Reading Reviews for True Romance
  
208 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Don't You Want Me

20th April 2015:
Hey Rose! Finally here! :)

Alright, so no shouty caps this time. *eyes Rose suspiciously* This. This chapter was too calm, which actually makes me more nervous for what is sure to come. Your tweet about the drama not being far away has me all anxious now. This chapter. I don't know. Something must be coming soon. I can feel it.

I was actually really proud of Scorpius and Albus in the beginning of this chapter. That both behaved like adults. Maybe the baby is doing Al some good, because he really seems like he's maturing. I kind of feel like Scorpius' feelings may still be there, and be a bit stronger for Al than Al's are for Scorpius at the moment. I feel like he's not debating on moving to Paris because he wants to live with Corbin. It feels more like he's running away from his feelings for Al. Which is why he's so aware of Albus's schedule, wanted to tell him that he's thinking of moving with Corbin and assumed that Al seemed down because he still had strong feelings for him. I don't know I could be totally wrong. :)

I'm still not hopping back on the Brandbus. *crosses arms tightly and turns away stubbornly* Nope. Not happening. But, I'll admit, they were pretty cute here. I laughed out loud after finding out Cora was not hurt and Albus was freaking out about jello. :D Again, this section showed how much Albus is maturing. Yeah, he was angry about Rose, but the old Al would have stormed out and ran to Scorpius or hooked up with Derrick or something. I'm glad to see that they talked that all out and have come to a better understanding of where their relationship is. But I'm still not back on the Brandbus. *might be lying slightly* grrr.

I really enjoy the dynamic of Lily and Rose a lot. They really do have a relationship that is more like sisters than cousins. It's fun to read. :) Although, I think Rose is right and Lily might just flip out if she finds out Rose not only has feelings for Brandon, but made a move on him too. Oh I'm sure that will come out in good time though.

Great chapter Rose! As always, I adore this story! Thanks for the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm Ice Cream

11th April 2015:
Hey Rose!!

Sorry I'm horribly late with this one!

I can't lie, the fact that Teddy named his son Remus made me a little teary eyed. :( Especially with him being a sandy-haired little thing. *sniffle* Who put the stupid onions in here?! I loved Teddy! Absolutely loved him! He was such a great big brother to Al here. (I know he's not technically his brother, but he's as good as) I know Al feels like he's going to change or be mature enough for Brandon, or whatever, but I just don't see it happening. I still feel like he's going to break Brandon's heart. :( I'm not hopping back on the Brandbus anytime soon! :p

ROSE (the fictional one) WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!? Oh no, no, no. That's not the way to go about it at all! She ruined everything at this point. I mean, I can understand just wanting to do that, but not the right time. Too soon. Far, far too soon. And he wasn't giving off ANY signals that kissing him would have been remotely a good idea. Ugh, I just want to shake her! I'm still not giving up hope. Maybe, when Albus inevitably lets him down again, or cheats on him with Scorpius (because let's face it, he's selfish enough to do that), that kiss with Rose will come to mind. *still waving my Brose banner*

Aww I felt bad for Scorpius there. That can't be easy to hear that the man you're dating had to go into hiding as a small child because of people your family were associated with. I wonder how many uncomfortable moments he's had like that in his life? Probably a few I would imagine. I don't want him to move to Paris! I don't think Corbin is right for him at all. What about his shop? He loves his work! He can't just give that all up! Nope. He's not moving, because I said so. So there. :p

Well you were right about the drama. I can absolutely sense that coming. Especially after Rose's dumb move! I still want to slap her...

I'm more than half-way through this now! That makes me kind of sad because I never want this to end. But then I'm anxious because I NEED to know how it ends.

I can't tell you enough how much I'm loving this! Great work as always!! ♥

Love and hugs,
Meg

 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Only Myself to Blame

9th April 2015:
Hi Rose! Prepare for yelling.

ALBUS SEVERUS POTTER! Brandon deserves so much more that what you're giving him! You-know-what or get off the pot!! Bah!!

Ok. *breathes deeply* How are you, Rose? Good? Good! :)
Yeah, Brandbus is never going to work. It's official, the ship has sunk. Brandon is too emotionally mature for Albus, who in many ways, is an emotional 16 year old. He definitely doesn't seem capable of having the kind of stable relationship that Brandon wants and needs, especially with a baby now. I've jumped ship and am sailing the wide open seas on the SS Brandon/Rose. No more flip-flopping for me.

Speaking of Rose, what an interesting night for her, huh? You really hit the nail on the head though. Why is it that you can't be friendly with a guy, especially while having drinks, without them thinking that you're coming on to them? I felt so uncomfortable and embarrassed for her when he tried kissing her like that. It's good that she stopped him though. It would totally ruin her business if word got out that she behaved that way with her clients. But good on her for the kiss with the bartender haha. He wasn't a client, so why not? ;)

Well, I've got to hand it to Archie, that was really well done. I honestly can't say one bad thing about that. It was really romantic and sounded beautiful. I probably would have been puddy in his hands like Lily was. I don't know. I don't love Archie, but I don't hate him either. He seems like one of those people who you meet and then forgot their name like 10 minutes after you meet them. But Lily seems quite taken with him, so maybe he's alright. I can't wait to see him meeting Harry though. :)

As always, fantastic chapter, Rose! And, as always, I want to slap and shake Albus. Gr. Can't wait to see what's coming. This chapter felt like a clam before a storm or something... I'm on to you. :p

Much love,
Meg ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by Unicorn_Charm The Wolves and The Ravens

31st March 2015:
Hey Rose! Finally here! Sorry I took so long, I've been taking Benadryl and kind of passed out last night. Stupid cold.

I wouldn't have been able to tell that was the first party that you've ever written. I honestly thought if flowed very well. :) I love that Rose just bursts in their flat like she owned the place. It really shows how close she is to Al and James (and Lily too, I'm sure). I always imagine that Rose and Hugo grew up with the Potter kids more like siblings than cousins and you really do a good job at showing that with how Rose interacts with them.

