145 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Request Pending

21st December 2014:
Em!! Em! Em! EM!!!

Oh my! This chapter!! I can't even right now! Ok... I think I've calmed (slightly). I laughed SO much during this chapter. Al trying to get her to play fetch was one of the best things I've read! I'm honestly surprised that she didn't bite him. Her thinking about how unsanitary it was and then thinking of the of trajectory and the velocity of the ball was just so HER and so funny! I absolutely adore Annett. ♥

I figured that Scorpius knew who Fufu really was when she noted how he didn't greet her like a domesticated pet hahaha. And then when they asked Al for the map!! I laughed out loud because I just KNEW what was going to happen as soon as he looked at it. Oh my goodness, that was priceless! :D And Scorpius knew and never told him! I loved his whole Peace out! attitude when he transformed her back into Annett. Again, hysterical!

Flirty Annett made a brief reappearance again. She was totally fine with just laying on top of Al for a moment. ;) I loved the whole conversation between them! I love that he handled it as well as he did and that another fight didn't erupt between them. Their relationship really is growing at this point. I don't care how many times you tell me they're not going to be together, I know they're going to be together! :p

OHMYGODSHEACTUALLYASKEDFORSOMEONE'SHELP!!! That is HUGE, Em!! HUGE! (Lots of shouty caps in this review, I apologize... kind of)

This chapter was everything! I can't even. I seriously just can't even! I loved it!! I can't wait to read the next chapter and now I won't have to wait as long for updates!! (Congrats again!! *tosses more confetti*)

Massive bear hugs, tons of love and buckets of Butterbeer,
Meg ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm Chaos Premeditated and Chaos Improvised

13th December 2014:
Em! Em! Em!!

Oh those sneaky Slytherins! I still love how Annett actually has Mrs. Norris on her side haha. I'm telling you, I really think it's because she's getting old and wants to get into Kitty Heaven. ;) "I want to see your best glares tonight. Now let's have some fun." was just uber funny to me. Lots of giggling there. :D

The atmosphere of that party sounds awesome. It sounds like a some kind of dingy, underground rave. I just picture strobe lighting, colorful lights, fog all around and the students' skin almost looking colorful in the dark. I love it.

Do a lot of people spell her name incorrectly? That almost seemed like when JK purposely put in the correct pronunciation of Hermione in GoF haha. And I loved "May your union with the lady be a functional and durable one." Seems about as romantic as Annett gets. ;)

Bahahaha! Her reaction to Teddy hoping she finds someone just as special in her life was priceless! I can't get enough of how she reacts to emotional moments.

"I raise an eyebrow and open my mouth to tell him that his parents already named him James. I laughed so hard at this!

She's very powerful to be keeping up a spell while she's in a deep conversation with James. That must have taken a lot of work. Speaking of her conversation with James. I can't even imagine what the prank would be like if the Incog Imps joing forces with the Wotters and friends. They might blow up the school!

The way that everyone is moving around, it's like they're ninjas! Or Secret Service or something haha. I love how James automatically let's Al take Annett away from him. That little wink at the end, I think he's aware there is something between them. Even if they haven't exactly realized it themselves yet.

Ooh! Al makes her feel better about her fear of crowds and closed spaces! How freaking cute!

Oh my goodness! That prank was so cool!! I can't believe the amount of magic that had went into that. With everyone slowly levitating the floor all night. Crazy. And all of those balloons and fluff and then then fireworks from the Wotters! It just sound like the most fun ever! I don't care how old you are, you're never too old for a bouncy castle, or the like. That was amazing, Em! I loved it! Loved, loved, loved it!!

Now. On to your Author's Note. I refuse to accept that Annett is ending, so that sentence is non-existent to me. This story will continue on forever more. *crosses arms tightly and hrumfs*

Awesome chapter, once again!! And Em, this is my 200th review!! *releases balloons and confetti*

Can't wait for the next chapter!! ♥

Much love, hugs, cake (to celebrate the review milestone) and Butterbeer flavored candy,
Meg

 Report Review

Review #3, by crestwood Creative Output: Mischief

10th December 2014:
Hi Emilie - I'm just stopping by because I miss you and wanted to read this again. It's really been forever since I've read over it.

You know - Roisin is the best beta ever, as I've told you and she's given me all of these ideas for beta methods (not to mention writing) and I actually hope we go back over this story once you finish because we've both gotten so much better and I am not ready to let this treasure of a story go.

It's funny seeing Annett excited about Alchemy, considering how it ends up going. I'm so obsessed with the fact that she can create diamonds out of thin air and you found a way to make it make sense scientifically. THIS STORY IS MY PLAYGROUND.

Rose-is-here-isis is beautiful and I wish I had thought of it. I love any mention of a waltz in fiction. Don't even ask why it just makes me happy, it makes for excellent metaphors.

Okay, Al asking James if he knows what and where the library is confirms that he is indeed just like me. I mean, I can't think of a more Joseph-esque thing to ask a person.

So happy you acknowledged that witches and wizards live longer than normal!! It's such a pet peeve of mine when people ignore that.

I can't even imagine what I would do in Annett's situation. As if I would sit in a class that ignores particle physics. Like, what would I do with the basic elements? Master them all and become a fully realized Avatar?

It's settled - the reason Alchemy is an under-appreciated subject at Hogwarts is because it is completely stagnant.

I love that Annett has such a mean streak because: SLYTHERIN HOUSE. We're all secretly so capable of this sort of thing. The best part is - we're smart about it and it always goes our way. BEST HOUSE EVER.

Love this story so much, can't wait to come back.

Author's Response: Joseph,

Many apologies for the late reply, I've not been feeling too well these last few days. Thank you so much for your review! And with the two TIMO??, I'm working on, you won't really have to let it go too soon.

Well, then I suppose that makes me Fisher-Price, doesn't it? :P

Bahaha! Always goes our way? Well shall see about that, wont we?

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Paula Chaos Premeditated and Chaos Improvised

4th December 2014:
Hello,

This story has been a blast for me so far. I'm studying molecular microbiology and immunology (for my doctorate), I took two years of German in High School, and I took eight years of mixed martial arts as a kid. To say that I relate to this character is an understatement. It's finals week so I'm hoping you'll post soon to help me survive the stress!

Keep up the good work,
Paula

Author's Response: Dearest Paula,

You're amazingly sweet. Thanks abundantly!

So I know I should take this as some sort of reassurance, but I'm worried now if I happened to mess anything up. [eyes darting left and right in paranoia]

I am extremely delighted to say that you more than just relate to Annett. You've just made my so happy! :D THANK YOU!!! Do you accept virtual hugs? Because I'm offering one.

I will, I promise!! Best of best of luck on your finals and I hope to hear from you again whether that be on here or around the forums if you're there.

Also, under the assumption that you are the prokaryote who favourited both me and my story, I offer even more virtual hugs and copious thanks for that. Your support is invaluable to me.

Most sincerely,
Em


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ginbun Chaos Premeditated and Chaos Improvised

4th December 2014:
When are Annett and Al getting together? I was waiting for that, especially after they made up after the fight. I think you should add some "alone time" or "awkwardness" from now on.

Besides this, great story!

