Reading Reviews for Like Clockwork
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jd5693 Secrets

14th March 2017:
This story is so unique and original I look forward to reading more!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Stef Secrets

13th March 2017:
Love the concept. Very interesting. Definitely haven't read anything like it yet. Can't wait to hear more.

 Report Review

Review #3, by gryffindorlion15 Secrets

13th March 2017:
Please update again soon, I can't wait to see how everything unfolds :) x

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ingwea Welcomings

26th October 2015:
Hey,

I love the plot of the story, very original, intriguing, with good writing! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

- Leigh xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by coluhrs Welcomings

19th July 2015:
ah i love it. i honestly can't wait to see what happens next

 Report Review

Review #6, by coluhrs Memories

19th July 2015:
another fantastic chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by coluhrs Antiquity

19th July 2015:
this is so beautiful i love it i love it
i love cecily and omg this is amazing
i can't wait to read more

 Report Review

Review #8, by GeekAttack Welcomings

14th June 2015:
THIS IS SO COOL. Your plot is so intriguing, albeit, a bit confusing at times. But I love your main character, I love your plot, I love the foreshadowing- I just want more! Love, love, love!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's meant to be confusing :p I'll hopefully have more up soon!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #9, by bethanex Antiquity

12th June 2015:
Beautifully written - great use of figurative language (I know, I'm such a lit nerd)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by ladyrae Welcomings

7th June 2015:
Very interested in this story this far. I can't wait to see what exactly Cecily is supposed to change. I'd originally assumed it was Snape or Pete, but Rosier is making things interesting. I also can't wait to figure out if what she changes will cause the events that lead to Harry Potter, allowing a chance for him to live and save the world, or if she's going to prevent it. Great chapter, and I can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much. Hmm, it could be any of them three, or none of them :D And well, I guess we'll have to wait and see why she's changing everything! It becomes clear quickly enough :p

Thanks for reviewing!

- Leigh xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter Antiquity

6th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap! Thank you for the lovely review you left for This is Angelina, I was in a puddle of feels reading it. I haven't gotten much on that story in a long time! :D

Anyway, this was really interesting! I'm fascinated by this world that you've created and I didn't expect time travel to take any part of what I read! I was so worried for Cecily in the beginning because we all know how horrible those witch trials were and I was certain that this would take place in the past. It sort of does, in a way but what I really liked was your imagery during that scene, she can't control her magic, doesn't understand why this is happening and her fear felt so real. I wasn't sure if she was going to make it to be honest!

By the time she's running away, I was sure that the villagers were going to follow. I was SO relieved that Everard found her instead, I enjoyed the mix of religion that you added into this as well. Hell, heaven and the places in between are mentioned in this first chapter rather well. For someone living during that time period, that meant the world and I love how you weaved that in here. :D

Now, this second part had me really shocked! I didn't think that Cecily would have been sent back more than once! It's like Quantum Leap! (That's an awesome show that you should check out if you're not aware of it already) I'm REALLY curious about this story now! How long has Cecily been doing this? HOW is she a time traveler and why? What does she have to stop?

Ah, it was really good! Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

P.S.: Don't be shy about stopping by my review thread either, I'd love to read more!

 Report Review

Review #12, by alicia and anne Memories

6th June 2015:
Leigh!!!

I am so excited about reading the second chapter to this story :D

Wow, having to go back, and then going back too far and having to grow up whilst dealing with everything she knew... I just don't know how I would have been able to deal with it at all!

Oooo I wonder why she has to be a Slytherin?

I am actually so nervous for her going forwards. I hope that it works out right. :S

Oh wow, the fate of the Wizarding World was in her hands. That is a lot of pressure! I would be so terrified.

Oh my god! Those images that she was hit with when she 'arrived', all those feelings. I want to hug her so tightly! *squishes her* I wanted to cry so much at the thought of all of that. And she had to feel it all at once! *squishes her tighter*

I must say that you are perfect at writing Albus! His personality is just spot on.

I wonder if Dumbledore will inform McGonagall of the real reason she's there, apart from the story that they've come up with about the fire? Although... I suppose it'll be better to not get too many people involved. It could change the course of things?

I really need to know what it is she's changing! I need to keep reading!

Wow, so many things must have changed for her! I didn't even realise, and for her not to know what a train is. Wow! She's going to have a weird reaction to everything!

Oh no! She's remembering but not!

Wow she's not a fan of McGonagall? I wonder how much tension will be between the two of them?

I absolutely adore Cecily! I am loving all of the flashes she keeps getting and I can't wait to find out more! I adore this story so much! And it's only been two chapters that I've read so far!

