Reading Reviews for Summer at the Abbey
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rumpelstiltskin Beginnings

13th April 2014:
I'm doing the first-chapter sweep of the challenge reviews (and I'll be back to review the rest of the story, ideally before the deadline, but definitely before winners are declared).

Plot/plot arch: What a lovely introduction! You've had a large task in combining three different fandoms, and introducing them thusly, but you managed spectacularly. While there is typically another section in my outlined designated for characterization, there is very little in this (as it is an introduction), so we'll exclude that for now. I do love the Doctor's line at the end though, Hello people who have met Harry Potter before. How may I help you? -- I thought that was perfect.

Detail: The detail, dialogue, and actions of the characters seem very appropriate for each of the three fandoms and different time eras. Furthermore, you've made it seem as if these three fandoms could belong together.

Style: I love the three different places at three different times set-up here. Obviously it's setting us up for the introductions of characters that will most likely be interacting with each other in the future.

Notes/other: This is a fantastic start! I'll be back to finish this another time! I can't wait to see what you've come up with for these characters! This seems like it has a ton of potential.

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lululuna Interruptions at Dinner

21st March 2014:
Hi again! :)

Rose is great here! I liked how she chastised Fred from drinking, but had the solution to keep him from getting too drunk - that seemed like something Hermione might do as well.

I also really like how well you write the Doctor. I'm picture the 10th doctor right now as that the season I'm on but you bring him to life splendidly (how funny would it be if Albus suddenly realized... "hey, you look a lot like this Death Eater who impersonated Moody and tried to kill my dad!") :P. Are you picturing any specific Doctor or just his general essence? I can't remember if you mentioned it earlier or not. But I like how he sort of jumps into conversations and is very involved in everything. The mentions of the white paper he has and his excitement about getting started on the case felt very in character as well. And I liked the detail about why he can't return to Nazi Germany.

Poor Edith! I feel like that gets said quite often, but this is a very tough time in her life and you did a good job of hinting at that. Also how she's a little blunt and not as friendly as she could be to the others, that felt very in character.

The characters are wonderful - I do think the story could benefit from a little more description of the setting and the characters, though it does help that I've seen Downton so I can envision it that way. The story is moving along at a fast pace, but it doesn't feel rushed at all, which I quite like. I'm looking forward to the murder investigation as well - somehow I think there could be alien involvement but am curious to learn more.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Yay! My #1 reviewer!

Rose is definitely her mother's daughter.

I'm trying to write the 11th Doctor here - I find him to be the easiest to write. You just pretend that you're writing a small child in a man's body who is capable of spectacular insight.

I needed a reason why the Doctor couldn't go rescue Michael Gregson. Because he would if he could. But Edith has to be mopey and depressed and mean cause let's face it, that's the best Edith! Keep an eye on her...

I agree that I need more details. Usually, I'm trying to get everything down before it leaves my head, I forget to detail what is going on.

As for alien involvement, I suggest you take a peek at the banner. There's a nice clue there!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lululuna Thomas's Observations, a Talk With Lady Mary, and Fred's Flirting

15th March 2014:
Hello! :)

Haha, I totally forgot about Thomas! :P Hmm, I wonder how he and Fred might get along in the future. That might be cute - Thomas is one of those characters whom I really love to hate, but he does have a lot of potential and is always interesting to watch or, in this case, read about. Fred's flirting made me laugh as well.

I liked the part about the Doctor coming down and telling the servants all these stories. That really captures his personality so well. And Shakespeare and the witches, I remember them! :P

It's interesting that Thomas is getting suspicious. Knowing him, he might try to use this information to get somebody else into trouble...

I liked the part with Mary as well, and how she's making an effort to bond with the girls. It was interesting to hear about how the Doctor was involved at Downton. I also liked how she felt incomplete after the Doctor left, like so many of his companions seem to. I'm very curious to find out more about why the Doctor is at Downton and what mischief everybody is going to get up to.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Don't forget about Thomas! He'll play an important role in the story. He's actually one of my favorite Characters on Donwton Abbey. I sympathize with him so much.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by AshOwl25224 The Abbey

10th March 2014:
This story is basically the combination of my three favourite things! You have no idea how happy this make me! :)
Anyway, in case you haven't noticed yet,I really like your story. The idea is great, and I think you portray the characters really well!

