Reading Reviews for Liar
  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by victoria_anne Adults

20th March 2017:
Hey Chi!

So I've already spoken to you about this chapter, but let's make it official for the Chalice Review Spree :P

So James. Oh sweet little James. It's so funny how surprised everyone is at his attempts to mature, and I love how he was there for Lily after her parents died.

I still just want to shake Peter and Remus and say GET TOGETHER ALREADY!

And those laws! Poor poor Remus :( I love how realistic you make it seem. I love his reason to keep wearing the band.

And that prank - my God that's hilarious, and so was James' speech!

I hope you won't keep us waiting to long for chapter 8!

Lots of love ♥

Author's Response: Aww, B... what did I do to deserve you? Thank you so much for stopping by again, you make the start of my day much sweeter! *wub*

I'm so glad you loved that about James, he's really trying to be a better person. Isn't he the cutest?

Erm... yeah, I know... but you know how stubborn they both are, and unfortunately things won't go upwards for them from here... (yes, I'm a cruel writer... aren't we all?)

Poor Remus indeed, he's doesn't need all that on top of everything else he has to endure. Laws and goverments can be unfair and unfortunately we know this happens often in RL too... :(

Amidst all the angst, I needed to endure the chapter on a lighter tone. ;) I'miei so glad that you found the prank hilarious! And James' speech as well! I had a lot of fun writing it! :D

Erm... chapter 8 will come... sometime... maybe... I'm actually having a bit of trouble with it... I have half of chapter 9 already written down, though. Does it count? *whistles*

Love you, little B!


 Report Review

Review #2, by victoria_anne Rebels

18th March 2017:
And the Chalice Review Spree continues!

I read this quite a while ago, so it's nice to come back and reread it, and fall in love all over again! Argh poor Remus and the stupid Ministry werewolf rules :( Leave my baby alone! And I'd forgotten about Peter's relation to Yaxley! It's just another step on his road to Voldemort. I mean, Peter did stand up to him (yay Pete!) but we all know what happens in the end :(

Again, Peter is written amazingly by you! ♥

Author's Response: B!!! There you are again!!! :D
Yes, poor Remus... the Ministry shouldn't mistreat them so badly... :(

Peter is half-Yaxley, yeah, and that will play a role in his destiny... Always happy to know you like my Peter! :D

Thank you for stopping by once again, my little B! Thou art wonderful!


 Report Review

Review #3, by victoria_anne Heartbreakers

18th March 2017:
CHIARA!

WHAT THE HEY?! There are three chapters I haven't reviewed?! *splutters* This is an absolute outrage. But thanks to the Chalice Review Spree, I'm here to fix that.

It's super nice to go back to the time when Peter and Remus were happy! And I will never ever tire from the Marauders banter. It always puts a smile on my face when I read it, you write it so naturally.

Eek so much tension in this chapter! I'm left hanging on every word. And I don't think I've said this before, but I love how you focus on all the Marauders, not just Peter and Remus, and also the other Gryffindor girls. It gives the story so much more depth, and I just love it so much ♥

Author's Response: Oh, hello, B! :D

Ah, no worries! You beta'ed for me and that's enough! But thank you for stopping by! ;)

They've been happy? Really? I can't remember that... (kidding, I know they've been... and I'm such a bad person...)

Ahahah! I never tire of some good Marauders banter either! :P Glad you enjoyed it!

There is a lot of tension... they are my boys (and my girls), all of them. I'm glad it helps to give depth to the story.

Thank you, darling! *hug*


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Adults

9th March 2017:
You're right, I was going to get to this :D but thank you for the request! I'm so happy to see another update on this story!

Aah, not even one sentence into this chapter and already my heart is breaking for Remus for having to wear the band on his arm marking him as a werewolf, which is honestly terrifying as that's very reminiscent of Hitler's demands for Jews, and... some other politicians these days. Despite being about werewolves and magic, this story is very relevant.

OMG ALL OF THIS CHAPTER ♥ IT'S SO GOOD. I love the way the girls are sticking up for Remus and the way can see past the way the Ministry is trying to stir up fear, and instead want to help the people who get marginalized and are unfairly singled out.

OMG TOM NO

NO

This is so REAL.

Severance pay is not charity. He's gonna need that. But I also admire him for not taking anything from Tom, because ultimately it was Tom's decision to let Remus go. Tom could have fought the system, like Dorcas is doing, but he chose not to.

Omg, and then the juxtaposition of this and the next section - Remus thinks the world is screwed up because it is. Peter thinks the world is screwed up because Dumbledore picked James for Head Boy. I mean... :P it says a lot about his privilege right there.

YES REMUS STAND UP TO THE DUMB LAW. I love that he just refuses to wear the band. He's right, it would look pretty awful if the Ministry threw him in Azkaban for not wearing a bracelet.

I like that Dorcas is helping Remus move on from Peter, even if their relationship is starting off a bit weird (i.e. Remus is still in love with Peter). But if Dorcas is fine with that, then I guess they're all good. It's nice that Remus knows someone else likes him, he needs the reminder that he's worthy of being liked and appreciated.

Though I also worry that you're setting them up together because I know what happens to Dorcas eventually and Remus DOES NOT NEED THAT on top of everything else he deals with. ah, all the feels. help

omg and then right from there to Lily thinking about her parents' funeral. Too many feels. And the bit where she thinks if she'd been there she could have done something - that's so true to life, how there's that stage of grief where you believe things that don't necessarily make sense just because the grief is hard to process. Poor Lily :( And with James going through a similar thing... it's so true, grief does have a way of bringing people together.

I know Fawkes' molting isn't that common (or is it?) but part of me kind of loves the fact that both James and later Harry ended up witnessing it :)

It really says a lot for Mary that she declined, especially in front of a bunch of people who all accepted. Like, yes, it's scary to be in the Order, but it does take courage to do what she's doing, in a way.

Bravo for Remus turning the discriminatory wristband around and wearing it as a badge of honor.

This whole chapter carries a strong feeling of endings and new beginnings and all the uncertainty that come with both - and it's very appropriate given that they're finishing with school and heading into something dangerous, like there's a lot to celebrate and a lot to fear at the same time, but they just make the best of it. I really liked the tone throughout the whole thing.

CC: at one point you said 'carrier' when I think you meant 'career' (they sound really similar, but the first is a thing that carries something.. like a cat carrier)

Ok that's it, this review somehow got really long and I'm sorry for when you have to respond to it :P I loved this chapter and it was amazing and so are you. ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Kristin!!! *wub* *wub* *wub*

Yes, that's horrible... I did have Hitler's racial laws in mind... To be honest, I was scared that I was pulling it too far, but I'm glad you found it believable!

The girls are awesome! :D

Poor Remus... Tom could've fought the system, but not everyone is brave and strong enough to do so...

Ahahah! Peter has a much lighter way of seeing things, that's for sure. :P (But you have to agree, Dumbledore's choice was quite crazy)

Yes! Go, Remus! That would look pretty awful, indeed.

Remus needs that reminder... Erm... yeah... that might not end too well... I'm sorry... (I'm just a tiny bit cruel to my characters, I know...)

You always wonder if you could've done anything, don't you? I still can't shake that guilt... but yes, grief does bring people together.

Oh, I have no idea... after you asked I googled what's a bird's life expectancy... it varies a lot from species to species, so it's hard to tell (you probably know better than I do... :P) Anyway, I'm glad you liked the idea that James and Harry had that in common.

I think it did require a lot of courage from Mary (a courage Peter didn't have, for instance). Glad you liked that about her.

That was the theme of the chapter, and I'm glad it came out well and that you liked the tone of it. We'll see how things will go from there.

Oh... I will fix that. In Italian is "carriera", so I guess that's why I mixed them up. Thank you for pointing it out.

Ahahah! No review is too long, I love your reviews! Sorry for taking so long to answer, by the way...

You are amazing! Thank you so, so, so much!!!

Snowball hug,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #5, by dreamgazer220 Adults

9th March 2017:
Hello lovely, here with your review!

I was excited to see that you finally posted a new chapter (although I'm not one to talk :P). To be honest, the length made me a bit nervous, but as always with your writing, you captured my attention and kept it the whole way through. And I always marvel over your ability to go through so much time in one chapter and have it flow so effortlessly.

I think the politics were good here. Poor Remus, having to wear a stupid red band to mark him as dangerous - but it makes sense, since the Ministry would have to do something to "warn people", although I'm glad that Remus' friends and Peter didn't really care or notice anything about the band.

It's interesting that Dumbledore called them out specifically and asked them to join the Order. I think there I would've liked a bit more context, even if it was Remus or Peter recognizing everyone's strengths about why they were chosen specifically. Otherwise, I enjoyed that scene quite a bit and was happy to see that Peter hesitated. You make me forget that he's the reason that James and Lily are dead, but then you did little things like that to remind me/us of his true character, and it's really well done here.

Aww, Dorcas and Remus! That's cute. I'm glad he found someone, even if it wasn't Peter. And I enjoyed how nonchalant they both were abotu the whole thing, but Dorcas has always been there for Remus, and she obviously holds no judgmenet, so it made sense for them.