Author's Response: Dearest Ginbun,

You would think I'm aiming for an Al/Annett pairing. . . but everyone forgets about Arden [tries to ignore your pointed glare]. . .

[succumbs to your glaring] No, please! I jest, I jest.

When indeed! I suppose it takes time for these sort of things in real life. Their friendship is like a very weak chemical buffer. It takes some effort and time to get back to equilibrium after that kind of stress has been put on it.

Thank you so much for reviewing and I really do hope to 'hear' your thoughts again (especially with what's coming) ;)

Abundant thanks,
Em


 Report Review

Review #6, by happyanon Chaos Premeditated and Chaos Improvised

2nd December 2014:
Its ending!? What what WHAT!? BUT BUT.. WHAAAT!!!? I HAVE NO WORDS. this prank despite being one is actually beautiful. I really want to know how their lives will continue after hogwarts. Like will Annett finally have a boyfriend or somwthing

Author's Response: happyanon,

I realise now how suitable that username is for you because your reviews genuinely make me happy.

IT IS ENDING! BUT IT WILL CONTINUE! I hope. . .

Aww, thank you. It is such a relief to hear that! And, not to worry, I have plans for a continuation be that in the form of a prequel or a sequel or a spinoff (or maybe even all of those). And I'll remember to address the future as well. :D

Thank you so much,
Em


 Report Review

Review #7, by casual_chaos Spontaneous Combustion of Dairy Products: A Prologue

30th November 2014:
Hello Em!

I am so very inrigued by this story! I like Annett's voice; honest, dry and witty. She really stands out in terms of NextGen main characters and I can't wait to find out about her endeavors in Hogwarts. Another thing I like about her is that she is not exactly the most loveable character. As in, if she were a real person, some people would probably be offended or at least irritated by her cynicism and generally cold attitude so the fact that you have that sort of character in a leading role is one of my favourite things about this story.

I loved the rest of the cast as well, especially Teddy (the ''Mehh.'' part was really funny). And ah, I was so happy to read that her mum was a molecular biologist because that's what I study in college and I love reading fics that have a bit of science incoroprated in them. I'm really looking forward to reading those aspects of this story (and I'm sure Annett will have a lot to say about it).

I've caught a few typos/errors while reading but I didn't write them out because I don't like to do that when it's not a requested review. :) However, if you want me to point them out in my future reviews (in case I happen to notice any), I'd be happy to do so. I'm curious though, is it common to write 'genus' with a capital G? I've never seen it before. I think that the correct way to write that would be 'genus Lupinus', instead of 'Lupinus Genus'. Also, the name of the genus, even when it stands alone, is usually italicized. But I know that this is a fanfic and you really don't have to bother with rules of scientific nomenclature so I apologise for nitpicking. :) (But I loved the significance of the plant species he chose to transfigure the pencil into!)

Aaand, not to forget - your banner and chapter image are perfect and I love the fact that they are hand-drawn (by you, I assume).

All in all, I'm really excited about this and I'm looking forward to learning more about Annett and what the 'S' thing from the summary is all about. You have created a very original character and gave her a solid background story - great job! :)

Andy

Author's Response: Good day to you, Andy,

Your review ensures me that all I have hoped to do with this story is working. Thank you so much. Honest, dry, and witty summaries what I tried to convey with extreme accuracy. Loveable, Annett is most certainly not. You may even go on to describe her as mean. And I do love playing with people's perceptions of her. I am extremely delighted to hear that you love this story for the unloveable main character! :D :D

Are you really? Well, I'd love to chat with you about molecular biology. Also, I may count on you to point out anything scientific that I may have messed up in the future. Re-requests are inevitable at this point. She will indeed!

I wouldn't mind you pointing out any errors at all, in fact I encourage you to do so. I try to optimise this story in whatever way I can. Your help would be invaluable to me. Thank you so much! And no, I suppose it isn't common to do that. Thank you for pointing that out! Nitpicking is absolutely fine. I do not mind at all. :)

It's amazing that you've noted the significance of the plant in the very first chapter, because I only expand on that idea in future chapters. ;)

Awww, Andy. . . THANK YOU! You assume correctly, yes. I picture a collage as the contents of her mind. So, as this is a documented internal monologue, I thought it might fit. You are too sweet!

Ahh, the 'S' thing is very, very subtle. It's not exactly explicitly pointed out, but as you go through the chapters, you may or may not notice some areas in which the 'S' thing is applicable. It was mostly due to my unnatural adoration for abundant alliteration. I am really excited to hear that you're really excited! Thank you, so, so much for this encouraging review! It's face-splitting grin-worthy, it is.

Virtual hugs? Do you accept them as a form of exhibition of extreme gratitude?

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #8, by happyanon The Effectiveness and Efficacy of Combined Action

29th November 2014:
Hello! My last review was awhile back wasnt it? I got busy with my review class since exams are getting closer but i had a break today so off we go! I absolutely love how she takes care of Ronan and how shes very careful with it too. Her relationship with Carter is so adorable I honestly think she sees him as her younger brother. Also Carter is such a smart boy its impressive how he knew who the imp was. I was also abit shocked when scorp and al knew tho. Also i sort of enjoyed her argument with al, I was like nodding my head while she was telling him of thinking to myself that she had a point. But I do have a feeling someone knows shes fufu tho. And yey for her joining quidditch. Also her papa is so awesome. His letter really did make me smile. I also am a fan of how she just enjoy her reputation on how she doesnt let it get to her and instead uses it to her advantage. I think its exceptional. Also, the tsetse fly. I had likena moment where I was like "I totally know this and Im so happy of how much i actually know about this" it felt like I was having my review just reading that part. Im grateful for it. You write so well i hope you continue updating. I hope to read more from you. Also i still wanna know why albus cant sleep. I know he sleeps well with fufu but why cant he sleep?lol xoxox

Author's Response: Hi again, happyanon,

Oh yes, it's exam time. I wish you the best of best of luck, if you need it. ;)

Aww, it's so sweet of you to notice all of that. Annett does have the ability to take care of someone's life, doesn't she?

Also, that is exactly what I intended to do with Carter. He notices things. Add that to the fact that she's been tutoring him for so many years, and a little brother is almost exactly what he becomes to Annett.

I am super delighted to hear that you actually agreed with the argument and didn't find it unreasonable in the slightest! That is such a relief to me. :D

Do you have that feeling? Hmm. . . Perhaps. We shall see, won't we? ;)

She needs a lesson in team work, I figured, haha.

Her papa really is! I am extremely pleased to see that you notice him and think that! I adore working with him.

Hee hee. It's extremely fun to explore Annett's character so it makes me so happy to hear that you enjoy reading about her. She's not absolutely invulnerable, you're right. It's seemed natural for her to not completely enjoy people being scared of her all the time, but that wouldn't stop her from using it to her advantage, would it?

Bahh. All your compliments. happyanon, you make ME happy.

Haha. You are most welcome! I'm glad you could use it in that way. And, boy, I hope I'm not getting anything wrong. I would love to hear about what you've learnt about Sleeping Sickness and trypanosomes and their vectors and invite you to correct if I mess up any details regarding anything.

Thank you so much! You're too sweet, happyanon, much too sweet! I will continue updating, you can count on it. ;) And I will write more, most definitely. I hope to continue this into a series.

