Reading Reviews for While Our Blood's Still Young
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne A Moment

22nd May 2016:
I have a bit of a soft spot for James and Lily fics, so I'm pretty excited about this one. :D

Oh Lily, I think that we all know why you're putting so much effort into your appearance. You love Potter, just admit it out loud. :D

Those two are so adorable, aren't they? They bring me such joy!

I bet that they're going to catch Sirius and Peter.

Ahh! called it! I knew that they would! haha.

And she walked away! Oooh go Lily! I love that she's let them get away with it :D Look at her pretending that she was never there!

I can't wait to read more of this, it's so cute and adorable already and I can't wait to read more of them two together, falling in love slowly. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Meabh O'Connell A Dream

13th April 2016:
Ugh. YOU! Cliffhanger? Siriusly?! No!! I must know!
Finish this Please!

Author's Response: It's finished now! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #3, by victoria_anne A Moment

8th March 2016:
Ooh is that luuurve I smell in the air? Hm, smells a bit like coffee...

Oh, wait, that's my actual coffee.

This is a super cute moment, a little transition between Lily and James going from constantly at each other's throats to a bit of appreciation and respect perhaps?

The prank between Sirius and Peter is absolutely hilarious. It's weird to imagine them working together for some reason, but of course it would be over a prank rather than school work!

I loved the way you describe Lily's feelings on seeing James, I was totally like *squee you don't fool me Lily youlikeimyoulikehim*

Ha ha look at Lily letting them get away with it! How cheeky of her. And James' reason for dropping Care of Magical Creatures? Hilarious. I think Peter and Sirius need to be more careful with their prank planning next time!

An awesome little moment, I'm impressed you managed to get so much across in so little words and still have it flow naturally!

 Report Review

Review #4, by princesslily_36 A Love

5th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

I was as surprised as James was when Lily was actually asking about Snape in an objective manner, like she was ready to hear James' side of it.

Why was she giving him those looks out of the corner of her eye? Was she still curious about Snape?

James set his own leg on fire because he was too distracted by Lily? OMG! That's the first I have read something like that, and it's such a cool idea!! For once, Lily's the one better at Transfiguration than James. What a twist :D Little does she know he can turn himself into an animal at will, and what does a wooden leg matter anyway :P :P

or if you are playing Exploding Snap in the back of my classroom. Right, Mr. Black? - Immature, playful Sirius is totally my scene! I was smiling so widely at this one!

and is classroom appropriate - I BET that McGonagall added this clause ONLY because the Marauders were in the class.

Loving the snippets - it not only shows how James has changed, but also how Lily has and how their dynamics shift because both of them finally grow up. I mean lets face it, Lily needed to grow up as well :D

Now, Lily tutoring James in Transfiguration? This ought to be good to see!!

XOXO
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #5, by princesslily_36 A Moment

5th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

Olivia, You had a Jily up! I HAD TO come over!

Ohh yaay, it starts in 7th year! Lily already seems to have noticed that James has become a little mature. PLUS, she seems to be getting that hearty-racey thingie of a new-found attraction. Awww!

Was he nervous, by any chance? - When Lily thought this I felt like yelling at her 'Of course he's nervous you silly girl, he's been in love with you for ages!'

Shall I say how I ADORE that you have decided to keep Sirius the same (because I would literally break if the Marauder pranking had to die off!)

Also the ending - LOVELY! I mean, Lily turning a blind eye to their pranks - marks a turning point for her too. I love how you have shown thatt it was not only James who changed for her, but she too relaxed a bit around him once she started liking him. Most fics portray her to be perfect, and their influence on each other to be one sided...but I like this :D

Over to the next chapter now!

XOXO
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Cupid! ♥ A Love

14th February 2016:
Hello, hello!! Back again on this loveliest of Holidays! I cannot believe that I get to be the lucky first reviewer of this awesome new chapter!! Yay!! =D

So, are they seventh years now? I am guessing that they are, since they are now learning such advanced transfiguration techniques, though I could be wrong. Perhaps you may wanna consider throwing that information in there somewhere? I did notice that their age/Hogwarts year was missing in the last chapter too. In the story summary, it says that this is a short-story containing snippets of James & Lilly's relationship, so I feel like each snippet should mention where in their relationship that this is all taking place. Sorry if I am being too critical hun, it's just something small here that I noticed.

