Reading Reviews for When I Go Out With You
  
95 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Scooterbug8515/Marshal One By One

25th April 2017:
So, I jumped into the story without looking at the summary. Within 1 sentence I knew that the narrator was a female. So massive kudos to you for having such a good voice with your character that they were quickly identifiable. Of course with it being Hannah I didn't know it was her as we know so little of her but still the story speaks well even if you don't know who exactly is speaking.

The romance of the date here was perfect so sweet, romantic, believable and perfect. I was swept away in the moment as I read the story. I find it interesting you putting Susan and Hannah together. As I was reading I wondered for a moment about Neville as in cannon he marries Hannah, not saying that Hannah can't be bi by any means! Though if you don't have Hannah and Neville get together and have Hannah as only a Lesbian that is cool too. Both ideas work but with you introducing Neville into the story here at the end of the chapter makes me wonder a little particularly when she does remark that he is cute and then is shocked that it is Neville. Makes me wonder a bit what is in store next and how you will take the story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp One By One

25th April 2017:
Again jumping in the middle coz CTF.

Ooh, Hannah and Susan! They both look adorable together and I could visualise the entire scene in my head - the dance floor, the music, the two girls dancing together and having fun. I love how the characterisations come out through the most subtle of things, like the way Hannah is dependent on Susan in a way, and how Susan seems to be the one who is more "out there". Hannah beginning to feel comfortable in her own skin and feeling so much in love was all very sweet too and brought a smile to my face. Hannah's emotions come through really beautifully in the narrative such as when you say: The world feels so alive, and every face around me seems to glow with beautiful possibility.

It gives me the impression that she is enjoying herself like this after quite a while and slowly learning to simply "be". That expression is lovely. It is interesting how much she loves Susan that does not even feel bothered by the fact that her lover is flirting with someone else. It shows me her security and also how smitten she is - she finds that cute too, and that is very sweet. It speaks of a very healthy relationship! I would love to go back and read the previous chapters to see how it developed and got to the current stage.

And Neville enters! I wonder what role he has to play in the story and how would the events unfold next. The way you introduced his presence in the story was totally dramatic and awesome. Of course he is cute, haha.

Great one!

 Report Review

Review #3, by melian Fools Rush In

19th April 2017:
Lesley Gore! I love Lesley Gore. That probably says something about my age, though, especially given the challenge title. Sigh.

Anyway, Sam, this is gorgeous. You’ve taken the memories of schooldays and melded them with very adult feelings and emotions that can arise when you meet someone from your past out of the blue like that. What was an innocent friendship can so often turn into something more just by the passage of a few years, and you’ve shown that admirably.

I particularly liked the almost innate sense of disappointment when Susan leads Hannah to a table in the Leaky Cauldron rather than a room upstairs. Their touch and subsequent eye contact had almost been a promise that would at first be unfulfilled. And then you leave it so open! What happens after they clasp hands? Do they sit and talk for a bit, or do they do some minor exploration and then kiss, or do the rooms that Hannah looked at so wistfully come into play? Any and all are possible and I think it’s the anticipation that works so well here. Touch begins their story, touch ends it – in this chapter at least – but it has been so much more than just touch. It’s been, like I said, a promise.

So, you’ve got me hooked right from the get-go here. Lovely piece of work. Really enjoyed reading it. :D

Cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #4, by krazyboutharryginny Fools Rush In

19th April 2017:
Hi Sam, here for CTF.

Man, I really need to read more F/F. And here is a great place to start with that project.

I really enjoyed this first chapter. It was so beautifully written. The way that you described Hannah's emotions, everything that she was feeling upon seeing Susan again, was really moving. To me, it was almost a little bit melancholy, because it had been so long since they had seen each other and the whole chapter had a sort of quietness to it.

It was interesting that Hannah's new feelings for Susan were, well, new, because the way Hannah described Susan gave me such a vibe of familiarity. I mean, obviously they were friends at Hogwarts, so there's that element to it, but the tone here just sort of made me wonder whether Hannah had had feelings for Susan while they were at Hogwarts and had been repressing it. Or maybe I'm reading too much into it :P

Either way I thought this was totally gorgeous, and the way you described the scene really got at how all-consuming seeing Susan again and feeling these new things for her was for Hannah. That's best exemplified by the line about Susan's voice being soft, yet resonating through every cell of Hannah's body. Another great example is "There is a light in her eyes that keeps me searching – it is buried deep inside, beyond twists and turns, but it is there and it is glowing for me."

