Reading Reviews for Two Sides of the Coin
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by toomanycurls Ambition and Power

9th March 2014:
I'm just kind of amazed by this story. The quote tied in perfectly with the story and the idea of Slytherins either reaching great heights of falling so far from grace. You added additional depth by linking the imagery of Slughorn's wrecked office with the various (evil) students he had.

The line about not spending money, just favors, to gain access to people and events was brilliant. It perfectly describes how he operated for years.

You reveal a lot about him with Slughorn keeping photos of his past students, even after they showed an evil side. I like that he wanted to keep ahold of the good memories the varios photos and that he's a bit sentimental.

Even more chilling was him relating the distant fond memories with the all too recent deaths of the same people. You made that so powerful and made me realize that the death eaters who died in the battle were more than just bad guys.

Slughorn reflecting on Tom Riddle was incredible. I love how he admitted to being interested in Tom right away. This might have been my favorite line "Somewhere along the way, they had lost sight of the true ideals of Slytherin House, trading ambition for a unique sort of slavery, a false sense of security and power."

It does a great job describing Slytherin as more than evil but highlighting ambition and cunning and putting the evil part as people getting it wrong.

Ending it with him continuing to support students and give people a helping hand really brought the story around in a lovely way.

Incredible one-shot!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey Rose, thanks for coming by!

I'm glad you liked the quote and the general theme of contrasts and imagery in this piece. It was fun to really get my hands dirty with some of the wartime description. It's also great to hear that you liked the line about favors, because I'm a bit proud of that one :)

Yeah, I think it was tough for Slughorn to ignore the truth about what some of his students had become, seeing them there in person wreaking havoc and then later dead on the battlefield. He can no longer hold on to the few good memories he had with them.

The section about Tom and his followers was my favorite to write. It goes back to the quote--the line is thin, but it is certainly possible to be in Slytherin and not make poor choices. (Questionable ones, maybe.) Sadly, you get someone who is dynamic like Tom and he pulls a lot of people down with him, away from what Slytherin may have intended (or at least what Slughorn wanted).

Glad you enjoyed the ending as well. Thank you so much for this very kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pixileanin Ambition and Power

8th March 2014:
Oh the carnage!

I like the detail that you threw in about Slughorn throwing away Lucius Malfoy's photograph when he realized that the man was on the wrong side of things. It shows that Slughorn truly had a conscience, and wasn't always out for himself.

One of the things I liked the most about this piece was the way you incorporated lesser-known Slytherins who weren't part of the Death Eater movement. I think, to answer Slughorn's question, that this was the reason Dumbledore had asked him to be Head of House. He knew that Slughorn would see the good in the students who hadn't been blinded by the promise of ultimate power.

On that note, I think I would have liked to see more introspection from Slughorn on this point. You covered his thoughts on Tom Riddle, definitely. But I was looking for a moment of revelation from him, and I didn't quite feel it when we got there. I suppose this would fall into the "personal taste" category of reviewing when I say that I might have preferred him to remain disheartened at the end of this one-shot, since the battle was still so fresh.

You description and tone is as lovely as ever in this piece, along with the thoughtful reflection of your character. Even though I didn't completely buy in to where you were going with this, I could certainly see Slughorn thinking these thoughts and mulling over the part he played in the lives of these young people. The calmness that he portrays in the midst of his wrecked office, with blood all over the place is a fine contrast. I can almost picture the first time we meet him in the books, in that run-down house where he'd turned himself into a chair. He has that detached feel to him, seeing the wreckage but not being affected by it. It's definitely an interesting take on a character I'd love to know more about.

Thanks for writing this piece!

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for stopping by!

Yes, I wanted to portray Slughorn in a somewhat sympathetic light, and that involves being smart and not giving people infinite chances to turn their lives around. I think of him as naive, albeit selfish.

I guess it was hard for me to balance the idea of Slughorn ultimately believing the best of people and Slughorn's reaction to the carnage all around him. For some people, the way in which they react to a trauma is to try to make the best of things and count their blessings. I think of Slughorn as a "glass half full" kind of guy, because he has nowhere to go but up after the failure with Tom. So that's where I was coming from with the bit of brightness at the end. Still, I can see what you're saying about letting him mope a little. It's a good point.