Why indeed? Not to worry, we'll get to that. ;)

Reciprocated 'x's and 'o's,
Em


 Report Review

Review #9, by Shinicha The Effectiveness and Efficacy of Combined Action

23rd November 2014:
Another chapterr!!

First of all, thank you so much for your author's responses, I'm really happy that you find my comments helpful, and of course it's my pleasure to read&review! (But I think I expressed myself confusingly when I asked about the secret hiding place of Annett: I hadn't forgotten that it was in the library, but in the last chapter it is actually never mentioned where she is at when Al finds her, that's why I asked if it was, in fact, her hiding place!)

This was such a great Quidditch game and such a Annett-ish way to perceive it. The way she describes the crouds as fireworks and how she struggles to fight with the anxiety was really well written. And the whole chapter was so funny! I'd like to see that stunt where Indra and Davied actually SWITCH their brooms in mid-air, haha. This is quite elaborate.

It's so hilarious how she switches between full-on concentration on the game with her computer-like analytic skills and "reality". The flirting with Jordan was probably the best bit, so hilarious, ahaha.

I think it's good the way the game turned out. It was Annie's first game after all (I think I'll stick to that nickname now :P ) and it fitted that she'd need time to adjust. You really used a lot of imagination on it too (as usual pushing the boundaries of what we conventionally think about Quidditch) - I think noone ever imagined a game played without broom!

And the moment Al caught her I was actually holding my breath. Sooo cute! It almost made MY skin tingle *swoon*

The upcoming prank has had a long innuendo, I can't wait for it to happen. I honestly have no idea what it could be, but it must involve some complicated mechanical installations if takes so long to prepare and all kinds of equipment. Whoa.
The misunderstandings between James&co and Incog Imp are awesome. You know when there was this fake-article on Banksy's (the street-artist) capture in the news a few weeks back? It made me think of Incog Imp - only the other way round! Noone really knows if Banksy is a single individuum but everyone just assumes it, just as with Anett where everyone simply took it for granted that there must be several persons behind it. (which they now actually are, which is, again, so cool)

I liked the Slytherin way of dealing with their loss, and how it perplexes Annett. Fundamental Attribution Error, oh Annett!

Just small things about the German:
"Damn it" doesn't translate to "Verdammt es", it's just "Verdammt"
And maybe instead of "Dankeschön" (written jointly) "Vielen (, vielen) Dank" is better (dankeschön is very formal, not what you'd say when you're stirred up)

Anyways, wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Shinicha!!!

As always, you and your helping me optimise my story is much appreciated! :D What would I do without you? I am thinking of extending this into a series, what would you say about helping me with some translations before I publish the chapters? Is that okay with you? May I please bother you about it? It won't be for a while, though. I need to actually write it first. And only if you're okay with it. :)

I do, I do! It's delighting to see that this is a mutually beneficial kind of thing. And yes! Yes they were. I realise now I didn't say that, did I? Oopsie. I'll go and fix that. THANK YOU!!

Bahh! I'm super pleased to hear that you liked that. It is! I suppose the game evolved the way other sports evolve. ;)

Goodness gracious, yes, Annett still the highly analytical and really cruel flirt we all know and love. :P

Precisely! I am so glad you think so! Practice and competing are quite different. She really does need a bit of adjusting.

Awww, thank you so much, Shinicha! I try. Bahaha! You say that if pushing conventional boundaries is the norm for me. :D Thank you.

That's exactly what I was going for in terms of reaction from readers! Wow. I am super, super pleased to hear that it worked. It reassures me that I'm probably doing something right when I feel like I don't know how to write sometimes.

Bahaha! So glad you see that you think so! That's a really interesting connection you made there! I hadn't thought about that before. Hmm. . . you're absolutely right.

Thank you again for all your reassurances that my jokes work. That relieves me endlessly.

And another wonderful, smile-inducing review for yourself!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unicorn_Charm The Effectiveness and Efficacy of Combined Action

16th November 2014:
Em!!! Em, Em, Em, EEEMMM!

I LOVED this chapter! Loved, loved, loved, loved it!! That Quidditch match was incredibly exciting! Oh my goodness! I can't believe her observational skills. They blow me away constantly. I think I may have said this before, but I'll say it again, I would not want to play poker against her haha. I love how pretty much the entire Gryffindor team are Wotters. That seems horribly appropriate.

I was really nervous for her when the match first began. She was starting to lose it a little bit with all of the people and noise and such. Buuuttt... Al. :D She calmed down because of Al! How freaking cute! I thought that whole match was written really, really well. I saw the whole thing playing out in my mind and was a nervous wreck the entire time. I couldn't believe when she was knocked off her broom and just dangling there. And the determination she showed, but swinging herself back up, and standing on the hoop, trying to block the goals that way. Holy moley!

I laughed so hard when she blew kisses at Jordan and then did the "X" at him. Hahaha that was great, and SO her! I love how Annett is still herself, yet growing with each chapter. Her development has been extraordinary.

AL CAUGHT HER AND SHE HUGGED HIM!! Ahhh!! That is like a MAJOR step forward for them! I can't contain my *squee* at this moment, Em!! :D I'm almost bursting with happiness!

Did James actually hand her plans for his prank against her?! Hahaha! That's fantastic! I can't wait to see what this prank on the party is going to be. Spiked drinks, possibly? Make it rain on the party? Sleeping potions? I want to know! Bah!

I am in awe of you, Em. Every chapter just keeps getting better and better! I can't wait for the next update, and will bother you incessantly until it is finished and/or in the queue. ;)

So much love, tons of hugs and lots of cake flavored adult beverages,

Meg ♥

Author's Response: Meg!!! MEG, MEG, MEG, MEG MEG!!! [runs around wildly, arms flailing]

I am super sorry for such a late reply! :(

Wahh! I'm so thrilled to hear that you loved it!! Now I've got to write a scene with Annett playing poker. That's too good to pass up. Hmm. . . maybe when I extend this book into a series type of thing? I GOT IT! She'll be like some sort of mafia. Her main source of income will be from all that illegal underground gambling she does when she's not swimming in a sea of that income or getting inked.

Yes. . . Al. ;)

Bah! I am super happy to hear that you liked how that match played out. Excitement was my goal, so to hear that it was attained is such a relief.

Extraordinary development?! Aww, Meg. . . aww shucks. You're so sweet. Much squee, but not too much because I don't want to crack the screen of my laptop. I am delighted to hear that you think she's still very Annett because that's all I intended to show.

[waggles eyebrows] Ya, what happened to extreme physical discomfort?

Bahaha! Oh, Meg. Almost bursting because happiness is diffusing into your system and it's nearly causing your cells to undergo lysis?

He's just handed her the invitation for the party not necessarily the plans I should specify. But we'll see more of this in the next chapter. ;) I am super excited to read what you think of it!!

Meeeggg. . . Thank you [the customary mauling of Meg with hugs with every review/review response]!! Thank you so, so much! Your support and encouragement, as you know, but as I must stress, is amazingly heart-warming.

Ooooh. Goodies! I get goodies.

