Reading Reviews for The Wizarding World War
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DoctorUnderwood On The Bank Of The Nile

10th August 2014:
This was the best chapter yet. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Chazzie On The Bank Of The Nile

8th August 2014:
EMMA! YOU HAVE A NEW BANNER! WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN :O It's very cool, although I did like the previous one too. I think I'm coping with the characters, and that was only two more in this chapter. If I start losing track of who's who then I'll let you know (but that will probably be after I draw a mind map to show how they all relate, and then see if I'm still confused. I love the characters, and I am determined to remember as many as possible :D ). I liked Bill, but Fleur was rather snappy. I can understand that though, as Bill didn't tell her about the work stuff until after. I enjoyed the snippet about her favourite place being in Versailles, and then brought up again by Tahir with her accent. And that you have tied in a link to Charlie's home town with the metal wands. I seriously love the idea!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Chazzie Slytherin Beginnings

3rd August 2014:
Hey Emma!
Aww poor Rose! Chucked in at the deep end with the snakes, and then left to fend for herself with a very irate head girl. I loved your description of the Slytherin common room and dorms, it was very interesting. Victoire is no doubt wondering why on earth Rose would trip up her friend, which is a shame when she didn't really. Still, I doubt she'd be willing to say that to Eleanor. I may be wrong, so if I am then just ignore me, but I'm not sure this quite sounded right - 'She knew that blood status didnít a good wizard make'. Perhaps something like 'She knew that blood status didn't determine a wizard's skill'?
I really liked the way you stepped back in time to get Rose's POV and the situation surrounding Eleanor's fall. I can't believe you're planning 100 chapters, that's amazing. :D
Lottie

Author's Response: LOTTIE :3 I love your reviews thank you so much for continuing to leave them :) I'm glad you liked this chapter as well :) and you're right! I'll go back and have a look at that line :) Also - I know I said in my response to your last review that no other major characters/settings would be getting introduced anymore BUT I OOPSED I forgot about the chapter after this one BUT I SWEAR that's it I promise.

emma


 Report Review

Review #4, by kenpo Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

3rd August 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the swap!

Gasp!

This seems like such a cool story. I'm ridiculously intrigued. The idea of having this set in China totally sets your story apart, and I'm just so excited to keep reading!!!

I also love that it's from the POV of the muggles!

Ahhh I'm just already totally in love with this story and since it was a short chapter there's not a whole lot for me to say other than that I'm really excited to keep reading this.

By the way, I also like that you've got such a short first chapter. It's a good way to draw the reader in without making them commit to reading a really long first chapter.

YAY I'M EXCITED.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #5, by lexiatel A Family Affair

3rd August 2014:
Review Tag!!! :)

Wow, this was great! I loved Ron, he's so funny! And Hermione, ahaha, loved her in this piece! She got a little of her own medicine with Molly commenting on her potatoes!

I notice a lot of people make Lily into a tattletale or know it all, I LOVE this, I am really really starting to enjoy Next Gen books!

Can't wait to read more! :)

Rated it a 9/10

PS: also loved Longbottom, he's like the COOLEST professor EVAH!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazzie On A Winged Horse

2nd August 2014:
Ooh the other sister from the prologue! I loved the easiness with which you have written both heterosexual and homosexual relationships, it was brilliant to read. I was grinning quite happily about that, the chapter was really good. You have a lot of characters which I'm still trying to keep a track of, but you mention details about them that would make it seem odd if they weren't there. And they shall probably all be important in future chapters. So over all I was really enjoying the chapter, and then BAMN. Cliffhanger. Really Emma? Gah I need to know what's going to happen! Well... Other than a war that is.
Brilliant chapter, can't wait for the next!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi again Lottie! Thank you so much for leaving a review!! :D I'm really really glad you're still liking it :) Do let me know if there gets a point when you're like "emma there is seriously too many characters to comprehend what's going on" because I'm very worried about that. I think at this point everyone's pretty much been introduced (at least, the main players), but seriously, let me know! :)

Thanks again, lottie!!
emma


 Report Review

Review #7, by DoctorUnderwood A Family Affair

29th July 2014:
I liked the scene where Ginny and Hermione were badmouthing Slytherins. Really shows of their friendship.

Enjoyed this chapter too.

You have a really ambitious task ahead of you and I hope you succeed. This story has the potential to be something great.

