109 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ribbons Out of the Shadows and into the Limelight

30th September 2014:
Hello darling!

This will be a short review because I don't want to go and on about a chapter when all I want to do is read the next one!

HOWEVER - I had to let my feelings be known because there were a few moments and characters that made me want to scream (all in good ways, I assure you) and also grin foolishly and feel all warm and bubbly inside. Are you prepared to hear about them?

Number 1 thing that I hate: Cunningham. There are only two other characters that I have felt such profound hatred for: Dolores Umbridge and the reporter from Broadchurch (she gave me the creeping horrors). How can a woman who claims to love teaching and children have such a blatant disregard and disrespect for discussion? It disgusts me.

The other things that made me absolutely gleeful: when Arnett talked about making Yang fall in love with her scientifically and WHENEVER James mentioned how amazing and incredible and secretive and mysterious Incog Imp was. It was just so delightful because I knew, as the reader, that obviously Arnett is that master prankster.

Oh yeah, and it soothes me to know that Arnett will get her revenge on the absolutely horrible Cunningham. Who I hate. A lot.

Wow, that was a very angry review. Of course, your writing is still delightful, and I haven't ripped ALL my hair out yet, so that's a plus!

Much, much, much love,

Alena

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ribbons An “Auf Wiedersehen” and a Wotter Invasion

30th September 2014:
Hey Em!

After talking to you for what feels like forever, I finally got around to reading your second chapter. Am I ever glad I did. I also feel terrible because, why didn't I read this before? Silly, silly me.

Your writing is like a breath of fresh air (forgive the cliche), and I can't seem to get enough of it. I have never read a story with such a beautiful mix of science and magic, and you do it so brilliantly that I think - why hasn't this been covered before? Not that anyone could do it as well as you.

I love how particular she is (5 interactions with her peers each week!), and the fact that she's an introvert makes me so happy. Books seem to always shine a negative light on introverted characters that just want to some quiet time by themselves to recharge.

Do you know who Annett reminds me of? Sherlock Holmes and Walter from Fringe in equal measures. Actually, more Sherlock. Actually, I think that she only reminds me of Walter because of her experiments.

Another detail that I like is that Annett isn't labelled. She seems smart, but she doesn't try desperately to be the top of the class (like Hermione). It's so easy, especially with Harry Potter Fan Fiction, to create characters based on the personalities of the books. Smart like Hermione, funny like Fred, weird like Luna etc. It's so cool that Annett doesn't fit into any of these persistent groups, and is instead totally different and therefore, more interesting.

You've nailed everything that I've seen. Sometimes her thoughts seem to go a little too fast for me, but I catch up in the end. You wow me with the science side of things, and you astound with your magical characterization skills.

Afraid of romance, huh? (Read it on your author's page. I've been indulging in a healthy amount of stalking recently...) Can't wait to see what you come up with!

As is everything you write, from PMs, to responses, to stories, this was a pleasure.

Much, much, much love,

Alena

PS - I'm heading over to the next chapter now!

Author's Response: Hello Alena,

Why thank you very, very much! i'm pleased to hear that you like it. :D Brilliant, you say? You flatter me, Alena. Your compliments. . . my ego feeds off of it. It's ballooned, really. You leave me grinning quite goofily, too. Thank you.

Interestingly, I thought of neither of them when creating her, but there are many, many similarities. It's really wonderful for me to have Annett be compared to Sherlock. He's spectacular! BBC's Sherlock is my most favourite show.

I'm thrilled to here that you think so! That is exactly what I aimed for: different and interesting. I guess that's why Annett's been nominated as Best OC. . . ;)

Bahaha! Thank you. That's how her mind works. I really hope it doesn't seem like utter nonsense.

Haha. Indulge as you like, it is up there for a reason. ;)

Not afraid as much as just very bad at writing it. And kind of uncomfortable. Does that completely stop me from writing romance? We shall see.

Awww, Alena! No, the pleasure has all been mine! You are too kind. Seriously. I don't know how you haven't gotten mad at me and denounced this friendship. Let me illustrate in the next paragraph.

I should take this time to apologise profusely and sincerely. I am so blind. I already have glasses, but this is worse than I thought. I have been reading, and therefore spelling, your name incorrectly for so, so long! Oh dear! This is truly embarrassing and I'm a horrible person, I know. :( Bahh! Will you ever forgive me?!

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm The Extent of My Romanticism

30th September 2014:
Yay new chapter! Yay new chapter! Yay new chapter!!! Ok got that out...

Hey Em! ♥

You were right. I did not like their conversation at all. Grrr they are infuriating! But, only people who truly care for each other can elicit that type of emotion in the other. They're just driving me crazy! I may need to share your mojitos.

Aww that moment with Ronan was sweet! It's wonderful to see how much better he is doing. :)

That ring she made for Teddy sounds absolutely beautiful! I hope Victoire likes it! Teddy and Annett's relationship is really sweet. There is definitely something about it that is like older cousin-ish. It definitely seems that she is his favorite student (who isn't a Wotter).

Carter is the most adorable little thing. I just love him. It's so cute how is completely admires Annett, yet is slightly intimidated by her. But you can tell that he genuinely likes her and she, I think, likes him too. In her way.

Her parents are wonderful. The love they have for their daughter, and for each other, is so lovely to read. It's odd, with her having parents who are so affectionate with each other, that she is so romantically unavailable. I have a feeling that may end up changing, eventually. I think a certain Potter boy may end up wearing her down. ;)

Oh, Em. I just love this story so much. I was so excited to read this new chapter, but now I'm sad because I have to wait for the next one haha. *sigh* Such is life...

Much love, many hugs and lots of cookies!
Meg ♥

Author's Response: 'Ollo Meg!

Oh dear. That doesn't sound good. Yes, let's both have some mojitos. I have peach, strawberry, dragon fruit, basil. . . :P

But now that they've got that cleared, kind of, things might change. Maybe. Sort of. We'll see.

