Reading Reviews for Legilimency
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheButterflyComposer Legilimency

1st September 2014:
This opening is oddly engrossing considering the subject material: four people we know almost nothing about from the canon. Whilst it is rather short, we are told a lot through dialogue (a sign of a good writer) about the characters and the world they are in. I already wish to know more about Teddy and Johanna as they are interesting already. His treatment of her when she comes in with a problem is how many of us would act, namely: beer, biscuits and some kind words.
The descriptions here are wonderfully rich in detail, from mahogany furniture to the colourful and lush apartment (and it's equally colourful resident).
I don't know whether this fiction will continue or not but it is a rather good opening in relatively few words.
That is the only real criticism I can give at this time...that it is too short and I want to know more! This could of course be due to the challenge (and readers should know going in that this is a challenge inspired fan fiction).
Essentially, the plot is set up, we have a gist of who the main characters are and what they are doing. Not bad for such a short chapter. In fact, quite excellent. Bravo.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you like Johanna - she's one of my favorite OCs, so she comes up a lot in my stories. I don't think I'll continue this particular story, but if you end up r&r-ing another one of my stories for the Blue v. Bronze battle this month, you might want to check out my one-shot Cursebreaking in Barcelona - it's a bit long, but it's all about Teddy and Johanna working together after she becomes an Auror.

:) :) Thank you so much for the kind words - again, I really love writing Johanna, so I'm glad that you liked reading her!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Legilimency

1st September 2014:
Hi!

Here for the BvB review batttle!

This was a really cute one-shot. Your writing is so smooth and the dialogue flows nicely. It makes it a really enjoyable read. Even though the story is less than 1500 words long, I'm already engrossed in the characters. I wasn't sure if you've written Johanna Greengrass before, but she intrigues me. I'm interested to know more about her relationship with Teddy. They seem close friends and she seems like a kind, caring person - and I'm really interested to know if she ever is able to master legilimency!

I also really like how you've added little tidbits about the characters - like the fact that Teddy and Victoire have only been dating for two weeks and he is already head over heels for her (so cute! &hearts). Also, Chelsie seems like a really good friend as well.

Nice job on this - I didn't realize it was for The House Cup event three entry until I came to the end and that is a good thing! It didn't read like something that was written within a time limit!

Beth

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. :)

I've definitely written Johanna Greengrass before. She pops up in my Rose/Scorpius stories, because she's Scorpius's cousin, and for the HC last year, I actually wrote a one-shot about Johanna and Teddy teaming up to do some Cursebreaking stuff. I love writing her - she's so much fun. I'm glad that came across!

Thank you so much for your lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Elenia Legilimency

12th July 2014:
Hello, dear ^^

I decided to drop by and leave you a review because it's been too long since I last read something of yours. And I'm glad I did, because this was very lovely ♥

I love it that you had an OC who is friends with Teddy! You don't see that often. Teddy is always paired with Vic and you rarely see him interacting with anyone outside the Wotter family.

Johanna was an interesting character and I could easily relate to her struggles of not learning legilimency easily even though she had mastered Occlumency almost immediately. It's really refreshing to read about struggles of your everyday life.

Teddy gave her really food advice and I could really feel their friendship their with all the support he was giving her.

Your writing is flawless as always. All the details and descriptions made this feel so real and I could easily imagine the scene in front of me. Great work!

Take care!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love Johanna - the story I wrote last HC also had Teddy and Johanna in it. Their friendship is so much fun for me to write, and I'm glad it came across that way you as a reader as well.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by UnluckyStar57 Legilimency

11th July 2014:
Ooh, this was really good! I like the fact that Johanna went to Teddy to talk as a friend and not as an "omg, I have the hugest secret crush on you" fangirl. :)

Teddy really helped Jo out by telling her that the Auror Department was just pushing her harder than the average student. Maybe his encouragement will help her get past her mental block and get some skill at Legilimency. I think it will. :)

This was really well-written, but the conversation between Teddy and Jo felt a little bit off in the middle. The way Teddy was talking, I thought he was going to offer Jo the chance to use Legilimency on him. But it was still a good conversation, nevertheless. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Ooooh, yes. Jo has no romantic interest in Teddy - she just likes to tease him. I wrote about them for the last HC, and she was openly teasing him about Victoire there, too. (Johanna is one of my favorite OCs, so I use her a lot.)