Till the next time!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the super-kind review!! I'm so glad you're liking it!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by DoctorUnderwood The Eight Families

29th July 2014:
This is interesting. I can't tell if you're supposed to like these people here. They seem very pretentious in a way, but also kind of friendly. I'm interested to see where this goes from here.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by DoctorUnderwood The Gobi Academy

29th July 2014:
"She was nothing like a stormy cloud but every little bit like an earthquake." - that right there is fantastic line. Could've pulled it out of a great work of literature.

I'm always interested to see what other magical schools look like. Much like schools in the muggle world, they vary greatly.

Next chap!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that line! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by DoctorUnderwood The Hogwarts Express

29th July 2014:
I love next gens where the characters are placed in surprisng houses. Though, at this point, Al in Slytherin is a little predictable. But, I've only ever read one other story where Rose is in Slytherin. Incidentally, one of the best I've ever read. I think it was called "Dragon Awakening."

But anyway, I like where this is going!

Author's Response: Thanks! And yeah, some houses get predictable, but there's only so many characters and so many houses ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by DoctorUnderwood Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

29th July 2014:
Hello! Here for the swapperoo!

I actually started reading this a week or so ago and was very impressed by it, though I did not review.

As in intro, I'd say this works extremely well! New characters and a completely new setting. Really draws you in.

Off to the next chap!

Author's Response: Oh, I glad you got to read it before! I'm pleased that you were impressed :) it means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #12, by jailbird The Hogwarts Express

23rd July 2014:
Rose in Slythrin is new! I was seriously expecting her to be in Gryffindor.
This is really going well. I like Victorie too. She seems like a genuinely nice character. So does James. It's great how you've tied it back to the epilogue; with Teddy snogging Victorie and the comments about saying hi to Neville and the thestrals.
It's going wonderfully so far. I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you've left a review on your reading progress! Seriously, people who review during their read-throughs are the best :) It really helps me know how the progression of the story is going! I'm glad you're still liking it so far. I do hope you keep reading!

Thanks again!
Emma


 Report Review

Review #13, by jailbird Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

23rd July 2014:
Hey!
This is a really interesting start. There aren't any typos I came across. I like how you've started with an air of mystery and it's an intertesting take to have it from a Muggle's perspective.
I suppose the only criticim I have is that the chapter is maybe a little too short. Maybe put a little more despription in there? The dialogue was great though! I'm really excited to read this story.
Also, your summary was really good too. It really stands out.
Alright, I'm off to read the next chapter. Just wanted to say that I'm really enjoying it! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D reviews always make my day :) The prologue is a bit short, but prologues generally are :) I do hope you're liking the rest of the story!! Thanks again!

Emma


 Report Review

Review #14, by MileyMalfoy A Family Affair

12th July 2014:
As a history major I love the fact that you have added in muggle history throughout this story. The segments of Professor Binns' lecture almost makes me want to be there (strange I know) just to hear all about that history, so you've got me hooked. I also really love how you use this chapter not only to display something like a history class, but also to show the reactions to Rose being put in Slytherin. My favourite one has to be the description of how Ron kept interrupting Hermione's day, especially this part: "I just - Slytherin, Hermione! Our Rosie, a Slytherin. This is too much."

This story is so wonderful to read that I can't wait for the next chapter. Good job!
~Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: :D I'm a history minor ;) I'm so glad you liked it! I really wanted the backstory to come to light in useful/practical/rational ways so i'm glad that it worked out :) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Emma


 Report Review

Review #15, by MileyMalfoy The Eight Families

12th July 2014:
One of the things I love about this story is how much detail you have put in to creating the OCs and the worlds that they live in. It's rather easy to work off of canon or place an OC in Hogwarts (that's my preferred trick) but to come up with entire other systems that still fit into the boundaries of the wizarding world while making something their own takes a lot of work. Thank you so much for doing that! I am loving this story and how it is unfolding, and getting to meet all the different characters makes me feel like something very big is going to unfold (in case the title didn't tell the reader that already or anything). I love love love the little touches, like how the descendants of the Salem witches all get together, and all try to show off their muggle finery, which seems to be so different from the purebloods in England. All in all I can't wait to see how this story evolves, and I'm really enjoying reading it.