She's slowly getting a little softer, isn't she? At least for Ronan.

That's definitely what I was going for! I am relived that came through. Teddy was, after all, the one who introduced her into this strange, new world.

I'm so glad you think so, Meg! Carter is so much fun to write.

Bahaha! This is almost precisely what the next chapter is about (and it's in the queue! Woot!).

That Potter boy and this Kluge girl. . . What will happen, indeed and when?!

Cookie? Mojito?

Oh Meg! You have an endless reserve of kindness! It a privilege to be on the receiving end of that. Your encouragement and support (and baking products amongst cocktails) are invaluable.

Much love, hugs, and stuffed teddy bears (for the next one. I don't know if you'll need them, but just in case),
Em


 Report Review

Review #4, by Shinicha The Extent of My Romanticism

29th September 2014:
Uhh, some romance (kind of) in this chapter :D I'm sure this is what everyone has been waiting for!

As always the interaction between Al and Annett was great, imo. It feels like you really understand these two characters of yours extremely well, especially when they are with each other. I like how you managed to get across Annett's uneasiness which she doesn't understand herself but reveals more to the reader (the way she can't get Al's words out of her head). I could almost FEEL the tension before Annett ran away. I don't think Al is really mad at her; I think her answers somehow pacified him, because she admitted that she'd thought of him as a friend. That was probably what had bothered him most... It's funny in a way that they are both angry because they feel that the other one has betrayed their friendship - only with the exact opposite line of argumentation.

However the dialogue between Teddy and Annett is a little bit confusing, especially when Carter joins. Maybe you could add more descriptive words to make clear who is talking when? (For example explaining that Carter has just appeared/creeped up, and something like "..., Annett shot back" etc.)

Also during the train ride it might be helpful if you add a few sentences to explain that they've reached London, otherwise the change between compartment-talk and parents-picking-her-up is a bit too sudden!

I can't help but wonder if Teddy will accept her present without giving her anything in return. Maybe he's planning something small to surprise her at the wedding?

I have to say, I'm just as shocked as Carter to have heard about Annett's dating history! Even though she feels so uncomfortable with closeness she even seems to have kissed that guy! Oha! Carter can't just let it go, can he...

When I read about him dating Thibault just to get information about Incog Imp I thought "wow that's SO Slytherin". He had a more Ravenclaw-y feeling to him up until that point! :D

It's SO AWESOME that her Mama called her "Suessling". Until a few minutes ago I thought this word didn't even exist and I made it up for fun to tease my boyfriend. But you actually found it (somewhere). So, thanks for teaching me a German word, hoho.

Author's Response: Hello Shinicha!

Bahaha! I try. :P

Oh. You're good. . . Well now they've got that out, we'll have to see if anything changes, won't we. ;)

Oh no! I'm sorry. I wanted Carter to just pop out of nowhere. And for Annett to be rather unfazed by this. Ill see what I can do to optimise this scene. Thank you for pointing that out. And I'll definitely make it clearer as to who is talking.

Yikes! Thank you so much for catching that. I told myself I'd edit it, but I guess I forgot to before I put it into the queue.

Hmm. . . That will have to wait until another chapter. For now, it's as if Annett has some kindess in her. For whatever reason, she does care about people and she does want to help them out in however she can. This relates to her future career.

Haha. Well it was alluded to in Wolfgang's letter in ch. 16. ;) She didn't are about the guy at all. It's almost as if she's forgotten his name, too.

I made him a Slytherin for a reason, yes. Bahaha!

Really?! That's so cute!

Thank you for another wonderful review and some very helpful pointers, Shinicha! You are amazing!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #5, by greenphantomme War and An Ally

28th September 2014:
This story is a pure gem. Brilliant work, very entertaining, and a delight to read. I quite like the incorporation of science- it's refreshing to read!

Author's Response: Dear greenphantomme,

Your compliments bring wide smiles onto my face. Thank you so much! I am thrilled to hear that you think so!

Thank you so much for your kind review and for reading so far. And thank you for the favourite. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #6, by Midnight spark Out of the Shadows and into the Limelight

28th September 2014:
I missed you and our little Annett too! Honestly, I squealed like a five year old when I saw your request. :)

Annett keeps getting more and more realistic! Why do you think I nominated Annett(and you) as the best Original Character, eh? :D

I HATE CUNNINGHAM! Our little Annett's thoughts were so brilliant, so... so... AMAZINGLY DIFFERENT, trying to make Alchemy modern. Cunningham just doesn't understand that. Of course, Rose had to have the best essay, it's in her blood.

Annett is just so mischievous and brilliant at the same time! Her interactions with Yang are just so funny, I had to go back and read them thrice, just so that I can laugh at it once more!

"As a fellow mischief maker, of course, Albie. I wouldn't hit on the secret love of your life." I SAW THIS EM, I SAW THIS! FAVORITE LINE HERE! Annett is just so clueless sometimes, just like most of the girls.

Oh, Merlin. They still haven't figured out that our little Annett is Incog Imp. It would be fun to watch their reactions when they find out- they will find out someday, right?

From my ramblings, I think it's really obvious that I'm in love with this story's plot. And characterization: The boys felt like boys, the girls felt like girls and Annett felt like Annett. :D


And we've reached the end of Sana's random rambling! Re-request if you like it! :D

Lots and lots of love
Sana

Author's Response: Dear Sana,

Yay! You're back! I like your ramblings, they are so fun to read.

Awww, Sana. You are too sweet! I cannot thank you enough for that! I'm so delighted to hear that you like her so much (she likes you too and so do I).

Bahaha! Cunningham is frustratingly conservative and too stuck in her old ways, isn't she?

You like their interactions? Then, I hope you enjoy the next chapter, too. I can't wait to hear your thoughts on it. I'm overjoyed to have been able to provide you with reason for laughter.