And James being nice! And being with Lily! I would've liked to see a bit more how they got together, but I know that this is focused more on Remus and Peter, so I'm content with that library scene. :P

Through it all, there's always Remus and Peter. I'm glad that they had some moments alone and even if it was uncomfortable, they still managed to be around each other. There's hope for them yet!

Another fantastic chapter, darling! I really do love this story. ♥

Author's Response: Jill!!!
Thank you so much for the review, and sorry if I'm answering so late...

Ahahah! We are all slow writers... I'm a bit stuck with the next chapter, hopefully it won't take too long... And yes, I know, these chapters get always longer. Not my fault, there's always so much to include... I'm glad it read well nonetheless! :)

Yes, the law is horrible. I'm glad you found it believable, though. I was scared I'd pulled it too far... Yes, his friends don't care, but we already knew they were special, right?

That scene would've needed more context, I agree. I'm glad you enjoyed it anyway. Peter is Peter, he wouldn't like the idea of fighting, but wouldn't step out either for fear of his friends' judgement. Glad you found him in character and liked his hesitation.

They are cute. Glad you liked them together. :) And James and Lily, too! :D *Jily 5ever*

Yes, there's always Remus and Peter. We'll see how things will go from there...

Thank you for another wonderful review! You are the best!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Phoenix_Flames Gryffindors

3rd January 2017:
So I just jumped right into the next chapter. :)

And I enjoyed so much about it! I love how you introduced the boys to Hogwarts. I liked the little easter egg you dropped in there in beginning with Remus bumping into Severus, and I loved how surprised Peter was when he heard Remus' name. And Peter's sorting!! I loved the discussion with Peter and the Sorting Hat! Again, I've never considered how Peter's sorting could have gone and never thought about how the Hat could have wanted to put him in Slytherin, but that makes perfect sense! Another easter egg you perfectly dropped in laid with so much irony is the Hat questioning what Peter would do if Remus disappointed him. It's so gut-wrenching because, as readers, we know that it's Peter who disappoints Remus in the end. I LOVE that little twist of irony.

And haha! James keeps a journal!! I love it! I loved that little section in which he "observed" so many things. That was another fun way to leave all these little fun tidbits.

And then concluding the chapter with what is (most likely) the beginning of Peter's friendship with James and Sirius. I loved it! What a fun chapter--except for everything that makes me feel so bad for Remus. :( I can feel Remus wanting to tell Peter what's truly going on, and that makes my heart hurt for him. I can't wait to see where all this goes and how/when Peter will find out!

Another brilliant chapter!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for another awesome review!!!
Glad you liked the details I threw in here! And that you liked Peter's sorting. Well, to be true, Remus will disappoint Peter later on in this story. Of course, the opposite is true as well (even if this story is AU and the end won't be exactly what you might expect...)

Yeah, James keeps a journal! I don't know where I even got the idea but I love it too! Makes him much cuter, doesn't it? :)

It's a little seed, but the friendship won't take long to come (more details in the next chapter). And yes, poor Remus... but things will improve for him soon as well. ;)

Thank you so much again for the lovely review, and I really hope that I'll see you around again!

Love and hugs,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #7, by Phoenix_Flames Children

3rd January 2017:
Chiara!! Hi there!! :) I'm here to return the favor fulfill a holiday wish. :) And I am SO happy I did! I don't know how I haven't stumbled across this story before. I love stories focusing on minor characters--and the relationships between two minor characters at that, so reading about the bond between Peter and Remus at such a young age is fascinating to me!

I really enjoyed this first chapter. I liked the scenes strung together, and I love how you are making Remus' troubles with being a werewolf the key focal point of the friendship between Remus and Peter. I never really imagined how that would have gone for Remus as a kid, so I really love diving into this new area!

This was a great chapter, and I'm really intrigued! I will definitely be stopping by for more. :)

Hugs!

Author's Response: Hi, Drue!
Aww... you didn't have to, but I'm glad you're here! :)

So glad you ennjoyed this first chapter and the beginning of Remus and Peter's friendship! Remus is my absolute favourite character (it's quite obvious from the stories on my AP :P) and I've always felt so horrible thinking about all he's gone through since such a young age... happy you liked reading about it.

Thank you so much for stopping by and sorry for the late reply.
Hugs,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #8, by dreamgazer220 Rebels

26th December 2016:
Happy holidays, Chiara! ♥

I feel like you've had this chapter up for ages and I'm so sorry it took me so long to leave a review! But I'm glad that you updated this story and you write your characters so well, it really does play like a movie in my mind.

I loved the opening scene with Peter and Remus. It's so heartbreaking, the two of them, and yet so believable. They want it to work so badly because they love each other, but they just can't make it work because of their personalities. I can see where Remus would get so frustrating for people to deal with and where Peter wouldn't have the patience to put up with it for much longer. It's so tragic, but it's so realistic and that's one of the things that I love most about this story and the relationship between Remus and Peter. I think we've all had those relationship(s) where you want it to work so bad and it just doesn't. *snuggles boys*

THIS LINE BROKE MY HEART THO CHIARA: ďAll Iím asking you is to take a decision. And please, make it definitive. No more changes of heart, unless you want to shatter mine.Ē I FEEL YOU SO HARD, PETER. I DO.

LOL at Sirius wearing an AC/DC shirt to Christmas dinner and you're breaking my heart again with him asking Regulus to come with him! The only thing I'd say about this chapter is that I'd love a little more from that, as I feel like they may have fought a bit harder on it, but I realize that this story is about Remus and Peter, so I'm just happy to see that little glimpse of Sirius. :P

Awww, Remus' birthday! The letter from his father was so sweet. And great job paralleling the Ministry summons and the ridiculous Marauders' gift.

Interesting that Jones is related to Leander. I can only imagine how intimidating waiting for that summons would be. Can I just snuggle Remus some more? K thanks.

I also loved seeing the parents, and the final scene with more of Peter's background. Did we know he was part Yaxley and I forgot? It's entirely possible BUT I really like that twist, and I feel like it explains a LOT about his personality and his choices later in life.

I'm always so impressed by how effortlessly you weave through SO MUCH TIME in these chapters and it feels like no work at all.

Another wonderful chapter, dear!

Sending some hugs your way,
♥♥ Jill

Author's Response: Happy holidays, Jill! :D
Ah, no worries. I'm so happy you stopped by! I'm so glad you enjoy this story so much! *blushing*

Yes, I know... my poor boys... their love is really tragic... I'm glad you find it all believable... *hugs*

Isn't it something Sirius would do (wearing a Muggle rockband tee-shirt just to annoy his parents, I mean)? Aww, I know... I wish Regulus would listen to him... I suppose there might've been more to show about it, but I felt like that section was already too long... (I can't resist including the Black brothers, I so love writing their relationship...)

I'm glad you liked John's letter, he really is a caring father.
I thought a bit of Marauders' silliness would help smoothering the angst of the summons and the new law... I'm glad you liked it.

I'm still not sure if and how Athena Jones and Leander being related will have a role in the plot (I mean, I have a couple of ideas, but I haven't decided yet...) Yes, that would be truly intimidating... you can snuggle Remus as much as you want, he needs it!

Glad you liked Mary and Silvia! And the Yaxleys, too! Yes, I did mention it in the first two chapters, but I guess it's been a bit since you read them, so you're authorized to have forgotten. :P

Aww... thank you... *blushes more*

Many hugs right back to you,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan Rebels

3rd December 2016:
Chiaraaa ♥

This may be the only story in the history of ever where I'm more annoyed at Remus and sympathise with Peter. But yeah, Remus' self-blame game and constant pushing others away would get old, and could easily make any romantic partner doubt themselves. And not everyone is as stubborn as Tonks eventually is in convincing Remus to listen to his heart rather than his head. I mean, I can understand Remus too, so well, and all his insecurities. He is so real to me. But not everyone can handle that amount of emotional baggage Remus brings along. Both of them are such great characters and their love is so tragic because despite that they have strong feelings for one another, their personalities aren't really compatible without a lot of work on their relationship.

HA, a teacher's desk?! Peter!! Hahaha *shakes head* I've never seen a characterisation of Peter quite like yours - I love the way you write him and how you give him such a strong personality that still fits into how we know him in canon.

Peter telling a Marauders secret so he can hook up with Leander in the Shrieking Shack... ahh. This is such good writing because it's so believable of him. He tells secrets when he has personal gain from it, and feels guilty about it but not guilty enough to stop him from telling. But also lol at the fact that Peter protested against the charms classroom because it wasn't romantic enough, and then led the way to the absolute least romantic place on the entire Hogwarts grounds, apart from maybe Moaning Myrtle's bathroom.

he resembled a goldfish, but a really elegant one -- for some reason I found this line absolutely hilarious XD

Sirius purposefully making the chair grate against the floor is SUCH a Sirius thing to do. You write him so well.

