Reading Reviews for Red Red Rose
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Show Off

23rd May 2016:
It's just exciting news all around :D I am loving it!

I hope that the band gets a good response, I love fics that have bands in it. Especially ones that contain Albus. :D

I think that Harry and Hermione should be teachers permanently, I think that Harry would be a lot happier doing that instead of being an Auror.

Look at Lee being all kinds of awesome! I can imagine him being some sort of rockstar/presenter/DJ, it would fit him so well being in the entertainment industry.

Awww I'm so glad that they're going to support them in their dream, and that Draco seems to be the most encouraging of them all. :D

Haha this was so funny and such a wonderful read. :D

Author's Response: Hi, Tammi! Thank you for coming back again.

Hmm it may be a good idea to set Harry as a permanent DA teacher at Hogwarts.

Talking of the entertainment industory, we can write more about the wizarding world music scene.

I wonder if it was a right thing that I set Draco as the most encouraging parent among them. Harry should be, but I think he had been too busy to notice what they had been up to.
I might rewrite this fic and add more chapters.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

23rd May 2016:
So much slapping from Hugo to Scorpius... if I was any kind of person who ships those two together (which I totally am) I would ship them just from that moment.

But that's probably just me wanting Hugo/Scorpius all the time. anyways! Back to the story! :D

I wonder what's making them want to write a hit song? Are they all in a band together?

:O No! My Scorpius/Hugo dreams (that only I had) have been shattered because of Scorpius/Rose :P They're still cute together with their kissing and that.

He has a lute? This is brilliant! :D

And I hope that Hugo finds his cards soon.

I'm so excited to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Hi, Tammi! You are a super woman. You read and review so fast. I really respect you.

My next generation head cannon has just been created. I know there left so many spaces to be filled in. I wish I could write my thought faster. I'd like to know how you manage to produce so many chapters so fast. I'm very slow to write descriptions.

I think reading your stories will give me some hints.

Do you like Scorp playing the lute? I may continue this story. My head cannon Hugo is just like Ron who is good at playing chess.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Show Off

15th May 2016:
I think it's super realistic that McGonagall would have Harry and Hermione come in to speak for guest lectures, not only because they both have so much experience and the students would want to hear from them, but I can only imagine McGonagall asking something like that of Harry and of course he would agree to do that, that's very much who he is.

Yay, their performance! Quite a change from the very traditional school song. Haha, I don't find it surprising at all that the kids didn't tell their parents they'd started a band. I love the intsruments you've chosen for the band as well - a lute and fiddle! Sounds like they'd be a pretty cool band :D

Of course leave it to the parents to be discussing how successful they can be, talking seriously about their children's futures - meanwhile Rose only wants to have fun with the band, not necessarily to be a professional or have even given it much thought.

She loved his scowling when he focused on playing the fiddle. -- Aaah, I love that you included this! I myself am a viola/violin/fiddle player and I've definitely caught myself scowling at times when I'm concentrating on a difficult passage or something. It's such a minor detail to include but is so realistic and I just love that you wrote that in :D

Great chapter! Omg and I can't believe Scorpius stole Hugo's cards and hid them in the fiddle case. What a joker. :P

Author's Response: Thank you agian, Kristin! I'll send you Internet sushi and green tea for your kindness!

Though I started writing the next generation, I couldn't resist inserting Harry. I love Harry-centered story. :p
For that, McGonagall was necessary to be written.

As I see my son every day, the idea that the kids don't tell everything to their parents, popped in my mind naturally. Looking back my shcool days, it was like that, too.

Rose, a singer wasn't planned at first, but I thought, it would be better, so I changed my first plan.

Oh, do you play the viola and the violin? I'm very intrigued by your fiddle thing. We need more talk about music. I try to smile while I'm playing or performing in public, I can't. Can you?

I'm happy to know you took the last scene "a joker". That's exactly what I intended to.

