13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 A New Chapter in our Lives

17th April 2014:
Hello! I saw this on the home page of the website and I just had to read it. I've never read a Vernon/Petunia story and I really liked this. You did a great job keeping true to their story and personalities, but telling a love story at the same time. I really liked your portrayal of Petunia, because we learn in the books that she isn't quite as horrible as she originally appears. I love the little things that they do for each other - the hand holding, making dinner, and finding a way to make the best of their situation. It was nice and refreshing to read from a different and unexpected point of view! Thanks for the story.

Beth

Reviewed for the Huffleclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tris  A New Chapter in our Lives

12th April 2014:
CUTE, very well written, can't wait to read more of your stuff!

 Report Review

Review #3, by DracoFerret11 A New Chapter in our Lives

10th March 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the Valentine's Day Competition! :D Sorry it took so long...anyhow, let's go over things:

Continuity: There were a couple of things that didn't make perfect sense to me in this story. 1) Petunia says that she has "shared the house with a consequence of his actions for eleven years." If she's talking about Harry, doesn't she mean more like 16-ish years? And 2) Petunia "felt Vernon's familiar scent" which should be "smelled" his scent or something. But not "felt."

Spelling/Grammar: Only one error that I noticed, "The fresh air might be a good chance" where "chance" should be "change."

Plot: This was so sweet! I really liked the chance to read a story about how the Dursleys felt about leaving their home. You showed a much more affectionate version of Petunia and Vernon that I had never considered before and I think it was quite sweet. I really liked seeing them try to form some sort of new life together even after so many changes. Well done.

Characterization: I really think you portrayed Petunia and Vernon well. I liked that there were still strict, perfectionist-type qualities to the two of them, but I also liked that those qualities were affected by the changes in their lives. I think that's quite realistic. The affection between them threw me off at first, but I actually think I liked it.

Descriptions: I liked that you had some details about how things looked, etc. It helped ground me in the world of the story.

Emotions: This was really nice. I loved seeing how going into hiding affected Petunia's psyche. It was interesting to delve into her mind and how she just wanted things to be how they were before and she was frustrated and scared and hurt that they couldn't be.

Overall, well done! Good job and good luck in the competition!

--Emily

 Report Review

Review #4, by anythingcouldhappen A New Chapter in our Lives

7th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

Well.

I have to say this story is amazing, simply because I actually liked the Dursleys in it.

That's a first!

I mean Dudley sort of redeems himself at the end, and Petunia gets fleshed out a little, but the Dursleys have always been such irritating characters. I suppose that's because we always saw them from Harry's POV. They were always hard to imagine as having their own lives outside of the summers when Harry was back with them.

But you did a great job here of describing the sort of emotions that would probably be affecting Petunia when she had to move out of the house, as well as her general feelings towards Harry as well. really liked when she talked about it not being their war. That's very in character for Petunia I think!

So, for practically making me like the Dursleys, I applaud you! This is a great entry for the speed dating challenge :)

Sam

 Report Review

Review #5, by Akussa A New Chapter in our Lives

7th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the review battle /blackout / bingo!

This was a very interesting story. There aren't enough stories that center around Petunia and show the world through her eyes and thoughts in a realistic way. I really like how you made her human and not just a ball of anger or sadness. She acknowledges her weaknesses and the feelings Harry's intrusion into their lives made her feel. She doesn't try to find excuses about her behavior and make amends; she knows she acted wrongly.

The second part of the story was different and yet just as good. You know, I think that Petunia really loved her husband deeply. I often see her depicted as a victim, afraid of Vernon so she lets him have his way with Harry but I think it's more fitting to imagine her as a loving wife. No matter how horrible she feels about never patching things up with her sister, no matter how bad she feels about the way they treated Harry, she still stands by her man becaue he is the love of her life and makes her happy.

Great story that presented a different view of these characters. I enjoyed it a lot!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore A New Chapter in our Lives

6th March 2014:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing Slytherin stories for the Blackout Bingo, and I'm glad that I got a chance to read this one because I got busy while I was trying to review all the speed dating entries. I already love the fact that you've chosen such an unusual pairing to write about, and I'm sure that nobody else chose to write about them!

Somehow you've done the unimaginable and made me actually vaguely like Petunia and Vernon, both as a couple and as characters, which is really impressive because they're horrible characters most of the time! I'm already impressed with that and your originality in this piece!

I loved the way that you captured Petunia's voice in this story and going deeper into some of the avenues that have been exposed in the books but never really explored - her connections to the wizarding world and the way she sees Harry and the links between the different characters as well. She really felt like Petunia to me, and I've never seen or read anything from her perspective before, so well done for getting into her head!

It was really interesting to watch the scene between Harry and Dudley from Petunia's perspective rather than the one that we see in the books - it sheds new light on the moment and I love stories that can do that.

Petunia and Vernon were cute here as well! I have always thought that they loved each other, even though they don't treat Harry well and in most Marauders stories they're horrible to Lily as well. Here you showed that they do love each other and I liked the relationship between them and the way you illustrated that love.

Great story!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo 12/15

 Report Review

Review #7, by ohmymerlin A New Chapter in our Lives

21st February 2014:
Hello!

First of all, you made me cry when Petunia was talking about Lily and Harry. I didn't expect to cry.