Again, I really enjoyed this and (assuming this isn't the flag story :P) I'll definitely be back sometime to read more!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

16th April 2017:
As I open the door to our flat, my smile bursts into a jubilant laugh as I bound forward.

It has been way too long! UH, this story. Your writing. This line. This story just makes me happy. Every sentence you write is like a little story in itself. I get lost in each and every sentence because everything flows beautifully.

I swell with warmth as he greets me with joyous laughter, which resonates through both of our chests as we embrace.

Like this right here just makes me happy. I swelled a little bit. This story is yellow. It's just pure yellow. It's sunshine.

“Always!” I kiss him back with an enthusiastic giggle.

Reminds me of the beginning of a relationship when you're so enamored with the person. You're so in love and everything they do and say is exciting.

And this will all be followed up with an unrivaled desert of the finest canned peaches.”

Aw, I love their love. I love how playful they are and also ERNIE. No one ever writes Ernie. Even I don't write Ernie and I love Ernie. I love Ernie and Justin. You should write an Ernie/Justin story, just putting that out there. I just love how playful and carefree he is.

“Me neither.” I am pleased to have a reason to talk about her, to shape my lips around the name that lingers in my mind.

And now I don't so much love their love because Susan is endgame. Sorry Ernie, I feel for you.

UH! The heat radiating off of them is practically contagious. I might have to kiss the next guy I see (if only). They seem like a fun couple. Like they really are in love or at least in lust with each other, which is perfectly fine. Why would he be suspicious of anything? Nothing has happened, you know? That's what makes it 1000x hotter. Nothing has happened...yet. Poor Ernie, I feel for you mate. What gets me is that the chapters are so short but in just a few words you're able to create this clear picture of who they all are and what's at stake.

UH! Must read next chapter once CTF is over.

 Report Review

Review #6, by crimson quill Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

16th April 2017:
So Capture the Flag,

I'm really liked this little chapter, I think it's cute that hannah and ernie are together though I'm obviously getting too out of touch with the stories as the first ernie I thought it was the knight bus driver?! ha ha. that'll be a difference relationship all together! So Hannah and Ernie and they live together etc..this is quite unexpected from the first chapter I think.

I love their relationship, it's so comfortable and fun like they know each other so well. the dialogue I felt was pretty natural. I can image myself and my partner having similar relationships. I read the first chapter to. it's so impressive that you can create and building these relationships in such a little amount of words yet they still feel really developed.

I love how cheeky this relationship is, Hannah seems very happy so what's going on with Susan in the first chapter then? it's like a bubbling mess of emotions...it's interesting, very interesting!

your chapter does very clearly refer the lyrics that you've chosen for. I've been reading a lot of angsty lately so this is quite a nice little change. they're happy at least for now...? who knows what's going to happen! xo

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Maybe I Know

1st March 2017:
I love this chapter so, so much. I loved Hannah's rant about the patriarchy. I love that you point out such important truths about our society in such a fun way, i.e. while they're all eating ice cream together and Neville accidentally gets strawberry in Hannah's hair, you point out how people judge what they don't understand, but if they don't know the story they'll rationalize it into what fits into their worldview (i.e. the people who'd just see Hannah and Susan as friends) - which is totally true in a heteronormative society. And most of all, how people aren't really thinking about Hannah and co. as much as she assumes they are, as Susan points out. People focus on their own selves and aren't thinking about you as much as you imagine they are, so be who you are because other people's fleeting judgement doesn't matter. How do you fit such deep ideas into 600 words? You're incredible. Anyway, this chapter has a great message. Lovely work ♥

PS, I love the first line (after the song), about the daisy chain, that's such a creative description.

Author's Response: Eep a review already? Thank you Kristin!

I am really glad you liked this and felt that it covered a lot of interesting ideas without feeling crammed! I normally write these chapters in one sitting but because I started this one in November and just finished it I wasn't convinced it felt as cohesive as it should so I'm very thankful for your feedback.