SIRIUS ASKS REGULUS TO COME WITH HIM WHEN HE RUNS AWAY OMG STAAHHP IT'S BREAKING MY HEART

That ridiculous gift the MArauders gave Remus - I love those boys. And I went from grinning at that to really sad in about 0.2 seconds because of Remus crying about the Ministry summons right after. Ahhh!! This story is not good for my emotional sanity but I'm too invested in it to stop hahaha

All the werewolves waiting around in the lobby forever for their turn and hating every second... this is like the wizard version of waiting in line at the DMV. Except a whole lot worse because it's about discrimination rather than getting a driving licence. *hugs Remus*

Remus is such a bad liar. I can relate. :P

Omg ♥ all the Gryffindor sixth years staging a protest this just makes me so happy and proud and I love all of them.

Their Divination predictions are hilarious. I bet that class would have been a lot of fun - if not in actually learning any Divination, it would have at least been good as an exercise in creative writing XD

ooh, what a tense family standoff there. Peter has an interesting family background and I really like these glimpses into what his family was like and how he has pretty strong forces on each side pulling him one way or the other. And so far he's firmly on the side against Voldemort, but... the way you write him and his family explains a lot about him. I know this story is AU and that Peter's fate is different in this story than it is in canon, but like... I can still see how canon Peter could have come from these same circumstances.

Great chapter! ♥

Author's Response: Hello, Kristin, my love!
Sorry if it took me so long to reply to this wonderful review...

Ah, yes... I know... Remus can be very annoying... but with everything he's gone through it's understandable that he is so insecure, isn't it? Poor Peter, though...

Ahahah! Actually, I think it was Leander more than Peter the bold one... :P Glad you like my version of Peter anyway. He surprises me as well at times. ;)

Oh, yes. That's so tipical of Peter, isn't it? Ahahah! Oh, Merlin... Moaning Myrtle's bathroom... I could die...

I'm glad you found that line hilarious, I totally meant it to be! (I have a weird sense of humour...) And I'm so glad you liked Sirius' reaction and that you found him believable!

Ah, I know... :( sorry... *hugs Sirius and Regulus*

Ahahah! Well, they are the Marauders, they are crazy that way... again, sorry for all the sudden mood changes...

Glad the scene of the werewolves waiting worked. That was exactly the feeling I wanted to convey. And you can hug Remus as much as you want, he needs it!

No, definitely not a good liar... Ahahah! I can relate too...

They are wonderful, aren't they? Fifty points to Gryffindor! :)

I love Silvia and Mary. A lot. And yes, I'm sure they did have a lot of fun in Divination class. :D

Glad you liked the scene with the Yaxleys. It is quite an interesting family background... poor Peter... I'm not going to say how things will move from there, but Alistair will still have a role in Peter's destiny.

Thank you so, so much again for this incredible review! And sorry if I took so long to answer... really, life has been crazy...

All the love in the world, my unreliable friend!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ron 4 Hermione Lovers

26th October 2016:
Hey there, back again! Sorry itís been a while but Iím very excited to read it again! :)

Aww, cute responsible Remus worrying about what his friends would think. Youíd think that with his friends accepting him as a werewolf then theyíd be okay with him being a Prefect... But I guess heís not the Remus we love without a bit of worrying!

Ooooh, things are getting interesting. Well, a bit of thinking but itís a start! Iím actually quite excited to see what happens between them now. Thatís a really cute scene between Remus and his father, I love the advice he gives him. Sounds like a smart guy (guessing Remus totally inherited those genes). Although youíve BROKE MY HEART- ďSo a person affected by lycantrophy doesnít have the right to love and be lovedĒ. Iím glad his dad tried to get him to see itís ridiculous but the fact that he grows up thinking that is heartbreaking!

OMG, Peter is jealous?! I hope this is true, because that would be so cute for Remus but I guess Iíll have to wait and see. That whole scene though, it just screams Peter like Remus!

Aha, I think Remis should have been worried less about what his friends would think about him being prefect and more about how he was going to keep them in line! Although itís interesting seeing them come up with the idea for the map/what they had to do to find out stuff. Wow, well that took a turn for the depressing. Oh no, I hope sheís okay!

Ergh, can I just despise Regulus? How is he even related to Sirius? I love how you portray their relationship though, because he is still his brother so itís not going to be easy to just forget about him and let him get on with joining the dark side.

Omg this is going to be a long story if these two keep this up! :P Jeez, I wish theyíd just get on with it! (Okay so I wrote that before reading on, clearly!) OH MY WORD!! I donít know weather to be really pleased or sit here and sob because he thinks he doesnít like him! Oh what has he done! I hope Remus fixes it, and quickly!

Aww, poor Remus! That does sound awfully confusing, makes me glad itís not me having to figure that one out. Lol, Sirius isnít as good as giving advice as Remusí dad is he. Iím glad it kind of helped, and that he saw a bit of sense being loved as well.

Aha, well thatís one way to do it, shout ĎI love youí down a corridor. Well done Remus haha. Aww, Iím so glad they worked it out though! Yay for them! (Iím going to ignore the bit about Dorcas for now because theyíre finally happy :P)

Another great chapter, although Iím scared to move on to the next one because itís called heartbreakers and that just canít be good D:

- Shaza

(HPFT Team Vampire Review)

Author's Response: Shaza!!!
It's so great to have you back here! And you really have nothing to apologize for, this was totally unexpected and super appreciated! :D

Ahahah! Like you said, that's Remus. He needs to worry about just anything... ;) And of course his friends would be okay with it, but I think a bit of teasing is definitely a possibility. :P

John is absolutely an intelligent man, other than a caring father. And yes, Remus did inherit those genes! :) I'm sorry that saddened you... but it's just Remus' way of thinking... :(

Peter is jealous. You got that right. ;)

Being a Prefect and a Marauder at the same time can't be easy... Poor Remus... Ahahah! Glad you enjoyed the Map bit! As for Mary... sorry about that, but she will be fine.

Oh, Regulus... he really isn't a bad person, just misguided... but I can't blame you for despising him. Glad you liked their relationship, though. They have different views and can't really get each other, but they are brothers and they do love and care for each other.

It mustn't be simple, for either of them. They are both very unsecure and in need of external acceptance and I think Remus especially would be scared of being "different", since he already has to deal with lycanthropy. They will fix it though, at least for a bit...

Poor Remus, indeed... Ahahah! No, Sirius isn't very good with advices, but he tried at least. And he did give Remus a push in the right direction. ;)

To Remus' benefit, it was an empty classroom, not a corridor... :P But yeah, that's pretty unconsiderate... Remus does these reckless things from time to time... but it did work, and that's what matters. Right? ;)

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed this chapter as well! No, I'm afraid the next one won't be happy... but I would love it if you get there just the same...

Thank you so much for the review, love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #11, by my_voice_rising Children

3rd October 2016:
Hi there! Thank you so much for the review on Periphery. I'm glad to be here finally upholding my end of the swap :)

Peter/Remus! (??) (!!!) Wow, I definitely am intrigued by this.

I like that you've integrated the magical world in so nicely with children's games, particularly "building Hogwarts castle" and pretending to be a Phoenix. Sometimes authors tend to overdo the cutesy stuff when writing children, but yours is spot on, from Peter not listening when told to be careful, to Remus quickly growing bored of his Mum running into a longtime friend.

The relationship between Remus and his mother is a nice touch, too. It's so sad that his father wasn't around for Remus's first transformation as he seems to have promised to be. But I like that she is honest with him, telling him that yes, it will hurt. The sentence about her sitting outside the garage all night and staring at the moon is very beautiful; very haunting.

Peter coming to Remus's rescue is such a nice touch! So often Peter is completely written off as a spineless backstabbing monster in fic, but realistically he must have had some admirable traits, or the Marauders wouldn't have given him the time of day.

So even though Remus and Peter grew up together (for a short while, anyway) Peter won't find out about Remus's lycanthropy until Hogwarts? That's a nice touch. It will certainly add another level of surprise to its discovery.

Oooh and the darkness in Peter's voice that creeped his mother out. Foreshadowing much?? I love it!

My only suggestion is clarifying who is speaking in the last three lines of dialogue--at first I thought Remus's parents were saying that they wouldn't write and I was like *gasp* rude. Of course if I'd been using context clues, Remus's attitude, etc., that wouldn't have happened. But speaking of dialogue, you're so good at writing it! The chapter doesn't have much descriptive language at all but you do such a good job setting the tone with dialogue alone.

Nicely done! ♥

Author's Response: Hello, Sarah!
Welcome! :) And thank you for swapping!

Yes, Peter/Remus. Crazy, I know, but that's just how my mind works... (there is a reason, this is sort of a prequel to an AU fic I'm working on where Peter/Remus just sort of happened... anyway, I'm happy you're intrigued!)

Ah, I love to add little wizarding references in normal life, that's one of the things I adored in JK's books. And thank you, I'm glad you found my children believable. :)

I've always loved to imagine Remus' parents to be very caring and sweet, especially his mum. How else would he turn out so amazing despite everything he's gone through? I love that line too!

