Reading Reviews for The Father who Died
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lynda_06 31 October, 1981

16th July 2014:
This is such a beautiful piece! Your James was so amazingly in-character that I couldn't help but read your one-shot twice! So amazingly written.

- Lynda

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Twice! Yay! Thank you for letting me know, it's very encouraging.

 Report Review

Review #2, by toomanycurls 31 October, 1981

22nd May 2014:
I'm so sorry I've been forever in reviewing for the challenge. Your story is a great combination of serious drama with a bit of light comedy. I might be reading the comedy because I can't disassociate the quote with the movie, but you did an awesome job.

You did a great job showing what the Potter household was like. They seemed so happy and, well, not at peace but content with each other. I liked that James had really stepped into his role as father. I've read some stories where he is still rather immature and not able to shoulder the responsiblity of being a dad and that always irks me.

I think only James could face Voldemort with such bravado. You really showed his courageous nature in that scene. oh man, you ended on such strong feels.

Amazing job with this! I'm working to get the results out soon!! Thank you so much for writing this wonderful one-shot for my challenge.

-Rose

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I'm a little obsessed with THE Halloween Night, and I remembered in the movie Wesley said it when he was clearly outnumbered, and I thought it would be funny/sad if James had said that to Voldemort. And... viola!

The challenge was so much fun! I'm glad you finally got the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by kenpo 31 October, 1981

8th April 2014:
Wow. Ouch. Oh man. Oh. Wow. I don't... holy crap.

I'm having feelings.

From what I've read of yours, I think you're really good at the feelings. It's a gift I admire very much.

I loved the note about how Lily loved that Harry had her eyes. That was a great thing to add, and it packed a lot of punch. Right. In. The. Feels.

When James was dueling Voldemort, I loved how he thought of Sirius, and was still witty and a little pompous, even in that situation.

Oh! And when he said that he loved Lily for not looking back. That. Feels.

This was really beautifully written, and I'm crying, which happens whenever I read your stuff. But in a good way, because it's so beautiful. At least it isn't Fred.

Author's Response: Bahaha! Yes, at least it isn't Fred. +]

I love tragedies. Happiness is nice, and I like to read things like that, but my happy things are never as good as my sad things.

I'm glad you enjoyed another depressing piece. Lol. I was worried focusing on the eyes would come across as cliche, I'm so glad it worked out nicely.

I figured James to be one of those guys whose defense mechanism is bravado. I also wanted to make it seem like the possibility of failure never occurred to him, hence thinking about Sirius, and how he'd have to tell him about it later. It never occurred to him there wouldn't be a later.

Ugh, the not looking back. My heart broke at that point, I was right there with you on that one. Man...

Thank you so much for all of your reviews, I'm glad you keep reading.


 Report Review

Review #4, by LightLeviosa5443 31 October, 1981

8th April 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the BvB battle!

Wow. Just. Wow.

This is absolutely incredible, I honestly don't know how you do it. I'm struck in awe by everything of yours that I read. This was so beautifully heart-breaking (you do that a lot). I loved the way that James tried so hard, that his world was Harry and Lily. I loved the way he thought, and the flow of the story. It was effortless, I felt like I was in his head. I honestly lost my breath a bit when the spell hit him in the end.

So sad, you are such a heartbreaker. I can't even handle it. The line "he has his mother's eyes" is just. Ugh. I can't. So cute. So sad.

I love everything you write. This was really really wonderful hon!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Holy cow, you made me blush. I'm sorry everything I write is depressing. I can't help it, it just comes out that way.

I've always admired James, he kinda reminds me of my hubby, so this piece, as well as a child cry, are really close to my heart. I seem to be obsessed with the Halloween night. This is like the third time I've written it from a different perspective.

Yay! I'm so happy to hear that it was smooth and you felt close to James. Sometimes I miss the mark, and I really needed this piece to be smooth. +]

Yes. That last part... ugh. I gets me too, you aren't the only one. Lol.

I'm so happy you enjoy my work, even if it's crazy depressing all the time...


 Report Review

Review #5, by True Author 31 October, 1981

15th March 2014:
Hello! Here for our review swap! I'm so sorry for doing it so late, I was just too busy. :(

This was a very good idea for the quote you had been given. I haven't seen Princess Bride, so I didn't recognize the quote until I read the Author's Note and I really thought the plot and the quote got along well. :) 'THE HALLOWEEN NIGHT' is something I always love to read as I'm curious what may have happened before that creepy man (ahem Voldemort) entered the scene. And I liked your version!

