Reading Reviews for Life Goes On
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pigsfly Training

22nd November 2014:
I think you meant to quote Helen Keller, not Helen Killler. Your story line is very good and the different story arcs have depth. Stay aware of different homophones (words like There and Their, You're and Your) the spell check won't catch them. Character development has improved overall, but your stories skip over areas which could have greater complexity. There was an earlier reference to Harry being a metamorphagus but nothing has been stated since that original reference. In the original Harry Potter books, Teddy Lupin and Nymphadora Tonks Lupin were born metamorphagi and each were noted to be changing at least their hair color on the day of their birth. So if Harry were born a metamorphagus, wouldn't
Lily, James, Serius, Remus, Dumbledore and even Peter have recognized that fact by the time Harry was a one year old?
I like Neville being a werewolf. But his experience was glossed over somewhat. I thought if you were bit by a werewolf, you'd have been in a healer's care, either at St Mungo's or with Poppy. Or was Neville's bite not so severe?
I look forward to your continuing the story. Your mind is interesting to read. Good luck!

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments and your constructive criticism. It's always nice to hear what people think about the story. Concerning Harry's Metamorphmagus abilities, they will play a role in the story.
Thanks for reading my story and for a nice review. I hope you'll like what comes next and hope to hear more from you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ginny My First and My Last

5th October 2014:
I liked it! Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks for your reviews !

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ginny A Quiet Year at Hogwarts

5th October 2014:
Terrific chapter! I like your new, more helpful version of Snape. It's a good thing you didn't change his personality too much, though.
You did a great job on the Defence lesson. I can just imagine Hermione's face when she loses to Harry in a quiz (:
If Harry means what I think he means, they will try to become Animagi. I'm looking forward to that!

Author's Response: I feel like I'm taking a lot of risks with Snape. He definitely is more helpful, but I'm afraid I might overdo it. I want to remain loyal to his personality.

I had a lot of fun writing the fist DADA lesson with Remus. I'm glad you enjoyed it too. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginny Home Sweet Home

5th October 2014:
Oh man, poor Neville! I really didn't see that coming, despite the hints you dropped earlier. Awesome chapter, again...

Author's Response: I gave some hints with the books he was reading, but I know few readers pay much attention to such details, so I was hoping I could still surprise some of them. Thanks! I really appreciate your reviews.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ginny The Last Words of Albus Dumbledore

5th October 2014:
That was an amazing chapter. One of your best in this story I think. I loved the idea of Dumbledore leaving a memory in his will.
I wonder what will happen with the Deathly Hallows... Dumbledore's wand seems to be lost, but I'm sure he has arranged something like he did in the book with the sword of gryffindor.

Author's Response: Although I knew it was a bit soppy, I really enjoyed writing Dumbledore's memories. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ginny Decisions

4th October 2014:
A lot is happening at this point in the story. I'm glad that, although the war is over, there is still a lot of excitement.
I wonder what happened to Neville's grandmother. She could have died a natural death of course, being elderly, but somehow I doubt that... Great chapter!

Author's Response: Nothing is usually that simple in the wizarding world :) Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm very glad you're liking it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ginny The Accident

4th October 2014:
Poor Tonks! I really hope she gets better. I think it would be unbearable for her not to be able to walk.
I loved the scene in the Weasleys' garden! I was surprised Fred and George were the ones to show up, but you did it brilliantly. I both laughed and almost cried during that conversation (:
Loved the Admiral Nelson reference by the way.
I'm curious what will happen now. I wonder if Harry is still gonna join the Aurors now? Great chapter!

Author's Response: I myself even felt bad for what I did to her.. :)

I was quite satisfied with the scene with Fred and George. I'm glad you liked it too. It was strange and actually quite hard to write them in a more serious, supportive way. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ginny The True Story

22nd September 2014:
Oh no, what did you do to Tonks... I knew everything was going too well!
Great chapter. I liked everything about it. You did a good job on the quibbler article. I actually wished I could read the rest of the magazine :))
It didn't come as a surprise that Shacklebolt offered them to join the Aurors, but I was a bit surprised that Harry accepted. I thought he would want to return to Hogwarts and I was kind of looking forward to the new school year as well. But I know you'll make it interesting enough either way!
Again, I absolutely love how you write the interaction between Harry and his friends. Harry and Ron talking about Hermione in a bookshop and Ginny hitting Harry for sassing her... Brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks for your wonderful reviews! I see you already read on, so you already know what Harry decided... I hope you can live with his choice :)

It's a lot of fun writing the interactions between the young friends. Especially now that the war is over and they can relax for once. At least for now...


