129 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Among Frustration, Feigns, Faintings, and Fun

28th October 2014:
Hi Em!!

Yikes! What an intense try-out! It sounded like she was very impressive, though. Definitely took some of her classmates by surprise, for sure.

It's so amazing how aware she is of everything. How observant she is. I would absolutely never want to play a game of poker with Annett. There is no doubt that she would pick up on every tell haha.

Her sense of humor is so dark and I just love it. And it's so sweet how Carter is always on the same page as her. It just further proves the whole big sister/little brother relationship they're developing.

So did Max just realize that she may fancy Al? Or does he just think that she may like someone on the team? Is it becoming obvious to others how Annett and Al feel? It seems like she hides it well... Hmm. More questions.

Man, I would have been asking myself the same question after that try-out. I would absolutely be wondering if its worth it. That was A LOT to go through. I hope she makes the team!!

Ahh I want the next chapter, now! :(

Love it, Em! Love, love, love, love it!! I can't wait for more!!

Love, hugs, chocolate, homemade Butterbeer, cookies, cakes and more love!

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shinicha The Irritation of Attention

28th October 2014:
Loved this chapter! For picking up and arranging all the plot-threads and for having Al+Fufu action! hoho

On one hand, I'm glad that Ronan is healed from the parasite, on the other hand (I know it's mean) I'm somehow hoping that we'll get a few more science sessions with Annette researching methods to heal his neurological damage! I'd love a good lab session ^_^

I'm pretty amazed at what is thrown at Anette. She gets so much attention for being herself, but not just because she's being herself, but because she's behaving the way she does around others - meaning social interaction! Which is positive. I like the controvercy that arises from this - some students being really scared of her, giving her a reputation, others seeing her talents thus suggesting her for the Quidditch tryouts. Superficially the plot has everything a typical Cinderella-story needs. But it's so different, because firstly, it's not about a single prince charming discovering her traits, but her own abilities showing in the course of social interactions, secondly it's her thoughts that make her personality so convincing and interesting, and thirdly it's the VERY likable and welcome lack of constant social-class-clichés being reproduced (happy end=marrying/becoming rich) that usually come with Cinderella-stories.

Just one thing I was wondering about during the Quidditch training was the tense-change here: "I found myself sliding sideways until I hung upside down a couple times. My trainers found this abundantly amusing. It amazes me that with all their howling, they manage to stay on their own brooms. “Your grip is too loose, Kluge.” Davies was explaining to me when we heard the first shriek."

Is it an intentional switch between past and present tense? I tried to think of it chronological but it just didn't really make a lot of sense to me, hence me mentioning it here! (But maybe I just didn't get it right)

Also, I didn't really understand why there would be someone screaming at the Quidditch Pitch - or why screams from the castle would be heard all the way to the Quidditch pitch if they discovered the prank. Maybe you could explain this a bit more? ;)


I'm really glad that Annette got some recognition for her treatment of Ronan. But I was also wondering - first, there was Hagrid finding out about a fox. And then there were the teachers, knowing that it was her. Do they know that she is an animagus? If so, it's quite a serious matter that would be taken to the ministry, no? Because every Animagus has to be registered... Or did they hear it from Ronan who saw her in her human form...?

I just LOVED the scene between her and Al. (It will be all the more awkward when he finds out that Fufu is her haha...looking forward to that!) He's such a sweet and thoughtful person, I think I have a crush on him! haha. The way he immediately sees her scars, wants to help her and trusts her. I hope she will get over herself and try to approach him in some way - after all she has the advantage of him babbling all kind of things to her! Such as the fact that he doesn't hate her, but actually thinks that she hates him. or the fact that he thinks a lot about her...

Looking forward to more!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shinicha A Collection of Confusing Conversations

28th October 2014:
Ahh finally I'm taking the time to review. And I'm lagging behind 3 chapters!! :( *cries*

After the last chapter, which was mainly about Annette's thoughts and herself coming to terms with what has happened to her over the last few months, this one was a lot about her interacting with people. Which is SO cool, because after her internal debates wheather friendships were even necessary, she now get's the answer in practice. And as we now, experience is the best teacher.

I have to ask: WHO the hell IS Bob? I just didn't get the joke, I feel exactly as helpless as Anette and Lindstroem. Is there something foreigners just don't get??!!! Please tell me!

I thought her cleverness to anticipate people's reactions was greatly shown in the fighting scene (he actually hurt himself! just great application of her non-magical pranks!...and martial arts training), as well as in her interaction with Scorpius. But the curiosity is just unbearable now. Scorpius seems to know SOMETHING. But not her relationship with his father? Why? How? Did he notice her eyes? Ahh.. suspense!

I think you put a lot of thought into your story and there are many details the readers will not know (of course, this is always the case with stories...) But I would really, really love it, if you would give more details about what is happening in between the major scenes. How she experiences classes (Those with Cunningham were awesome), her routines, her observations besides analyzing the conversations etc.

Now reading on! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by happyanon Exploring Hormonal Minds

25th October 2014:
It's 2am where I'm from. I have review classes at 8 and I'm just going to stop up to here for now. It's such an interesting story! Im new in your story btw. Needless to say,I haven't read a fanfic where science is so well incorporated. I laughed so much when I read NE,Epi and Dopamine. I really can't escape Pharmacology. I do enjoy your story more because of it. anyway, i love that she's Austrian! I havent read one where the character is Austrian before its definitely interesting to say the least. Next, I'm curious about Al and what gave him insomnia? :) I wish she laughed more and i hope she becomes more "friendly" with, well her friends. But i hope she never looses her calm composure. And stupid alchemy professor! Arggh as someone who's in the field of science I completely agree!! You go Annett!! Looking forward to your story :) xoxo

Author's Response: Dear happyanon,

It's a massive honour to be able to write a story that can keep you up like that! Bahaha! That honour come with a load of guilt, by the way.

I am delighted to hear that you find it interesting! Thank you so, so much!

That scene was, indeed, amazing fun to write. It's got mischief, hormones, misattribution. It pleases me to hear that it's actually funny.

Gahh! Thank you. Multiculturalism is very important to me.

