Reading Reviews for Shadowplay
  
70 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gryffindorlion15 Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

13th March 2017:
cant wait for the next chapter! please update soon :)

Author's Response: Sorry for the long wait! I'll try to get the last chapter to you sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Naomi Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th March 2017:
PLEASE UPDATE! ❤️

Author's Response: Ahh, sorry it's been so long! I'll get the last chapter up sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lilrilakkuma Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th February 2017:
Yay! You updated! What a treat. I'm so pleased Remus is going to stay, even if that means they've put whatever happened behind them... hopefully just for now ;) All of this UST between them is starting to get to me.

I almost forgot to mention in my last review... Another thing I love about this story was the original characters. A lot of OCs in fanfiction tend to not stand out on their own, but you have managed to make every original character, no matter how minor, seem just as developed and interesting as the canon characters. I see a lot of myself in Aislin from when I was a debaucherous youth, and I can picture both Johnny and Barnabus as real men that I've known and been with. You're a great writer, a real writer. I would pay to read an original work from you if you were published.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! :')

I'm so glad you like the OCs! I think that writing canon characters is challenging, because you have to strike a balance between what people know/expect from a character, and originality. But OCs are way scarier for me, so I'm glad you think they work.

Only one chapter to go! Should be out sometime this weekend/next week.


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Justice League Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th February 2017:
I was able to accept aislin with Remus over Sirius for a good two chapters and then you killed that dang. Great story tho!

Author's Response: Haha sorry for the twist! The truth is that, like Aislin, I have a soft spot for Sirius.

Thanks so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lilrilakkuma Twenty-Eight: The World on Fire

9th February 2017:
I've just come across this story and read it all in one sitting. It isn't often that a fic can make me feel so many emotions - happiness, angst, melancholy, hope, in quick succession. It is brilliantly thought out and written. I am also a huge fan of true crime and this is the first detective HP fic I've come across that hits the mark, for me.

I absolutely love Aislin and Remus together here, I hope that it isn't still too late for them. I hope you update soon, you have another faithful reader waiting!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. :) The next chapter should be out sometime today/tomorrow!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Nicole Keogh Twenty-Eight: The World on Fire

8th February 2017:
This is by far one the best written stories I have ever read! it has such a well thought out plot and your writing is better than some published books I've read.
I can't wait to finish this story and I really can't wait to see what else you come out with because you have a serious talent!
Love this story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review! :) Only 2 chapters left in Shadowplay, and they should be ready pretty soon. I'm procrastinating a lot these days, so plenty of fanfiction is getting written!

If you're looking for other stuff, I've started another fanfic called Like Catching Smoke, which you can find on my author page!


 Report Review

Review #7, by greenbirds Twenty-Four: The Two Doors

9th January 2017:
oh my GOD!

actually, totally, genuinely speechless. oh god. where do i begin?!

firstly- because ill forget to mention this otherwise- it struck me as slightly odd, maybe even off, your characterisation of marlene- who is, of course, known in canon for being killed by death eaters (voldemort himself?). she's such a normal, mostly pleasant character, so i assumed you had either decided to experiment with some classic marauder fanfic cliche of her being the go-to girlfriend/love interest of sirius- in most fanfic, of course, aislin would be marlene- but it makes sense! staying with her parents... this is how she dies! god... how heartbreaking! and i had assumed her to be a gryffindor friend of lily's, an order member all along.

for that's the best thing about shadowplay, a story that is saturated, spilling over at the seams with good things and attributes and qualities- the story works so perfectly, so fluidly with canon i almost forget it isn't canon. it's certainly become my head canon, any how. the characterisation of the marauders is where so many fics go wrong, and quite frankly not only do you get it right- like, SO right- you probably do the best job of characterisation of this time genre on the whole site. even just little things, like humanising peter into a real, likeable character, or the easy banter between lily and james... obviously, my favourite characterisation is of sirius, but i'm so biased towards him anyway, it wasn't fair.

and then there's remus. this is so remus's story as much as it is aislin's. you've created such a three dimensional character within him, stuck so true to canon but also wielded comfort in changing and tweaking it ever so slightly to accommodate a young man, not the shattered, world weary professor we are introduced to him as initially. his friendship and potential love with aislin- and, of course, that awful, confusing fry area in between- has been so delicately treated i must applaud you. it would be so easy to turn shadowplay into a who will she pic? stay tuned!!! drama, but you shy away from that i the same grace and fashion aislin does, to focus on tbe bigger picture at hand.

