Reading Reviews for Noble
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lostmyheart Noble

8th April 2014:
Oh. My. God.

This story is so brilliant! So... captivating. You've done a seriously good job getting into Morfins point of view, how he sees things, his opinions and how he sees the world. That they should bow for him, see him as the 'king' he is.

You're extremely talented.
I especially liked these sentences:

His father is furious, of course. He vows Merope would never set foot in that nest of cowards and mudbloods. He refuses to admit his children are anything other than mighty.

The cottage has a smell, of earthy, cold things, slippery things. It smells of mould and old vegetables and piss. Merope is constantly stumbling over herself her eyes point in different directions, her mind is blinded by fear and misery, and she only seems to see clearly when the handsome Muggle from up the road rides by so frequently.

How you described her almost made me laugh but also pity her. She wanted more than what they had and she was deeply in love with a muggle, the forbidden muggle.

I loved reading this story, and I liked that it was short and still full of details.

Big hug,
Avi

Author's Response: Hi Avi! :)

Wow, thank you so much! I'm so honoured that you liked this story and thought it did justice for Morfin. He was a really interesting character to write, and yes, he really has his superior view of himself, the poor guy. He was just doomed to be miserable.

Aw, poor Merope. :( I'm glad you liked those lines, especially the second bit about the cottage and Merope as those were some of my favourite parts. I agree - she is both pitiable but also almost comical, just because she's such a helpless figure who is almost mocked. I really feel sad for her, and for Morfin, in a way.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by DoctorUnderwood Noble

1st April 2014:
Oh my god, so I'm trying to read this and I realize this isn't horror/dark. It's comedy. And then I'm really confused. I think it's a joke and hey, it's April Fools (happy birthday Gred and Forge)!

Kind of hard to take the Culinary Institute and Saltimbocca seriously...

I guess I'll try to read this tomorrow instead...

Author's Response: Oh no! Haha, this really wasn't the best day to read this, though I'm impressed that you braved the Comic Sans and neon colours. :P I re-read it too when LOAF was still up and was just dying of laughter.

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Noble

14th March 2014:
I wanted to check out what you'd written for the Blackout and I'm so impressed (I should probably stop being surprised, but the quality of your writing is always so high that I can't be) at what you managed to write so quickly for the challenge. Also, your banner is absolutely terrifying!

I'm so glad that you decided to write about Morfin Gaunt when you had to write a Slytherin one-shot - you know how much I love my minor characters and I've never seen any story that even vaguely touches him before, so it was a new experience to read about. And he fits the Slytherin theme so perfectly, with his family name.

I liked the fact that he did get sent to Hogwarts (of course, only after persuasion from a pureblood wizard, in which you managed to really quickly show the prejudices that they're imbibed with) but was expelled from the school within a week. From what we saw of him in the memories in the sixth book, I'm not at all surprised, because his behaviour never seemed to have met any restrictions from his father.

Aw, I felt so sorry for Merope when you mentioned her! And the part about her mother, as well - it's so sad that the mother and her daughter both had to suffer the same fate, dying in childbirth.

The imagery in this piece was spectacular - how do you do it? Seriously, you wrote this so quickly and yet it's flawless. That's definitely not fair! But I loved reading it, and the ending, those last few lines - perfect. It is how he was treated and I think that it serves to remind us of the others who suffered similarly, the ones who went to Azkaban and never left.

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 15/20

Author's Response: Hola! :)

Aw, I'm so gad you liked this! :) It was fun to write, although I had no idea what people might think of it so it's been nice to get such lovely feedback. It really is, eh? Ande is so talented, she did a perfect job with the creepiness. :P

Yes! I've sort of wanted to write something about him for a while and this felt like the perfect chance. I figured he would be a unique Slytherin to write about, since he was of the bloodline but never really was in Slytherin at Hogwarts (well, in this story he was for like a week I guess, but he probably wasn't really in canon).

I'm pleased you liked how he did go, however. Yes, he really wasn't properly socialized, and though I think he would have had magic he had no idea how to control it really. Definitely not Hogwarts material, he'd be too much of a wild card.

I know, poor Merope. :( I agree, it is very sad, and neither of them would have had the proper care or anybody really taking care of them when they died. Merope was such a pitiable character in HP and I wanted to show that.

Thank you! :) You're too sweet, really, I had a lot of fun writing this and I'm just glad it all came together. And yes, Morfin had a terrible life and a tragic ending, and he never really stood a chance.

Thanks so much for the amazing review, dear! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by ShadowRose Noble

8th March 2014:
Hello, I'm here for Blackout Bingo!