I'm glad you liked the contrast between Slughorn's musings and the destroyed state of his office. I didn't really think about how we first met him in that dilapidated house, but I love that you brought it up! He was certainly interesting to explore and I'm pleased that you enjoyed my take on him.

Thanks for your kind review, Pix!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon Ambition and Power

24th February 2014:
Howdy! I enjoyed reading an "atypical" character's reflections after the Battle of Hogwarts. I too have always thought Slughorn is a character who is ripe for exploration and I thought you did a good job of probing his oft-hidden reflective side, while still staying true to his capacity for optimism and fixation on his impact on students.

I also thought it was an excellent choice to make the students Slughorn reflects upon those who are not heavily featured in canon as well. It seemed to add some depth to his realization about students in his house that I think might have been lost if his thoughts meandered to some of the series' "bigger" fish.

One thing that was interesting to me was the title as compared to the quote you used at the beginning that seemed to inspire it. I like the quote about the very thin line between madness and greatness, though ambition versus power didn't quite work for me. I thought both words certainly worked for Riddle/Voldemort, who was skillfully woven in without being excessively focused on, but they seem more naturally connected than the dichotomy in perception between madness and greatness.

In any event, I still really liked the overall story and your writing, especially your use of objects and descriptions as well as thoughts to convey the tone you wanted and the path of Slughorn's thinking. Using descriptions effectively is something I struggle with when I write so I always appreciate when someone can do it well.

Looking forward to reading more of your work!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for coming by!

Yeah, I'm big into minor characters, so I often choose to bring in lesser-known characters into my stories, even if the main characters are typical series favorites. It was fun to imagine the small interactions Slughorn might have shared with these lesser known Slytherins and to explore his definitions of success and prominence.

I thought the quote was appropriate, and I kept coming back to it when I was working on this story. I think you kind of have to know more about the storyline the quote comes from to really understand how thin the line between madness and greatness was in that scenario. I guess I don't really understand from your comment which one you thought worked better, sorry! Anyway, you provided an interesting reflection, which I appreciate.

Thanks so much for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Ambition and Power

22nd February 2014:
Hey there! I'm here to review you for TGS review pairing. :D

First of all I want to say that your descriptions are amazing! I could imagine it all being played out before me and it was so easy to picture Slughorn walking around his office.

I really love how he thought about the students that he had once admired and hoped would achieve greatness, only to have them turn out to be Death Eaters or killers.

The part where you talk about Millicent fighting against the Death Eaters made me happy that some Slytherins aren't like the others he had previously.

The ending was really amazing, the fact that he wouldn't give up on future students and would help them achieve greatness showed that he was a great man.

This was such a well written one shot and I really enjoyed reading it, it was perfect.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for stopping by!

I'm glad you liked the description here and enjoyed seeing Slughorn reflect on past generations of students. I definitely wanted to show that not all Slytherins were evil or became Death Eaters, and Slughorn's algorithm for predicting success isn't flawless, far from it. Of course, I wanted to throw in that happy ending, to show that Slughorn can still impact others for good.

Thanks for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #5, by MC_HK Ambition and Power

11th February 2014:
Hello! Here with your review!

Areas of Concern:
-I believe that Slughorn is very canon in your writing, so don't worry about it :) To me he was always that professor that really cared for his students. I mean, all the professors do, but he liked to almost be a friend to them and they were his greatest treasure (kind of.) So for you to capture that in this one-shot is really awesome.

-It does keep me interested! You've got really great description, and the voice you give Slughorn is a very expressive one. Not once did I question his emotions through the whole chapter. There are interesting tidbits where you kind of fill in the gaps (like you say in your A/N) with students and what he thought of them after they graduated, and that really gives me insight to him, even though he's a book character he never went out of canon.

There isn't much else for me to comment on. This was a very well-written, emotional story that left an impact on me. There were no spelling/grammar mistakes, and it was very easy to read. Thank you for requesting this! I quite liked it!

--Monica

Author's Response: Hi Monica, thanks so much for coming by! I apologize that it took me a while to reply.

I'm so glad that Slughorn feels canon here! I never realized before writing this piece just how divided people were in their opinion of him. I agree with your viewpoint, that he really does care deep down.

I'm pleased also that you liked the imagery and emotion and felt that the story kept you interested. I always get a little scared when I post something that doesn't have a lot of action; character-driven stories are more my style, but sometimes that doesn't sit well with readers.