I love this!

You are such a fantastic writer and reading your work is the highlight of my day!

Tammi
xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by TreacleTart Antiquity

1st June 2015:
Hi Adina!

I'm here for our review swap from this morning!

Wow! This is quite a bit different from anything else that I've read of yours. It's dark and deep and I immediately felt drawn into it. This was a really great start.

I felt confused about the main character being a witch and being burned. The way you wrote it was really lovely because I felt like I was experiencing it right alongside her. I didn't understand why she was being burned alive just as she didn't. When she took off running spraying flames from her open mouth, I felt scared and surprised by what was happening. Basically, the way you've allowed the reader to gain information just as Cecily gains it works really well for this. It really keeps the intrigue up.

Then the concept of time travel gets introduced in this. I'm always really nervous about time travel fics because I feel like its very easy for them to get cliche very quickly. I actually really like your concept for time travel hear. It's a bit out of the ordinary, but that makes it refreshing. I can't wait to see where you go with it.

All in all, I think this was a great first chapter! I'm really excited about this story and seeing where it's going to go in the future. I'm going to add it to my currently reading list and hopefully one things settle down I'll have a chance to read the rest of it!

Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne Antiquity

1st June 2015:
Leigh!!! I am here to give you a review

I am so excited about beginning to read this. I absolutely adore Marauder fics! They're my all time favourite stories to go back to, and I'm so glad that I'm reading this one.

Oh no! This is such a sad and heartbreaking beginning! It upsets me that witch burning happened, and that she's had to go through this. The way that you described how she was feeling and the pain made me so sad that I wanted to cry, I wanted to burst into the story and put those flames out! But, alas, I am but a mere reader and can only read your beautiful writing.

Flames are shooting from her mouth! Is she a dragon? Does she have some kind of Dragon power? So many questions right now!

I am so glad that Headmaster Everard found her and is going to take her to the magical world! This makes me so happy that she was saved! :D YAY!!! I could cheer and dance and be happy!

She's returned? Spins? :O are timeturners involved?

This was an utterly amazing first chapter, Leigh! I was not expecting it to be like this at all! And I am so excited about whats to come! I need to continue reading, because I can't wait to see if she manages to do it!

I think that this is going to be my new favourite story!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Shadowkat Antiquity

1st June 2015:
First of all, I love the description you use here. The only problems I can see someone else has already pointed out, the repetitive words, the switch in POV, etc.

This is a really original take on a time-travel Fanfiction, and I applaud you for that. It raises a lot of questions, which a first chapter should do, and the ending makes you want to read more and find out what happens. The conflicting parts of her in response to what's happening is also a very nice touch.

All in all great job. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by V Memories

28th May 2015:
Can't wait for an upload!

Author's Response: The next chapter is in the queue! Thanks for reading!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #17, by bridget976 Memories

7th April 2015:
So good I can't wait for more chapters! Update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :D

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #18, by crestwood Memories

14th March 2015:
Hi Leigh! Here for our swap.

This is certainly a plot like I have never read. The idea of the memories coming rushing back to her the second she goes forward is just like mindblowingly awesome concept.

I'd be frightened to make this jump without even understanding exactly what events I was supposed to be changing. This girl is exceedingly brave to even accept this mission thrust upon her.

Ooooh, a Seer? I love Seer characters in fic, there's not nearly enough. I do wonder what she's going to change. I suppose it's probably something to do with Voldemort, considering the time she's traveling to.

Dumbledore is always setting things up with himself from the past in fic. I absolutely love it. What other character could convincingly be written doing things like that?

I love these scenes in which Dumbledore receives a mysterious time traveler. He's always so calm and collected about it. You've written this so well and the memories all coming back at the same time is an awesome device that I've never seen done before!

It's really, really hilarious that she doesn't know what a train is.

There's something different about the Marauders in this story. I'm not sure exactly what it is, but they seem to have a slightly different disposition than I usually read them with. I like them. They're a little rougher around the edges maybe. I think this story is just so original and intriguing! I can't wait for you to update again. Thank you for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Unicorn_Charm Antiquity

13th March 2015:
Hi there! Here for the swap! :)

I love time-travel stories! They're honestly my favorite, so I couldn't not stop here. :D

This was an incredible opening chapter. Like absolutely amazing. From the very first line "They had caught me." Wow, what a way to begin a story! There's now way you can't read on after that! And then while she's describing the fire and all of the other horrible things that are happening to her in that moment, you honestly had me holding my breath. The imagery there was fantastic, horrifying, but fantastic.