This shy-ish James is just adorable! It's so cute how he's so unsure of himself with women, I just want to hug him! And I love the overprotective brother in him too, when hearing about Lily's boyfriend. Immediately asking if Harry knew haha.

“James, this is why we don’t tell you things,” Albus sighed heavily. “Of course she hasn’t told Dad – he’d react worse than you.” :D I was cracking up.

And that little bit with Cindy was just too, too cute! ♥

Arg Al!! He is being such a selfish twit! I'm glad Rose hexed him and told him off. What is he thinking?!? He has a man who loves him, home alone, with a NEWBORN and Al is sucking face with an old hook up buddy?? I want to slap him! He really needs to get himself together here.

I'm glad to see that Hermione is being supportive with Rose and taking her starting a business seriously. I'm sure Rose feels a lot better with her mother on her side. And I like how you described the beginning of their marriage. I really feel like you've got that dead on.

Oh yeah. There is definitely something brewing there with Rose and Brandon. It's totally one sided at this point (I think), but there's something happening. Rose is obviously developing feelings for Brandon and I think Al is beginning to notice that too. I smell drama in the not so distant future.

And then we come to Scorpius and Corbin. Nope. Still don't like it. I do kind of feel bad for Corbin, because I think he does truly care for Scorpius, but I don't think he's good for him. And this chapter just proved it. He's going to be another person who tries to control Scorpius and tell him how to live his life. Nope. Not digging that. I think meeting Astoria might have been a mistake. Now he'll be able to use the, "And I know your mother agrees with me," argument. Nope.

Great chapter once again, Rose! I can't wait to continue on and see the inevitable drama that we all know is unfolding!! :)

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #5, by Unicorn_Charm Where the Wind Blows

26th March 2015:
Hey Rose!! :)

I absolutely adore your Rose. Like to the point where I want her to be read and to be my best friend. It really is/was bittersweet meeting up with close friends from school. It's nice to see them again, but then you begin to realize how much they've changed, or you've changed and things just aren't the same anymore. Like here, when Rose is hearing of Eliza getting married and having a baby, and all Rose could do is focus on what in the world color ecru was. (which had me laughing because that would be so something I would do) And then how appalled she was at hearing Eliza got pregnant on purpose, to keep him. Ugh... Some girls. She just doesn't seem anything like them. Eh, at least she might get some business for her new Travel Company out of it. ;)

Aww that's nice to see that Astoria is really trying to make an attempt to be open to Scorpius' boyfriend. The fact that she wants to lunch with them really made me smile. It kind of made me forgive the, "Is he a pureblood?" question. Bless her, she's trying. I really do hope that eventually his father comes around, but I honestly just can't see that happening. I at least hope that his mother continues to be there for her son. I mean, you can't blame Scorpius for being a bit cool with her. Yeah, Draco did throw him out, but Astoria let him leave. A mother shouldn't have let that happen, no matter what. But, we'll see what happens with them I guess.

Ok, so on to Brandon and Al. I kind of want to slap Al in the face, to be completely honest. Brandon is in love with him, and I think Al knows that, and Al has feelings for two people and is totally abusing the fact that both of those people have feelings for him too, and he's causing me to type out the longest run-on sentence in the history of run-on sentences! Brandon is a good man, who just had the biggest shock of his life. And now here's Al making him feel like they might have a shot at being a legit couple (because who wouldn't think that after all Al did for him in this chapter!) and he STILL doesn't have his you-know-what together! Albus Severus Potter! GR!!! He's going to break Brandon, I know it. And yes, Rose. Yes. There will be pitchforks, fire and a tantrum fit for a two-year-old. Bah!! *glares at the computer screen, breathing heavily*

I don't think I've been this emotionally invested in a fic in a while. I'm totally smitten with this story, even though it drives me crazy and hurts my heart at times! :p Thanks for the swap, as always!! ♥ ♥

Much love,
Meg

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm The Love You Save (May Be Your Own)

21st March 2015:
Hey Rose!! :)

I really, really liked this chapter. I know I say that with every chapter, but this one I loved. I think it was the amount of POV's that we really got to see. There was just a lot going on. :)

I agree with Rose. I'm hoping that Lily gets Archie Bunker (is what I've decided I'm calling the bigot. Because, let's face it, he sounded like a bigot) out of her system soon. I wanted to smack him in the face when he made the comment about being surprised Brandon was an Auror. And Lily must have rose-colored classes on with him right now, to basically not bat an eyelash at that comment. He does seem nice enough, I guess. But pretty close minded. Lily is better than that

I kind of couldn't handle George bringing up Fred. Anytime I read anything with George talking about Fred's passing. I immediately tear up. It kills me. But that showed just how serious he was while talking to Al. I feel like George wouldn't really bring up Fred much, if he could help it. He's right though. Al isn't really being fair to Brandon. He totally just abandoned him. I'm pretty mad at Al lately to tell you the truth. He's behaving very selfishly. Bad Al. Scorpius is just trying to live his life and Al is messing with his head. But Scorpius isn't exactly innocent either. He pretty much told Al that he's only dating Corbin until Al makes up his mind. They're both being pretty terrible people right now, aren't they?

Um... I may have, possibly, just a little, kinda, sorta, maybe have a new ship here. Rose/Brandon! Maybe Rosdon? Nah, that's terrible. I'll get back to you on that. I might just be in love with Brandon and want to see him with everyone! He was so cute with his daughter! Ugh I want to hug him! I love that Hermione sent Rose with a book on nursing! :D Because she thought it would be good to know the theory! Hahaha! Of course she would! But seriously. Rose and Brandon. Way. Too. Cute! Their relationship already is very comfortable and effortless. They mesh very well. I was already kind of feeling that the day that they had lunch together at the Ministry. But now I'm totally wanting to see it. It seems like Brandon 's mother might agree with me, too. ;) And it really is no surprise that Harry is being so accommodating, after hearing Cora's Muggle relatives don't like magic. I'm sure Harry would never want anyone to grow up the way he did. :(

Awesome chapter, Rose! So, so, so loving this story!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #7, by BellaLestrange87 Simple Song

21st March 2015:
Hi Rose! I'm here for our review swap!

