Reading Reviews for Violet Hill
  
51 Reviews Found

Review #1, by True Author a glimpse of infinity.

1st September 2014:
Hello Kiana! Here for the Ravenclaw review battle!

I know you said you'd prefer a review on another story of yours, but slash isn't really my thing. I've seen people recommend this story a while ago and the summary is way too intriguing. So here I am! :)

The best thing about your story is the originality of your plot. This concept was rather a tough one and I'm amazed at the way you've handled it. It's amazing!

Wow, you have some beautiful imagery here. Making the scene take place when it's snowing was a VERY clever idea. It just made everything even more breathtaking.

Will be back for more!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

It's fine, I understand, that's why I said I didn't mind what you read really. I'm so glad that you liked the originality about this as it means a lot to me. Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments, they really made me smile! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing an iridescent colour.

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

I wasn't sure how you would bring the last prompt into play in the story but I loved what you did here. A friendship between Lily and Scorpius was certainly not what I had in mind. You did a great job of showing how eternal their bonds were. It was lovely that Lily helped him so much with his mothers death, something he wouldn't have overcome easily but then their friendship became so much stronger in all the years afterwards too.

Again. Description. Honestly, I can't tell you how beautiful it really is. You have such a way with words, each chapter has read so beautifully and flowed so well and your word choices are all perfect. I could quote so many bits back to you but I'd just end up quoting the majority of the story.

I thought you did a great job with all three pieces, tying them together into a great overall story! Well done!

Lauren
house cup review 2014

Author's Response: Hi again Lauren!

Haha, yes, this chapter was certainly one of twists with it being Lily and the fact it had a lighter tone, but then I think it's possibly my favourite one because of those turns it had. I'm glad that you liked the glimpses of their friendship though because it was really fun to include and I really wish I could have expanded upon it now.

Aw, thank you so much!!! It really means so much to hear me to hear that so I'm just squeeing away now so excuse me if the rest of the review makes no sense. :P

Thanks for such a great review and sorry for taking ages to respond to it!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing the land of delusions.

12th July 2014:
Hey again!

I love that you changed to second person for this chapter... I love reading it and you did a great job of it here.

The chapter starts out very dark and you again had such vivid descriptions... your writing is absolutely beautiful to read, I can't compliment you enough. You did a great job of making Death so real and terrifying for Scorpius so great job.

I really like the ending... For me it was kind of unexpected for Draco Malfoy to be the source of such comfort, but I love that's he's grown as a person in this since what we know in the books. His words are very true, and while they can't take all the pain away, it's clear they touch Scorpius, and he sees death isn't all bad. Again - you gave us a more hopeful ending after a very dark start!

Great job again!

Lauren
House cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi again Lauren!

Aw, thank you so much, it means so much to me worry at all! It was actually a ton of fun writing about Death as you could be so much more abstract and obscure with your descriptions if that makes sense so I would definitely recommend it.

Yes, it was unexpected for me too I should say as I almost thought that Scorpius would find comfort within himself but I guess with all of his experience from the war he was bound to be able to help Scorpius and how to deal with death.

Thanks for a great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #4, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing a glimpse of infinity.

12th July 2014:
Hey Kiana!

Wow, you really managed to pack a punch in so few words! I think a lot of that comes from some of your word choices here, it read so beautifully... you did an amazing job. All the descriptions were so vivid it made the whole thing lovely and enjoyable to read.

What I loved more than anything though is that you turned the Thestral into a symbol of hope, where as we usually see it as something a lot more negative. Of course the story has a real undertone of sadness with the death of Scorps mother which you did a great job of showing because if it only happened 3 weeks ago, that pain has to be still very raw. But at the end when he feels like his mother is still with him because he can see the Thestral, I just thought that was such a hopeful ending... absolutely beautiful!

Well done on a great HC entry and also on the EWC entry! It was beautifully written.

Lauren
House cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey Lauren!

