Reading Reviews for The Last Goodbye
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Farewell

21st January 2017:
OWWW. MY HEART. Also, yes, you did this right - there are tears in my eyes. Did you have to bring up every single person whose death in the series ripped my heart out? Asdfjaksdwjh

It was really, REALLY good, though. You did a wonderful job setting the scene up in the cold, silent, empty graveyard, which really paves the way for really hard-hitting emotional second half. And it's the things that Harry says about all these people that have left that is the most powerful - things that he never told those people, but he thought so highly of all of them and can't stand the idea that they are no longer in the world. And the worst part is that he feels guilty about it - because none of it is his fault. (But of course, that's a very unsurprising reaction for him to have, given his role in the prophecy and just the way people grieve.)

And that end is so sad too, how he's still not able to forgive himself. Maybe, once some time has passed, he can - maybe it will get easier for him. But this piece shows just how much Harry carried on his shoulders even after the war. The epilogue of DH makes it sound like everything was all rainbows and sunshine after Voldemort was finally gone, but I bet there was a lot of lingering sadness and guilt and PTSD and I thought you addressed that really well here with HArry's inability to move on, even when he tries.

This was really lovely. And for not writing angst often, I have to say you did a wonderful job. Great writing as always, Lizzie!

 Report Review

Review #2, by victoria_anne Farewell

24th May 2016:
*takes deep breath and whispers "why do I do this to myself?*

I'M LISTENING TO THE SONG I KID YOU NOT.

So I start reading and I think, "Hm, it's not so bad. He's just saying goodbye to Hogwarts."

And then I see the names. Oh no.

No no no no.

:(

Oh my heart. Oh it hurts.

But such beautiful writing Lizzie (as always). Truly. It was really really touching. ♥

Author's Response: Bianca!!

Hehehe, did I mention that listening to the song while reading makes the whole thing 10x more painful? I didn't? Oh, whoops. :P

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it (despite the feels)! Thanks for leaving another amazing review!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Crescent Moon  Farewell

3rd January 2016:
This is heartbreaking. So beautiful and amazingly written but incredibly sad.

Author's Response: I know! It definitely broke my own heart writing it! But I'm glad you liked it despite it's sadness.

Thanks so much for R&R'ing!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by wolfgirl17 Farewell

15th July 2015:
Hello, hello again Lizzie!

Wolfgirl here with the 2nd of you 3 review winnings for the Unsung Hero Challenge. I'm sorry it took me so long to get here. I forgot about needing to do the reviews part of this giving out prizes thing.

But I'm here now and that's what counts. I think this entry was a real shoe in for the prizes in the Angst Galore Challenge, this fic was positively saturated with it, but in a good way.

Harry's loss of his parents really has been one of the biggest tragedies of the entire HP series. Every time I think about them dying to save him and about all the people they left behind it makes me a little bit sad inside.

You did a really good job with this. It's a wonderful story. Keep up the fantastic work.

xx-Ellie

Author's Response: Ellie!

Thanks so much! Reviews on this story really mean a lot, since writing angst is definitely much harder for me than humor, and since this story was my first real attempt at it, I'm always happy when someone likes it!

Harry's parents' deaths are definitely some of the most heartbreaking in the series for me. I can't imagine who I'd be or how I would live without my parents.

Anyway, thanks for R&R'ing!
LL


 Report Review

Review #5, by Unicorn_Charm Farewell

11th July 2015:
*Gryffindor House Cup 2015 - Amazing Race Review*

Hey Lizzie!

Yep. You did it right. There are tears again. What a beautiful tribute to these characters. Seriously, how have I not really poked around your AP more? You're extremely talented, my dear.

I loved that Harry came back and tried to mourn/say goodbye to all of these characters. It really seems like such a Harry thing to do, to be honest. And I like how your worked the castle in there, too. Like Hogwarts was another character that died. That was a lovely touch.

His pain was very real here. You felt his loss and grief build and build with each character - the closer they were to him.

Ugh just reading all of those names again and what they meant to him kind of killed me. Donny and Colin's were particularly sad. Two innocents who just wanted to do the right thing. Those two are two of the hardest deaths to take, I think.