I've got mixed feelings about this chapter. I'm happy that Albus and Scorpius are friends again (true friends, not awkward-sexual-tension-acquaintances (does that even make any sense?)), but I'm not that much into the fact that Scorpius and Corbin are moving away to France. We know that Corbin isn't the calmest person around, and in France Scorpius won't have Albus or his family around to lean on if it flares up. (And, since I've seen your 2015 story map and know you've planned a Scorbin (Corbius? I don't know.) I feel like something bad is going to happen.

I feel a bit sad for Albus. Yes, he's got Brandon and Cora, but a lot of his friends are leaving, and to him it probably feels like the end of an era (of youthful innocence or not having to do anything), since now he's committed to a loving relationship and he's a father. I think he's matured a lot throughout the course of the story, and it was all gradual and realistic and I greatly enjoyed reading it (but I didn't review all of it because I AM A BUTT; I'll have to fix that sometime).

On a sort-of-related note, I feel like their flat is going to be a bit cramped. James, Albus, Brandon, and Cora (if I understood that part right)? I think they're going to end up tripping over each other, depending on how big the flat is (Undetectable Extension Charm, maybe?).

I'm sad that this is the last novel with Albus, Brandon, Rose, and Scorpius, but I can understand why; they've all done their growing and there isn't really any maturing left to document. Although I'd be interested in a story about Rose :thateyebrowwigglething:

You have a typo here: planning a two stories about Lily - planning two stories

I'm really excited for these Lily/Lysander stories. I think in one of my earlier reviews (or on another story, I don't remember) I said I was really excited for the Lily/Lorcan novel, and then felt like a complete idiot. Lily is possibly my favourite Next-Gen character, and I'm looking forward to reading more about your take on her, since she isn't really a major character in this novel. I think the reason I like her so much is because I've written 40,000 words about her myself and I like seeing how other (better) authors write her.

Thanks for the review swap! I'm sorry that this review isn't really a review and more me rambling about things semi-related to this chapter, though.

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #8, by Unicorn_Charm A View to a Kill

16th March 2015:
Hey Rose!

I couldn't wait for another swap. I had to know what happened! And all I can say is... you're lucky. *cracks knuckles menacingly* Well, lucky-ish. Alright, I'll start from the beginning. :p

I still don't know how I feel about Corbin. I mean, he came across as perfectly alright in this chapter, but the weird vibe I get from him is still kind of there. I could be completely crazy. I mean, I know that is definitely not out of the realm of possibilities. ;) He just seems to kind of talk down to Scorpius a little bit. And I don't know if that's because he's older and kind of thinks of Scorpius as childlike or what. But I don't like it. Although, it is kind of crappy that Scorpius cheated on him. Arg, Rose! You do complicated relationships and people so, so well!!
I hate/love it!!

I'm glad that Rose went home and worked things out with her parents. Hermione really must have been worried about her. We all remember what she did to Ron after he took off on her and then came back haha. And I LOVE how supportive Ron was! How he offered to loan her the money like that. I feel like he did that because of Fred and George. He couldn't help them start their business at the time, but he is in a financial position to help his daughter, now. It really was lovely to read that. :') Happy tear. I'm so glad that Hermione actually heard her out this time and is being supportive-ish, too. Yay for happy family! :D

YOU ARE SO LUCKY THAT YOU DIDN'T KILL HIM OFF!! Ok. I got that out of my system. I can understand why Al would be upset, but really, Bran having a child really isn't the worst thing in the world. And Al seems like he'd be really good with kids. If he thinks the news was a shock for him, then he should imagine how Brandon must feel. Albus is a bit selfish at times. James was great. I loved how he wasn't really letting Al fall into self pity and did kind of make him see Brandon's side, too. AND that he told him it would be pretty crappy of him to bail just because things may become hard. I think Albus needs a little bit of tough love like that. Bah! I can just see my Brandbus ship sinking in a giant firey blaze. Sigh...

Awesome chapter, as always! I'll be back to read the next one and (I'm sure) yell at you again. ;)

♥ ♥
xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #9, by crestwood A Satisfied Mind

16th March 2015:
Hi Rose! It looks like I'm going to get to be your 200th review on this story! I'm writing this in school, so hopefully I won't be too distracted by everyone's conversations around me.

I had a feeling that Rose would ask Scorpius to go with her. It was a little embarrassing that he asked her about her lack of a 'proper date,' especially considering who he is. Rose is probably a bit too concerned about this, because like Scorpius said, she's still really young. But when friends start getting married those thoughts do start creeping in.

I'm still very unsure of this engagement, but I'm definitely interested to see how announcing it goes. It's no surprise that Cindy was the first to speak up, as she probably has the least stake in the situation. I'm not sure what I'd say if I was sitting at the table. It'd probably be somewhere between James' "Wow" and Harry's "Great job."

I just can't believe that James asked when the baby's due, that's probably not what Archie or Lily wanted to happen. It was definitely horrible enough to run away to your room.

Aw Albus' litmus test with Cora is so cute. I'm not totally surprised that Molly doesn't seem to like Archie much. She probably picked up on whatever it is that makes me not like him all that much. I don't think I even remember what it was he did, but I certainly remember that he rubbed me wrong.

Wow, did not see the ending coming. Don't know what to say about this. Need some time to soak this in. Somehow this was payback for the story I made you read even though it couldn't have possibly been. I can't even imagine what this'll do to Molly.. You've really gotten across a certain level of emotions. Especially as Cora is crying and Albus goes to check on her. Such an ominous scene. Molly and Albus' reactions are heartbreaking. This is so sad and I am so sad.