Anyway, thanks so much for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #6, by manno_malfoy Ambition and Power

11th February 2014:
You probably don't remember me, but I do remember how much I love how your stories feel. There's always this mysterious, slightly dark mood --mostly because they explore twisted characters-- to them, one that I quite enjoy. I never particularly paid too much attention to Slughorn, but you do a great job trying to sort out --more like, figure out-- his inner qualms. You make a wonderful point that this is the risk you have to take with being an authoritative figure. You can do your best to make your students feel appreciated and to teach them everything, but you never know how they'll turn out. And you get to live, trying to not think about how you've contributed to their demise, should they, as you've put it, 'plummet'. This is also why highly ambitious people scare me, you never know when they'll step over that thin line between ambition and utter madness.

Ahem. I've gone astray, apparently, but that's only because your story's making me think about such things.

I loved the pace and the quiet --not a single spoken word, yet a great inner sort-of-monologue. Few can make a story interesting without conversation, so I commend you for that.

Finally, I'm glad that this is the first thing I read now that I'm back. I've really missed your stories, and hopefully, I'll be able to catch up on the things I wasn't around for.

Well done and keep the awesome stories coming! :D

-Manno

Author's Response: Manno! I'm still so excited to see you here, even weeks after you posted this review! Sorry for the delay in responding :)

I think Slughorn has a lot in common with other inspirational teachers in fiction. He invests himself personally in their lives and, like you said, hopes for the best. I think the difference is that many of those other teachers work with less privileged students or delinquent youth and get to see them rise and become productive citizens, whereas Slughorn aims high and, sadly, sees his efforts go to waste at times.

It's great to hear that the pace worked well and you liked the inner monologue here. I do hope to hear more from you in the future :)

Thanks so much for your very sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Ambition and Power

10th February 2014:
Hey Amanda! Here for your requested review from the forums!

As always, this was another one of your amazing pieces of writing! I absolutely loved your portrayal of Slughorn. I feel like he's a very complex character with the glimpse we saw of him in the books and how you've explored him definitely does justice to that.

I liked how he shudders at the sight of blood and doesn't like the idea of anyone dying in such a bad way be it in his office or the corridor. It shows a soft likeable side of him and sets the tone for the story at the same time. Your descriptions of the terrible state of his office were also nicely done as I could visualise everything and sort of see him in the middle of it all, lost in memories and saddened by everything.

It was interesting how you picked up on his relationships with a few other Slytherins instead of jumping straight to Tom Riddle, like Rabastan and Claire. I also liked the little mention of him having thrown out Lucius' photograph some time back - again that little detail said a lot about his characterisation.

The reflections on his past, on his relationship with Tom Riddle - all the conversations and such - and him wondering where he'd gone wrong and how the Slytherins had completely "changed" in terms of respecting the house and its "traits" were very well written. They gave me much to think about, especially being a Slytherin at heart myself, and I love stories that make me think.

I also liked how in the end Slughorn seemed to find some sort of comfort from within himself, accepting that it wasn't really his fault after all and that he could still make a difference for the upcoming generation of students, and that he'd try to mold them into better people. It was very sweet and touching, and just how I'd felt sorry for him in the beginning (and up to the middle) of the story, I felt almost happy for him towards the end - it seemed like the war had given him a renewed sense of hope and I really loved that.

The little mention of Millicent Bullstrode actually helping out in fighting the death eaters and later Madam Pomfrey also somewhat symbolised how the ways were changing, how all Slytherins weren't evil and just mostly misunderstood, and how things could get better for them, as well as for the whole of Hogwarts.

All in all, a very touching, hopeful, and sweet one-shot which I enjoyed reading immensely. The descriptions, grammar, flow, and characterisation was all perfect and I have no CC to give you. I definitely think Slughorn was in character - you merely expanded on how he is shown in the books and revealed to us another side of him - and this definitely drew me in and kept my interest throughout.

Great job!

Your fan, as always,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey AD! Gosh, sorry for the delay with this reply. I've been quite busy with school/work and just started a new workout routine, so I am beyond tired just about every evening!

Yeah, I wanted to emphasize that Slughorn isn't a bad guy. Sure, he's a little short-sighted and misguided at times, but he also ultimately chose to fight hard for the side of good, so that can't just be ignored. I think picking a side in the war was a big turning point for him and I tried to explore the emotional fallout from that here.