Aw, thank you so much, it was definitely a lot of fun to try and make this a lot more descriptive than usual but a lot shorter too and it was a really useful task and I would recommend it to everyone!

I'm really glad that you liked the spin on the symbolism too because I really wanted to explore the idea of misconceptions and how things can be seen in different lights such as the thestral.

Thanks for an amazing review, it really made me smile! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pretense Of Perfection a glimpse of infinity.

11th July 2014:
So this is the first story I've reviewed from our house cup submissions this year, and boy, was I pleasantly surprised. I really like what you did with the thestrals, taking a creature that most are afraid of and would consider dark, and really turning it into a positive and uplifting experience. I loved how Scorpius didn't associate seeing the thestral with death in a negative way, but instead saw the creatures as a sign of hope that there is life after our time here on Earth, and how he took comfort in the fact that he would be reunited with his mother again one day. I think you set the scene and overall tone perfectly in the beginning, what with the simple, stark landscape, and how you incorporated lyrics from the song that accurately reflect and reinforce your point. Second person POV is becomming so popular now, and the way you captured Scorpius' character really reflects your talent as an author. I think my favorite part is the end, where he refers to the thestrals as "hauntingly beautiful," I think it's a perfect description for them.

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad that I surprised you because I know that some of the HC got a bit similar at times. I'm glad that you liked the different take on thestrals though as it was so much fun to do and I really liked the idea of them being a sort of anchor to the world and providing calm to the world rather a thing which is a sort of spectre in a way.

Yes, second person POV is my sort of go to now but I just find it so much easier to write in so I just run with it. I really have no words for this review other than thank you so much as it really did make my day and I'm still smiling away now :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon an iridescent colour.

11th July 2014:
Hello hello hello!

This one was a bit different and I thought it helped you end on a much more positive note both in terms of Scorpius and the overall consideration of death. By the time you close, Scorpius is much lighter - so light in fact that he isn't even focused on himself. And I love the way you challenge the concept of death and mortality with the idea that a person can be such a light to others that they can truly going on living forever, even when their body ceases to function. Nobody considers that when writing about the topic, but I thought it was very true to life that you did and that you boldly explored the idea of "legacy" in this.

I thought Lily (II) was a very interesting choice of person as Scorpius's best friend though. It obviously bucks a lot of the FF trends in that area, which I really like, but at the same time because of that I was also left wondering - why? What is is about Lily - aside from her understanding and light - that initially bridged the family divide between them? How did they become such close friends? Perhaps part of your intent was to evoke these questions and if so, you certainly succeeded.

All three pieces were a thoroughly enjoyable read and incredibly well-written! Also, Violet Hill IS a great song!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi hi hi!

Yes, it was a different to the other too but I thought I should explore a happier note after all the darkness and misery :P I'm really glad that you liked the idea of legacy as it was something we discussed in philosophy once and whether that really was a substitute to immortality or not, and like most things in philosophy it sort of stayed in my mind until now when it popped up in this story.

Yes, Lily does buck the trend but I felt as if Rose would have been too obvious and she doesn't seem to scream the oddness that Lily does. If you ever do read Mottled Blue my head canon of her is very similar to the version of Lily in that so that should help you understand why she is this strange person.

Thank you for these amazing reviews and I am so so sorry for taking ages to respond to them!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon the land of delusions.

11th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was such an interesting take on the prompt. The loss of a loved one (especially a parent) is certainly adversity of the highest order, but you took it more macro than that (especially at the end), exploring death as a larger force with varying dimensions.

The darkness Scorpius is in throughout the vast majority of the piece was very well done. I think you really captured the feeling of futility and desperation he was experiencing after his mother passed and you did so with more than imagery this time, but well-expressed emotions that pulled at the reader viscerally.

I also liked that despite making your prompts three separate chapters (which many did), you actually seem to be making them an entire story. That was a really interesting thing to do!

See you for the final installment!

Author's Response: Hi again Kevin!