Oh. That's a wonderful question. What does give Al insomnia and what does not? Why does he sleep poorly some days and well on other days? Answers will come in time.

I do not aim for this to become an 'introvert evolves into extrovert' kind of story because introvertedness is certainly not a bad thing. I squee in delight because I love that you want her to get closer to her 'friends' and yet not lose her calm and composure.

Bahaha! I am so glad you can relate! Closed-minded people are very frustrating, aren't they?

Awww, thank you so much, happyanon! I equally look forward to hearing more from you.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cool bean The Irritation of Attention

24th October 2014:
This is pretty damn brilliant

Author's Response: Dear Cool bean,

It's lovely to hear that you've been enjoying the story thus far! :D I am pretty darn happy right now. Thank you so much for this lovely review!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm The Irritation of Attention

23rd October 2014:
Em!!! ♥

I don't even know where to start. Do I yell at you first, for ending the chapter there, or do I start at the beginning and work my way towards yelling at you? Hmm... Ok. I'll start from the beginning.

I think the idea of Annett playing Quidditch is hilarious, yet fitting at the same time. She could definitely work out some aggression on the pitch, for sure. It might also start to help with her social anxiety, too. Because, I've realized, that she also suffers from that, along side of being very introverted. It was pretty clear when she seemed to have an anxiety attack, while in checking out the Incog Imps' non-prank prank, and then ran to her sanctuary in the library. That was absolutely textbook panic attack.

I love Carter. I love every time he's in a scene, no matter how small. He's just the cutest thing ever. I want to hug him haha.

Scorpius didn't seem very fussed, at all, that Goyle is pretty much out of action. Goyle must be quite terrible, if no one seems to care that their Quidditch team is missing a Keeper. Well, he did seem very troll-like.

So does McGonagall know?? She must know, right? I mean, she took 50 points from her - presumably for her nighttime wanderings, but was it for being an Unregistered Animagus, too? Bah! Questions! - and then awarded her 200 points - which, I'm assuming is for saving Ronan. I'm very curious to see if she will be having a private conversation with McGonagall now...

I can't tell you how much it kills me, every time Al calls her "Fufu." I was dying when he was chasing her down, screaming after her. And I think Al is actually in love with Annett, isn't he? *eying my pitchfork* I wanted to read more!! Ahh!! Em! Why?! I need more Al and Em time! Even if she is Fufu during it! You're killing me here! She's totally softening towards him. *squee* And she's going to apologize to him!? I laughed out loud when Al said they would probably end up shouting at one another and Annett - well Fufu ;) - thought, "He’s not wrong there." They do still have a lot that needs to be hashed out...

Arg! I want more! I can't wait for the next chapter. I will be waiting, pitchfork near by... ;)

So much love, candy, mojitos, Butterbeer, and hugs!

Meg ♥

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

Bahaha! I'm sorry? (not really, though).

THANK YOU! YOU ARE TOO LOVELY!! You leave these reviews that are just always, always more than just pleasant to read.

Annett and Quidditch. . . How will she do? What will she learn? How will she change? Will she change at all? Why is she even doing this? ;)

So there's the truth (not the entire one yet, though). I am so relieved that little panic attack came out well. It's a little more intense that I'm used to.

Aww, Meg! It's amazing that you love Carter! That means a lot to me! I've got a soft spot for him too. And so does Annett. ;)

There is that, yes. And Scorpius also has got a little soft spot for Carter, too. Who doesn't? Okay, maybe Mr. Filch, Adin, Brutus, and Ballard.

Speaking of Ballard, he isn't the most empathetic character, that's true, but bullies bully for a reason and he probably had it hard growing up with Goyle as a last name considering. Who knows? He should probably see an counsellor, but I digress majorly.

Well, Annett did come to Minverva first about Animagi. ;) She heard from Hagrid who mentioned it at a staff meeting as Mrs. Norris tells Annett. Hagrid just asked around about a curious fox who Ronan claims has been helping him. And as Ronan mentioned, fox like her don't live around that area. This information is scattered throughout previous paragraphs. I don't make it easy, haha.

Oh! Interesting point. Is she Unregistered? Are you sure? ;) Heh heh heh.

[gaze flickers from Meg to pitchfork to mojito]

That was a fun scene to write. I really tried to make it funny and then serious all at the same time.

Hmm. . . Why did Al keep the picture?

Oh and what will future interactions bring? I wonder. . .

Arg for Arginine?!

E! Meg! Thank you. Danke schon. Merci beaucoup. Grazie mille. Terima kasih. I have to think up of new ways to thank you because I've been doing it a lot, but it never seems enough.

I will be cowering, queueing the next chapters of TIMOASK (and TNSPI?).

Ferrero Rochers on Chocolate Hazelnut Semifreddos with a heaping load of love in the form of virtual hugs and a colourful array of cocktails,
Em


 Report Review

Review #7, by greenphantomme The Irritation of Attention

22nd October 2014:
Oh Al, telling his feelings to a fox. Poor lad is losing it! haha What a fluffy name as well, 'Fufu' not one you hear very often - and gives the impression of a furry poodle (at least to me I suppose). Great chapter! And I'm curious as to what people's reactions will be when they find out what Annett did.

I also love Carter and the friendship betwixt him and Annett. He's very mischievous. Together they are such a diabolic duo! :)

Author's Response: Dearest greenphantomme,

Bahaha! Yes, poor Al. He needs a friend, doesn't he?

That is exactly what Fufu supposed to sound like! I am so glad you caught that!

That is an interesting thought, if she tells anyone. . . Will she?

I love that description: diabolic duo, indeed!

Thank you again for your amazing review! I really, truly appreciate it. :D It pleases me to know you've been enjoying the story so far!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #8, by Midnight spark Exploring Hormonal Minds

22nd October 2014:
I'm actually here. Finally!

I can say that I'm glad Carter doesn't believe Annett wants to kill him now, as Annett got a new friend!

Hasn't Yang complained to the Professors about what happened? But makes sense, he was like super scared!

Ooh, mini Diwali party! I'm currently residing in India and TODAY is Diwali for them! I've learned to live with the firework's sounds, although I nearly jumped out of my skin when I heard them the first time! You don't see stuff like that in NY, you know.

