Reading Reviews for cover story
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PixiePaige one.

20th December 2015:
I just found this site today and I'm loving all of the Drarry! This is a good start. I can't wait to find out how Harry will help Draco! Please udate soon...

Author's Response: sorry about the lack of updates! welcome to hpff and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SunshineDaisies one.

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

This is an interesting twist on the story! I enjoyed the exchange on the train, it was a really nice interpretation of what could have happened. I like that Draco didn't actually break Harry's nose, nor did he decide to send Harry back to London. It was very fun to read! I also like that Draco is turning his leaf a bit earlier than we saw in the books, and that he reached out to Harry to help. He seemed pretty much in character, his voice sounded very much like what we hear in canon. Harry's does as well! I love the sass he gives Draco in the Room of Requirement. And of course, it's just like Harry to agree to help Draco, despite the fact that they're "enemies."

This is an interesting concept, and I'm really excited to see where it goes. It's not clear how Ginny factors into this yet, and I'm really excited to see how that turns out. And of course, I'm interested in watching how Harry and Draco's relationship develops.

Great work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jayna one.

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Hufflepuff

Hello! First of all, I absolutely love your summary. It gives just enough information and it's like there's a tiny plot twist even in the summary.
Personally, I thought the entire thing was very in character accept for one thing. I'm surprised Draco said please so easily. I thought he would have put up a bigger fight, but maybe that's just my headcanon. However, I liked how Harry is only referred to as Potter. You really managed to capture Draco's unique way of speaking.
I thought your flow was spot on and that the dialogue felt natural and I could Harry's hesitation to help through the words. I really liked your description of what each person said because it definitely added to the story and made it easier to picture the conversation
I thought the chapter ended in the perfect place and the last line really highlights the nearly impossible task Harry has agreed to.
Overall, this was incredibly interesting and I'm excited to see the next chapter.

-Jayna

 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx one.

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 slytherin

yo you're writing drarry and you've not got past this chapter how could you? fitting everything into canon like that was just brilliant and i love how everything is just seamless and so well thought out. haha i love that bit about harry falling on his face in front of draco. hints of a little crush already? how cute. it's interesting that draco is asking for harry's help here. he obviously believes that harry can do something about this and it goes deeper than just harry's uncanny ability to stay alive - or at least, that's the vibe i was getting. i love draco here. so characteristic and smug and snarky. oh harry, typical harry, wanting a please, that was just genius lisa, i could imagine the look on draco's face at that. right now i just want more drarry and more banter and more of your writing here so write oh, prolific writer. and you have to tell me when you update every single wip.

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle one.

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Well this is certainly very interesting! What an unusual plot, who would have thought it, Draco asking Harry for help! It's such a stark contrast between the first and the second part of the story with their roles completely reversed. First Harry is powerless and then Draco is needing Harry's help. I notice this is going to be a Draco/Harry story and the story summary makes me more intrigued and I'm really curious about where you would take this story! I think you're a great writer (if you can't tell by all my reviews on Pending Further Investigation) and although you haven't updated this one in a while, I hope you have plans to someday. Also for Dean/Seamus - YES YES YES. That is all. ♥

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwood one.

28th June 2015:
I'm here for all of your Drarry.

I love the smugness of this Draco. He seems to have this whole thing planned out perfectly in his head. I always thought it was really cool of Draco to sense Harry under the cloak on the train. Not cool, as in good of him--but just action movie style effortless cool.

I love the Deamus sighting here. That headcanon is so strong. I find it so difficult to imagine that anything else was happening there.

I laughed really hard about Harry not wanting the room to give him a secret place to meet Draco because of what he imagined that'd look like.

I love the 'replied honestly.' Obviously adverbs are abused all the time by writers who are not you, but you always drop them in ways that feel necessary.

I will actively beg you for more of this story. If only to see how Harry attempts to get Draco out of this. And also, if you're going so AU as to actually get Draco out of it completely. Just in general this is awesome. But as I've noted previously, there's too many stories that I want updated and you are only one person. It does often feel as though you're a small factory of writers, the way you get stories out, but alas--no such luck.

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dojh167 one.

28th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

My response to your story summary: RIGHT?! I mean really. Dating your best friend’s sister? And marrying her? Something’s funny there.

