Reading Reviews for to the end of time
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RoseWeasley7 A Moment of Confidence

24th January 2017:
This is really good. I had a big gay crush on my best friend so I can relate

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan A Moment of Confidence

20th June 2016:
Claire. There is a problem.

Actually there are two problems, but the main one is that the Next Chapter button seems to have disappeared. Any chance you can fix it? bc I need more of this story.

the other problem - you guessed it! - is the way this chapter broke my heart. Lavender is engaged, Parvati finally, FINALLY told her of her feelings, and Lavender... walked away? Did she walk away because she's annoyed at Parvati's outburst, or did she walk away to cope with her feelings about Parvati which she herself has been fighting against for years?

I have to know!

Thank goodness for Padma in this chapter. She's the only one who can really understand and I'm so glad she's there for her!

Although it was so sad and painful, I think you wrote that scene really well when Parvati tries to come to terms with Lavender's engagement while at the same time trying to act happy for her friend. There was so much internal turmoil going on there and it was so well written.

Excellent chapter and I'll be looking out for the next one!

Author's Response: I know, I know, I really need to get another chapter out, especially after how I left this one.

As a friend, I do feel bad writing this (I cried writing it tbh), but as a writer, it brings me immense joy knowing that my story did this haha :P

All will be revealed in the next few chapters (of which there are only 2-3 depending on how everything ties up). And hopefully I can kick my butt into gear and finish the next chapter.

Once again, Padma for MVP

Thanks again for reviewing, Kristin!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Move In

20th June 2016:
now they're flatmates! I have a weakness for flatmates-falling-in-love stories. Also I gotta say that either Parvati is incredible at keeping her feelings under wraps, or Lavender is kind of oblivious. That crush has been going strong for years by this point. Obviously nothing gets past Padma though, because no one knows Parvati like her twin!

I also like that you weaved Lavender's trauma into the story, because of course she's not doing just fine after what she went through. Things are different now, Lavender is different. But the two girls are still best friends (and yeah they've already lived together for 7 years at Hogwarts!)

I like Padma in this story. Yeah, she kind of comes across as a wet blanket at times because she's the Voice of Reason who's questioning Parvati's decisions, but... a lot of what she's saying makes sense. She kind of gets Parvati out of her head for a bit because she has some distance from the situation and can maybe see it clearer than Parvati. But of course Parvati kind of seems too stubborn to listen to her :P Besides, what's the worst that could happen? (... famous last words)

suddenly I'm legit addicted to this story it's tooo good

Author's Response: So you probably have a point, but it's also kind of a case of "the story won't work if Parvati tells Lavender now/Lavender figures it out" :P

Padma is honestly the MVP of this story. Parvati couldn't go three days without her sister helping her. But you're right, Parvati may be a little too close to the situation to see it clearly. I do wish that I could include Padma in more chapters because she's so much more than the Voice of Reason, at least in my head.

Oh, wow, that's the nicest thing anyone has said to me! Thank you so much for the incredible review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Should Have Said

20th June 2016:
ahh, this was such an emotional chapter! And that first scene really added so much. I mean, we know what happens to Lavender in the battle, but having that extra scene beforehand when Parvati thinks of telling her friend how she feels, and then that chance slips away - it could have ended SO sadly. I'm so happy Lavender is going to live though! I also feel like what just happened is a pretty strong impetus for her to tell Lavender in the next chapter ;)

The second scene was just heartwrenching, with her and Padma and Seamus, and Parvati's terror and desperation just radiating off the page. I can't believe this chapter is as short as it is because it has so much in it, it just feels way longer. You did an amazing job conveying Parvati's emotions during this terrifying time for her, and it was lovely to see another appearance of her sister and some of her other friends and their wonderful support network.

Aaah! still loving this story so much!

Author's Response: This was a really hard chapter to write and way back when I first came up with this story, Lavender originally was going to die and this was going to be the second to last chapter. But enough changed and it ended up that she lived after all.

I knew that I wanted to include Padma and Seamus in this scene, so I'm glad that it ended up working in that way.

Thanks so much for yet another amazing review!!!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan My Sweetheart

20th June 2016:
Hey Claire! I'm here for the Pride weekend reviewing event on HPFT!