Ah, yes... my little Petey showing some Gryffindor bravery and loyalty. :) I've written him a lot and I've developed quite a precise headcanon for him that's probably different from what people would normally think. I'm actually quite fond of him (at least of the young him). But I'll save you any more rambling on the matter.

Yes, Peter will find out much later. And, well, keep reading and you'll find out his reaction! :P

Definitely a foreshadow... I wanted to show a glimpse of his darker side. He's vengeful and egocentric and can hold grudges, which are the elements that, in my opinion, led him to the betrayal, even more than his fear. (I know... I said no more Peter rambling... I'm sorry...)

Ops... it was actually John who said that "maybe"... I was thinking it in a sort of mocking way, but re-reading it, it does sound rude... I definitely didn't mean it that way! :O

I should go back and see if I can smooth that bit a little. And maybe add a few tags, because I have the bad tendency to write long bits of dialogue without specifying who's talking... Same for description, I'm not very good at it, but I'm improving... Glad you liked the chapter anyway! :)

Thank you so much for the swap and the lovely review!
Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ron 4 Hermione Marauders

2nd October 2016:
Hey, figured Iíd carry on since I really want to know what happens next! And hitting the Hufflepuff review tag while Iím here :P

Aw, the letter is such a sweet touch! Poor Lupin, it must be hard to know that the two people he can talk freely about everything to are only accessible by a letter. Although YES! So glad to see he hates lying to Peter, hopefully the truth comes out soon. Itís so strange to read about how he doesnít trust James and Sirius though, itís an interesting twist and it makes this even more intriguing. I think I use that word too much when reviewing this story but I just always have questions and always want to read on! Hmm, I hope they were just being nice and that Remusí wolf sense is off, although Iím wondering if thatís going to be some sort of plot twist!

Oooh, I was so confused but I see now! Wow, well I guess someone had to put them in their place and with Remusí temperament at the full moon it makes sense that it's him. Hahaha, Lockhart! Omg, I love that mention. Aww, well that was unexpected but Iím glad they seem to be friends now, and that Remus is feeling a little more trustful.

Oooh, this is getting tense! Omg, I canít believe they figured it out although I like that it was Sirius, was a nice touch as I think out of all three of them heíd be the one to make that connection with the once a month/full moon. Oh no, I hope Peter is nice to him, at least James and Sirius seem to want to be nice. Although I hope they do ask him because I donít know if Peter is going to be able to keep it a secret and if he blurts it out that would be a nightmare. Aha, I love that little slip of the ďYou canít be serious..Iím not you are.Ē Aha, that pun never gets old!

Aww, they told him? Yes they did! Omg, this makes me so happy! YAY!! I love how youíve written this, like itís honestly perfection! Look at Lily being all protective of Remus, and just immediately calling out James. Your writing is just filled with little details that make the characters so real and itís just so good!

Oh, so Iím guessing theyíve started discussing becoming animagus? Bless them, and in third year! Well theyíre loyalty canít be faulted.Although I can see both points of view because Remus knows itís dangerous and obviously doesn't want to put the first friends whoíve accepted him in danger but likewise, they donít want to leave him in danger of himself. I love how youíve written this just using dialogue as well, it really emphasises the conversation and just how stubborn both sides are being!

Ahahaha, yay a prank! How funny, and how clever of you to think up those rhymes! Iím so impressed, I couldnít even rhyme 2 lines never mind a paragraph of my story. I love the prank and the idea that McGonagall gave them the idea to be called the marauders. I had no idea it actually meant something so thatís really cool!

Oh my word, that last paragraph! Reduce me to pieces, break my heart, itís fine! :P No, but seriously youíve got across how Remus must have felt when he realised his friends could transform and spend the full moon with him. It must have been so life-changing and amazing and he must have been so happy! Aww, Iím so glad it all worked out for them!

Well this was longer than I thought, I apologise if itís all ramble but Iím loving this story! Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

-Shaza :)

Author's Response: Shaza!!!
Aww... this was such a nice surprise, finding your review waiting for me yesterday morning... definitely brightened my Monday! :D
(And for the record, I don't mind rambling... feel free to do that as much as you want! :P)

I guess a lot of children would've felt homesick and missed their families when starting Hogwarts. For Remus this is particularly true, since he feels he can't trust anyone the way he trusts his parents... poor child...

And yes, obviously he hates lying to Peter... he knows he's being unfair to the only friend he has and he truly cares for him, but on the other hand he fears that Peter would be afraid of him if he knew the truth. In a way, he's trying to protect him.

James and Sirius... well, they can be quite a lot to deal with... they have good hearts, but we know they have a tendency to be overbearing, and Remus did have his fair lot of experience with bullies. Remus sees a lot of Duncan in them, which is the reason he can't trust them. In that case they were just being nice, though. :)

A few scenes are a bit confusing, I'm sorry about that... I'm trying to fit into the seven scenes structure and to do so I cut out a few moments that would've made the flow smoother... anyway...

Someone had to tell them off. ;) I'm not sure if Remus' words will have much of an effect on their behaviour anyway. :P Glad you liked Lockhart's mention. Eheheh! I guess Remus just needed to see how authentic they are, you know? Despite what he says, he does need friends.

For some reason, I thought it'd made sense for Sirius to be the one to make the connection. Peter would've never figured it out, because to him it would've been too absurd. And James just isn't reflective enough? I doubt Peter would be nasty to Remus anyway even if he does have some prejudices... Peter knows Remus and that makes all the difference. As for James and Sirius, they hate prejudices and just wouldn't care. At least, that's how I imagine it. :D (and yay for Sirius/serious puns. I love Sirius/serious puns. I didn't put enough of them in this story...)

Yes, they did! Glad you liked that scene! And I love Lily, she's brilliant! :) Glad you like the details and that you feel they give the characters depth!

Yes, they're starting to discuss Animagi. :) I'm glad the dialogue helped emphasizing the stubborness on both sides. And yay for Marauders' loyalty! Aren't they just awesome friends?

Ahahah! The prank! That took me quite some time to figure out... I have to say, writing rhymes in a language you're not sure the pronunciation of isn't easy... doing rhymes in Italian is much easier... :P but apparently it worked out! ;)

I'm glad you liked they got the idea for the name from McGonagall. It was actually an idea I took from Ysh's story, sort of... she had Peeves giving them the name but it was after a prank like here, so pretty similar circumstancies...

I'm sorry... or maybe not... :P Ah, I'm glad you think I captured Remus' emotions well there. After enduring it all alone for so long, it must've been so liberating and joyful to have someone by his side! Did I mention I love Remus?

Uh oh... I'm afraid I rambled even more than you did... hope you don't mind...

Thank you so much again for stopping by! I really hope you'll be back again, cause I'd love to know your thoughts on the rest!

All my love and hugs!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ron 4 Hermione Gryffindors

2nd October 2016:
Hey there! :D

Aww, well doesnít that bring back awful memories of the first day of school and everyone being so much taller and more grown up than you! Poor Peter, it must have been hard enough and then he bumped into family who don't seem to nice and he didnít even know he had. The stark contrast between Remus and Peterís experience on the train is a nice touch because while Peter does get brought into a compartment with family, albit they donít seem to nice, Lupin finds himself in a compartment with two people he doesnít know and it sounds like he spends it by himself.

Wow, Slytherin? I love that you made the hat dither and then eventually listen to Peter as to where he goes. I can see how it would make sense with some of what youíve shown about him especially in the first chapter. It really makes him feel more complex and shows another side than just the typical brave Gryffindor side.

Aww, this story really does make you feel sorry for Peter! He must have been so hurt and upset at being left by Remus but Iím glad he was willing to make friends with him again. Even if it is with a rather big lie between them.

Your observations are amazing! I love the little extra details and depth they give to the story. Although kind of makes me want to strangle Remus, haha! I hope Peter finds out soon, I feel like this secrecy can only go on for so long! Aww, no! See this is why Remus needs to tell! I hope they make back up. I mean I can understand why Remus doesnít want to tell but itís so frustrating haha!

Oooh, I wonder if Peter will just work it out by logic! Ben missing 3 times in 3 monthsÖ.although I suppose thatís only obvious to me because I know! Good on him for getting the courage to speak to James and Sirius! I hope this is the start of a beautiful friendship between the three(four) of them! Although now Iím curious how Remus will react when he knows Peter has been with them?

Another fab chapter, this is such an intriguing story!

-Shaza :)

Author's Response: First day of school is hard... I had that feeling in my first year of middle school, being so little compared to the older kids... glad you could empathize with Peter, but sorry for bringing back bad memories... :/

Ah, I'm glad you liked the contrast between the two of them. I don't think either of them had a particularly nice first trip to Hogwarts, though...

Well, apparently it is canon for Peter being an hatstall (or so my canon-expert beta Ysh tells me...) and it just makes sense in my opinion. Peter can be brave and loyal, but we know he has a much darker side and we know he chose to save himself and sacrifice others in the end. He definitely has a bit of Slytherin in him, don't you agree?

