10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ju Hana Of New Year's Resolutions

10th February 2014:
Such a touching story..the storyline flows smoothly that I felt every seconds on how Draco acts toward Hermione..Excellent job!

Author's Response: Ju Hana,

Awe, thank you so much for commenting on the flow. It is a great compliment to me as a writer. I'm so glad that you liked it. :)

I do love a grown up, more understanding Draco and enjoyed writing his sincerity when it came to her.

Thank so much for taking a chance on this story and for sending me a lovely comment.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #2, by Nina Of New Year's Resolutions

18th January 2014:
This is a beautiful piece of literature. Very heartwarming and purposeful on Hermione's part.
Such a gentleman Draco is in this short story; helping Hermione granting her New Year's resolution. I wouldn't mind kissing Draco on New Year's Day either!

Author's Response: Nina,

Oh, thank you so much for saying that! It is a true compliment and I appreciate it so very much.

Poor Hermione, how every year a little more hope was lost instead of getting better.

And yes, Draco is a gentleman, as men do tend to grow up, it just takes them longer. LOL! But I do love a tender, gentle Draco, when it comes to matters of the heart.

And oh, yes... I'm with you on that last bit. Who wouldn't? Hehe.

Thanks so much for reviewing this little one-shot. And Happy New Year! :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #3, by mexicancheekhugs Of New Year's Resolutions

16th January 2014:
You never seem to surprise me with your wonderful story telling. I never want them to end! I love all your stories. Can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: mexicancheekhugs,

Awe, thank you for your 'story telling' comment! I'm so glad that you liked that little one shot. You know me... sad, but with a bit of hope at the end. I'm seeing a serious pattern in my stories. I hope I'm not becoming too predictable... Ugh! :)

Thanks so much for finding another one of my little stories and taking the time to comment.

Much appreciated!
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #4, by MissesWeasley123 Of New Year's Resolutions

3rd January 2014:
Oh my god. Oh my god. I just.. This was amazing. Also, I'm here for day 8 of the 12 days of reviewing.

I've stopped shipping Dramione because it's so hard these days to find a story that is different, that is... Like this. The way you write Hermione and Draco with such beautiful command is breathtakingly flawless. Right from your summary I knew... I knew this would be great. GOD! AH! You need to be published. The way you write is so poetic and so beautiful. I love it.

Draco's affection for her brought tears to my eyes because he was so sweet. Your Draco was perfect though flawed and i respected that you kept him so true to his character. Hermione, oh Hermione! She is brilliant. She was so sad... And he saved her for which I was grateful. When she talked of how everyone gathered on NYE and then left it made me laugh bitterly at how true that was. You truly are clever.

You honestly write beautifully. Good luck in the duel. This piece is deserving of a win, regardless of the ship.

Excellent, excellent, excellent!

Author's Response: MissWeasley123,

Ah, thank you so much for stopping by my story for the prompt contest! It is wonderful of you to be reviewing so much. THANK YOU!

Awe, I can understand what you mean about Dramione. Thank you for your wonderful compliments to me. And actually, being published is a goal of mine. But first, I want to finish my Dramione novel called "Delilah's Black Book of Poems." It is near and dear to my heart and I truly owe all my Reviewers a completed, finished story (only 6 more chapters now). After that, I'm going to be writing for 'the dream.' Thanks so much for saying that!

Ah, Draco... they are not kids anymore. Men mature, but it just takes them awhile, I think. :D And yes, I wrote him as being not only concerned, but someone wanting more of her as he sees who she really is in working with her and seeing her at parties, etc... I think he finally sees her as someone he wants by his side.

And, yes, she is so sad. She never believed that it would take that long to find her parents. She knew the risk, but didn't know that it would actually come to that, poor thing.

New York on New Year's Eve... yes. So many people stand and wait and wait for many of their own reasons, but they scatter. It is a true phenomenon and seems sad to me.

Thanks for the luck in the duel! Thanks so much for thinking of this story so highly! It is much appreciated and wonderful to hear (regardless of the ship). :)

Thank you!
Dark Whisper



 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins Of New Year's Resolutions

25th December 2013:
You've called me cruel and mean, so I hope you don't mind a review from me.