A little confusion to why 'Thomas-Finnegan' family started the tradition, apart from that, nothing jumped out at me.

AL ASKED ANNETT TO GO WITH HIM! I'm just squealing so much beyond control! And that was the MOST CUTEST (yes, MOST CUTEST) way to ask someone! Their conversation was just, AH!! It's like pure heaven for me since I've always not-so-secretly shipped Annett and Albus. :D 'The youngest Potter' lol, I have no idea how to describe it!

And they enjoy each other's company! SO SWEET! HOW DO ANNETT KNOW DRACO? I'm sensing a mystery here!

Fave line: "Bonding is an intimate relationship between atoms. It involves only the outer most shell of electrons, the valence electrons. The higher the bond order, the more electrons involved, and the closer the atoms. Do human relationships work the same way?"

Leave it to Annett to make even the most simple things complicated scientific stuff. :P

OMG THE ENDING!! HE FREAKING WINKS AT HER!


Well, you can see that I loved it, I DEMAND you to re-request even though I won't be able to get to it before the end of November (NaNoWriMo, you know. Great stuff, prevents you from reading your favorite fic)

Sana

Author's Response: SANA!!

She does! She's been tutoring him for years and only now they can be called that. Haha.

Poor Arden. . . It'll all be fine in the end when, you know, he ends up with Annett. . . [shifty eyes and then evil grin]

I KNOW, RIGHT?! I LOVE DIWALI! HAPPY DIWALI! [more fireworks, but silent ones because they're magical]

Oh, that was because Dean Thomas and Seamus Finnegan both married a Patil each. They're all Hindu now. It was mentioned very, very briefly in a previous chapter.

YES HE DID! AS FRIENDS, YOU KNOW! BAHAHA! I am so glad you loved their conversation.

I figured, meh, why not? Or did I? The mystery begins, if there is one.

THAT LINE! Admittedly one of my favourites, too. I love chemistry. More so outside of class than inside. :P

That is a very interesting point you've brought up! To Annett, it's completely the opposite. She's trying to simplify complicated people things into simpler science things.

OH MY GOODNESS, HE DID! WHAT IS GOING ON BETWEEN THESE TWO. SANA, I CANNOT CONTROL THEM!

Demand?! Bahaha! The pleasure is all mine, Sana. I surely will do that.

FAVOURITE FIC?! If I had to type while I lost physical control of my flailing arms, it would come out as the most incoherent string of letters. [virtual hug] GAHH! SANA, THANK YOU SO MUCH, THAT MEANS A LOT TO ME!!

Best of best of luck with NaNoWriMo, I know you can do it!!

Your ever grateful fan (because Reincarnation is the most exciting thing I have read in ages),
Em


 Report Review

Review #9, by Infinityx The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

17th October 2014:
Hello, love! Here for your requested review!

This was absolutely unlike anything I've ever read and I absolutely love the way it's started. Centering the story around a kid with two muggle scientists as parents was pure GENIUS. I love how Annette's voice in this story completely reflects the background in which she's brought up.

Speaking of which, Annette's characterization is just brilliant. Her personality comes off strongly and every bit of detail just oozes out of the text adding such depth to her character. I think it's truly amazing, what you've done here. I love the matter-of-fact tone with which all the unusual occurrences are described, and the hints of sarcasm underlying throughout the chapter.

Wow, Teddy Lupin as a member of the muggle-born welcoming committee. That was just the cherry on top of this chapter.

Descriptions are just astounding. Especially when they go to Diagon Alley and she describes the goblins. That was just. wow. Loved it.

This was a brilliant first chapter and I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks for requesting and introducing me to this!

Author's Response: Hello there!

GAHHH!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! All I can say is that, with this review, my ego has been fed. :P Thank you for all your compliments. You really made my day so much more wonderful. Thank you for that, too! You mentioned all the things I intended to do with this chapter. That makes me so happy [squeee]. :D You are amazingly, kind.

Cheers,
Em



 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTea The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

11th October 2014:
I was very uncertain about this story, but you have write it well, and held my interest from the first sentence. It's well and good that I learned long ago not to judge a book by its cover. ;-)

You did a wonderful job capturing Annett's inner dialogue and the lens through which she perceives her world. I was impressed! I might even learn some awesome vocabulary from this story!

I thought it was interesting that Teddy was part of the Muggle Welcome Committee (and loved that you came up with that!!) Your flow, characterization, and plot were all well executed.

I would love to do an exchange again!!

Author's Response: GingeredTea,

I am so glad to hear that! Thank you for staying. Bahaha! Or the alliterating summary and the hand-drawn banner in this case.

Thank you so much! I am delighted to hear that. Really, your compliments help my ego grow. :P

I am so glad you liked the idea of the Muggle Welcome Committee. I, myself, wondered how Muggleborns would actually react to a letter from Hogwarts and what Hogwarts could do to help convince them of their being a genuine organisation.

Again, thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it.

I would love to do another exchange too!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter Exclamations of Merlin’s Extensive Collection of Lingerie

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering what was going to happen with Annett and this chapter didn't disappoint me at all.

Now, I have to say that I am a fan of lingerie. I make Albus Potter in my story (Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince) actually turn everything into panties. Sexy panties. So, needless to say, I was roaring with laughter while Annett was cursing in her mind. I was terrified for her but also cracking up at the same time which is a good thing? I'm not quite sure. Hahahaha.

Anyhoo, Annett's clever mind saved her from being acromantula dinner. I liked that you described them in a way that made them seem very frightening but also eerily smart. They figured that she wasn't a Hogwarts student based off of her clothes (This means that they had thought of eating the students more than once)and even had discussions about whether or not they SHOULD eat her. I found that horrifying. Hahaha.

Now, Annett's clever mind got her out of another quick jam. I always like the bit of science and magic that you incorporate into this story and I was so relieved when she finally got away. I was kind of worried for a moment or two when she was cornered by Albus saved the day. Thank Goodness.

