Reading Reviews for Dragonology
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rosiful The Dragon

14th August 2014:
Hi there!
I'm Rosiful from the forums, here for the Slytherin August review Swap!

Gosh you have so many stories that look absolutely amazing! I'll have to eventually pay the other ones a visit too!
I was drawn to this story though mainly because I love dragons, but I have always wanted to read more about Charlie, he's the one Weasley character that I find is hardly ever mentioned.

I think you totally nailed his passion for dragons, he seemed so excited to meet the dragons for the first time and raced in there straightaway! I loved all your descriptions of the sanctuary, I felt like I could see it in front of me while reading.

One thing I did think was a bit weird though, the Mentor said,
"Well then come along, I’ll show you the beasts you will be working with."
Then two seconds later, "Well then I shall leave you here."
Just seemed a little weird and contradictory, but it did give Charlie his sweet moment alone with the dragon!

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this one-shot!

-Rosiful

Author's Response: Hey!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!
I am glad you liked this story =)
I loved writing Charlie and the dragon so I'm pleased you liked how it all played out with the descriptions and all.
Ah thanks for pointing that out - I'll edit the dialogue when I edit =)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan The Dragon

23rd July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here for the review swap!

I was really excited to read this because I've been writing a short story about a dragon sanctuary and I was super excited to see how another author would go about it. I really enjoyed this, my favourite bit had to be Charlie for sure.

I love how he was so excited to finally get to work with dragons and become familiar with the ones inside of the sanctuary. I really liked your characterization of Charlie in this because I could definitely picture him being the one to notice that a dragon was hurt and immediately trying to help it out. He doesn't even know how these dragons are going to respond to a stranger and he still risks his life without a second thought just to help an injured animal.

I agree that dragons are probably a lot more like other animals in that they respond to love and care. They're probably not going to be too aggressive around people that they see daily. As for Charlie's mentor, you'd think that he would stick around for a little bit just to make sure that Charlie was settling in well but I guess in a dragon sanctuary it's pretty much go go go all the time.

Lovely one-shot!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am pleased you liked this.

 Report Review

Review #3, by lindslo2012 The Dragon

13th July 2014:
Hi there!
Nice to talk to ya again!!! :) It's been awhile.
And as you know I am here for your long awaited review. sorry for the wait... I've been so busy lately!!
Anyway, This was a very touching story to read. Because I have never actually known anything about Charlie from JKR other than he's the oldest brother and he works with Dragons- we never had an insight of who he might be. And now because of you I have an image of Charlie in my head as the character now. Good job! I really think I would be freaking out too if I were him, especially if my mentor left me all of a sudden when I was supposed to be training.
I think that the scene you wrote with Charlie and the wounded Dragon was extremely sweet, it was written perfectly! How cool that the dragon took to him as being someone trying to help. I loved it, good job!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked this!

 Report Review

Review #4, by lexiatel The Dragon

10th July 2014:
Hi, you requested a review at my thread.

This story was amazing and sweet! I do wonder how the Dragon got overlooked, and how did he get the gash in the first place? And why are they kept in captivity like that? Okay, I'll stop being Hermione now.. :/

"Ah Weasley, I have been waiting for you. We need fresh young blood just like yours here,” the man said enthusiastically, shaking Charlie’s hand. “Oh yes, I am Devon Sanders, your mentor." - yeah, no limpers, LOL! I couldn't help to notice everyone is injured. Boy is Charlie in for something... Brave man, he is.

Thanks for letting me read this, sorry for the long wait, hehehe :) If you got anymore, head over to my review thread.

Rated it an 8/10

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked the story. Well, as for all the questions, the answers are for another time, another story xP

Haha of course everyone is injured. They're dealing with dragons xD

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by UnluckyStar57 The Dragon

10th July 2014:
Oh, this is awesome! I love reading about Charlie working with dragons. :)

Ooh, but I felt sorry for him when his mentor left. That's not safe! I know that I would be terrified! Charlie did have some nerves at the beginning, but I like how you showed his nerves sort of dissipating as he looked at the majestical dragons. That pretty much means that he's meant to work with dragons. :D

His dragon healing skills are impressive! He must've prepared extensively to go to Romania and study the dragons. It's really cute how, at the end, the dragon allows Charlie to touch him.

Great story!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing.

I am glad you liked reading this. Charlie was looking forward to Romania for a long time so he is well prepared, and he can handle it without a mentor too.

Thanks


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan The Dragon

10th July 2014:
Aww! This was such a lovely little story! I love that you chose to focus on Charlie's experience with dragons, as he is a somewhat overlooked character and, well, dragons are the coolest.