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ginny A Wedding and a Prophecy

4th September 2014:
You surprised me again! I really didn't expect this. It seems the deathly hallows will play a significant part after all.. Quiet year at Hogwarts, my *** :)
Nice job on the wedding. It was brief, but good. I liked that Harry and Ginny were standing with Remus and Tonks during the ceremony.
I was glad Neville seems to have found someone. A lot of people pair hem up with Luna, but I don't really like them as a couple. I agree with you that Luna would be better with Fred. You did surprise me with his choice however. I'm curious how it will turn out.
Great chapter! I'm already hooked again! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad I can still surprise you!

I can see why you would think Neville's date is a strange choice. She's a bit younger and a Slytherin nonetheless. Neville's relationship will come up later in the story and you'll find out more about Astoria.

Thanks for all your reviews! I hope you keep enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ginny Dinner at the Burrow

4th September 2014:
I'm so happy Remus is going to teach DADA again! I agree with McGonagall. He's the only candidate for that job.
I wasn't very surprised to see Harry as Head Boy. I'm glad Ron didn't seem to mind that he didn't get it, possibly because he wasn't named Prefect either in this universe.
You did a great job on the little talk between Harry and Mr Weasley. Arthur was bound to talk to Harry about her at some point, but I'm glad he didn't threaten Harry or made him promise not to hurt his daughter. It's just not like him. By the way, I love the fact Arthur is the new head of magical law. He deserves it :)
This was a nice little chapter. I'm looking forward to the rest. Especially the new year at Hogwarts!

Author's Response: I think Ron would know that he wouldn't get Head Boy, because he wasn't named Prefect and he has the luck to be in the same year as Harry Potter. Had he been named Prefect in fifth year like he was in the books, I think he would have more difficulty with Harry being Head Boy.

I agree that Mr Weasley would never threaten Harry not to break his daughter's heart. It doesn't suit his calm nature. He does feel protective of Ginny, but knows Harry as well as he knows his own sons and he knows Harry would never do something to hurt her.

Thanks again for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying this story as well.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ginny Fame

4th September 2014:
Can I just start this review by saying how much your writing has improved over the course of your stories. It was already great in What If, but you can see you are more confident with the language and you write much more in detail now, which makes the story so much better!
I enjoyed the part at the graveyard and you surprised me by introducing a new character there.
Great scene at Diagon Alley and Weasley's Wizard Wheezes! I love how you write the interaction between Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione. Especially because you never fail to add little comical remarks. It helps to lighten up the mood, even when bad things happen. (Not that I'm expecting that right now, but you never know with your stories!) I liked the idea of Fred and George's dream charms. They seem a fun way of informing people about the battle.
You have me wondering about Remus... I really can't see him cheating on Tonks and the fact Tonks knew about what he did makes me pretty sure it's not that. Maybe he'll return to Hogwarts now that the war is over? That would be awesome!
Absolutely amazing chapter! Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: That is the best compliment you could have given me. When I look back at the first chapters of 'What If', I can see that I write more in detail now. I'm very comfortable with writing dialogue, but descriptions are still pretty hard sometimes.

It's quite fun to write the relationship between the four friends. They know each other so well and they have been through so much together that they understand each other perfectly. (Well, most of the time).

I see you already read on, so you have already found out about Remus. Good guess :)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ginny Family

3rd September 2014:
Back again! It's been quite a while since I've been on this site and I'm so excited to see this new story waiting for me! Since it has been a while I had to read through What If and This Is The End again to be sure I can follow :)
This first chapter was already amazing. Beautifully written. I just love how you have Harry living at Grimmauld Place with Remus and Tonks and Jacinta and Dobby. It feels like five outcasts formed their own little family and take care of each other.
Interesting choice to have Bathilda Bagshot making an appearance. I'm curious if and how she will play a further role in this story. I like how she thought Harry could follow in Dumbledore's footsteps and joining the Aurors certainly is a great way of doing that. Your story summary and the epilogue of This Is The End make me doubt if he will actually join them, however...
Way too late of course, but good luck on the job! Hope everything is working out for you :)

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back to read my new story! It's always nice to see new reviews.

