder Wand, but he could protect Brindley from Grindelwald." MY BOY. I knew he'd do right! (ignore my doubts of him just a paragraph above)

Poor porlock. Just minding its own business.

I have a bit of hope that maybe his mom wanting him to stay away is because she knows it's all bad news and wants him to be safe. They're just in too deep.

Lol at Brindley comparing him to a moth. I feel certain that chapter one Finn would have had a fit.

I'm just going to live in the blanket fort scene. When all the other bad stuff happens, I'll just be in the blanket fort.

Low-key annoyed at him for grabbing Lucretia right after his perf kiss with Brindley, but I think it solidified that she was so important to him and it's really in his character.

THIS CHAPTER WAS AMAZING. Like 15/10 did not disappoint. Now I'm dying for the next one!

 Report Review

Review #12, by mymischiefmanaged A Snake in the Den

19th January 2017:
Yay there's more! B I loved this so much. I like that Finn's softening a bit but just feels so confused by this feelings. And Brindlay's kind of oblivious to his conflict, or if she notices it she chooses to act like everything's normal.

I feel like this chapter's a bit of a turning point in the plot. Brindlay's finally properly connected to the rest of Finn's life, albeit in a way that puts her in a lot of danger. I'm interested to see how Finn handles his new understanding of who she is. I think he will try to protect her, but I don't know if he's strong enough yet to fully go against what his family and Tom want. I'm looking forward to seeing how this develops.

Brindlay's illness is still concerning. I'm worried that she's actually dying. Her line about taking it one day at a time made it sound very serious. She's so full of energy and is so sweet I hope she's going to be okay. And I think it would break Finn if something happened to her.

That moment when Tom noticed Finn making to run to her side when she collapsed was a bit sinister. I have a feeling he won't forget that any time soon.

There was so much about this that I loved. I'm glad you're back!

Also I'm aware that I need to reply to your message - have somehow been super busy and lacking in priorities so I will sort that out!

E xxx

 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragon Left Behind

16th January 2017:
Howdy Bianca! I am terribly tardy, but I am leaving a review here for you for your holiday wishlist! If there's one thing my quest has revealed it's that I need to get back to reading more. Though I am not familiar with the references (to one of your other fine works I presume), I can still tell already that this story is going to be top notch.

Your descriptions are really excellent. Even when Finn is merely observing others that are mostly idle you have clearly taken a lot of care with them and it really pays, conveying subtle (and not so subtle) differences in attitude or reaction and reinforcing (particularly in Finn's case) notions of him as broken.

I also like the characterizations, which are strong and differentiable - something so often forgotten when writing quickly as people focus more on the overarching aims of the chapter and allow folks in similar groups to feel (at least for times) like they're simply cut from the same cloth. With Finn in particular I like the way you emphasize the contrast between his inner turmoil and outer personality and as (I hope) I continue reading, I can't wait to see the conflict in that develop.

If I had to be picky about something, it's that I think the "rule of three" gets a touch overused as a device in the first half of the chapter, but all in all it's sensational work.

Thanks for sharing!

P.S. Ragging hard on Hufflepuffs! Is that to throw everyone off the scent of your wonderful Puffdom? :P

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Casablanca

5th January 2017:
The second half of this chapter was the cutest thing I have ever read. Especially Finn being such a dork and fetching Brindley's scarf for her. I want to replay this moment over and over.

As for the first half: I know you hinted at Sebastian being the lost Potter, and I think Ive mentioned this before but I really think it's Brindley. Who is her father really? RIGHT?

Okay but let's talk about the second half the chapter again because it's so adorable and they watched Casablanca together and they drove a car like a proper gentleman and lady and then they flirted a lot. And he told her a dumb story about the Bloody Baron and she thought it was funny. I needed this fluff so much after the intensity of the previous chapters. I love them and I love you. Happy New year!

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Poison

5th January 2017:
I love the quotes you start each chapter with. Here I'm wondering who the innocent one is that's alluded to with that quote, and I dread to think it's Brindley. Only time will tell.

I had forgotten that Finn's owl's name is Adonis and it made me laugh all over again.

