Reading Reviews for Strained
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marlene Emergence

12th March 2017:
This is absolutely amazing!! 😍😍

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow WHAT! That is such a compliment, thank you so much! I'm really happy you're enjoying it :)

Sofia xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Dia Emergence

11th March 2017:
Nice exploration of Alice's character - there aren't enough well written guarded, reserved yet practical woman characters written and I think you're doing a great job :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you, I'm glad you think so!! There is more to come pretty soon.

Thanks again for reviewing, I really appreciate it :)

Sofia xxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by byandie Emergence

10th March 2017:
It was a lovely chapter. Its nice to know a tad bit more about Alice's background and why she acts the way she does. Also, hopefully she'll find a great friend in Emma. :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for reviewing once again, I really appreciate it!

Alice and Emma's relationship will be discussed in the next chapter! Stay tuned :)

Sofia xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by whatsthetimemrwolf Emergence

10th March 2017:
I like the insight into Alice's family! Ugh, I definitely wouldn't be able to work in law enforcement. I think it would be so emotionally draining. I hope Emma turns out to be a good friend to Alice. I think she deserves that. Also, I think Emma is a rather fabulous name (it may or may not be my name).

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. I don't think I'd be able to work in law enforcement either! Seems really tough, mentally and emotionally.

You'll find out quite soon about Emma (next chapter in fact)! I think the name Emma really suits her character too, and it is indeed a nice name ;)

Thank you for reviewing,

Sofia xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dia Down

5th March 2017:
finally, a James/OC story with normal, reasonable, realistic characters! - yet, your characters are not boring, but instead, there's a certain subtle humor that Alice creates. Brilliant, please update soon!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Yayy so happy you like it! I will update as soon as I can! Hopefully it will be what you expected :)

Thanks for reviewing, it really is what motivates me to continue writing!

Sofia xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by luna1306 Down

28th February 2017:
Of course it's still a bit soon because it has only been 2 chapters but I think I'm going to like this story.
I didn't really understand all the fuss around what she said though because she could have just said sorry and then it would have been over. I do think that your characters are very realistic because in most stories everything is so dramatic but in an unrealistic way and here they are way more plain. Because people are not always super special and different sometimes you just need someone that is normale and to who you can relate.

Well anyway after next chapter I think I'll have a clearer view of where this story is going!

△⃒⃘ luna

Author's Response: Hi :)

I'm glad you think you'll like the story!

Yes, I know it can seem a bit dramatic, but we'll explore the subject in more depth later on. And yeah, I wanted to keep the story realistic. The trouble is that sometimes in fanfiction realistic can translate to boring, so there needs to be a nice balance. Hopefully, I have struck that balance :)

Thanks for reviewing xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by byandie Down

21st February 2017:
Hi, so far I really like the way you portray Alice and her emotions. It seems very realistic. I'm looking forward to see how you develop her as a character and how her relation with James is/will evolve as colleagues

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you for your review :) and yes, I'll try to update ASAP!

Sofia xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by scintillated Down

19th February 2017:
i really sympathize for alice! honestly, if i were her - well, i don't know what i'd do, but i feel like she is kind of taking it in stride? i don't really mind what she does, it all gives me a feel for her character. and while i don't have anxiety, i can relate to her to some extent, and i just feel really bad for her! i hope in this story that alice can grow to face her anxiety and maybe overcome it? (i'm not exactly sure how anxiety works so correct me if i'm wrong)

also, the more i read, the more i feel bad for alice, like she was actually proud of herself for saying what could have been witty if she hadn't been saying it to james - i can't wait for james to stop being offended (which could take a while, seeing as he is the son of ginny weasley and her flaming temper).

and finally, this line: "Alice couldn’t force the words out of her mouth, so she said everything was fine, her chest contracting painfully from the lies." i think MY chest is contracting at this sentence, you manage to make me feel so bad for alice, i just want to give her a hug.

overall, you've done a brilliant job weaving characterization in your story so far! i can't wait to see how the plot works out :)

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yeah, well she is trying her best I think, considering she does suffer from some form of anxiety. I'm glad you sympathize with her though and don't see her as overly sensitive or something. But yes, Alice will develop as the story progresses!

And yes, that's exactly what I imagined her feeling haha! It was a great comeback, but you know, some things are also better left unsaid, even if they are witty.

Aw, I'm really glad you like Alice! I wanted to make her relatable. Thanks so much, it's a real compliment :)

Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review! I really appreciate it.

Sofia


 Report Review

Review #9, by scintillated Celebration

19th February 2017:
haha this story seems great so far! i really love alice's character, and the dynamic between james & alice already seems so well set. i always love reading out of hogwarts stories especially, just because there's so many inside of hogwarts - can't wait to see how this story progresses!

also, this: "Not everyone has the privilege of leaving poor Anderson for a night on the town… Only those few lucky ones whose fathers happen to have been Heads in the past.” was such a burn like drunk!alice needs to watch what she says. now onto chapter 2 :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you, glad you're enjoying :)

And yes, I love stories that take place outside of Hogwarts too! I think through them we get to explore another part of the Harry Potter world where everyone usually happens to be over the age of fifteen so the maturity of "real life" is there (not that I have anything against fifteen-year-olds haha, I was one not too long ago).

And yes, Alice is quite the sassy drunk! I loved writing her dialogue. Though her sassiness can get her into trouble sometimes!

Thank you for reviewing xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by mcdash Down

17th February 2017:
Hi! Just wanted to say that I really like this story so far based off the two chapters. I really like Alice's character and her little quirks, although some of her tendencies read as (social) anxiety. If that is the case, I'm really glad to see it represented in a story/fanfiction. I also love Auror department stories, so this is right up my alley. I'll be looking out for the next update!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm pleased to hear that you're enjoying the story so far :)

And yes, I'm glad you caught on to the fact that Alice does suffer from anxiety, probably social anxiety in particular. I was debating whether I should make a statement about it but then decided against it as I wanted readers to kind of guess at it themselves, since anxiety is often something quite subtle, in that people don't tend to notice it in someone unless it's very bad. (Although the story being called "Strained" and the summary quote about anxiety do kind of hint at Alice having some form of anxiety haha.)

I suffer from some social anxiety myself so I thought it would be really nice to portray it realistically in fanfiction, as I haven't seen it done that often before. I guess this story is a bit like me giving expression to my anxiety.

Anyways, thank you so much for reading! An update will be on its way relatively soon; school has just been rather hectic.

Sofia


 Report Review

Review #11, by whatsthetimemrwolf Celebration

10th February 2017:
Seems like a lovely story so far- Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi!

Glad you like it :)

More on the way soon xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login