Reading Reviews for The Missing One
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik The Missing One

12th July 2014:
Hey Jayde!

Aww, I'm really missing Keeping Secrets (why no update!?), but I'm so pleased to discover that there's a spin-off lurking here on your author's page! Awww, I love that we see things through Molly Weasley's POV here. I've always wanted read more about Molly post-war, dealing with Fred's death and trying to care for George. And your lovely story here is so true to her character. I love the details here and there, like how she prefers to manually wash the dishes with soap and water rather than magic because she likes the routine, and it comforts her somehow, helps take her mind off the awful events of the war. Of course Molly would find comfort in her usual household chores; her household routines would be something like a comfort or safety zone for her, which she can retreat into when needed.

The reference to The Missing One was really sad. Of course we already know what's happened to Charlie (he's in Americaaa!!! Married to Lizzz!!!), but it's quite heartbreaking that Molly doesn't know, hasn't the faintest idea where he is and what he's been doing, and it's likely that when she goes to Romania, she'll be greeted by his empty place. But I love how she continues to have hope. She has so much faith in her children that it's amazing!

This was a wonderful story, Jayde! Beautifully written.

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle The Missing One

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I haven't read your companion novel but hopefully my review will still do your story justice. I'm actually really curious now to hear Charlie's side of the story, so maybe when I get some time I'll actually check out the novel! I thought this was such a neat insight into Molly, especially with how she has been copying with Fred's death, as well as with her apparent grief over 'The Missing One'. I thought you characterised Molly really well - it felt so believable, especially in her thoughts about how everything in the past used to be so perfect. You also conveyed Molly's grief very well, as well as her desperate need to see 'The Missing One'. All in all, I found this to be such an interesting one-shot and enjoyed reading it!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Infinityx The Missing One

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review.

Hi there! This was such a sad one-shot. Poor Molly. Having another of her sons leave so soon after Fred's death must be so hard on her. The way her emotions have been expressed in this is so powerful and heartbreaking. I love the way you've brought in the task of washing dishes as her way of coping and getting into the routine of everyday life just to calm herself.

The way the name of the son wasn't revealed cast a kind of morbid feel to the story, and it was really effective. Addressing Fred as the dead one just made it all the more powerful.

I'm really curious to know Charlie's side now so I'll be checking that out soon. Great job!

Author's Response: Awww, I'm sorry it's so sad. :(

Yes, Molly is definitely going through a LOT right now. :( I'm glad that you thought that the way the emotions were conveyed was powerful, though; thank you!

And Yay! I hope you'll give 'Keeping Secrets' a read soon! :)

Thank you for your comments about the dish-washing, and about how the son's name wasn't revealed... I really wanted to give it a little ambiguity! :)

Thank you so much for this amazing review!

~Jayde


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of Perfection The Missing One

10th July 2014:
Wow, i'm definitely going to have the check out the companion piece to this story, and it was a pleasure to read. I totally thought this was about Fred when I started reading, but you made it very clear early on that it was about another of the Weasley children. I like how they are referred to as the dead one and the missing one, even if it is kind of sad and morbid. My heart literally breaks for Molly, missing her her children, and you really managed to breath life into her pain and it translated very well in the story. I can totally relate to it, which is always one of the goals of any author. I can't help but wonder what happened to Charlie, and why he is missing now, so you really managed to hook me there. I like how Molly needs the mundane task of doing the dishes by hand, just to keep herself busy and her thoughts from racing, which would essentially drive her insane. I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and I think the pacing was perfect for the story you were telling and the message you were trying to convey to your readers.

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! I really hope you'll give 'Keeping Secrets' a read!

I'm glad you liked the "dead one" and "missing one" references; I wanted it to have a little ambiguity. :) And although it's horrible for Molly, I'm glad that you thought the emotion was conveyed very well here!

Thank you so much for all of your wonderful compliments, and for this amazing review! ♥

~Jayde


 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 The Missing One

9th July 2014:
Hi!

Poor Molly. She doesn't deserve this. She has given so much of herself for the war and the cause, it is so painful to read about her sorrow in this story. I haven't read your other story, so I'm not sure why Charlie is missing, but the emotions and descriptions are done very well that this piece can stand on its own. It is obvious that Molly needs to floo to Charlie's house every day so that she can still feel connected to him in some way. The letters aren't enough. After the loss of Fred, her need to keep her family close to her deepens. I really liked the way that you started the story off with the repetition of washing the dishes. People always tend to go for routine when they are coping and this was a perfect fit for Molly.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Awww, I agree, Molly definitely doesn't deserve this! :(

I'm glad that you feel that the emotions are well-done, and that this piece can stand on its own! And thank you for your comments about Molly going to Charlie's house, and the routine of washing the dishes!