Ooh, things just got interesting regarding Sebastian..

Yikes, what a time to Floo in. Poor Jameson :( I wonder if this is a turning point for Finn though. This whole story so far (and in Hero as well) Finn has been a bystander, sometimes feeling like he should do something but he never does, and this was one such example that must have hit pretty close to home. I wonder if this is what changes him - he does seem to have a lot of determination to set things aright, although whether he puts words to action is another thing.

I know this isn't really important but really, what is Fletcher writing? hahaha

Wow, back when the Hog's Head was new and people actually went there aside from Mundungus Fletcher.

That's quite a show from Tom about what happens when they disobey him. He's such an abusive friend. Also, I wonder if he found out something about Radbourne that he can blackmail him with or if Radbourne owes him for something, because Radbourne seems a lot less keen to stand up to Tom as he was in the previous chapter. Also - is this the source of the collapsed tunnel marked on the Marauder's Map? You're a genius Bianca ;)

ASDLKJFALKSJDFLK the scene in the hospital wing is simultaneously so sweet and heartbreaking. They're bonding because of their grief and they're putting their antagonism towards each other aside for a moment and it's beautiful, even if the reason for it is sad.

Poor little Hufflepuff kid :(

As for the last bit, all I have to say is this: THERE WAS FLIRTING

 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan The Ministry

5th January 2017:
DEAR BIANCA,
MERRY HOLIDAYS
I'm here with a few reviews!

I notice Tom doesn't want people reading his diary. Either it's already a Horcrux or he's been writing about his crush on someone unattainable and drawing broken hearts and writing emo poetry and he's too embarrassed to let his friends see. Obviously my money is on the latter.

This curse that Tom is looking for sounds like only bad news. I'm sure he doesn't really need to include that in his essay. He's finished with his essay, after all.

I like Radbourne. At least he has a backbone and isn't cool with just being a bystander. Can't say the same for Finn. I love that Radbourne wants to be a Healer as well. How did he get mixed up with this bunch?

“Radbourne,” Tom continued, “get a copy of Moste Potente Potions and bring it to me.” -- Where does one get a copye of Moste Potente Potionse? At Ye Olde Towne Shoppe.

Ah, no, the librarye.

[Sidenote: I sincerely apologize for this review already. It's a late night review and those have a tendencye to be weirde. I am so not a night owl.]

Hahaha, now Finn, do I detect a hint of jealousy? He does seem unreasonably irritated at seeing Brindley kissing Patrick Avery.

FINN YOU SMUG JERK. HE IS THE WORST. I don't know how Brindley didn't see it coming. Because of course he would do something like that, making an executive decision about the Ministry that favors him and totally disregarding what she wants.

I love your description of the Ministry in those days and how you used the smallest canon details, like in the books Arthur mentioned that they used to have owls delivering the memos, and here they are - and Bob Ogden is working there. Sidenote, it would be so nerve-wracking to be in an elevator while there are birds flying above you and you can't get out of their way. I feel like I'd need to have an umbrella at all times. Anyway, this has gotten off topic but what I wanted to say is I like your attention to detail.

“Well, since I’m here, might as well enjoy it,” she whispered back. -- I love her

The small medium at large XD I love that joke

Ouch! Double ouch. That's a difficult way for Finn to learn about Brindley's parents. Who does she live with? Aunt? Uncle? Also, I love how cute Finn was being with the joke about the troll cave and it kind of breaks my heart how she responded. Ugh. I am very sad. The fact that Brindley is so upbeat and positive even when she's got so much to deal with - she's a pretty amazing person. ALSO, there was some almost flirting there in that scene. And I noticed at the end that Finn used her first name! I saw it!

Excellent chapter! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by MargaretLane Left Behind

14th December 2016:
Oooh, this story DOES look interesting. And really original. I don't think I've read anything else like it. Not that I've started reading yet, but you know, judging by the summary.

Anyway, I come bearing gifts.

Your description here is amazing. I am absolutely useless at description so I am always impressed when somebody is good at it. I often tend to get lost reading long descriptions, but this kept my attention and really created an atmosphere. It also seems to fit the era somehow.