I liked how you described his nervousness about the first day of work - first days are always a bit nerve-wracking but especially in his case, as this is something he's wanted to do for so long, and it's dangerous enough that any mistakes he might make would be huge and cause him to be sent home. The nervousness is understandable!

I liked your descriptions of the dragons, and particularly that injured Fireball he takes care of. You wrote that scene well, with Charlie talking to the dragon to soothe it while he fixed its leg, and I loved the part when the dragon nudged Charlie like a cat would do, it made the dragon seem a lot cuter! :P It was perhaps a little reckless of Charlie to walk into the dragon's cage in the first place to heal it on his first day without looking for help, but hey, everything turned out all right and he made a new friend :) Lovely story!

House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked the plot. Dragons are indeed cool.

I am pleased the nervousness came across as believable.

I was quite unsure of the whole Fireball scene so its nice to know you liked it. Charlie is reckless, yes, but he is also brave and he is well prepared =)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon The Dragon

9th July 2014:
Howdy!

I really enjoyed this! First off, Charlie is such a forgotten character so it was nice that you focused on him, but I also really appreciated the care you put into the dragon's behavior and reactions. That was so crucial to this story working and so crucial to making sure things ended on a positive note.

There were a few things I did notice while reading through that you might look at if you ever come back to edit. First, on a couple of occasions you used the same exact pair of words in quick succession ("Sebes Mountains" first and later "before him"). This is not a big deal, but rather a simple matter of tweaking so it doesn't sound too repetitious.

The other thing is not really CC, but more a question that your story created in my mind. Dragons are supposed to be incredibly resistant to magic, and yet Charlie is able to heal the injury himself. Do you think dragons have a tailored resistance to offensive magic or does Charlie know something special that you just didn't mention that would enable him to overcome that resistance and heal the dragon? Just food for thought.

Like I said though, I enjoyed the story! Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked that I focused on both Charlie and the dragon's mannerisms.

Thanks for pointing out that little thing about repetition. Initially there was a lot more description but I was going over the word count so I cut it down, and that's how the repetition must have happened. I'll take care of it.

If you remember, Charlie heals the injury with the help of a salve (a potion I'd say) - a special one which he takes out from his dragon keeping kit. That's not exactly magic, but a specially designed salve for dragons so I suppose it would work. As for the wand magic, he only used it to dull the pain but not heal the injuries, and in my head canon, a person who has studied dragonology knows of certain spells which can work on dragons.

Thanks =)


 Report Review

Review #8, by evil little devil The Dragon

9th July 2014:
This was really lovely!
I absolutely love Charlie Weasley, and I dearly wish he'd been further explored in the books that he was. Thank goodness for fanfiction!
I think you really nailed his characterisation - his passion for dragons, his fearlessness, his caring, his sense of adventure - they are are very much how I see him.
This was a really great way to introduce him to dragons. I think it says a lot about him that he was already amazed by dragons before this experience, before he had experienced himself exactly how non-ferocious they can be.
This was such a lovely, sweet one-shot! I really enjoyed it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked his characterisation and the over all experience.

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle The Dragon

9th July 2014:
Hey!

This was so great! I always love reading about different author interpretations of Charlie and dragons, and I really liked your version here of the first time Charlie interacted with a dragon. His characterisation was really fantastic because I could feel his excitement and anticipation, so you did a great job conveying that to the reader. I really liked how his mentor ended up leaving Charlie alone really abruptly, because it meant Charlie had the opportunity to test his skills straightaway by himself, and the whole moment was just so cute to read. I really liked how Charlie completely disregarded the 'danger' and instead immediately set his heart on healing the dragon. The ending paragraph was nicely written - I loved the lines about how dragons aren't necessarily dangerous and are instead magnificent and beautiful. Really enjoyed reading this!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello. Thank you for reading and reviewing. I am pleased you liked my version of Charlie's interaction with the dragon. It's also nice that you liked his characterisation and could feel his emotions too. If I hadn't had to cut down the story due to the word count constraint, it'd be shown that the mentor actually left him to test Charlie - it's a kind of 'testing' they do with all newbies, and the mentor is actually hanging around discreetly to see how they fair.
I am glad you liked this overall, and the ending paragraph too. thanks


 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlin The Dragon

8th July 2014:
Hey, Aditi!

First of all, I LOVE DRAGONS! So I loved this one-shot! And seeing Charlie act all tenderly and caring for the poor lil baby was so heartwarming :') I loved how it was so wary and annoyed at Charlie at first but as soon as he fixed him, he was just like a big baby puppy :'D

I was instantly jealous when Charlie got to pat him! I refuse to believe that dragons don't exist so one day WHEN I finally meet one, I'm going to pat it! But for now I'll just content myself with reading this story!