Interesting line you brought up, Sana. I can't help, but comment: is Fred just teasing Al or is he teasing Al and meaning?

Maybe they will, maybe they won't. We will see what happens to our little Annett's pranks as the chapters go by.

You're in love with the story's plot? I'm in love with your reviews! You are too kind.

I will re-request!

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter Exploring Hormonal Minds

27th September 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm really sorry that it's taken me so long to get back to you. I've been really busy this week or two and haven't had the time to take care of these awesome stories for you guys. It's really good to be back!

I like that things have changed a little bit for Annett since the prank. I'm not sure if I appreciate Carter practically using her as a buffer to get O's on his assignments though and I liked that Annett herself was questioning that. I wonder if her brilliance will ever be recognized by her own teachers, it's really not fair, in my opinion. Hahahha.

What I really liked about this chapter though was her friendship with Al. I think that the pair of them are so adorable together and there's this underlying respect that they have for one another as well. They're able to understand one another in a way that no one else would be able to, Annett opened up to Al I think in this chapter, just a little. Their banter is wonderful too, I was laughing the entire time they were talking, it was almost too much for me. I really wish that Al would have been a bit more aggressive with how much he likes her though, or perhaps I'm not reading this correctly? Hm...

I like that Annett is so analytical that she doesn't quite understand relationships. her knowledge is so vast on some levels but on others, I think that she's lacking somewhat and I can't wait to see how she's able to get through them all. Al asking her to the dance of course was the sweetest moment but when they were there, I thought that he would finally make a move. But I think that he's working up to it...he winked at her and everyone knows that that's the sign of doom for any girl. What will Annett do? I can't help but wonder.

Also, Yang's appearance was a hilarious one as well. He sure does have a lot of nerve though, trying to ask her out again. :p

Another good chapter, I'll be back a lot quicker next time!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Dear Gabbie,

I completely understand! There is no need to apologise. :)

Oh no. I didn't mean for it to come out like that. After would get good marks without her, he just wants to learn it her way. Most professors have already read her work because, even with Cunningham, she is not afraid to write about her own theories. So they know where Carter gets it from. But she still does question why he wants her to tutor him. We'll find out why in a future chapter. ;)

Al an Annett are both rather reserved. Even if they did like each other the way you think they might (I neither confirm nor deny anything) they would still lack that degree of social aggression sometimes. As for your reading it right, well have to see, won't we?

You're right, she is definitely oblivious to how she fits in among her peers if at all. She's not a people person, she is more of a thing person.

Any girl? We hall have to see if that holds true to Annett over here. ;)

Thank you so much for all your thoughts! It pleases me to hear that you've been enjoying the story and laughing an all. :D

You are awesome!

Reciprocal love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #8, by ... War and An Ally

26th September 2014:
Ahh the suspense, can't wait for the next chapter. Will Al figure something out? Will he understand that she really can't hang out with them because of more important obligations? or will he just be a dick again...

Author's Response: Perhaps all if the above, perhaps none. ;)

We shall have to wait and see in the next chapter (And it's already in the queue!).

He really seemed harsh last time didn't he? So did she, though. I have too much in writing about the mean side of seemingly purely nice people. Especially when they're agitated. It's so fun!

Thank you so much for your review, ...! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Shinicha War and An Ally

25th September 2014:
Yay another chapter!

First of all, I'm sorry if my reviews made you think that I didn't like introverts or even dislike Annett because of it. No way, I love her! I guess what I said was because of how I perceive humans in general. As social beings that need a web of connections to others in order to define themselves. But I think I was too harsh; after all you made clear that Annett's best friends were her parents, also she has Ronan, Mrs. Norris and Carter too. So she wouldn't be alone. It's true, I'm probably too much an extrovert myself to understand a personality like Annetts. Which makes it so much more exciting to read about her, because to me she's really unpredictable!

I liked that Carter got such an important part in this chapter. He never seemed to be lacking confidence (thus like someone who would get bullied), but he's so much more complex and interesting than I thought. I should've guessed it from the way he really wants to discuss magic and study with Annett! I admit I never foresaw that he'd be the one to find out about her Incog-Imp-secret! Their detective-conversation was so funny; they both knew the truth but talked in circles and still understood perfectly well what it was about. For example, if I were Annett I don't think I would've come to the conclusion that Carter is being bullied. But Annett did, because she analyzes actions and words of people so closely.
It's even more interesting that she can be quite clueless when it concerns herself. The way she thinks that the others had been avoiding her (even though they tried to invite her so many times and Al keeps watching her even after their argument). It's as if she believes that she's invisible to others!

Also, the challange! Carter being a possible assistant prankster! I simply assumed that it would be Al that would find out first, because they've been more or less close for so long. This makes up all new possibilities. (I hope she teaches Carter martial arts. And I hope Al will get jealous over their closeness.)

You asked me why I assumed that Annett is in love? I don't think that it's love necessarily, but I think she finds Al far more interesting and follows him more closely than she realises herself. And obviously, as an Al-Fan, I'm very biased, haha.

I'm so happy that the cure for Ronan is working! Poor Annett, she's blaming herself too much, as if it was her fault that he's become that sick. The fact that Hagrid knows someone is helping is just another thread of the story... I wonder if or how people will find out her secrets. There are quite a lot possibilities by now! The last few chapters opened up many different ways the story can take from now on, which is good because that makes it less obvious (I love good suprises). But after these chapters to move along the plot, now's probably be the time to follow up all these different threads and get a bit action in! :)

I was really impressed by her expermenting in the greenhouses. You really plan your story very carefully; like the thing about boron and dittany and the potions-incident. Do you study chemistry or biology? I couldn't even think of dreaming up all these things...

I do find it a bit unrealistic that Fred, Roxie and James can just announce that they PLAN on causing lots of trouble in front of everyone and the teachers don't even say anything. Of course they don't have any evidence yet, but it seems quite risky nevertheless!