VERY nitpicky, but I think the line "sixth year was important, despite his indifference" seems a bit awkward.

You've given us a real insight into his family too, between the fact they can afford such heirlooms and the fact that his father can influence grades that seem to be Ministry rather than school run. I know you can technically go to jail for messing with Leaving Cert. results. Not sure if it would be the same for the O.W.L.S. and N.E.W.T.S.

Ooh, I wonder if Riddle is responsible for his sister's death. It seems rather a coincidence if she died of a tragic accident when there was a murderer in the vicinity.

Of course! It never occurred to me that Grindlewald's reign of terror coincided with Voldemort's childhood. And I love the extra detail you are giving about Grindlewald's supporters.

That part about him smiling and telling everybody things are fine despite his sister's tragic death and his heart saying they are not fine is really sad and gives us an insight into his character. And it is really well written.

Hmm, this seems to suggest a link between Grindlewald and Voldemort.

And Yikes, this kid's admiration for Tom is quite scary. I wonder if he will end up becoming one of the early Death Eaters or if perhaps Tom DID play a part in his sister's death and he will find out and turn against him.

A sign of how much prominence British and American literature has - as a child I expected I'd have free periods in secondary school. Yeah, some hope.

Oh, I wonder why his father noticed him.

LOVE the description of the Malford. Utterly accurate.

I also really like the way Tom just states "you will do it." It shows his power that he doesn't even have to issue any threats or anything; he just states it as a fact.

Love the part about his twin being everything he wanted to be and him being everything she'd feared to become.

And ooh, I wonder what happened with the car accident.

I don't give this often, but I think this deserves a 10.

 Report Review

Review #18, by PaulaTheProkaryote Casablanca

13th November 2016:
A MONTH. HAVE I MENTIONED A MONTH? You should know that I very rarely actually check stories to see if they update and I literally just came to your story to see when the last chapter was so I could nag you into stopping your nano for half a moment and then WHAM. You do this. Or maybe I do this. Yes, I know it's my fault, but I can't take responsibility because I'm not an adult.

I love how Slytherin he is without being really the negative aspect of Slytherin. I mean, yeah, he's a total badword, but at the same time he's dying to impress people. Like that's what most of his flaws come down to. His pride.

OH, I love the mystery of his cousin.

At first I read this line:"he’d never had so much to think about before" as "he'd never had to think before." and died laughing when I realized my mistake. Poor Finn. I love Finn.

Sebastian is my baby love. Let's not kill him. Deal? Deal.

"He knew Hufflepuffs were honest, but weren’t they supposed to use their powers for good?" That's the thing about Hufflepuffs. They are evil in the best ways.

MORE MYSTERY! Oh, poor Brindley. She's seriously had the worst lot in life, but somehow keeps this magnificent personality through it all.

OH GOD IS IT HER? OMG, IS SHE THE BABY HE'S LOOKING FOR? don't answer that, but it's my suspicion.

“Almost, but I stopped it just in time.” Just in time to make me squeal. Ugh, that's it. I'm in love with both of them. THIS IS BASICALLY A DATE.

The Hufflepuff tunnel myth was amazing and I don't think it's cannon, but I believe it now with my whole heart.

I like a lot that Finn is so put off by the car thing. It makes a lot of sense and it's some really solid character development.

"Brindley linked her fingers with Finn’s." It's fine, I'm just going to scream for a few hours.

FORGET NANO AND GIVE ME SO FRINNDLEY. Well, not really, but I seriously can't wait for the next chapter and for me to squeal more and for my dogs to keep panicking because of the excited noises I tend to make. You're seriously the best writer.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Felpata Lupin Casablanca

5th November 2016:
B!!! *wub*
I'm here! I did tell you I would, didn't I? ;)

Oh, wow... this was a great chapter! (Yes, I know I say that about every chapter. It's just the truth.)

Even more mistery... what is it about their cousin in America? What other secrets are the Blishwicks hiding? I want to know!!!