Fred, Remus and Sirius were all utterly feels destroying, heartbreaking, I need a tissue now because Lizzie is trying to kill me. :'(

I think it was fitting that he wasn't exactly able to say goodbye or let them go, because that's not what happens in real life. You never exactly get over it. You just learn to live with it and deal with the loss. "The ones that love us never truly leave us..." ;)

Beautiful as always, hun. I'm going to have to stalk out your AP more often. :)

Much love,
Meg

Author's Response: Meg!

I really can't say enough how much I love reading your reviews. They never fail to make me smile.

I'm so glad you liked this one!! It was my first real attempt at angst, and each review I get on it gives me the confidence to write more!

Sorry for such a short response, but I just wanted to THANK YOU again for such an amazing review.

You're the best!
LL


 Report Review

Review #6, by ginnypotter242 Farewell

11th July 2015:
Okay, angst was definitely rampant in this story. Are you *trying* to make me cry Lizzie? I'm so sad now! Harry's thoughts about Hogwarts being different and not the same home anymore were just heartbreaking. It was the only real home he had ever known, and so many things got ruined for him because of the war! (Though really- he almost died at Hogwarts like five times. Not the most homey place, right?) But his thoughts were just so self-loathing and sad. He's right though- he needs to put it behind him.

Oh my god. The name! You *are* trying to make me cry, I know it! SO many people died, and they were ll so close to Harry! His thoughts about each of them were devastating, but I love how he thought about each person and what they were like and what they meant to him. Fred, Sirius, Remus and Tonks and James and Lily really got to me though. And Harry crying and apologizing for them dying was so upsetting!

I do love that Ron, Hermione and Ginny were there for him though. It plays to the truth of the Golden Trio- plus Ginny- that they are always there for each other. I love that they were able tog ive him some comfort. Hopefully Harry can eventually forgive himself, even if he can't actually ever say goodbye.

This was a great story Lizzie! Don't worry about it, you definitely got the angst good on this one!

~Sara (Gryffindor, house Cup 2015)

Author's Response: Sara!!

Was I trying to make you cry? Well, yes actually. Glad to know that I succeeded. ;P

Hehehe, I really shouldn't revel in others' sadness, but... I can't help it. I'm so glad that this made you sad! (I sound so sadistic right now)

The names were probably the hardest part of writing this. I had to pick and choose which names I wanted to write about, and I have to say, I definitely shed a tear or two as I was writing it.

Harry wouldn't have been able to ever truly recover from the war without Ron, Hermione and Ginny. That's the truth of it, and it only made sense that I include them here - even if they didn't play a big role. Just their presence is enough to show the support and love they are willing to give Harry, which is what I love most about them.

Thanks so much for reviewing Sara! I really appreciate it! You're incredibly awesome!!
LL


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Farewell

18th June 2015:
Hi there! Here to review this for my challenge and wow your banner is pretty! ♥

I just have to say quickly I read this whilst listening to the Last Goodbye and I agree, it is a truly beautiful song and really added to this story! Plus, I thought the lyrics were fitted in really nicely and gave the story a nice touch.

Anyhow, on with the story, I really liked the first section with Harry walking reflectively around the grounds of Hogwarts as it was just so powerful and you managed to emphasise both his thoughts and the landscape equally which was really great. You never really think about the emotionally and psychological impact it had on Harry as you just imagine him to be happy after it ended so I liked how you looked into in more depth.

All of the memories of the others were so sweet ♥ There were a few which stood out to me and one of those was Fredís in how he called him a brother in all but blood which was just so true and so powerful, it made me want to tear up a little. Then with Remus too and how Harry thought of him as a father. It was just so sad Remus had to go like that as I think he and Tonks would have adopted him into their family if they had stayed alive.

With James and Lily my heart broke a little :( Just poor, poor Harry thinking he caused all of them to die when really they chose to and were proud to die for him and were never forced to. I think he was right at the end in that he never will be able to say goodbye because I think that sort of guilt will stay with him forever, but hopefully it will fade away a little with the help of Ginny.

Great story!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Kiana!

I know! That banner is definitely one of my favorites! ;)

Wow, you listened to the song while reading?? Awesome! I tried really hard to make the flow of the story match up with the song, and hopefully it worked out okay.