I thought that while she was being bathed in the tub that she would revert back to her human form , to be honest. I thought it would have been hilarious but thankfully for Albus that didn't happen but Annett is feeling attracted to him in a way that worries her. I liked this little tidbit and I'm wondering what will happen with their relationship afterwards. Al doesn't know that she's Fufu (I died laughing at this, he should never name anything.) but I wonder when he'll find out?

I'm really eager for the next chapter too and I hope that she'll be able to save her centaur friend. Don't keep me waiting! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thank you so much! I am relieved to hear that.

Everything into panties? Bahaha, Gabbie! Oh goodness gracious! It's now on my reading list, actually. I've gone over to your account and taken a peek. ;)

Ha! It is definitely a good thing. I did intend to both terrify and cause laughter! It pleases me to hear that.

Ah, yes. I figured Acromantulas must have a higher thinking capacity as opposed to regular arthropods. I am a huge fan of intelligent, non-human organisms. I am delighted to hear that you like that bit. Horrifying and hilarious are the two things I aimed for with this chapter. :D Thank you!!

Well that really depends on how you look at it, I suppose. Haha! She was already safe from the Acromantulas before he swooped it, but he saved her a lot of trouble by flying her to the castle and healing her, didn't he?

That is an interesting thought and what a scene that would make! But I had to have my fun with Fufu. I really had to. I couldn't resist. No, Al should not name anything. He inherited his naming abilities (or lack of them) from his mother.

Now that's a good question. When? I'll have to keep re-requesting. ;)

Gabbie! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You leave such wonderfully encouraging reviews.

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarik The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

11th October 2014:
Hiya! I'm here with a review which you requested from me ages ago. o.O Sorry for the delay!

I'm loving your story so far! There are many things which I found particularly amusing, like the title, and Annett's situation - a Muggle-born with Muggle scientist parents, and with a world firmly rooted in science and scientific theory. I always love fics combining magic and science, so I was absolutely thrilled to read this chapter. :D I can't wait to find out how Annett will reconcile all her scientific knowledge and logic with the wacky, sometimes illogical world of magic. I really enjoyed the level of detail of the ecohouse, by the way; I'm the kind of reader who likes detail in stories, and clearly you know what you're writing about.

In your areas of concern, you mentioned characterisation. Well, Annett's characterisation comes off quite strongly, which is great. I love the tone of her narration, and how calm she is, and her dry sense of humour, which was wonderful. Sometimes writers can go overboard with the humour, and it can sound a bit strained, but Annett's voice comes off very naturally, and the humour is skilfully woven into the tone as well as the narrative. I find it very interesting that Annett seems to accept the existence of magic so readily. I know she's had a lot of weird things happen to her as a child, and Teddy was pretty much turning her pencil into a flower...and I know that stoicism is probably one of Annett's characteristics, as mentioned in the story summary. But I would like to suggest that perhaps padding in a little extra detail, and creating a greater sense of buildup (it needn't be a huge dramatic affair at all!) toward Annett's point of acceptance would really make things more convincing. And it would help with character development as well.

I love Teddy's appearance in the fic, by the way! I'm grinning a little at him being part of a welcoming committee for Muggle-borns! And I do hope to see more of him in the coming chapters! Annett's observations of his Apparition were incredibly amusing to watch. In fact, I really do love how unflappable she is! :)

OK, my favourite part of this chapter has got to be 'the hominid banker' with a highly ponderable phylogenetic history! Brilliant way of describing a Gringott's goblin!

Well, this chapter has definitely captured my interest, and I think you've got a strong start to a very promising story! Great premise and characterisation.

THank you for requesting, and once again I do apologise for the wait, and I hope this review will be of some use to you. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

It's okay! Haha. No harm done. :D

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am so delighted to hear that you're liking it so far. How will Annett deal with magic, indeed? ;) We shall have to see how she interprets this new side of the world.

I try, haha! Thank you! All you are saying about the novel so far is really encouraging me to write more and hope that I don't disappoint with the next chapters. I will certainly take your advice about adding more detail in to that part, thank you for pointing that out. :)

Ahh! I'm just so happy that her character seems to be showing successfully!

Bahaha! I'm thrilled to hear that you loved that line! It is one of my better moments. Thank you! i really hope I can deliver upon those expectations. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for such this wonderfully helpful review! You're just awesome, teh!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lise A Collection of Confusing Conversations

11th October 2014:
Fantastic chapter as usual!! I can't explain how much I love this story!!

Author's Response: Dear Lise,

As usual?! Bahaha. Thank you so much!! That means a lot to me. :D I am overjoyed that you've been reading so far and that you've left a review. You're awesome. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm A Collection of Confusing Conversations

11th October 2014:
Ahh!! SCORPIUS KNOWS!!! He does, doesn't he?!? Arg! I know you can't tell me, and I don't want you to tell me, but I want to know!!

Sorry for my freak out. Let's try this again.

Hi Em!! :)

Oh my goodness! I love this side of her! I love it so much!! She's fully embracing the idea of actually having friends! I can't even tell you how much I loved her thinking that no one picks on her friends when Hugo was being bullied. :D *squee*

Speaking of Goyle. What a slimeball! What kind of boy would physically attack a girl like that? Ew he's just as slimy as his father. That actually made my skin crawl. It was completely satisfying to see him break his fingers and smash his face against the wall.

Hahaha that scene with McLaggen was priceless. She is really, really funny when she pranks people. I love it! I bet he'll definitely be leaving Davies' sister alone after that!

I'm so happy that she's taking Carter on as her little protege!! :D He is the most adorable thing ever. I just love him. The two of them busting on Scorpius about Rose, and slacking on his Prefect duties, was so amusing. It's almost like Annett and Carter have this big sister/little brother relationship going on. It's really sweet. You can tell she cares about that kid a lot.

And then you have Scorpius hinting around about Fufu. HE KNOWS!!! Ok, sorry. Freaking out again. ;)

Oh she has it bad for Al and doesn't even realize it yet. She is highly offended that he hasn't looked for her or spoken to her. But she's really trying to convince herself that she's not. I cannot wait to read their next interaction.

Em!! I love this!! I love every last word!! I need more, soon! But I will try to keep the twitching to a minimum until the next chapter. ;)

So much love and tons of hugs!!

