Reading Reviews for Neville, Wait!
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Moonyxluna Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

17th December 2014:
Dee! I am late for your hot seat day but I am here now! (stupid work)

I have to admit that the banner drew me to this one. It's so pretty! So yay for that doing its job :p

I love reading Neville as a teacher, and this was definitely no exception. I love the internal voice you give him here, how he just knows exactly what's going to happen with his students the second they get to the classroom, and how that happens exactly. It made me laugh!

He hope they would pay close attention today - I think you meant 'hoped' if you edit :)

Ah, I feel like the Mimbulus Mimbletonia lesson would bring such a sense of nostalgia to Neville. And it definitely helps that his student then immediately proceeded to bring up Harry Potter! lol. I really liked that Neville didn't seem too embarrassed here, that you've sort of written him grown up from his childhood insecurities.

I thought it was SO cute that Neville could see himself and Hannah in the two students of his. I'm smiling like a loon right now :D And that it motivated him to take the extra step forward and actually GO to The Leaky Cauldron to visit her!

Their conversation was so sweet. I love how nervous you wrote Neville, and Hannah seemed to be fantastic at holding her own in conversation; perhaps because she was in her comfort zone at The Leaky Cauldron? Either way, very cute! And it was neat to see how his fear bubbled up a little bit and caused him to run away rashly, before Hannah had to stop him.

This was SO CUTE. I just may have to find the sequel! Lovely work, Dee!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Diogenissa Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

17th December 2014:
Heyllo Dee! Happy Hufflepuff Hotseat Day! :D

Okay I'm sure you probably know I chose this story well because of Neville--his absolute adorableness makes me want to snuggle him (perhaps to death :-P lol). ANYWAY to your review!

I loved the way you opened this--the description of the greenhouse, the plants as well as his own thoughts on how his class behaved. Also the mentioning of what he was doing prior to beginning his teaching career at Hogwarts.

I also absolutely LOVED how he one-upped his class when it came to the Stinksap, using it to settle them down and regain their attention on their class where it should be. To be honest, I was glad he did it--you never interrupt your teacher, especially one who's a master in his field. Then there was the 'know-it-all' attitude typical of a teenager (which was very well done also as I felt it and was growing rather flustered myself).

It is interesting how sometimes the little things remind us of those things we hold most dear--like fond memories of someone we care about. I enjoyed watching Neville as he reminisced about his fondness for Hannah and about how she had also helped him. I felt absolutely terrible for him and his bad luck in his dating life (which reminded me of a touch of his past when he was first starting school). It was also lovely to see just how much he wanted to settle down (I was like 'awww!').

I was so happy for him when he found his courage as a result of Annabel and Bobby, it warmed my heart to see that he had finally decided to just go and do it.

The description of the Leaky Cauldron and how it was a lot fresher and cleaner since Hannah started working there was beautifully done (I could almost feel the sunshine and see the colors). And the initial reactions to her seeing him as well as knowing his favorite drink gave me hope for him.

"...he took a few moments to find his bravery that seemed to have been lost in the floo network somewhere." -- this line here tickled me to no end! It was like why can I see that actually happening instead of figuratively? But it's awesome because it indeed shows that he, like any guy who's getting ready to ask his crush on a date, is as nervous as a cat in a roomful of rocking chairs.

Throughout the entire exchange I was thinking 'Go Neville go go go go!', cheering him on because I SO wanted him to get the date! However Hannah's intuitiveness (sp?) as to where he was heading toward gave me even more hope (perhaps she was going to be the one asking -HIM-?!).

The Gryffindor bravery and Hufflepuff kindness reminded me of a young couple's playfulness toward one another--like they were already married.

Overall it was a beautiful story--the descriptions were very well done and the characterization of both Neville and Hannah were right on the money (especially Neville as I know for a fact that 90% of those things would in fact, happen to that poor guy). It had a good flow and his thoughts were conveyed very nicely.

I thoroughly enjoyed this and will have to go check its' continuation out as I want to see how that date went. Awesome awesome stuff Dee and thank you for a great story!


Karen xoxo


P.S. -- Although one last thing--Hufflepuff: leave it to the patience and kindness of a 'Puff to bring out the best and bravest of the brave, especially when it comes to getting the girl! :-D

 Report Review

Review #3, by likeness_of_a_seabird Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

17th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review!