I don't think I've ever read anything about Morfin Gaunt before so that was definitely unique. I think you've captured what little we see of his character in the books excellently here - he's obsessed with his Slytherin lineage, hating of Muggles and impure blood, and unpredictable in his ability to cause problems. I'm not surprised that he got kicked out of Hogwarts, given that he behaved the way that he did. His whole life story is so dark and twisted, and you've captured that so, so well here.

I really like the syntax of this piece - the sentences are a bit choppier than those of your usual writing style, but it really serves to emphasize Morfin's character - he was poorly educated, so his thoughts come in staccato bursts rather than in long, flowing, seamless ideas. As usual, you still pack in these fantastic metaphors, like this one "If he is not a creature of the past, then he is a parasite of the future," which is so creepy and haunting and almost disgusting (in the best sort of way). You've captured his character so well and so fully, and I'm really impressed regarding how short of a time period this was written in - it seems like a much more thought out piece!

Overall, I think you did a fantastic job with this story - it's a unique character, and you took what little we know about him and expanded it into this creepy and powerful piece. Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I never had either, and so this felt like the perfect chance to explore Morfin a little. Yes, I felt that his portrayal in the books would make up most of his character, since he's such a simple man with simple motivations. He really wasn't socialized or disciplined at all, so I felt he wouldn't have lasted long at school.

I'm pleased you liked the writing as well! It is a little rough around the edges, but I felt that worked for Morfin as you said. I'm so glad you thought I captured his character well! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleLionGirl Noble

8th March 2014:
Wow Lululuna! This was a really well done piece! You captured the darkness of the Gaunt's exceptionally well. Snakes chasing after Huffles? And no one really believed he was the heir? I enjoy the slow slip to insanity that Morfin has, the change from thinking his father was nutters to becoming him really was a brilliant part to the story you wrote. I can honestly say that this is the first story about Morfin that I have read, and if they were all written as well as this one I wouldn't mind some more. :) I love that this story describes how people see us as snakes when they truly don't understand what being a Slytherin is... Keep up the great work Lululuna!

XOXOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked it, and that it captured the darkness of Morfin well. I imagined that as he wasn't a very impressive figure - rather the opposite - nobody would believe or care about his claim to Slytherin. Poor guy, in some ways. :P And I'm pleased you liked seeing him slowly go insane as well!

I've never read another story about Morfin before, but I would love to! I'm so pleased you liked this little tribute to Slytherin, even if it was rather depressing. I enjoyed writing it!

Thank you for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by anythingcouldhappen Noble

7th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

This was really well written! I'm so impressed that you managed to write this so quickly for Bingo! All your descriptions are stellar, and I loved the beginning and ending. They're nicely tied together and they also fit very well with the rest of the story. Your sentences are just so well-crafted. They create a very vivid picture--one that is so clear and interesting to see.

"He thinks of the stories his father used to tell him--of grand houses with the Gaunt coat of arms across the archways, of wizards who could cower as they passed."

This was a really nice bit. It made me think about what the Gaunts must have been at some point. It makes you wonder how they got to their lowness! I think this was a nice and unique choice for the challenge. Its not often we get much insight into the Gaunts!

I was a little confused at Morfin's sorting. How is the young men staring down the table connected to Morfin's sorting? Maybe I'm just missing something?

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so pleased you liked this, and I can fun whipping it up! The descriptions were quite fun to write, and I'm glad you liked how I tied them together as well. It's really great feedback to hear the scenes felt vivid, I really appreciate that!

Yes! I imagined the Gaunts losing their fortune and blaming everybody but themselves for it. It was quite interesting delving into Morfin's head, and although he's not very relatable I liked bringing him to life for a little.

Ah, I can explain! Morfin was upset that nobody in Slytherin was caring about his sorting and admiring him. Instead, the boys were checking out the girls and were far more interested in beauty and love than in Morfin and his "greatness." Kind of like Merope and how she loved Tom Sr., and how Morfin couldn't understand that because he's incapable of really figuring out admiration and love. Does that make more sense? I'll definitely go back and make that scene a little clearer when I get the chance, thank you for mentioning it! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by love_is_magic_ Noble

7th March 2014:
Hello! I just thought I would stop by to leave a quick review for this amazing fic, especially since it was written for the Blackout Battle!

So I thought this was an amazing idea. The memory with the Gaunts, in my opinion, is one of the most haunting in the Harry Potter series. It is clear that the characters of the Gaunts are just so deep and complex, it's crazy to think that JK tackled them in only that one scene. I also think that makes the need for fics focused around them even greater and you did an amazing job with this one!

It was just truly written so so well. You have an amazing grasp of description and, though it is admittedly a dark place, you really take the reader into Morfin's world. You offer a new insight into his character and it was very well done. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this!