Great chapter. I'm upset, but this was a great chapter. Thank you for the swap.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Unicorn_Charm Live and Let Die

14th March 2015:
Hi Rose!!

I think it's so funny that Harry was asking, in the previous chapter, if Brandon knew where Rose might be, and she's hiding in his house. :D That is seriously so funny! I really like the dynamic between Rose and Lily. They come across more like sisters than cousins. But I'm sure they were together often when they were growing up, and each being the only girl, it would only make sense for that bond to form. I loved when Lily teased her about Dom being in France at the moment. I wonder if Harry doesn't like Lily with boys just because she's his daughter, or if it brings back memories of how popular Ginny was with boys before him haha. And they're wrong that wasn't a close call, Ginny totally knows she's there. Ginny is no fool.

No! No, no, no, no, no!! You can't do this to me, Rose!! *stomps foot down angrily* Poor Al got all prettied up and HE DOESN'T SHOW?!? I can't even imagine what it would be like, sitting in an expensive restaurant and waiting for someone who never arrives! How could Brandon do that to Al??? There must be something wrong. That doesn't seem like Brandon at all. Is her hurt?!? Did something happen to him?! Aaaah!! I'm sad and angry and I don't like it! And now he's a bit under the influence and I have a bad feeling about where he's going to end up! Bah! You're killing me here!

You better go hide, young lady! You get in that corner (you can't see, but I'm pointing to a corner in my living room) and think about what you've done!! What did Al do?! Scorpius was moving on!! (Kind of) And Al made him believe that it was more than just a one night thing! How can I be mad at so many characters at different times! Before I've wanted to slap Scorpius, now I want to slap Al! I wanted to slap Brandon for a minute, but now I just know something has happened to him!! Once again, I can't deal. I need to go and reevaluate my life.

Bah!! Even though you're killing me, I am loving every second of it!! This is such a fantastic piece of work here. You're brilliant!

Until my next meltdown - er, I mean - the next chapter.

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn_Charm In the Waiting Line

13th March 2015:
Hey Rose!! :)

Wow that was all pretty heavy with Rose and Scorpius. I mean, from how she must have been feeling after leaving her parents', to waking up with Scorpius, to Scorpius kind of - but not in so many words - telling her she's being rash with abandoning her family and then finding out that her who relationship with him was a lie. My head would have exploded if I were her. She did a great job of not only keeping it together, but being very kind and understand about the whole thing. Even to the point of taking him out for breakfast. I know that I Scorpius bash at times, but I honestly do feel sorry for him. I know what he's been through hasn't been easy and I really felt for him in the beginning of this chapter. I hope that his father does eventually come around. We all know that Draco can be a jerk, but it's his only son. It makes me sad that he could so easily cast him aside. :(

Oh my god I love Molly. I love that she's fussing over how thin Albus is, but remembering that Harry was always thin, too. And the fact that she completely overcooks is just so her. And I love how grandmotherly it is for her to want to send home with Albus for both him and James. I just want to hug Molly Weasley. She's so awesome! :) And Arthur is absolutely perfect here! I can see him totally confusing Albus for Harry. And I love how he is just doting on the fact that Muggles are coming up with a flying car. (Molly making the comment about Arthur almost getting fired over the Ford had me laughing out loud). The bit about the TV was adorable, too! Such a great moment with Albus and his grandparents! ♥ ♥

Hmm... So it seems as if Harry does not really trust Brandon. Not when it comes to his son, I mean. I'm sure he feels that he's a good employee. Well, Brandon did break up with Albus. I'm sure any parent would not be 100% alright with their child re-dating a person who broke their heart. The whole mama bear/papa bear instincts must kick in, I'm sure. Bah! I just love Brandbus! (which is what I've decided I'm calling them now)

Another awesome chapter of this fantastic story! I love it, Rose! Truly, truly adore it!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #12, by Unicorn_Charm Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

12th March 2015:
Hey Rose!

I am so, so, so sorry for the delay with this one! I had a few things come up and haven't had much time to myself. I hope you don't hate me! :\

Ok, so I'm not getting a good vibe from Corbin. Like, at all. There's just something a little off there. Almost a little scary to me. I feel like he's going to be a massive control freak and not healthy for Scorpius at all. Just from the little things like grabbing the bottle of wine off of him, saying he doesn't like him seeing Albus -which makes me think he's going to all together ban it soon- and then the most alarming to me was the whole "You're mine," thing. I don't know. He's just not sitting well with me.

And now to a happier subject! Albus and Brandon!! :D :D I know I say this every review, but I ship them so hard! Oh I just loved Al sitting on his lap, thinking he's being suave, but really not so much. :) I'm so happy that they're going to go on a date! But I know that I'm just setting myself up for disappointment by shipping them. *sigh* As The Stones say; we can't always get what we want. ;)

Yikes. That was pretty rough with Hermione and Rose. I have to admit, that hit a little close to home with me. I was talked out of (forced out of) doing what I wanted to do after high school and was made to "get a real job." So I totally know how Rose felt. It's a really frustrating/heartbreaking/annoying/miserable situation to be in and I feel like you got that just right. One thing that was great though, was when Ron first came home. I laughed out loud when he said he left something at work and tried to leave. :D So I'm assuming she's going to Scorpius' place, since she felt the person whose place she's running to would understand her situation. That was a very effective, yet low blow, comparing her parents (more Hermione) to the Malfoy's.

This was a fantastic chapter, Rose! I absolutely love it!! I can't say enough how utterly talented you are. :) Thanks for the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #13, by Unicorn_Charm Such Great Heights

10th March 2015:
NO! What is Al doing?! Scorpius was not right for him at all and now he's going to blow things with Brandon, who he has a legit chance with again by kissing Scoripus?! No! No! No! Rose! I won't have it!!