I think you really captured Charlie's personality well here! He's such an interesting character, especially as we don't know /that/ much about him but he seems very believable here! I was about to say he seemed a bit too serious but then again, it was his first day so it definitely matched up!

Great one-shot!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey! Haha I love dragons too xD I am pleased you liked my one-shot and my portrayal of the dragon. It was cute, wasn't it? I kind of pictured him that way too hehe.

I hope you do get to meet a dragon someday, pat him, and make it out alive xP

Thank you for all your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Iellwen The Dragon

6th July 2014:
In the name of the House Cup 2014, I review thy story! :D

Ever since I saw your post in the Title Help section, I wanted to read about Charlie's first encounter with dragons! ^^ I love that you chose to stay with the original title since I still think it's perfect :D and because you managed to incorporate it into the story!

How awesome is it to have helped a dragon on your first day (no thanks to that mentor that wasn't really useful ^^ But I guess it's a tough job, caring for dragons, so there isn't much time to hold the new guy's hand all the time) and probably making the coolest friend ever?!

I love the details you put in; the stare of the dragon that led Charlie to acknowledge this was a rather safe situation, the growl, the sparks and the flapping of the wings!
And that you described the surroundings, considering the word limit for the prompt! Even if he's a tough guy, Charlie still chose a career path caring for huge, dangerous animals - but that's still caring for animals, so of course that means he's a sensitive guy!
You even named the mountains, placing the scenery, making it real and I can totally picture Charlie Apparating, seeing the mountains and drinking in the gorgeous view, breathing in the fresh air and smiling. The beginning of something great, you know? ^^

I love the name "dragon sanctuary", it sounds soothing and peaceful. A dragon haven. I'd love to work there too ♥

Also, this is my first time reading about Charlie on his own, caring for dragons and this was a really nice experience!
I love his philosophy; you showed perfectly that dragons are animals, not monsters (I mean, during the Triwizard Tournament, those were mothers protecting their eggs so you can't expect them to welcome you xD)

Would you consider transforming this one-shot into a short-story or a collection or a sequel? :D I'd love to read more ^^

*Gee
GO SLYTHERIN!! ^^

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am glad you enjoyed this =) I don't think I will turn this into a longer story any time soon, but maybe someday in the future xD

 Report Review

Review #12, by Remus The Dragon

6th July 2014:
Hello, Perelandra from the forums dropping by for a review!! :D I'll be writing the review as I read along the story.

I've never read a story with Charlie as the main character, he's always there with the other Wasleys, so I'm really excited this. So far I'm really enjoyed the narrative. I liked how easy it was for me to picture everything that was going on and your choice of words really helped the flow.

Wait...why is his mentor leaving? Haha! I would be freaking out if I was given a mentor who then vanished on me! He didn't even tell Charlie what his job was or what he was to do! What kind of mentor is this?

I recently watched How to Train Your Dragon 2 and reading this story makes me want to be in Charlie's shoes even more!! I'm not surprised that he helped a dragon in need. He always felt to me as this guy who has the "tough guy" appearance but is really a softie on the inside.

Anyway, this was a great one-shot! I have to say though, congrats on achieving this story for the House Cup. I tried it once, and it was very stressful. Haha.

House Cup 2014 Review

Until next time!!
--Rosie

Author's Response: I am glad you liked this. Thanks for reading and reviewing. It sure is very stressful!

 Report Review

Review #13, by The_Crookshanks_Saga The Dragon

6th July 2014:
I have to say this was a very good story for a prompt one. Charlie and the dragon's bond will certainly never break after this :).

If there's one thing to criticize, it's the rather cliche and corny lines and descriptions that pop up every now and then. Like the ending line- that was a bit corny, and seemed like a give-in, wrap-it-all-up line that didn't do justice to this great story. Also, a "carpet of green" and a picturesque valley straight out of a painting is a bit nondescript now that they've been overmilked. How about (just a suggestion comparing it to the place Charlie was just seconds ago, to make the difference more profound. Or comparing it to the Burrow, the set in Charlie's life that the readers know best.

Also, if Charlie was, as you put it, "a tough guy" would he really have act so nervous (I would think excited), or admire the view like its a tasteful painting (of course he would, but not like a tenured art critic- you're forgetting his brother is Ron). Basically, at some points, I felt that you forgot that Charlie's personality will influence his actions and instead took the easy, neutral route- something you never want to do.

Overall, though, I love this story, dem feels, and the supercalifragilisticexpealidocious plot (excuse the spelling errors, please!) Until next time!