You know, I didn't really think about it that way, but I guess you are right. They all lost their real families or don't fit in with them, but they have each other to make their own family.

Bathilda will have a small role to play further on into the story, but not for quite some time. She definitely is an interesting character.

Thanks anyway! Everything is working out quite well. I've been in England for a while for my job, so that's why updates are quite slow for the moment. But on the plus side, I have been able to practice my English!


 Report Review

Review #13, by dracona1 A Quiet Year at Hogwarts

28th July 2014:
I wonder what there animagus forms will be!

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments!

 Report Review

Review #14, by dracona1 Home Sweet Home

28th July 2014:
Merlin's beard, Neville Longbottom a wearwolf!That's so cool! Great sorting hat song aswell.

Author's Response: It definitely opens up a whole new range of possibilities :) Thank you for reviewing! I'm particularly glad you liked the sorting hat song.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hogwarts27 A Quiet Year at Hogwarts

25th July 2014:
Hi, I always enjoy your chapters, and this one was another nice read. Hmm, so much morning free time had me wondering what you had planned to happen during that time, but by the end of the chapter, I could see at least one possible use developing for use of that free time!

I was a little surprised that Snape didn't start the class exactly on time. When Malfoy walked in late, I thought maybe Snape had waited for him, even though most teachers in the real world just don't do that. Portraying a changed Snape can certainly be a challenge. Most authors tend to let him get too soft and too outwardly caring. I always appreciate it when the authors strive to keep the gruffness and edge to his character the way you've done here. Snape's line of “Miss Granger, what a surprise” was typical cannon Snape.

I don't mind that you dropped Snape's bullying of students. The books leave it a little unclear whether Snape just did that on purpose to keep his cover as a spy, or whether it was a true part of his personality. Snape certainly suffered abuse as a child which could have made him develop a tendency to bully those he saw as being weaker than himself. On the other hand, adult Snape was an absolute master of self-control and self-discipline, who couldn't afford to show any weakness or flaws, or make foolish mistakes. So I tend to think he acted overly nasty to students on purpose, and that he just took sadistic pleasure in letting Harry bear the brunt of it in the books, just for being James' son. In either case, I think you've struck a believable balance in this chapter with Snape. He feels like he'll be a decent teacher in this story, and I look forward to reading more scenes with him.

And of course, it was nice to have Lupin back. The quiz was a good idea for a class activity. And I'll certainly be looking forward to see what happens with Harry's plan to make the full moon more pleasant for Neville. No matter how it goes, it promises to be an interesting read, and I look forward to the next chapter.

I noticed one minor misspelling - cosy should be cozy. You also described the fire as fluttering, but I wondered if you were trying to think of the word flickering, although either word would really be okay, because I can perfectly imagine a fire doing either of those things.

Author's Response: I agree with you when you say Snape probably acted overly nasty to the students in order to keep his cover. I don't really think it's a part of his personality. Harry is something different of course, but as they talked some things out between them, I would think they would act more civil towards each other, although they will never be good friends.

I'm glad you liked the idea of the quiz. I wasn't so sure if people would like that, but I had a lot of fun writing it.

I want to thank you for all of your amazing reviews. They really are a joy to read!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Franklin Home Sweet Home

20th July 2014:
The only Slytherin to fight on the good side was Slughorn. How is Draco there is a war criminal and a violent one at that.

Author's Response: You should be aware that this isn't a regular post-war story. This takes place in the same universe as my first two stories in which Draco is not a war criminal. Thanks for your comment.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hogwarts27 Home Sweet Home

2nd July 2014:
II loved it! I was so happy to be going to Hogwarts, and I liked that you didn't rush the story, but allowed enough time for every scene - the platform, train, Great Hall, etc. Hmm, Gabriel going to Hogwarts was a surprise, since in the books Fleur loved Beaubaton thought things were better than Hogwarts, but your story is different with her parents dead, so I could see your logic.