Hi! Thanks for doing the swap with me. I was going to wait and review after I read the whole chapter, but after reading that kiss with Scorpius, I immediately came down here to begin my review and yell at you. Ok. I'm going to go finish the chapter now. I'm sorry for shouting (through text) I still heart you and adore your work. ♥

Ok hi I'm back. *glares angrily* I swear, I'm totally aboard the ScorBus, but not in this story. I'm definitely team Brandon. I just adore him! He's so sweet and I loved the way that he tried to help Rose figured out exactly what she would like doing. I don't like how he was dodging the subject of Al, though. Now I'm wondering if he still has feelings for him, or if it was just a snog or what? Gah! You're killing me, Rose!

Aanywho. Rose absolutely cracked me up in this chapter. I love how she totally just cut out of work by lying and saying her mother wanted to speak with her. And what she said about her father running away from those types of conversations had me laughing out loud.

I'm loving this as much as I loved the prequel. I really meant to come back to this, read and review it. I'm sorry I've been a slacker. I'll get my you-know-what together and get back to this story! I love it too much to not.

Thanks so much for doing the swap with me! I always love reading your work!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #14, by crestwood There Goes the Fear

8th March 2015:
Hi Rose!

So I'm immediately in love with your version of the Scamanders. Luna saying 'You're quite worried right after meeting Cindy is the most Luna-like thing ever. And can I just say that Lorcan feeling a little embarrassed about Luna talking about wrackspurts fits so squarely into my headcanon. Also, nothing is better than Rolf reprimanding him for interrupting his mother while she was passing on important information.

I think I would like to see Lysander/Lily, with these specific versions of them. I doubt that happens, but it'd be an interesting pairing. Lysander looking for her name in the Prophet is so indescribably cute.

I'm hoping James' injury isn't too bad. I'm with Cindy about how dangerous Quidditch can be. I'd be so frightened to watch someone I love playing. And, knowing how bad head injuries can get, I'm a little scared for him right now.

This dress scene is reminding me of how young I am and how utterly clueless I am about adult things. If it wasn't for Say Yes To The Dress, I'd be completely lost :P

I wonder who Rose will take as a date. She hasn't exactly been with a lot of suitable guys lately. There was the really forward guy from her tour guide job, the bartender and Brandon. Somehow none of them seem like someone to bring to a wedding.

I imagine that going back on the same vacations over and over would actually become a bit trite. I always feel bad for guides at places like museums and such that have to say the same things every day.

I do not like Mr. Hopkirk very much. My jaw actually dropped at the things he was saying to Lily. He could not be more unprofessional than that. I am so glad that she told him off because working there was apparently a huge mistake.

Somehow I don't think Lily's love is going to turn Archie into a nicer person. I'm very apprehensive about this proposal. I'm only afraid of what will happen because it feels like something waiting to blow up. It may just be my bias talking, but I'm always super suspicious of Archie.

Corbin is really sneaky with the way he words things. He's great at getting information out of people without directly asking. I will definitely say that he is anything but boring. Even the characters of yours that I don't like much tend to interest me. This story in particular just rings so true sometimes. Even minor characters are ridiculously well drawn out and realistic. You don't write any 'stock characters' that don't have much of a personality or purpose other than pushing the plot forward. Even Lily's boss, who I'm pretty sure has had one scene so far, has a really clear personality. Even Pedro, the guy who works at the pub, was a real person. It's just uncanny how you do that.

I still love this story so much. I really hope I can finally finish it soon! Awesome chapter and thanks for the swap :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by crestwood Hold Tight

26th February 2015:
Hi Rose! Once again, I have taken much longer than I expected to give a review. My review swap turnaround time could obviously improve. Hopefully the actual reviews make up for it :P

I'm really interested to see how this big dinner with everyone is going to go. We haven't seen all of these characters in one room yet and I think that some of them will clash with others at one point or another. *Totally doesn't side eye Archie*

I really love that it's Cindy that James has decided to date, if only because I know she's nice and don't have to be worried about things turning out badly in that relationship. At least I don't think so.

I just realized that Archie's last name is Boot. I can't remember if he's Terry Boot's kid or not or if you've ever confirmed or denied.

Albus trying to get the hang of helping out with Cora warms my heart every single time. It's so endearing that he's trying now and actually sure that he wants all of this.

I feel like Brandon is messing with Archie, as if he somehow realized that saying that to him would get that sort of reaction.

NO WAY LILY. That was an awkward line for the dinner table. I laughed and cringed at the same time, especially because she didn't even really notice everyone's reaction. It was super embarrassing, but hilarious too. Also, I've noticed that Brandon is almost always the one to defuse tense situations. I like that aspect of his character. Along with everything else, really.

I laughed for a really long time about the fact that Draco said 'You had Kal make a nice dinner,' because usually in that situation you compliment someone on what they'd cooked, not what they got the house elf to cook! I have no idea why that cracked me up the way it did.

I'm interested in Draco's thought process. The fact that going against his word is the height of dishonor, even if he changes his mind. Or that he disapproves of Scorpius having a boyfriend, but shakes Corbin's hand anyway because he'd never be rude in a situation like that. It's all so confusing and contradictory and makes me think about how difficult navigating pureblood culture must be.

I think the aphrodisiac laced books are kind of creepy, but hey, if they have a warning I'm not against them. I personally would be weirded out by not knowing if I really like the book a lot or if that stuff was just working really well.

I'm really loving the use of the word décolletage here. That's just a really beautiful word.

I'm so touched by how Molly reacts to Cora and how Arthur takes to Brandon. I think you've really captured their characters so well here and it just blows my mind that people can manage to write canon characters so true to who they are.

Everything after Rose arrives is pure gold. Albus' 'cut the crap,' 'At least with Scorpius you didn’t know we were involved,' and then the realization both of them had and the differing effects it had on them!! Just everything. Amazing. Absolutely amazing. You are so good. So, so good. This story is amazing and I really need to finish it. At the rate we do swaps though, I'll get through it this century, which is more than I can say for most fics that I've been meaning to read :P

Thank you so much for the swap, it's always a pleasure :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by crestwood Don't You Want Me

6th February 2015:
Hi Rose!