And before I forget to mention it: I love Annett's misunderstandings about the English language. It fits her personality, that she cannot really go with the flow in that respect, since she always over-analyzes things. I do wonder what that joke would have been, haha :D

Author's Response: Woot another review from Shinicha!

Hello, there!

No, not at all, Shinicha! I'm sorry that I made you think that was the case. And I am so thrilled to hear that you love her! You are so sweet.

It is so very open-minded and generally awesome of you to read about an extreme and peculiar introvert. I adore you all the more for that. It's my goal to help extroverts explore the inside of an introvert's mind!

Isn't he?! I'm delighted to hear that you think so. Carter's adorable. I have a bit of a soft spot for him. Thank you for saying that about their roundabout conversation it went through so many edits. I'm so happy it turned out okay.

She really is! She hasn't really thought too much about how she fits into everything until ch. 14. But even then she has not reached any significant conclusions. Here, with everything going on, she's especially out of it.

But Shinicha! Al and Annett are mad at each other. Do you know what would happen if they even tried to talk right now? You will soon. ;)

We shall see if your thoughts are true [waggles eyebrows].

She's mostly blaming herself for not getting it done quick enough. She had to go through so many hypotheses and she felt that she was wasting her time with other people. She is a bit harsh on herself, but that drives her determination in a way. Not very healthy, I know, but that's who she is.

So many, many possibilities! I hope you enjoy (and are surprised by) the one I made up. Action will most definitely be gotten into (kind of) in the next chapter. It's going to be a bit of a transition. I won't drag the story out unnecessarily. I promise. There will be the necessary developments because developing needs to be done. That is an awkward sentence (I'm sorry), but I don't want to spoil anything for you.

I do. I try. Thank you so much for noticing.

I study both! :D

It is at this moment, isn't it, but they have their rules. And the teachers can't do anything because they haven't done anything. . . yet. I'll explain this more later, I promise that too. I like to tie up loose ends. Most of them, anyway.

So do I. I would have loved to hear that one. I am relieved to hear that you find it fits her. Thank you!

Bahh! Shinicha. I love these discussions with you. Thank you so much for showing interest in this story. It makes me so happy!

Cheers,
Em :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwood Yang’s Audacity

24th September 2014:
Hi Emilie!

I noticed that you were sitting at 99 reviews and saw it fit that I'd leave the 100th review on this. I've been giving you feedback all along through the pm system and Google Drive, but there's been a startling lack of actual reviews left here on the archives. This only means that you're soon to have the review count of this story grow hugely.

It feels funny seeing Annett just beginning her sixth year. Almost nostalgic even. It's been quite a while since I've read this, but it's amazing the way you drop these hints about future plot points. I love the way Annett goes about talking to people. Even before she is aware that people find her intimidating, she is doing the Kluge glare. It just comes naturally for her.

You've just written such an interesting Next-Gen universe. I've seen a lot of people's ideas of what the Next-Gen would look like and this one stands out. You've written in an OC, but you haven't necessarily made her the center of the universe. Thanks to her observational talents, we get so much information about even those that she doesn't know very well and thus, the point of view doesn't feel so limited.

The story of her family is kind of sad. A stillbirth/miscarriage as well as victims of gang violence just within her close family tree. Certainly explains her lack of cousins.

Scorpius saying that this is going to be a fun year is more correct than he could possibly know.
You've set up the story to come so perfectly here. I'm so impressed all over again. I can't wait to re-read all of this. I am so happy I choose to beta this story and I'm so proud of the success it's seeing. Congratulations on 100 reviews!!

Author's Response: Joseph!

I spent so long trying to reply to your review the first time that I got logged out and I lost whatever I wrote.

Regardless, my facial muscles ache with this grin on my face and I can't seem to get it off. I blame your review.

The three digits make a rather larger seat to sit on. It's remarkably comfortable. Thank you so much for my 100th review! It means so much to me, especially coming from you. Yes, it is very fit that it should be you.

Very nostalgic, indeed. I feel like a sniffling mother (quite fitting when you take into account that Annett's mother here is named Emilie) remembering when her child was, well, little-er. She's grown so much, as you well know. So has everyone else in this compartment.

One of her many charms is most definitely her inherent ability to intimidate without always intending to. I have so much fun with this.

Thank you so much! I do try to write things that readers have never seen before, so it means a lot for me for you to say that.

Annett certainly dislikes talking too much about herself as you know. I feel that it is reflected in her thoughts. Despite her position as narrator, she is quite far from being egocentric.

It does exactly that and a little bit more after. I thought it would be revealing to at least hint at Annett's mother being a Pathologist because of her unborn brother (although I've never said this explicitly except within my own mind and here, right now, to you).

That is precisely the case. It'll be a fun year, even for him. ;)

Joseph, thank you so much for this lovely review and for being the spectacular beta and friend that you are. I cannot wait to read more of your reviews as you go through this story again.

Cheers and pancakes,
Emilie


 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn_Charm War and An Ally

24th September 2014:
Yay!! New chapter!! My incessant stalking has paid off! :)

So a prank war with the Wotters. I wonder if she'll do it? That is guaranteed to be highly amusing. :D I can't believe they stood up and announced it in the Great Hall and included the staff into the judging! I can't wait to see how that unfolds.

Hmm so Carter is more perceptive than I thought. I can't believe he figured it out. I honestly thought Al would have with how aware of Annett he is. That's so sad that Carter is being bullied like that. I love how he had to specify no violence hahaha. I'm shocked she's going to let him be her "protege" with how private and secretive she usually is. She must have a soft spot for Carter.

That's so wonderful that Ronan is getting better! I mean, he is going to never be the same, but at least - from what its looking like - he'll survive. That's something. I wonder if Hagrid will ever run into the little fox...

And now here comes the part where I yell at you (out of love, obviously). HOW COULD YOU END IT THERE?!? Arg! She runs into Al and then it's over! I'm going to be twitching even worse, this time, waiting for an update!