and hello?! WHAT a plot! a plot that does not stop giving- always one step ahead of you, even when you think you've caught up there's another twist... so exciting, so thrilling, i've found myself over the past day excusing myself from brunch and my friend's birthday dinner to read it in the toilets. god, you're talented. like- awe inspiringly so.

even small details, like references to robes rather than clothing we take for granted in the muggle world, or feeling limbless after losing her hand... you are in a league of your own.

i'm desperate to know how this concludes. i know more than anybody what it is to lose momentum, lose track, lack inspiration, fall out of plot. i am BEGGING you to resume. excuse the hyperbole but i'm dying to read more! i am obsessed! you've got me hook, line and sinker.

and - i've totally nominated shadowplay for a dobby. am i allowed to tell you that? perhaps aislin's recklessness has rebounded on me. it deserves a dobby and beyond and it's borderline heartbreaking shadowplay doesn't have the reviews and acclaim it deserves. truly a league of its own.

Author's Response: Hi again! You've made my day again with this lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time, and for your Dobby nomination! :')

Marlene is meant to have been in the Order, but yeah, I think in most Marauders' Era stories the whole world revolves around the Marauders + Lily, so I wanted Aislin's world to be a little more independent of theirs.

I'm laughing at the idea of you sneaking away to read Shadowplay -- fanfiction is such a guilty pleasure for me, I always feel like I've got to sneak away somewhere to write it!

Thank you so, so much for all this loveliness. I'll get writing. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by greenbirds One: The Beginning

8th January 2017:
i was in the middle of /such/ a long review when google chrome totally failed on me! i will never laugh at an internet explorer meme again. and i apologise for the review this could have been.

i remember reading this for the first time ages ago- i even remember leaving a review in 2014 (oh my GOD, does that seem long ago- a simpler time, haha). i was so excited by this marauders thriller, especially as it is my favourite time period and also the most challenging; finding fics that balance good characterisation of canon characters and original characters whilst handling an original plot (i think i might cry if i read another bffl-of-lily-hooks-up-with-sirius) is super hard, and i am so, so excited to return back to shadowplay!

i remember enough of it to keep me enthused; some details especially, ridiculously small, for they inspired various sub-plots and scenes in my own fanfic. (sirius & aislin, especially. there is this ONE reference to the two of them bunking quidditch and lying in bed that i still adore) but i don't remember enough to lack any thrill of the plot, or even have a sense of predicability when reading. god, i'm excited to keep on reading- and aren't i lucky to have twenty five chapters left!

so yeah. super exciting stuff. you rock. all my love xox

Author's Response: Hi! :) It's been forever since I had a review on this story and it made me smile! A few months ago I decided to redo the ending, but never really got around to it. Maybe one day! :') Happy reading and happy 2017!

 Report Review

Review #9, by gigi Eighteen: The Empress

31st January 2015:
I was in the process of reading another similar fanfic all the time thinking how much better yours was, devoid of fluff and cliché, nice cool protagonist and great original plot, so I came back to comment again. It also had me remembering Barny's fire substory wasn't tied up. Did you intend to tie it into the main plot or was it going to be someone else? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hi again, and OOPS. I had so many ideas for this story in my head that I forgot to tie that up in the last couple of chapters. I think I hinted a little bit about who the culprit was in the chapter when Aislin goes to Barny's party, but I never stated it outright. I'll go back and make some edits to tie things up more neatly! Thanks for pointing that out, and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Eunia  Twenty-Three: The Wand Thief

13th January 2015:
omg. oMG. OH MY GOD.
WHAT

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks for reviewing! Glad the twist took you by surprise!

 Report Review

Review #11, by onetrueking Twenty-Three: The Wand Thief

12th January 2015:
Whoah! Did not see that coming.
Johnny boy is the Tarot killer! Well they say that the most unlikely are the real culprit.
I just hope Remus and Moody gets there in time.
Can't wait for next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I've already started writing the next chapter, so it'll be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #12, by wonweasley Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

9th January 2015:
This is getting so heavy. I'm honestly starting to feel quite anxious about this story ending. What's going to happen? And what am I going to do once it's all over? :'(

Okay, enough moping. I think it's sweet that Remus is encouraging Aislin to expand her social circle a bit. That wouldn't have happened if she'd been left to her own devices.