I'm glad that you liked the take on this prompt because while I feel as if Scorpius never fully overcame his adversity because as you said Death is such a large force it will be hard to reach that point, it was fun to see the shift in his mind set.

I'm really glad that you liked the darkness of death as it's something I thought about for a long time and how we can never, ever really fight against it so it was really fun to explore it here.

Haha, yes, I did intend to make them different but then I just started writing them all and it formed one sort of thing.

Thanks for a fab review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon a glimpse of infinity.

10th July 2014:
Howdy Kiana!

Eventually I am going to read Mottled Blue, which I have intended to read since the end of Rumpel's awesome challenge, but alas - life.

Anyway, moving on to this story, I was really impressed with how much you were able to pack into this with so few words. I've always admired authors who have the skill to be TRULY concise because goodness knows I struggled to deal with the 1500 word limit for these entries.

Truly though, forgetting the plot entirely for a moment, this was so well-written. It had everything I would look for in an excellent story. You consistently used strong, evocative language using it to create some vivid imagery ranging from the crucial description of the thestral to the more mundane color change of Scorpius's shoes. You also had really great variation of sentence length that helped the piece flow very naturally and managed to incorporate some great rhetorical storytelling devices like the rule of three in a less obstrusive way than normal. Bravo!

As for the plot, I thought it was really unique. Many people wrote about thestrals, but it was never this close to the loss of a loved one and it was never this intimate an interaction. I thought the closeness and the intensity of the end was a particular highlight and really struck at the heart of the prompt because the creature really had a true impact on Scorpius in those moments that was far from fleeting!

I thoroughly enjoyed this! Beautifully done!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Kevin!

Don't worry, life does get in the way an awful lot of the time so apologies for taking so long to reply to this as it was all of life's fault!

Yes, I'm starting to regret I went with that idea as I really wish I could have explored a lot more in this short story collection but hopefully I can do it again in the future.

Aw, thank you so much! ♥ I did have a thesaurus to hand which should definitely claim some credit for the word choices I must say. I'm really glad that you liked the language here because I was going through my Virginia Woolf reading phase at this point so I was trying to be a lot more reflective and imaginative with it like she is.

Aw thank you again! I've always been intrigued by them as they're so fascinating and just so obscure you can't help but marvel in them so I have to admit I went on a personal philosophical tangent here but it was a lot of fun!

Thanks for an amazing review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #9, by MissesWeasley123 an iridescent colour.

9th July 2014:
HELLO AGAIN TYPING FAST SO IGNORE PLEASE IGNORE TYPOS I LOVE YOU KTHX I SHALL START REVIEWING NOW:

Okay, so wow. I love the inclusion of Lily in this, their friendship is beautiful. I have to say I didn't see it coming and yet it was amazing. The line where Scorp says that she's immortal really got to me for some reason, I thought it was such a childish thing to say but still very important to the person Scorpius is, and his mentality. Your imagery and descriptions as always were stunning and so so vivid and this beginning line: The quill dangles in the pot of ink. -- IS AMAZING. I really really need you to do a breakdown of how you write descriptions in your stories, as the world must know your secrets!

So wow. This is definitely by far the bets entires I have read Kiana for the House Cup. I am really surprised this didn't win, but I guess it's all subjective anyway. Such a beautiful piece, thank you for sharing.

House Cup 2014 review
Educational Decree #5
NADIAA GO LIONSSS

Author's Response: IT'S FINE AND THANK YOU FOR THE LITTLE INTRO MESSAGE IT WAS FUN TO READ.

Bahaha, no one saw it coming because I guess Rose is always the natural person for him to be with but I was a bit bored of that and wanted to change it up here. I know what you mean about the immortality, because they will always live on and on in your mind so even if they are technically dead, it doesn't seem it so I know where you're coming from. Bahaha, I'm not sure with that I think it was just how to start with Scorpius writing a letter maybe?

Oh, wow, thank you so much, Nadia! But the winners did deserve it too and subjective stuff and all that jazz! Thank you for a fab review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by MissesWeasley123 the land of delusions.