Kenny




 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

15th May 2016:
Hi Kenny! This is the rest of your hot seat reviews from me. I'm sorry they are late. I meant to do more last weekend and then didn't, but hey - it's like when you get late birthday presents, just means the celebration lasts longer! :P

This is a lovely start - it's very whimsical in nature, and you've wonderfully portrayed the relationships between the characters, what with the way Albus teases his cousin about Scorpius being her boyfriend, or the way Al and Scorpius write music, the fact that Hugo collects the cards from chocolate frogs, and the bit I loved the most - how Albus wants to write good songs but is bad at poetry. (I can relate!)

I really like seeing musicians in the wizarding world because apart from a few mentions of bands/musicians in canon like the Weird Sisters, Hobgoblins, and Celestina Warbeck (... that may be all, actually?) there aren't any others and I love seeing what wizarding music would be like. Especially as you have it here, since they still appear to be in school - I'm eager to see what a band composed of teenagers at Hogwarts would be like. I can't believe Albus just sang a letter from Scorpius to Rose and turned it into a song. I don't suppose Scorp will be too thrilled about that.

A really interesting start and I can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Hi, Kristin! You came back to add more. You are such a nice person.

I tried writing the new trio, I think Scorp is just like Draco, Albus is like Harry, his father Harry was not good at writing, so I set his son, Albus like that.

Yeah, as you noticed, I wanted to add more in the musical part. I wrote another episode realted to the Weird Sisters. If you have time, please stop by. The name of the story is "Highland Is Calling".

Reading your feedback, I feel like I should add more description around the episode how the lyrics were made based on the letter.

I got another review to update this story. I have to find more time for this.

Thank you again for dropping your thouht!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #5, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Show Off

13th May 2016:
Hahaha! This is cute and adorable and hilarious, like I knew it would be! I just LOVE the ending there when, out of nowhere, Hugo just goes running after Scorpius, and Scorpius just grabs the cards and takes off running! I thought one of Hugo's cousins had taken the cards, so I thought it was hilarious to see that it was Scorpius, and I could just picture the two of them running around like that in my head!

I was also really pleased to see Draco and the Potters/Weasleys getting along here. SO many stories show a tense atmosphere between them, but it's nice to read something where they get along, approve of their childrens' relationship, and support their children in even less common pursuits.

I really liked seeing things through McGonagall's eyes in the first part of the chapter, and I was sad to read that she'd be retiring soon. I think you made a good point that she won't really know what to do with herself when she's not teaching anymore.

Your description of Lee's actions and words when he first got on the stage was pretty funny. And I really liked seeing the moment of tenderness between Rose and Scorpius!

I'm very excited to see where things go from here, and I think your love for music really shines through in this story! This is going on my 'Currently Reading' list now, and I'll be eagerly awaiting an update! Well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you again for sparing your precious time, Jayde!

My next gen. head cannon has been formed like I wrote in this chapter. Hugo is like his dad, Ron and Scorpius is like Draco Malfoy. Albus is like Harry and Rose is like Hermione. But the situation has changed from the dark time to a brighter one. I chose the theme, musical one as a symbol of peace.

I chose McGonagall as the person who tells the time was shifted from the war to the next generation with much hope.
The impression of Lee as a Potterwatch DJ is very strong for me, so I had him enter this chapter.

Thank you again for encouragement. I may update when I have time, maybe summer vacation. :)

Kenny





 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

13th May 2016:
Hi there Kenny! I know I'm a little late with this (I'm sorry for that!), but I just wanted to make sure I stopped by to leave you a few Hot Seat reviews as my personal way of saying 'Thank you for your generous contributions to the site'! Without amazing members like you, we wouldn't still be here, so from the bottom of my heart, Thank you!

And now, on to your review!

This is a great, very exciting first chapter! You've already filled us in on so many details in everyone's lives, like the fact that Scorpius and Rose are dating, the fact that Albus and Scorpius write songs, that Scorp is a prefect, etc.

I really loved how you had Hugo playing with those cards, it seems a very childish thing to do and from the way you described it, I could easily picture him in my mind sitting on the floor counting the cards with a look of dismay on his face! I really hope he finds the cards soon, but I've got a feeling one of his cousins might have had something to do with their disappearance! :P

This has a very light, fluffy, and comical feel to it, you've definitely prepared us for some misadventures and laughs ahead!