I'd totally been looking forward to this moment, and it did not disappoint :D Parvati's reaction to that necklace was about as perfect as I could have asked for. She's honest, as any good friend is - says it's not very much like Ron and maybe it's more of something Lavender would want - but she's also supportive. Even if it means lying a bit to cheer her up haha.

I continue to really love your characterization of Lavender. She is so much more than she is in the books, while still keeping those characteristics that make her who she is. She's still giggly and buys dumb gifts for Ron, but I loved that scene at the end where she realizes why Parvati is upset (or what Parvati tells her, at least) and she's not angry or anything, she forgives Parvati immediately and they make sure to have more best friend time. And that's so important. Even if the two of them never get together romantically, I'd still love this story because of its beautiful portrayal of friendship between two girls (which is often neglected in movies and other media in favour of romantic storylines instead. i could rant about this for a while so i'll stop haha) SO anyway. I love Parvati and Lavender as friends, just as much as I love the idea of them as a future couple :)

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey again, Kristin!

This was the second chapter I wrote for this story and it was a moment I knew I had to include. I'm glad it did not disappoint!

I'm so happy that you continue to love Lavender so much. It's been so much fun getting to explore a new side of her that isn't shown in canon so much.

It makes me so happy that you still enjoy this story! I hope you'll stick with it even though I'm so terrible at updating :P

Thanks again!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne A Moment of Confidence

22nd May 2016:
Oooh I'm so glad that you requested this one, I wanted to read the next chapter :D Because I've missed reading it!

Oooh I wonder what Lavender has to tell her? I'm intrigued! I hope it's not something that's going to break our heart.

And yep... right there is my heart breaking... Lavender! You're meant to be with Parvati! *cries* I can feel that heartache too!

I want to hug her, I want to take her from that moment... and it's probably not helpful that I'm listening to very sad music right now, it's really making this worse and I'm going to need some happiness to fix my tears.

Oh no! Lavender is going to marry him because there's no other option? THERE IS! THERE'S PARVATI!!

NO! TELL HER YOU LOVE HER LAVENDER! :( Don't tell her to leave!


.

...

How could you do this to me? How could you leave it right there? I am broken. So very broken...

(also I love how you said it's been eighty-four years)

I hope that your next chapter is going to fill me with happiness, because I'm pretty devastated right now. But I shall forgive you :P

Author's Response: Haha, hey, Tammi!

Well, I would say I'm sorry about the heartbreak, but like, I'm really not #sorrynotsorry

I promise, the next chapter will be better as long as I can get it up in the next 84 years.

Thanks for reviewing!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unwritten Curse New Friends

3rd April 2016:
Here for our swap!

I was drawn in by this story immediately because I've never read a Lavender/Parvati and I'm totally intrigued by it. I don't particularly like Lavender in the series but fanfiction is making her more bearable. (haha)

I can't imagine having a twin and being sorted into a different house. You write that beautifully. I was curious why you didn't include all the hubbub about Harry Potter, but then I realized that "Potter" comes after "Patil" and that Parvati probably didn't care about the rest of the sorting after she'd been split from her sister. She probably just shut everything out in her sadness and her fear.

Lavender seems so sweet here, too. Kind of annoying, but in a good way--she doesn't want Parvati to be sad and in this situation her persistence was needed.

Anyway, this is a cool first chapter. I'd love to come back and read more soon. :)

--Gina

Author's Response: Hey, Gina! Thanks for the swap!

I wasn't a fan of Lavender before writing this story either, but it's been so much fun reimagining how she would act and everything.

You're not the first person to mention the Harry thing and I'm just going to pretend that I meant to do exactly what you said haha. In all honesty, I kind of forgot about Harry being Sorted? But I guess it worked out in the end :P

Thanks again for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #8, by cherry_pop94 New Friends

6th March 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the HPFF Review-A-Thon!

I love Lavender and Parvati. They are just two wonderful people. I can already see how close they're going to be from this first little interaction. I can't even imagine how hard it must be for Parvati though to be separated from her twin sister. But it seems like Lavender is going to make up for it.

I really love how friendly Lavender is right from the get go. She realizes that Parvati is upset just moments after meeting her and immediately goes to comfort her. It sets a great tone for the rest of their friendship through this story.

I cannot wait to read more of this because obviously we know that there's all sorts to come in the friendship and growing relationship between Parvati and Lavender. Also, this is such a beautiful banner!