I enjoyed the scene where Malfoy is invited into the train compartment. His attitude was pleasantly submissive, and the others did the decent thing to invite him.

Minerva missing Dumbledore in the Great Hall was touching. And you did a sorting hat song! Boy, those are hard to write. I applaud your effort. I thought your song was marvelous! Minor imperfections are forgiveable on these. Some of the rhymes you came up with were brilliant. I enjoyed the dialogue that came after about hatstalls. Ha Ha - on Pottermore I myself was a hatstall between Gryffindor and Hufflepuff, so the hat let me choose, and I picked Hufflepuff (the underdog).

Cho as flying instructor? How fitting! And I'm interested to see what you have planned for Trelawney II.

And oh my gosh, I loved how this chapter ended! It sounds like we're going to have an interesting year. What a fantastic chapter! I loved every bit of it, and look forward to the next.

Spotted 2 typos:
People at school know or names (our)
He always want to be there for the first years. (wants, wanted?)

Author's Response: Thank you for another great review! I must admit that I was quite satisfied with this chapter myself :)

I'm so glad you liked the Sorting Hat song! I kind of liked how it turned out, but I wasn't sure if people who are better in English than me would like it too.

Although McGonagall is headmistress right now, I'm sure she would much rather still have Dumbledore there. She was so loyal to him in the books.

I'm really happy you liked the ending too. I was afraid a lot of people would hate that part because of all the misery Neville has already been through. But I have a lot in store for him and it's not all that bad :)

Thanks for reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hogwarts27 The Last Words of Albus Dumbledore

22nd June 2014:
A very good chapter again. Oh, what a sad way for Neville to lose his grandmother, but he's grown into a very resilient and brave young man, so I know he'll do fine with the support of his friends.

I was really intrigued by what you were going to have Dumbledore left Harry in his will, and really liked what you chose. The wand missing opens up what could be a very interesting story line. And I didn't expect anything like the two memories, but they were quite fitting. The second memory allowed the chapter to end on a very touching note. A lovely read, and very well written. I look forward to the next.

Author's Response: Neville sure has lost a lot during both wars, but we know that he is a lot tougher than he seems.

I'm glad you liked the scene with Dumbledore. I was a little worried that it would come over too soppy, but I rather liked how it turned out myself so I left it the way it was.

I haven't had much time to write lately with work and the World Cup going on, but I'll update as soon as possibe. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hogwarts27 Decisions

8th June 2014:
Wonderful chapter. I liked it a lot. Every scene was a good read. I especially liked the short scene with Harry worrying how Ron would take the news of Harry going back to school, and then the nice surprise that Ron felt he wasn't for the aurors yet either.

The certainty Tonks had about walking again really fit the way I imagine her to be. But even if she didn't walk again, I don't think it would be too difficult to find a way to get around with magic to help.

My other favorite scene was at the end when Harry and Ron ask McGonagall if they can come back to school. I'm looking forward to reading your version of their final year at Hogwarts, and it just feels like familiar ground for the reader to keep the main characters together for it.

I also wonder what's ahead for Neville if his grandmother really just died. That'll be a big adjustment for him. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I thought about it when I was writing the parts with Tonks and I reckoned wizards would find a way to make it easy for anyone who couldn't walk anymore, but I don't think growing back limbs would be possible. I think not being able to use her own legs would mainly be hard mentally for Tonks. Especially because she is such an active person.

I'm glad you liked that they decided to return to Hogwarts. It just didn't feel right to split the group of friends up and to be honest, I wasn't done with Hogwarts either :)

You'll find out what happened to Neville's grandmother in the next chapter. I'm still finishing it off, but I'll update as soon as possible. It will surely be a big adjustment for him, but luckily he has his friends in the D.A. to help him.