Once again this was a great chapter! I can't wait for the next one!! ♥

Much love, hugs and many cookies!
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Oh Meg!

Your dedication to this story is so heart-warming. Thank you [blushes]. You are so wonderful.

I hope I am able to write it that way. With all their rules, it would make things harder to prank and not get detention for it. ;) In addition, will Roxanne, Fred, and James try to involve Annett in their own prank? We shall have to wait and see. ;)

He has spent quite a bit of time being tutored by her. . . You've brought up such very interesting points.

[grins evilly throughout your yelling] I know, I know. I'm not a very nice person. ;) That was horrible of me. Worse still, I feel no remorse. Should I get myself checked out?

The next chapter is already in queue! :D YAY!

[gobbles the lovely cookies]

Hugs and love and scrumptious baking products,
Em


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella Hunter Satisfying Humiliation

23rd September 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and this has to be the most hilarious thing that I've read in a long time! I couldn't stop laughing the entire time, it was actually so brilliant that I wonder why I had never thought of doing this myself! Hahahahaha.

It was great finally seeing the plan come to action though. Annett and the gang were very sly about keeping it a secret for so long but also they were very organized, right down to the last detail. I'm impressed. I remember feeling a bit sorry for Yang in the previous chapter but after reading this, I'm going to have to admit that he was a major prat. I can't believe that he actually said that he wanted to basically get into her pants (Annett's choice of outfit was actually really spot on for what they were going to do and completely out of character for her, which made it all the sweeter)! What a jerk! I wonder how many other girls have fallen for that line? I hope none! Annett had some major control over her anger though because I would have hexed him for sure after using that line.

The entire Hogsmead trip though was so funny, I like that Annett was toying with Yang the entire time while also giving us explanations on what was going on behind the scenes. James and the others are eerily talented when it comes to pulling pranks and they all went above and beyond! I about died with the part with the toad, I couldn't believe that you had written something that hilarious so smoothly--also, it was SO funny seeing Yang lose his cool.

The medusa hair was also a favorite. Hahahhaa. I'm curious to know what the group is going to do now though. I hope they don't split up!

As usual though, your characters are fantastic and the flow for this chapter was spot on. I wasn't able to stop reading!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabby!

Thank you so very much for coming back to read and review!

I'm so delighted that you think so! And it means so much to me that I could make you laugh.

Yes it was most definitely not very much like her at all to dress in such a way. But the things she will do for her own amusement. . . She is very unfazed by a lot things: Cunningham and Yang for instance.

Bahaha! I'm glad I could change your mind about Yang. He likes her for all the wrong reasons.

Thank you so much. There were quite a few components to this prank, so it's relieving to hear that it came out smoothly.

Well we shall see what happens next, shall we? ;)

Awww, Gabby! Thank you. :)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by Unicorn_Charm Trapdoor of Piranhas

21st September 2014:
Hi again! :)

Ooh I'm out of chapters to read. :(

Wow I hope that helps out Ronan. I'm really surprised that he agreed to let her help him. Centaurs usually frown upon helping or being helped by humans. That just goes to show how much, as a fox, she did end up gaining his trust and respect. It's also another indication that she really actually is a good person. She may not be a nice person - usually, she has moments - but that doesn't mean she's a bad person.

I really thought that Teddy was going to chew her out at first. I was happy he didn't. She really, even thought she may not think it, needs someone who's on her team right now. She must be feeling more lonely and isolated, especially after hearing some students thing she's going to be some kind of a Dark Lord, than she lets on.

She and Teddy have a special sort of bond, don't they? It's nice that she at least has a teacher who she can go to if need be. It's obvious she cares deeply for him, or she wouldn't have offered to make his engagement ring, or ask to be invited to the wedding. :)

And again, her thoughts seemed to go back to Al. Even though they are still glaring at one another. Err! I just want to see them make up and admit they care about one another already! You're killing me! haha

I can't wait until the next chapter is updated! I'm completely hooked. I know I've said it before, but I'm totally in love with your story!

Patiently (not really I'm twitching) waiting for the next chapter,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Hello there!

Meg, that is exactly what happened! That is why he trusts her. She's very misunderstood within Hogwarts, yes.

They do ever since Teddy took her to Diagon Alley. They met on favourable circumstances, which is to say, when she was in the comfort of her own home and without so many people to make her uncomfortable and frightened. This is why they can talk to each other fairly easily.

Oh Meg. I'm sorry. But I can't make it too sudden for Annett. Can you imagine what would happen if I make them talk at this point? ;)

It makes me ecstatic to hear that you are! Thank you so much, Meg! This review, as your others, left the largest grin on my face. :D

Bahaha! Hugs and lots of love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm As Cunning as Ham

21st September 2014:
Hey Em!!

Aww how sweet was that with Rose and Scorpius. They're both so freaking cute! I love how Rose just basically shouted at him about going to Hogsmeade. :) And now Annett is starting to feel lonely... That much be driving her nuts because she is not used to giving in to such emotions. I love the fact that she even scientifically analyzed love. That is so insane, but so in her character.

YES! She FINALLY did it! Oh that was just so satisfying to read! I was cheering her on the entire time. She totally proved her wrong and called her a hag! Oh walking out of that classroom and slamming the door must have felt fantastic.

She was right. Cunningham was not only insulting what she believes in, but her parents and everything she has known her entire life. How could anyone be that closed-minded and cruel? She reminds me of like a combination of Snape and Umbridge. I hate her.

Annett is always very aware of Al. Even when she tries to pretend she isn't, she is. Her thoughts always involve him in some way, shape or form. Like when she says how they have been glaring at one another, or how she noticed the shock on his face when she finally stood up for herself. When is she just going to come to terms with the fact that she has feelings for him? Arg! haha

Oh I loved this. I loved it so much! It was just the best thing ever to see Annett finally put that cow in her place! Excellent job, as always, my dear!