Peter is very hurt and upset about Remus abandoning him... but they'll make up, at least for now...

I'm glad you liked the observations bit and the details they add. Oh, I know... but don't be too hard on Remus, he's gone through a lot and is just scared of suffering again...

I don't think it would be so easy to figure out. Also because it is something I doubt Peter would take into consideration... but you'll find out more about it all in the next chapter (if you happen to come back and read on...)

Yay for Peter talking to James and Sirius! You'll find out more about that in the next chapter, too... but yes, the Marauders are definitely in the making! ;)

Thank you for swapping with me! I'm do glad you enjoyed this chapter too! And I'm so happy I got the chance to read your Lavender story, it really was amazing!!!

Love and hugs,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #14, by dreamgazer220 Heartbreakers

25th September 2016:
CHIARA HI! ♥♥

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get here, but I'm finally here with your requested review!!

This chapter was definitely titled properly. I really love how you took aspects of canon and weaved it from someone else's POV. That's one of the great things about fic, being able to see scenes we know from a different perspective.

And I love your boys. I loved seeing James after the werewolf incident; I don't read a lot of marauders, but I really loved the way you handled his outburst. It reminded me a bit of Harry in OotP, and I liked that a lot.

But poor Peter :( I can't believe you have me say these things with sincerity! That breakup in the hospital was so harsh, but also really realistic. I could definitely see Remus withdrawing from everyone after that incident and that you tied it back to Remus and Peter's childhood a bit.

You asked about the flow in your request, and I think the flow is good! You have a lot of great dialogue all the time, which keeps the pace moving and it never seems to really drag down, even when you add the bit of description, which was especially apparent at Peter's birthday.

The section breaks worked well, as in where you stopped and started, but it did take me a little while to figure out which instance you were talking about until you came out and said it. I'm not sure if there was a way you could mention that earlier? Or maybe even just putting the year after the break so that we know where we are? Otherwise, though, I think you're handling the year gaps very well! It's one of the many things I love about this story. ♥

I also absolutely loved the parallelism between the fallout with Snape and Lily and the breakup with Peter. How it was only a word that destroyed them, but a word that packed such a huge meaning to both Remus and Lily - and ironically, both words started with 'm'! Did you do that on purpose? It worked really well, I loved it!

I also loved the juxtaposition from the beginning of this chapter to the end. You could really see how much had changed in just this chapter alone, from when everyone was acting sort of carefree in the beginning to when they're being cold and distant. I also can't help but feel a bit bad for Dorcas, I wonder where that's going to go - if anywhere.

Another fabulous chapter for this wonderful story! And thank you for the request - come back anytime!!

♥♥♥
Jill

Author's Response: Hi, Jill!
Ah, no worries! Thank you for stopping by at all! And sorry if it took me so long to answer... I've been terrible at review answering recently...

This was sort of heartbreaking, wasn't it? I'm sorry about that... and I'm glad you enjoyed seeing a known scene from a different perspective. I must admit, I'm quite happy with how the Mudblood incident from Peter POV turned out in the end...

That makes me happy! Especially that James reminded you of Harry... they are different in many ways (Harry is much more mature and responsible), but they also have a lot in common. They are both fiercely loyal and value friendship above anything. And they're both reckless and have quite a temper... :P Erm... but I fear I'm digressing again...

I know... poor Peter... but I have to say, it makes me sort of proud when I make people feel bad for him... I'm glad you thought that the breakup was realistic and that you could see where Remus was coming from.

I'm glad the flow was good and that the section breaking wasn't (too) confusing. I still need to work on cohesiveness... I will learn one day...

No, I definitely didn't do that on purpose, but I love it now that you mention it. The M-words... :O Glad you liked the parallel with Lily and Severus.

A lot has changed in this chapter, and I'm afraid things won't get better from here... I'm working on chapter 6 (very slowly) so you'll probably find out soon, also about Dorcas.

Thank you so much for another wonderful review! I will totally request again (when I'll be done with the next chapter, which might take months...)

Love you so much,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ron 4 Hermione Children

24th September 2016:
Hey Chiara, here for the Hufflepuff review swap!

I donít think Iíve actually read a story focused on Peter as the main character before so Iím excited to read this and see how you portray him!

I love how you set the chapter up, Peterís mum actually makes me think Peter could have turned out quite shy as she seems quite overprotective. Although I suppose most mothers wouldnít want their child to be in pain. And you make Peter sound like such a cute child, itís strange to imagine him as the one who betrayed Lily and James but I guess at this point he isnít.

Aww no, I think youíve just broke my heart! Poor Remus, having to transform all by himself when heís so young. He must have been so scared, especially for the first time. Again I love the motherly love you show with Silvia staying outside all night.

And things just get worse. Kids can be so mean, and I definitely think thatís an important part to show. Makes the idea of him being a marauder so much sweeter. And I love how Peter tries to stand up for Remus even though he doesnít know whatís going on. With what he does when heís older itís easy to forget he was a Gryffindor and I think him sticking up for Remus shows that perfectly!

Now I feel sorry for Peter, which isnít something I ever thought I would! Remus was rather mean to him (although I get why) but now heís just left him! That must have hurt, especially being so young and he doesnít even know why. Iím glad something made him smile, even if only a little one. Itís his birthday and he deserved that!

Oh, leaving for Hogwarts must have been a terrifying time for Remus and I think youíve done a great job in showing that! He has to leave the two people he was closest too, and the two people who know and accept his condition and now heís going to have to live with others his own age. And after what other people his age have done to him, no wonder heís scared.

This was a great start to what seems like itís going to be an interesting story! Iím going to have to come back and read on!

- Shaza :)

Author's Response: Hi, Shaza!
So, now I owe you two review responses... I've been so lazy at this recently and I'm sorry...

I'm so happy you are intrigued by this. Peter's stories are not very frequent and that's a pity. He is a much complex character than often depicted and, I swear, so fascinating to explore. I must confess, I've developed a little affection for him. Weird, I know...

That's exactly what I was doing for with Mary. She is overprotective and Peter does turn out quite shy and uncertain as a result. At this point in his life he's just a child like many others. The betrayal is still far away.

It always breaks my heart to think about Remus going through all that since such an early age... the poor child... I hated myself a little writing that scene, but then again, we know this happened...

And poor Silvia as well... can you imagine how hard it must've been for her? I'm glad you liked the motherly love there!

Kids can be so nasty. I could totally imagine something like this happening. It also explain why Remus is so reticent to share his secret with anyone. I'm glad you liked Peter showing some Gryffindor bravery and loyalty.

Poor Peter... Remus was unfair to him, but you can't really blame him... after everything that happened he's just scared of Peter's reaction and worried for his safety. I'm happy I made you feel sorry for Peter, though! #authorpride

Leaving for Hogwarts was scary for Remus. He's obviously very close to his parents and he worries about all the things that could go wrong... he does that a bit too much but, once again, can you really blame him? Fortunately we know he'll meet some pretty amazing friends and that he'll be riunited to Peter soon. :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this first chapter! This story is currently my main focus/obsession and I'm so thrilled that it's been received so well so far!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aphoride Children

20th September 2016:
Hey there, Chiara! :) So I just had to stop on this because a Remus/Peter friendship/romance story looked so interesting and so unique - I don't think I've ever seen a story with Remus/Peter before (or even, you know, with Peter as part of a romantic pairing). But I do think it's a shame more people don't write about him, so I had to stop by :)

I have to say that I love the way this starts when they're really little kids - how they grow up in the same neighbourhood not long after Remus has been bitten, how their mothers knew each other from school and seem to get along well too, how they get this great friendship growing so early, which then presumably they remember and get back into once they're at school. It makes so much sense as to how they met and how Peter got adopted into the Marauders, and gives this lovely extra addition to Remus and Peter's friendship :)

Ahhh little!Peter is so cute, too - I love how you've given him such a real and 3d personality: how he's so innocent and so loyal to Remus, even to the point of shunning the other neighbourhood kids in response to them hurting Remus, and how he's surprisingly brave in standing up to the kid who was kicking Remus, even though he knows he's so much smaller and only putting himself in equal danger. It makes it so clear how he got into Gryffindor - he is brave, even if he doesn't really seem it later, and he is loyal. I loved, as well, the hints of darker aspects of his nature, with the dark look crossing his face when he said he hated the neighbourhood kids. It's pretty scary, because he's only a kid and he's worrying his mother with that kind of expression, but it's so good, too, because it makes it so easy to see how things go wrong for him, you know? And I love that kind of subtle, simple foreshadowing :)

Your Remus is utterly and completely precious! Poor lamb... I just wanna cuddle him and protect him, haha - but I love the way you wrote him as getting angrier and harsher after the bite, how he doesn't like questions and keeps telling Peter to 'go away' even though he's only trying to be friendly and understand - it's a really ordinary reaction, I think, and one which is totally understandable, but so horrible for Peter, because he doesn't get why he's being pushed away. (I'm expecting some nice apologising when Peter finds out about the whole werewolf thing ;) From Remus, I mean) It kinda shows just how cut-off Remus was or felt he needed to be and how badly it affected him. It's so horrible, but it's so realistic, given how stigmatised his condition was meant to make him, you know?