Haha, I love the comedic tone you start the story off with! A lot of people have trouble writing Harry, but I think it’s important to remember the sense of humor that Jo gave him, and you did a great job of tapping into that here.

It is very exciting to see all of this information in the context of a scene that we all know from the books and think that we understand. While you could have explored this relationship scenario with an original scene, the fact that you use one that we think we know really underlines the fact that there is a cover story going on and what people see is not necessarily the truth.

Haha, Dean and Seamus!!

And again, the comedy continues with Harry not wanting to know how the Room of Requirement would manifest their secret meeting places. All the naughty possibilities.

You did a good job with their dialogue when they first meet. It was very believably still the same characters we know from the books, as their pride and impatience show through.

“You must be good at getting out of -, you’re still alive.” Harry Potter in a nutshell.

Harry says he’s going to “think on it.” Based on what we’ve seen of Harry’s brain in this chapter, I don’t think Draco expects much to come of that.

Aw, no making out in the closet? Ah well. Next time.

I really enjoyed this! Well done, especially on the humor.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 one.

28th June 2015:
HI LISA!

I love the intro to this. How Potter falls of his own accord and Draco doesn't actually stomp on his face with his foot. And Draco wants to meet him at the Room of Requirement? It's all very curious and it might be giving me ideas...

And DEAN AND SEAMUS, WHAT!? That's hilarious.

*reads second half and comes back*

Aw, man. I was seriously hoping something would happen in the Room of Requirement. This is still very intriguing though. I'm very curious as to how Draco thinks Potter can help him get out of the task. Even if canon-wise I don't think it's that realistic for Draco to come to him for help out of nowhere, but this is your story and I am willing to role with it to see where it leads. I love the banter/insults thrown back and forth between the two though, that part does seem very characteristic to me, although uncharacteristic in that this is them getting along and not just immediately getting into a fight.

But I am very curious to read on and see what happens. I do hope you update soon.

xxNix

Slytherin, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #9, by bittersweetflames one.

27th June 2015:
Hi, Lisa! While this is certainly NOT my first experience reading anything of yours I have to say that I really enjoyed the start to this story. While the first bit comes from the book I think that the way you changed it is so MUCH better. I love that Draco would actually ask for help and would ask Harry. -insert evil laughter here- I really laughed when Harry suddenly appeared out of the cloack and Draco was surprised. He barely reacts, though and I imagine if it was me, I'd have very nearly fainted. But, mhmmm, it just shows you the sort of personality that Malfoy is. He's cold and, sure, he's a Death Eater but he's not particularly evil, is he? I believe there could be redemption.
BTW, I also enjoyed the bit where you have Dean and Seamus in the Common Room together. Just that perfect little addition that people sometimes forget that you've put in that just adds more flavor to your stories.


Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart one.

27th June 2015:
Hello there!

I'm here for the House Cup 2015- Gryffindor!

I think this may possibly be the first time I've ever reviewed one of your stories and at this precise moment, I'm wondering how that could possibly be. While scanning your AP, I noticed sooo many stories that seem interesting. I'll certainly be back again later.

Anyway, on to the review!

I've never actually read a Draco/Harry before, so I'm really excited to see how you bring the two of them together.

The start of this was very intriguing. The way you used the original scene and then twisted it a bit was great. Instead of actually attacking Harry, Draco uses that moment to ask for help. So many questions at this point.

I adore that you referenced Dean and Seamus. This makes my shipper heart happy as they are one of my OTP's!

So Draco wants Harry's help to get out of killing someone for the Dark Lord. I personally don't know that I could ever imagine Draco going to Harry for help...at least not at this stage in his life, but you're reasoning behind it is solid enough. Harry has indeed survived a lot of stuff and probably can provide reasonably good advice on getting out of things.

I'll definitely be back for more of this when you post your next chapter because I'm intensely curious about where this is going to go. I can't quite imagine how you'll wind up bringing the romantic aspect of the relationship in.

Anyway, sorry for the sort of rambly all over the place type review, but the short of it is that I liked how you started this out. I think you've set up a situation in which they might possibly grow to trust each other a bit and possibly fall for each other as well.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #11, by jessicalorewrites one.

