Reading Reviews for I Know
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by milominderbinder I Know

1st October 2014:
here for the QTR story search round four! oh, this was SO creepy, i loved it. it caught my eye on your page because i made the banner for it, obviously! but i never got around to reading it and i'm super glad i did now. you write mystery really well, i never would have predicted how this turned out! i thought it was going to be parvati who was crazy or evil, but finding out what ginny had done, even if it was an accident... it was so creepy and brilliantly written! well done ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by emmacweasley I Know

18th June 2014:
Hi! Here for the review swap, sorry it took me so long! Anyway, I LOVED this one-shot! It's so unique and just leaves very vivid imagery behind. It really brings to life the realness of the war, by talking about PTSD and also how mistakes like this at the wrong moment and the wrong place can change someone's life. It was a devastatingly beautiful read.

I also really liked the fact that it's hinted at that Parvati wasn't doing this to torture Ginny, not really. She's gone crazy after her friend died and she saw it happen - and while she obviously blames Ginny for it, I suspect that part of it, and the reason why she's not told anyone about it, is her trying to understand and work through the fact that it was an accident, and I imagine she's upset that Ginny's not living with the same pain that she is.

It was a great read!! I'm glad I got to read it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by bellatrixlestrange123 I Know

5th June 2014:
Here with your requested review!

Ahhh this had me hooked from the very start. It was ominous and full of suspense from the outset - I love it!

You did a brilliant job in creating and holding that eerie feel to the plot with your writing, and every paragraph made sure to give more and more information slowly but in an affective way. This was good because it really felt like I was unravelling a sort of mystery as I read. Who is this person? Is it human? What has Ginny done? What do they know? and then it was Parvati?! I wasn't expecting that! Ahh!

I think you did a nice job of characterizing Ginny in this story. I know that the main focus was on how scared and confused she must be to be experiencing these strange occurrences and you did well to maintain that. The guilt that she must have felt from Lavender's death, she had probably suppressed so it's understandable how she didn't manage to put two and two together at first. At first I was going to say that I wish you had made Ginny a bit more prominent in the beginning but no ignore me, the way you have written her makes the story work brilliantly, don't change it! :p

You utilized your poetic license of writing post-war (a time that is not written about by JKR so we can really write it as we please). I think adding Ginny and Parvati to the equation of Lavender's death was very unorthodox. I hope you take this as a compliment because I mean it as one, but your writing is very unconventional in the best way possible. There is a whole lot of clarity when you write and it feel like a breath of fresh air when you read it!

The only CC I have is that I noticed in some places that you had a few typos, but non so great that they distract the reader, so their easily fixed!

I wish you the best of luck with your writing, keep it up!

Bella :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by True Author I Know

7th May 2014:
Hello Curie! :D

I was so surprised when you told me about your new mystery story that I didn't even look at your other stories when I visited your page for the swap. ;) Your writing style fits perfectly for fluff or romance, but you've done a great job with mystery too!

Wow, you really made me curious throughout to the ending! I just kept thinking about all HP characters 'I know' but somehow I didn't think of Parvati. Also the revelation was quite shocking. I can understand the situation and the reason behind Parvati's behaviour. I must say the end was pretty believable!

I was just thinking you should make the story a little longer. Maybe add some more descriptions? Having lots of darkish descriptions is very effective for a mystery story. Especially if it's a one-shot as it is much shorter. Just add some more descriptions to the last part and all the incidence to make everything more vivid.

The incidents were so scary! I would have died before the realisation if I was Ginny. Especially the Knight Bus scene. Wow! Also the idea of the green shirt was a clever one.

Aww, I feel so sorry for Parvati! :(It must have been very hard for her and it's so so bad that she was affected by the incident this much.

Overall this was creepy (in a good way of course)! Great job and yay for mysteries! I hope to see a more from you. :)

It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

 Report Review

Review #5, by A Friend~ I Know

21st April 2014:
I love the suspense and build up! I love how you started it as I was pulled right into the mystery. How instantly, I could feel an air of eeriness. The suspense continued to build as more and more of Ginny's past and the incident was revealed. And the ending how everything clicks, and Parvati appears again, except this time, showing herself and instead of disappearing suddenly, she turns and walks away. I love the difference between her disappearances at the beginning and how by walking away at the end, Parvati, instead of seeming like a ghost haunting its victim, she seems very much real. Loved it! ~

Author's Response: And VE.E.E.E.E.E.DA.A.A.A.A.AHH.H.H.H.H

You know i cant thank you enough! i just want to give you such a tight hug and am sad that it will have to wait a week! Honestly! You didnt have to do this and gahh! Honestly! ILY! Yeah, the walking was very symbolic :P She's just meant to be a presence thats always there and you know, just never leave.

Thank you thank you thank you!

-Cuurip!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon I Know

18th April 2014:
Howdy! Since I'm going to cast a vote in the poll, I figured I'd drop by and R&R all the pieces!

I thought you did a good job laying out the mysterious aspect of the piece from the get go. A good mystery is always hard to do, and I think it's even more so in a one-shot. But you took the right direction and used snapshots and internal thoughts to set the mood and get us wrapped up in Ginny's concern.

While I think you could have supplemented your descriptions of the incidents with more detail and stronger, more evocative language to increase impact, I thought the fact that you made each incident different was a wise choice. For me, I think it might have been nice to actually have taken the incidents almost in reverse order (though I think it would have been 3-2-4-1 actually) - letter from Harry, letter on knight bus, willow tree, break-in. I think it would have shown a nice escalation and could have increased the fear and concern associated with it because it is simultaneously getting physically closer to Ginny as well. I got the sense you wanted to distance the shirt incident from the realization to emphasize how deeply Ginny had buried this, but at the same time, I think a powerful, sudden realization coming right before the flashback and final scene could have been at least as powerful and would also have made for a delightful transition point.