I thought it was very interesting that Rose asked Scorpius to be her girlfriend, instead of the other way around. Most of the stories I've read show Scorpius pining away over Rose, so this was a nice change and very original.

As I said, an excellent first chapter, and I'm off to the next! Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, Jayde for stopping by. I reckon you are so busy, but you thought of dropping your feedback, I really appreciate your kindness.

Since I participated in the activity, writing duel, Game On at House Cup 2015, the idea popped in my mind. I wanted to continue the musical concept when I decided to write for this challenge.

A few authors here wrote comical stories, I was very impressed by some works, I wanted to write a tip of them. I wasn't sure I could write the comedy, but your review gave me encouragement. Lots of amazing authors have written good fluffy stories, which might give me much influence.

Yeah, I understand what you said, I've read Scorpius pining away over Rose type stories. They are well focused on their emotion, and the descriptions are awesome. I can't write like them, but I just enjoyed to imagine my head cannon, next generation ship.

Talking of card games, my son's friend obsessed with collecting cards, so the idea popped naturally in my head. It was fun to write about Hugo, too.

Kenny



 Report Review

Review #7, by TreacleTart Show Off

11th May 2016:
Hey Kenny!

I'm here for another hot seat review! Thank you so much for your donation to keep HPFF alive!

This was a cool chapter! It was nice getting a chance to see some of the older characters from cannon. It's always a nice touch when they're incorporated into a story. I particularly enjoyed seeing Professor McGonagall as the Headmistress and her thoughts on what it would be like to retire.

It was great seeing Harry, Hermione, Ron, Neville, George, Lee and Draco all together. I love that at this point everyone still gives Draco a bit of a hard time, but you can tell that they've all pretty much forgive him for his role in the war.

One thing that stood out to me and might actually be my new head cannon is the idea of Lee Jordan as a band manager/dj. That seems like the perfect job for him after his years of announcing for the Quidditch games. I could just see him up on the stage setting up for the band and getting the crowd hyped up for the performance.

I'm a little curious about the ending with Scorpius. You left us on a bit of a cliffhanger, but I'm thinking that he didn't actually steal them. My thought is that someone planted them in his fiddle case to make him look guilty.

I was happy to see that you added a bit more description to this chapter, but I still think you could push it even just a little bit further. Especially with your passion for music, I'd really love to see you describe the concert a bit more. Did the loud fiddle and lute playing echo off the tall Hogwarts halls? Did Rose's voice warble and shake or was it deep and soulfoul? Did the music cause the students to dance or was it slow and melodic? Little things like that really help to create a strong image of what's happening.

All in all, a good start so far! I hope you get a chance to write more soon!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi, Kaitlin! Thank you again for stopping by.

The episode that Lee Jordan manages the band promotion may be influenced by Roisin's work, I can't write like her, but I wanted to write something new. I have to explore more and learn expression.

Hahaha, you may have a soft spot for Scorpius. My head cannon is Scorp is just like his father, Draco who tended to swipe things (The scene when he swiped a box in the Slytherin CR of the movie gave me the impression).

Talking of the concert, I'd like to write more if I have more time to spare.
Your insigt is very helpful, Kaitlin. I could visualize what I should write next. I wish I could write review like you. I really respect your thinking way. Many many thanks!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #8, by TreacleTart A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

11th May 2016:
Hey Kenny!

I'm here to leave a review for the sitewide hot seat!

I was excited to see a new story on your AP, particularly one about the Next Generation because I know you write them so well. :)

So this is for the Write What You Love Challenge and I'm quite interested in what it was that you used as inspiration. Right away we see that music is pretty prominent in this story, so I assumed that must be it. But then at the end there is the talk about card playing and I wondered if that might be another source of inspiration as well. I mean I know you love music as it pops up in quite a few of your stories, but do you also love to playing cards as well or was that just another part of the story?

I love that the inspiration for the song finally comes to Albus, but it's in the form of the letter that Scorpius writes to Rose. There's something really sweet, but also slightly comical about it. I doubt that Scorpius is going to want his private writings made public, but it's always nice when a song has an actual back story like that.