9th July 2014:
HI AGAIN. Kiana what are you doing now with this beautiful second POV and such angst much wow I really cannot handle such lines like this: Death is but an illusion, a shadow haunting each being's step. I REALLY REALLY HOPE YOU UNDERSTAND THIS: That line, is like Jo Rowling level lines. I am not even kidding, as it is the most beautiful thing ever. The impact and dark eerie feeling it gives is both fearful and yet so hauntingly beautiful, and definitely poetic, as this story seems to be. Scorpius is challenged again, the use of repetition in the line of "Mother, Mother, Mother" is stabbing my heart every time I read it. So thrilling.

You treat death, or should I say Death as a character. This entire feeling of grief and decay is throughout the entire piece, and I love the way you have written this. Amazing, in fact truly brilliant writing, great work!

House Cup 2014 review, Educational Decree #5
GO LIONS

Author's Response: HEY AGAIN. I'm not sure it just happened but seriously I need to check my brain as I feel so dark right now and it's not great. Aw, thank you so much! Oooh eeriness! I'm sorry for stabbing your heart though but I guess we could always think of Scorpius to make you feel better as he's so lost and alone in the world and it's so sad so let's all go and hug Scorpius!

Bahaha, don't worry about capitalising it, but yes, because I think that's how Scorpius feels right now with the way it's just following him round and round and he can never really escape it. Thanks for this amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #11, by MissesWeasley123 a glimpse of infinity.

9th July 2014:
HELLO KIANA!!!

First of all, pretty brilliant that it's COLDPLAY THE BESTEST THING and then YOU ARE DOING EVERY WORDS which is always amazing when someone like you is writing and man this is a dark story! I really really need to talk about your brain. Like ok so you are a claw but how are you so creative with your descriptions and everything is so vivid and wow. everything is so dark and poetic and you write so well AND OMG YOU'RE GONNA HAVE LOADS OF UNANSWERED REVIEWS NOW HAHAHA.

The thestral gives you a glimpse of infinity, of what could lie beyond the land of living. -- um um HOW DO YOU ENGLISH??? Please let us unworthy being know. I cannot explain to you how wonderful that line is, it is so brilliant. Great writing as always Kiana, I really have no words :(

House Cup 2014 review, education Decree #5, let's go Lions!

Author's Response: HEY NADIA!

Yayay, for Coldplay and EWC! And yes it is a little dark sorry about that I just seem to be very dark right now so I feel as if I need to psychoanalyse myself and see what the problem is :P Aw, thank you I'm not sure if its my inner Claw which is guiding me here but it means a lot. Erm, yeah, I've got it down to 65 so whoo it's slowly going down :P

I'm not sure but I think philosophy is creeping into my mind too much right now, well that's the answer I have really! Thanks for an amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #12, by Leonore a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hi Kiana!

So short, and so pretty! Absolutely gorgeous description - and likening him to the thestral! So much lovely imagery, lovely description, beautiful flow... beautiful everything. The way it's sharp and angular and flawed but despite all it's generally considered to indicate he finds it peaceful and a sign of hope. Lovely.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Hi Leo!

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad that you liked the description as I really did work hard here to make it etherealy if that even makes any sense :P Thanks for a great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #13, by Veritaserum27 an iridescent colour.

8th July 2014:
Hi hi!

Wow, Kiana - you've done it again. This chapter has an entirely different feel than the two previous ones. Scorpius, as an old man, has a wisdom about him. He doesn't fear or dread death anymore. He finally is able to see that life extends beyond death and that his life (and Lily's) will live on with the living. I am duly amazed at how you managed to portray their love, friendship and his wonderment at her within five hundred words. I can feel how much he loved her. He isn't saddened beyond belief at her death, he is just, simply still in love with her. I liked that you chose Lily instead of Rose. It made the story more unique. She sounds like an amazing person and a light for all who knew her.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Aw, thank you! Yes, this chapter has a lighter and happier tone to it, but I kind of have to do it otherwise it would have been an angst overload :P I also really wanted to show that the fear of death perhaps fades away with time and age as we grow older it becomes more of a companion rather than an enemy, hence Scorpius accepting it now. I'm glad you liked the choice of Lily as I know some people didn't, but it can't be Rose all the time otherwise it will get boring!