Meg ♥

Author's Response: BAHAHAHAHA!

Dearest Meg!!

[nods head vigourously] Aye. She is slowly realising that people aren't useless!

[gasp] SHE USED THE F-WORD, MEG!

Which was of course, all his own doing. Or the wall's doing. ;) He makes for a very unsuitable teammate for Carter to have. Poor guy.

Bahh! [hugs] THANK YOU! That was me exploring the idea that Slytherins aren't bad at all. We just have a reputation and we like to use that for our own amusement. It's a 'behind the scenes' look at Slytherin intimidation. ;)

That's exactly what it is, Meg!! It means so much to me that you like him. I wrote him in honour of one of my German Shepherds. She was wonderfully smart and had a personality of her own. First lesson was indeed hygiene. :P

Not that she treats Carter as a pet the way that Al treats Fufu like a pet. This is very much a big sister/little brother relationship. Unless you treat pets like little siblings. Perfectly normal to do so, right?

I DO?! WHAT?! HE IS?!

Are you sure?

I could just have Scorpius trying to make parallels between what Annett and Fufu mean to Al, without knowing that they are the same organism. He could just be totally dazed at any mention of Rose. I apologise of I'm getting your hopes up. If. [hides behind that blue couch]

She cares!! She feels guilt! Bahahaha. Your analysis of them is always a pleasure to read.

Could be in the next chapter, which is already in the queue. They will have to interact eventually, won't they? It'll be one of those big arguments that end with a snog. Or maybe a big declaration of their respective feelings. Or there will be some jealousy involved by bringing up Valentina and Carter into the picture. Or maybe all of the above. Or maybe even none of the above! What in the world did I write?!

[GAHHHs] MEG! Your words mean so, so much to me. So does your endless encouragement. I can never thank you enough!! You are too, too kind to me.

LOVE, and so much more LOVE, with a lot of HUGS and maybe some COOKIES,
Em


 Report Review

Review #15, by lindslo2012 The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

9th October 2014:
Hello there :)
I am here from the review tag.
I think that you have an awesome and unique story going here.
I think that she is going to be an awesome witch, probably as smart as Hermione Granger since she was raised with scientists.
I think it is really good how you described everything, like how she was in a new house with a forest behind it, how she was moved to England. I felt as though I was looking in on the scene. I actually never thought about how crazy it would be if you were raised with muggles and all of a sudden received this weird letter. I would probably not believe it until someone showed up on my doorstep either! Especially if you never really realized that things you were doing that were 'magic' was abnormal.
I thought it was so cool how Teddy was the person to come to her door. I love reading about Teddy through everyone's eyes- because he is so different in every story :) She is in good hands with him though because he will make sure she is taken care of. I can't wait to read more of your story so plz come by and ask for another review on my review thread!!!

-Lindsey

Author's Response: Dear Lindsey,

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

I am delighted to hear that you liked it. :D

You raise a fine point with "I never actually thought about how crazy it would be if. . ." That part of your sentence was essentially how this story came into being.

He really is, isn't he. He's always nice to read. Especially in Joseph the crestwood's 'Morbid.' I'd have to say that it's one of the more fascinating of interpretations of Teddy I have ever read. If you have not yet, I really encourage you to check it out.

And I can wait to hear more of what you think of this story. I will definitely stop by your review thread.

Thank you, again!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella Hunter A Night of Discoveries

8th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering when I was going to get back into this story and so I was really excited to catch up!

I liked seeing that Annett was getting a little closer to Albus and his friends in this chapter. I'm guessing that she doesn't quite mind having them around so much anymore and I'm eager to see how her friendship with Al is going to develop. It's obvious that he still likes her but I'm not sure how she feels about him just yet. I guess I'm just going to have to wait and see. Hehehehe.

Scorpius should just ask Rose out! Hhahahah.

Anyway, I really liked seeing Annett in her Animagus form as well. That was something that I was looking forward to the most and I enjoyed reading about her experiences with Mrs. Norris and her theories on her old age as well. It was actually pretty neat! I hadn't even let that possibility sink into my head at all so it was something that got me thinking.

As always, Annett is clever and precise and while she was wandering in the Forest I was kind of scared for her. I was under the impression that she was going to see someone doing something naughty or come across some dark monster. I was half right but I'm curious about the centaur and I'm hoping that he's going to be all right. But now Annett is in some big trouble! What?! I'm worried now! I don't want her to get eaten and I really need to know what happens next!

What a cliffhanger!

*Ahem*

So, I am really curious to know what happens after this little adventure so don't be shy about stopping by again!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Dearest Gabbie,

Thank you once again for such a lovely review! They are always so encouraging! I love reading them.

I'm so glad you are enjoying it all so far. She is spending more time with other people, yes. Haha.

Rose and Scorpius. . . They annoy me to no end. I mean why can't they just get together already! Teenagers. . . :P

I am thrilled to hear that it got you thinking! I was actually caught by Deana the RoxiMalfoy about Mrs. Norris's age. It is thanks to her that that's up there.

Bahaha! Absolutely. Nothing too friendly can come out of visiting the Forest alone, huh? It pleases me to her that you were scared for her.

BAHH! YES SHE IS! WHAT WILL HAPPEN? And, more importantly, what will Gabbie say to the events in the next chapter! I cannot wait to hear your thoughts!

Gabbie, once again, you have made me grin madly with your review. Thank you. :D

Much reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #17, by Roisin Yang’s Audacity

4th October 2014:
Hello!

I'm SO SORRY it's taken me so long to get to your requested review! I really wanted to acquaint myself with all the other Dobby nominees while I had time (and by the way, CONGRATULATIONS!)

I'm continuing to love Annett's character. She really is an incredibly unique person--or rather, you have managed a particularly insightful characterization of a commonly misunderstood person. I particularly enjoyed the manner in which she deduced that Al is an insomniac.

Also, the idea that Annett is friends with Mrs. Norris! "She's in it to scare the students." That part was very, very funny!