I was really curious about your opinion, being a Slytherin, and I'm glad this piece made you really reflect on Slytherin House's prized traits. Of course I definitely wanted to dispel the myth that Slytherin stands for evil or all Slytherin students are bad. It was fun to imagine the better times Slughorn might have shared with his students, especially Tom, and to reflect on how their choices had ultimately let him down.

I'm so glad Slughorn felt in character, seeing as he was a tough nut to crack, and that you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for your really lovely review, as usual :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aphoride Ambition and Power

8th February 2014:
Hey there - stopping by from the Ravenclaw review battle! As soon as I saw this was up, I just had to read it, you know? I mean, gah, Slughorn is such a fascinating character, I think, mostly because on the surface he seems so repulsive - kinda like Lockhart - but it just makes me curious! :P

As with everything you write, of course, this was brilliant and I loved it :)

I love how you characterised Slughorn. There's not all that much 'deep' of him in the books, you know - just that strange moment when it says he's fighting Voldemort himself after seeming so scared and almost feebly pathetic earlier on, when the castle's under attack. It makes him such a strange, contradictory character and I think you really showed that here. I loved the mentions of his past, how his background was similar to Tom's, and how he refused to admit that some of his favourite students could be Death Eaters and do those kinds of horrible things. I think it's something no teacher would really want to think about any of their pupils, certainly not ones they liked and thought could be great and good. It's kind of a harsh thing for him to realise.

I loved how you wove his personality into that, as well - with the photographs and binning them when his students, I guess, disappointed him, really, and the gold medallion above the door he bought himself, and the way he'd hand-picked students but not necessarily the right ones. I really liked, though, how you showed him almost growing up in a way after the war, and how it was then that he realised, with the war and its consequences, his mistakes and his faults and things. It's such a great time to place it and such a lovely idea!

The mentions of Tom Riddle were great too - I liked how you mentioned they'd had loads of conversations in the evenings/nights when Tom says he can't sleep and things, hinting that Slughorn didn't really believe him in a way, and how Slughorn doesn't need a picture to remind him of Riddle. He probably doesn't, you know - Tom Riddle is definitely memorable, haha. I liked how you had him feeling almost guilty over that, like he'd failed Tom and you kinda feel sorry for Slughorn, because, really, what could he have done? O.o

Ah, feeling sorry for Slughorn... wow :P

Your writing, as always, is stunning and I'm incredibly jealous, as usual, of your ability to write so beautifully and so succinctly. So many wonderful lines in this, so many emotions all crammed into it without it feeling overloaded... This is a really, really great one-shot! But then, all your stuff is ;)

You're welcome for the inspiration - if you write things like this after inspiration, I hope it strikes again! :D

Will be shortly adding to favourites (watching ski jumping now... ;D)!

Aph xx

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear from you on this story, Laura, since your work did really inspire me!

I did want to go deeper into his mindset to understand the change of heart you described and the way in which he had to come to terms with the truth about Voldemort and many of his other former students. I understand him being a bit feeble, because it's obviously a lot to handle, but I'm proud of him for standing up for what's right and accepting that he made a mistake in choosing some of his "star students."

I'm glad you felt sorry for poor Slughorn! He has a lot of faults but I really pitied him when I thought about how he wanted to share a bond with Tom and had such high hopes for him and had to watch all that intellect go in service of dark magic. It was interesting to look into their relationship, though it wound up being a relatively small part of the overall story.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Gryfindor Ambition and Power

6th February 2014:
Oh Amanda, this is wonderful! I was intrigued at the sight of a Slughorn story, and what you've done with it is amazing. It's filled with hope, looking forward into a brighter future despite the mistakes and failures of the past. If that's not inspirational, I don't know what is. I expected it to be darker, angstier, but that's the very misconception of Slytherins that you challenge with this story - not all Slytherins are villains, many of them, like Slughorn and (surprisingly! wonderfully!) Millicent, embody the traits of Slytherins in alternative ways - two sides of the same coin.