Thanks for a fab review, Beth, it really did make me smile :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore an iridescent colour.

8th July 2014:
Hello again! I was wondering how you were going to tie in the theme of friendship with death and Scorpius grieving for his mother and once again, you managed to come up with something that surprised me a bit but was still amazing!

I really like the idea of a friendship between Scorpius and Lily, and it being a friendship rather than a romantic relationship. And the way that you described the friendship here really fit with the prompt of eternal bonds from friendship. The imagery in this was simply stunning; the idea of stars and planets and skies fit in so well with the eternal nature of the friendship that you were conveying with this story. It was lovely to hear how much Lily meant to Scorpius as well, the fact that she helped him to overcome his mother's death all that time ago but their friendship had endured much longer than that and at her death, Scorpius was the one remembering her and making sure that she'd be remembered even after they'd both gone - although from the sound of it, she'd already ensured that. Really lovely, Kiana!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again! Yes, I surprised myself here too because it was going to be Scorpius as a ghost and then him looking back on his friends, but that seemed too morbid, so I went for this happier approach :P

I'm really glad that you liked the friendship because in my head canon I always imagine them being friends because they always seem to be outsiders in my head, so naturally draw to another, sort of like mini-Lunas I guess. I'm so glad that you liked their friendship because that was the thing that worried me because it was like how can I show a lifelong friendship in 500 words, how? So it means a lot to me that it worked for you.

Thanks for another amazing review, my response feels so inadequate in its place now!

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore the land of delusions.

8th July 2014:
Hello again, lovely! Back for more! I really liked the way that you continued this story because I'd have found it hard to write a short-story collection all centred round one theme but you came up with something that worked really well and flowed well from one chapter to the next.

I really liked the way that death is capitalised and personified throughout this chapter because it makes it more of an obstacle and something that's harder for Scorpius to overcome - it's more intimidating somehow. At the same time it reminds me of the Tale of the Three Brothers and the way that they have to face Death as something real and tangible.

You wrote Scorpius's emotions and pain really well again in this and I loved the ending, when Draco stepped in and did his best to help him. It's hard to realise that someone might be better off when they're no longer suffering because it's true, death is only cruel to those who are left behind, and it's a hard lesson for Scorpius to learn. But I'm glad that he started to accept some of it at the end of this chapter!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again! Hahaha, it was quite hard, but once I chose to focus it all on death and how people react to it was quite easy as prompts 2 and 3 lend itself to that theme a lot more readily than prompt 1.

Yes, I may have taken that idea from The Book Thief and the Three Brothers, because there Death was always this terrible force lurking away there no matter what and I really wanted to show that here so you could understand the fear and pressure Scorpius faced when thinking of death.

Wooh for Draco! I think it was important to have him here, because as you said this will be the first of many lessons Scorpius learns when it comes to death so it was necessary to have that maturity from Draco here to help Scorpius to put it all into perspective.

Thanks for another great review, Sian! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #16, by Veritaserum27 the land of delusions.

8th July 2014:
Hi Kiana,

You did such a great job describing the many aspects of death. Scorpius is consumed by grief and views death as an ever-present force that looms within his periphery at all times. Your writing is so beautiful, I can feel is pain and anguish push through me. Also, you've described the mortal fear of death. It is unknown and many of us fear that more than anything. This chapter made me feel so sad - up until the last part with Draco. Here, you've managed to show another view on death. For anyone who has ever witnessed a love one dying from a terrible illness, death is seen as a respite - able to breathe again because the suffering is over. I was so glad to see that Draco could be there for Scorpius, even if just or a moment.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Aw, thank you! I'm really glad you got the idea of death that I was trying to convey as it was a little different to how most people tend to view death so I wasn't sure how it would work as him as a figure. Yay for Draco, who thought he could ever help someone overcome death? :P Wooh for Draco being there, and you are right about it helping someone who's very ill. I think Scorpius just needed that to be made clear to him and then he could start accepting things, whereas now it was just too much so hopefully Draco's words could be of some use to him.