Hehe I like the daisy chain line too and am glad it's not just me =)

Thanks again! ♥
Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Look of Love

27th October 2016:
SAAAM

I was so excited to see a new chapter on this! SO FLUFFY. SO CUTE. I really love what this chapter reveals about their relationship. While Neville is uninterested in a relationship with anyone else, he still respects Hannah's other relationship. And on Hannah's part, she wants Neville to see this happy world she's experiencing - something she can maybe share with Neville - but she understands that that isn't what he wants and doesn't try to push him into anything. In other words, they just show so much mutual respect even though they don't agree, they're good at communicating - it's such a healthy relationship. I love these two.

Loved this chapter!

Author's Response: YAY HI THANKS FOR COMING I LOVE YOU

I mean... *ahem* normal review response voice.

I LOVE YOU THANKS FOR COMING!!!

hehe, anyway, yes. It's really good to see Hannah building more healthy relationships. It's a fun challenge for me to show-not-tell so much about different relationships in such short chapters, so it's great to hear that you found the content revealing and interesting.

Mostly, it's really good to be writing this story again, and after all the time I spent away, I'm super glad you're still coming back for ore =) Hopefully more coming soon!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by victoria_anne Lilacs and Violets

25th October 2016:
HPFT Team Vampire (of which you are one, muahaha) Review

SooOOOoo I went to read just the one, maybe two, chapters, but BLOODY HELL THIS ISN'T CALLED ADDICTING FOR NOTHING.

I... I just... Hannah was so happy and everything was warm and wonderful and it made my heart be all fluffy and I couldn't stop reading! MORE!

Dang, could totally go for some popcorn right now. This story makes me hungry.


*squee* all over Neville. I love my little nervous talkative Hannah.

So now I get to bug you for more updates, which was always the plan, but now it's actually happening because I NEED more and I NEED to know how this ends and I NEED you to know that this story is as amazing as you.



Author's Response: AWW YAY

I AM (wait, turn off caps lock) so glad you came back for more of this story.I kind of expected somebody to, because people love them some sort chapters for review evens =P

I love rambly nerves Hannah too. Those parts may or may not be partially based on me. But then again, the same goes for the whole story =P

I really plan to write more super soon! like, possibly TODAY soon. Bugging me on twitter for updates over the next couple of days might not be unproductive.

SUPERBIANCAHUGS



 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybe I Won't Love You Anymore (Sorry)

23rd May 2016:
♥ ♥ HAPPY BIRTHDAY BESTIE! ♥ ♥

I had been really wanting to continue with this story anyway because it's fab, so your birthday was exactly the excuse I needed to stop by.

I wanted to leave you a crazy long, gushy, fangirling review - but I'm too distracted by THIS LINE:
"What was so wrong with letting Ernie set the rules if it meant I would be happy?"

Something about that just punches me in the gut. You don't take the easy way out, and I really admire that. It's so sad that Hannah feels guilty for not preventing this situation, not taking a stronger stance. I think she greatly underestimates herself, and so maybe she could have taken stronger positions on the "rules," as she puts it. But that wouldn't have changed anything - she's blaming herself for Ernie's faults and it fills me with righteous indignation. DOWN WITH ERNIE.

Yet, at the same time, I agree with her - she's only human and she was happy with Ernie and she shouldn't be blamed for doing what made her happy at the time. You've spotlighted a very real dilemma for a lot of women: the idea that women cannot be independent and also experience love. Which is obviously FALSE in every way, and I'm so lad you're addressing it. No one could do it better! ♥

Also, what Ernie said about her changing clothes: GET LOST ERNIE YOU JERK. I mean, seriously. DOWN WITH ERNIE.

I really want to read more and get to a place where Hannah is happy - and perhaps Erie gets his just desserts :P However I've got TV to watch, so that's all for now. ;)

Love ya!
xoRenee

 Report Review

Review #11, by victoria_anne Don't Call Me, I'll Call You

3rd May 2016:
Did you think I forgot about this story?!

Because I did.

ONLY KIDDING. I'm just a wee bit late.

Okay so we're seeing a bit more of how Susan lives and especially her relationships, and I love how different that is for Hannah, though I imagine it's going to be really tough for her at first, given what she's used to in her own life.

Are you going to educate me on this? I certainly hope so. I may have to do my homework on these relationships like you said once.

I hope you've missed receiving reviews from me as much as I've missed leaving them for you! (Which is a lot, btw)

♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: It's awesome to see you back here, lovely!