That moment after she got away and she heard the man's voice, I so hoped it was a wizard there to help her. So I was incredibly relieved when it was. Everard seemed like a very wise and powerful headmaster. I found myself liking him quite a bit actually. He was very kind and patient with her while explaining everything.

This twist on the time-travel trope is so unique! It's unlike anything I have ever read before, so that is incredibly exciting! I want to know what this ring is and what it does, exactly. I can't wait to see her get to 1977 and what her purpose is for going to that time. And it's crazy that she's already done it multiple times?? I can't not read on after reading this chapter. I don't want to know what happens, I NEED to know what happens!

Excellent, awesome, amazing job on this! I will definitely be back!! Thanks for the swap! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #20, by naflower05 Memories

21st February 2015:
Good chapter! I really like it! I can't wait to see where you go from here! Update again soon please!!! =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #21, by Remus Lupin Memories

20th February 2015:
I am absolutely in love with the story line of this story, and the story in general. I do hope you'll update this wonderful story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's slow progress but it's progress on updating!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #22, by writeyourheartout Antiquity

21st January 2015:
Hello again, Leigh! And Happy Belated Hot Seat Day! ^.^

I love the way this begins! It's immediately intriguing! Must. Know. What's. Happening. O_O

Oh wow. Witch-burning. That's crazy. You write it so well, though. I can feel her panic as well as the haste and disgust and fear of the crowd trying to rid themselves of her 'evil'. The action is great, palpable. And the way we slowly come to realize that this girl, who truly believed she was not a witch and would of course wrongfully burn at the stake, is actually surviving it and is in fact a witch after all.

I also love the way you write this - the more formal, old-fashioned feel of the story carries itself really well here. You capture the era of burning witches really well. Although, I have to admit, I am a bit confused, because isn't this a Sirius/OC fic? But maybe it's AU and I didn't notice... Or perhaps there's simply more to this story than currently meets the eye... Interesting... *continues on*

The way you weave her belief in God and Satan and Heaven and Hell into this is flawless. And the struggles she faces because of her beliefs, because of her fears of what witchcraft implies, was such a clever choice to include, and it really adds a whole other layer to this opening.

The further I read into this second section, the more confused and curious I become! Who is this girl?? If she's only eleven, how can this be her return to the castle? And what did he mean by one too many spins? I feel like I'm missing a big piece of the puzzle! hahaha But I assume this is your intention - to slowly let us in on the secrets surrounding Cecily. And it's working brilliantly, I must say. I am beyond intrigued.

“You see, Miss Mason, this is not our first turn in this scene of your life.” - Whaaa'?!?! This is so crazy interesting! And now my questions from earlier regarding the writing style of this story versus it being a Marauders-era fic makes a lot more sense. Very cool! What a neat idea!

Also... WHAT'S THE THING SHE CREATED?? Dude, I am so hooked. hahaha

“Let us imagine I send you five minutes ahead of now. I tell you that I rather enjoy singing. Then I send you back to now. ... You would not remember the words I told you. Until five minutes pass, and you experience the moment I once sent you forward into. Then, while we may hold a different conversation, you will remember the words I told you.” - Well, this is a neat concept! But he wouldn't remember?? This is crazy and I love it.

And way to leave us on a bit of a cliffhanger. :-p

A few minor details:

The flames flickered up into my throat, my tongue aflame and teeth burning, flames flicking through my pinched lips. - There's a lot of 'flame'-age in this sentence and it feels just a little heavy-handed; too repetitive. Sometimes this sort of repetition can really work for a story, but I think in this case it's taking away from what is otherwise a great opening. Plus, in the sentence that immediately follows this one, you use the word again. And in the paragraph following that sentence, you repeat the word 'aflame'. It's just a bit too much of the same thing one right after the other, is all. I'm definitely not saying get rid of them altogether, only to be a bit more selective about which ones to keep.

They pulled me tight, digging nails into my flesh, *knifes and pitchforks puncturing the skin on my back, throat, arm. - *the plural of knife is knives

Where I came from, men were anything but to a lady, especially a young one such as *yourself. - *Whoops! Switched to second person here. Should be 'myself'.

And that's it! This is brilliant. It's incredibly unique, endlessly intriguing, and very well-written. You're off to a fantastic start with this story and I look forward to seeing how it all plays out! Great job!

Tanya ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by likeness_of_a_seabird Memories

20th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round three!

I really like Cecily. She’s very relatable as a character and seems like the type of person who won’t back down on her beliefs and is very down to earth. Although it seems like she adapts very quickly to new situations, there are still things that confuse her (like what a train is – that was funny, by the way!).