Reciprocated love to the fifth order of magnitude, hugs, and offer to share cake flavoured with adult beverages,
Em :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Shinicha Developmental Revelations

11th November 2014:
omg omg omg SO AWESOME. This chapter had EVERYTHING. Humour, feelings, thoughts, plot development.. hach.
The conversation betwenn Annett and Al was so SQUEE worthy, I can't even properly describe how GREAT it was to read. The tension was almost feasable. I coudn't help but think KISS KISS KISS every few seconds. But I guess that wouldn't really work for two people that shy. NEVERTHELESS. I love you so much for this chapter.

I also had really beautiful descriptions and choices of words. The sentences flow in the right pace and still I was happily surprised by those quirky wordings and expressions. (And this: "Like an the head of a emu buried in the ground. Shy, but very much there." was just cute.)

The language misunderstandings were SO funny, my flatmate gave me a strange look when I was laughing loudly and didn't stop while reading... And the whole conversation in general was pretty ingenious. (REPUTATION!) Overall, I think your skills at writing dialogues have improved immensely, I never get confused as to who is speaking anymore and they start and end at the right points and are interrupted by description in a perfect way. It's really a pleasure to read. *hearts*

And plotwise I'm so thrilled that Al and Scorp are now part of the Incog Imp. WHATS THE PRANK. Can't wait to find out. Tell us more about their scheming, pleeaaassee?

Just a few questions:
The place were Al finds Annett, is it her secret hiding place behind the library? I guessed that it was, but it wasn't mentioned so I was wondering. Or is it another secret place we cannot know about yet?

And why would Annett deionise water? Isn't that usually for ironing and stuff? :o

Here I was a bit confused: "It was the morning Ronan told me he slept well for the first time. Now he can't even do that!" I thought Ronan was doing better? :( Or did she only later find out that he only has insomnia about once a week?

Here's just a small typo: "He say it's not something he cannot handle."

"...tame his nervous system on the moments they act up" And I'm not really sure, because I'm bad with this kind of grammar stuff, but I think it would be "in" or "during" the moments?

And here my usual annoying obsession with tenses xD (sorry for that).. "When I looked up at it, I saw that Al's face openly expresses his concern."

Thanks so much for this great chapter!

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

First of all, there is no need to apologise for your amazing ability to catch my annoying tense and grammar errors. I am endlessly grateful for that! As always, your suggestions are taken into account upon editing. You help me optimise the story in so many ways, Shinicha!

I am so glad you like it because after I wrote this the first time, I edited it again with you in mind!! This review just brings a gigantic smile to my face. You're too kind! Similarly, I love you so much for this review. ;)

Thank you for all your compliments about my weird way of writing and all those odd descriptions. It makes me so happy to hear that you like them. :D

The misunderstands are too fun to write and I'm delighted to hear that you find them fun to read. You know how my dialogue-writing has been improving? YOU! You've helped me SO much!! I am so honoured that you keep reviewing every single chapter of this story! All your support means a lot to me. :D You're a very, very lovely person. Thank you. :)

The prank will be revealed soon, I promise! I just hope that you'll find it funny and it's not just funny in my head.

It is in the library I only mentioned that in the second chapter I think, but I will keep that in mind when writing future chapters. It's hard to remember something so small, I completely understand.

Annett would deionise water for all her lab experiments. :) I never knew it was for ironing. Oopsie.

You're right. Ronan was doing better, but then the trypanosomes damaged his nervous system and now he's not getting better again. With Sleeping Sickness, I think that when an individual has been infected for too long, some of the damage is permanent even if all the parasites are gone.

All typos are fixed. :D Thank you so much for catching them, Shinicha.

And once again, thank YOU for this wonderful review. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Shinicha Among Frustration, Feigns, Faintings, and Fun

11th November 2014:
Chapter 22 already, I can't believe how time's passing!!

I loved this chapter for all the Quidditch action. Because I LOVE Quidditch. Those were quite tough try-outs, wow, I would've died after 3 minutes of running.

There were a lot of moments I had to laugh out loud! Like when her fox-instincs kicked in, hahahaha! (If only Al new who he was spending the night with..!!)

This sort-of animal behaviourism were really adorable with Sirius too (I wonder if McGonagall has any cat-treats?), it's so cute that Annette can't help it.

Anette's becoming - there is no other word - cool. When she teased McLaggen I had this image of teenie-movies in my head with the cool football-gang crowding in on some poor bloke, and she's the center of attention! That's quite a development, and I have to say you made it very nice and gradual as to not seeming unrealistic. Nevertheless I am hoping that we'll soon get some more intimate moments (as in her thoughts on feelings and such) with her again, I love those so much! They always give a very different perspective on phenomena that are usually regarded as normal.

Her chat with Flint was hilarious!! (Who might the person of his interest be? Male female THOMAS?)
So verryy Slytherin-y to talk down the opponent in a moment of physical weakness haha. And the surprise at her "pretty" first name! When he suggested to call her Annie I immediately thought "how fitting!!!" thinking of Annie Oakley. (You now her? She must be one of the coolest women in history. And after being shot by Quaffles over and over again it made even more sense.)
Speaking of names, Maximus is a very unique name. His parents must have high hopes for him :P

I have a few suggestions. I don't know why I'm so concerned with tenses, haha.. but there were several 'switches' from past to present again that you might want to correct:
"Although, she catches six of Al's shots, she could only pass to Davies twice (...)
My roommate, Farley, was next. She could only catch five, although she successfully passed to Davies all five times (...)
In the obtuse, upside down "V" of his eyebrows, I saw more guilt as opposed to the anger I expected. (...) she couldn’t hold on any longer and drops to the ground" Maybe there are others that I didn't catch.

Also here, there's a "my" missing :)
"I shake head, willing myself to focus."

In my opinion it always disturbes the flow of a novel-style text to have "etc" inserted, as in "to test our reflexes and strength and agility, etc." but that's a question of style, obviously!

Thanks for the chapter :)

Author's Response: Shinicha,

Bahaha! Yes, it's very, very tough. I felt that the Quidditch tryouts needed to really let the players know what they will be doing or what it will really be like to play such a sport.

Oh my! Yes. Yes, indeed. If only. . . ;)

I'm so, so, so happy to hear that you liked that! There are somethings about being a canine I just had to take advantage of!

Nice and gradual and realistic is EXACTLY what I was going for, Shinicha! That means so much to me for you to say that!! That image you described is absolutely hilarious! This was written like a behind-the-scenes look at how Slytherins keep up their reputation as mean people. Which is to say, they're not actually mean, they just have a very twisted sense of humour.

I love getting into her thoughts and I am super glad to hear that you do, too! 'They always give a very different perspective on phenomena that are usually regarded as normal' is the most awesome thing I've read today. Again, THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I WAS GOING FOR!! :D You're too kind, Shinicha!

Who might it be, indeed! It's all up to you. ;)

Thank you so much for comparing my character to someone as awesome as Annie Oakley!! Admittedly, I did have to look her up and read about her, but she really is very, very cool!

I guess his parents do! Haha! That's actually exactly what I was thinking when I name him.

No, not at all! I love all the help you can give me, because you're always, always so helpful. You have immensely sharp eyes and I genuinely appreciate that! You're the best. I have taken all your suggestions and edited accordingly! :D Thank you so, so very much for them! You're awesome!!