Fantastic job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying it, and thanks for the compliments! I really hope that everything unfolds properly and you keep enjoying it!

emma


 Report Review

Review #16, by Chazzie A Family Affair

12th July 2014:
Whoop, another chapter! I really like where this is going. You've introduced quite a few characters and have started hinting towards the approaching war, the foreshadowing works really well. Its great how you've given us background information about the war from Arthur and Binns, its useful in helping the reader understand more about the story without being blatantly obvious about it. Ron's reaction to Rose's sorting is exactly as I would have imagined it, given his long standing hatred of the House. I do hope he becomes more open minded though - we aren't that bad. Her minor is ever logical, and I loved your portrayal of Ginny here. It was really sweet to see her with Lily. Can't wait to read more!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you for all of the kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I do hope you keep reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by lexiatel The Hogwarts Express

10th July 2014:
LOL! Rose is so much like Ron ,I love this!

My favorite line of course (LOL AT JAMES): Earlier when James was re-enacting how you were snogging with Teddy, Fred said that you have snogged almost every boy at Hogwarts.

I like how every time I read James in a Next Gen he ends up being so funny but a real jerk (in a light manner way in most cases), it's weird to picture, since his parents are not that way.

I have to agree with Fred that you forget they are thirteen (the nasty mouthed boys), but I grew up with a lot of boys around, they have such trashy minds at that age, lol, so it's not unrealistic.

HOLY WOW AT ROSE'S SORTING! I didn't expect this... MUST READ ON.!

Rated 10/10 for the surprise ending, lol!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: :D Thanks so much for the great review!! I'm glad you liked it and hope you kept reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by lexiatel Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

10th July 2014:
Very nice start to this story, almost chilling (picturing being a Muggle since I am one myself, lol), It's weird how the sister pretends nothing has happened. I don't know how old she is, but it seems very mature of her to do such a thing.

I am going to read on to the next chapter, because you hooked me in, but I figured I would review this for the House Cup.

Rated it an 8/10

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: :) Hi again! I'm so glad you liked the beginning as well :) Thanks again! -emma

 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan The Eight Families

10th July 2014:
Hello! This is the review you requested ages ago in my thread on the forums - so sorry it took me such a long time as I didn't have internet this past month!

You asked about whether the characters are well-rounded and interesting. Each chapter thus far has focused on different characters, which makes that kind of a difficult question to answer as I feel I don't know any of them that well yet. But, given the large cast introduced in a relatively short time, I think you've done well. One of the things I really liked about the character introduction in this chapter was how you established the elite high-society wizard class in America as the descendants of those involved in the Salem Witch Trials - it's another way that wizards focus a lot on their ancestry, although in an entirely different way to the aristocratic British wizards obsession with pureblood elitism. That's really clever. At least they don't take themselves too seriously though, with the most-bigoted award :p

You also mentioned that your story begins as an average next gen but I don't think that's the case at all! You're starting off with events in three different countries, the next gen Weasleys just one of the three groups. I think it starts off pretty suspenseful, I can tell something big is coming.

The beginning of the chapter seemed pretty disconnected from the rest of the story so far, but with Charlie's dad being in government I can see how this will potentially tie in with the other people's stories you've introduced.

Since this still feels like an extended introduction and I have no idea what will happen next, I can't offer much in the way of critique, since mostly what I'm thinking about as I read it is just wondering what will happen, how the looming war (I assume) will bring together these three groups of people, and how the various characters will interact :P Nothing stands out as glaringly wrong and I found very few typos, so nicely done. I look forward to reading more of this! And once again, my apologies on the huge delay in reviewing!

Author's Response: No worries about the delay! And thank you for the thorough review!! :) Reviews like this are always the most helpful. Thanks again!

emma


 Report Review

Review #20, by Chazzie The Eight Families

10th July 2014:
That was great! You are doing really well with this so far, and I can't wait to see where you take it. The plot is really original, so I'm looking forward to reading more. So far we have heard about four different Wizarding Schools, and it's really interesting to read about the traditions, celebrations, and culture that each one has. In particular I liked Charlie as a character (although I may be biase from my name) as she seems pretty headstrong from what you've shown of her so far. A good ally, but not someone to cross. I've never thought about wands being made of metal before, it's an interesting concept. Would they still have animal cores, or something else given the 'man made' nature of the steel and aluminium?
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: aw, thank you so much! i'm so glad you liked it. i imagine that the metal wands might still have animal cores, among other things, but definitely still made of things with magical, natural origins. :) to me, the core is what gives it the power, and the wand casing just kind of focuses it :)
thanks for the review!
emma


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan The Gobi Academy

10th July 2014:
Wow, it was great that you brought the prologue in to the rest of the story so quickly! It's really interesting to read about the Chinese magical academy and compare it to magic in the UK - notably in the difference in ages of their students, and the fact that Muggle-born students aren't allowed to tell their parents about magic! I imagine it's kind of a rude awakening into the world of magic for Jun as well, since she's just taken to the school first without any time to get used to the idea.