*Bouncing with glee*
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Heyo Meg,

Eeee, yes they are. And yes, now she is. She's normally just alone without the lonely, now she's alone and lonely. We'll see how she deals with that! Or avoids it.

She does finally realise that liking someone isn't as straightforward as it seems. It involves so many variables. Her analysing is the way she deals with things she doesn't understand. Love between individuals who are not family is one of those things.

And yes! Finally! It took the mention of people she loves and cares about (her family) added to her built up frustration (over Ronan rather than over Cunningham) to do it, but she did it! Cunningham is very anti-science in her lack of ability to change and accept falsification. For this reason, Annett doesn't care very much about her. I'm thrilled to hear that you hate her. That also sounds mean [another oops face].

[Vigorous bout of nodding]

I'm so delighted to hear that you did, Meg! My heart figuratively surges (it would kill me literally). I cannot say these two words enough to you, here they are right now: "thank you!" You are just so awesome!

[Face-splitting grin],
Em


 Report Review

Review #15, by Unicorn_Charm How

21st September 2014:
Hey there!

Well it seems like she is a lot closer to solving what this is what Ronan. I know she's still not 100% sure, but it makes the most sense. That's so terrible that he may only have a few more months to live, or will suffer neurological damage.

It's crazy just how intelligent she is. And she's so dedicated and committed to this task. It's very admirable to see. I wish I had her persistence and work ethic.

I love when she jokes with people and they clearly don't know how to take her. People become so awkward and uncomfortable around her and it's really quite amusing.

Well, so much for pacing myself. I only have 2 more chapters left, and will probably just go ahead and finish them, because I cannot stop reading this! This has definitely made it's way into my top 5 favorite stories that I've read on here. I love it!

Lots of love,
Meg :)

Author's Response: Meg,

I'm on a very pleasant response streak. Pleasant because I'm mostly just reviewing your reviews. :D

Poor Ronan, yes. Things aren't going well for him. :(

It makes me so happy for you to say that because she's a rather interesting variation of a Slytherin. ;)

Oh yes. Especially when they've all thought that she's capable of murder. How very wrong they were. It's so fun to play with scenes like these.

Bahaha! Oh Meg! That makes me so happy to hear. Have you any idea?! [smothers you in hugs] Thank you!

Would be eternally grateful (but I don't have the capacity to live that long),
Em


 Report Review

Review #16, by Unicorn_Charm A Provoked Bärchen

21st September 2014:
Hiya!!

Yikes, that was some blow out. Seems like Al had been holding all of that in for quite some time. I think Annett has to realize that letting someone actually get to know you, doesn't mean you're revealing all of your secrets. She is very, extremely overprotective of herself.

They're totally in love with each other. Is so obvious. He wouldn't get that upset and she most certainly wouldn't let someone invoke that sort of emotional from her if they weren't. It's crazy to see just how well she knows him from watching him so closely throughout the years. I think Al does know her a lot better than she would like to think he does.

Wow they were both so cold and kind of cruel to one another. It was pretty sad to read. But at the same time, I think it was about time Al called her out and tried to make her see that she was hurting him.

It's going to be interesting seeing how the react around each other after this. Or what's going to come out of Lily overhearing everything Annett just yelled at him.

Great chapter hun! Can't wait to read more!!

♥♥♥
Meg

Author's Response: 'Ollo

Quite unreasonably so, yes. She's not a trusting person. Although in this very case, it's Ronan's secret. In other cases, it would be going off to do some scientific experiment alone or pranking as the Incog Imp or even studying alone.

Do you think so, really? I wouldn't have noticed. ;) This is a rather stressful time for both of them. Annett is frustrated with Ronan's illness and Al has been without a Fufu for a while. And he gets stressed in general. Although why this is has yet to be revealed. And you are certainly right about Al. He does know her better than she thinks he does. Her emotions at least.

But, Meg. . . they're Slytherins for a reason. :D

This response has been written with an abundance of childish glee because you are just awesome.

Thank you so very much,
Em


 Report Review

Review #17, by ... Trapdoor of Piranhas

21st September 2014:
yay. I can't wait for the next chapter...

Author's Response: ...,

Thank you so much for your review! It's endearing to know that you've read so far into this story.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn_Charm The Looming Threat of Explosions

20th September 2014:
Hey Em!

Yikes. She is all about finding out what is going on with Ronan. I can't believe all of the time, energy and hard work she is putting into this for him. Even though she is completely shutting herself away from everyone, it is really sweet to see her care so much. Although, there is definitely an ulterior motive behind her giving so much of herself to this cause. It's an escape for her. A coping mechanism. She was starting to actually have feelings and deal with emotions and couldn't handle it. Therefore, she shuts herself away with the one thing she understands. Science.

I wonder if she would have become as introverted and socially - for lack of a better word - backward if she was not home-schooled?

I feel bad for Al. You can tell he's becoming more and more heartbroken. But he's sleeping again? And did she allude to the fact that she is spending multiple nights with Al as Fufu? Hmm... Interesting.

Oh I want her to finally put that evil cow of a teacher in her place. I don't know how she is still siting so quietly while being torn apart like that. More power to her, I would never be able to do that haha.

That bit about her family, her grandparents in particular, was incredibly sad. That is definitely another major piece of her puzzle right there. Definitely a little more insight into why she is how she is.

I'm really hoping she comes around soon and breaks out of her shell a bit. My heart is breaking for Al.

Ugh! And another question is raised. What on earth is this large parasite - that is what was decided, right? - that is growing inside of Ronan??

I want to keep reading, but there are only four chapters left posted, so I don't want to blow through them too quickly, but I have to know what happens next! Major dilemma forming here! If you weren't such an amazing writer, this wouldn't be happening haha. :D

I'm going to try to pace myself. No promises, though. ;)

Much, much love,
Meg♥

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

Annett really is obsessing over Ronan's problem and that affects her social life, but the former is her priority, after all. By caring about one centaur, she shuts herself off to other humans. She is dedicated to Ronan's case because she cannot let him die without trying to help him. She has a little bit of a nurturing nature in her and she does have a little empathy. Additionally, she just happens to think she has the resources to help him. With all the science that she knows, she really is trying to apply that to real-world problems.