Thank you, yourself for the review! You always help me with future chapters that you haven't even read yet, which is wonderful!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Chazzie Developmental Revelations

10th November 2014:
Em! I love this. Really I do.

Annett is really quite funny and the figures of speech that she doesn't understand just make the story even better. Al was really cute. and the bits with him and FuFu were so adorable I cant even start to explain! I'm really glad they have become friends again. I didn't like it when they were arguing. The ring that Annett made for Teddy was really sweet. I loved the reason behind the lupine flowers.

I am still laughing because Scorpius knows that FuFu and Annett are one and the same and that she shared Al's bed and yeah. I'm odd.
Gah I have to go and read the other stories you have written now. Except not right now as I have class, but soon.

Much hugs,
Lottie

Author's Response: Lottie!

Gahh! Much, much thanks for reading and reviewing. You're too lovely. I am delighted to hear that you find humour in her. I figured she read science textbooks rather than too many fantasy books during her childhood and, as a result, wouldn't really understand such figures of speech. :)

I am also thrilled to hear that you like the bits with him and Fufu. They are fun to write, so I'm glad they are fun to read as well. :D

I know right? They were mad at each other for 10 whole chapters now that I think about it.

That's wonderful to hear given that it's as far as the romance goes in this one. ;) Or is it? It's all up to you to decide.

WHAT?! Scorpius knows about Fufu and Annett? Where?

I suppose I should clarify with this one, Annett, the poor girl was left on the dog bed Al left her in from last chapter. Quite sad. Bahaha! If you're odd, I guess I'm odder considering I kind of wrote it. ;)

Hope you had fun in class! And thank you, so, so much for reading and reviewing, Lottie!

Much reciprocated hugs,
Em


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm Developmental Revelations

9th November 2014:
Em! Ahh! Ok. I need to calm myself before I try to type a coherent review.

I LOVED that whole scene with Al and Annett! There is just something so intimate about cutting a guy's hair. Like, when you're not their barber or something like that. The fact that she does it shows that she cares for him and the fact that he let her shows that trust he has in her. It just seemed like a lot more than just a haircut to me. I could be WAY overthinking that, though. They definitely seemed like they took two steps forward, hopefully they don't take one step back now.

I can't believe these people think that she is some sort of new Dark Lord. They're insane. It goes back to her thinking "I'm not evil. I'm just Austrian-German!" lol. That was one of my favorite things she ever thought/said. But, I digress. It was so cute that Al stood up for her like that. And I loved that she didn't get mad at him for it! I'm still dying to know why Al has trouble sleeping. It's been driving me CRAZY!

Yay!!! She made the team!! And holy moley! Al and Scorpius know she's the Incog Imp! What are you doing to me this chapter? There was just so much *squee*! As the kids say, "I can't even!" ;)

I'm nervous for her now, with this match coming up. I'm afraid she's going to have another panic attack. I hope that she doesn't, but I fear that she will. It was really sweet of Al to offer to get her through it. Oh my god, Em!! I want them together now! Waaahh!!

My favorite part of this whole chapter was how Al made that remark about stealing her thunder and how she would reply, because I'm sure that's just what she would have said hahaha. That had me giggling. :D

I loved this chapter! I'm obsessed with this story and I absolutely adore you!

Hugs, love, homemade diabetes in a glass (aka that Butterbeer recipe I found), mojitos and fresh baked cookies!

xoxo Meg ♥

Author's Response: MEG!

[squeee]

In the same manner, this response warranted some calming down before being written because you're just lovely!

You can read into it however you want, this is totally up to you! I try to give as much space as I can for your own interpretation. Shame she didn't actually get around to cutting it haha. Coincidentally, I type this with a bandaged middle finger after accidentally cutting myself with a knife. If anyone asks, I'll say (with a Scottish accent because why not), I'll narrate a some story about flipping a highland beast the bird as a lesson to all to show courtesy to all living creatures.

[looks up] Well that was quite a tangent.

Bahaha! I am so glad you liked that scene! It was fun to write. She didn't get annoyed at them herself because she was too busy being amused, as you can see.

Al? All in due time, dearest Meg. All in due time.

Not so incog after all, huh? I figured that she couldn't completely hide it from everybody. Someone was bound to notice. ;) Bahaha! This reivew, I can't even either!

MEG! You're making me nervous about this ending I have planned out in which Annett realises she's been in love with Clinton this whole time. :P

It is my goal of every chapter to try to produce at least a bit of laughing, so I am immensely pleased that happened! Thank you.

The feelings are absolutely mutual, dearest Meg! The adoration is reciprocated, I am equally obsessed with all that you write and I love this review! You're just so sweet!! And your encouragement and support never fails to make me squee. I'd give you a hug if it wouldn't result in your being harmed what with my arms flailing and all.

Loads and loads of love, hugs, and chocolate mojitos with After Eights,
Em



 Report Review

Review #15, by mima pima Developmental Revelations

8th November 2014:
please continue. please. I just read this entire fic in two hours, I need more. its addictive :D
Oh, I've been wondering, are you a scientist?
thank you so much for your dedication to the piece. it made my day.
just... thank you so, so much

Author's Response: Dear mima pima,

I most certainly will do just that. You can count on it. :D I am so grateful that you took the time to 'binge-read' and review. Thank you so, so much. It means a lot to me to hear that you need more. This is very encouraging. I appreciate it abundantly.

I would like to think of myself as one (if you'd like to describe being a scientist as a state of mind rather than just a profession), but I am not a professional scientist, no. I am studying science, though.

Aww, mima pima. You are so lovely! I am thrilled to see that. :D I hope you will continue to enjoy the story and I hope to hear more from you.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #16, by wolfgirl17 Spontaneous Combustion of Dairy Products: A Prologue

4th November 2014:
Hello again Deary,

Me again. I was so pleased when I saw you'd requested another review. I was partially terrified after the last one being so critical, that you might immediately hate me and cast aside all my assertions as utter twaddle, especially after noting that the other reviews you had on the last story were all of a far more positive nature than mine.

However, here we are and I must say, I find myself alarmingly curious to continue reading this tale. To begin with I had a very 'Ye gods, so much Characterization!' moment, before recalling that this is an internal monologue and therefore needs to be soaked in characterization.

I really like the way you've portrayed Annette. I think you've captured her odd childhood and heightened intelligence perfectly, and you've balanced it very well with her personality traits by having her be somewhat shy and perhaps evenly mildly socially inept because of her upbringing and her intelligence.

Very cool on slotting Teddy into this, and I laughed for a good minute without stopping to learn that her father's name is Wolfgang, simply due to the symmetry between his name and Lupin. (I have an unhealthy obsession with any word in some way pertaining to or incorporating the word wolf, no matter the language).

The flow of this chapter is smooth too, you move it forward at a steady pace, giving us an abundance of characterization to play with in order to decide if we like/care about Annette and want to continue, and you ended it on just the right note. I very much like the idea of her being utterly terrified to go to Hogwarts due to the fact that such an act will require that she interact with people she's not met before, and will leave her well outside of her comfort zone.

You've laid some foundations for the next chapter and the story as a whole, allowing for the development of plot, which I'm looking forward to reading more of. All in all, I think you've got a great start here, and I honestly can't find much to give concrit on.