Also, I liked all of the chatter between the kids. You did a good job of making them sound like a group of teenagers just hanging out. I especially liked how they all teased Rose about Scorpius.

My only bit of CC for this is that you didn't use very much description. I would encourage you to add a bit more description in because you do such a beautiful job of painting vivid pictures and a little bit more of it would really help the reader be submerged in the scene as it's happening.

Good work! I'm off to check out the next chapter!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi, Kaitlin! I really appreciate that you stopped by my stories. I know you are very busy in both RL and your WIP stories. :cheerleader:

Yeah, I thought of this story based on my experiences. The music episode was given from my experience, apparently, and the card games, which I got the idea when I remembered my son's frined who obsessed with trading card game. I enjoyed the contrast between the trio and Hugo.

Yeah, I know this chapter is very short. I had to write two chapters for the deadline, but I'll be back to add more when I have time to spare. To tell the truth, I wrote the similar episode during NaNo in 2015, it's not HP world so I think I can write more in detail.

Thank you again for sparing time for this!

Kenny





 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Show Off

11th May 2016:
Ahh a new entry into the potential dynamics between Albus, Scorpius, and Rose - three BANDMATES. I had not gotten the sense from the previous chapter (and I'll admit that it's possible I just missed it) that Rose was part of it, but it was nevertheless fun to see play out here.

What I also liked about this chapter though was how the performance was more of a vehicle for a greater lesson. Yes, it obviously showcased their talents, which is certainly a goal for most artists, but it also allowed the story to explore one of the central conflicts that artists encounter in pursuing their dreams - the battle with their parents over the dream's viability and worthiness. It was certainly unique to see Draco being the one advocating allowing the children to pursue their dreams, but upon further reflection I can see it. It can be argued that we really don't see much of Draco's TRUE ambitions in canon - just the reflected ambitions of his father and one wonders what sort of masterful portrayal could be rendered of Hogwarts Era Draco with this possibility in mind. Your fic deserves kudos for inspiring the question!

Thanks for sharing Kenny! I'm moving on to other stories of your now, but I want to encourage you to keep up with this unique one!

Author's Response: Hallo, again!

Your insight makes me look back my plot. Reading your feedback, I wonder, "Am I too soft to Draco?" I couldn't resist giving some roles to him in the story. Hermione's thought is opposite against him. I enjoyed the contrast, which might remind readers of their hostility in their shcool days.
Talking of Rose's role, the singer sometimes begins musical journey out of nowhere like this. :)
When I have time, I'll be back to write about bandmates and their journey.


Hahaha, my thought is very different from the other authors', yeah, I'll keep writing in my way.


 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

11th May 2016:
Howdy Kenny! I am here (barely on time) to leave you some reviews for the Site Wide Hot Seat!

This story has an interesting premise, which I gather arises from including your love of music in a fic. I say the premise is interesting because surprisingly aside from the Sorting Hat song and the Weird Sisters, the Wizarding World - so devoid of our modern technology - showcases so little music (at least as I recall) in canon. Here you weave it in as an absolutely fundamental part of Albus and Scorpius's characters.

What I also like is the way you capture the impact this has on their behavior, their mannerisms, and even their relationships. For example we see Albus - as artists often do - constantly diving away from what is going on or what is being discussed to be drawn back to writing a title or a song - trying to capture the bits so that no idea escapes him. And yet we also see music uniting Albus and Scorpius in a way despite them seeming to have a fairly up-and-down relationship. It feels very true to life.

I'm interested to see what the next chapter holds!

Author's Response: Hallo, Kevin! I really like your greeting,"Howdy", thanks to Internet, I can talk with my frineds who come from various countries. I love this ! I love HPFF. I'll miss this interaction.

Hahaha, your insight sometimes make me laugh. Maybe, Roisin has given me much influence, so I jumped in the new premise. I know my descriptions are not enough to express the new world, the deadline was coming, I might have written more about this episode if I had more time to spare.