I wouldn't think so, actually. With homeschooling, if you do extracurricular activities, you can have a social life. She had a chance to be social in her marital arts and tennis classes, but she didn't take it.

So it's not quite Annett perhaps that affects his sleeping habits, is it? I won't completely reveal the entire reason for a while and I'm sorry!

Cunningham represents conservation and lack of progress. She is like a cow in the middle of a road: seemingly unrelenting and quite annoying. But Annett doesn't let her words get to her because she doesn't really care, I think. As harsh as it is, Annett things that Cunningham is rather daft and she doesn't really want to deal with daft people. It's very cold, I know.

There are reasons to her peculiar behaviour, yes. :D

Mine, too, Meg. She's being very cold right now. It kind of makes me upset.

It's an annoying little bugger is what it is.

Oh Meg! I'm so very delighted that I have caused such a dilemma. . . That sounded mean [oops face].

A lot of reciprocated love,
Em :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Unicorn_Charm Between Detention, Disease, and Domestication

20th September 2014:
Hi again!

Poor Ronan. It sounds like he's suffering horribly. I can't believe how determined and invested Annett is into helping him. I think it's more than just wanting to solve something. I think she genuinely cares.

So she's back to her old introverted ways. I had a feeling that was going to happen eventually. And she was making so much progress, too! I feel really bad for Al. She's totally oblivious and he's, most likely, taking it personally. I'm starting to think maybe she is part of the reason he has such trouble sleeping. I guess I'll find out! ;)

Well Al finding her as Fufu does seem to be her type of luck lately. Things do not seem they are going her way. Quite possibly karma? For her pranks on the school and Yang? Either way, this is not really her year so far.

Oh jeez. And of course she would be brought up into the Gryffindor dorms hahaha. Well at least she got to sneak out and make it back to Slytherin.

Hopefully she'll come around again and start to see that, yes alone time is wonderful, but having friends could be quite amazing as well.

Until next chapter, dear!

Hugs!
Meg

Author's Response: Hello Meg,

Determined is a Slytherin quality after all. ;) You know her so well!

Eh. . . we'll see. . . [shifty eyes]. That would make her feel really guilty, though, wouldn't it?

No. It most certainly is not (hence the summary ;) ). Al has eerily sharp Kluge detection skills (as mentioned in ch. 16). She is probably hating this year.

I know, right?! How inconvenient. Have they no consideration for her? :P

You just touched upon a rather important, overarching theme of this whole story, Meg. That is exactly what I wanted to convey with this! Alone time is most definitely wonderful, but so are friends.

Thank you so much for yet another heart-warming review! I love them so much!

Reciprocated hugs,
Em


 Report Review

Review #20, by Unicorn_Charm How I Receive My First Detention

20th September 2014:
And I'm back. :)

Flirty Annett is quite adorable. When she took Al's arm and made the little joke about his biceps. So freaking cute! I actually love her sense of humor. She's so dry. It's truly fantastic. It's funny seeing some of the sayings she still doesn't really get. Like her thinking they meant Al legitimately looked like a sheep. :D

And again we have another adorable Rose/Scorpius moment. Even though he's there with another girl. The idiot haha. I loved how Annett doesn't understand really how awkward it was for Scorp to compliment a girl who wasn't his date. Even though she is quite brilliant, there are some things she doesn't understand.

Poor Al getting called Snaps because of his hair. I'm sure he looks perfectly fine and his brother and cousins are just being cruel.

Oh my gosh, her threatening Peakes was the absolute best! "I will peel your skin off with my bare hands." That killed me!

I bet that had to make her a little uncomfortable when Al compared Fufu's eyes to her own. I would be squirming if it were me. And I wonder what is keeping him from sleeping...

Ew. How disgusting for Chu to attack her like that. I don't blame her for what she did one bit.

It was really interesting to see her kind of freak out to experiencing all of those emotions. Even more interesting to read her reasoning behind actively trying not to feel all of those emotions. I'm sure that will most likely be happening more frequently, and I'm anxious to see how she begins handling it all.

This is one of my favorite chapters so far. I really, really enjoyed it!!

Sorry for review bombing you today haha.

Hugs and love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Meg!

Yes, Annett's English could do with a little work. This because she doesn't talk to many people in English. She has very little use for English other than homework (her thoughts should all be in German).

Bahaha! Yes Annett is quite clueless socially. She's an unsocial introvert and Al is a kind of social introvert.

Perhaps he is. ;) Although when he frowns. . . I imagine he might look quite like Snape. His middle name only adds to this.

I'm so glad you liked that scene! It's in writing lines like these that I can have some sort of output for how mean I can be in my head. :P

You would be? I guess it goes to show how unfazed she usually is by everything.

She does try to rationalise her emotions, doesn't she? We might see more of this in future chapters [smiles with evil glee].

Is it really? Oh Meg! Thank you so much! That's so kind of you to say! I am certainly thrilled you like it. Thank you, thank you, thank you for following the story so far already!

Hugs and love in turn,
Em


 Report Review

Review #21, by Unicorn_Charm Exclamations of Merlin’s Extensive Collection of Lingerie

20th September 2014:
Hey Em!

I just want to start off by saying, "Oh dear Merlin's maraschino cherry-coloured, sheer, lace body suit!" is one of the funniest things I have ever read. I cannot stop laughing at that!

I knew she'd get out of it! Of course her brilliant mind would work out a way to get out of those gross spiders' clutches. My poor heart was pounding the entire time! I am just about as bad as Ron when I comes to spiders. That would be my worst nightmare, what just happened to her. But she got away!