I am curious to see where you'll take this and which character pairing you're going to have for Annette. Do request more reviews, because I'm intrigued. Sorry I can't be more helpful other than to basically pass on the same type of praise you've probably already been getting in your other reviews.

I think the only thing I can offer is maybe editing to include the info of your CI creator, and maybe a little more indication about which parts are sarcasm and which are serious thoughts, as at the moment I'm picturing this highly intuitive and intelligent little girl with next to no social skills and not all that much interest in making friends, but again, I'm sure that will make more sense and I will get a better feeling for the tone of her thought-train as I read on and grow more accustomed to your style of writing.

I hope this has been helpful (and made up for all that concrit on the last review somewhat). Feel free to request more reviews on this and any other stories you've got =)

xx-Wolfgirl17

Author's Response: Hello there Wolfgirl,

Bahaha! Any review is a helpful review, I suppose. :) I completely respect that different people have different opinions and that's totally fine with me. Not everybody would have loved TNSPI, Joseph and I knew that.

I had no idea how you would react to this story, but I am quite alarmed myself with this response.

Yes, this chapter contains shedloads of characterisation. Annett is simply one of many thoughts. Although it is because of that reason that it's not quite so simple at all. I am unable to give away everything. She's not the most reliable of narrators as you may find in future chapters, so there's a lot of reading between the lines that must be done.

Annett is the kind of character I wrote because I haven't seen a homeschooled scientifically-inclined introvert around here (although that may be lack of exploration on my part). I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed my portrayal of her. She's amazing fun to write.

Bahaha! I just like the name because of Mozart (that genius). It's interesting the way you have connected Wolfgang to Teddy that way.

Thank you, Wolfgirl. This chapter has been edited multiple times to smooth out the flow and I'm pleased to hear that it's working. And wow, thank you so much!

I am equally curious to see what you think of the following chapters. ;) As for the pairing, just a little warning, romance is not one of the main genres. No need to apologise. Reassurance is always nice haha. :D

My chapter image creator? That would be myself.

Due to this being an internal monologue, I'm afraid I can't quite have Annett herself pointing out, in her own mind, what is sarcastic and what is serious. You are free to take it any way you like, actually. It's up to the readers.

Constructive criticisms are not something that should be made up for. They are appreciated in whatever form, Wolfgirl. I might just take you up on that offer. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #17, by Unicorn_Charm Among Frustration, Feigns, Faintings, and Fun

28th October 2014:
Hi Em!!

Yikes! What an intense try-out! It sounded like she was very impressive, though. Definitely took some of her classmates by surprise, for sure.

It's so amazing how aware she is of everything. How observant she is. I would absolutely never want to play a game of poker with Annett. There is no doubt that she would pick up on every tell haha.

Her sense of humor is so dark and I just love it. And it's so sweet how Carter is always on the same page as her. It just further proves the whole big sister/little brother relationship they're developing.

So did Max just realize that she may fancy Al? Or does he just think that she may like someone on the team? Is it becoming obvious to others how Annett and Al feel? It seems like she hides it well... Hmm. More questions.

Man, I would have been asking myself the same question after that try-out. I would absolutely be wondering if its worth it. That was A LOT to go through. I hope she makes the team!!

Ahh I want the next chapter, now! :(

Love it, Em! Love, love, love, love it!! I can't wait for more!!

Love, hugs, chocolate, homemade Butterbeer, cookies, cakes and more love!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

As always, your reviews bring an unparalleled happiness to my days! I can never reply in a timely fashion because of that!

Sports these days, huh? They are more intense than ever. Even curling! I felt that this should be reflected in Quidditch tryouts as well.

Bahaha! She could be between intensely straight poker faces, looking out for bodily lie indicators, and calculating the probability of winning. You know her so well and that makes me so happy!

IT TOTALLY IS AND THEY DEFINITELY ARE! they share the twisted sense of humour, absolutely. I wanted this to be a sort of behind-the-scenes look at Slytherin intimidation tactics. We simply enjoy and take immense pleasure in frightening other people. We aren't actually all that bad. ;) Just very misunderstood.

I realised I should have clarified who was speaking and I have gone and edited this (and thanks to the amazing work of the validators, it has already been updated). It is Max who fancies the pants off of someone.

I know, right! All that work. She takes the honorary role of Carter's unofficial big sister seriously.

I feel similarly about your reviews, Meg! I (love)^10 it.

Meg, you spoil me endlessly!

Thank you so, so, so much for yet another encouraging review that leaves me with a raging urge to maul you with hugs,
Em


 Report Review

Review #18, by Shinicha The Irritation of Attention

28th October 2014:
Loved this chapter! For picking up and arranging all the plot-threads and for having Al+Fufu action! hoho

On one hand, I'm glad that Ronan is healed from the parasite, on the other hand (I know it's mean) I'm somehow hoping that we'll get a few more science sessions with Annette researching methods to heal his neurological damage! I'd love a good lab session ^_^

I'm pretty amazed at what is thrown at Anette. She gets so much attention for being herself, but not just because she's being herself, but because she's behaving the way she does around others - meaning social interaction! Which is positive. I like the controvercy that arises from this - some students being really scared of her, giving her a reputation, others seeing her talents thus suggesting her for the Quidditch tryouts. Superficially the plot has everything a typical Cinderella-story needs. But it's so different, because firstly, it's not about a single prince charming discovering her traits, but her own abilities showing in the course of social interactions, secondly it's her thoughts that make her personality so convincing and interesting, and thirdly it's the VERY likable and welcome lack of constant social-class-clichés being reproduced (happy end=marrying/becoming rich) that usually come with Cinderella-stories.

Just one thing I was wondering about during the Quidditch training was the tense-change here: "I found myself sliding sideways until I hung upside down a couple times. My trainers found this abundantly amusing. It amazes me that with all their howling, they manage to stay on their own brooms. “Your grip is too loose, Kluge.” Davies was explaining to me when we heard the first shriek."

Is it an intentional switch between past and present tense? I tried to think of it chronological but it just didn't really make a lot of sense to me, hence me mentioning it here! (But maybe I just didn't get it right)

Also, I didn't really understand why there would be someone screaming at the Quidditch Pitch - or why screams from the castle would be heard all the way to the Quidditch pitch if they discovered the prank. Maybe you could explain this a bit more? ;)


I'm really glad that Annette got some recognition for her treatment of Ronan. But I was also wondering - first, there was Hagrid finding out about a fox. And then there were the teachers, knowing that it was her. Do they know that she is an animagus? If so, it's quite a serious matter that would be taken to the ministry, no? Because every Animagus has to be registered... Or did they hear it from Ronan who saw her in her human form...?

I just LOVED the scene between her and Al. (It will be all the more awkward when he finds out that Fufu is her haha...looking forward to that!) He's such a sweet and thoughtful person, I think I have a crush on him! haha. The way he immediately sees her scars, wants to help her and trusts her. I hope she will get over herself and try to approach him in some way - after all she has the advantage of him babbling all kind of things to her! Such as the fact that he doesn't hate her, but actually thinks that she hates him. or the fact that he thinks a lot about her...

Looking forward to more!!