I'll definitely take a look at that conversation. I ended up having to cut some stuff to keep in under the word limit, so that might be the problem. Either way, though, I'll try to tweak it.

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by evil little devil Legilimency

11th July 2014:
Gosh, I just have to start by apologising for leaving a million fragmented reviews on your other story, apparently trying to leaving hearts messes with the html and cuts writing off, which I do not know. I am so sorry!
Now, onto this story!
This was super sweet. I love that you responded to this prompt with more of an everyday type adversity, because while all the post-war stories are amazing and I love them, it is refreshing to see something different.
You wrote her frustration so well! I could really sympathise. It is so hard to struggle with something you feel you should be good at, and everyone expects you to be good at.
And I really enjoyed their friendship. Your characterisation of Teddy was adorable - I loved the part where he offered her a biscuit, it reminded me so much of Remus offering people chocolate.
This was a really lovely story, I really enjoyed it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Aw, no worries!

Thank you so much. I'm glad that you liked my take on adversity - I was afraid that it would come off as relatively minor, considering the really difficult situations so many other people focused on, but yeah - I did want to focus on something more everyday and common rather than FWW/SWW.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlin Legilimency

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I just LOVE your writing! You're definitely one of my favourite authors on here! You've just got such a knack for writing, I love it! I especially love at how all your stories are related to each other. It gives me so much happiness, but I'm not too sure why, haha!

Anyway, poor Johanna! Doing/performing Legilimency would be difficult so she shouldn't beat herself up over it! Yes, she was brilliant at Occlumency but it's very different to be the person having their memories intruded on and being the person intruding into other peoples' memories.

It was so cute how Teddy had pictures of Victoire everywhere even though they'd only been dating for three weeks! Bless his little soul! ♥

Teddy definitely had some of the Remus assurance in him in that moment! It was very sweet to see him acting just like his father :')

I really loved reading this one-shot! You did a great job on it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! ♥ That's such a huge compliment, and I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I'm glad you liked this story so much - I love Johanna and Teddy's interactions, and and I was glad I was able to fit some of them into this HC. :P (Last HC I also wrote a story centered around them!)

Thank you so, so much.


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Legilimency

8th July 2014:
Hi!

This was, again, another really interesting story and you seem to have a knack of exploring areas of the HP world which people often forget about. I really liked Johanna and I thought considering that she was an OC that you built her character up so well and that I could relate to her and like her. Susan was the person I actually started hating on as she had such a harsh manner with her and just sort of expected her to do it, I felt so bad for Johanna because being kicked off the programme seemed as if it would be the worst thing ever for her.

I liked the fact that Teddy was her friend and he was actually really wise and gave really great advice Iím currently feeling a little in awe of him right now and is reminding me of a future Dumbledore :p It was nice to see that he referred to his experiences with Harry too as I like to think of those two being really close and sharing everything. Another thing which I thought was really good was how they tried to find the mental block Johanna must be having right now as that definitely could be the reason for why she couldnít do the spell

This was a really interesting one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked Johanna - she's one of my favorite OCs to write, so she manages to elbow her way into a lot of my stories (including my 2013 HC one-shot, which is all about her and Teddy). That might be why she came off as fairly well-developed - there's a lot of Johanna Greengrass in my head. :P

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggle Legilimency

6th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked the plot of this story and enjoyed reading it. I liked Johanna, and the way you characterised here was great. Even though this was a pretty short story, I felt like I got a good sense of her character. I also liked all the other characters in your story. I thought it was really interesting that you picked Susan Bones to be someone training prospective aurors in Legilimency, and I actually really liked that you picked her rather than someone super well known like Harry or Neville, so it actually also felt more realistic as well.

Teddy was also so cute here, and though Victoire wasn't even physically in this story, I loved how cute Victoire/Teddy was! I also loved the great portrayal of Teddy and Johanna's friendship, and how Teddy knew all the right things to say to make Johanna feel a lot better.

Overall, I really liked your story and I think it's written really well! Also, plotwise, I really liked the adversity in the story here. Awesome story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login