Thank you so much for your kind review!

~Jayde


 Report Review

Review #6, by jessicalorewrites The Missing One

9th July 2014:
Hey!

So I haven't read the fic to which this is a companion, but I am really eager to now!! This is such a powerful use of only 500 words. It really showed raw and real emotions that Molly would've been going through after Fred's death and even more so now that Charlie is missing. It's so short but it's the perfect snapshot of what Mrs Weasley's life has become. The words ooze emotions, making my heart pang for this poor, poor family who have been through so much. They are on the better side now, but at what cost?

Most of all I loved the mystery you kept with Charlie being 'the missing one'. At first I thought it was an alternative take on Fred being missing through death but then I realised that wasn't the case when he was referred to as 'the dead one'. It's only 500 words, but this really is excellet. 10/10!!

xo

{House Cup 2014 Review - Gryffindor}

Author's Response: Hi there! First off, thank you SO much for taking the time to stop by and read and review this!

I was worried that I might have overdone it when trying to convey Molly's emotions, so thank you so much for your comments!

And, as selfish as I know this sounds, Im glad you're eager to read 'Keeping Secrets' now!

Thank you SO much for this lovely review!!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm The Missing One

8th July 2014:
Hi Jayde!

I thought this was such a powerful and moving insight into Mollyís life after the war and has currently left me in a ball of feels unable to do anything. The first part when you described Molly grieving for Fred was so raw and so beautiful as all these emotions were just so fresh for her she really seemed at a lost for what to do for herself and I just wanted to hug her as she really didnít deserve this pain.

Then the second section with Charlie possibly hurt even more because having read Keeping Secrets I know that while he is suffering heís still ok and just needs this time right now but of course Molly doesnít know that which just makes it even more agonising to read and just even more heart breaking really and yeah so many feels but this was a really lovely one-shot despite the whole wanting to cry throughout thing :P ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi there dear!

Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and read and review this! I was really, really interested to see the reactions of people who have read 'Keeping Secrets'!

I'm sorry it was agonizing and made you want to cry, though! :( But thank you So much for your wonderful compliments about the description.

Again, thank you SO much! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter The Missing One

7th July 2014:
Hi Jayde! Long time no review, let's fix that, eh?

I think this is a really great snapshot of the Weasley's life after the war.

You've captured Molly perfectly in so few words, I love the idea of her washing the dishes by hand to calm her nerves, it's something I can really imagine her doing. Her referring to Charlie and Fred as 'The Missing One' and 'The Dead One' made me so sad, I can really feel her pain here. And then this line:
Looking at him was like having Fred and not having him at the same time.
Fits with exactly how I'd imagine Molly would feel about George after Fred's death, it's probably how George feels about himself!

This was such an enjoyable read, my dear. I'm so intrigued as to where Charlie is and why he is behaving the way he is, I think I'll add Keeping Secrets to my reading list for after the House Cup is over and I can read without thinking about points the whole time!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Dee! Thank you so much for stopping by to read and review this! (And for earning Hufflepuff some points in the process!!)

I was a little worried that washing the dishes might be a little TOO monotonous, so thank you so much for your compliments!

And *Squees*! Thank you, thank you so much! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon The Missing One

13th March 2014:
I thought this story was interesting in that it explores Molly's relationship with Charlie, the son that is seems to be most often left out or caricatured in most fics.

The word limit for the challenge was definitely, well, a challenge, but I think you handled it pretty well, getting us a believable taste of Molly while addressing the topic of family through the contrast between Fred and Charlie's absences, before bringing it back round to the end.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this piece!

I agree, Charlie is often left out of fics, which is one of the reasons why I chose to write my novel about him.

Yes, getting this done in exactly 500 words was rather difficult! In all honesty, I woke up one morning and decided, "I think I'll do the 500 word challenge today", and basically planned and wrote the entire thing in one sitting. At that time, I was really very happy with it, but looking back at it now, I realize it didn't turn out quite like I had hoped.

I'm glad to hear that you thought the taste of Molly and the family life was believable.

Again, thank you so much!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login