This story is definitely written for an audience who doesn't know anything about polyamory, which is whiy I ended up structuring it around Hannah's journey and learning curve. It's a fine line though, and I didn't want to lay it on too thick in a way that came across as pontificating, and wanted to keep the focus on Hannah's story.

If you ever have questions or want to discuss anything, I'd be thrilled to chat about it with you.



Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarik You Didn't Look 'Round

30th March 2016:
...whaaa...

I DO NOT HAVE THE WORDS!!??

After Norma, Ernie can go snog a Dementor.

So all the lovingness and all the adorable affection between Ernie and Hannah was all a lie?!?! Ugh, poor Hannah! :( :( First, Ernie completely dismisses her and her desire to have a conversation about polyamory. Then the whole cheating thing. Ugh.

Still, I love the way you hint at the difference between the portrayal of polyamory as an honest, open choice between individuals, and the portrayal of that more conventional monogamous relationship, which does not have such a sturdy foundation as people would think.

Well, it's Hannah/Susan for me now. All the way! ♥

Great (but very sad) twist! Can't wait to find out how Hannah will deal with this.

-teh

Author's Response: OMG THAT REACTION IS PERFECT

I don't want to say that that Ernie and Hannah's affection was necessarily a lie. But as you say, it was not on a sturdy foundation. It was definitely conditional, I think. There is a very subtle power structure in their relationship where things or on Ernie's terms, and he has reinforced that with years of subtle emotional manipulation, which includes a lot of surface affection which Hannah has bought into. Hannah has been happy, but she has done so by focusing on what's on the surface of their relationship and her emotions, without looking too much deeper.

Also, part of the advantage of having such short chapters is that I do get to manipulate you guys a bit too. The scene in Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows was very real, but it was also very short, and just a snippet of their relationship (and a couple of readers have mentioned red flags they saw in that chapter).

Anyway, I'm glad you're so engaged by this story! ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarik It's A Happening World

30th March 2016:
Hey again, Sam!

I'm back for the next chapter. And this!! Gah, this made my heart melt in so many ways. ♥ This Susan & Hannah bonding scene is too perfect for words! Susan is just such an amazing character, and she complements Hannah so nicely! I love Susan's quiet confidence, and how comfortable she is with her life and her choices. There's something so serene about her, her self-acceptance.

And your dialogue is amazing. I love your choice of lines! Your dialogue is just so smooth; everything flows perfectly, sounds so sensible and nothing is forced at all.

And that last line Susan says is kind of the perfect way to tie up this gorgeous chapter?

I really love how unique your story is, and your exploration of polyamory. I'm really intrigued to see how things will play out, and definitely adding this to my fav's list! ♥

-teh

Author's Response: I'm glad to see you back here, Teh!

And your feedback on this chapter is really good to hear. Sometimes to me this chapter feels a little filler-like, in that less happens in it than others. But like you said, it is important in building Hannah and Susan's relationship and introducing the idea of polyamory. And I'm glad I can do those things in such a gorgeous flowing way, as you say.

Thanks for the fave!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Lilacs and Violets

27th March 2016:
Hi Sam! I read this story in one go as I was reading up for Keckers noms (FYI, nominated this one in the romance category!) but didn't take the time to review because I was POWER-READING. But now I have a bit of time so I wanted to drop by and let you know how much I love this fic!

This is really original because I don't think I've seen any other stories featuring polyamory on the archives and so I loved this perspective, and it's just such a wonderful story about learning who you are. I love your portrayal of Hannah in this and her resilience. And her relationship with Susan is ♥. I just love how each of them actively works to help the other person be the best they can be.

I had a great conversation with a friend once about what friendship is and she said that each friendship is very individual, and you show different sides of yourself to each friend depending on the nature of that friendship. And with this fic, I can really see that idea coming through (only in the sense of romance rather than friendship) - Susan has something special with each of her partners and it's different with each of them, which contributes to a richer whole, in a way. I love how you showed that it gives Susan (and Hannah, when she first explores polyamory) a greater sense of self and individualism because she shows these different sides of herself to people. I don't know if I'm even making sense anymore or just rambling, but essentially I like the way you show the nature of relationships in this fic.