The relationship between Albus and Scorpius is based on my experiences. It was fun to write about them.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrix A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

10th May 2016:
Hi! I'm here to drop off a review for the hot seat.

I think this was such an interesting start to a story, especially given that it's for the "Write What You Love" challenge. Is the thing you love songwriting? Composing? Or something else? I'm intrigued.

I liked how you set up all the banter in the common room, with all the back and forth about people's ideas. If felt like a natural conversation. Plus, I love the premise of Albus and Scorpius as a songwriting duo! Sounds like a blast. Is George's best friend supposed to be Lee Jordan, or someone else?

One suggestion I have to add more detail about other things in the kids' lives. For instance, I'm curious to know what they're supposed to be doing. Since it starts off with them talking about the an ancient song for the entrance ceremony, I'm guessing they've just come up from the feast on the first night of the year? Are they catching up after the summer? Waiting to run into other Gryffindors? What are they thinking about, in terms of the year ahead? Often stories that start on the first day of Hogwarts benefit from the characters talking about their hopes and expectations. It's a nice way to set up how they feel as the story plunges onward.

I'd love to see where you take these four characters-- Albus, Rose, Scorpius, Hugo. I hope poor Hugo finds his chocolate frog cards! I know it's a minor detail, but it seems suspicious that they went missing, and I hope we hear more about them later on.

Great job! And thanks for your generous donation. I know all of us here at hpff appreciate it more than we'll ever be able to express.

Author's Response: Hi, luna(May I call you, luna?)!

Thank you so much for your kindness. I guess setting up the event on the forums, it costs you time to spare. So I really appreciate that you stopped by my story.

Yes, as you noticed, I've composed songs and written lyrics. These are my favorite things. And chocolate frog cards, my son's frineds collected cards for trading card games, the impression was strong, so I chose the theme, too.

Your insight is very helpful, luna! :)
I could make this story longer, but you know, the deadline was coming, so I finished up like this. But ( sorry, too many buts!) I'll be back to add more descriptions or more episodes when I have time to spare. :)
I'm wondering how to store your wonderful review including the others. I'll miss this conversation at HPFF.

Thank you for sparing your precious time.

Kenny




 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin Show Off

9th May 2016:
Ahahah! Great ending with the chocolate frog cards! :D Hugo is the best! :P

This was an enjoyable read! I like that they managed to put their talents together and create something for which they got some recognition. Hooray for the Seeker's Heart! ;)

I can totally immagine Lee Jordan as a famous announcer. And I found it cute McGonagall's nostalgia... I like to see the sweetest side of her...

This was a pleasant read so far. I enjoy some unassuming fluff from time to time, I find it refreshing. :D

Happy Hot Seat again!
Many hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi, Chiara! Thank you again for stopping by! :D

I felt relaxed when I wrote this story. The conversation among my son's friends who came to my home bringing in cards, gave me the idea to write the wizarding world card game at HPFF United Game On writing duel. I'm glad to know you seemed to enjoy this chapter.

Naming the band was fun, too. If I have time to spare, I will be back to this story.

You are so lovely, Chiara! Thank you for leaving these wonderful reviews!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #13, by Felpata Lupin A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

7th May 2016:
Hello, Kenny! :D
Here with the first of your reviews for the site-wide hot seat! :D

Ahahah! This was funny! Wotter clan craziness is always the best! I loved sulking Hugo, and all the Rose/Scorpius elements, and Albus trying to write songs when he clearly has no ability to do lyrics... I guess a song about missing frog cards would be a great success, don't you? Eheheh!

So, Scorpius apparently can write love letters/poems... and they finally have their song... what will happen now? Who's this friend of Uncle George's? The fact that George is involved worries me a little... :P I'll need to read on and find out...

Thank you for the read for now! I'll be back!
And happy Hot Seat! ;)
Chiara

Author's Response: Hi, Chiara. Thank you for stopping by for Hot Seat Reveiw! You a so nice person!