I cannot wait to read more of this wonderful story. I don't read too much Lavender and Parvati, but they are just such a great pairing. Every time I do read something about them, it's just great and this is no exception.

Stefanie

Author's Response: Hey, Stefanie!

I'll be honest, I wasn't the biggest fan of them untl I started to write this, but it's been so much fun to explore their relationship. I had always disliked how Lavender was written in fics before, but writing her like this has been great.

I'm glad that you like the story so much! Thanks for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #9, by RavenclawFTW Just a Phase

28th February 2016:
Heya! Here for the swap, which was well-timed because just today I was reading this wonderful, wonderful story!

I really love how you've set this chapter up, and the camaraderie that you've built between the girls of all Houses. It's a really sweet idea that they're all hanging out in the Hufflepuff Common Room, and the way you've written this chapter is really evocative of young teen girl sleepovers. Haha you've really taken me back...but I really love how you've portrayed the minor characters here, and I appreciate making all the characters canon! It's always fun to tie details like that into the story.

The conversation is seriously so spot on. I'm looking back over it now...and yup, that's what 13 year old girls talk about! And how they talk about it! I especially liked the way you made Susan try to avoid telling the truth, and everybody pounced on her...ugh this is so realistic and now I'm remembering when I had conversations like this...wow. Sorry, this review is all over the place so far, but I really love how you've done this whole scene, as you can probably tell!

I also love how you've woven Parvati's doubts into the chapter, and how she's resisting her feelings, but I also really appreciate the last line of the chapter. It's such a great combination of enjoying herself and what she's feeling and also trying not to embrace it-- she's a bit of a mess, but I really relate to how she's handling all of this! It's believable and a little heart-wrenching.

The way you had her deflect with Harry was really great, too, and I liked everyone's reactions– you've shown the friendships between Parvati and Lavender and Parvati and Padma really well, and I get a strong sense of how close they are. The relationship between Parvati and Padma throughout this story is really great, and I love how you've shown her skepticism here.

Sorry it took me so long to get to this! And sorry this review was a bit of a mess-- I really love this story and it's making me weirdly nostalgic haha.

--J

Author's Response: Hey, J!

I am a stickler for canon 95% of the time and I love looking through names and dates for random bits that I can put into the story. It was a lot of fun to write all the girls in the sleepover. It took me back as well!

Right??? Like, even if I don't remember the exact details, this 100% has happened to me/at a sleepover I was at. I feel bad putting Parvati through all this, but it's definintely a fun challenge to write.

I wish that I had more chances to include Padma, because she is so much fun to write and her character works so well with Parvati's.

No need to apologize, I loved the review! Thanks so much!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan The Yule Ball

20th February 2016:
Review Swap! :)

“Hey, what happened to Seamus? Didn’t you two come together?”
Lavender nodded. “Yeah, but he went off with Dean a few minutes before I saved you.
-- YEAH I BET HE DID. :D If this ends up being a Dean/Seamus story as well I'm going to be so happy

I love this little missing moment from canon - and it fits in so well, because Harry is so unobservant that he could easily have missed his date going off to dance with Lavender before seeing her dancing with the guy from Beauxbatons. Their dance was so sweet, but I can't help but feel badly for Parvati who has this hopeless, unrequited crush and knows that Lavender likes Ron the whole time. I could see Lavender being annoyed that Parvati set up Ron with Padma - but it does speak so well of their friendship that Lavender forgives her for that. It's evident that friendship and sentimentality means a lot to Lavender and while she just looked silly for this in the books (esp the my sweetheart necklace later on - I can't wait to see what Parvati thinks of it), here she comes across as really caring. I like reading about her from this much more sympathetic POV.

Parvati and Lavender are adorable together, even though I know it will take a lot of time to get there, if it happens. (It happens, right? You're not just going to make this end sadly are you? *bites nails* )

Lovely chapter!! So glad to return to this story again :)

Author's Response: Hey, Kristin!

You'll be happy to know that this is indeed a Deamus story as well and they do end up playing quite a big part in later chapters ;)

Filling in missing moments from canon has been a lot more fun than I had ever anticipated. I usually hate writing Hogwarts era because I felt so restricted, but once I started doing it, there was a lot more freedom than I had thought.

I love the idea of Lavender and Parvati's friendship and I now greatly dislike how much of a bad rep Lavender gets. Just because Harry doesn't seem to like her doesn't mean that I can't!

