Reading Reviews for Yes... I Am A Star
  
220 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hedwig1751 Curtains

29th March 2017:
Hello :) I've just finished reading it and this is AMAZING!!! Attie has such a big impact on everyone's lives and I especially love how the Potters/ Weasleys/ Malfoys/ Amanda don't judge her for her heritage as much as you would think. You write wonderfully- all those ships! I love how Rose/ Scorpius' initial relationship blossomed and James/ Amanda in general (you really surprised me at the end there XD but it was so good). BUT MY ULTIMATE FAV WAS ATTIE/ AL YAS(bit too enthusiastic? :/) cos I have a thing for relationships that don't start out as great as they end up to be.

Attie. Attie, Attie, Attie. Love her. You've added so much depth into her charger, and made her incredibly human- which I think is a really good quality for a character to have :) And since she's come such a long way, you get attached and you empathise so bloody much that when she was supposedly "dead" I was literally crying (yes, I am a very emotional person) and when we found she wasn't dead, I was just a huge puddly puddle. I realise that doesn't make sense, but oh well...

The reason I love Al and Attie together is that his family taught her how to love, which led to her eventually loving him, and he taught her stuff that she couldn't have possibly learnt without him, and made her into the Attie we love...and I realise this sounds very cheesy :3. Sorry. I'm a HUGE sucker for romance.

So sorry this is so long- I could ramble more about how the plot twists and the characterisations shaped the atmosphere of the story as well as the characters themselves, and how the subtle switching of POVs is SO effective...but anyway, this is an outstanding story, so AMAZING JOB!!!

-Hedwig

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review!!! I feel like you captured exactly what I was trying to portray with this story and all the character relationships! I am also a sucker for the love/hate relationship. I think by the end my favorite pair was James and Amanda, which is funny because they were totally unplanned.

I'm glad you saw the depth of Atria's character because I know she is a little bit arrogant, but I felt like being raised the way she was (believing that because of her blood status she was superior) how could she not be a little egotistical?

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story since two years of my life went into it! I'm starting a new RoSco novel and it'd be cool if you wanted to check that out and leave some reviews!

- Alex


 Report Review

Review #2, by Dinthemidwest Curtains

26th March 2017:
Oh, it's over! Happy endings are what this group deserves; Atria gets Albus-yes!-, Rose/Scorpius; the ernest & serious pair; & James & Amanda; also perfect!! I have truly enjoyed following them-10/10!

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm a sucker for happy endings! Thanks for reviewing throughout the story! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #3, by Dinthemidwest Falling Action

26th March 2017:
You are keeping the direction & dialogue on this story at a perfect pace-I can just picture everyone's expression!! Sooo enjoying this story!

Author's Response: Thank you for your feedback! I'm super glad you have been a consistent reviewer for my story! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #4, by Akhila Picking Up the Pieces

20th March 2017:
Yours is the first story I have commented on and I dont know if it means a lot.. but I loved it way more than cursed child. You a great writer.. keep writing.. it helps a few of us get some magical moments..

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I remember leaving my first review and it feels like such a hassle, but the more you leave the more you become addicted to giving feedback! It means so much that you felt my story was worth taking the time to review!

I haven't read Cursed Child because I'm afraid it will mess with things too much. Check out my next novel and leave a review if you feel like it! - Alex


 Report Review

Review #5, by Anonymous The Dragon, The Letters, and The Hospital

15th March 2017:
Oh, Attie, I expect nothing less and of course everyone is worried about her and I love Albus getting angry and Charlie and then Charlie letting him know what's up!!

Author's Response: Yes, Attie is crazy! Thanks for the review!!! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anonymous So... That Happened

15th March 2017:
Love the new edits and the third person!

Author's Response: Thanks, I prefer 3rd person too! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #7, by crimson quill Curtains

26th February 2017:
So, I've just read all of this! yay! I really liked it as a story. I think it had really good elements of action/romance. my favourite ship in your story by miles is James/Amanda and I really love their ending, it was unexpected and a bit crazy but worked on so many levels. I'm so happy!

you're so sneaky making us think that she died! I love the range of emotions shown in those chapters as it shows Attie's effect on everyone's lives. I enjoyed that Attie was opening a zoo as the ending. it suits her and not your normal 'healer' or 'auror' career as she's a bit crazy so the big dream was perfect ending.