Christy

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 10/15

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm pleased you liked it! I agree - the Gaunts are fascinating, and I've had them pop up in some of my other stories as well. It was so disappointing when that scene was excluded from the movies. I'd love to read more fics about them if they're out there, and I'm so pleased you liked how I portrayed them.

I'm pleased you liked the description and looking into Morfin's world, even if it is a rather bleak one. I'm so glad you liked it, and really appreciate all the wonderful comments.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by lady_devil Noble

7th March 2014:
Hey there!

I just want to this that this is one amazing one shot written in such short amount of time. I applaud you. :)

This story it's so hauntingly beautiful and sad all wrapped up in one, just to read about Morfin Gaunt and his life in just one chapter, wow! I mean you using Morfin was indeed a very creative and original idea to write. But the way you wrote it, it draws you in word by word. Even the use of present tense makes the story more enjoyable to read and I have read it about twice now!

I am defiantly going to favourite this story! ! Good job! :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thank you! :) I had a lot of fun writing it, and the deadline made me write way faster which was actually helpful.

I'm so pleased you liked this and found it sad! I quite liked the idea of Morfin in a story, and wanted to do him justice. I'm pleased you liked the tense, and that you read it twice - that's so lovely! :)

Thank you so much for the beautiful review! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Chazzie Noble

7th March 2014:
Hey Lululuna!
First off, I have to say that I loved the entire creepiness of the one shot. It just gave me goosebumps, the way it was sectioned into small segments that each showed a little piece of Morfin's dark character. It was freakily realistic, and the structure really worked. I think his inability to comprehend Merope's fascination with Tom makes him seem even more brutal and lonely. It's really fitting that the last remaining Gaunts, who pride themselves on being so mighty and better than those around them, should die lonely and miserable. At the same time it's also slightly sad, because Morfin can't understand why nobody treats him with the respect he thinks he deserves. Brilliant, and whoop for Slytherin!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Hi Chazzie! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm glad you found it creepy, that was definitely the intention. I had a lot of fun working on it, and I'm pleased you liked Morfin's character and how he is incapable of understanding love and companionship, even though he observes it.

Yes! His end is both perfect and meant to be, but also a little tragic. He really didn't stand a chance, and I imagine he rarely had happy moments.

Thanks so much for the lovely review, and go Slytherin! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Noble

7th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey, Jenna!

So, wow, one of the few stories I've ever read about Morfin Gaunt, but definitely the best. It's so twisted and proud and... bad, like I imagine them to be. The descriptions you used were so vivid in my head, it was awesome. And I love that it's in the present tense - it feels like we're on this journey of his life with him, watching him become this almost unrecognizable person.

This one-shot was so cool!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam! :)

Aw, thank you! :) I'm so pleased you liked it. I loved writing the dark and twisted parts especially, and how sad Morfin's life was. I'm glad you liked the descriptions and the present tense as well, and that it felt like a journey. This is how I felt while writing it so it's great to know that is coming across to readers.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Maelody Noble

6th March 2014:
You have a real talent for having that creepy beauty skill down, you know that? Seriously! I think you've done such an amazing job with this! "Grown as gaunt as his last name and as bitter as his father." This gave me goosebumps! From boyhood to old man, and then dead and gone. Such a sad way to describe a fateless man. It really makes me wonder about the way his life would really go down in someone elses' (or JK's) view. Such a tragic story, really. :(

The way he interacts with the snakes, and admires his father, and sees what is right in his eyes is so scary, but brilliant. This really is your talent, and amazing it is! You've done such an incredible job on this piece, and it's such a great tribute to the Slytherin tales and Slytherin House! Great job! I'm totally favoriting this! :D

~Mae

Author's Response: Hi Mae! :)

Thank you! :) I love the term "creepy beauty" and that you applied it to this story. I'm glad it gave you goosebumps, and that you found the story sad as I did as well. He had such a miserable existence without any purpose, and I really wanted to capture that.

I'm glad you liked his character and how he saw the world! It was quite fun to get inside Morfin's head and how desolate the view from his head would be. I'm very honoured you thought it was a good tribute to Slytherin- yay! :D

Thanks so much for the amazing review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Iellwen Noble

6th March 2014:
Hi Luluna!

I'm amazed again as I read your one-shot for the second time now... I smile and chuckle, frown and sneer... And the goosebumps! Don't get me started on the goosebumps I get during this read. I can't believe you wrote this in only a few hours! It's pure [Slytherin] genius!

Morfin is such a pathetic thing! I felt "Morfin soon forgets about the school. His days are repetitive and simple." described him so well, it was eerie!

I loved the short italic sentences, correspondence from the school the the Gaunt household.

The way you incorporate Merope, it's awesome; showing Morfin's ineptitude to comprehend the love she holds for the Muggle and maybe to comprehend love itself?