And Bash... I already told you when you showed me that snipped on Skype the other day, but seeing him so fierce makes me fall in love with him even more! I wish Finn was a bit less insufferent when it comes to him, but then again he wouldn't be Finn... :P

By the way, I loved how you showed his conceit in here. There were a few sentences that really craked me up. Eheheh!

And then there is Brindley... with her misterious letters and strange health issues and mischievous attitude... wonder why Finn is attracted by her... :P (yes, Finn, you heard right. And don't even try to deny, I can see through it all, young man.)

But speaking about the letters and the mistery... unprecised magical items? And her father's name is Harry? Are you playing tricks with my brain, B? Cause this isn't funny...

And yay! The drive-in! I love it! Where did you even get the idea? Actually, I do know where did you get the idea... from our Puffy Movie Nights, didn't you? And this is why I love you! (Apart another thousand of reasons...)

It was all so Pufftastic, you don't even have an idea! I loved the legend of the two Animagi as well!!!

And the car scene... that was wonderful! And... wait a sec... were they holding hands? Like, actually holding hands? Like, are you playing tricks on my poor brain again?

This chapter is wonderful, this story is wonderful, you are wonderful!!!
And I want more!!! Like, now!!!
(Okay, no. Not now. NaNo comes first. What kind of parent would I be if I distracted you from your duty?)

Love and hugs,
Mamma Chi

 Report Review

Review #20, by dreamgazer220 Casablanca

4th November 2016:
ALL ABOARD!! Last call for those to climb aboard the USS Finndley before it sets sail across the Pacific!!!

AHEM. I'M NOT EVEN SORRY.

Omg, B. This chapter was so adorable and so worth the wait! Your writing, as always, is on-point. I'm really liking seeing Sebastian coming into his own. I'm mad that Finn would blow him off like that, but it's such a very Finn thing to do and it's true to his character. His character arc and growth is stunning, though. Truly. You can still see bits and pieces of his old self shine through with his cousin and his friends, and even with Brindley - but then he sort of opens himself up and lets himself be a bit vulnerable later on in this chapter and it's just. ♥♥

THEY ARE SO CUTE I CAN'T EVEN HANDLE IT. I GOT SO DISTRACTED BY THE REST OF THIS CHAPTER BECAUSE JUST. FINNDLEY. (Definitely my fic otp right now)

I loved that urban legend with the Hufflepuffs. Is that actually a thing or is that from the mind of B? Because it could totally be either. And it was cute with Finn and Brindley swapping stories and legends in the tunnel and THE LAUGHING TOGETHER AND THE HANDHOLDING AND THE CAR. OMG.

Also, can we talk for a hot sec about the little plot deliciousness you left us? That Brindley's mother was writing to a man named Harry around the time that she was pregnant? HMMM? Cool! I like this. I like that you still have good plot stuff and even better relationship stuff and I'm just going to stop this review because I'm just going to keep rambling.

In case you couldn't tell, loved this.

Another amazing chapter.

♥♥♥
J

 Report Review

Review #21, by princesslily_36 Poison

19th October 2016:
Because I just caught up with this. Because this is so amazing I read it all n one go. Because Finn. Because Brindley. Because B, you are AMAZING!!! And most of all, because I miss you!

I love the details, the collapsed tunnel, the little revelation about Sebastian and the way you're stringing it all together!

Love you loads!
Ysh!

Author's Response: Ysh! Best surprise ever! THANK YOU I LOVE YOU! ♥

 Report Review

Review #22, by PaulaTheProkaryote Poison

15th October 2016:
HELLO LOVELY.

So I took my time coming here even though HOT DOG I wanted to read and review the moment you said it was up because I've been in a medicine fog and I left Dan the most nonsensical review during said fog. Literally it's half gibberish.

A summary of this review will be mostly: MY HEART OH MY HEART IM SO HAPPY WE ARE FALLING IN LOVE.

IT WAS AN ACCIDENT, GRINDELWALD OMG POOR FINN AND JAMESON. Well, Jameson gets what he gets, but poor Finn! That's certainly all the motivation he needed though.