Maybe I was wrong about my comment on North in the previous review? I suppose he seems alright. I just can't get that basement scene out of my head. Although now I realise that he was under the Imperius Curse at that point, wasn't he? Gah I'm so confused! I need to know who's behind it all.

This is just wonderful. Well done on everything. Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: The end is coming soon, and I'm pretty sad about it, too. :/ I can't give anything away now of course, but the killer will be revealed in 23! Thanks again for your fantastic reviews, which always make my day!

 Report Review

Review #13, by wonweasley Twenty-One: A Bright Glow

9th January 2015:
Yeesh, spider eggs in a pillow, that's a good one. I think I would die. Drunk Remus is such a darling. I want to know so badly about what's going through his head. Like what he thinks of Aislin and why he's so wound up about the case.

Barnabus is scum. He's just that typical lowlife male who thinks that it's totally okay to manipulate women into doing whatever he wants. Ugh. Karma needs to get on that stat.

Keen to find out more about North. I'm not yet tempted to believe he's entirely innocent. Like yeah, sure, he was Imperiused and all, but he's a shady bloke anyway.

Magnificent as always! On to chapter 22. :)

Author's Response: I love writing drunk Remus, though unfortunately there aren't many opportunities for it. Thanks so much for your lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #14, by wonweasley Twenty: A Low Flicker

9th January 2015:
Finally got around to reading this...and you've added three whole chapters! Lord we are so blessed.

Okay so yeah. Huge curve-ball with Remus/Aislin! It really didn't occur to me that there could be anything more than friendship between them, but this development has come up in the sneakiest of ways and I must admit I love it! So torn between him and Sirius though. But hey, why not both?

Such a treat to have Moody make a reappearance. "If you had died, I’d be furious. But you’re alive and well, so that’s neither here nor there, eh?" Textbook Al. Still my favourite character.

I could probably say more but I'm dying to get to chapter 21! Cracking on...

Author's Response: Haha, finals period proved to be a very productive time for this story. Glad you weren't thrown off by the Remus/Aislin!

 Report Review

Review #15, by naflower05 Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

6th January 2015:
Good couple of chapters!! I wonder who was behind the Imperious curse... Update again soon please, I can't wait to see what happens next! And when is Sirius going to come back?? 10/10! =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! Lots of good stuff will be revealed in ch23, which should be posted by next weekendish!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Anon Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

5th January 2015:
I love this story. Please update!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'll try to get another chapter up by next weekend!

 Report Review

Review #17, by mrsdeanthomas421 Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

4th January 2015:
I love this story. Aislin as a protagonist is a breath of fresh air and your depiction of Remus is exactly how I have always imagined him. Thank you for writing an original, cliche-free fanfiction. I can honestly say it is one of the first ones I have read in a while and I cannot wait for more. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'll try to pull out all the stops for the remaining chapters (23 should be up by next Sunday)!

 Report Review

Review #18, by wonweasley Nineteen: The High Priestess

13th December 2014:
"You had had enough of him, so he moved on to Marlene, and now you're having cheerful dinner parties to cover up how weird it all is." Yes!

I laughed out loud at how this was such an exact observation, and how Sirius ingeniously managed to use to it really get under Aislin's skin. In fact, this entire scene was gold, and even though it was working up to that (incredibly hot) kiss, I still didn't see it coming. Ugh. Perfection. Particular kudos to Sirius' growl of "Yes". He should acknowledge and be proud of his snarky handiwork. It was well-earned.

Sexy scenes aside, I AM TERRIFIED. For poor Remus, stressing out about the case, and now Aislin's in danger and North's possessed or something equally as horrifying and I can't deal with it at all! What the hell is that magic?

Overall, perfect execution of using the Aislin/Sirius banter as a sort of comic relief before we're hit with the terror of the main plot. Now I wait in suspense for what happens next... so exciting!

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you liked it. I stopped writing for a few months and it was sort of hard to come back to at first, I guess because my brain hasn't been in sarcastic-dialogue mode for a while.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I should be able to get the next chapter in the queue sometime today/tomorrow.


 Report Review

Review #19, by whitelillies Nineteen: The High Priestess

9th December 2014:
Ah I think I see! I believe Kevin North is actually posessed by Nagini! Just as the snake "became" Bathilda Bagshot in The Deathly Hallows, so did it take over Kevin North's body. All the allusions to his snake-like movements and how he was limping made me think of that. But I might be wrong, because that doesn't explain the weird magic he is using. Either way it is creepy as hell girl!