Morfin's obsession for snakes, their whispering... And his obsession with being Slytherin's heir... "Perhaps he is one of those poor souls who never merited a fate." This is were the goosebumps happen. Just before I finished reading this one-shot for the first time, I thought the (almost) exact same thing.

Staying credible, you managed to create something incredible. Amazing.

Thank you for writing this and many thanks for the read!

Go snakes!! :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thank you so much! I'm really happy you got goosebumps from reading it, that is rather how I felt when writing certain scenes. I had a lot of fun writing this, though it was very rushed, so I'm very pleased that you enjoyed it.

I know, poor Morfin. :( I actually felt really sorry for him and how pathetic his life was by the end of this. I'm pleased you liked the bits in italics as well and they seemed to fit.

Yes, Merope and Morfin are quite different! I imagined that in his way, Morfin does care about his sister, but he doesn't really understand love or care about it much. He loves himself, however.

I'm glad you liked the snakes, and being a Slytherin! Those two things were all he really had to be proud of. Ah, I liked that line as well. It really showed that his whole existence was quite pointless, which is sad in its own way.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I'm so happy you liked this! :) I really appreciate all your kind words! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshp Noble

6th March 2014:
Blackout Battle!

Hello fellow snake xD

So, I am amazed that you managed to write this so fast! This is so beautifully written and so hauntingly portrayed that I'd have thought it would take many hours to master such a piece.

I absolutely loved the description and imagery you used. I could visualise every little thing - the cottage, Morfin himself, the snakes coming to him, and the end of him wrapped in a sheet thrown in the sea - it was all vivid and amazing.

I also liked how you described the events in Morfin's life so simply in separate segments. The writing style was fitting for such a story. The theme itself was creepy in a way and it gave me a haunting feel. I also enjoyed your characterisation of Morfin. It made me pity him and at the same time not like him so much. Your depiction of him is exactly how I'd imagine him though, and aligns with what little we've seen of him in canon.

It was interesting how Morfin continually thought of his pure noble blood, of him being the heir of Slytherin, and of greatness. It matched well with the theme of the battle and did not come across as forced either.

Over all, this was a dark, twisted view of Slytherin and its greatness from a Slytherin almost gone insane himself, and I had a great time reading it. The plot idea itself was brilliant.

Great job!
10/10
Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello snake friend! ♥

I'm so glad you liked this! It's been really lovely getting positive feedback on it since I wrote it so quickly, but I did have the idea brewing for a little while.

Yay, I'm excited you liked the description, and that it felt vivid! And the simple segments, that's a great way of describing the structure. His thoughts, when I imagined them, were very fragmented and linear, and so I tried to write the story that way as well. I'm quite pleased to hear you pitied him in a way, as that's how I felt about him by the end of the story.

Yes! I felt that being a Slytherin was all Morfin had to be proud of, and so he would obsess over it. He really had a quite unfortunate life.

I'm so glad you liked this, and how it represented Slytherin! :) Of course, most of us snakes are a little less mad, but I had so much fun working on it for the battle.

Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Noble

1st March 2014:
Hi there!

Wow. This is such an amazing entry and I can't believe you did this in just a few hours! You're amazing!

So the description you threw into this is just phenomenal. At every point in the story I had a clear image of what was happening so kudos to you!

I also loved (if that's the right word) your characterisation of Morfin. Obviously I don't like him as a character, but your version is perfectly fitting of what I expect of him! Right from the start when he got expelled from Hogwarts to talking to the snakes and then dying alone in Azkaban were all so well written.

You also did a great job of keeping the theme of Slytherin greatness running through this. Nearly every section had a reference to it, reminding us how strongly Morfin, and of course Marvolo believed it.

Also - great job on including the bit about Merope and Tom Riddle senior!

All in all this was really well written and I really enjoyed reading it! Great job!

Lauren :)

Gryffindor V Slytherin review battle: story with no reviews 2 of 5

Author's Response: Hi Lauren! :)

Thank you so much for giving me the first review on this! I wrote it so quickly and had no idea how it would be received, so this was extra lovely.

I'm glad you liked the description! It was quite fun, though a little sad, imagining how drab Morfin's world was. Haha, I'm glad you "loved" Morfin as well. :P I know what you mean, and it's nice to know you liked this version of him. I actually felt a little sorry for him, both in the books and when writing this. He really had no chance at a happy or fulfilling life.

Yes! For the Gaunts, being Slytherin was all they really had, and I wanted to show how Marvolo's obsession with it carried over to Morfin. I'm glad you liked Merope and Tom's appearances as well! For Morfin, that moment must have been quite critical.

Thanks so much for the amazing review, it really made my day! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login