Ah, the more I read about Professor!Neville, the more I love him! I would definitely want him as a teacher, even though the only thing I can do to plants is to kill them... Maybe Neville could help me with that?

This fic is so sweet! I really liked how the kindness of Annabel the Hufflepuff reminded Neville of Hannah and how she always helped everybody (although I must say, if someone had got me covered in something like Stinksap, I would not have bothered helping them, being a Hufflepuff notwithstanding ;)).

The best of part of the story had to be the one where Neville arrives to the Leaky Cauldron. The line where he "took a few moments to find his bravery that seemed to have been lost in the floo network somewhere" made me smile, because it sounds so Neville-ish. I really liked how Neville and Hannah interacted and how natural their conversation seemed. But tut-tut, Neville! You don't assume someone doesn't want go out with you just because they don't immediately reply! You definitely deserved to be scolded and poked on the chest, even though I still think you're the best and I would like you to teach me! (Tell me how not to kill plants!)

And Binns thinks he'll be asked to become a Headmaster! That's priceless!

This was such a great piece of writing! I really enjoyed reading it!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

16th December 2014:
Aw! They're so cute together! I love the way you have Neville back out remembering his other failed dates and I love even more the determination Hannah has in accepting it. I also love the way you describe the NEWT students, seems like an accurate picture of my (and my classmate's) attitudes during our senior year of high school.

Amazing story. Really glad I got to enjoy it.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Thanks, Georgina! I really enjoyed writing Neville, he's such an adorable character :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ginnypotter242 Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

12th July 2014:
Aww, this was adorable! Neville is so awkward and sweet, it just warms my heart. I really enjoyed reading this, especially from Neville's point of view. The beginning was really good, when he was thinking about how self-assured 7th years are. It was funny how he described them and how his predictions came true.

I really liked that the Hufflepuff girl reminded him of Hannah. Hannah is such a sweet and kind person, and she's so good for Neville! I really enjoyed how he thought about Hannah, and realized that he actually thought about her a lot. You did a good job with not making his self-confidence raise too much after the war- I always felt that he'd be like Harry and not like the spotlight, not thinking that he did anything important. You did a really good portrayal of Neville's character.

The ending was adorable. I really liked how Neville was awkward and fumbling, and sort of just expected her to say no. I also liked seeing the determined side of Hannah. It's a different side to her, and I'm glad that she was able to make him realize that it wasn't a pity date. This was such a sweet one shot and brilliantly written- great job!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

8th July 2014:
Hi Dee!

Aw, Neville as a teacher was really cute and I enjoyed seeing him in that role so much as it seemed as if he was just perfect for it as heís so normal and relatable and you managed to show that so well it made me aw over him throughout. I really liked that you included the stinksap bit and how they found that out through Cho as it must be good for Nevilleís confidence to have a moment of fame because even though heís probably not as shy as he used to be, it always helps people a lot.

I really liked the fact that Hannah was still lurking away in his mind and that he always liked her still as that was really cute and sweet as this pairing is always such a lovely one to read. Whoo, go Neville, I felt so proud of him going out and asking her for a drink as I almost didnít think he would so when he did that was so great. Then she was so cute with the way she was secretly happy about it. Gah, this was just so cute, way too cute, and I loved every bit of it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi, Kiana! ♥

I'm so glad you liked Neville as a teacher, I always imagined he would be absolutely perfect at it. The stinksap bit was so fun to write, I loved that part in the book :)

I really like the Hannah/Neville pairing, I think they're much more suited than Neville/Luna- but that's another rant for another day ;)

I'm so glad you liked it ♥

Dee


 Report Review

Review #7, by MissesWeasley123 Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

7th July 2014:
AHA FINALLY HERE AND WHAT IS UP WITH YOU REVIEW BOMBING ME NEVER DO IT AGAIN!

First of all, I really love Bobby lol. He's so funny. I love the parallel in his character as first he seems like a cheeky boy when he says this line: "Personally, I think it's a vast improvement, I like the way it covers your face"... because LAUGHING that was great lol. And then he turns into this awkward turtle with Annabel and aww so cute. Really adorable :P

I love how you wrote Neville in this. He's patient and a great teacher. He's exactly like how I imagine him to be, and generally sweet and kind. It's what makes him one of my favourite characters! But besides that, his interactions with Hanna were SO CUTE! The last section with the "Ow" and omg omg CANNOT HANDLE! I really really loved this Dee! Thanks for a wonderful story :) ♥

House Cup 2014 Review
~Go Gryffindor

Author's Response: HOW CAN I NOT REVIEW BOMB YOU WHEN YOUR WRITING IS SO AMAZING?!