Update soon! BTW I love your shoutouts, don't stop doing them hehe

xoxo
Sofia

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! I can't tell you if your suspicions are correct, but some questions re North's weird behavior will be answered in the next couple of chapters! Thanks again, and I'm glad you're appreciating the shout-outs!

 Report Review

Review #20, by wonweasley Eighteen: The Empress

23rd November 2014:
Ah this story has got to be one of my all-time favourites! I did drop off the planet for a little bit so it's taken me a while to update myself, but of course your writing is flawless as always.

So. Sirius and Aislin. I love that their snarkiness towards one another hasn't changed at all, despite the progression of their relationship. Their cheeky, witty banter lights up my life, and I especially enjoyed the scene when she walks in on the Order getting all worked up over Sirius' wounds, only to have it punctuated by Aislin's snark. Yet at the same time my heart aches for her, as it's this defence mechanism that stops her from expressing herself properly, and it can only really be understood by Sirius and Remus.

And speaking of that scene, wow, her reaction when she goes into the kitchen. How you captured that emotion so poignantly -- I wanted to cry with her. That feeling of isolation, of being the outsider, is hard to express and often not pulled off in the right way, but you somehow managed to capture it perfectly. Pretending you're strong and that you don't care is sometimes the hardest thing in the world, and I feel like this is one of the rawest moments we've seen from Aislin so far. So very powerful. Well done.

The case is freaking me out. Honestly I thought they were getting so close at one point, and I was excited and anxious and I was also scared the story was going to end before I was ready! Haha. And I'm also interested in finding out what's going on with Cuffe's arsonist, and whether it's connected at all with the main killer.

Riveting stuff! Keep up the amazing work and looking forward to your next update. :)

Author's Response: Hi! I sort of dropped off the planet as well, but I'm back and the next chapter is in the queue. Hooray!

Some answers re the murder case are going to start revealing themselves in the next few chapters, which should be cool! Sirius is going to be out of the flat pretty soon which means less snarky interactions, which is a shame really because that's my faavorite part to write, but I want to keep the romance/plot ratio at a balance!

Thanks so much for your feedback, and I hope you enjoy ch 19!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Anonymous Eighteen: The Empress

2nd October 2014:
Okay, now that I've checked to see if this story has been updated for the millionth time, I thought I would leave a little review for you.

First, I have to say that I'm so impressed with the fact that this is not just your average, bland, couple-centred, love story. Aislin has her own life and her own troubles, and her relationship with Sirius takes a back seat to her career story (with just enough "romance" to keep it interesting). I love it. I've spent more time thinking about solving the case than on when Aislin and Sirius are going to get together...and to me, that is what makes this story so compelling.

I also wanted to compliment your command of all of the characters playing a part in this story. You weave canon and non-canon characters together seamlessly, and effortlessly breathe life into characters mentioned in passing in the novels. J.K. Rowling would be proud, I am sure. Bravo!

I hope you update soon because I am simply dying to know what happens next, and to see if my hunches about the case are correct.

Cheers!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this amazing review!! I'll try to get the next chapter into the queue sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #22, by naflower05 Eighteen: The Empress

22nd September 2014:
Great chapter! I like that she seems to be growing up and evolving. I can't wait for more info on the case! Update again soon please!! =] 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it! :) I'll try to post another chapter sometime in the next two weeks!

 Report Review

Review #23, by whitelillies Eighteen: The Empress

21st September 2014:
This chapter was awesome! I can't wait for more profound interaction between Aislin and Sirius, and for Aislin to find out more info about the Order.

Haha I loved your shoutout, so random yet still on point.

Sofia xxx

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by naflower05 Seventeen: Things Brought to Light

15th September 2014:
Oh my god. This story is amazing. I love it! She's such a realistic character, someone who has flaws but also has good qualities that make up for them, and there's room for character development. Can't wait to see what happens now, the suspense of the Tarot killer is, pardon the pun, killing me! Please update again soon!! =] 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Really busy with work/school right now but I'll try to get ch18 into the queue by Sunday!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Caro Seventeen: Things Brought to Light

12th September 2014:
what a great chapter! seriously, i love it a lot, especially your writing style reads very nicely and doesn't distract from the story. Very excited to see how this all works out. :)

Author's Response: Thanks again for reviewing! :) I'll try to post the next chapter soon!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>