Thank you so much for reviewing! It truly means a lot to hear your opinions and I'm really happy you are enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Claire xXX The Accident

24th May 2014:
Read all your stories in one day :P
Literally, I haven't moved in several hours I've just been reading your stories
Your very talented, I love how particularly in 'in the end' you did keep to the basic plot j.k did kinda but kept me in suspense all the time

Looking forward to the next chapter, that you for keeping Harry Potter alive :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed my stories.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hogwarts27 The Accident

14th May 2014:
This was a great chapter. I really enjoyed it. The tension at the beginning had just the right feel. And then it got wonderfully sentimental with Harry in the garden, first by himself, and then with the twins and Ginny. Every bit of this held my interest. It was very well written, flowed well, and the transitions were smooth. I was sorry when it ended. I think this was one of the best chapters so far - absolutely terrific!

Author's Response: I'm very glad you enjoyed the chapter. It took a while until I was satisfied with it and still I had the feeling that a lot of people would hate it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hogwarts27 The True Story

25th April 2014:
Hi, thanks for another enjoyable chapter. The offer of early auror training came as a slight surprise after the tone of the earlier chapters, but the logic certainly makes sense, and it's what Rowling told us would happen at least for Harry. I think all the characters reacted appropriately to it, and it's natural that they wouldn't all want to join. But that doesn't mean they still can't work together later on if trouble strikes.

I wasn't expecting metamorphagus to be one of Harry's emerging abilities either, but I'm sure you'll put it to interesting use in the story. Yes, Hermione would have thought he was an imposter when his scar disappeared, and if anyone would have thought to give him a security question, it would be Hermione.

I can't imagine what news the auror has, whether about Tonks or something else, but I look forward to finding out. Very nice story so far.

Author's Response: I got the idea where Harry is a Metamorphmagus from the scene in the Philosopher's Stone where he grows his hair back out overnight.

I'm still working on the next chapter, but I'll try to update as soon as possible. Thanks for continuing with the story and for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Hogwarts27 A Wedding and a Prophecy

6th April 2014:
What you said in an earlier chapter about Harry being Remus' only remaining link to the marauders, just made it all the more touching for him to be Remus' best man for the wedding. You did a nice job describing the wedding jitters.

Hmm, so Trelawney had a daughter, who seems much more grounded than Sybil herself. You did very well with writing the prophecy from her daughter, which sounds pretty innocent so far, but makes me wonder if things will take an ominous turn. I'll look forward to more of the story to find out.

Author's Response: This Prophecy about Harry sure is more innocent than the first one. I'm glad you liked the idea. Thanks for another review. I hope you keep enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Hogwarts27 Dinner at the Burrow

6th April 2014:
Lovely chapter. Remus teaching is just what I was hoping for. It's nice to read a post-war story where not so many of my favorite characters are dead.

The dementors are the first hint of a possible conflict to come in the story. I don't know if you'll use them or not to make trouble, but just mentioning them makes the reader start to wonder what could go wrong in the post-war world. Will the Death Eaters who got locked up be secure in Azkaban if the dementors are removed? Or will there be another mass breakout?

I'm looking forward to seeing where this story goes. You're off to a nice start.

Author's Response: Remus was the only person I considered as DADA teacher. Now that Voldemort is dead, the curse on the job has been lifted (for as far as we know). That means there will finally be a teacher who can stay longer than one year and Remus seemed the only right choice.

I won't say anything yet about possible new troubles in the story, but as the war is over, the Death Eaters won't play a very big role. But there are exceptions of course...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Hogwarts27 Fame

6th April 2014:
The scene with the reverend was interesting. I never thought about who Lily would have picked for a bridesmaid other than Petunia. And this chapter had me wondering if Petunia would even have agreed to do it, even if Lily had asked her. I don't remember if Lily and James even had a formal wedding in canon, or if they just ran off on their own and eloped. But I thought your idea of Alice Longbottom was both fitting and ironic - a foreshadowing of the wierd tie that would happen between the Harry and Neville.

I hope Remus' appointment was a job interview at the school! It would be awesome to have him do another year as a teacher.

Aww, poor Seamus. This chapter made me feel so sorry for him.

Author's Response: Thanks for another amazing review! I didn't really consider the thought of James and Lily eloping, but it would have made perfect sense. I just imagined having them a small wedding with their closest friends. I'm glad you like this story too and I hope you keep enjoying it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>