I'm normally a fan of 1st person story telling and I'm not use to reading 3rd person but I started your story once in 1st person but never finished but I've fully read it now. I think it does work really well for the story. I always seem to have trouble connecting with the characters in 3rd but I had no issues with your story!

It's very impressive that you've stuck with this story and finished it. good luck with your other stories now!

xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the 3rd person better than 1st person. When I started writing, 1st person seemed logical mostly because that's what most stories did. But as I got further into the story I realized that I wanted to show other characters perspectives and their thoughts about Attie and it seemed illogical to have Attie in 1st person and show her in 3rd person when getting other characters perspectives. That's why I decided to go back and edit it all to 3rd person.

I have to admit that James and Amanda ended up being my favorite as well. Their paring was completely unplanned which is why it felt to natural and organic when it came around. James proposing seemed fitting and crazy just like James.

It also felt fitting that Atria would get sucked into her own grief. It's been a common theme thoughout the story that Atria struggles with egotism and being selfish so it seemed in character for her to briefly forget about the people who love her and not think of them. It's a weakness of hers, but just because she did the right thing in the end doesn't mean she's without fault.

I don't like when the next gen are forced into being aurors or healers just because those are the most prominant jobs in the HP books. That's why Attie runs a zoo and Al will be a magical architect. Thanks for the long review! It gave me a chance to explain some of my choices! - Alex


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rainbowtui Curtains

23rd February 2017:
Hey, just wanted to say that I have loved reading your story, I wish that my mind could create something like it. Thank you :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope my mind can create something like this again, haha. Stay tuned for more works! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #9, by gigi Surprise Birthday Present

22nd February 2017:
Hiya Alex, just a small nitpick, Draco and Scorpius aren't single stars, they're constellations, thought you may want to fix that since you're editing. Speaking of which, you are so amazingly great a writer that even your editing hasn't thrown me off. I had to binge read all your stories over the last 3 days and will surely be going into withdrawal when I'm done with this one 😊

Author's Response: Thanks for the suggestion!! I suggest you come back in a few days when I'm done editing and reread this story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by putitonpaper The Boys List The Girls

16th February 2017:
Ugh the list thing is so annoying but unfortunately common! I remember hearing rumors about boys making lists in all levels of school! Truly horrific!

Author's Response: Yep, boys are stupid! It's funny cause I just got to editing this chapter. - Alex

 Report Review

Review #11, by putitonpaper Lashing Out

16th February 2017:
“Sometimes we must come to terms with the past before we can appreciate the present and look to the future.” She said wisely.

Gasp. Does she know? I wouldn’t be surprised if she knows! She does give off that all knowing vibe lol.

By the way... CONGRATS ON FINISHING THIS! YOU SHOULD BE SO PROUD!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I am currently doing major editing. I look back at the early chapters a cringe, especially when I decided to go from 1st person to 3rd person. The hardest part of editing is getting all of the tenses to match. Continuity is important! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #12, by EmilyFox Falling Action

14th February 2017:
I just binge-read this story in 2 days XD thankyou for the good read, I loved your take on the next gen :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Admittedly, I wish you could've read it after I finished editing, but I'm glad you liked it! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rose Weasley Curtains

8th February 2017:
I'm so sad that the story ended! All in all, one of the best Scorose stories ever!Please work on a sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I am doing major edits, but I don't plan on doing a sequel, but I may do a follow up one shot about their future in a while. - Alex

 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Potter 434 Curtains

4th February 2017:
awww its so sad for this to be over but I understand why it had to end at one point

and honestly don't worry about the wait for this last chapter because it just made it even more amazinger
yes that's now a word

this story has been outstanding from the start and thanks so much for sticking with it because I don't know what i'd of done if you'd abandoned this back in the 20s with out telling me how it was going to end
probs track you done a beg you for the answer

but still my point stands thanks so much for writing this story

I absolutely love it


cant wait to read more of your stories

maybe one day a one-shot about the zoo or the wedding or anything really

even a one shot that's completely about atria making toast

I love your writing so please keep going on more stories


love from me
xxx xxx xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for sticking with this story! I'm glad the last chapter was worth the wait. I was totally procrastinating because I was in denial about the story ending.