You've done a fantastic job at expanding the canon characterization of Slughorn, further humanizing him, drawing out his optimism and his love of people - he may also love what they can bring him, but here you show that he loves the connection with them and the knowledge that he has helped them reach a high position in life. He's disappointed when they fail because he knows they could have done better - the degree of optimism he has in regard to each student is almost painful because you show him believing so much in their abilities and potential. It reveals how much Slughorn genuinely cares about his students and how much he respects them - he sees their strengths and tries to guide them in the right direction. And somehow because of this, despite his own weaknesses, Slughorn becomes one of the better teachers at Hogwarts.

The style of this story is also lovely. There's something very soothing about your narration here that I can't quite describe - it's in the rhythm of the sentences and the word choice. It suits Slughorn, particularly at this pensive moment. It also suits the ending perfectly because, while the office is chaotic and blood stained, one comes to feel at peace, ready to move forward. I don't know how you did it, but it's brilliant how seamlessly you link the style and content of this story.

Incredible work on this! Your stories are always a pleasure to read, but this one was especially striking and poignant.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Susan!

Yeah, the story definitely has a dark theme, but I usually try to end on a happy note because I think that can sometimes add a new dimension of meaning. As you know from my response to your TGS MTA question, this piece was originally meant to be more dismal and involve Salazar instead of Slughorn, but I actually like this take better because it does allow for that little sense of hope and the redefinition of what it means to be a Slytherin. It's not a sentence of doom :)

I wanted to go below the shallow surface of Slughorn's character and really delve into the pain and regret he must feel given his disappointment in Tom and many other Slytherins. He had to learn that a good pedigree and prodigious magical talent did not always translate to model citizenship. It was a difficult lesson, perhaps foremost because--as you point out--he clearly does care about them and has become personally invested in their success, though I'm sure many of them look back on their time in his club with less gravity than he does. I think he really takes his duties as a teacher seriously and goes above and beyond them.

I'm pleased to hear that the flow and word choice worked well and you liked the contrast between Slughorn's ruined office and his sense of satisfaction at the story's conclusion. I meant to emphasize that not all is lost, and new photographs can always be taken, new directions taken in the future. Slytherin isn't finished after all.

Thank you for this really sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by LightLeviosa5443 Ambition and Power

6th February 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the BvB review battle!

This story is absolutely lovely!

I love the way that you chose to write the story. Everything from the description you use to the voice you wrote it in is just wonderful and it all flows really nicely. I've never read a story about Slughorn, so my only real exposure to him is that brief little bit we get at the end of the HP series. I like the light you've shed on him here. The way you highlight his fascination with the "next best" student is flattering to him, and makes the reader want to prove themselves to him. He's seen it all, if he thinks you're good enough to be in his Slug Club, then you can do anything, right?

I also really love how you explained the students that went bad. It was cute, in a way. It showed that him keeping the pictures did work as a tool for remembering, and his throwing them away was very symbolic, I think. I also love how you threw in the award he bought for himself. Another great symbol of the fact that while everything was ruined, there was that one thing, that had remained a constant and reminded him that there was always a bright side, for lack of a better way of putting it.

This story was brilliant!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Hey Sarah, thanks for stopping by!

I think Slughorn is really interesting and he was fun, albeit challenging, to explore. I like how you feel like my take endears you to him and makes you, as the reader, want to impress him. I think what you said is exactly how he meant for Slug Club to function. Oh, and I'm happy to hear that the story flowed well, too :)

Throwing away the memories of those who failed him was definitely very symbolic of his disappointment in those students. I really wanted to end on a happy note despite the dark theme, so I'm glad that worked well.

Thank you for this lovely review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #11, by Kinnu Ambition and Power

6th February 2014:
Hey,

I was thoroughly intrigued when I read the summary and immediately started reading the story. It had me hooked!

I was surprised by your portrayal of Slughorn and Millicent Bulstrode though. I've always thought of Slughorn as absent-minded and superficial, only looking for connections with famous people who might be of use to him, which is what you showed in the story but I never pegged him as introspective... Millicent Bullstode, I thought she left Hogwarts instead of fighting against Death Eaters during the war. But then, it's always wonderful to see different sides of characters, the sides I never imagined them to have!

And the fact that you included only the lesser known characters is so refreshing because otherwise, I compare them to their personalities in the book too much and can't grasp how they are in the story unless it shows a different side to them...

I liked that you gradually got to Riddle after former Slytherins like Rabastan and Claire (Is she OC?). Also, you included Millicent Bullstrode as a current Slytherin and it perfected the balance of Past and Present Slytherins.