And as for that, well, you'll just have to keep reading and see ;)

Thanks for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #11, by oldershouldknowbetter Bracelets

11th February 2016:
Here for some more BvB.

Well this is a short but sweet little chapter.

I like how you have Lavender giving Parvati a bracelet - it fits in with what we know about her from the books. That sort of jewellery we know she likes, from what she gave Ron later on.

I also like how you make it magical, it's logical and makes sense.

There was only one little cc, if I may be so bold. I would have liked to see some reference, oblique or direct, to when this occurred. Yes I know it was obviously after they had just come back from one of their school breaks and enough time must have passed for their friendship to have developed as much as you show, but I would have liked to have some mention of where this fits into the books proper.

One thing I really do like is the end. Your story is labelled LGBTQA+, so one can posit where the relationship between the two girls is going, but at this stage the two girls are still both very young. Their relationship would not be of an advanced romantic nature yet, they would still be basically just very good friends. And that's what you show so ably and also craftily sneak in a beautiful reference to the title of your story.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hey, Andrew!

The bracelet came from the plan for the original ending of this fic and managed to stay in even with all of the rearanging and replanning. The magical part took me forever to figure out, but I thought it fit rather well. I'm glad you appreciated it :)

I realized that when I went back for edits this was the only chapter that didn't really have a firm time period (oops). It's set during second year, if you were still wondering when it was.

Aw, thank you! That means a lot that it works so well for you. I wanted to show a strong friendship and it just so happened that the characters I chose would also work well in an actual relationship down the line haha

Thanks again for a wonderful review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #12, by oldershouldknowbetter New Friends

30th January 2016:
I have a few moments for BvB and thought I'd drop by to see who was up next and I draw your name. So let me get started on one of your stories.

I don't know what I thought that this story was going to be from the minimalist description, but when I read the first two paragraphs I realised something: you are going for the long haul for this one. Starting from the beginning of their lives at school was to me a startling revelation, but I get it. How better to show their relationship developing than to start at the very beginning.

What's more, by juxtaposing your story against the events from the books that we all know, it will be a touchstone for all your readers. Because we know how they were throughout the story of Harry Potter, you will, I presume show us a slightly different back story through the lens of their perceptions.

I simply must stop prevaricating and actually read more than just the first two paragraphs.

...

Well, I'm back, just finished the chapter and it is delightful. There is really not much to say about the chapter; it's pretty linear and straightforward. You reflect the sorting that we all know very ably. Let me make a few notes.

- You don't say anything about the sorting of Harry. That does make sense to me in one respect, I always assumed that the Patil twins were Half-bloods, so she might not have known of Harry before. But a big deal was made of his sorting by the rest of the school, so she should have reacted to it at least. She might have been distracted by her anxiety at being separated from her sister, but I would have liked a mention of that at least.

- seeing the events through their eyes was a good parallel experience for your readers, as I suspected it would be.

- all your characterisation is good: both from the perspective of representing the two different characters and of them both being eleven.

- speaking of which, Lavender was lovely. She gets a bit of stick in the books for her somewhat flighty approach to things and her belief in divination, but here you bring out one of her other characteristics - her love and steadfastness in friendship.

- the reservations that Parvati has, in not being sorted with her sister, are logical and not over done.

All in all a good start, a good opening chapter that leaves us wanting to see the events that we know are to unfold from the perspective of these two girls.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hey, Andrew! Thanks for stopping by!

Two years later and I'm definitely still in it for the long haul. This relationship was one of the ones in canon that also seemed to get glossed over and pushed aside, so it made sense to focus in on this one because it gave so many opportunities for speculation.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it and it helped to set up the rest of the story for you! Lavender is definitely one of my new favorite characters and I'm happy that the characterization I've gone with adds to her as a canon character :)

Thanks again for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #13, by NPE New Friends

23rd January 2016:
Hello, NPE here.

Terrific.

I really liked this.

I always enjoy stories from the points of view of unappreciated characters, that have a somewhat whimsical edge to them.

The only real fault with JKRowling's wonderful world is that due to its focus on the Harry Potter storyline, some of the characters are unable to get the focus they deserve.

I really enjoyed your characterisation of the Patil twins. That nervousness that obviously comes alongside the wonder of going to Hogwarts. Their apprehension and terse dialogue felt very authentic to me.