The memories of everyone was easily the hardest part of writing this whole story. It was so difficult to pick and choose which characters I wanted to include and how to write them, and I'm so glad you liked it!

Fred is definitely my favorite of them all - but I'm a bit biased.

Thanks for reviewing Kiana! I really appreciate it!
LL


 Report Review

Review #8, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Farewell

1st June 2015:
Hi Lizzie!

Just got here in time!

Well considering this was written for an angst challenge you certainly delivered!! My poor poor feels!

Harry was very in character here, you portrayed him brilliantly. We see time and again in the books him blaming himself for things and so when you went through a few of the people he'd lost... That's was the hardest bit for me. It was just heartbreaking to remember all the people harry has lost.

Throughout this piece the descriptions are beautiful. You get through the majority of the piece with no dialogue whatsoever so well played there. I followed the whole story easily and pictured it all so kudos to you on that.

I'm glad harry decides not to let them go in the end. It feels to me like he seems to forgive himself a little bit which is good but realises they will all be with him forever and so he can't say goodbye forever. I think that's the perfect end.

Great job anyway! I thought you writing was really beautiful in this!

Lauren

Author's Response: Lauren!!

YAY! I get really nervous about writing/posting angsty stories, and it makes me feel way better that you said that! I'm SO glad that you liked it!

Writing those little bits about each of the people that Harry lost was easily the hardest part of this. I made myself cry multiple times. When I wrote about Hedwig, I just had to stop. *sniffles*

I've always figured that Harry wouldn't ever really forgive himself. But I think that by the time the epilogue of the books rolls around, he's managed to handle the guilt. It just never really goes away. So I tried to imagine the first time that he tries to forgive himself for it all - because I'd imagine there would be loads of people telling him that it wasn't his fault, and that he shouldn't feel guilty, and that he'd eventually want to get rid of it all because it hurts so much.

This one-shot would really be the moment that he realized that it'd never go away, that he'd never forgive himself, and that was okay.

Thanks so much for R&R'ing Lauren! You're amazing!!
LL


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Farewell

27th May 2015:
Hello!!! I am finally here! Woo!!

I better have tissues ready? Oh god, I'm not prepared... my heart is going to break... why did I pick the story that was going to break my heart? *Deep breath* Ok, I am ready. Let's do this!

The castle is quiet! *sobs* No, Tammi! You can hold yourself together. You can do this! I'm so terrified that you're going to break my heart that I'm scared of when it'll happen.

Oh Harry! I want to hug you so badly! I want to help you get rid of the pain and move on :(

He really needs the biggest of hugs, and my heart is just breaking for him. :( I want to help him so badly *cries* Especially when he called Fred his brother. And Hedwig! *sobs louder*

Oh god, all of these names are killing me. You're killing me! Especially with Sirius' name there! :( I'm crying. I'm so sad!

And then he spoke that speech and I'm so devastated. He's lost so much, he's lost everything and almost everyone who has ever meant something to him. He's such a troubled soul. He's had such a terrible life.

This was just so wonderfully and beautifully written! And you've devastated me with the sadness of your words, you really got Harry's feelings across and it's crushing my heart with so many sad feels! *goes to cry in a corner*

I have so many feelings right now from this perfectly tragic one shot!

Author's Response: TAMMI!!

Do you know how excited I got when I saw this?? I think my reaction had something to do with the high pitched squealing that was running through my apartment. I can't be sure though.

*hands over a box of tissues* I know that you're sad, but I can't help but be a little proud of that (I'm a terrible person, I know), since I find it really hard to write angsty-ness or generally sad stuff without breaking down myself.

The names!! There were so many names I could have put on there, and it was really hard to pick them all!! Hedwig is the one that most people bring up though. Some like her, some don't think she'd be on the memorial, but I don't care. I'm glad you liked her mentioned here!! Her death was probably the most heartbreaking for me after Fred's.

(And don't even get me started on how much I wanted to ignore Snape and be done with it! Ew. Snape.)

Anyway, thanks so much for R&R'ing Tammi!! I really appreciate it and hope you'll recover from reading this!!
LL


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shadowkat Farewell

18th May 2015:
Here for the swap...late. Sorry.