I am editing this story, so be on the look out for that. The story will flow better and make more sense after editing. I'm also writing another story that I was start post in about a month, and in the meantime I will probably post a couple one shots.

- Alex


 Report Review

Review #15, by Kate Curtains

1st February 2017:
Love the story.

You should write about Amanda and James more,
i loved them and wanna read more of them :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I am going back and editing and I think I will throw more Amanda/James in, because I didn't plan that out so there's not a lot of them in the beginning.

Stay tunes for edits! - Alex


 Report Review

Review #16, by blackzero Curtains

1st February 2017:
Thank you very much for such a wonderful story.It was a wonderful experience. I hope you get the time to write one or two one shots relating to future life.Good luck and thank you once again.

Author's Response: I hadn't thought about writing about their future mostly because I like to believe everything is sunshine and rainbows, but that's not really how adult life works. Thank you for your reviews and sticking with the story! I will be editing heavily so keep an eye out for updates.

 Report Review

Review #17, by thehiddenface Curtains

31st January 2017:
Alex,
Yes, I am going to write a long a** review THATS sally and sad and happy. Because I'm just that kind of person.
The moment I read "Completed," a little bit of my heart broke. This story is one that I'll always come back and reread over and over. Atria was a special character for me, and I loved her to pieces. Every character in the story gave me a lasting impression. I'll never forget the overwhelming excitement I got every time you updated the story. I've been thinking about writing this for a long time and I could never determine what to write, so I'm just going with it at the moment. Your story made me really happy, sad, excited, and everything else. When I read it, I felt like I was there, watching it all play out in front of me. I was so absorbed by it I felt like I was a part of it. That was really special to me. It was also really special to me that you included the character Elle in the book in one of the chapters. That brought a huge grin to my face because you remembered my review and my wishing to run up to Atria and Albus. I'm sad that this is one of the last reviews I'll write for this story, but I'm sure if I stumble upon a chapter I haven't reviewed I'll be sure to leave one. Thank you for writing this wonderful story. It meant a lot to me.
Elle
By the way, I'd really like to go to Attie's zoo, it sounds so awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm sitting here with a sad smile because you have been such an amazing reviewer. It took so long for me to update because I wasn't ready to let go and I had no idea how to end this story.

I am currently in the process of majorly editing, so keep an eye out for that because you will be able to start from the beginning and get a different perspective with more details. Also when I started the story there were pieces of the plot I didn't plan but I filled in later. I plan on making the story flow a lot better so it was be more enjoyable for readers to power read all at once.

In the meantime, please check out my other stories and leave more awesome reviews! - Alex


 Report Review

Review #18, by U r my favorite author Falling Action

29th January 2017:
this is a very good story. I was hoping for u to continue this story and not forget about it :) I love all your stories. Could u start some another/more novels? This is one of the best hpff novels I have ever read, and was hoping for more.

Thanks!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Unfortunately/ fortunately for me, I just posted the last chapter of this novel so it is coming to a close. I am in the process of seriously editing this novel though, so please leave many reviews about what you liked and thought could be improved.

I am working on a new novel that I will start posting within the next month. I want to have 5 or 6 chapters done before I start posting so I have a grace period so that readers are never waiting more than 10 to 12 days for a chapter. In the mean time, I suggest reading The Hogwarts Express, which is my favourite story that I've written even though it only a short story. It is finished so that's a plus! - Alex


 Report Review

Review #19, by U r my favorite author Falling Action

29th January 2017:
this is a very good story. I was hoping for u to continue this story and not forget about it :) I love all your stories. Could u start some another/more novels? This is one of the best hpff novels I have ever read, and was hoping for more.

