Reading Reviews for Because She Stays
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lightthecandle 1.

4th August 2014:
Hey! Here for the challenge review!
I just love the beginning, describing her love for books just made it seem really realistic and not obsessive at all :) It was kind of sad and beautiful the way you wrote it!
I am literally left speechless, it's such a lovely, sweet story for Storge and I love the way that she's taken such a bad situation (in the beginning) and turned it out. And she eventually did get her romance in the end, it's perfect and adorable!
~Aimee xxx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gladis Gudgeon 1.

31st July 2014:
That was so cute. The whole living through books thing is a bit over done because most people obsessed enough to write fan fiction are like that, but you made it work. Your story made me smile. 9/10
Gladis Gudgeon

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! It made me smile :P
Mary


 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 1.

11th July 2014:
I like all the background on Sarah's life that you gave at the beginning. It set up the pattern for loneliness and solitude that she encountered before she met the other girl. (Did the other girl have a name? Did I miss it by accident?)

I find it interesting that this was written for prompt one because the main focus was not on a magical creature. It was on Sarah and her new friend. But that's okay, because you're really showing the reader that werewolves are people, too, and they aren't necessarily creatures of darkness and decay. :)

Really good story!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: No, you didn't miss it. I both purposely left her name out so it could have been a anybody person while at the same time it was just never needed haha. Yeah, it wasn't your typical showing of how werewolves are not monsters, but it was showing how they can even be the main part of a love story or whatever and it wouldn't be any different just because she is a werewolf. Thank you!
Mary


 Report Review

Review #4, by evil little devil 1.

11th July 2014:
I love that you examined more about how much of a stigma lycanthropy has in the wizarding world. It's so horrible, it's really sad having to watch people struggle through something that isn't their fault, without the help of others. You really highlighted how detached she had to become from the world to survive through her not knowing about the war that was going on.
I'm so happy she found someone who would love her no matter what. This was such a dark story, but also a very sweet story at the same time. It was an enjoyable read :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: It is really sad but believable as we have so many things like it in this world that people are so prejudiced against (re: the HIV victims who Rowling modeled werewolves after). I'm glad you liked that, its hard writing something that you have had no real experience with. Ah, yes, it just makes me smile. They are adorable together :P Thank you so much!
Mary


 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin 1.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was... interesting. I've never actually really read original characters being a werewolf but I guess there's a time for everything! I am curious though as to how Sarah and the other girl (I don't think you gave a name) will deal with the upcoming full moon because the other girl is quite clearly human and werewolves aren't exactly that nice when it comes to meeting humans and they don't have the wolfsbane potion! But oh well, it's not part of the story so I shouldn't worry about it, haha :P

That was so nasty of her parents to throw her out because of something she can't control! Yes, she shouldn't have snuck out against her parents' wishes but still! Bad parenting!

This was a lovely one-shot. I enjoyed reading it :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, I probably should have went a little into how that was going to happen into the story... I'm going back and fixing parts of it now (and I will include how she will do the full moon) but I'll just tell you here. I'm think that she stole some chains that she put into her cave wall, tying herself up so she won't get out. I don't know if you have ever seen The Vampire Diaries, but I'm think along the lines of what the werewolves in there did on the full moon.

Yeah, her parents are not the nicest to say the least haha. But I feel like, with all the werewolf prejudice going on in the wizarding world at that time, I could see that many people would view werewolves as just monsters and not the same people they have always been (before and after the bite).

Thank you so much for the review!
Mary


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 1.

7th July 2014:
Hi! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

I thought this was a super cute little story. It was very brief and easy to read, but at the same time, a lot happened in that short amount of text.

I thought it was kind of weird how her parents would be so worried about werewolf bites as to not let their daughter go out on any night there's a full moon, but then again, some parents are very overprotective, maybe their neighborhood has a werewolf problem, I don't know. But it also seems cold of them that they would just disown her for becoming a werewolf, but she broke they're rules and she paid the consequences, I guess. And people typically seem to be terrified of werewolves.