I think you're the only one who commented on Bobby and I'm so glad you did, I just love him so much :p He's a typical teenage boy!

I always thought Neville would have made an AMAZING teacher, he's one of my favourites too :)

So pleased you liked this, Nadia!


 Report Review

Review #8, by SkyEcho Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

20th March 2014:
I really enjoyed reading this! I have a huge soft spot for Neville and am always thrilled when I see a story that focuses on him. I just breezed through this. Your writing has such a wonderful flow. I thought your characterization of Neville was very well-done. I LOVED seeing him in the classroom and really enjoyed seeing him as a professor, interacting with the students.
Aww Neville asking out Hannah was just too cute! They do seem a perfect match for one another - and you do a great job of showing that through Hannah's ability to ease his insecurities. The ending put a huge smile on my face!

Author's Response: This was such a lovely unexpected review :D I'm SO pleased you enjoyed it, my current multi-chapter fic is very serious so it was nice to write something a little more lighthearted. Neville and Hannah are so adorable, I wish we'd seen more of them in the books!

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

7th March 2014:
Howdy! I've been reading some Neville-related fics recently and when I saw your status on the forums, I figured I'd check this one out.

I liked the detail you went into about Neville's job at the school and the students he was teaching. I thought it helped give us a glimpse of his Post-Hogwarts personality and some insight into why Neville might have decided to become a professor aside from the simple fact that he was adept at Herbology. It also enabled the great mechanism you used of having one of his students remind him of Hannah so that his thoughts didn't just randomly wander there as they so often do in pairing-related pieces.

I also enjoyed the bits you gave us of Hannah's personality and Neville's interest in her both through his thoughts of her and their brief interaction.

I think I would've liked a little more conversational lead-up to Neville asking Hannah out, but all in all I enjoyed it.

Thanks for sharing! Good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for stopping by :D

This is my first Neville fic so I'm really glad you liked it. It always made perfect sense to me that Neville became a teacher so it was good to explore the lead up to that a little in this. I'm so glad you liked that Annabel led him to think about Hannah, I agree it can often be a very random thing in romance fics.

I'll definitely remember to add more dialogue in their meeting when I inevitably come back and edit this :)

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Erised Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

7th March 2014:
Hi Dee! I've been meaning to check out some more of your stories for a while, and this new one shot seemed like the perfect opportunity to mosey on over here.

I really enjoyed this one shot! Neville was so sweet and lovely as usual, and I like that you made him a kind and caring teacher. That's the impression that I get from Neville in general, and it's nice for him to have found something he's good at after all those years of being bullied at school.

I liked how you linked the shy Hufflepuff girl to Hannah and how Neville was reminded of her through this. It's an interesting way of subtly reminding us what qualities Hannah exhibits as a Puff and reminding the reader what exactly Neville loves about her.

The interaction between Neville and Hannah at the Leaky Cauldron was so cute! They seem very easy and natural around one another, save for Neville's nerves of course. I thought it was sweet that he went back to the self-doubt he experienced growing up but Hannah brought him back from that. Gah! So cute!

Lastly, I enjoyed how authentic you made this. I appreciated the level of detail you put into the Herbology lesson as well as even little details like Hannah wearing yellow robes, as wizards and witches did in the books, rather than Muggle clothes. It's those touches that make a big difference in a story.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi, Jenny! Thanks for mosey-ing :D

I was so thrilled to find out in the epilogue that Neville had become a teacher. Like you said, it's great that something good happened after years of being bullied and feeling useless. I'm glad you liked his characterisation in this.

To me Neville and Hannah always makes more sense than Neville and Luna ever will, she's the epitome of a Hufflepuff and I'm not surprised Neville fell for her. I'm happy you liked their interaction, especially his moment of doubt. No number of snake decapitatings would make him THAT confident :p

I can't express how brilliant it is to know you thought it was authentic. Sometimes I read fanfiction and think it's missing the magic, you know? I like to try and include it where I can :)

Thanks so much for a lovely review, Jenny. It made my day!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login