Tom is way more Tom in this chapter. He's developed from moderately evil to someone go back in time and kill him as a baby evil. His reaction when his friends disobeyed him was over the top in the best way. It really demonstrated that he didn't view them as peers at all, but rather pawns to be used and abused. And then the poor Hufflepuff baby! Also the Hufflepuff baby really highlighted Finn's growth and change. At the beginning of Hero he'd have gladly joined in harrassing, even if he didn't really want to cause too much harm. Now he's rushing to the defense of some baby puff. WHOA.

On the note of Finn, I feel like a lot of these changes are both Brindley induced but also Hero induced. He's becoming someone she would have been proud of. (SOBS FOR MY DEAD BB)

WE WERE SO CLOSE TO FINDING OUT ABOUT BEN'S MUGGLE. You torture us on purpose.

Based on Ben and Radbourne's response to Tom's demands I wonder if they are seeing more evil Tom than Finn is.

Now for my squee: THE HOSPITAL SCENE AND THE CLOSET SCENE AND MY HEART OMG LET'S DO THIS I'M SO IN LOVE THEY ARE MY PRECIOUS BABIES. DO THEY EVEN KNOW HOW CUTE THEY ARE?

 Report Review

Review #23, by Felpata Lupin Poison

15th October 2016:
Oh my Shakespeare, B!
What did you do to my poor heart here?

I don't even know what was sadder... Jameson's torture, Radbourne's "betrayal", Brindley in the hospital wing or that poor Hufflepuff boy... and now I'm also worried sick for my little Bash... can he really be the illegitimate Potter? He was among my suspicions, too, but it doesn't convince me... still, there's something strange about his adoption... guess I'll find out later...

But really, you break my heart repeatedly with this chapter. I only wanted to hug Finn tight the whole time. And that moment when he sort of opens up with Brindley about Hero... I actually almost cried...

And Tom... he's always more perfidious... Finn, I'll beg you once more... you've seen what kind of person he is, what he's capable of... please, stay away from him!

Side note. I really liked Fletcher. He seems so cute. And is he a writer? Sebastian, forgive me, you have a new competitor... :P

And I loved the closing! Brindley is wonderful! I so love the dynamics between the two of them! And now I'm curious about that journal... stop adding new questions instead of giving answers, B! This is getting annoying! (Kidding, I adore you and your writing too much...)

I'll stop with all the rambling now!
See you!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #24, by dreamgazer220 Poison

11th October 2016:
BIANCA I'M SO HAPPY YOU UPDATED, I MISSED THIS STORY! ♥

Whoa. Whoa. Okay, so I knew it was going to be intense when I read the description, and it was! Poor Finn! :( Having to listen to his father's screams like that. It's so chilling, especially when you think about how everyone else is enjoying the first Quidditch game of the season when the real rivalry is going on not too far from there. I also love how you manage to convince me that yes, this is exactly how it happened! I just want to snuggle Finn though, is that okay? He has so much going on and he seems so stressed, poor baby.

AND SEBASTAIN! IS ADOPTED! WHAT! I know we knew this, but it's weird (and I'm sure it's weird for Finn) to see the certification, the proof. Ugh. There are SO MANY GOOD THINGS IN THIS CHAPTER, B.

Again, boys being boys. A+. I love that Finn still makes time for his friends and that they hang out like normal teenagers. Drinking and having fun. It was a nice balance and breath of fresh air within this chapter that had so much darkness.

TOM. TOM, YOU'RE TURNING INTO RIDDLE NOW AND I DON'T LIKE YOU ANYMORE, UGH. I'm glad Finn's starting to feel uncomfortable around him though (like lol with the snake. Oh Tom) and that he so clearly doesn't agree with what he's doing but doesn't know how to step out of it. It's really showing Finn's character development.

AND SO MUCH FINNDLEY GOODNESS IN THIS CHAPTER! Broom closets and him telling her about Hero (WHY BIANCA WHY) :( I'm glad they're sort of mellowing out around each other, and Finn was so nervous it was her! IS THAT FORESHADOWING BIANCA? *glare*

FINNDLEY DEVELOPMENT. FINN DEVELOPMENT. SUPER DARK GRINDELWALD STUFF. Also your flawless writing.