Al Potter to the rescue! That was so sweet how he nursed - what he thought was - an animal back to health! My heart was melting just like Annett's was. And she is definitely starting to become more aware of her feelings. :D

So I see that Al has a horrible knack for naming pets just like his mother haha. That was very clever to add in there. Fufu?? What is he thinking? I'm surprised Annett didn't bite him when he suggested it.

Oh another chapter come and gone. I don't want this story to end! I love it so much! I think yours might be my favorite version of Al that I have read yet. I'm totally smitten with him.

Excellent, wonderful, amazing, spectacular job once again!!

♥ ♥ ♥
Meg

Author's Response: 'Ollo there Meg,

Thank you so much! I do love to make people laugh.

Are you really? Gahh! I am so sorry for putting you through that then!

Haha! Yes. Although I imagine she thinks she might not have needed him given that she was already safe from the acromantulas and may be perfectly capable of healing herself. But I wasn't going to let her do that.

Bahaha! Maybe she should have bit him!

Similarly, here's another review come and gone. I do love yours so much, Meg. They make me so very happy!

Aww. Al's seems pretty sweet doesn't he (for now).

Your ever grateful fan,
Em


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm A Night of Discoveries

20th September 2014:
My heart! She'll be fine. I mean, she has to be, right?? There has to be a way she'll get out of this. This review may be short, because I'm dying to know what happens!

That poor Centaur. Annett is a brilliant girl. I'm sure she'll work out something for him. Hopefully. :)

I still think its amazing that she's an Animagus. I think the relationship you described between her and Mrs. Norris was very sweet. Maybe I passed judgment on that little furball prematurely.

And did I read that correctly? Scorpius is taking a different girl?? Boo.

Ok I'm sorry to cut this one so short, but I'm too eager to see if she's alright! Excellent chapter as always. My heart is racing!!

Lots of love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Meg,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your reviews. I love them all and will take them at any length. Haha!

Mrs. Norris is getting very old, I figured she might want at least one friend in her lifetime. But she chose that friend quite wisely, didn't she. She chose someone almost as lonely and frightening as her. ;)

Yes, yes Scorpius is. I know, right?! Boo. Isn't he frustrating?

Also loads of love,
Em :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Unicorn_Charm Exploring Hormonal Minds

20th September 2014:
Hi!

Oh my god this is the cutest freaking chapter ever!! She is so in denial if she thinks she wasn't flirting with Al in the library. I almost died!. Those two doing impressions of all the girls going crazy over James and Al were hilarious. I loved Al saying how he had to stop speaking of James that way because it was becoming uncomfortable. That whole scene had me laughing.

Awww Rose and Scorp are too shy to admit they like each other. How cute is that?? And then Al asks Annett on a date and she says yes, even though she wants to think it's a "friend date." She's so, so, so in denial haha.

I love their interactions. They're just so sweet and genuine. I love how she laughs with Al and her guard - somewhat - comes down around him. Arg! I want them together now! Haha.

That was great with Lily. She's her mother through and through. :) "You talk about her more than grandad talks about those muggle boffers he's such a big fan of!" hahaha!

How about Al? Telling her he wants to see how those hips move? Very cheeky Mr. Potter. ;) Oh how I wait to read more of her reaction to this!

Another excellent chapter my dear!!

Lots of love,
Meg (your fan!) :D

Author's Response: Meg,

Thank you for another review that just makes me gush. You are much, much too kind.

Here's the chapter I went crazy on dialogue, so I'm thrilled to hear that you liked it and that it all made you laugh. :D

You brought up a very interesting line. . . who exactly are these Muggle boffers? Well, if you ask me, I haven't the slightest idea.

Rose and Scorpius are much too cute I had to write them in.

You caught that! Al very much has the ability to bring down Annett's guard, but what does she make of that?

Lily just wanting everyone to get together: Victoire and Teddy and now Annett and Al. We'll see how that all unfolds. ;)

Mr. Potter is quite the flirt, isn't he. . . who knew?

Another fantastic review that I appreciate so very much, Meg! Thank you, thank you thank you. You're always very encouraging and kind. I am so, very grateful [hugs].

Returning that love,
Em (your fan) :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Anni Trapdoor of Piranhas

19th September 2014:
I absolutely love this story and this chapter was amazing as usual!

Author's Response: Dear Anni,

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. It means so much to me for you to say that. I'm thrilled to hear you've been enjoying it. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella Hunter Out of the Shadows and into the Limelight

19th September 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm glad to be back! Annett is a genius. I think that she's one of my favorite characters that I've ever read, I love that she's so determined with following through on this prank (I also hope that Yang doesn't get too hurt in the process) while also balancing her views on science. I hope she wins the battle against Cunningham though, what a hag! I can't believe that she read her essay out loud and laughed! I'm not sure how that might turn out but I'm eager to read on.

I liked the progression of time you had going on here, it was really well-done. It seems like Annett's winning Yang over with very skillful traps and I like that she's using her own knowledge of hormones against the boys, it's working well for her.

I wonder if Albus is ever going to tell her that he likes her though? It's obvious that he does but I'm not sure if it's going to happen or not, I hope it does!

Also, Albus and the others are hilarious as well, they seem to be enjoying themselves. James is a bit silly, I wonder how surprised he'll be when he figures out that the amazing prankster is indeed, Annett? I can't wait for that! Hahahaha.

Also, Room of Requirement? I'm really curious now, can't wait for the next chapter!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Dear Gabbie,

I'm happy to see you again here! :D

Is she really? That's so sweet of you to say, Gabbie! [hugs] Oh you are too kind. It's nice to see someone who cares about Arden. It's also nice to see you hate on Cunningham. She's annoyingly conservative and traditional. And people like these exist in real life.

Oh Albus. . . But does he, really? ;)

I can't wait for you to find out either! That should be fun to write. ;)

Thank you again for such a wonderful review and for reading,
Em


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>