Thanks for a great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hi Kiana! Ah, I love the title of this story and the song so it's great to be able to finally get the chance to read it and review!

I really liked the way that you chose to write about animals for this prompt. It might be a bit morbid but you know I love all things angst so Scorpius suffering and grieving was really interesting and I enjoyed (in a non-mean and non-morbid way) reading about it!

I think that you characterised Scorpius really well in this piece. If Astoria only died three weeks ago then it's got to still be unbearable to think about and I thought you got the sense of desperation and pain he's feeling across really well in this. I liked the way he was almost trying to escape it but it turned out that he couldn't really.

The Thestral was used really cleverly. Since they're a symbol of death and considered unlucky and stuff, it was great to see a different take on them and the idea that the Thestral offered Scorpius some comfort as it was because of his mother he could see it, which meant that she was there somewhere. It was really sensitively written and beautiful writing, as always!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hi Sian, sorry for taking a while to get to this but I'm glad you got the chance to read this!

Haha, yes it is a little morbid, but angst is the best thing ever, so I get what you mean about enjoying in a non-mean way. I'm so glad that you liked Scorpius though as he is very dear to my heart especially so here as he just seems so lost and floating around the world without any attachments that I want to hug him or something.

I'm glad that you liked the different take on the thestrals as I've always loved them as they're just so interesting, so I quite bad for it and the bad rep it tends to get a lot of the time so I wanted to change it here.

Thank you for a great review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle an iridescent colour.

8th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such a great third story to tie up your short story collection on Scorpius and his mother's death. I loved how all three linked together but also easily stand alone as amazing fics in their own right. This was short, but gave me such a deep glimpse into Lily and Scorpius' friendship. You somehow managed to make me feel like I had just experienced their friendship over all the past years in so few words: from childhood to when Lily had passed away. Once again, your writing here was so gorgeous and I really wish I was able to pick out and use such beautiful words and phrases as you do, such as: "Time was swept away in a myriad of stars after your youth, the years passing by so fast that all you could see was a blur of digits flipping from one number to the other." The other thing that really struck me was Lily's words about never being forgotten; I think that really resonates with a lot of people, and it just added that extra special touch to your story. Really nicely written.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad that they all linked together for you as that was probably the biggest worry for me because all the prompts were rather random when you think about it, so it was just like how on earth could they ever go together. Again, I'm so glad that their friendship worked for you and you got to feel the depth of it, because 500 words really doesn't let you expand upon it all that much :P

Aw, thank you, I shall say that using a thesaurus does help a ton when coming up with phrases such as that one though :P I think you are definitely right about everyone wanting to be remembered and leave their little mark, so I'm glad it resonated with you.

Thanks for another amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggle the land of delusions.

8th July 2014:
Hey!

I loved this so much, especially the ending! Your writing was so beautiful in this chapter/story as well, and I particularly loved your personification of Death, because it really became clear just how powerful its hold was over Scorpius, and how much his mother's death had affected him. You also really conveyed Scorpius' emotions so well - I got such a strong and vivid sense of his anger and despair over his mother's death. Your characterisation of Scorpius was really great as well, and I also loved your Draco. The words he said to his son was absolutely beautiful. I wasn't sure what I was expecting to happen for Scorpius to overcome the adversity of his mother's death, but the way you chose to do it was so beautiful (and tragic as well), but I really loved this. Gorgeous writing.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wah, just thank you so much again! ♥ I'm so glad that you liked the personification of Death because even though I explored it in different aspects here and in other stories, I think this is my favourite one as it just really makes you think about the idea of it. Yes, with Scorpius and the adversity, I wanted to show that it was more that he accepted the idea of it here and he would grow to fully overcome it later on as it was a very long process, so that's why it might not have been really clear here. I'm so glad that you liked Draco, because all things Draco are just ♥ Except perhaps Dramione :P