You write dialogue well, and your grammar is mostly very good. Not sure why Draco and Hermione are co-workers, since it's not specified what they do for a living - so I assume this is part of a series you write on these characters? I'm glad Hermione found her parents, though it was sad that they won't remember her. :/ I would hope she could break through the enchantments eventually, poor thing.

Merry Christmas.

Author's Response: momotwins,

Oh, my... It's you? I can't believe it. Here you are on Christmas Day leaving little completely unexpected gifts for so many of us. Aren't you supposed to be on Staff Vacation? Please allow me to retract once and for all... What you are is Extraordinarily Dedicated! And my stars, I honestly feel terrible that it was a Dramione, as I know of your dislike for the ship.

Truly, I don't know how you read so much that you have no interest in whatsoever. Bless your heart for doing it. I'm being completely sincere here, knowing that you have a tough job that I don't think I could do.

As far as your review... Thank you very much for your compliment to me as a writer.

The story mentions a law firm, but since there was a word count max, I decided not to dwell on the 'why' they worked together as I didn't see it too important to the New Year's Eve storyline, so that's why it is not spelled out in any details. (No series from me). :)

Hermione's parents: Well, my stories generally explore what I feel to be extremely sad, with a tad bit of hope injected at the end. It's what I enjoy writing (and reading). Yes, poor Hermione.

Merry Christmas to you too and Happy New Year. I mean that sincerely and thank you for all that you do on this site. I know it doesn't run by itself. There are real people behind it, keeping it going with not much recognition for their time and efforts in doing so. Please know that this is understood and appreciated by me, for sure.

And one more thing... I'm not sure if Jay really is sending you all to a ski chalet somewhere. I can't tell if it is true or if it's equal to someone sending you a really big virtual cookie. But I certainly hope it is true. You are very well deserving.

I truly wish you well and I thank you for your hard work and your completely surprising, honest review.

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper





 Report Review

Review #6, by DracoFerret11 Of New Year's Resolutions

22nd December 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I decided to read and review all of the Writer's Duel entries! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: First of all, I was SUPER excited to see that this was a Dramione story. I adore Dramione. It's my OTP. ANYHOW, I really think you did a great job here! When Hermione's resolution was first mentioned, I thought it would be something like getting pureblood-centric laws erased, or evening the world for Muggleborns. When I realized she had never found her parents, I was so sad for her! I could barely believe that she wasn't able to, but I was so happy that Draco had made it his goal to help her. It was a little unclear just WHY he decided to do that, but it was sweet all the same.

Characterization: I think Hermione's character was pretty close to canon. I could see her becoming a bit hardened since losing her friends and parents in the war. Draco was a lot kinder than you would expect, but of course, time changes people (as does Dramione ;) ), and I'm completely fine with that. I wonder, though, why Ron was never coming with Hermione to these parties. Even if their relationship eventually dissolved, wouldn't he have wanted to go with her?

Descriptions: It might have been nice to have more details to describe how things looked, sounded, felt, smelled, etc. to bring the story to life. There were a few details here and there, but I was having trouble imagining some of the scenes.

Emotions: I really felt bad for Hermione's loss, and touched by Draco's caring. I think you definitely pulled off his attitude towards avoiding letting her know what he was doing. It wouldn't be very like him to reveal his intentions without knowing if they would work out. So great job there.

Interactions: I think it might have been nice (though I totally understand the time limit and word count limit didn't allow this) to see more of the moments between Draco and Hermione before their big "moment" when she realizes what he's done and they kiss. Since we didn't get much of a back-story, that was a little sudden. I still love Dramione, though, so I don't mind too much. ;)

Overall, this was wonderful. Great job and good luck in the Duel!

--Emily

Author's Response: DracoFerret11,

Well, hello from the Forums! You are truly an amazing human being to be reviewing all of the Writer's Duel entries! That is a wonderful thing and a true gift you give in reviewing so much… and a wonderfully detailed review at that!