Tow bits of dialogue really stuck out for me, whilst we are on the subject: The, "Is it really singing?" line highlighted the whole comical absurdity of the hat. Whilst the line about a kid eating which I assumed was Ron made me laugh out loud.

I love how that was basically her first impression of the Gryffindor table.

The fact it was put in between the disappointment of the separation from Padma and the meeting with Lavender was even more effective.

Tow bits of CC - firstly I would like to have heard more from the Sorting Hat. I would have enjoyed one of his rambling monologues that laid out why Padma and Parvati are different.

The differences between twins is always a point of fascination in my view. I really liked how by using "loyal" you made them seem way off too. If anything, the Hat was leaning towards Hufflepuff if she'd refused Gryffindor in the way that say, Harry refused Slytherin.

The other thing is sometimes you use descriptive terms that in my view, are a little too conventional. Nothing here is badly written On the contrary, I really like it.

What I mean is, the reader will gloss over phrases that appear routinely in the common lexicon. An example being, "heart sank".

I mean, I know what it means, but I wish that maybe you'd described her emotions with phrases that were as authentic as your brilliant characterisation of her.

All in all though, very good read.

Definitely wish to read more. All the best.

NPE :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so glad that you liked the story so much! It's been so much fun exploring bits of canon through the eyes of a character like Parvati who is incredibly one-dimensional in the books but has so much to offer with stories like this.

Thank you so much for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #14, by Beeezie Move In

20th January 2016:
Hey, Claire! I'm here for BvB! So psyched to get back to this story - you know how much I love it.

I think that Padma has a really, really good point here, though I'm not surprised that Parvati doesn't want to see it. Yes, they lived together in school, but that was a very different situation in many ways, and (as Padma also pointed out), Lavender was in a very different place back then. This is a super messy situation, and while I'm obviously happy about it because it'll hopefully move them closer toward a relationship (oh, please have that happen!), it's something that I'd counsel my best friend against if she were to do it. (And, actually, have counseled my best friend against!) Of course, after she'd offered, it would be very, very difficult to just take it back, so I do understand why she's trying to look on the bright side once Lavender is actually moving in.

This is such a tough situation, though, and I feel like Parvati's feelings were probably what caused the impulsive offer in the first place - friendship is wonderful and they're clearly very close, but one consistent thread through this entire story has been that Parvati really, really wants Lavender's approval. This isn't the first time that she's been motivated by wanting to make Lavender happy no matter what, and I love the consistency of that even as they grow up and their situations change.

Amazing job. I loved this, and I'm so happy you're back!

Author's Response: Hey, Branwen!

Padma 100% has a point, but Parvati may have just a tiny blind spot when it comes to Lavender (if you haven't already guessed :P). When I came up with this idea, it made a lot of sense for them to live together and then when I was writing, I was like wow this is the crappiest idea, what are you thinking? Hence, Padma.

Speaking from experience, it's extremely difficult to not want your crushes approval, even if it isn't always the best option for yourself. I'm glad that it works for you in this story!

And you'll just have to keep reading to see if that relationship happens ;)

Thanks for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #15, by TreacleTart New Friends

27th October 2015:
Hey Claire!

I'm here for our review swap!

Parvati and Lavender is one of my favorite Femslash ships. It just fits so well. I really liked the idea of showing how their relationship came to be. Usually, when people write them they just show them getting together, so this was a nice break from that. It really gives us a more rounded view.

I think it ended up being a good thing for the twins that they were seperated into two houses so that they have a chance to grow a bit on their own. Like Lavender said, it gives them each an opportunity to make their own friends as well. Besides, they can see each other at meals and Quidditch games and during free time.

You describe this as a series of one-shots and I have to say I'm really curious to see what other moments you're going to cover. I also am wondering if this will be cannon and Lavender snuffs it during the war or will you twist it and have her survive the attack? Will the one-shots even go that far down the timeline?

All in all, an intriguing start. I'm curious to see where it's headed.

Good job!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey, Kaitlin!

I really wanted to explore how the relationship came to be with these two, mostly because this was for the Banner Challenge and my banner focused on friendship. I started out with the fourth and fifth chapters of this and then decided to go back and start from the beginning.

It's always good to have to go outside of your comfort zone and have experiences that you may not have had otherwise.