Anyway, I know I will be back for more of this when there's a new chapter up! Loved reading this so far - great work Sam :)

Author's Response: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Kristin, you are amazing.

I saw this review when I got on last night and was very excited it was for WIGOWY, but didn't get time to slow down and read it until after you had gone to bed, and am kind of aghast that I wasn't smothering you with extra love last night.

And wow. I don't mind that you didn't review ever chapter. Reading this all in one sitting is so amazing of you (though of course I wrote it to be incredibly addicting).

Thank you so much for the Kecker nom to come - it means a lot!

And I really, really relate to your comments about friendship here. This story isn't quite autobiographical, but it's a lot of me putting my feelings about things into characters' mouths. I believe every human relationship is so unique, and that it is truly destructive to try to force them into boxes made up of other peoples' expectations. So yes, you make perfect sense and I am really glad that that side of this story came through so clearly for you!

Sadly, I recently lost all of my work on future chapters, which is a bit of a disheartening setback. I'll be letting myself breathe to recover from that for a while, but I'm sure I'll be back with a smattering of new chapters within a few months.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by victoria_anne I Won't Love You Anymore (Sorry)

27th March 2016:
*embarrassed cough* I'm slightly late to this.

Aw poor Hannah! How hard this is for her!

UGH Ernie you - you - why you little - GAH

(There's the angry rant you expected before)

I'm so glad she left, I was ready to shake her and go "Whyyy are youuu sleeping?" Wait - wrong story.

I was going to shake her and tell her to snap out of it! But change is hard, I understand that, especially after she's been with Ernie for so long and that's all the life she knows. Onwards and upwards, Hannah! Excelsior!

Author's Response: Oh yay - hello again! Always nice to see you here, madame.

Yeah, I think this is definitely a difficult moment for Hannah. Change is hard, and she has never really been without him since before she left Hogwarts. But I think the fact that she questions her decision, despite how bad for her it would have been to stay with Ernie, shows her compassionate ability to see both sides of every situation. And she has the is able to stand on her own and walk away, which is a pretty big deal.

(still less violent than others have been) But that's okay, you have such world class sass that you don't need to resort to force.

Uh... Can't say I get that sleeping reference.

Thanks for stopping by, you wonderful woman.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by teh tarik Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

25th March 2016:
Hello again, Sam!

Ooh, so Hannah and Ernie are living together, and it sounds like they've been together for quite some time. I love how you've written their relationship in this second chapter! They're so loving and affectionate and completely comfortable with each other, and Ernie is a little goofy as well.

Hannah and Ernie's relationship is so completely different from how you wrote Susan and Hannah, though of course, Hannah has just met Susan after a long time. I'm interested to see how everything will turn out between these three characters (as well as any other characters I have yet to read about). And it does sound like perhaps there'll be a little tension between Ernie and Susan? It's interesting the way he reacts when Hannah tells him about meeting her friend.

Once again, another lovely chapter! I look forward to reading more. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Oh wow, thanks for coming back for another chapter so quickly!

It was definitely really fun to write the contrasts between different characters and relationships, especially in these early chapters when everything is new to the reader. They are very different people, very different energies between them, and at very different points in the relationship. It was definitely interesting to try to see how I could create that contrast with very few words. I am glad you are interested in it so far as well!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by teh tarik Fools Rush In

25th March 2016:
Hi Sam!

I'm here for the Review Exchange! :)

I love femmeslash & rare pairs, so this chapter was right up my alley. This is such a great start to your story! I love Hannah and Susan already, and I can't wait to see how their relationship will develop. I love that moment of attraction, when they feel like the only people in the whole street. It's instant attraction, but because Susan and Hannah were friends for so long, even fighting alongside each other, there's also so much history between them surfacing in that moment. It's no wonder that Hannah feels a little overwhelmed.

I'm so glad Susan makes the next move and pulls her into the Leaky Cauldron. So Hannah has yet to become the owner of the pub! It will be interesting to see how she takes over the Leaky Cauldron, if you're going to explore it in your fic.

I love your style of writing; you write so delicately, and some of the phrases you use are just so gorgeous!

The words fall from our lips like petals from flowers that have gone untouched for too long.


^ This line kind of made me breathless and a little giddy, and I can SO imagine how Hannah was feeling!

I'm loving your story so far, Sam! I shall certainly come back and read more. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Hey!