-Meena

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked the story and the plot so much =) I'll keep your comments about description in mind when I go back to edit.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lostmyheart The Dragon

5th July 2014:
Hi :)

I'm finally here for the review I offered yesterday. Sorry for the wait.

I've never read any story with Charlie as the main character, so this was so refreshing and what a great contribution for the House Cup! (Go snakes!) :P
It was so well-written, and I liked how he helped the dragon and didn't call for more experienced workers. I believe it showed a very caring side of him, that he focused more on the dragon and its wound than on his own safety (which could probably not have gone well).

Thanks for a great read!

- Avi

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
I am pleased you liked my characterisation of Charlie and the whole situation. Thanks.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Veritaserum27 The Dragon

4th July 2014:
Hi!

I'm here for the review swap.

Oh my gosh! This was so sweet. I LOVED IT! The only Charlie Weasley stories I have read have not been canon, so I was very excited to see someone tackle his first day on the job with dragons.

You've done an excellent job with the descriptions. The two men that Charlie first meets are a bit intimidating with all of their scars and quick appearances/disappearances in the story. I liked that you chose to make this about just Charlie and his dragons - because that is what is so incredibly important to him.

Also your descriptions of the dragon sanctuary were beautiful. I felt like I was there, in the peaceful rolling hills, listening to the distant roars of the dragons. I could feel both Charlie's excitement at the first day of his dream job and his contentment at finally reaching the pinnacle of his heart's desire. - So great!

You've also portrayed Charlie as a natural healer. It was his instinct, rather than his studies that brought him to help the injured Chinese Fireball. He has a connection with the beasts on a deeper level.

Great job with the prompt. Dragons are beautiful, but intimidating and not everyone has a positive experience with them. I really enjoyed reading this! Thanks for doing the swap!

~Beth

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. I am glad you liked this. Initially, before I cut down the story due to word count constraints, there was more to the two men as well, but I'm glad it didn't come across as weird and you liked it over all despite their appearances/disappearances.

It's nice to know you liked my characterisations, descriptions, and over all feel of the story. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Josette_Phoenix The Dragon

4th July 2014:
Can I just say firstly - you had me at the Eric Bana banner (haha Bana banner) ... at least I think it's Eric Bana, right? Anyway, anyway, sorry!

It's great how straight away we're in Charlie's head - how he's a tough guy, but now he's really nervous. I think you've really pinned him right - I know we don't see that much of Charlie in the books, but this story pretty much figures into exactly how I picture him. The bit near the beginning when he suddenly realised he's finally about to face a dragon, and his nervousness disappeared to be replaced by excitement did it for me - stupid Gryffindor through and through :P It reminded me of when Harry was facing the Horntail, and when he got on his Firebolt all his fear suddenly disappeared. That he was grinning the whole time and especially when he went into the Fireball's enclosure without a second thought really got that devil-may-care bravery across.

Speaking of - I wouldn't have believed it, but you made a fiery dangerous dragon seem cute. CUTE. I was all like aaw, when it whined as Charlie fixed its leg, and when it nudged his hand.

You described the reactions of the Fireball really well, too! The cautiousness at first, then how it barely seemed to heed Charlie as he came a little closer, being too weak, and the abating growls as he fixed the wound. It was also great when you mentioned that the other dragons in the enclosures barely noticed the keepers, as they were used to them. You could have written it like they were uncontrollably dangerous, which is what I would have though to write at first, but I see that it makes more sense that the dragons are all kind of "tamed" (to a degree, at least).

It was good to see that soft side of Charlie too, when he was speaking softly to the dragon to calm it. I often see him as that rugged tough-guy, but I guess now that I think on it, you'd have to be pretty cautious and sometimes quiet while dealing with dangerous fire-breathing beasts!

Oh, being in Romania was a great little detail, too - especially in the mountains where it'd be safest to keep dragons ;)

Well done, this is a great little snapshot into Charlie's career!!

Cheerio :D

Author's Response: Hey there =)

Haha it's actually Sean McGowan on the banner but I'm glad you liked it anyway xD The TDA artists are indeed lovely.

I am pleased you liked how the story started off with straight into Charlie's head. I had more to the story actually but I had to cut it down and tweak it to meet the word limit of the House Cup lol.

Indeed, I kind of adopted Harry's devil-may-care attitude here - Gryffindors after all - and I am pleased you enjoyed that.

Haha it's awesome that you found the dragon cute, to be honest I pictured it in a cute manner too in those scenes xP

I was quite unsure of the Fireball's reactions so it's a relief to know you liked them. I figured it would make more sense if they were slightly tamed rather than just wild - especially since it was Charlie's first day and his mentor left him alone there.

I am pleased you liked Charlie's soft side too, along with the details of the mountains.

Thanks again =)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login