I'm so conflicted because I slightly want Scorpius and Albus to be together, but I definitely realize that they aren't the best for each other and possibly even kind of unhealthy. I think that staying with Brandon probably best for Albus and Scorpius should move on from his past regardless of who he ends up with.

I'm so glad Scorpius is taking this step of letting Albus know that he's sort of cutting things off between them. I think it's a good sign for his maturity in general that he's made a decision like this on his own. I think Albus is taking a step forward as well. Hopefully everyone goes on from this point that much more emotionally stable.

The scene where Brandon sings in the shower is especially funny because that is me, every single day. They just sound so soundproof from the inside!

Albus and Beatrice's conversation is seriously warming my heart right now. I am so happy that he is saying things like this to her and putting himself out there as a definite fixture in all of their lives. I'm also glad to see Albus feeling so protective over Cora because this is one step closer to seeing them as one big family like I want them to be.

You're really giving me everything I want with this chapter. Albus and Brandon both coming clean and everything working out and then saying the word 'love' and still establishing boundaries and making sure not to rush into things, I mean what more could I ask for out of that scene? (Or any scene in this story for that matter)

I wouldn't be very keen working for the Daily Prophet if I was Lily and couldn't even talk about my family for fear that it'd be front page news the next day. That would personally make me so uncomfortable and unable to feel secure at work. That probably isn't an important plot point but I still have a lot of feelings about that.

I'm really interested in where Rose goes with her love life. She doesn't seem to have a ton of luck in that department.

Well, this was yet another great chapter from you. It's not even a pleasant surprise anymore--it's honestly more of a comforting constant in my life. I just know I can come back to this story and have an awesome experience every single time. Thank you for the swap :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by kenpo Simple Song

31st January 2015:
Hello! Here for the February BvB!

Rose! This was such a fantastic last chapter. It really was. At first when I read it, part of me was a little disappointed that there wasn't any Brandon or anything, but once I'd finished, I was really happy with it. You did a fantastic job here with bringing the story full circle, and reminding us where it started.

At times, I'd completely forgotten that Albus and Scorpius were ever even together. Albus and Brandon's relationship is so fantastic that it just sorta seems like they were always together. That comforts me a little. I'll just have to find my Brandon.

I think my favorite part might've been Albus musing about the potions, and how he'd been so involved at the start of it. He grew up so much during this story, and I'm so proud of him! I did a fair bit of growing up over the course of reading this, as well. Al and I can be buddies.

I'm glad that you didn't leave all the characters is an ultra positive place. Lily still has her stuff going on, Scorpius is :(, and I'm not sure how Rose will do in Spain. This was a happy ending, I think, but not wrapped up with a bow on it. I loved it.

This story was fantastic, and I just want to love all over it and hopefully in the next few weeks I'll have time to reread it from the beginning to remind myself where we started. Thank you for sharing it.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #18, by missatron Such Great Heights

26th January 2015:
Hi Rose! So sorry for my lateness - I've had a very busy weekend and haven't managed to find time to review this up until now. Luckily, I'm here, and im glad to be back!

I really enjoyed reading this chapter. Last chapter was filled with introductions, so I was busy getting to know your characters, but this time there was a little more action involved. I liked how you described Rose as feeling 'trapped' in her Ministry job - it's a nice change, as, usually, Rose is portrayed as someone who loves work, her job, studying and what not. I enjoyed that. I thought that the interactions between Rose and the other main characters were very well done - paticularly between her and Albus. I liked how Hermione really wanted her to get the new job, but Rose wanted to be more free. It's different.

I don't think that I'm enjoying Albus and Scorpius kissing all the time. It feels a bit ... I liked hearing about what both of them were thinking though. It was interesting.

I like how Rose and Brandon get along well in this. Brandon seems quite a friendly guy, what with all his helpful advice and listening skills. I think it is good that Rose made friends with him. Rose's ideal jobs sounds good! I think that she soukd go for it. Maybe she will in the end ... I wonder where you will take this story ...

Great chapter, once again!

Missy ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by Aphoride Simple Song

25th January 2015:
Hey there, Rose! Sorry for this being a little bit late in getting to you, but my friend stopped round and I got completely distracted from the internet :P

I really can't believe this is finished! It seems like only recently it was being started... and Pure Romance before it... it's been, what? A year? Less? Something like that... wah, I'm so pleased for you but so sad coz this is the end of Albus and Brandon's story (though maybe minor appearances in Lily/Lysander? ;D).

I love how you've ended this though. It feels like this and Pure Romance have come full circle - with Al and Scorp starting out as friends, and then ending as friends, and both being secure in where they are and who they are and all that kind of stuff. There's something lovely about that - that they remained friends even after the love and the heartbreak and everything.

It was such a sweet scene with the two of them - so appropriate! And I love how Scorpius is so in love with Corbin (even if I'm not Corbin's biggest fan :P), and how Albus is so in love with Brandon, and both their lives are moving on - it's so nice to see people get happy endings for once! (I've been watching GoT recently, lol)

I'm so excited for the Lily/Lysander story (and I really hope it is Lily/Lysander, he sounds so good for her!), and I may pop by your story request thread soon with a plunny ;) But we'll see! For now, I'm just so happy with the ending of this - it's so nice! :D

Thank you so much for writing this story - I've loved it! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by missatron New Slang

22nd January 2015:
Hey! This is Missy coming over from the forums for our review swap!

I've actually been meaning to read this story for a while now, so I'm glad that we've had the chance to swap. Your characterisation has started off on a good note. I paticularly like your characterisation of James - there are hints of arrogance in him but there is a lot of good stuff too. Usually in next gen fics, I think that they over do the arrogance element of his character a bit. James is quite sparky and sarcastic, I'd say. I wonder how he will develop throughout.