Thanks for another great review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #20, by Veritaserum27 a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hi Kiana,

Wow. This was so amazingly beautiful. You have a gift and I'm so glad you've shared it with us. I love Scorpius as a character and I love that you've put him in such emotional turmoil for this piece. The fact that you use the thestral, which is a creature associated with death to show his anguish is pure brilliance. However, you took this to another level. The way you described the being was very ethereal and it paralleled the emotions brought about by the death of a loved one. I really don't know how you did it, but the description of the beast's transparency was a brilliant way to show that even though we have life and death, we still feel connected to people who have crossed over. The small bit of peace that the thestral gave to Scorpius was a relief to the reader. Beautiful, beautiful writing, Kiana.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Wahahaha, thank you so much for these wonderful comments, I'm currently speechless, so yeah, I just don't know what to say! ♥ I'm really glad that you liked the interpretation of the thestral as it really can be seen in numerous ways, but hopefully mostly in positive ones as I tried to do here. I just wanted to show that they weren't things of horror and gore as Umbridge tried to say, but peace and tranquillity like Scorpius found with it so it's great you got that.

Thanks for this amazing review! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggle a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a really great story, and I thought you wrote this really well. It was really powerful and moving, and I loved getting a glimpse into the thought process of Scorpius - seeing him make the realisation of being a part of infinity, and that his mother is part of the thestral.. that was such a beautiful idea and really interesting as well. I really thought you conveyed the emotions so well, particularly at the start in depicting how his mother's loss affected Scorpius. The interaction with the thestral was amazing - your descriptions were spot on and I just loved your choice of words in this fic. Really enjoyed reading it :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte, sorry for taking a while to get to this!

Aw, thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked getting into Scorpius's thoughts and how he felt about everything as it was a lot of fun to write. Well, I say fun, it was more of the challenge of trying to write how he was comprehending the loss of his mother and what to do which was fun and getting that into 500 words rather than the actual content :P

Thanks for the great review anyway, it really made me smile! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter the land of delusions.

8th July 2014:
Hello again :)

I like the continuity that you've got between this story and the last (and presumably the next one too :P)

I think the thing I love most about this story is the interaction between Draco and Scorpius in the ending. Draco is obviously hurting from the loss of the woman he loved, but his son's pain takes priority over that. He says exactly the right thing to Scorpius, not sugar coating anything but still managing to make him feel better. I love the picture you've painted of him as a father :)

Again, you've got that gorgeous description and I like the way you've capitalised Death giving the impression that it's a real being that is causing Scorpius to feel so low.

Another great entry!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Hi Dee!

Thanks! Yes, all of the stories follow the dark and death theme in case you were wondering.

I'm really glad that you liked their interaction because the thing I love most after Scorpius is when Draco and Scorpius are together so this was so much fun to write. Yes, I think after the war he would be more reflective but more truthful too given how he saw all the lies and manipulation then, so it's great that you liked this version of it.

Haha, that was inspired by The Book Thief, so I would really recommend you check it out if you liked it here as you will never see death in the same way after that book!

Thanks for another great review :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotter a glimpse of infinity.

8th July 2014:
Hi, Kiana!

It always amazes me that people can write such brilliant stories in 500 words, so the fact that you've written 3 (yes, I'm assuming the other two are also brilliant because it's you!) is just wow.