I hardly ever read stories about Petunia and Vernon but you pulled it off so well! It kind of made me forget how horribly they treated Harry :p

It was really sweet how you wrote her, how she was so caring of Dudley and Vernon. Even though she didn't care for Harry that much, she did care for her husband and son and I'm so glad you portrayed that!

This was a lovely piece. You wrote it fantastically!

10/10

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lululuna A New Chapter in our Lives

20th February 2014:
Hello! :)

Ah, I love how you guys chose a more unusual pairing and wrote about Vernon and Petunia. It's such a wonderful breath of fresh air.

You did a really good job of getting into Petunia's head, exploring how she is both linked yet separate from the wizarding world and the effect this has on the way she sees Harry. The links between Harry and Dudley and Harry and Lily, and how the two pairs are both linked yet intrinsically seperate in Petunia's head, is so interesting.

Haha, I like how she called Moody 'Crazy Eyes!'

Aw, Petunia and Vernon are just so adorable here. You really did a good job of showing how comfortable they are and how much they rely and take care of one another. I always thought that despite the way the Dursleys treated Harry they did really care for one another, and that came across so well here. This line:

For me Vernon was calm, stability, love and patience. I really liked it, and how well the words summed up the way Petunia feels about Vernon at this point in her life.

I liked the little tie-ins to the canon Dursleys as well, like how Petunia mentions the wizardings blowing themselves up - definitely sounds like something she would repeat! - and the mentions of the garden. It's nice to see the Dursleys making the most of their situation and being strong throughout it, and Petunia's motherly instincts coming through.

Lovely job, this was a great read! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Maelody A New Chapter in our Lives

18th February 2014:
Ooooh! I love this approach! I've always wanted to do a Petunia/Vernon piece, but I've just settled for reading them. This was definitely enjoyable, adorable, a little sad, and it sheds a new light on the couple. In all honestly, I've always thought this pair loved one another, and their son. It's never been a question, but because we only see them interact with Harry, it's always hard to see that they feel differently toward one another. I think you've done an excellent job capturing this!

Seeing the scene between Dudley and Harry through Petunia's eyes was nice. The whole thing in her eyes was great, actually! How she still had to be a wife and mother, even though they didn't have a home, and how she loved Vernon made me smile. She's a woman with a flaw. She's somewhat guilty of it, but she can't just get over it. There was a lot of characterization and emotion well thought and well placed in the story.

Vernon is actually really sweet! Awe! I think making two unlikable characters likable like this is a hard feat that you've accomplished! Though a little sad because I picture Richard Griffeth as the perfect Vernon, and now that he's dead, I sort of imagine Vernon being dead, too. :( so this story definitely had an extra sad flare for me.

Now don't mind me here, but I once had a beta tell me "penny for your thoughts" and "put your two cents in" aren't common British terms. I don't know, and I don't really mind it, but just in case you'd like to know? Or look into it? I've never heard anything of it otherwise.

Anyway, such a wonderful job on this story! :) I'm going over to your partner's story now, and I wish the best of luck to you both!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyEPotter A New Chapter in our Lives

18th February 2014:
Hi!

You really brought out Petunia's conflict with magic and her family. I liked the Dursleys took the chance in taking a step in a different direction and how they eased up just a little concerning magic. It was also very touching moment between Vernon and Petunia when they got to the house.

:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by tabula_rasa A New Chapter in our Lives

18th February 2014:
I'm so glad that we got to do this together, because this is such a beautiful story. You added flesh to Petunia and Vernon's marriage and togetherness over the years so beautifully. It was poignantly shown, choosing the moment when they are being separated from all they built up over the years made everything take on the quality of reminiscence. I don't think it would be possible to portray Petunia more accurately. The grief, the regrets, the pain and then that beautiful moment when she and Vernon play at imagining the future. They have always represented a certain unconditional love for each other which the fandom overlooks ever so often. The solidity and support of their marriage, their love for their son and even the complexity of their feelings towards Harry, you managed to show it all and with so much elegance. I can say with much happiness and pride that I got to work with you. :) This chapter makes me re-evaluate everything that love can be. This kind of silent, enduring love has a beauty of its own.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Karou_Marauder A New Chapter in our Lives

17th February 2014:
Hiya!!

I really like this. You show Petunia's emotions really well and I can so see why she'd be feeling that way. The memory of her crying over Harry's cot is so sad.

Aw. I love your characterisation of Petunia here. Vernon seems a bit too nice, but maybe that's just because Harry's not around to annoy him.

Really good, and good luck with the competition!

 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter A New Chapter in our Lives

17th February 2014:
Hi Debra! I'm here on a quest to review all of the challenge entries :)

The thing that struck me most about this story was how human you've made Petunia seem, in her private grief for her sister, and her sadness in leaving her home. She's always been a character I really disliked but your writing made me feel really sorry for her.

I love your portrayal of Vernon and Petunia's relationship too, there are a lot of hints that they only behave in such a way when it is just the two of them together and that is because of the facade they have to keep up with, pretending they lead normal lives with no wizard in the family. It fits will with what we know about the couple and also gives a new side to them, which is the beauty of fanfiction :)

Very sweet one-shot, a lovely missing moment :)

Dee

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login