Honestly, that's about all the CC I have for this, really. Everything is very well written, and the characterization of everyone is very well done! I like that you have alternated the POV's between Lilly from the last chapter, and now James in this chapter. I also loved the little mention of Snape at the beginning, and even though it is super sad, I liked how James was starting to notice how Lilly's feelings toward Severus had changed. This must be after he called her a Mudblood, I am guessing. Poor, poor Snilly. *sigh*

It's so great seeing them interact with one another in class here. I was laughing so much when James' leg caught on fire, lol!! You would think, him already being an Animagus and all, that this transfiguration stuff would come naturally to James. But clearly his nerves around Lilly get the best of him here. I like that you have portrayed him as this less-than-perfect little ball of nerves around her though. It's so sweet!!

This is such a lovely little story, and I am so happy that I came across it. What a perfect little tale to put me more in the mood for Valentine's Day, lol!! I will try to check out more of your stuff as soon as I can. Will be adding this to my favorites after the exchange too, that way I can keep up with the updates. Please update SOON, okay?!?

XOXO ~ Cupid ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by Secret Cupid! ♥ A Moment

14th February 2016:
Hello, and Happy Valentine's Day!! So sorry for arriving so late with you reviews. The weekend has been SO busy for me.

Anyways, I was so excited to see that you had this lovely little Jilly story updated! This first chapter was really good. A bit on the short side, but you still managed to capture so much about their personalities in such a short amount of time. I loved that about this!

It was super sweet seeing how awkward James was around her at first, and Lilly was very intelligent for noticing how nervous he was right away. But then, once they got to talking, the nerves seemed to go away and the two of them got along great. I loved their little banter back and forth. It is very like Lilly Evans to eavesdrop on the Marauder's conversations in class, lol! I loved it how James didn't even try to deny it once they were busted too, lol!

I have to admit, seeing Sirius & Peter working together was a nice refreshing twist from the norm. It's always interesting, reading marauder scenes with the two of them together, considering their upcoming futures. Most people would have probly had him down in the dungeons with Remus instead, but I'm glad you went with Peter.

It was also a pleasant surprise when Lilly went with it at the end. Of course, she had plenty of time to plan her reaction on the way down to the dungeon. So it was nice to see her cut the boys some slack for a change. She's usually a rule-abider, as we all know, but it is nice to see her playful side every once in a while. I mean, she marries James Potter, so she can't possibly be 100% serious ALL the time, lol! ;)

Overall, this is off to a wonderful beginning, and I cannot wait to see what the next chapter brigs us!! Well done!!

XOXO ~ Cupid ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by cherry_pop94 A Moment

28th October 2015:
Hi!

I'm here for BvB!

I love Lily and James stories, though I don't read them very often. I really like how you've interpreted them here though. The nervousness, the change Lily notices. And that she doesn't get Sirius and Peter in trouble in the end!

James's mannerisms throughout this whole thing were adorable too. Though this is quite short, I really got a good look into who Lily and James are. They're shy, they're a little awkward around each other. They like each other so much and it is so clear!

Thanks for sharing this adorable story!

Stefanie

 Report Review

Review #9, by Musing A Moment

22nd October 2015:
Heya Olivia!

Musing from the forums, here for the BvB review fest! I saw your post in the Ravenclaw Story Updates Thread and came 'hopping' here all the way from the forums! I can't help it. I just love Jily :P

This was a cute little one-shot. Lily's feelings for James have started changing. She has even started acknowledging the way James has changed and matured. The part where she deduces that James is nervous in her presence is adorable. I like the easy flowing conversation between them while they talk about their patrol duties.

Initially I thought that this story is similar to many others I have read (not that I am complaining, I can read the same Jily fluff over and over again :P ). You changed it all with the last sentence, of course. Your Lily is just not the perfect rule abiding girl most of the fan-fics make her out to be. Did I mention I find this version of Lily more real and canon-compliant? I mean James, being James, would not have given up his mischievous streak altogether and Lily still loved him. She needs to be a little fun-loving herself for that to happen.

Thanks for the lovely read! Looking forward to the upcoming four parts. The Jily fan in me requests for longer chapters! *gives puppy dog eyes*

-Emm ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login