I wish I could write a comedy. Not a few authors have written it, so I tried writing a comical one. So your compliment gives me confidence. We can't forget George or his friend when we write merry things, right? I'd like to write a comedy again. :)

And I play some music, so I chose the theme. I wish readers enjoy this episode, too. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #14, by adluvshp Show Off

6th May 2016:
Hey again!

Ah I take back what I said in the previous review. You have a marvellous mix of dialogue and descriptions in this chapter and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The opening is wonderfully done, showing the events from McGonagall's POV.

The idea of Rose performing is so cool. We didn't see anything like this happening at the Great Hall during Harry's time but it makes sense to have new things incorporated in the Next-Gen era. After all, things change over years and it's nice you've shown that!

The idea of Hermione and Harry as guest lecturers is really cool too. I can see why Ron wouldn't be interesting in doing something like that - right in the nail with the characterisations there.

Ah Malfoy is a professor too? That is so cool. I am really liking your take on things here. Neville and Draco getting along, now that is something I didn't forsee, and yet you've effortlessly built it. Kudos!

Seeker's Heart - interesting name! Hermione was very much in-character worrying about "not encouraging them" and "can't decide their future" like this. Hehe. Malfoy's response was so apt though, loved it.

Rose and Scorpius are so adorable! I absolutely love how much she's in love with him and how she thought of him while singing. It was so cute. And the ending, haha. It made me chuckle.

Over all, this story is so much fun to read and I'm having a great time reading your take on the Next-Gen kids at Hogwarts. The theme is great, narrative perfect, and superb characterisations and dialogue so far. Keep writing!

Cheers!
Angie (Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Thank you again for coming back, Angie! You are so generous!

Yeah, at the description part, Kevin,Tidal Dragon, my fellow gryffie trained me to write. His story challenge gave me a chance to deepen the character's mind movement. This community have given much influence on my improvement in writing in English.

Like the other authors, it's easier for me to write about Harry, Hermione and their mates than writing about their kids. So I couldn't resist mentioning them in this chapter. It might be the first time for me to write from McGonagall's POV. It was fun, too.

As I wrote the scene that Scorp played the instrument at Hogwarts before, at House Cup 2015 writing duel, I thought of the musical scene naturally. If I had had more time, I might have written more in detail, the description part. I may be back to develop this story near future.

Thank you again, for reading and reviewing on this, Angie!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #15, by adluvshp A Slytherin in the Gryffindor CR.

6th May 2016:
Hey Kenny! Here for Hot Seat. Thank you for donating to keep HPFF alive =)

This is a lovely beginning to your story! I enjoyed the banter between Scorpius and the others very much. The opening was nice with the banter between him and Hugo. I also like that Rose and he are dating - and Albus grumbling about it was cute.

Albus writing songs! Now I have not seen that done before, so that's a unique trait you've given him. I like it very much. Oh, and the idea of Hugo playing with "Uncle Harry's" cards is so awesome, hehe xD

Hmm, I wonder who Uncle George's best friend is. It's cool that they're making a band and Rose is manager. It would be really fun to see how they proceed ahead from here. I have to say, this looks like a great next-gen fic as the theme is quite different and fun.

Your dialogue flows naturally and overall narrative is great. My only CC if at all it can be considered that is I'd have liked a little more description/narrative. But that's just my preferred writing style - to have a good mix of dialogue and descriptions - and I understand not everyone enjoys writing like that, so it's totally your call =)

Besides that, I really enjoyed reading this. On to the next chapter xD

Cheers
Angie
(Lost Muse)

Author's Response: Hi, Angie, Quidditch buddy!

Thank you so much for stopping by. You are so kind. :)

House Cup story challenge,"Game On" let me write Hugo's Card Game fic. It was so fun that I thought of writing about him again. My son's friends liked the card games, trading cards very much, so I made up the stories at House Cup writing duel. I also thought the idea that Scorp might play some intruments, which would be cool.
As you pointed it out, yeah, I prefer to explore the different themed next-gen story.

Ouch, your POV is really right. I have to develop my description skill. Though the deadline prevented me from thinking deeply about description, I should've spared time for that. Thank you for leaving your feedback including CC. I really appreciate for that. :)

Kenny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login