Thanks!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! For some reason this review posted twice? - Alex

 Report Review

Review #20, by X Meet Me in Hog's Head

8th January 2017:
Jesus Christ on a boat that was something. That something is too cute! That was too cute! I have nothing more to say on such a matter. That will be all, good night

Author's Response: Thank you! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #21, by luna1306 Something New

2nd January 2017:
I thought the harpies were an all womans team

Author's Response: I honestly don't know. If they are, I apologize for being wrong but it felt right for James to go there. I hadn't even thought of that so if possible, just ignore me being wrong! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #22, by X Replacing Atria

2nd January 2017:
What the F*C*!!! What the actual f*c* is going on?!? Oh my dear sweet god, I'm so confused. She can just apparate now?!? Just pop in and out whenever she does so like! Oh I would have slapped that b*tc* so hard! Just so hard. She just shows up and bang there she is. Oh god I missed her but she's just there and she didn't think about anyone else! And her friends and family were all dying on the inside because they thought she was dead on the inside and outside and everywhere else! But she's not! She's not dead!Al was a bloody wreck! My poor sweet baby wasn't even functioning anymore!

Okay I've taken a breath. Was it clarified in the chapter when atria goes to castle lestrange the first time that family can apparate in and out? Because I really can't remember. Or can you just apostate out not in? Or were the apparation barrier things broken once the magic started coming down. No that doesn't make sense because she said family can apparate... And she had a scratch on her eye from the bloomin rose bush of death! Now she's going to match that creepy healer from st mungos! What was with that guy? Why was he even there! Why so creepy dude!

Xxx

Author's Response: I don't have a response to this other than I'm giggling at your rant. To be honest, I'm not entirely happy with this chapter and everything happened to fast because I'm trying to wrap up the story.

I don't think I clarified that family could apparate in and out of the castel. As to the creepy healer dude, some people are just weird with no explanation or greater use to the plot.


 Report Review

Review #23, by X Shades of Black

2nd January 2017:
I lied. I'm still here.

Still pretty sad, still pretty depressing, but I'm holding out hope for Attie.

When I was about half way through this chapter I had to hug myself for a little bit because my mind just immediately went to, what if my best friend died? I would bever be able to send stupid texts with no context and get an equally stupid reply, and I wouldn't have anyone to just be with through everything. It may have seemed like the characters were breaking down a lot, and really just breaking, but it seems very realistic as just the hypothetical situation that my friend is dead, made mr feel like I was verging on an emotional breakdown.

Xxx

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! - Alex

 Report Review

Review #24, by X Picking Up the Pieces

1st January 2017:
This is getting a bit too depressing now. It's probably only been like 3 chapters without Atria but I don't think I can physically take anymore. It's bloody soul destroying. I'm living far too vicariously through the characters and it's not doing wanders for me irl. I think I may need to take a break before I start actually feeling very very upset.

Author's Response: I'm very sorry (sort of). Anyways, I appreciate you taking the time to review every chapter you're reading. I'm sorry that I'm destroying your soul. - Alex

 Report Review

Review #25, by X Favors and Lovers

1st January 2017:
Right, well this chapter has let me cool off a little bit. Don't get me wrong, I'm still unhappy with some of the aurers startling levels of incompetencey but I trust you, and thus trust that everything will turn out fine... (she says doubtfully).

But till then I think you should know how brilliantly emotive your writing is. It's just so beautiful, and you can show love in ways that obviously I can never imagine as a seventeen year old that's never had any resemblance to a love life, but what I can only dream of. Well done

I am so very happy I decided to read this! It means I'm not reading my a level texts but who cares. Keep being wicked

Xxx

Author's Response: When I go back and edit I will make the whole death thing more believable. For the sake of keeping the plot moving I didn't show the whole Ministry-behind the scenes thing.

Lol! It's hilarious that you think I write emotion so well because that's one of the things I struggle with. My writing is usually dialogue heavy because I prefer to let characters speak for themselves versus me saying how they feel. Thanks for the awesome review! - Alex


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>