Your writing is so lovely, too - I love the way you write Remus and Peter as kids. I think I've said this to you before (maybe?) but writing kids is something which is so, so hard to do and do well, because they have a very particular mindset and a way of seeing things that we don't really get as adults, and somehow, you just seem to do it so easily and so naturally and it's a real gift. I love, as well, the way you do your dialogue - whenever I read a line, I just know who's saying it, because the voices of the characters are so strong. Also, the way you change the style of phrase and the language every now and then for the kids is so clever and so good - it makes it feel so real, you know?

Ahhh this is such a cute first chapter, and I'll totally try and remember to come back for the rest of it because I'm so curious to know what happens once they're at school and they meet again and how they both become a part of the Marauders - and then, the romance! :P

Thank you so much for the swap - I really loved it! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi, Aph!
Okay, so... this is like the fifth time I start to answer this review... Let's see if I can get to the end... :P

I love Peter. Like, Siriusly do. I know that sounds crazy, but I've grown affectionate to him while writing Marauders' stories. He is surely a fascinating character to explore and write and I agree with you that he should be represented more. Anyway, I'm glad you were attracted by this story, because it's one I'm very proud of. :D

I'm glad you liked their early friendship. It was actually something that I mentioned in my other story "All the truth about Jimmy Portman" (this is sort of a prequel to it).

Little Peter is definitely cute! And yes, there must've been a reason if he was sorted in Gryffindor, right? I've always thought that it was a mixture of resentment and feel unconsidered that eventually led him to the betrayal, more than his fear. I'm glad you caught that glimpse of his darker side, foreshadowing was exactly what I was trying to do there.

Remus... I adore Remus! Poor child... he has to deal with so much from such an early age... it always breaks my heart... you can cuddle him, he needs the cuddles! I'm glad you found his reactions understandable. Poor Peter, though...

I love writing children. They have this simple, spontaneus approach to the world... I actually find them quite easy to write... guess I'm a bit of a child myself... :P

I'm so glad you liked the dialogue and the writing style, too! Thank you so much!

I would love to know what you think about the rest, so feel free to come back anytime!!! :D

Thank you so much for the swap and the wonderful review!!!
Lots of love and snowball hug!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan Heartbreakers

19th September 2016:
I'm sorry it's taken me so much longer than I expected to get here! I had computer issues but they're fixed now.

That scene with James yelling at everyone and being angry at them in the aftermath of the werewolf prank... honestly, I really loved that scene. I mean, it was sad and heartbreaking and all, but I love the way you drew out certain aspects of each of the four characters that is rarely shown. I've seen a lot of fic focusing on the fallout of the prank between Remus and Sirius, but never James, and he was the one who prevented anything horribly serious (lol Sirius?) from happening, and in a way was betrayed by his best friend and everyone's just mad at each other and no one stops to thank him from preventing them from going to Azkaban for murder. He's so vulnerable at that moment and I just found it to be a profound character moment, so I loved it. I think that's one of your greatest strengths as a writer, to get into the characters' heads so well, and you do so well with this particularly when you write the Marauders.

And I love what you did with the Snape's Worst Memory scene here from Peter's POV, especially with the context of all that came before it in Peter's life, especially between him and Remus. It sets this scene in such a different light, and I really liked reading this fresh perspective of it.

And the split between Remus and Peter is so sad. I think you paralleled it really well with the Snape/Lily fallout, how just one word ruined them both, and in the case of Remus and Peter, it brought up all the insecurities Remus has been managing to push away, about him being a monster and not deserving any love. The fact that he actually believes that about himself just kills me. In a way I don't think Peter can see how vulnerable Remus is, he's just tired of being pushed around by Remus closing himself off, and even when he realizes he said the wrong word, everything just kind of crumbles, because on top of that there's all this latent jealousy. I feel bad for both of them, but at the same time I just want to shake them for their bad communication.

So anyway: I loved this chapter, as always! Such wonderful writing. You are amazing.
Snowball hug! Love you ♥

Author's Response: Kristin!!!
Snowball hug!!!

(And apologies for answering so late... the truth is, I loved this review so much and liked to have a quick access to it... :P)

And no worries about the lateness. Technology issues are the worst... glad they are solved now!

Ah, it's such a relief that you were particularly impressed by James' scene, because it was the one I was most worried about. I felt scared it would be too heavy and confusing, since I only quickly hinted at a lot of things going on for him in that moment (why on heart did I think that seven sections thing was a good idea???)

Anyway, I'm glad that you liked that scene as a character development moment and that you could feel him and his rage and frustration so well. You're right, he is the one who saved them all and he only received resentment and loneliness in return. I've always thought that friendship was what mattered most for him and now his friends are deceiving him in the worst way possible... erm, am I rambling too much? Point is, I'm glad you liked what I did with his character!

Ahahah! Horribly Sirius! You are Siriusly the best, Kristin! :D

Gald you liked Peter's POV in the Mudblood incident scene as well! I wanted to bring out his uncertainties for the future and his suffering about Remus and also a bit of his darker, vengeful side. I hope it all came across well...

And, yes, I know... it broke my heart to have them breaking up (plot necessities, plus Remus is that stubborn...) I'm glad you liked the parallel with Lily and Severus, too.

Poor Remus, he always think so poorly of himself... he definitely needs both the hugging and the shaking! And Peter should've understood better his state of mind, but as you said he was just tired of being constantly shut off and sent away... my poor boys...

YOU are amazing! Thank you for stopping by and leaving such an incredible, stunning, encouraging review! It made my day a thousand times!!!

Snowball hug!!!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Heartbreakers

15th September 2016:
YAY I get to be the first to review the new chapter!! ♥ :D

I just don't even know where to start with this one - it's so intense! I was so, SO sad to see the way Remus pushed Peter away, but at the same time I understand where he's coming from and it's got to be hard for his friends to understand that - yes, they can transform into animals, but they at least remember who they are. And, I felt really bad for Peter in that scene, but at the same time I feel like he should have been able to see through Remus' mask down to his fear... but it's also not Peter's fault... GAH! SO many emotions at the same time! :P

Then, seeing things that happened with James and everyone else as well was really sad, but I was happy that James got everyone to make up, at least for the time being.

And then, the fact that Remus worked so hard to be able to get Peter that gift was SO sweet, I was really hoping things would work out for them.. and then Peter had to go and get a boyfriend and complicate things even further. :P I'm really curious as to how he's going to act now that he's seen that Remus still cares!

This was another wonderful chapter, dear, I really love this story so much! I hope you update soon, I can't wait to see where things go from here!! Well done! ♥

Author's Response: Yes! You are the first!!! *squish*

Oh, thank you! I have to say, I was super nervous about this chapter for some reason... I'm so glad to hear you "enjoyed" it!

I know, it's sad... but it's just the way they are... Remus is too scared of hurting people, Peter does see through Remus' mask but he's too focused on his own feelings... I'm glad you could feel them both, though!

Yes, poor James, too! His cousin's loss, and finding himself alone dealing with it, was really hard for him. Yes, he got them to make up for now. That's what I love most about James, how much he values friendship!

Ah, glad you found that bit sweet! I know, it's all so complicated right now... We'll see together what will happen now...

Ah, thank you so, so much again for taking the time to stop by and leave such wonderful, squee-worthy reviews! You are the bestest and I love you so much!

Thank you again and snowball hug rolling to you!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Lovers

15th September 2016:
CHIARA! ♥

It's been TOO long since I've been here to catch up reading this wonderful story, but I'm here now and there are TWO lovely chapters for me to read, so I hope this makes up for my tardiness!

First off, I just have to say that I missed this story so much! It's just such a fantastic story of friendship and mystery and romance and the tale of the two Black brothers... it's just great!

And I have to say, I just LOVE Remus' Dad! He is SO caring and supportive and understanding, not to mention hardworking - the world could really use more people like him! ♥

I thought the way Peter kept kind of huffing with jealous was really cute here. And THE KISS! *gasps* I definitely didn't see that coming, but I'm so happy it happened! I'm so glad Remus has someone (well, actually multiple someones) to remind him that he's NOT a monster and he DOES deserve to be loved/in love!

I think you did a great job showing the emotions here - Remus is obviously very confused about his feelings and you wrote that very clearly. And your characterization of each of the marauders is just fantastic!

Another wonderful chapter and I can't wait to see what you've got in store for me in the next one! Well done, lovely! *Squish*

Author's Response: CRYSTAL!!! (I still need to learn how to make hearts...)

Ah, you have nothing to apologize for! It was so lovely to find this incredibly sweet surprise review! Sorry for taking so long to answer...

Ah, thank you! I must admit, I'm loving this story too! I had no idea I would get so involved with it when I first had the idea... now I love my boys so much!!! And I'm so glad you are liking it so much!