I am glad that you love femmeslash and rare pairs as much as I do!

I'm really glad that you are already so compelled by this story and the characters.

This story will focus pretty closely on Hannah's personal life in her early-mid 20s, so you won't so I won't get into her ownership of the LC much

Nobody has ever used the word delicate to describe my writing before! Actually, I'm not sure I've ever associated that word with writing, and it's really interesting and I love that you used it.

I am really looking forward to reading your story, though I am probably going to wait until the Quidditch match is done so I can focus on a more thought out review =)

Thanks again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by victoria_anne I'm Coolin', No Foolin'

25th March 2016:
I have housework to do I whisper to myself as I click 'next chapter'...

Ha ha I love those magazine names!

Arsehole or polyamorous, hmm... The constant struggle to decide. I love her reaction to finding out, though. It's real, the way she blames herself.

BUT IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT HANNAH *shares hot chocolate* Oh shoot, I already drank it all. Oh well.

But look how well Susan balances Hannah. She calms and softens her, almost. I don't know, do I sound philosophical yet? Should I throw more big words I don't understand around?

Fare thee well (until the next chapter. Curses) xxx

Author's Response: While there is such thing as a polyamorous (not sure if that word is 12+), I'd say it's a pretty clear call with Ernie.

I love that you want to give Hannah hot chocolate and that you already drank it all XD

I think the biggest word in that sentence is philosophical. If I were to try to figure out what other word you don't understand in that sentence I'd go with. calm?

Many hugs to you!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by victoria_anne You Didn't Look 'Round

25th March 2016:
Oooh look at this saucy adult version of Hannah! I actually don't think I've read many before. Me likey.

This chapter not so fluffy or pinkish-purple :( It's more like one of those mace balls with all the spikes and grey colour. I'm ashamed for liking Ernie *hides*

Well I guess that settles it for Hannah and Susan then! CHEERING WOO!

Hufflepuff girl power pride, yo

Author's Response: I'm actually a little disappointing in your civil tone in this review. Normally reviews for this chapter include lots of angry all caps and threats of violence towards Ernie.

Now if you had aimed the mace ball with spikes AT Ernie, that could be a different story...

I'm totally kidding, I'm glad you like this! As much as I enjoy destroying peoples' feelings with my writing, I think I've done that enough to you this month.

Yay Hufflepuff gals!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by victoria_anne It's A Happening World

25th March 2016:
You. You monster and your tiny round balls of fluffy pink-ish purple chapters.

Okay okay so now I love Susan! I'm emotionally confused! Everything she says is beautiful (see what I did there?) and I love her outlook on life! But now poor Hannah is all confused! WHO WILL SHE CHOOSE!

Just kidding, I have a hunch.

I love the easy nature of their relationship, despite Hannah's confusion. Susan will prevail! Excelsior!

Author's Response: OMG YOUR WORDS ARE FABULOUS

I really can't get past that first line. Like really. I am just staring at it in awed appreciation.

I am glad you love Susan as much as I do!

Now, to the next chapter... *rubs hands*

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by victoria_anne Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

25th March 2016:
I didn't have any peppermint cocoa, so I went for a regular hot chocolate instead. Ahh...delicious.

Ooh okay so Hannah's with Ernie, interesting. And he's so cute! I'd have him over for leftover mutton and canned peaches anyday!! Aw their whole relationship is so sweet! I'm actually a bit worried, I really like this Ernie :( I hope I get to see more of him later anyway!

So much Hufflepuff. Me likes.

Author's Response: You really made hot chocolate? That is awesome!

I'm not sure I would have Ernie over for leftover mutton and canned peaches. But I fine mutton really unappetizing.

RIGHT? Yay Hufflepuff characters!

*sits back and eagerly watches your reactions*

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by victoria_anne Fools Rush In

25th March 2016:
So I've mastered dancing under the moonlight in a sheet, now can you teach me the way of the short chapter? YOU ARE DA MASTERRR!

And curses I've been sucked in! It's just so easy to click 'next chapter' with a "Whoops, my finger slipped!" Dammit Sam I have things to do!!!

Straight away I can feel the tension in Hannah, and how in tune she feels with Susan's body. Well of course I'm going to read on!

How good does peppermint cocoa sound?!