This may be a spoiler or it might not depending on how invested you are in this story, but Lavender does indeed stay alive. The way that I look at it is the information on her death comes from the movies (at least the information I could find), so I don't take it as canon. But the one-shots will continue pretty far throughout their lives.

Thank for another wonderful review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne First Dates

17th September 2015:
YES! A NEW CHAPTER! I AM EXCITED!

Lavender! You need to go out with Parvati! There's so much love between you two! Poor Parvati having to be happy for her friend when all she wants is to be with Lavender *hugs her*

Awww she's so adorable being excited about this date, I really hope that it goes well (although a big part of me hopes it ends badly so that she can cry in Parvati's arms and then they can kiss and be in love!)

:O LAVENDER DOESN'T KNOW! :O How has she kept that a secret for so long? They live together! Although I totally understand her reasons for doing it.

Awww I love the two sisters together eating ice cream and watching movies, they're so sweet. :D

I LOVED THIS! And I can't wait for more! I really want her to tell Lavender and start smooching! I'm so impatient haha :P

Author's Response: Hey. Tammi! I'm glad you're back again!

Yeah, I may enjoy the whole 'making the other jealous without even knowing that they like you' thing a little too much, but come on, it's really great.

Parvati is quite awful at telling people things and expressing all of her feelings, so she never really told anyone besides Padma, Dean, and Seamus. She really should have at least told Lavender that she's a lesbian, but you know, it's Parvati.

The sisters' relationship is one of my favorites in this story (right behind Lavender and Parvati of course) and it should continue to get featured in later chapters.

I'm so glad that you like this story and are still staying with it despite my insane breaks between chapters! Thank you yet again for another wonderful review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dojh167 First Dates

16th September 2015:
Hello!

First off, I got squealy levels of excited when I saw the title for this chapter, even though I knew it wouldn't be a Lavender/Parvati date. Still, progress.

I like how the opening of this chapter is very grounded in the fact that they live together, and it gives a sense of building on the previous chapter. The part about Parvati holding in a sigh of relief seems pretty typical.

The moment where Parvati reassures Lavender that others just don't know what they're missing out on is beautifully tender.

It sees odd to me that Parvati doesn't end up telling Lavender the guy's name.

You're missing a double space after the second paragraph of the second section.

At first I felt disappointed that we wouldn't hear about how Lavender's date went during this chapter, but the second section did turn out to be very rich and interesting.

I am almost surprised that Padma is surprised that Parvati isn't out to Parvati. Though that is partially because we have seen everything in this story through the lens of her relationship with Parvati, so I thought she was so repressed about her sexuality overall. This makes me wonder who long she has been out (at least partially) and who she has let know. I imagine it would be apretty difficult secret to keep from just Lavender, and her rhetoric about why she doesn't want to tell her does sound like someone who still has the shame and denial of being closeted.

Ooooh, a Padma secret? Holding out on us, is she?

Thanks for another great chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey, Sam! Glad you're back again!

Haha, yeah, the Lavender/Parvati dates are still rather far down the road unfortunately...

You will have to wait until the next chapter to find out how Lavender's date went, but I'm glad you liked the second half of the chapter. I really had fun writing it.

Parvati is definitely secretive when it comes to her sexuality, mostly because it so greatly revolves around Lavender. She 'officially' came out to her sister some time between their fifth and sixth year, but Padma had figured it out about a year prior to that and just didn't mention that she knew. Seamus and Dean also know, but beyond that, she mostly keeps it to herself.

Yes, Padma has a secret, but probably not as big or life shattering as it may seem.

Thanks again for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jen25 New Friends

15th September 2015:
Very well-written and orchestrated. I love Parvati's initial disappointment,a great way of showing the how quickly the bond was forged between her and Lavender. I hope the others are just as good as this one (Though I don't have very many doubts)!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the story so much!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter New Friends

10th September 2015:
HEllO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! It's nice to meet you, you've probably seen me skulking around the forums every now and then. :D

Lavender and Parvati, eh? I have heard of this pairing but haven't really found many stories that feature them together like this. I think it's a shame because I was curious on reading more stories that feature this couple but it's kind of like looking for George/Angelina: You know it's out there but you just can't find it. Hahha. (That's my favorite pairing so excuse the example)

I like the touch of innocence that you've given this entire chapter. It's nice not to be thrust right into the angst and drama (I'm not sure if there will be any) but to really see Parvati as just being a scared eleven year old girl. I don't think a lot of people would have used this angle much but I like what you've done with her character because she feels so real, I know we all can remember our first day of school and being nervous about not making friends or being away from siblings/family in general. I also got a clear idea of what Padma was like from just those few paragraphs, it's kind of clear that Parvati relies on her sister quite a bit and I'm interested in seeing how she'll grow as a person. Another thing that I liked was the very smooth way you introduced characters and canon events, they didn't boggle the chapter down or take away from Parvati's POV.