Albus has quite a nice, friendly character, but not so much of a goody goody two shoes, as he is often portrayed as. I like how you have taken the niceness down a notch. Not everyone is is perfect. He obviously has feelings for Scorpius, which you have written very well. I'd say that Albus has a fairly regular character.

Scorpius seems ok so far. I wonder how the relationship between Albus and Scorpius will progress throughout the novel.

Lily definitley has a character and a half! She seems very feisty, much like her mother was. I like how her character matches in with the red hair and all.

James' "adult supervision" must really be getting in the way of Albus' fun mustn't it? I'm not so sure whether James is responsible enough to be given the task of "adult supervision" yet.

Overall, I love this story. It's such a fun, refreshing read. Thanks for the swap!

Missy ♥

Author's Response: Missy!!!

I'm so glad you decided to stop by this story! I'm always excited when people want to read my longer stories. I will say that it might be helpful t give a quick read to Pure Intentions as that gives so much more backstory than I touch on here.

James isn't someone I thought was really well done in this so I'm glad he seemed right to you. He's not a huge character in this (kind of second tier I guess) so I'm glad he didn't seem one-dimensional at least.

When I started on my next gen work I really wasn't aware of other next gen stories (I had been purely a Hogwarts Era and Marauders person for reading and writing). It was just luck that my interpretation of Albus is a bit different from the rest (but I'm really excited that he is).

Scorpius is a bit difficult in this story as he is pulled in a few directions with his life. I hope you enjoy his development throughout.

hehe, Lily was my favorite person in this chapter. She's such a rowdy younger sibling.

good point, it's a bit like the blind leading the blind!

thank you so much for an awesome review. I hope you keep enjoying this story!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan Simple Song

18th January 2015:
Here is your celebratory 'Seahawks are going to the Super Bowl!!' review. :D

'Unchoreographed dance' of shopping. That's an excellent and very true description.

I love the way all of this turned out. Except for Scorpius - I'm sad that he decided to stay with Corbin, who I don't trust and who is bound to repeat what he did before if he gets angry again. But, at least he knows he has a safe place to go and something to fall back on if that doesn't end up working out - he and Albus are back on good terms and friends again.

Albus has grown so much as a character over the course of the novel and I loved his insight into the others in this one, like he realizes Rose is moving because she wants to, and he's supportive of Scorpius despite not agreeing with him. I think he's a lot more understanding now.

And the last line made me SO happy, as Albus goes to his happy life with Brandon and Cora. ♥ :D YAY

Wonderful end to a wonderful fic, Rose!

Author's Response: I LOVE REVIEWS CAUSED BY THE SEAHAWKS. (especially when they're left by you)

I once used that phrase in an essay about seattle and shopping in the market. I didn't think past me would mind now me using it in a story.

I at least got your 90% happy with the ending - that's a success!! I will revisit Scorpius in a one-shot and talk about how he and Corbin are doing a year later so there will be more to come! I'm so happy you liked Albus and Scorpius ending on a strong note with their friendship. I thought that was the most important thing with them.

Albus is my work of art in this story. he had so much growth to go through to get him where he's at in terms of his relationships and self.

The last line is my happy line for the story. :D

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR GOING THROUGH THIS STORY WTIH ME AND POUNCING ON UPDATES!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #22, by Ravenclaw333 Simple Song

18th January 2015:
OKAY SO I FINALLY GOT TO READING THIS CHAPTER AND REVIEWING AND I HAVE SUCH MIXED EMOTIONS ABOUT IT ENDING

I'M REALLY HAPPY WITH WHERE YOU LEFT EVERYONE (EXCEPT SCORPIUS) AND BRANBUS. BRANBUS AND CORA AS A LITTLE FAMILY AND ALBUS BUYING BOOKS ABOUT COHABITATING WITH MUGGLES AND I JUST

i have so many feelings.

i blame you for them all.

can't wait for lily/lysander aw yiss

Author's Response: OKAY SO - I'M GLAD YOU MADE IT THROUGH!!! YOU GET A PRIZE FOR BEING #2 TO FINISH THIS (AND LEAVE A REVIEW). WHOO! I WILL REVISIT SCORPIUS - I PROMISE!

thank you so much for going on this journey with me. xoxo

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin A Satisfied Mind

17th January 2015:
It takes me one to two days to write a review now, and my fiance keeps exiting out of my webpage, even though we each have our own computer, and this is the third time I'm writing this review! *Twitch, twitch*

Anyway, HOW COULD YOU?! YOU MUST HATE ME! I knew something bad would happen...but Arthur? *Cries* Poor Molly :(

Or, maybe we should start at the beginning. I love the idea of Scorp and Rose hanging out, the GBF thing should totally happen. Just saying. I think that the wedding will be much more enjoyable if they went together -- or I hope... I never know with you. You'll probably have something explode at the wedding, killing the pair of them. *Cough* Or I'm overacting.

I can definitely see Harry hiring assassin aurors to defend his daughter's virtue (though I don't mean that as literally as it sounds *cough*). Feeding him may help ;). And, hahahaha, "Great job." That was fantastic, I chuckle every time I read it :D.

Now, the part that had me laughing out loud like a crazy person, of course, was James' inquiry on when the baby is due, and Archie's complete nervous break-down that was about to happen if Lily hadn't reassured him that there was no secret pregnancy. I don't think he's quite ready to be a father. But the Lily-Ginny scene that followed was sweet.

Now, this scene. I just... wasn't expecting it. It was just a lovely scene, with Al reflecting on how much his grandparent's love each other, and Arthur taking little Cora to the garden...and...it was even more heartbreaking to reread, knowing what was happening...

And, every time I read it, it makes me cry, because...it's just so SAD, ROSE!! STOP MAKING ME CRY! :(

At least, I know that Arthur led a full life, with a loving wife who he loved just as much in return, and a GIANT family who all loved him too...