Author's Response: Dearest Shinicha,

Thank you for yet another wonderful review. You are amazing at giving these things!

Lab sessions are awesome, aren't they? ;) As for Ronan, you are definitely thinking in the right direction!!

Your analysis of the story makes me so, so happy, Shinicha!! I am honoured that my writing is worthy of such an analysis! :D The story is certainly far from a typical Cinderella-type story. And I DO stay as far from social-class clichés as possible! Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for noticing. I have this raging need to give you a virtual hug now.

No, not at all! You got that right. Silly me. Thank you so much for catching that!! And the thing about the shrieks, too. I've relocated them elsewhere. You are AMAZING!!

It does beg the question who knows and what are the consequences of them knowing, huh? I wonder. . . And IS she unregistered? Hmm. . . ;)

I am so glad you liked that scene!!! It was amazing fun to write. Aw, Shinicha. Al can be very sweet and thoughtful, can't he? He can get very concerned about people and foxes he cares about. ;)

I know right? Why can they just make up?!?! ARGGHHH!

I am looking forward to more, too! More thoughts from you, that is. You are so lovely.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #19, by Shinicha A Collection of Confusing Conversations

28th October 2014:
Ahh finally I'm taking the time to review. And I'm lagging behind 3 chapters!! :( *cries*

After the last chapter, which was mainly about Annette's thoughts and herself coming to terms with what has happened to her over the last few months, this one was a lot about her interacting with people. Which is SO cool, because after her internal debates wheather friendships were even necessary, she now get's the answer in practice. And as we now, experience is the best teacher.

I have to ask: WHO the hell IS Bob? I just didn't get the joke, I feel exactly as helpless as Anette and Lindstroem. Is there something foreigners just don't get??!!! Please tell me!

I thought her cleverness to anticipate people's reactions was greatly shown in the fighting scene (he actually hurt himself! just great application of her non-magical pranks!...and martial arts training), as well as in her interaction with Scorpius. But the curiosity is just unbearable now. Scorpius seems to know SOMETHING. But not her relationship with his father? Why? How? Did he notice her eyes? Ahh.. suspense!

I think you put a lot of thought into your story and there are many details the readers will not know (of course, this is always the case with stories...) But I would really, really love it, if you would give more details about what is happening in between the major scenes. How she experiences classes (Those with Cunningham were awesome), her routines, her observations besides analyzing the conversations etc.

Now reading on! :)

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I genuinely appreciate all your comments.

I'm delighted as always to see that you think it's cool! :D

Ah, yes. . Bob. It's from a phrase that is used to show the simplicity of a certain action. For instance, when one is making tea one might say: "You just put a tea bag in a cup of hot water and Bob's your uncle." I didn't understand it either until very, very recently. I totally understand how you feel!

You're curious? And unbearably so? I will take that as a compliment. Thank you! What does he know, indeed? And what is this thing with Draco?

I HAVE TAKEN THIS AMAZING PIECE OF ADVICE AND EDITED THE CHAPTER! Thank you, Shinicha! As for her routines, they are on the latest chapter.

Thank you so, so very much Shinicha! I would be eternally grateful if I could live that long!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #20, by happyanon Exploring Hormonal Minds

25th October 2014:
It's 2am where I'm from. I have review classes at 8 and I'm just going to stop up to here for now. It's such an interesting story! Im new in your story btw. Needless to say,I haven't read a fanfic where science is so well incorporated. I laughed so much when I read NE,Epi and Dopamine. I really can't escape Pharmacology. I do enjoy your story more because of it. anyway, i love that she's Austrian! I havent read one where the character is Austrian before its definitely interesting to say the least. Next, I'm curious about Al and what gave him insomnia? :) I wish she laughed more and i hope she becomes more "friendly" with, well her friends. But i hope she never looses her calm composure. And stupid alchemy professor! Arggh as someone who's in the field of science I completely agree!! You go Annett!! Looking forward to your story :) xoxo

Author's Response: Dear happyanon,

It's a massive honour to be able to write a story that can keep you up like that! Bahaha! That honour come with a load of guilt, by the way.

I am delighted to hear that you find it interesting! Thank you so, so much!

That scene was, indeed, amazing fun to write. It's got mischief, hormones, misattribution. It pleases me to hear that it's actually funny.

Gahh! Thank you. Multiculturalism is very important to me.

Oh. That's a wonderful question. What does give Al insomnia and what does not? Why does he sleep poorly some days and well on other days? Answers will come in time.

I do not aim for this to become an 'introvert evolves into extrovert' kind of story because introvertedness is certainly not a bad thing. I squee in delight because I love that you want her to get closer to her 'friends' and yet not lose her calm and composure.

Bahaha! I am so glad you can relate! Closed-minded people are very frustrating, aren't they?

Awww, thank you so much, happyanon! I equally look forward to hearing more from you.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #21, by Cool bean The Irritation of Attention

24th October 2014:
This is pretty damn brilliant

Author's Response: Dear Cool bean,

It's lovely to hear that you've been enjoying the story thus far! :D I am pretty darn happy right now. Thank you so much for this lovely review!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm The Irritation of Attention

23rd October 2014:
Em!!! ♥

I don't even know where to start. Do I yell at you first, for ending the chapter there, or do I start at the beginning and work my way towards yelling at you? Hmm... Ok. I'll start from the beginning.

I think the idea of Annett playing Quidditch is hilarious, yet fitting at the same time. She could definitely work out some aggression on the pitch, for sure. It might also start to help with her social anxiety, too. Because, I've realized, that she also suffers from that, along side of being very introverted. It was pretty clear when she seemed to have an anxiety attack, while in checking out the Incog Imps' non-prank prank, and then ran to her sanctuary in the library. That was absolutely textbook panic attack.

I love Carter. I love every time he's in a scene, no matter how small. He's just the cutest thing ever. I want to hug him haha.

Scorpius didn't seem very fussed, at all, that Goyle is pretty much out of action. Goyle must be quite terrible, if no one seems to care that their Quidditch team is missing a Keeper. Well, he did seem very troll-like.

So does McGonagall know?? She must know, right? I mean, she took 50 points from her - presumably for her nighttime wanderings, but was it for being an Unregistered Animagus, too? Bah! Questions! - and then awarded her 200 points - which, I'm assuming is for saving Ronan. I'm very curious to see if she will be having a private conversation with McGonagall now...

I can't tell you how much it kills me, every time Al calls her "Fufu." I was dying when he was chasing her down, screaming after her. And I think Al is actually in love with Annett, isn't he? *eying my pitchfork* I wanted to read more!! Ahh!! Em! Why?! I need more Al and Em time! Even if she is Fufu during it! You're killing me here! She's totally softening towards him. *squee* And she's going to apologize to him!? I laughed out loud when Al said they would probably end up shouting at one another and Annett - well Fufu ;) - thought, "He’s not wrong there." They do still have a lot that needs to be hashed out...

Arg! I want more! I can't wait for the next chapter. I will be waiting, pitchfork near by... ;)

So much love, candy, mojitos, Butterbeer, and hugs!

Meg ♥

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

Bahaha! I'm sorry? (not really, though).

THANK YOU! YOU ARE TOO LOVELY!! You leave these reviews that are just always, always more than just pleasant to read.