Remus' parents are the best! John is a bit of a Hufflepuff, now that you mention it! :P I agree, the world could definitely use more people like him!

Ahahah! Poor Pete... I'm happy to hear you found him cute! And yes, Remus needs to be told that (a pity he still finds it so hard to believe, no matter how many people try to convince him...)

Good to know that Remus' emotions and confusion came across well! And that all Marauders felt in character!

Honestly, you're too flattering! Thank you so much! You are wonderful!

Tons of love, and see you again on the next chapter!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #20, by victoria_anne Lovers

7th September 2016:
Here I am!

Not going to lie (teehee, word choice) I got excited when I read the name of this chapter! ♥

Oooh is Remus in luuurve? I love how accepting his dad is.

Detention is an occupational hazard. Best. Line. Ever.

Aw Sirius is a caring brother after all. I really love your dialogue, Chi. Also between Remus and Sirius, that was so great too ♥

*squee* They kissed! Not so romantic, but still perfect!

SO WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?! I am going to be on your case now until you update!

Love B ♥

Author's Response: So I'm answering this review now!
I'm procrastinating getting ready for the weekend in Turin anyway...
And I'm also sending you the hugest snowball hug ever! I love you, B! And I'm here for you all the time (should you ever need someone to listen to you venting about anything...)

But I was answering a review, wasn't I?

Ahahah! Romance time! Glad you're excited! :D

Yes, he is! :D Poor boy, though... so confused about everything... but yay for his dad! John and Silvia are the best parents, aren't they?

Ahahah! Sirius is Siriusly the best! ;) And yes, a great brother and a great friend, too!

That's Remus and Peter, what can I say? They are awkward characters, pure idyll just doesn't happen with them...

Glad you enjoyed the chapter! And, well, you already know what happens next! ;)
Hopefully I'll have time to update soon! Btw, thank you again for your encouragement on chapter 5! You are the bestest!

All my love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #21, by victoria_anne Marauders

7th September 2016:
CHIARA ♥

(I spelt your name wrong at first, so I'm clearly off to a good start in this review)

I am finally here and ready to be caught up with this amazing story!

Aw, Remus has first hand experience at the powers of chocolate (which, coincidentally, is what I had for breakfast this morning)

Truthfully, when I read the title of this story, I automatically think of Peter, because he's so obviously a liar, but in this chapter, I love how Remus is equally a liar.

Hahahaha aw Sirius saying "Do too", that part was hilarious! Yeesh, the boys aren't good at respecting Remus' privacy are they?

I think it is so in character for Peter's first thought to be stop being friends with Remus, no matter how brief. I know it's been said so many times, but you really are amazing at his character.

MARAUDER GROUP HUG ♥ ♥ ♥

Aw and all the nicknames are being decided in this chapter!

Lovely work as always, my little Chi - see you at the next chapter! ♥

Author's Response: B!!! You know that I adore you, don't you?

Ahahah! Well, chocolate lifts the spirit, or so they say. And for some reason I have this headcanon that Remus is a fan of chocolate... :P Did you enjoy your breakfast, btw?

Actually, the liar of the title is Remus, not Peter. :P But it surely applies to the both of them! ;)

Sirius is the best! I know you agree on this! He's just the funniest! :D

No, the boys aren't very good at respecting privacy. :P

We both know Peter is far from perfect. I think he would have that reaction at first. I'm glad you liked it. Thank you for saying I write him well. *blushing*

Yay! Marauder group hug! :D Aren't they the best friends ever? And yes, the nicknames, too! :D

Thank you so much again for this lovely surprise! I'll be back to answer your other review soon! *wub* *hug* And I can't wait for your feedback on chapter 5. Thou art wonderful!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Sebastian Blishwi Gryffindors

17th August 2016:
Hello Chiara!

I've just finished practicing the flute and thought I'd stop by!

Oh, poor Peter. I know what it's like to feel short and shy, and that everyone is talking about you :( Ooh, imagine not knowing your own cousin! Sometimes I wish I didn't know mine, but I love them all, really.

I like the way Peter observes all that's going on around him. People always say you can't trust the quiet ones, and in this case, that definitely seems true!

Aw, it looks like Peter is beginning his friendship with James Potter and Sirius Black!

Well, I guess I'd better go. I'm going to the library later. Finn said if I cleaned his room then he would help me with homework, so it looks like I'm doing this assignment by myself!

Bye Chiara!

- Bash

Author's Response: Oh, Bash! Thank you! It's so sweet of you to stop by here!
How did flute practice go? You'll need to play something for me some day...

Ah, yes... I thought you might relate to Peter there... sometimes you just feel so out of place, don't you agree?

Ahahah! Your cousins must be a difficult bunch to deal with. But I know they love you just as much! *hug*

That's just the way Peter is, you know? He's smarter than most people give him credit for, himself included. And yes, that quiet people can't be trusted is very true in his case...

Peter likes popularity so... yeah... but the friendship won't really come until Remus accepts them too...

Ah, Finn is such a prat! *rolls eyes*
Hope the study will go well!

Thank you again, darling! Come back anytime! :D
With love,
Chiara

PS if you see Bianca, tell her that she's awesome!!! ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Lovers

14th July 2016:
HI ♥ ♥ ♥ I'M BACK AND HERE TO LOVE YOUR STORIES

because rationalizing his emotions was the only way he knew to deal with them. -- this is so 100% Remus

Aw, I'm glad Remus talked to his dad and asked his advice. And he came out! Maybe it'll take John some time to adjust to that but he didn't seem upset - he still cares just as much about his son, and that makes me happy - especially because in this time period it was so much more difficult for people who weren't straight. You know what though, John didn't even answer Remus' original question! haha.

Portraits were snoring in their ornate frames along the deserted fourth floorís corridor, softly illuminated by the light of the crescent moon filtering through the high windows. Not a soul could be seen there, yet footsteps echoed against the stony walls, and words, whispered by invisible owners. -- gorgeous imagery here! I can envision this so perfectly :D

LOLOLOL Remus found them because he smelled them. Either he has very powerful sense of smell due to his wolfy side, or the other three just haven't had showers in a few days. Haha

Aw, cool to see the very beginnings of the Marauder's Map!

OMG HOW COULD YOU DO THAT all the joking and fun of them sneaking around the corridors and then they find Mary like that! I was not expecting that and then ahh :O

Sorry to be picky :P but... tapestry of a marine landscape -- a landscape is by definition land and therefore not marine... unless it's of the ocean floor? If you want the tapestry to be of an ocean scene maybe you could say seascape, or a rocky seashore, or even just 'an ocean scene'?

gah, whenever Regulus and Sirius talk it makes me SO SAD. like, they eventually ended up on the same side, and they started out on the same side as they were (I imagine) close when they were younger, but they just lead such different lives during their Hogwarts days. I love that you pointed out how similar they look. That would be really hard for Sirius, to see this person who resembles him so much, who used to look up to him, and is now doing things that result in people lying wounded on the floor. What used to be, versus what is. You said it all here: Sirius was undecided if it was more tempting to pull him in a hug or to punch him.

ďTo whom?Ē -- whatever qualms I may have with Regulus, at least he knows his grammar :P

The whole discussion between Regulus and Sirius was so good, but especially this: ďWho are you to decide whatís right or wrong? -- because really, who can decide? They're both doing what they think is right, but that happens to be on opposing sides. gah! so heartbreaking, but so good

You canít trust her. Sheís only an opportunist. And sheíll throw you away the moment sheíll learn what you are.Ē -- OMG Peter is so manipulative. This is seriously playing on Remus' insecurities... it's no wonder Peter was able to get away with being a spy for a year.

I like that Peter was the one who initiated the kiss. Mainly because I can't ever see Remus being the one who initiates anything, but this story really brings a new light to Peter because both he and Remus are the quieter, less forward of the Marauders and pairing the two of them brings out such interesting dynamics.

Aw, I loved Sirius and Remus' bro chat. Sometimes Sirius' advice is exactly what Remus needs just because of the different ways they see things. Remus is very prone to overcomplicating things, and Sirius oversimplifies them, and a fresh perspective can help sometimes. I hope it helps Remus sort through his love life problems at the very least! Poor guy.

Aw, though, I'm so glad he and Pete worked it out in the end! :D It's nice to see them both happy for a bit :)

Loved this chapter! Hope things are going well with you.

* *
* * * *
* * * * * *
SNOWBALL HUGS!!!



Author's Response: Finally here to answer this incredibly awesome review! (I love you, Kristin... You know that, right? Maybe you're tired to hear me say that, but it's the truth...)

Yes, that's Remus. (That's me, too, but irrelevant...)

I love John and Silvia, they are just the sweetest of parents. I imagined that if they could raise a werewolf, it wouldn't be so hard to accept Remus not being straight (even if they would be a bit shocked at first). Do you feel I oversimplified things here?

Ahahah! You're right, he didn't answer Remus' original question. I think the Lupins have a talent for that. :P

Ah, glad you liked the description! :) Descriptions drive me crazy, either I skip them altogether or I feel like I overdo them... I still have a lot to learn...