Love Bianca x *chants*

Author's Response: =D =D =D

That sheet dancing things sounds really fun! I have to give that a try.

Hehehe, I know that this story is kind of addicting and I'm kind of sly about it, like "Hey, unsuspecting bystander, check out this story - the first chapter's just like 500 words" and don't mention "BUT YOU'LL BE SO SUCKED IN YOU WON'T BE ABLE TO STOP." They play right into my hands.

You will have intense feelings at points in this story, but I promise they'll be mostly happy!

Peppermint cocoa sounds so good. Susan Bones sounds so good. So good.

The chanting definitely helps. After all, they are both Hufflepuffs!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #23, by BellaLestrange87 Fools Rush In

14th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for your first of five reviews from my Review-a-Thon pledge! I've been meaning to read this story for a while now so I'm taking this opportunity to nudge my procrastinating self into action and actually do it :p

This was really cute! I love the unspoken chemistry between them, without even needing to say anything.

This line here is perfect - There is a light in her eyes that keeps me searching – it is buried deep inside, beyond twists and turns, but it is there and it is glowing for me.

I'm really impressed by how you managed to fit 22 years of history (well, 17, I guess, if they haven't seen each other since Hogwarts) into a 500-word chapter so seamlessly. It feels very natural and perfect.

I really loved this and I'll be back soon to review the next chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hello Olivia!

Thanks so much for awarding reviews for the Review-A-Thon, and for stopping by now!

I am very flattered that you've been wanting to read this story, and I'm glad you've gotten around to it.

I am glad you like that line! I wasn't sure if it was maybe a bit too convoluted to capture what I was trying to say, so I'm glad you think it work so well!

I'm glad you enjoyed this, and I look forward to hearing what you think of future chapters. Thanks again!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by SunshineDaisies You Didn't Look 'Round

11th March 2016:
I kind of want to punch Ernie in the face. What an unlikable human. Is he even human? I think that's up for debate. How could someone cheat on Hannah? She's so cute! She's all doe-eyed and romantic and her heart is so, so big and she is WONDERFUL and Ernie is TERRIBLE and I'm wondering what on earth she saw in him in the first place.

Ugh you are making me angst!

But lovely chapter as ever ♥

Author's Response: Oh wow, what a wonderful surprise review to receive!

I knew you had read this, I think from back in Dobby nomination season, but unless I'm wrong this is the first review you've left on it! And how very fitting that you have joined the many people threatening violence against Ernie in the reviews for this chapter XD

It probably says something about me that this is my favorite chapter to receive reviews on!

Much love to you, Katie!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by MuggleMaybe I'm Coolin', No Foolin'

5th March 2016:
Back with your 4th (and final) prize review for the HPFF Review-A-Thon.

Can I just take a moment to say that the song lyrics fit each chapter, like, /ludicrously/ well? It's amazing!

*reads first line* Hmm, yes. I can see that Hannah and I are of the same mind on this topic. Jerkface.

Susan is quite an interesting character. I loved how she was so calm while Hannah was raging. It was such an interesting contrast.

Poor Hannah - it's the worst when what you think and what you feel don't match up. Very upsetting. (Hugs for Hannah!)

When she tries to blame herself I was so sad for her. It's very, very believable that she would have that reaction, though.

I'm glad she has Susan - Susan better not hurt her, though! It's interesting, the way they talk. Sometimes it's like any two best friends, and then other times it's something more.

This is a wonderful story, Sam! I'm so, so glad I've had the chance to start reading it. I definitely plan to continue, even though your prize reviews are done now.

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad you said that about the lyrics. Once I got the rough idea for this story (a prompt from Kapa essentially asking for a polyamorous Hannah story) I knew that I wanted to use Lesley Gore's music. I listened to as much as I could find, and essentially came up with ideas that could fit with each song, and selected a bunch and put them in order. So really, the music came before the plot did, which is a really interesting way to play with this story. There is a definite added layer if you listen to the songs with each chapter, as I did my best to match the tone of the chapter with the song. Not to mention, I got inspiration for much more of the lyrics than I could pick four lines for.

I'm really glad you like this story so much! I totally understand if you want to spread the love to other authors for the Review-A-Thon, but I look forward on hearing your thoughts on future chapters. Also, thanks for hosting the great challenge!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>