The thing I like most, is while she may be very different from other people, and very misunderstood--she doesn't misunderstand others. She is, indeed, rather a keen observer. People often portray characters of this type as socially oblivious, and too often, prudish. I like that Annett knows about "snog fests," and has a good understanding of what's going on.

And this line was hilarious: "Sometimes, it feels like watching a convoluted, massively extended series of family reunions in Hogwarts." It was very funny in a meta sort of way.

That said, you did introduce a lot of OCs as a kind of information dump, and it was difficult to keep track. I only criticize it, because there were several nice nuggets in there (Seamus and Dean each marrying a Patil)--and I wished it had more time to breathe.

This actually segues very nicely to my next concrit: everything that is present in this story is exceptional, but physical description is still rather lacking. The chapter has the sense of being hurried, and with so much information getting introduced so quickly, it can be difficult to find things to hold on to. I would recommend adding some more description--and also, it would be a great opportunity to see through Annett's eyes! She has such a unique perspective, I would love to see the way she describes visual things!

I love this story! It really is so original, and I am intensely flattered and humbled to have my own story nominated alongside you and Shez!

xoxo
-Roisin

Author's Response: Dearest Roisin,

No, no. That's completely fine! :D THANK YOU AND CONGRATULATIONS YOURSELF!! You write spectacularly. I am a huge fan.

Thank you. I am thrilled to hear that you do! That means so much to me.

Bahaha! Thanks. I thought her friendship with Mrs. Norris really illustrated what kind of a person Annett is on multiple levels.

I felt that it all added up this way. A large part of science is observation. It makes me endlessly happy that you caught that!

Thank you! I write to inspire laughter. Mostly. It's a relief to find that some lines are working.

Looking back on it know, I realise that, too. Thank you so, so much for pointing that out! I am definitely using your amazing piece of advice to optimise the story. I wanted the reader I feel as Annett did--drowned in a sea of so many names, but I went way overboard. Yikes!

You are wonderfully helpful. I value your advice immensely and will most certainly implement them! Thank you, Roisin!!!

[incomprehensible 'GAHH's]

Not at all! 'Year Five' is one of the best stories on here. I love it so much! It's me who feels flabbergasted and privileged.

And I cannot seem to say this enough in this response, but THANK YOU!!

Your fan,
Em


 Report Review

Review #18, by Midnight spark Satisfying Humiliation

4th October 2014:
EM! PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY I AM ROLLING ON THE FLOOR WITH LAUGHTER!
This chapter was the.best.ever.
I absolutely adored Annett! She even put on make-up for Yang. I have no idea why, I love the fact that even though she refers to him as Yang, she calls him Arden. Nice touch.

Let me answer your questions!
Aftermath of this prank, eh? idk, Yang has to be terrified of Annett after this! Maybe all the guys would learn a lesson from this(hopefully not Al, I want to see them together, not bounded like you answered my question, but you know, together, like a couple. Pretty pretty please, kay?)
Annett has to consider them her friends! Come on, they seem like friends already! I'm sure you aren't planning like that, I can feel it. I'm sure, if Annett shuns them, there has to be a valid reason. She is a mini-scientist after all.

This goes without saying, but do re-request!

Much love,
Sana

Author's Response: SANA,

THAT IS SUCH A SPECTACULAR WAY OF COMPLIMENTING THE STORY YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS REVIEW RIGHT NOW!

Ee! Thank you so much! I am so delighted you like it! That means so much to me. Writing out pranks is how I practice my inner cruelty.

She ventured out of herself with this chapter, yes. I'm glad you like that part. :D Image was everything in this chapter.

Will they? We shall see!

Well, if the please is aesthetically pleasing. . . 'kay. . . I'll try. ;)

Oh there is a lot of validity. . . absolutely. That's is how she operates. You know our little Annett so well (that's why I let you share her with me ;) )

Will, most certainly, do!

Reciprocated love,
Em :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Shinicha An Intense Session of Introspection

2nd October 2014:
Wow, this chapter was amazing, seriously, SO great. We know so much more now about her inner life and it helped a LOT to understand her actions and reactions. You really made her introversion so understandable and I feel much more able to empathize with her than before.

The part I probably loved most was her analyzing the contraditory and complementary quality of her emotions and thoughts and how they connect to different environments in school and at home. It's just WOW. And then the way she tries to get to the core of her feelings and hints at the solution to her dilemma (as in "maybe involvement can give meaning to conversations thus solve the interruption of 'pointless' time" ..paraphrazing your MUCH more elegant way of explaining)

I also loved how she tries to figure out the difference between Al and "others" and why she thinks more about him than everybody else.

And ah it's so good how she figures out his actions by trying to put herself in his position and woah, how she manages to filter the most important questions for her out of the mass of thoughts. I love you so much for this chapter and I can't wait to find out what the consequences of these will be once she's back to school.

I hope you don't mind me pointing out a few things:
When she talks about her parents it says "They've known me all their life.", although technically they've known her all HER life.

When she starts reminiscing about her time with Al it just says "he" right from the start. Maybe you should mention his name at the beginning? (Even though its deductable from the context who she's talking about)

Then this sentence: "There was I time I" - one too many I's ;)

And here: "With this balance, my work because meaningful" I think you meant to say "becomes".

I'm sorry if I'm nitpicking, they're only very small things!

Thanks so much for this awesome chapter ^___^

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

Thank you! I am so glad you think so despite all the embarrassing mistakes that you pointed out to me that were so helpful, thank you so much for them! You are amazing! I never mind at all. Your helpfulness is invaluable to me.

It means so much to me that this chapter could do that! It's awesome to hear that you can empathaise with Annett. :D

Shinicha! Thank you! I'm so, so glad it didn't come off as boring because that's all this chapter was about, her analysing and reevaluating her own thoughts.

I wonder what conclusions she will come to when thinking about why she thinks of Al. . .

[incomprehensible 'GAHH's] THANK YOU! I was so insecure about this chapter! I love you for all your reviews!

And yes, there will be consequences. [evil grin] of what kind, though?

Thanks so much for this spectacular review!! You just made me smile a lot!

A copious amount of gratitude,
Em


 Report Review

Review #20, by Unicorn_Charm An Intense Session of Introspection

2nd October 2014:
Hi Em!