Ugh. I'm rambling on now and sending you the wrong message! The bottom line is that I really liked the story. It confronts the war's aftermath in a unique way with an tight mystery that serves as a mask. For your first mystery I thought you did a really good job in the format you had to use and the short time you had to for the piece to capture the mood, develop the sense of yearning for answers that every mystery requires and bring us some closure.

Good work!

Author's Response: Hi! Im so glad!

Omigod yes! Mystery was so hard! But the challenge was really fun! And G A S P! you called it good *leaves to go cry*

Yeah- i have received that from other people too! I think i might go back later and just add more description! Maybe in my holidays :) Yeah- I sort of just wrote it and it just flowed and i wasn't thinking so it really does require a good edit. yeah- i did! Because it was really hard to write about something this big and try to convince the reader that she had just forgotten?

No no! Don't worry! You were really helpful and first mystery! So I really needed all that CC! Thank you! :D Thank you so much again! It really means a lot! :)

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by keyty I Know

18th April 2014:
Woah! This was so creepy. I love the mystery here, because there was no way I could have guessed that. It's so sad. I feel like Parvati going insane makes some sense, even though it's somewhat far fetched. But I mean, at seventeen she took part in a huge battle. She watched her best friend die, and many others she was close to. I guess I would be surprised if this drove more than one of the students mad. Especially the younger ones. What can you expect? To see death at such a young age... Well, I guess seeing thestrals wouldn't be considered weird the next year.
But back to your story! In my opinion this could definitely happen. It's not something I ever really thought about -because I mainly write Marauders era -but now that you've brought it up in this story, I think it's a very realistic idea. It's sad that Ginny did it, and even sadder that it drove Parvati insane.
You did an awesome job on your story! I loved reading it. :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much!

Yeah, I guess it is a bit far fetched- i definitely see that! But yeah, I was hoping readers would see that :) I know even just reading it, I was like a depressed zombie for days! I cant imagine! Wow… yeah! Thestrals! I never thought about that! That would be such an interesting idea to explore!

Yeah, it sort of was a build up if you get that? Like kept repeating in Parvati's head; like she would keep lingering on that thought and it was at the back of her mind for everything and then it just became everything to her. And Ginny, yeah, Ginny just made a very large mistake.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it! :D Thank you for such a great review! it made me grin for days!

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx I Know

16th April 2014:
Hi Reebs! I'm back to review this amazing story of yours!

This was so insanely, terrifyingly, gripping to read and my eyes were glued to the screen until I'd read the last word. Really. It's absolutely brilliant. You've done an amazing job with the plot, and the way you've written it, makes it so powerful. Ginny's emotions are so clearly portrayed and you've got some great imagery going on here.

I love how all the dots are connected slowly, and it all ends in that creepy, captivating manner. You should be proud of yourself! You've done an amazing job at writing your first mystery! I absolutely loved it!

Also, sorry for the short review. I am just so exhausted but I wanted to stop by and leave one here before I turn in. :)

~Erin

Huffleclaw - Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Erin!! You're such a sweetie!! Thank you so much!

Aw!! I'm so speechless!! No idea what to say! Thank you so much!! I was really scared- it was literally a huge jump- with everything- description, imagery, emotions! I'm glad you like it!!

Thank you!! Seriously- too sweet!! And I L O V E short reviews!!! They mean just as much as long ones!! Thank you so much again!

-Reebs ;)


 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 I Know

16th April 2014:
Hello, fellow Eggstravaganza team member! Luna Diggory forever!!

This was a very creepy little read! The set up was suspenseful and attention-grabbing, and the end was chilling. I like how it didn't end in Ginny's death or anything like that. Parvati just showed up again as a reminder that she is always watching... Always. That's somehow even more chilling because Ginny has to keep being reminded of the overwhelming guilt that she feels.

Whoo, all of the letters and messages that Parvati left for Ginny were insane! The first one especially-Parvati actually broke in to the Potter household! D: Obviously there's nothing that she WON'T do. This sort of insanity is simultaneously fascinating and terrifying, and you write it so well! :)

~UnluckyStar57

For the Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza.

Author's Response: Hi fellow team member! And I so agree!! Luna Diggory is going to win!!

I'm glad!! I was actually planning for it to end in Ginny's death, but it felt too cliched. Not to mention, a bit unrealistic. Thank you! i'm glad you liked it because i didnt want it too seem like its just a lazy and easy way out!

Haha yeah :) Parvati does go a bit crazy- i hope that didnt seem too unrealistic! Thank you! Ive never written insanity before and as sadistic as it sounds =, i enjoy writing it :) So I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks again for the super sweet and awesome review! :D

- Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 I Know

15th April 2014:
Hi Reebee!

I thought I would review for my fellow Luna
Diggory teammate! I liked the mood you've set up
in this. The reader is constantly having to think
about the story and I love stories where I have to
figure something out.

I think you have enough background here that you
could spread this into a longer story, if you
wanted. You've got Ginny's horrible secret and
Parvati's past. It works great as a one-shot, but
it also could be more.

Nice job!

Beth

Reviewed for the Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff
Eggstravaganza.

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Thank you! It means so much! Thats awesome! I love stories like that too and it totally made my day that you think that this is a story like that! LD

Yeah- I realised that after i came up with the idea! I realy would love to expand it someday! :D Maybe a short story later after i catch up on RL and fanfic stuff! Its a super awesome idea!

Thank you! And thank you for the review! :D

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rumbleroar goes roar I Know

15th April 2014:
Oo! The suspense was so high at the start... and the end was so chilling! You really had me gripped all the way through!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad! I was really scared about how gripping it was and I'm glad you liked it! :D

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It means so much :)

-Curie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login