This was pretty good, and I actually teared up a bit when it got to Fred, Remus, and Tonks. I think the song choice was excellent, and I almost started crying when I heard it in theaters. I think it did well here.

The one thing I noticed was that the transitions seemed a bit choppy, but that could be because it was going along with the song.

I always feel so bad thinking about this, about the guilt that must be inside of him. That's something I doubt anyone would get over, not completely. It doesn't matter that he saved the world, because he couldn't save them, and I imagine that would hurt more than anything else. He's gone through so much, and it'll stick with him.

I really did enjoy this, I hope you're not too angry at me for taking so long. I feel so bad about this...

Author's Response: Kat!

I would never be upset because you were a little late! No worries! I'm really not going to freak out about it. Promise. ;)

Ooooh! I'm glad you like the song choice! No one's mentioned that so far!

Hmmm. You're right, the transitions are a bit choppy. I had originally planned on timing it so that if you read it along with listening to the song then you would hit the quoted lyrics at the same time...but that got messed up, and so I think that messed up the transitions too.

Yeah, my heart aches for Harry whenever I think about this. I can only imagine how much it would hurt to have to deal with something like this...*sobs* poor guy.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing Kat! I really appreciate it!!
LL


 Report Review

Review #11, by TreacleTart Farewell

17th May 2015:
Hey Lizzie!

I'm here for the Gryffindor Review Battle round 2! Go Team Red!

Why do you have to do this to me? Here it's a nice quiet Sunday morning and you've gone and broken my heart. Here I want to imagine a happy Harry who quit the Auror service to play Quidditch, but instead you've caused me to crash back to reality and the scars of war.

This was really a moving piece. The part where Harry was listing off all of the dead was so sad. I liked how you gave each person some specific thought from Harry's viewpoint. And can I just say how much I love that you've included Hedwig in the list. He often gets overlooked in the casualties, but he shouldn't. He was the first thing that I think Harry ever loved and his death shouldn't be minimized because he's an animal.

I know that you said you don't have much of a knack for angst, but I thought that you handled it quite well in this. Sometimes when people write about mourning and heartbreak it can come across very over wrought, but this did not. It was very authentic in its somberness. There wasn't a bunch of drama. There were no scenes of people screaming at each other. It was just a quite moment of reflection, but that's why it works so well. Harry isn't a dramatic person, so your approach makes perfect sense.

I think you did a fantastic job with this Lizzie and I can't wait to see you branch out into all sorts of different types of writing. Your first crack at angst proves that you are more than capable of handling it.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Kaitlin,

Mwhahahahaha! Yup, that's what I do. Ruin nice quiet Sundays. :D

In all seriousness though, I'm REALLY glad you like this. This particular story is one I was really nervous about, and so far the response I've gotten has been pretty great! This leads me to conclude that I must have gotten something right!

I totally agree about Hedwig! She totally gets overlooked sometimes, and since I've got such a soft spot for her, I just HAD to put her in here...It just wouldn't have sat right with me if I hadn't.

Thanks so much for ALL of your Reviews Kaitlin. You've seriously almost read EVERYTHING I've got. That's both impressive and extremely flattering! I'm so glad you're willing to take the time to read that much of my work!!

LL


 Report Review

Review #12, by HappyMollyWeasley Farewell

16th May 2015:
Hi! It's Molly here with the review for our swap! :)

I think you've done a good job with this story. Harry has been through a lot, and it's amazing that he seems to hold together. I imagine that he had a couple of rough years after the war until he could heal emotionally. It's sad to think that Hogwarts, which once felt like a safe home, now reminds him of the war and the sacrifies.

The list of names and Harry's thoughts about them works fine. (This is why I love fanfiction! We don't need lengthy explanations, as we've already read the books and know a lot about the characters. This list would never work in an OF, it would be so confusing!) I feel sad reading the names, and it summarises the many sacrifices well. One thing though... Hedwig... Although Harry loved her, she was still an owl. I'm not sure her name would fit into the memorial monument.

I like how you let Harry realise that he can't say goodbye once and for all, and then be over with it. He'll have to learn how to live with it. I think it's a reason JKR let the epilogue be 19 years later. An epilogue set one of even five years after the battle would have been too angsty to serve as a "happily ever after" ending to the book series.