*deep breath*

Okay. PROMISE ME...PROMISE ME that the next chapters won't make me cry as much as this one did. OKAY?

:D :( :D

Rumpel

Author's Response: Oh wow. I would have had harsh words about the closing of tabs.

I DON'T HATE YOU. I LOVE YOU TIMES A THOUSAND (maybe you'd cry less if I didn't love you so much).

Scorpius and Rose are gbff forever. I will promise that there are no bombs at the wedding. They do have fun together :D

Hahaha, I got what you were laying down and that's more of a figurative job than a literal one. My dad inspired the good job statement. He was equally eloquent during my first wedding.

I do take pride in making you look slightly crazy one chapter at a time. Archie was very unprepared for the pregnancy comment. I did like showing Ginny being close to Lily.

I... Don't have any excuses for what I did next. It was part of me just throwing in some real life for the family to deal with and part me expressing my own loss with a family member.

No one dies in the next chapter but it might make you cry.

Thank you for your awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charm Simple Song

17th January 2015:
Omg, wow, I think I may have the first review on this so whoo! ♥ And congrats Rose, on finishing this story it was so much fun to read :D

I really liked how this chapter just focused on Albus and Scorpius as the story was initially about them, and we could see how much has changed between them and how much their lives have developed since the beginning of this story and that was really nice. I also really liked how great friends they are now and how they could put their differences behind them to allow that to happen as they do make really cute friends.

Boo to Scorpius going back to Corbin! You obviously guessed that I wouldn’t be happy about that, but I guess Scorpius seems happy about that which is the main thing. It was sweet to see how Albus wanted to make sure of everything and that his friend would be okay before celebrating it though.

I do feel sorry for poor old Albus with everyone abandoning him with Scorpius in Paris, Rose in Spain then Lily at the Burrow. In a way, it was nice as he wasn’t jealous at all and seemed genuinely happy for them and all the adventures that they’re going to have. I really liked how content he was with his little family of Brandon and Cora and they’re just so cute together and leave me squeeing away. Though Lily and Molly living together might be a rival in the cuteness factor soon!

I can’t wait to read all about Lily it sounds so exciting namely because of what I just said and I love her as she’s such a fab character and I can’t wait to read about her and Lysander! Thanks for writing such a fab story Rose, and congrats again on finishing it! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: KIANA!!!

CONGRATS ON BEING THE FIRST TO FINISH R&Ring THIS STORY!!! *high five*

I'm really glad you liked the ending wtih just the two of them. I mean, I started this off writing about just them and it did feel natural to end on them as well. hehe, they are cute friends.

To be fair, I'm not happy about them being together but Scorpius is. Albus is kind of my own voice in this chapter. I don't think Albus would feel right if he hadn't tried to do a sanity check with Scorpius.

Well, Albus was being a bit dramatic when he said that. I think it was in part to get scorpius to open up about moving and start a bit more of conversation. Albus is quite happy for everyone (and with his own life at the moment). I couldn't help but end iwth the image of Albus going home to Brandon and Cora. *le sigh*

Thank you so much for the fab review and making thorugh this whole story!!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #25, by kenpo Time to Get Out

16th January 2015:
Hello! I'm here for the bvb battle.

First: My friend is currently on a date with someone named Brandon, and I thought that I needed to tell you that.

I loved the house hunting!! Eeeek I love imaging them raising Cora together and being all cute and amazing together. I love them so much. You mentioned that you were worried that there was too much of them in this chapter, and I say NO SUCH THING!

I can't believe Albus said the thing about the couch to her (okay no I totally can believe that). I'm glad that they proved her wrong so quickly, though. I was really worried that something bad would happen with that. I'm glad that it turned out okay. WHEW.

Lily and Molly's conversation was so sweet! I like that she's making sure Molly is okay, but it was also heartbreaking to see Molly so sad. I can't imagine the Burrow having just her in it... I can't imagine how empty it feels for [i]her[/i]. :(. It'll also be good for Lily to branch out on her own for a little bit!

Scorpius... Ugh I know that what he's doing is a bad decision, but I can't help but totally understand why he made it. I really want to hope that it was a one time deal.

PEDRO. Good for Rose. Heh. Heheh. I loved that Rose was just like "wut I'm not moving in with you". She's so... Rose. I hope that she does good for herself.

I can't believe this story is almost over. I want more of it, but I can see how its coming to a natural end. Ahhh but I love the characters you've created so much, and I don't want to leave them. (WRITE MORE).

I guess there's always your stories offered thread for me to badger you to write oneshots in this universe.

This chapter did feel a little faster than the others, but not so much that I'd comment on it if you didn't specifically ask about pacing. It was good. Like all of them. How do you make all your chapters good?!

I'll miss this story :(

-Georgia

Author's Response: Georgia!!!

HOW DID YOUR FRIEND'S DATE GO? WAS IT A BRANDON SAVAGE DATE? you must tell me

I felt like doing a little conga dance where we just went "branbus branbus branbus" and danced around in circles. I was really happy with them in this chapter and wanted to really leave them on nice footing.

Albus is the captain of 'saying inappropriate things' club. You could join as well. I'm the vice-chair. I felt the issue with her had been prolonged enough. Part of me wanted to write about her having a suggestion that she not push the investigation very hard (to imply that Harry kind of leaned on them but not really).

I thought that Molly and Lily wwere at a place where they both needed something extra in their lives. Lily needs to get out on her own in a way and Molly needs someone there to take care of (or at least be around more).

Scorpius is the one I felt the worst about in the end. I mean, he made his decision based on love and trust but it's not the best one he's made. :-/

I wish I had more time for Pedro/Rose in this!!! I knew they'd end up together from his first appearance but I needed to wait to make it happen. And, I dunno, they spent the week together but I think they're both too carefree to call it more than a week long thing.

Everything comes to an end!! :( :( :( I will write more in this universe though!!!

ah, thank you so much for another wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>