Wow... What an internal debate she's having. It seems like she's coming very close to a break through here. Obviously she's starting to become a little more aware of her feelings towards Al. She hasn't exactly nailed it yet, but she is aware that she cares for his well being.

It's pretty crazy to see her start to maybe regret and rethink shutting herself away from her friends, or probably acquaintances would be a better word.

I like how she rationalized that if she could feel that way with her family, what really could stop her from opening up and feeling that way with some of her classmates. Even though she quickly disregarded the idea by thinking she had enough in her life with her relationship with them, but then she quickly doubted that once more.

She just fascinates me. Even when it comes to a simple thing, such as friendship, she thinks about it scientifically. And I think a really important issue was touched on here. With her feeling as if she isn't doing anything constructive that she is no use to the world. She doesn't seem to get that relationships you form with people can make just as much of a contribution to society than anything else. She should read q history book haha. Love and friendship is what ultimately saved the Wizarding world in her parents' day (Harry Potter). It's not completely useless.

It's nice to see her making a little bit of progress, though. :) I can't wait to read her interactions with some of the people she was thinking about. (Especially Al)

Great chapter Em! I'm excited for the next one!! ♥

Cookies, cakes, ice cream and love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Meg!

[vigorous bout of nodding because you just explain it so well]

She is quite unsure here and she's reevaluating the way she thought before. I couldn't resist extending her thoughts into an entire chapter.

That has so much to do with one of the overarching theme of story, Meg! I bow down to you for explaining it so well. Love and friendships are extremely important and certainly not a waste of time.

She is certainly coming back to school with a different perspective, yes. I cannot wait to see what you think.

Thank you so much Meg, for your wonderful reviews! They make me smile without fail.

Love and Semifreddo,
Em


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ribbons Out of the Shadows and into the Limelight

30th September 2014:
Hello darling!

This will be a short review because I don't want to go and on about a chapter when all I want to do is read the next one!

HOWEVER - I had to let my feelings be known because there were a few moments and characters that made me want to scream (all in good ways, I assure you) and also grin foolishly and feel all warm and bubbly inside. Are you prepared to hear about them?

Number 1 thing that I hate: Cunningham. There are only two other characters that I have felt such profound hatred for: Dolores Umbridge and the reporter from Broadchurch (she gave me the creeping horrors). How can a woman who claims to love teaching and children have such a blatant disregard and disrespect for discussion? It disgusts me.

The other things that made me absolutely gleeful: when Arnett talked about making Yang fall in love with her scientifically and WHENEVER James mentioned how amazing and incredible and secretive and mysterious Incog Imp was. It was just so delightful because I knew, as the reader, that obviously Arnett is that master prankster.

Oh yeah, and it soothes me to know that Arnett will get her revenge on the absolutely horrible Cunningham. Who I hate. A lot.

Wow, that was a very angry review. Of course, your writing is still delightful, and I haven't ripped ALL my hair out yet, so that's a plus!

Much, much, much love,

Alena

Author's Response: Alena,

The vocalisations of all your feelings are welcome here! And I really mean all: everything from warm bubbly feelings to disgust.

Cunningham. . . She really is an extreme traditionalist. Quite annoying, isn't it? Very closed-minded.

Oh that was a fun one! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed that scene! And the one about James, too. I can't wait to hear what you think of the other chapters!

Soothes? Bahaha! We shall have to see how that one goes and what it amounts to.

Oh dear! Hair-ripping? You are too hilarious! I quite like this review despite its anger. :D

Much reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ribbons An “Auf Wiedersehen” and a Wotter Invasion

30th September 2014:
Hey Em!

After talking to you for what feels like forever, I finally got around to reading your second chapter. Am I ever glad I did. I also feel terrible because, why didn't I read this before? Silly, silly me.

Your writing is like a breath of fresh air (forgive the cliche), and I can't seem to get enough of it. I have never read a story with such a beautiful mix of science and magic, and you do it so brilliantly that I think - why hasn't this been covered before? Not that anyone could do it as well as you.

I love how particular she is (5 interactions with her peers each week!), and the fact that she's an introvert makes me so happy. Books seem to always shine a negative light on introverted characters that just want to some quiet time by themselves to recharge.

Do you know who Annett reminds me of? Sherlock Holmes and Walter from Fringe in equal measures. Actually, more Sherlock. Actually, I think that she only reminds me of Walter because of her experiments.

Another detail that I like is that Annett isn't labelled. She seems smart, but she doesn't try desperately to be the top of the class (like Hermione). It's so easy, especially with Harry Potter Fan Fiction, to create characters based on the personalities of the books. Smart like Hermione, funny like Fred, weird like Luna etc. It's so cool that Annett doesn't fit into any of these persistent groups, and is instead totally different and therefore, more interesting.

You've nailed everything that I've seen. Sometimes her thoughts seem to go a little too fast for me, but I catch up in the end. You wow me with the science side of things, and you astound with your magical characterization skills.

Afraid of romance, huh? (Read it on your author's page. I've been indulging in a healthy amount of stalking recently...) Can't wait to see what you come up with!

As is everything you write, from PMs, to responses, to stories, this was a pleasure.

Much, much, much love,

Alena

PS - I'm heading over to the next chapter now!

Author's Response: Hello Alena,

Why thank you very, very much! i'm pleased to hear that you like it. :D Brilliant, you say? You flatter me, Alena. Your compliments. . . my ego feeds off of it. It's ballooned, really. You leave me grinning quite goofily, too. Thank you.

Interestingly, I thought of neither of them when creating her, but there are many, many similarities. It's really wonderful for me to have Annett be compared to Sherlock. He's spectacular! BBC's Sherlock is my most favourite show.

I'm thrilled to here that you think so! That is exactly what I aimed for: different and interesting. I guess that's why Annett's been nominated as Best OC. . . ;)

Bahaha! Thank you. That's how her mind works. I really hope it doesn't seem like utter nonsense.

Haha. Indulge as you like, it is up there for a reason. ;)

Not afraid as much as just very bad at writing it. And kind of uncomfortable. Does that completely stop me from writing romance? We shall see.