Annett and Quidditch. . . How will she do? What will she learn? How will she change? Will she change at all? Why is she even doing this? ;)

So there's the truth (not the entire one yet, though). I am so relieved that little panic attack came out well. It's a little more intense that I'm used to.

Aww, Meg! It's amazing that you love Carter! That means a lot to me! I've got a soft spot for him too. And so does Annett. ;)

There is that, yes. And Scorpius also has got a little soft spot for Carter, too. Who doesn't? Okay, maybe Mr. Filch, Adin, Brutus, and Ballard.

Speaking of Ballard, he isn't the most empathetic character, that's true, but bullies bully for a reason and he probably had it hard growing up with Goyle as a last name considering. Who knows? He should probably see an counsellor, but I digress majorly.

Well, Annett did come to Minverva first about Animagi. ;) She heard from Hagrid who mentioned it at a staff meeting as Mrs. Norris tells Annett. Hagrid just asked around about a curious fox who Ronan claims has been helping him. And as Ronan mentioned, fox like her don't live around that area. This information is scattered throughout previous paragraphs. I don't make it easy, haha.

Oh! Interesting point. Is she Unregistered? Are you sure? ;) Heh heh heh.

[gaze flickers from Meg to pitchfork to mojito]

That was a fun scene to write. I really tried to make it funny and then serious all at the same time.

Hmm. . . Why did Al keep the picture?

Oh and what will future interactions bring? I wonder. . .

Arg for Arginine?!

E! Meg! Thank you. Danke schon. Merci beaucoup. Grazie mille. Terima kasih. I have to think up of new ways to thank you because I've been doing it a lot, but it never seems enough.

I will be cowering, queueing the next chapters of TIMOASK (and TNSPI?).

Ferrero Rochers on Chocolate Hazelnut Semifreddos with a heaping load of love in the form of virtual hugs and a colourful array of cocktails,
Em


 Report Review

Review #23, by greenphantomme The Irritation of Attention

22nd October 2014:
Oh Al, telling his feelings to a fox. Poor lad is losing it! haha What a fluffy name as well, 'Fufu' not one you hear very often - and gives the impression of a furry poodle (at least to me I suppose). Great chapter! And I'm curious as to what people's reactions will be when they find out what Annett did.

I also love Carter and the friendship betwixt him and Annett. He's very mischievous. Together they are such a diabolic duo! :)

Author's Response: Dearest greenphantomme,

Bahaha! Yes, poor Al. He needs a friend, doesn't he?

That is exactly what Fufu supposed to sound like! I am so glad you caught that!

That is an interesting thought, if she tells anyone. . . Will she?

I love that description: diabolic duo, indeed!

Thank you again for your amazing review! I really, truly appreciate it. :D It pleases me to know you've been enjoying the story so far!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #24, by Midnight spark Exploring Hormonal Minds

22nd October 2014:
I'm actually here. Finally!

I can say that I'm glad Carter doesn't believe Annett wants to kill him now, as Annett got a new friend!

Hasn't Yang complained to the Professors about what happened? But makes sense, he was like super scared!

Ooh, mini Diwali party! I'm currently residing in India and TODAY is Diwali for them! I've learned to live with the firework's sounds, although I nearly jumped out of my skin when I heard them the first time! You don't see stuff like that in NY, you know.

A little confusion to why 'Thomas-Finnegan' family started the tradition, apart from that, nothing jumped out at me.

AL ASKED ANNETT TO GO WITH HIM! I'm just squealing so much beyond control! And that was the MOST CUTEST (yes, MOST CUTEST) way to ask someone! Their conversation was just, AH!! It's like pure heaven for me since I've always not-so-secretly shipped Annett and Albus. :D 'The youngest Potter' lol, I have no idea how to describe it!

And they enjoy each other's company! SO SWEET! HOW DO ANNETT KNOW DRACO? I'm sensing a mystery here!

Fave line: "Bonding is an intimate relationship between atoms. It involves only the outer most shell of electrons, the valence electrons. The higher the bond order, the more electrons involved, and the closer the atoms. Do human relationships work the same way?"

Leave it to Annett to make even the most simple things complicated scientific stuff. :P

OMG THE ENDING!! HE FREAKING WINKS AT HER!


Well, you can see that I loved it, I DEMAND you to re-request even though I won't be able to get to it before the end of November (NaNoWriMo, you know. Great stuff, prevents you from reading your favorite fic)

Sana

Author's Response: SANA!!

She does! She's been tutoring him for years and only now they can be called that. Haha.

Poor Arden. . . It'll all be fine in the end when, you know, he ends up with Annett. . . [shifty eyes and then evil grin]

I KNOW, RIGHT?! I LOVE DIWALI! HAPPY DIWALI! [more fireworks, but silent ones because they're magical]

Oh, that was because Dean Thomas and Seamus Finnegan both married a Patil each. They're all Hindu now. It was mentioned very, very briefly in a previous chapter.

YES HE DID! AS FRIENDS, YOU KNOW! BAHAHA! I am so glad you loved their conversation.

I figured, meh, why not? Or did I? The mystery begins, if there is one.

THAT LINE! Admittedly one of my favourites, too. I love chemistry. More so outside of class than inside. :P

That is a very interesting point you've brought up! To Annett, it's completely the opposite. She's trying to simplify complicated people things into simpler science things.

OH MY GOODNESS, HE DID! WHAT IS GOING ON BETWEEN THESE TWO. SANA, I CANNOT CONTROL THEM!

Demand?! Bahaha! The pleasure is all mine, Sana. I surely will do that.

FAVOURITE FIC?! If I had to type while I lost physical control of my flailing arms, it would come out as the most incoherent string of letters. [virtual hug] GAHH! SANA, THANK YOU SO MUCH, THAT MEANS A LOT TO ME!!

Best of best of luck with NaNoWriMo, I know you can do it!!

Your ever grateful fan (because Reincarnation is the most exciting thing I have read in ages),
Em


 Report Review

Review #25, by Infinityx Spontaneous Combustion of Dairy Products: A Prologue

17th October 2014:
Hello, love! Here for your requested review!

This was absolutely unlike anything I've ever read and I absolutely love the way it's started. Centering the story around a kid with two muggle scientists as parents was pure GENIUS. I love how Annette's voice in this story completely reflects the background in which she's brought up.

Speaking of which, Annette's characterization is just brilliant. Her personality comes off strongly and every bit of detail just oozes out of the text adding such depth to her character. I think it's truly amazing, what you've done here. I love the matter-of-fact tone with which all the unusual occurrences are described, and the hints of sarcasm underlying throughout the chapter.

Wow, Teddy Lupin as a member of the muggle-born welcoming committee. That was just the cherry on top of this chapter.

Descriptions are just astounding. Especially when they go to Diagon Alley and she describes the goblins. That was just. wow. Loved it.

This was a brilliant first chapter and I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks for requesting and introducing me to this!

Author's Response: Hello there!

GAHHH!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! All I can say is that, with this review, my ego has been fed. :P Thank you for all your compliments. You really made my day so much more wonderful. Thank you for that, too! You mentioned all the things I intended to do with this chapter. That makes me so happy [squeee]. :D You are amazingly, kind.

Cheers,
Em



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>