Ahahah! It was his wolfy side, of course. But I wouldn't exclude the non-showering possibily either... :P

Erm... sorry... :( Poor Mary... The building of the scene that way wasn't planned, it just sort of happened... Sorry for the sudden dark turn... :(

Ah... didn't realize that... I just translated the word "panorama", which can refer to both landscape or seascape or any-scape, actually... (why is English so hard?) Thank you for pointing that out.

I love writing Sirius and Regulus together, even if it breaks my own heart a bit. They are so similar and yet so different and you can tell that they care about each other, despite their opposing views. Their relationship is so incredibly complex and I just love to explore it.

Ahahah! Well, a Black ought to know grammar, don't you think?

Like the Hat said, Peter likes things to go his way. And he is very manipulative. We'll see the extent of it later on.

I agree with you, Remus just isn't the type to initiate anything. :P And while Peter is quiet not that straightforward himself, he knows what he wants and (like I said above) likes things to go his way. I'm glad you find their dynamics interesting.

I had a lot of fun writing the conversation between Sirius and Remus. They are so opposite, and I totally agree that Remus needs to hear a more relaxed perspective on things from time to time.

Glad they worked it out, too. :) Not sure how long it will last, though...

Thank you so, so, so much for this incredible review! You have no idea how happy it made me! :D

The biggest snowball hug ever!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Marauders

28th June 2016:
Chiara!! I'm sorry I'm the SLOWEST reviewer of all time. But I'm here!

For some reason I really like that you interrupted Remus' letter with the narration, and then even cut off the letter at the end when Peter walks in. That's how writing letters works in real life - who actually writes down a whole thing just in one go without having to sit and think about it at some point? (okay, maybe some people do that, but I don't :P ) Anyway, I like that it felt like this was all happening in real time as Remus wrote the letter.

Aw, and Remus is still insisting he doesn't want to be friends with Sirius and James. Haha. It's okay Remus, we'll let you rethink that in a couple of weeks.

Black said with uncharacteristic seriousness -- Teehee... Siriusness. :P Yes that is still funny

Sirius has a good point about the hair potion James's dad invented. It's pretty hilarious actually that James, who is always mentioned as having messy hair, is the son of the person who invented the potion that cures messy hair. How much do you think James' hair annoyed his father???

They actually noted the dates and everything. Who said they couldn't study?

Hey, Remus, do you perchance transform in a huge, furry monster once a month? -- that ought to do the trick :P

"James, you can't be serious!"
"I'm not. You are." James smirked, as Sirius rolled his eyes.
-- Ahaha. There it is.

"No way! Hugging is for sissies. I have no intention-"
"Well, now. That's totally sexist." Lily complained
-- Preach it Lily! :D Feminist Lily is my favourite headcanon.

Srius huffed annoyed, but in the end joined his friends and put his arms around them. Remus burst into tears once more. That had been, without a doubt, the happiest moment in his young life. -- Aww. :') This is so sweet. *joins in on the hug too*

LOL Sirius's nickname for Remus - Supreme Seer and King of Ill Omen. No wonder they went with 'Moony' instead. XD

The moment when Peter forgot his own birthday is the moment he became the most relatable to me. Don't worry Peter it happens. Aww but that was such a sweet gift that they got for him!!

The rhyming prank was BRILLIANT. Omg, I love it. And McGonagall speaking several verses of poetry to them about detention was just.. the best thing. I love that that's where they got the nickname the Marauders as well! And the last scene was really sweet as well when Remus has friends there for his transformation and he's so much happier :)

LAst but not least, I just made cookies and there's way too many so here, you deserve some for such a wonderful chapter! *sends Chiara sone virtual cookies*

You are amazing!
♥ ♥
Snowball hugs!
Kristin

Author's Response: Aww, Kristin! *hug* *wub*
How much do I love you on a scale from 1 to 10? At least 50!!! :D

I'm so glad you liked the chapter! And I can't thank you enough for this super sweet, super detailed review! *more hugs*

Isn't it how writing a letter goes? You start, then stop to think, then start again, then someone interrups you... Glad you liked it! :)

Ahahah! Poor, stubborn Remus! But we know he'll change his mind! ;)

Erm... can't avoid some Siriusness... it wasn't actually meant as a pun there... except that it was... :P

Ahahah! Poor Fleamont... his son's hair must've been such a pain for him! :D

They can study. But only when and what they decide to. ;) (and we know they can take notes, if it means helping a friend! ;) )

Ah, yes... Remus would be thrilled to have such a conversation... Poor Remus...

This time the pun was intended! :P

Ahahah! I so love feminist Lily! :D She's awesome!

Aww... so glad you found it sweet! *joins in the hug too*

Why? Supreme Seer and King of Ill Omen is such a practical nickname! :P

Poor little Petey... yes, that happens! :) It was a sweet present! Aren't they all adorable?

I spent so much time trying to figure out a good prank... then the idea came and it was the funniest thing ever to write!!! :D Glad you liked McGonagall's poetry! My favourite part as well! :D

Remus is so lucky to have the friends he got, isn't he? The Marauders are amazing!!!

Ah, thank you! I really need your virtual cookies to start the day sweetly! Are they gluten free, though? :P

Thank you so so so much for this awesome review! It really brightened my morning!

All my love and hugs and kisses!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #25, by dreamgazer220 Lovers

16th June 2016:
Hi, Chiara! Here for our review swap ♥

I do love this story. It's such a refreshing take on the characters, but you keep them so close to how I imagine them being in canon that it works so well.

So, this chapter!

I loved the opening scene. I thought you did a great job of writing the relationship between Remus and his father; it was so sweet to see John so open about his job problems with Remus, fighting to calm down a werewolf bill. And then we get Remus opening up to his dad, who is so warm and accepting about the entire situation. Remus is right, though- if his father can love his son as a werewolf, he can certainly love him if he turns out to be gay, and I'm so glad that he was right about that.

You have some great comic relief here with the Marauders exploring the castle. I can just picture the three of them huddled under James' invisibility cloak, exploring as Remus is trying to be on Prefect duty. I love that it was James' idea for the map and that he's so dedicated and passionate about it.

And we have some Regulus/Sirius! That was unexpected but I really enjoyed it. I haven't read much with them being in school together, and I think you did a great job of showing that conflicted dynamic. Sirius trying to go his own way, Regulus trying to blend in and roll with the Death Eaters. We know that Sirius gets blasted off the family tree, and that makes it even more heartbreaking. :( I'm glad you added this confrontation, though, because it just broadens the story even more, which is always a good thing.

I also think you did a brilliant job explaining Remus' confusion about both Dorcas and Peter. I can't imagine how difficult it must have been for him to figure it out, and I think you did a great job of describing how each made him feel. I really liked this: "She was like air, refreshing and healthy. He was like fire, burning and consuming. Remus craved them both with equal strength and he couldnít make sense of it." because it was just so powerful and it captured his emotions and frustration really well.

AND THEN THAT END KISS ♥ I'm so glad Remus worked up the courage to be the one to kiss him first. And I love that you didn't slap a label on him right away. It was just so adorable and so satisfying after all of the angst of the chapter.

One minor bit of CC: It bugged me a little when Remus said, "Who's Dorcas?" just because she had been so equal to Peter until that moment. Was that just his bit of confusion being cleared and realizing that he wanted Peter and only him? I'd like to see that explored just a bit more so it doesn't feel like it gets brushed off at the end.

A brilliant chapter, darling! I love the flow and the feel of the story, how you weave through significant chunks of time throughout each chapter. It's really well done.

Please let me know when you update this!

♥Jill

Author's Response: Jill!!! *wub*
Thank you so, so much for swapping and for leaving such a lovely review!

Ah, I'm glad you liked the opening scene! I do love Remus' parents, they are special! I'm just so glad you liked how I wrote Remus and John's relationship!

I can't renounce to a bit of Marauder humour, they're so much fun to write! :D Also, I guess it's needed to lighten the mood a tiny bit. Ahahah, yes, that was James' idea! I've always thought that he was the kind of person who just gets passionate about this sort of things! :D

I love Sirius/Regulus moments! I love how different their visions are, but how they still love each other anyway. It's so moving (and sad, of course...). I'm glad you appreciated the adding.

Ah, I'm so relieved you think I did a good job with Remus' feelings and confusion. As I told you, this chapter is my first actual attempt with LGBTQA, and I was so nervous about it... Also, I'm glad you liked that particular passage about air and fire, because it's my favourite too!

Aww... I know what you mean, the end kiss warmed me up, too! :D

Oh, yes... that line... Remus hasn't forgotten Dorcas, she still has a role to play. The reason he said that is, I believe, that he wanted to reassure Peter and himself that he'd made his choice and would stick with it. If that makes sense? Everything shall be explored more in the following chapters.

Aww, thank you! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far, and I will totally let you know when I update, just because I love your feedback! (Let me know when you update Haunting Shadows as well, I adore that story!)

So much love,
Chiara


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>