Hm, the last part was interesting. Is some international conflict brewing? I imagine this is what will disrupt the peace of the Next Generation characters at Hogwarts, I'm interested to see how their worlds collide. Great work!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: international conflict indeed! ;) I'm glad you liked it! And i'm glad the differences between the wizarding cultures weren't too jarring :) Thanks for the review!

Emma


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan The Hogwarts Express

10th July 2014:
I liked the scene with Victoire and Rose in the train. That would be hard for Victoire, to return back to school when all her friends have graduated - but at least she has her crazy family to talk to.. it was amusing when they were discussing what their cousins had said, hahaha. Yeah, I can imagine Victoire isn't too thrilled what Fred is saying about her.

The dialogue between Fred, James, and Louis is perfect as well, sooo typical of thirteen year old boys, especially daring someone to eat a nasty-looking bean that fell on the floor - I don't know why that was the thing to do at that age, but everyone does go through that phase haha. I love the mention of how Fred acquired the Marauder's Map - and even more than that, how James is kind of a failure at being a prankster so far because he doesn't know of any of the secret passages! That's so funny :D

Rose is a Slytherin! I so did not see that coming. I am actually super excited to see how she fits in with the other snakes because I can't recall ever having read a story where Rose is a Slytherin - that's great! I could see Al as a Ravenclaw.

I'm really curious how the prologue relates to all of this as well! I will have to read on and find out ;)

House Cup 2014 Review - Hooray for Hufflepuff!

Author's Response: Hi again! :D I'm so glad you liked the characters, and the surprise with Rose :) Thanks for reviewing again! :)

Emma


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

10th July 2014:
Wow, what an interesting start you've got here! I love that it's from the POV of a Muggle and set in China, that already sets your story apart and adds a unique twist.

Your first paragraph, especially, is so powerful. I love the contrast between what Suri is told to believe and what she actually knows to be true - her mother and sister tell her that it never happened, and pretend it's all fine and just move on, but she knows. It's a little like the book 1984 how the government change their minds and say the war is against a different country now and always has been. Well, it's a bit of a stretch for a comparison I guess, but that's what popped into my head as I read this chapter, and that only makes me more curious about what is going on and how people are covering it up. Certainly an intriguing start, and I love the setting. I'll be back!

House Cup 2014 Review


P.S. HUFFLEPUFF! HUFFLEPUFF! :D

Author's Response: HI! :D GO HUFFLEPUFF indeed!!! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this! It's my baby ;D i've been working on the concept for like nearly a decade now, it's crazy, and I really hope it all turns out well. Thank you so much for reviewing!

Emma


 Report Review

Review #24, by The_Crookshanks_Saga The Gobi Academy

8th July 2014:
Hi, this is The_Crookshanks_Saga from a review swap!

This story is just so interesting! You know, thanks for leaving off there, otherwise I may be late for courses. You wrote these chapters in a typical, third-person narrative, switching the PoVs multiple times, yet unlike usually, the flow and suspense was manipulated so artfully you had our complete attention! Bravo, ninja, bravo.

Until next time!
Meena

Author's Response: Thanks, Meena! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Beeezie The Gobi Academy

8th July 2014:
This was super interesting! I loved seeing how the Chinese schools do things a bit differently - the idea that Jun isn't allowed to talk to her parents about being a witch, ever, was definitely very different from the Hogwarts day, as was the age when they first went to school. I also loved the idea of them having a fake website - it makes a lot of sense, especially by 2017.

I was wondering if it would take awhile for me to find out more about what happened in the first chapter, and I'm glad you addressed it so quickly. I really liked the way you addressed it, too - it felt very natural, the way Kiya talked to her husband about it, and because he was hearing it for the first time, it didn't feel rushed. I also loved reading about it now, from her perspective in the wizarding world rather than from a child's perspective.

Amazing job. Like I said, definitely adding this to my 'currently reading' list.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review, again! :D I'm glad you liked the continuation, and the introduction of another part of the wizarding world! :)

Emma


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>