It's sad that the main character is on her own though, for several years, and completely unaware as to what is going on in the wizarding world. I like that she saved the girl though, and the girl stayed with her, obviously having nowhere else to go if she's running through the woods by herself, wanted by snatchers. I wonder who she is. I thought it was nice how Sarah taught her how to live off the land, and how she finally had someone's company to enjoy for once.

I especially loved the ending where she finally tells the girl her secret, and she just smiles and hugs her, not caring and not being afraid. I would have liked there to have been more to this story maybe, but sadly it is a one-shot.

Anyway, I think you did a fabulous job with this. I only really saw one tiny little typo, at the very beginning, I think you say "bite" when you mean "bit." But you know, close enough.

xxNix

Author's Response: Yeah, I view her parents as very overprotective, and I would think that more parents would do that- especially with younger children- just as most have either seen or heard bad stories about werewolves. I kind of just wanted to keep her as an anonymous wizard so she could really be anyone- though, if she was being chased by snatchers she would have to be muggleborn. Yes, the ending always gives me the feels :P Thanks again!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx 1.

6th July 2014:
Hello!

This was such a cute one-shot! I've always been really sad about the way lycanthropics are treated in the wizarding world, even by their own parents. The way you started this off was so powerful, and I love the way you've used short phrases and clauses to describe each moment. They add greatly to the effect of the story.

Poor kid. I can't believe her parents left her like that. I never really understood that. Parents are supposed to unconditionally love their children, especially the mother. She did give birth to the child after all. This is just heartbreaking.

I wonder who that mystery donor is. :o

There's a typo in the fourth paragraph. You've typed hunger where I think you mean hunter.

In the fifth paragraph, you changed the tense to future, using "will". In the rest of the following parts, you've used simple present. I suggest you change that future bit to simple present as well to make it flow better. :)

Wow, so this was during the peak of Voldemort's power, and she didn't know about anything that was happening. Just eating, and pickpocketing every day and transforming once a month. That seems like such a frustrating schedule!

The other girl, she's so nice! It must be lovely for Sarah to have someone love her after being shunned by her parents and living on her own for so long. And I think that girl knew that Sarah's a werewolf already! Aw, the ending is just the cutest. :')

I loved this, great job!

~Erin

2014 House Cup, Event 5.

Author's Response: Thanks, Erin! I think the wizarding world is really messed up in the fact that it is so behind in it's was of thinking. We see Lupin, shunned his whole life, scared for his own child, and, based off that, I would find it very probably that parent's would (unfortunately) leave their children after they turned. Thanks for pointing those out! I will change them now :P I know, I could never live that way! I need at least my computer and a strong wifi signal to survive ;) Thanks again for the lovely review :D
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #8, by maskedmuggle 1.

6th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw, this was such a beautiful story, despite the small moments of sadness within it. I really loved how you did something quite different from usual werewolf stories and instead, through Sarah's eyes, didn't portray them as beasts. The relationship between Sarah and the guy developed at the right pace in your story and I just loved the way they interacted with each other. The moment that was particularly thought-provoking for me was Sarah's "Thank you for telling me" as that truly embodies a real relationship - unconditional love.

I really liked the plot of this. I thought the way you started it off was really great as it gave me, the reader some background before going into the main part of the story. It also really gave me a different insight into the life of a werewolf, which I thought you wrote about really realistically so that it was all extremely believable. I particularly liked that bit about him taking books to read to live life through the characters there, because I think that's something we can all relate to in some extent. I also found that the story was quite emotion-provoking at different moments. Honestly, I really enjoyed your story and thought it was written brilliantly.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! Well the prompt was to show how these beasts, aren't monsters and I thought it would be cool (and different) to show it from the 'beast's' POV. Hehe, it was with a girl ;) I probably should have given her a name to make it more clear, but oh well :P I almost wanted the whole 'show that these magical beings aren't monsters' to be done as the human being the monster- as they so often as so prejudice- and that, I agree, embodies a real relationship. Thanks again for this wonderful review :)
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login