18th June 2015:
hey! jess here, reading and reviewing so that I can (finally lol) get the results out for the diversity challenge. the results should be out within the next couple of days so keep your eyes peeled over on the forums!

plot/written value:
you do humour so well, has anyone ever told you that? I'm sure they have because you're flipping GREAT at it. I literally wanted to laugh at almost every line, even though this was a fairly serious sort of chapter. I really liked how you wove the first part of the story into canon. even though it's different to what already exists in the books it still tied in amazingly well, with tonks coming along and harry still having the broken nose (and still having 'draco stood on my face' as the cover story lol). well I PERSONALLY think half-blood prince would have been x10 better if harry had been the one trying to help draco out but I can kind of understand why jk rowling didn't go with that route haha it might've come a little out of no where and harry didn't take kindly to him a lot of the time. still, the potentiAL. it could've been great.

characters:
I'm so happy to see harry's sarcastic, dry humour in the books wasn't lost on you here he was a hilarious character to read in this chapter hahaha I loved it. and the way you wrote draco was good too, still being arrogant and having a clipped tone with harry BUT wanting his help and being awkwardly adorable and aloof about it. I don't have much more to say. they were great.

diversity:
I THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO KISS DAMMIT. okay so like there's not much in this so to speak between draco/harry it's all ~repressed and diluted but wow okay it was getting pretty hoT in the room of requirement amirite. I love that you slipped deanmus in so casually and that even harry didn't think of it is a big deal, not even with his side comment of how that might've been why dean and ginny split up.

favourite line/bit:
"two, he had broken his spectacular fall from the luggage compartment to the floor of the hogwarts express with his face" I think I laughed out loud oh my goD

- jess, xo

 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne one.

25th April 2015:
I am so excited right now! The excitement is so strong that I could dance happily!!! Just ah!!! :D

Hahahahah Harry has cake crumbs on his head! The image of that is enough to make me chuckle :D

What does Draco want from him?! I gots ta know!!! Awww and he's being nice and I love it already and I'm shipping them so badly together!! I can't wait to see what Draco wants from Harry!

I wonder what Dean and Seamus are up to? :P They better be flirting!

HELP HIM HARRY!!! Hahaha! He made him say please! :P

I am loving this already!! I seriously can't wait for more!! :D Fantastic work, hun!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fuzzy Duck one.

10th April 2015:
quack!

As a fuzzy little duck, recently hatched, I can say that I am totally here for this foray into Drarry! I'm slowly learning the English language by reading Harry Potter fanfiction, and Drarry is such an interesting ship that I feel very privileged to have run across one that's set up so well!

I loved the retelling of the sixth year train compartment scene. There's less of a Harry vs. Draco vibe and more of a we're-all-just-dogs-trying-to-get-by-in-this-world vibe. The fact that Draco trapped him to ask him for a rendezvous indicates that this isn't going to be your run-of-the-mill retelling of canon. This is gonna be a fun ride!

QUAAACCCKKK!!DEAMUS!!QUAAACCKK!!! *ahem* Sorry, I lost command of English for a moment because of that sneaky, subtle, brilliant Deamus reference. If I had opposable thumbs and could build model ships, the good HMS Deamus would be sailing on the pond outside. :D

Oh man, all the tension between Harry and Draco in the RoR! It's so interesting that Draco is actually not being a little turd and is reaching out for help from someone who is "supposed to be his sworn enemy." I love it.

I really must waddle off, but I feel a strong connection to this story. As if I'm imprinting on it instead of my own mother... (Just a little anatine humor for you-I love my mummy!) Haha, just stay cool and remember to be kind to your web-footed friends!

♥Fuzzy Duck

 Report Review

Review #14, by TheHeirOfSlytherin one.

17th March 2015:
Oh, my God. STOP WRITING SUCH AMAZING STORIES WITH THE BEST PAIRINGS. ITS DISTRACTING... No, don't. I love it too much and I don't want to start listening to my film lecture.

I love the different take on HBP. I didn't quite expect you to take this route, though I didn't come here with any expectations to be honest. I was quite happy to be surprised. AND I WAS AND IT WAS GREAT.

What does Draco need Harry's help with, I wonder... ;)

DEAN/SEAMUS!!! ♥

Of course he agreed. He's such a goody goody.

I'm so excited to see where you take this. LIKE, MORE EXCITED THAN YOU KNOW. Can't wait for the next chapter.

My name is Sam and I am a Drarry addict. ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login