Author's Response: Yay! Another review! I can't tell you how happy that makes me!

I'm glad I have the characters written well - something I struggle with.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lululuna The Abbey

8th March 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I like how Fred is gay and has a little crush on the doctor! That's a great little dynamic to introduce, since often the Doctor's companions do seem to fancy him. The beginning made me laugh as well with all the fuss about their clothes, and how the boys actually seemed fussier than the girls. Scorpius being held down to force on the shoes made me laugh. I can only imagine how reluctant he'd be if he had to wear heels!

So Mary was a companion as well? Very interesting, but I suppose that will help explain the Doctor and his friends to the rest of Downton. I liked how feisty she was with him, and how she was angry that he left and dropped her in the middle of Scotland. It was quite funny, and yes, I imagine very hard to explain!

Albus having a bit of a crush on Mary is funny as well, though if telephones already are in the Abbey then Mary is probably a little too old for him by now! I wonder if Matthew is going to be in this story?

This was another great chapter, I really enjoyed it! :)

Gry/Sly Blackout - Review 5/7

Author's Response: Yay! Another review!

Fred definitely has a crush on the Doctor, though I doubt he'll reciprocate. He's a little too old for him. However, I can tell you that Fred will have a nice romance ark in this novella.

Lady Mary was a companion of his and she explains the circumstances in the coming chapter (which is in the queue as I write). I needed something to connect the Doctor to the Abbey for the purposes of the story. I was originally going to make Sybil his companion because she seems the most Doctorish to me. However, I find it easiest to write when I have more free reign, ie after season 4. No Matthew!

Lady Mary is slightly too old for Albus, though he also will have a nice romance ark!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lululuna The TARDIS

8th March 2014:
Hello! :) I just couldn't resist this when I saw it was a triple-crossover of three of my favourite things.

You captured the essence of the doctor really well in my opinion, how he's quite all over the place and very cheerful, and how quickly he gets to his companions. I liked how his speech about explaining what a Time Lord was fit into the magical world, and how he knew who all of the kids were. That fits quite well, as the Doctor does often know who prominent people are and it fits that Harry would be among them. I liked the mention of the sonic as well! And yes, the last two paragraphs were great! They made me smile, such a typical doctor move.

Rose was great here too when she talked about reading about Time Lords - she really is Hermione's daughter so that was a great detail. Also I really like the idea of wizards being descended from them, that was a good way of integrating the two fandoms. Fred being shocked about having distant alien blood was funny as well.

Another little detail I liked was how the Doctor was very sad and apologetic when Charlie said she was an orphan. Of course, having no family is something he could relate to.

I really enjoyed these first two chapters, and think this is such a creative idea. I'm curious to see where Downton Abby ties in. Well done!

Gry/Sly Blackout - Review 4/7

Author's Response: They are kind of a holy trinity aren't they? Downton Abbey, Doctor Who, and Harry Potter!

Phew! I'm glad I wrote the Doctor well - he's so hard to write. I don't know if I'll ever reveal how the Doctor has Harry's DNA... Probably not though!

I wanted to establish Rose to be the smart one and her knowing about Time Lords was definitely be the way to do it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by lindslo2012 Beginnings

24th February 2014:
Hey there,
here for your requested review!
I think you have a very awesome start to what I am sure will be a very fun, fascinating story.
Congrats your's is the first crossover I have ever really read!
I liked the way you described all of the people in the scenes. I like how they are all walking on a beach and you described everything very well.
I think you are a very talented writer and I will be back to read more, so please re-request!
:D let me know if I missed some points in the review that you want me to improve on! Thanks! :D
Until next time,
-Linds

Author's Response: I'm glad the story checked out with you. Like Anne Bradstreet would say, this story is like my child!

Thank you for calling me a talented writer. It's always nice to feed my ego...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by befuddledbroomsticks Beginnings

19th February 2014:
I'm not going to lie, I have never seen Downton Abbey - that's what it was called, right? - and I haven't watched Doctor Who in years, but this seems interesting! Can't wait to see how this progresses.

Author's Response: Yay! First review!

Oh you need to watch Downton Abbey! It's so grear and addicting!

And now is the perfect time to start watching DW again — Capaldi is taking over the reigns and all the loose ends are pretty much tied up!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login