Dramione is my OTP as well. It baffles my mind that so many have bashed it over the years and some even hateful. It is crazy that they cannot see the amazing possibilities that these two have. So, welcome my fellow shipper. :D

The WHY he decided to help her... I think he would have felt partially responsible, although indirectly. And, I think in working with her, they would have gotten to know each other on a professional level and gained each others respect that way, even if they did not agree with each other on everything and in spite of their past. They are not kids anymore and both have changed. I think given their new-found closeness and with him finding out about what she did, I think he would have helped, but secretly.

Thank you for mentioning Hermione and Draco's personalities. Draco, to me has grown and his priorities rearranged. I can see him being kinder to her, even if they never became friends. He owes the Trio much, I think. And yes, Dramione has the power to change minds, right? ;)

Ron, well, I nearly typed out her thoughts on the matter when he was at the very door of her hotel room, but didn't. In my mind, Ron always made plans for New Year's that did not include her. She had to be with the firm, but he did not. He didn't like the people, the stuffy atmosphere, Draco, or being away from his own friends. To me, it caused a rift in their relationship and caused her to become insecure and accusatory. When the queue reopens, I may just go ahead and add that in to clarify.

Descriptions: Yes, I agree. I should have taken more time to describe their surroundings. But you are right, word count and more importantly, I was in a mad RUSH to get this in. I also had a new chapter of my novel that I HAD to get in before the queue closure. The chapter in my novel was set on Christmas Eve, so trust me I was nervous to try and post both!

And Draco, yes, secretive and self-preserving Slytherin as he is, he would not want anyone to know if he failed.

Interactions and their sudden big moment: For me, this story actually was over the course of 2 years. And I completely agree that I should have elaborated on them getting closer throughout the last year. I certainly do not want it to seem sudden. So, I will probably go back again and add a little bit. I think I do have some room with word count, but NOT MUCH!

Thanks so much for the in-depth CC and for your lovely review. I shall consider revising based on your comments.

Good luck in your endeavors to read/review them all, Emily. You are a dear for doing it.

Sincerely,

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #7, by loyal luna Of New Year's Resolutions

21st December 2013:
Very sweet and uplifting!

Author's Response: loyal luna,

Oh, thank you for your lovely comment. I'm glad that you didn't find the subject too sad. I tend to write my stories quite sad, but with hope at the end.

I just love these two together and try to make their relationship believable.

Thanks so much for leaving a review.

Much appreciated,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #8, by LovesMagic Of New Year's Resolutions

19th December 2013:
I absolutely loved this!!

Author's Response: LovesMagic,

Yeah! Thank you for commenting. I had fun writing this for the Writer's Duel competition from the forum.

I'm so glad that you liked it.
Have a Happy New Year!

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #9, by a fan Of New Year's Resolutions

19th December 2013:
wow.you did good...maybe you should write a story...

Author's Response: a fan,

Oh, thank you dear for the lovely comment. I write fanfiction to practice my writing skills. Someday I will attempt the dream and be published, but for now... I love practicing and getting feedback.

Thanks so much for commenting. I'm glad you liked it. :)

Dark Whisper


 Report Review

Review #10, by HollyStone73 Of New Year's Resolutions

19th December 2013:
YEA! What a cute, sad and then happy little story!!! (And might I add the first Dramione story I have ever read!!) :) You were spot on with the emotions and being able to make them believable and realistic. This read very easily and while I was pretty sad that she was unable to reverse the charm on her parents I like the idea of her getting to know them again. I almost would be interested in reading more of this story to see how things progress!

All-in-all a great job!! Good Luck on the challenge!!

Author's Response: HollyStone73,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments for this story.

I tend to write stories that are quite emotional and sad with a bit of hope at the end. And I really, really try to make their feelings believable and realistic, especially when there are so many that do not like the ship. So, thank you so very much for your comment. :)

It's crazy that this is your first Dramione that you have read! Thanks so much for taking a chance on it. It really means a lot, my fellow Slytherin comrade. ;)

You leave me wonderful compliments and I appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login