I am so incredibly envious right now of the description you've used in this. It is seriously jaw-dropping. Like this right here:
Its outline is jagged, angular, from the protruding bones which have been weathered away to an argent hue. The translucent film covering the skeleton conceals nothing at all. The thestral seems incomplete, as if something has been lost and can never be retrieved.
How on earth do you do this?! My description of a thestral wouldn't go far beyond black and skeletal :p

I feel so sad for Scorpius seeing the thestral. He's obviously ran away to try and get away from the thoughts of his mother dying and then runs straight into a reminder. I love that he has every right to hate the thing for that but he see's the strange beauty in it and a meaning beyond death.

Brilliant interpretation of the first propmpt, Kiana. I loved this.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Hi Dee!

Wahahaha *blushes so red cheeks may explode* thank you so much, that means so much to me to hear you say that!

Aw, thank you :P I'm not sure really, I just sort of envisaged it in my head and then that burst out from my fingers, I wish I could offer a better explanation but I can't sadly.

Yay for Scorpius! I'm glad that you liked him here as he's always got a soft spot in my heart and I love angsty Scorpius too, so this was just the best thing ever really :P

Thanks so much for the great review, Dee! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #24, by UnluckyStar57 an iridescent colour.

7th July 2014:
...oh. I feel like I've just released a long-held-out breath. I don't know why, but the sort of resolution that you gave this piece is like that.

Hmmm, so Scorpius and Lily were friends? At first, I thought they were lovers and spouses because you mentioned "weddings," but there were no further hints of romance. I like that she saved him from his dark thoughts, and that after her death, he's going to remember her and how much she meant to him.

The line "Time was swept away in a myriad of stars...". Perfect. Just perfect. That was my favorite phrase of the whole story collection. :)

Wow, I really can't believe that you wrote these three chapters so quickly, because they're so. perfect. Each one was absolutely wonderful to read, and I love all the symbolism and metaphor and simile that you use in your stories.

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Haha, I hope you weren't close to dying because of holding in the breath :P

Yes, they were, but I think I need to clarify that more as it doesn't seem that apparent right now. I'm glad that you liked the idea of her being able to save her though.

Aw, thank you! ♥

Haha, I was impressed by the speed too, but thank you so much and it means so much to me to know you enjoyed them so much and I really loved receiving these reviews! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 the land of delusions.

7th July 2014:
And you've done it again.

I really like how, even though this was about overcoming adversity, you didn't exactly put Scorpius into the realm of happy smiles. After all, death is cruel to the living, and if Scorpius were able to be okay again with only a few words from Draco, well, that would be a bit off.

Draco is very different from how he was as a Hogwarts student. He's definitely gained some understanding of the world, especially about how death works. It seem that losing Scorpius' mother was just as painful for him as it was for Scorpius.

The last chapter was about flight--Scorpius was running from the voices that told him to succumb. This one is about almost giving in to them. I'm extremely glad he didn't.

One point of confusion. This sentence: "The nights when you realise that are the worst." seemed like a fragment because it began the paragraph. I wasn't sure if that was its function or not because I felt like the sentence had other things to say (if that makes any sense at all--in other words, I felt like the sentence was not complete in the context of the story).

Extremely haunting writing. I am amazed at how well you've sustained the bleak tone through the two different prompts!

House Cup Review 2014

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi again :P

No, the realm of happy smiles could never exist here :P I did think about making him happier and really accept it, but I think with the thing with death is that it will take several years to get there and it will be a long and hard struggle so for now it will just be the start of that and then he will get there so it was a weird spin on overcoming adversity as he never really did it here, but yeah, I hope you get what I was trying to show.

Yes, he was and I think he would have changed a lot after the war and that he became a lot more reflective and deep after the war as you said. I'm really glad that you picked up on the pain of losing his wife too though as not many people did but I think it would have touched him too.

Yay for not falling into the hands of death, I think he could have done so as he was so young and a child, but then in some ways he could have escaped it more easily as he is a child and doesn't fully grasp reality.

OOh, thank you for pointing that out it does make sense and I definitely will look over it after finishing this review response.

Thanks for another amazing review, you are too kind! ♥

-Kiana


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>