What's not to love about this chapter?!

♥♥♥

Author's Response: Ahh this is so amazing, you made me smile all day long! THANK YOU!!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Under the Helmet

11th October 2016:
Here I am... signed sealed delivered, I'm yours. I mean, here I am with your requested review. :P

Wait, Finn wants to do homework?! :O Where is the real Finn and what happened to him? DANGER, WILL ROBINSON.

Why does he not own a copy of the textbook? How is he going to become this new responsible person who studies and wants to do his homework, if he doesn't even have the required class materials? I know he's rich enough to afford it, so he can't even use that as an excuse. *shakes head*

After hours library pass? It's like they're asking for trouble. I guess I can see why these passes no longer existed by the time Harry went to Hogwarts. :P

He stood in front of her desk. She didn’t look up. “I need that book,” he said bluntly. -- Um. In case I doubted that Finn is the most entitled, selfish snob ever. Literally he thinks she's going to give him the book she's using just because he needs it. This is how toddlers think about toys. Come on, Finn, you can be better than this.

Her hair added a sweeter scent to the library; like cinnamon -- *makes mental note just in case you have a chapter on Amortentia coming up*

Um. All the coughing fits and she's even coughing up blood into a handkerchief. I remember when this happened in Moulin Rouge and it didn't turn out well. Aah! I'm seriously worried about Brindley. What is going on with her? It seems like a wizard illness, but one Finn isn't familiar with either. One thing I did catch however: Finn is concerned. He'd deny it I know, but he was worried there.

Aw, Brindley covers for him so he doesn't get kicked out of the library. She has literally NO reason to be nice to him after how he's treated her. But she's just nice. That's who she is. AND. Finn is jealous of Brindley's date?? And I notice him glancing at her a lot. A long glance. *Raises more flags on the RMS Finndley* (wait I just remembered Finn's full name is Finlay isn't it? Finlay and Brindley. They RHYME. Hehehe. Did you do that on purpose? XD )

the hard and unfeeling outside he let the world see might be inhuman, but it was a hell of a lot more civilized than what he hid inside. -- I mean I do feel bad for Finn but he literally sounds like the music I used to listen to in 8th grade. ANGST

Brindley really didn't have to apologize for saying that. Finn needed to be taken down a peg or ten.

Slughorn chortled. “Indeed! I also heard tell of your skills as a duelist.” -- Random fact but I accidentally read duelist as 'dentist' at first

When you mention Henry Potter's familiar face - particularly the turned up nose... Long shot here but I feel like you mentioned Brindley's nose as turned up. Maybe. Once. I think? Maybe I made it up. Anyway now I'm really wondering. Of course, it's probably someone from Hogwarts, but my money is on Brindley.

Aw, Finn's mum kind of breaks my heart. She may not know the particulars of what's going on but she's definitely aware something is going on and that Finn is confused about it.

So the pineapple Tom got for Slughorn was actually bought by Finn. Haha, for all the way Tom weasels his way in with other people, he literally does no work to do so. He's like a puppeteer just moving the strings of everyone around him. And it's so believable.

I have no comment except eye rolling about Finn and Lucretia at the end. When Finn wants to study, he demands a book from someone who's already using it because how could anyone not understand that he wants to study. But when a girl he likes wants to study, he can't understand why she wants to study and seduces her instead because that's what he wants. *headdesk* Finn has a lot of growing up to do, and up to this point he basically only thinks about himself, but I think that's why he's such a dynamic character and interesting to read about. He's an idiot 98% of the time, but that 2% is when he feels shame and guilt about Hero, or concern about Brindley, and you can tell that he has potential to be better. Oh and I guess by 'no comment' at the beginning of this paragraph I meant 'a lot of comments'.

How did this review get so long? I'm about to run out of characters. So um, this was a good chapter. I should probably have some CC, shouldn't I? I guess there was this:

He threw himself into the chair, letting the legs scrape nosily, - That should probably say 'noisily'. Unless the chairs are not minding their own business.

Okay that's all. This was a great chapter! ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>