Now, I was never that much of a fan of Lavender in the books. It had nothing to do with her behavior in HBP but more for the fact that she just kind of seemed shallow and a little bit like a gossipy type. Your version of her seems sweet and friendly, which is a nice change and probably one that we could have seen in the HP books of Harry hadn't been you know, almost being killed every books. Hahah.

Hm. I don't have any CC's for you either, this was nicely written, your pacing is great and I'm already invested in these two. Good job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, Gabbie!

I 100% understand the struggle of trying to find a George/Angelina story. I think I've only ever found one or two decent ones, so if you have any you like, you should definitely send them my way :)

But anyway, this is ultimately a story about Lavender and Parvati, but I really wanted to show their relationships with other people as well because I didn't want it to seem like their lives revolved around each other. I also wanted to make sure that the two girls really were distinct from each other, so I'm glad that you were able to get a read on Padma from this little bit. She definitely comes back in later chapters, so look out for that if you want to know more about her.

Sometimes I feel like Lavender gets a bad rap from the books, especially since we only ever see her from Harry's PoV and he wasn't close with her and didn't really seem to like her either. She definitely is rather gossipy and silly, but I think there's a caring and loyal side to her that we just never got to see.

Thank you again for the wonderful review! I really enjoyed reading what you thought!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #20, by moonbaby11 New Friends

31st August 2015:
Hey! I'm here for BVB!

I really liked this. I've never thought much about Lavender and Parvati's relationship, especially not in terms of romance, but I was really intrigued by this story. I think you have a strong opening here. It's obviously a little hard to judge as it was a short chapter and they're so young that there's no romance present yet, but I think you have a good characterization of these two. It's always refreshing to see someone writing Lavender as a real person and not just making her annoying because of her actions in HBP.

Another thing I've never really thought about is the fact that Parvati and Padma are sorted into separate houses and how that would affect them as they seem to be the only twins in canon that aren't sorted together. I think you really captured the nervousness here, but you also captured the awe of an eleven year old showing up to Hogwarts for the first time. Overall I think you've done a good job of filling in the blanks.

One tiny tiny thing I wanted to point out -- Hannah Abbott has blonde hair, not red as you've written. It's a small thing and obviously you don't need to follow canon (I'm not even sure if that's book canon or strictly film canon), but I figured I'd bring it up nonetheless.

All in all I really enjoyed this piece and I hope I can drop by again soon to continue reading! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

The way that Lavender is usually portrayed in fics kinda bugs me, especially now that I've started this fic. I was guilty of it for a long time until it really clicked that we only really get Harry's opinion of her in the books and nothing else. I mean, Harry was the least observant person in the universe, so I guarantee that Lavender was a lot better than he made her out to be.

I had never really thought about the two of them being split up until I had to write this chapter. I really wanted Parvati to be the more nervous of the twiins, though, just because from the few moments of the book she was in, she seemed like the more self assured of the two, at least to me.

Thank you so much for the kind review! I hope you come back soon!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne Move In

30th August 2015:
:O SHE'S ASKED HER TO MOVE IN! *breathes deeply* Be still my shipping heart, they may not be together yet... but this could be the start of everything! Just think of the tension at being around each other all the time... yes... yes this is good! This is awesome!

Padma is right, she's never going to be able to keep this a secret, but I don't want her to. I want Lavender to know, and Lavender to reveal her own secret love AND I'M BACK TO SHOUTING WITH ALL OF THE EXCITEMENT!!!

Please update soon, and let me know when you have so that I can read this awesomeness and read what happens because I am shipping them so hard right now if you haven't noticed.

Seriously, this ship is just pure love! And you're such a brilliant writer in getting me to ship them so hard! And I never thought that I would ever love a Lavender pairing that wasn't Lavender/Theo. This is my second favourite Lavender pairing ever!

I love it and you!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you love this story so much that you started shipping the two of them! I honestly never thought anyone would enjoy my writing that much, so thank you for that (probably unnecessary) ego boost!