If you don't mind me saying, I noticed this:
"The last time he had seen her was approximately one hour ago, when she was finally knocked off her broom by Professor Flitwick." According to this, the battle is still going on (I thought that). Why then, is Slughorn in his office and not fighting in the war? Why did he mention "Life would go on, at last, without Tom."? Is Voldemort dead already? If he is dead, shouldn't Slughorn be in the Great Hall celebrating, especcially if it hasn't even been a hour since the victory, if there has been one?

I absolutely love that you mention and affirm that Slytherin is not about being evil. In fact, most of them were just misguided. Surely, as you said, with Voldemort dead, they'll be so much better and have less prejudices.

Keep writing! Loved the story...

Kinnu

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for dropping by :)

Yeah, it seems like I tend to take a more sympathetic view on Slughorn than many other people. I agree that he's shallow and naive, but I tend to think of him as having good intentions. I think he'd be gracious to the people who helped elevate his status. As for Millicent, I bent canon a little bit to include her in the way I depicted here, but I don't think it's too farfetched for some Slytherins to have remained in the castle.

Yes, Claire is a OC. I'm glad you liked how I progressed through time and different characters to show the wide range of personalities and outcomes in Slytherin.

You were right about the timing. This is sometimes the risk of not writing a whole story in one sitting :) I went back and changed it in the statement about Claire so hopefully it seems a bit more realistic now. The story is meant to be set shortly after the Battle of Hogwarts; my view is that Slughorn would want to celebrate like everyone else but might want a moment to himself because of everything he must be feeling (given his especially personal connection to Voldemort and the Death Eaters). Anyway, thanks for pointing that out! It's tough to catch every mistake.

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #12, by monstrosity Ambition and Power

5th February 2014:
Hello!

Horace Slughorn is not a frequent protagonist in fanfiction, so I'm very happy that you chose to write a story about him and such a beautiful one too. Coping after the war was hard for everyone, but for someone who once idolized and taught the dark wizards who started it that must hurt very much.

I've always regarded Slughorn in a very unfavorable light. To me he was a rather superficial person, always trying to get into good circles without caring about what people might feel about his actions. He longed for fame and praise to the extent where he didn't realize what a monster Tom Riddle was becoming.

I love the way you make Voldemort the paradox. Despite him having so picture or sign in Slughorn's office, Slughorn will never be able to forget him. That's a very beautiful ideology. Sometimes, you don't need a physical item to remember someone by. Memories really serve the purpose. Slughorn will have to live with the guilt of telling Voldemort what horcruxes were and how to make one.

I like the whole 'underestimation and overestimation' theme. In a world where things aren't always what they seem it's nice that you approach this subject in both negative and positive ways. You've expressed how Slughorn overestimated people like Rabastan and Claire, not seeing them for the killers they were. You've also shown how many brave people fought the war on the for good like Millicent. Sometimes people forget that it wasn't just Harry who fought against Voldemort. It wasn't just the golden trio, or even just Ginny, Neville and Luna. There were scores of students, teachers and ordinary wizards who could have fled to another country but chose instead to fight for what they thought was right. So many people have been overlooked, not just by Slughorn, but by us readers as well. It's great that you brought some of this to light.

I also like how you ended the story on a positive note. Slughorn, like every other person in this world, started out as a nobody eager to make connections. He still has the opportunity to make connections, good ones, and hopefully help guide these children to make good choices in life. That's what being a teacher is all about. Having the power to influence a student and using this power to help them in life.

Overall, this was a brilliant story. You've done an amazing job at filling up some of the gaps JK has left. This story has really changed my perspective on Slughorn's character. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for christening this story with its first review! And what a lovely one!

I agree that Slughorn is really interesting despite not being written about very often. I tend to look on him as being just a bit naive and shallow, but he's certainly not the most noble individual either way you look at it. It's interesting how Tom always remained a lesson for him--don't judge a book by its cover.

I'm pleased that you like the theme I chose. I had to bend canon a bit and introduce some new faces to achieve it, but I wanted to convey that what Slughorn does is not an exact science. Unfortunately, coming from Slytherin, he has a lot more regrets than positive stories at this point. Hopefully he can alter that trend in the years to come.

Thanks so much for your sweet review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login