It's also nice that Ginny, Ron and Hermione are present in this story. They need each other, and I'm glad they take care about each other.


Molly

Author's Response: Molly,

Yay! Thanks for reviewing!

One of the things I wanted to touch on with Harry is that Hogwarts couldn't possibly have felt the same to him anymore. That he'd really be forced to find a new home after the war. I'm glad you picked up on that!

Ah, Hedwig. It's interesting the number of people that have mentioned her in reviews. Some think it's okay she's there, some don't. I just think that she should be on there...she doesn't get enough notice in the books, and I've got a soft spot for her.

THAT'S EXACTLY WHERE I WAS GOING WITH THIS!! There's a reason why it was 19 years later, and this is set like 6 months after the battle - of course Harry wants to just say goodbye once and for all...but I wanted this to be the moment that he realized he couldn't - that he HAS to let them go slowly as he learns how to live with it. 6 Months is definitely not long enough, nor is 5 years, even 10. But nearly 20? Yeah, that's easier.

Anyway, thanks for reviewing Molly! I really appreciate it!!

LL


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dr. John Hamish Watson Farewell

16th May 2015:
Hi Lizzie!
I was hunting for clues for my frirnd Sherlock when I found this story, so I decided to stay for a while. And if this box doesn't like to be empty, we'll have to fill it.

I enjoyed what you wrote a great ddeal! I love that Harry won't simply be able to let go of all the people he loved.
I have seen Dobby's name on the memorial quite a few times, but I have never seen Hedwig there, so thank you for including her. She deserves it.

You are really very, very good atcreating the mood for a story. The song ties in really well, and thedetailed description of the place Harry is standing in helped me get into the story and made me feel like I was really there.
Not even Sherlock could have spotted any mistakes here.

The other challenge participants should watch out, you have created a tough competition...

I was a little worried at the beginning that Harry was there on his own, soI was very relieved to see that he brought his friends for support. Maybe they'll be able to say goodbye together, slowly, over the years...

I cannot wait to see your other stories.

Yours truly,

Dr. John H. Watson

Author's Response: Dr. Watson!

*shakes head* Is it really you? Really?

Well, it's an HONOR to meet you! I think that you're pretty cool, FYI. Sherlock better consider himself lucky to have you for a BFF.

Hedwig is one of those characters whose death seems to be looked over a bit, and since I personally LOVE her, I couldn't help but include her here, and I'm glad you approve!

Tough competition, really? Eeek! That's good to hear! At the very least it means I got the angst part right. YES! :D

Thanks so much for reviewing Dr. Watson! It means a lot!
LL


 Report Review

Review #14, by The Summer Snake Farewell

12th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

My my, you broke my snake-y cold heart here. I'd think I couldn't feel much being so cold-blooded but this story gave me all the feels. You did wonderful for the angst galore challenge as this was indeed full of angst.

Your characterisation of Harry was perfect. I loved the conflicting emotions he faced and the pain he felt. You really brought that to the surface. The descriptions were raw, vivid and very moving. The bit when he addressed everyone from Dumbledore to his parents was the best and almost made me cry.

I honestly am kinda speechless right now. You, my dear, have made this snake cry and shed its skin - because you know I'm a magical snake who sheds its skin when its very sad. I had come to spread some summer cheer here but oh dear this was so beautifully tragic, I can only halfheartedly do it - *showers confetti and flowers*

All in all, an amazing piece of writing. You conveyed a lot in a few words and I really, really am glad I read it. Amazing flow, wonderful writing and powerful plot. Great job!

I'd just love to continue singing more praises of this awesome one-shot but time is ticking so I must be off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Well hello Summer Snake!! So very nice to meet you!!

I'm so glad you stopped by and became the FIRST to review this story! That's awesome! Thank you!

Harry is one of those characters that I actually am terrified of writing, so I'm glad that you like my characterization of him!! I was totally afraid I'd mess it up.

Thanks so much for your confetti, flowers, and praises!! It makes me SO happy! And THANK YOU again for reviewing! I really appreciate it!
LL


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login