I'll definitely keep you in the loop with the updates as they come! Thank you again for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne Should Have Said

30th August 2015:
:O She needs to tell Lavender something. I am holding out hope that it's a declaration of love. Please be a declaration of love!

DAMN IT HARRY! STOP GETTING IN THE WAY WITH YOU TRYING TO SAVE THE WORLD! THERE'S A REAL IMPORTANT LIFE EVEN ABOUT TO HAPPEN AND YOU'VE JUST RUINED IT! DAMN IT HARRY! IT'S NOT ALL ABOUT YOU!

NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! SHE BETTER NOT BE DEAD! SHE BETTER BE ALIVE! OR I SHALL CRY! IN MY HEAD SHE SURVIVED THE WAR WHICH SHOULD BE ENOUGH FOR EVERYONE!

OH THANK GOD! SHE'S GOING TO LIVE! I would have been so devastated if she had died.

I'm sorry that most of this review was shouty, but there was excitement and anger at the war and sadness... so much sadness. I am just in a glass case of emotion right now!

Author's Response: When I first came up with this story, she did die and Parvati kinda lost it for a little while afterwards. I'm glad I could save you from that emotional pain and then force you to endure the slowest of slow burns (lol, not really, give it a few more chapters).

I know I've said this before, but your reviews make my day and give me life. I love reading them. So thank you!!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #23, by alicia and anne My Sweetheart

30th August 2015:
Oh Lavender! You need to realise that Ron is not the one for you! It's Parvati (or Theodore Nott... depending on what world we're talking about :P) BUT PARVATI IS THE ONE FOR YOU!

I know that it's not time for their relationship to shine, but I want it to shine goddamn it!

Parvati would love a necklace like that! Just saying... probably... :P

Oh no, please don't fight! unless you're going to do some make up kissing. then fight! :P

Phew, no arguing, that's good, and now they can hang out together.

I need so much more! I just am on the edge of my seat waiting for them to kiss and I want it so badly.

Author's Response: Your reviews are killing me, I love them!

I think I may be enjoying your anticipation of them getting together a little too much, especially since I know how long you'll have to wait for it to actually happen...


 Report Review

Review #24, by alicia and anne The Yule Ball

30th August 2015:
Aw they're going to dance! and they're going to be adorable and oh so cute! And I love them!

I'm not sure if you've worked out from previous reviews from me... but I kind of love this pairing... I just wanted to make you aware of it just incase I wasn't clear :P

I'm glad that they didn't argue for long over Ron. I THINK WE ALL KNOW WHERE DEAN AND SEAMUS ARE! THEY'RE OFF BEING IN LOVE!

Aww they're so adorable, and she is crushing so hard on Lavender and I want them to get together so badly and I want it to happen right now, but I am loving this slow burn, and yet I want them to kiss, but I love the looks. And I don't even know what I want anymore! SO many emotions!

Author's Response: I'm glad you love the pairing so much! I didn't expect that I would get so invested in it and yet, here we are :P

As for Dean and Seamus... ;)

I'm glad you are enjoying the slow burn because this falme is going to last forever haha


 Report Review

Review #25, by alicia and anne Just a Phase

30th August 2015:
YAY! I AM BACK TO READING THIS AMAZING STORY! I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW!

Huh... it's 1am for me as well! :O Am I in this story right now? Have I entered an alternative universe?

I love that they have sleepovers so much! And that they're with people from different houses too. And theyre asking who fancies who! :D hehehe

I wonder who they all fancy? I am so intrigued!

Awww Susan likes Ernie! They would be so cute together!

:O PARVATI HAS LOOKED OVER AT LAVENDER AND I WANT PEOPLE TO KNOW!!! Awww no she said Harry! Parvati I wish that you had said Lavender so that you could kiss already! but I shall wait! haha :D

I can't wait for more! I am going to the next chapter right now! :D

Author's Response: Yay, Tammi, I'm glad you're back! You're reviews are always so fun to read!

At this point, I honestly can't remember who they all liked, but I'm pretty sure that Lavender said Ron and Padma does indeed not have a crush or romantic feelings for anyone.

Susan and Ernie would be absolutely adorable and now they must be together in everything I write.

Haha, you might have to wait a bit for the kissing, that comes much later on ;)

Claire


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>