Awww, Alena! No, the pleasure has all been mine! You are too kind. Seriously. I don't know how you haven't gotten mad at me and denounced this friendship. Let me illustrate in the next paragraph.

I should take this time to apologise profusely and sincerely. I am so blind. I already have glasses, but this is worse than I thought. I have been reading, and therefore spelling, your name incorrectly for so, so long! Oh dear! This is truly embarrassing and I'm a horrible person, I know. :( Bahh! Will you ever forgive me?!

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #23, by Unicorn_Charm The Extent of My Romanticism

30th September 2014:
Yay new chapter! Yay new chapter! Yay new chapter!!! Ok got that out...

Hey Em! ♥

You were right. I did not like their conversation at all. Grrr they are infuriating! But, only people who truly care for each other can elicit that type of emotion in the other. They're just driving me crazy! I may need to share your mojitos.

Aww that moment with Ronan was sweet! It's wonderful to see how much better he is doing. :)

That ring she made for Teddy sounds absolutely beautiful! I hope Victoire likes it! Teddy and Annett's relationship is really sweet. There is definitely something about it that is like older cousin-ish. It definitely seems that she is his favorite student (who isn't a Wotter).

Carter is the most adorable little thing. I just love him. It's so cute how is completely admires Annett, yet is slightly intimidated by her. But you can tell that he genuinely likes her and she, I think, likes him too. In her way.

Her parents are wonderful. The love they have for their daughter, and for each other, is so lovely to read. It's odd, with her having parents who are so affectionate with each other, that she is so romantically unavailable. I have a feeling that may end up changing, eventually. I think a certain Potter boy may end up wearing her down. ;)

Oh, Em. I just love this story so much. I was so excited to read this new chapter, but now I'm sad because I have to wait for the next one haha. *sigh* Such is life...

Much love, many hugs and lots of cookies!
Meg ♥

Author's Response: 'Ollo Meg!

Oh dear. That doesn't sound good. Yes, let's both have some mojitos. I have peach, strawberry, dragon fruit, basil. . . :P

But now that they've got that cleared, kind of, things might change. Maybe. Sort of. We'll see.

She's slowly getting a little softer, isn't she? At least for Ronan.

That's definitely what I was going for! I am relived that came through. Teddy was, after all, the one who introduced her into this strange, new world.

I'm so glad you think so, Meg! Carter is so much fun to write.

Bahaha! This is almost precisely what the next chapter is about (and it's in the queue! Woot!).

That Potter boy and this Kluge girl. . . What will happen, indeed and when?!

Cookie? Mojito?

Oh Meg! You have an endless reserve of kindness! It a privilege to be on the receiving end of that. Your encouragement and support (and baking products amongst cocktails) are invaluable.

Much love, hugs, and stuffed teddy bears (for the next one. I don't know if you'll need them, but just in case),
Em


 Report Review

Review #24, by Shinicha The Extent of My Romanticism

29th September 2014:
Uhh, some romance (kind of) in this chapter :D I'm sure this is what everyone has been waiting for!

As always the interaction between Al and Annett was great, imo. It feels like you really understand these two characters of yours extremely well, especially when they are with each other. I like how you managed to get across Annett's uneasiness which she doesn't understand herself but reveals more to the reader (the way she can't get Al's words out of her head). I could almost FEEL the tension before Annett ran away. I don't think Al is really mad at her; I think her answers somehow pacified him, because she admitted that she'd thought of him as a friend. That was probably what had bothered him most... It's funny in a way that they are both angry because they feel that the other one has betrayed their friendship - only with the exact opposite line of argumentation.

However the dialogue between Teddy and Annett is a little bit confusing, especially when Carter joins. Maybe you could add more descriptive words to make clear who is talking when? (For example explaining that Carter has just appeared/creeped up, and something like "..., Annett shot back" etc.)

Also during the train ride it might be helpful if you add a few sentences to explain that they've reached London, otherwise the change between compartment-talk and parents-picking-her-up is a bit too sudden!

I can't help but wonder if Teddy will accept her present without giving her anything in return. Maybe he's planning something small to surprise her at the wedding?

I have to say, I'm just as shocked as Carter to have heard about Annett's dating history! Even though she feels so uncomfortable with closeness she even seems to have kissed that guy! Oha! Carter can't just let it go, can he...

When I read about him dating Thibault just to get information about Incog Imp I thought "wow that's SO Slytherin". He had a more Ravenclaw-y feeling to him up until that point! :D

It's SO AWESOME that her Mama called her "Suessling". Until a few minutes ago I thought this word didn't even exist and I made it up for fun to tease my boyfriend. But you actually found it (somewhere). So, thanks for teaching me a German word, hoho.

Author's Response: Hello Shinicha!

Bahaha! I try. :P

Oh. You're good. . . Well now they've got that out, we'll have to see if anything changes, won't we. ;)

Oh no! I'm sorry. I wanted Carter to just pop out of nowhere. And for Annett to be rather unfazed by this. Ill see what I can do to optimise this scene. Thank you for pointing that out. And I'll definitely make it clearer as to who is talking.

Yikes! Thank you so much for catching that. I told myself I'd edit it, but I guess I forgot to before I put it into the queue.

Hmm. . . That will have to wait until another chapter. For now, it's as if Annett has some kindess in her. For whatever reason, she does care about people and she does want to help them out in however she can. This relates to her future career.

Haha. Well it was alluded to in Wolfgang's letter in ch. 16. ;) She didn't are about the guy at all. It's almost as if she's forgotten his name, too.

I made him a Slytherin for a reason, yes. Bahaha!

Really?! That's so cute!

Thank you for another wonderful review and some very helpful pointers, Shinicha! You are amazing!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #25, by greenphantomme War and An Ally

28th September 2014:
This story is a pure gem. Brilliant work, very entertaining, and a delight to read. I quite like the incorporation of science- it's refreshing to read!

Author's Response: Dear greenphantomme,

Your compliments bring wide smiles onto my face. Thank you so much! I am thrilled to hear that you think so!

Thank you so much for your kind review and for reading so far. And thank you for the favourite. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>