Her ability is very interesting! It would be easy to go overboard with it, but I really like the drawbacks you’ve given her. The fact that she becomes disorientated or nauseous after travelling in time or when something triggers her memory is a very believable side effect. Making her a Seer in addition to a time traveller makes sense to me since the two abilities seem to complement each other.

The Marauders are so cute! I love how they call McGonagall Minnie. It seems like something they would do.

Just what was Cecily sent to do? All I can think of is she was sent to prevent somebody’s death. I don’t know, I may be completely in the wrong here. Why did she have to join Slytherin when the Hat always sorts her to Ravenclaw? I imagine it has something to do with her mission but what? And what were those memories all about? Who were the people she saw? Albus, Ariana and Gellert I recognise but what about the others and what time period where they from? It's all so intriguing! I can’t wait to find out more!

Great chapter!

- Emmi

Author's Response: Hi, Emmi!

I love Cecily too. She doesn't back down and is indeed down to earth. Yes, trains are confusing contraptions :p

Thanks so much! I was afraid that it wouldn't be believable. I spent a lot of time planning exactly how it would affect her.

Yes they are cute :)

Hm, you'll just have to wait and see what she's meant to do. I do like your theories though. Your questions will all be answered in time though :)

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #24, by casual_chaos Memories

10th January 2015:
Hey Leigh!

Okay, this must be one of the most original stories I've seen on this site. There are some familiar things, of course, but just everything about this sounds really unique.

I went and re-read the first chapter, because I noticed you added some things. I was quite confused by the last part of the first chapter but this chapter had cleared up most of it. There are still some parts (okay a lot of parts) that I don't understand but it's the good sort of not understanding, the 'what will happen next?' sort. :D So if you're worried about confusing the readers, don't be - there's just the right amount of confusion!

Of course, I'm really curious about what Cecily needs to do. I have some ideas but I'm not going to share anything because it's incredibly cliched and I think you're a better writer than that, haha. :D

I like how Cecily processes the things around her (What the hell is a train? hahah)! I loved Everard and I think you wrote Dumbledore remarkably well, and the Marauders seemed genuine in the little scene they had. But my favourite part was the flashback she had while travelling through time. I loved it, all the names and memories and images coming back to her. I have no idea how she managed to know so many people and see so many things but boy am I ready to find out.

As for the CC, I only have one little thing to point out - you wrote 'fatal position' in the scene where Cecily is lying on the floor of the office. I guess that was supposed to be 'fetal position'? :)

Time travel has always been one of my favourite themes to read about and I'm really curious about where you're going to take this. :)

Keep up the wonderful work, dear!

Andy

Author's Response: Andy, love!

Thanks! And yes, I decided to split my original second chapter and put some of it onto the end of the first. :p I didn't really mean to, but I figured not a lot of people had read it. :D But I'm glad you're not too confused about everything. I know it can be overwhelming. It overwhelmed me writing it and getting it all in order.

I'm not even entirely positive what Cecily's going to do, honestly :p I've thought of a few. She gets pretty far in depth.

It was so hard getting into her perspective! It took a lot of time with that chapter, and I'm sure it will take a bit in the next few ones until she's transitioned into the world around her. And you'll definitely figure out why and how she knows so many people. But I'm glad you liked that scene! I wasn't sure how I wanted to depict it :)

Oops, typos :p I'll go through and fix that. Thanks for pointing it out!

I've always been interested as well and wanted it to be different than the Hermione/Sirius ones I have read. :)

Thanks for such a wonderful review! :D

-Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by likeness_of_a_seabird Antiquity

1st January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round two!

I loved this chapter. Such an interesting beginning. I loved the way you wrote about Cecily almost being burned to death. Although you didn’t describe it much, I could easily see her on the stake and the bloodthirsty crowd around her, waiting for her death. Very powerful writing, that was. I also liked how you described what Cecily felt; her terror and confusion and that need to get away from her captors when she had the chance were all very palpable.

Another thing I really liked was the old-fashioned language both Everard and Cecily use. Reading their lines, it really felt like I was transported back in time.

Speaking of time travel, I really enjoyed they way you described Cecily’s ability to travel through time. It was a fleeting description, yes, but it left me wanting found out more about her ability and how the time travel works in practice. Of course, I can’t wait to see her actually travelling to 1977 and meeting the marauders. It could be highly entertaining to see how she is adapting to a whole new era and trying to get her around all of the new inventions and concepts. Will she be using the old-fashioned language she normally uses? That could be funny.

What I’m really looking forward to see is how she deals with the marauders and won’t accidentally upset the flow of time. Only time will tell, I suppose. ;)

A great start!

- Emmi

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>