Great job!

Ashwini

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Just for context, the main hero of the story says this while obviously outnumbered by trained, armed men on horses and the main protagonist. He's a very sarcastic character, exactly the way I imagined James being. +]

I'm becoming more obsessed with it. Haha. I find myself wanting to write it from everyone's POV. +]

Thanks for the swap! Until next time. RHJ


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lady of Tears 31 October, 1981

11th March 2014:
Oh goodness! What a tender, poignant piece. I'm really glad I read it Right off the bat, I want to say my favorite line was: "She didnít turn back to look at him, and he loved her for it." It just broke my heart!

A strength I noticed was the balance between description, exposition, and James' own thoughts. For example, you talk in the opening paragraph about the colors and such, but you also add in the action of Lily kissing Harry and James' thoughts. I liked how everything flowed. I hope that makes sense.

The only thing I wanted more of, and it's more of a preference than an actual critique, would be dialogue between Lily and James. I really enjoy one shots that take place when they died, but there is never a lot of talking. It's such a heavy moment that it lends to a lot of introspection and description. But I always wish there was more between Lily and James before, to see their relationship in action before the end.

But like I said, that's more me than your story. You wrote it beautifully and I loved reading it! Kudos! I'm glad we could review swap!

-Lady of Tears

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy you liked it. That line actually almost didn't make it in! I added it after it had been edited and looked over, so I'm glad I did.

Yes! Thank you so much for mentioning that. Getting the right balance of those three things is something I've been striving for. Normally I have decent exposition, but too little description. It ends up being backstory and dialogue, so I'm glad I did better.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, sorry it took so long to get back with you. RL threw me a "Suddenly!" and I had to catch up. +]


 Report Review

Review #7, by Panda Weasley  31 October, 1981

11th March 2014:
This was really good! I really liked all of it and didn't have any critiques. Loved the way you put in the quote.
~Panda Weasley

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. I thought it was a nice spin on the quote. +]

 Report Review

Review #8, by cleannmoore 31 October, 1981

22nd February 2014:
One Word. Beautiful.

Author's Response: Awh. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Iellwen 31 October, 1981

20th February 2014:
Hi there, review swap! :D

That was amazingly gripping! You've brought so many familiar elements to a heartbreaking moment in Harry's history and I was hooked!

Aaargh! There are so many things that I loved, so I can't list them all without giving away too much...
The little details about the Dragons book, or picturing Harry living a normal childhood with his loving parents. How he has his mother's eyes and James's pride.
I love the way you used the quote and even managed to bring Sirius into the situation :D

Thanks for a brilliant read!
Cheers!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it! It's the first scene I thought of when I got the quote, and it seemed perfect coming from James. The bit about Sirius I found rather sad, becaues (in my head) it never occured to James that he wouldn't be seeing his friend again. Even though he was worried for his son and wife, the thought that he would fail escaped him, and he didn't realize there wouldn't be a chance to tell his best friend about his encounter with Voldemort.

Anywho, thanks for a great swap!


 Report Review

Review #10, by lindslo2012 31 October, 1981

18th February 2014:
Okay. So I teared up while reading this. I absolutely loved this because I am always wanting to see more insight to Lily and James. I have been reading more stories about them lately and I have been enjoying them more and more!
So way to go, your beautiful writing made me cry! :D
I loved it.
-Linds

Author's Response: Awh, thank you! I'm sorry you cried? Lol, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by lightthecandle 31 October, 1981

18th February 2014:
OMG! You don't understand the shivers that ran down my spine when Voldemort turned up at the house and this moment,
"All the blood drained from James face as the figure withdrew a wand, glancing about once more before turning and opening the small iron front gate that lead straight to the house." that just... I'm literally speechless. So many people have done fluffy romantic stories about Lily and James and they are absolutely lovely to read because it takes your mind off the reality of what happens to them. But... stories like this, I love and hate them at the same time. You put so much emotion in this story and I love how you portrayed James whilst still showing him to be quite immature. I started crying at the end of this and I feel so sorry for James. They really didn't do James justice in the films in my opinion and this makes up for that.
Brilliant, just brilliant!
Aimee
x

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! I'm sorry/happy that you cried?! Lol. This has made my day, thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much. +]

This is the first time James has been a main character of mine, and I'm pretty happy with the way things turned out too.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login